Military Review

Stories about weapons. Rifles of the First World War. Mauser rifle model 1898 of the year

8



Of the entire variety of weapons that William and Paul Mauser created, it was precisely this rifle, more precisely, its descendants, that was destined to immortalize the names of its creators.

Mauser 98 rifles and carbines are rightfully considered the pinnacle of magazine rifles and even nowadays they are the basis for creating hunting and sporting weapons.

In 1898, Paul Mauser creates a rifle in which he connected all the new items tested on 90's export samples. Spanish, Belgian, Swedish "Mauzers" won the market by that time and enjoyed deserved attention.

In the same year, the German army adopts this rifle, dubbed Gewehr 98 (also designated G 98 or Gew.98) - a rifle of the 1898 model of the year.

The rifle turned out to be so successful that, in a slightly modified form, served in the German Army until the end of World War II, and also in various versions was exported and produced under license in various countries (Austria, Poland, Czechoslovakia, Yugoslavia and others).

In World War I, G98 was the main weapon of the German army. The Second World War passed under the sign of the Kar98k carbine, which was a modification of the rifle. However, G98 took part as a weapon of the Wehrmacht.

Along with the G 98 rifle, the Kar 98 carbine was also released, but it was only produced in its original form before 1904 or 1905, when the G 98 system underwent the first changes due to the adoption of the 7,92 X57 mm cartridge, which had a pointed bullet instead of a blunt one. The new bullet had a much better ballistics and rifles as a result received new sights, regraded under a more long-range cartridge.



At the same time, the shutter handle was also modified, which was “bent” down to enable the installation of an optical sight. At the very beginning of the First World War, representatives of the army selected about 15 thousands of rifles, distinguished by the most accurate shooting. Rifles were equipped with optical sights and entered service with the German snipers.

2,5- and 3-multiple optical sights of such manufacturers as Görtz, Gérard, Oige, Zeiss, Hensoldt, Voigtländer were used.

From 1898 to 1945, the Mauser brothers' company produced more than 10 million rifles.

In addition, copies of this rifle were produced worldwide.

Rifle Vz. 24, Czech rifle of the 1924 model of the year. Produced in Czechoslovakia from 1924 of the year to 1942 of the year. The rifle had a slightly different design, it was shorter and more comfortable than the 98 Mauser.

Rifle wz. 98. Produced in Poland from 1936 year to 1939 year. It was a complete copy of Mauser, these rifles after the defeat of the Polish army entered the Wehrmacht under the name of Gewehr 299 (p).

M24 rifle. The Yugoslav version of the 98 Mauser rifle, similar to the Czech Vz. 24. Produced in Yugoslavia from 1925 year to 1945 year.

Rifles M1924 and M1935. Option adopted by the Belgian army. The main difference is the front fly of its own design and modified attachment of the needle bayonet.

Zhongzhen rifle, she is Chiang Kai-shek's rifle, she is the 24 Type. Chinese rifle, full licensed copy of a German rifle. Produced from 1924 to 1946 years.

Two words about the bayonets that relied on the rifle.

At first it was just a terrible killing tool, long and thin. Since the rifle was quite massive, the bayonet was lightened as much as possible, which led to its fragility.



They began to shorten the bayonet, with the result that, in fact, turned out to be the very German bayonet.





Then we give the floor to Andrei Bondar, a specialist in historical weapons from the Infantery Club. He will tell and show the rifle from the inside.

Author:
8 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. moskowit
    moskowit 5 December 2017 09: 45 New
    0
    Everything is explained simply ... By the end of the 19 century, gunsmiths summarizing the international experience in designing magazine rifles, applying the achievements of metallurgy, technological progress, innovations in metal processing, the development of chemistry and based on this creation of new ammunition with high ballistic properties, created a number of almost ideal models of small arms , little different in their performance characteristics from each other .... Therefore, they were used for more than half a century in the armies of many countries. And they are still used in some aspects of human activity ...
  2. Monarchist
    Monarchist 5 December 2017 10: 56 New
    0
    I read at Zhuk, "Handbook of Small Arms," ​​that the Czech and Belgian versions of the Mauser were the most advanced.
    Many of you have seen the Polish TV series “Four Tankers” and there in one of the series one of the characters compares the shutter of the three-ruler and the Polish Mauser: “it knocks, but our Mauser did not knock” - this is exactly what the reconstructor says that the Mauser shutter is sitting tight .
    1. ydjin
      ydjin 5 December 2017 14: 47 New
      +2
      Quote: Monarchist
      I read at Zhuk, "Handbook of Small Arms," ​​that the Czech and Belgian versions of the Mauser were the most advanced.
      Many of you have seen the Polish TV series “Four Tankers” and there in one of the series one of the characters compares the shutter of the three-ruler and the Polish Mauser: “it knocks, but our Mauser did not knock” - this is exactly what the reconstructor says that the Mauser shutter is sitting tight .

      The shutter landing density is not comme il faut, it will jam if dirt gets into it. This is not a shooting gallery but a war! What Mikhail Kalashnikov decided, with the relatively loose mechanics, Kalash managed, thanks to the conical sleeve and the rotary mechanism, to reduce shock loads and make the barrel locking mechanism reliable. Kalash became a legend, the M-16 a symbol of insecurity. Remind this to relatives of American soldiers killed in Vietnam who died with jammed arches from bullet wounds to their heads at close range.
      1. figwam
        figwam 5 December 2017 19: 43 New
        +1
        Yes, unlike Mauser, the Mosin rifle can be loaded by throwing one cartridge into the chamber, which our snipers did during the war, or by unfastening the magazine cover immediately throw 4 rounds, and the 5th round into the chamber.
  3. Curious
    Curious 5 December 2017 14: 39 New
    +5

    In 1998, by the centenary of the famous weapon, the Oberdorf factory launched the limited edition Jubiläum 98 model rifle series. This is an exact copy of the Gewehr 98. Number of copies 1998. In 2020, the 125-year-old no less famous "three-ruler." There is still time to prepare. Sestroretsk will not be able to, but Tula and Izhevsk could celebrate the anniversary of their famous products in such an original way.
    1. Curious
      Curious 5 December 2017 15: 05 New
      +3
      I apologize for the annoying mistake - in 2021 - the 130th anniversary.
  4. Poppy
    Poppy 6 December 2017 14: 16 New
    0
    I have a "Belgian", there is a difference in the tree, and not in the sight, and the standard bayonet rises
  5. John22
    John22 8 December 2017 11: 59 New
    +1
    Something I did not hear, that at G98 the ejector broke. This Mosinka often broke, because it rotated and was not wide.

Рассказы об оружии. Винтовки Первой мировой. Винтовка Маузера образца 1898 года



Из всего разнообразия вооружений, которые создали Вильгельм и Пауль Маузеры, именно этой винтовке, точнее, ее потомкам, суждено было обессмертить имена своих создателей.

Винтовки и карабины системы "Маузер 98" по праву считаются вершиной магазинных винтовок и даже в наше время являются базой для создания охотничьего и спортивного оружия.


В 1898 году Пауль Маузер создает винтовку в которой соединил все новинки, опробованные на экспортных образцах 90-х годов. Испанские, бельгийские, шведские «Маузеры» завоевали к тому времени рынок и пользовались заслуженным вниманием.

В том же году германская армия принимает на вооружение эту винтовку, получившую название Gewehr 98 (также обозначалась G 98 или Gew.98) – винтовка образца 1898 года.

Винтовка оказалась настолько удачной, что в малоизмененном виде прослужила в Германской армии вплоть до конца Второй мировой войны, а также в различных вариантах поставлялась на экспорт и производилась по лицензии в различных странах (Австрия, Польша, Чехословакия, Югославия и других).

В Первую мировую войну G98 была основным оружием германской армии. Вторая мировая прошла под знаком карабина Kar98k, являвшимся модификацией винтовки. Тем не менее, G98 приняла участие в качестве оружия вермахта.

Вместе с винтовкой G 98 был выпущен и карабин Kar 98, однако он в первоначальном виде выпускался только до 1904 или 1905 года, когда система G 98 претерпела первые изменения в связи с принятием на вооружение нового патрона 7,92х57 мм, имевшего заостренную пулю вместо тупоконечной. Новая пуля имела гораздо лучшую баллистику и винтовки в результате получили новые прицелы, переградуированные под более дальнобойный патрон.



Тогда же была изменена и рукоятка затвора, которую «загнули» вниз, чтобы дать возможность установки оптического прицела. В самом начале Первой мировой войны представителями армии было отобрано около 15 тысяч винтовок, отличавшихся наиболее точной стрельбой. Винтовки были оснащены оптическими прицелами и поступили на вооружение германских снайперов.

Применялись 2,5- и 3-кратные оптические прицелы таких производителей как Görtz, Gеrard, Oige, Zeiss, Hensoldt, Voigtländer.

С 1898 по 1945 годы, компания братьев Маузер произвела более 10 миллионов винтовок.

Кроме этого, по всему миру производились копии этой винтовки

Винтовка Vz. 24, чешская винтовка образца 1924 года. Производилась в Чехословакии с 1924 года по 1942 год. У винтовки был несколько иной дизайн, она была короче и удобнее, чем Mаузер 98.

Винтовка wz. 98. Производилась в Польше с 1936 года по 1939 год. Была полной копией Маузера, эти винтовки после разгрома польской армии поступали на вооружение вермахта под наименованием Gewehr 299 (p).

Винтовка M24. Югославский вариант винтовки Mаузер 98, похожий на чешскую Vz. 24. Производилась в Югославии с 1925 года по 1945 год.

Винтовки М1924 и M1935. Вариант, принятый на вооружение бельгийской армией. Основное отличие — передняя мушка собственной конструкции и измененное крепление игольчатого штыка.

Винтовка Чжунчжэнь, она же винтовка Чан Кайши, она же Тип 24. Китайская винтовка, полная лицензионная копия немецкой винтовки. Выпускалась с 1924 по 1946 годы.

Два слова о штыках, которые полагались к винтовке.

Сперва это был просто жуткий инструмент для убийства, длинный и тонкий. Так как винтовка была достаточно массивной, штык максимально облегчили, что повлекло за собой хрупкость.



Штык стали укорачивать, в результате чего, собственно, получился тот самый немецкий штык-нож.





Далее передаем слово специалисту по историческому вооружению из клуба «Инфантерия» Андрею Бондарю. Он расскажет и покажет винтовку изнутри.

Автор: Роман Скоморохов, Роман Кривов


Читайте "Военное обозрение" в Яндекс Новостях

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также

Комментарии 8

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. moskowit (Николай Иванович) 5 декабря 2017 09:45
    Всё объясняется просто... К концу 19 века оружейники обобщив международный опыт конструирования магазинных винтовок, применяя достижения металлургии, технический прогресс, новации в металлообработке, развитии химии и на основе этого создания новых боеприпасов с высокими баллистическими свойствами, создали ряд почти идеальных образцов стрелкового оружия, мало отличающихся по своим ТТХ друг от друга.... Поэтому они и применялись более полувека в армиях многих стран. И применяются до сих пор в некоторых ипостасях человеческой деятельности...
  2. Монархист (Лабинский Слава) 5 декабря 2017 10:56
    Читал у Жука,"Справочник по стрелковому оружию",что чешский и бельгийские варианты"Маузер" были самими совершенными.
    Многие из вас видели польский сериал :" Четыре танкиста" и там в одной из серий один из персонажей сравнивает затвор трехлинейки и польского Маузера:" стучит,а наш Маузер не стучал"-это как раз о чем реконструктор говорит,что маузеровский затвор плотно сидит.
    1. ydjin (Евгений) 5 декабря 2017 14:47
      Цитата: Монархист
      Читал у Жука,"Справочник по стрелковому оружию",что чешский и бельгийские варианты"Маузер" были самими совершенными.
      Многие из вас видели польский сериал :" Четыре танкиста" и там в одной из серий один из персонажей сравнивает затвор трехлинейки и польского Маузера:" стучит,а наш Маузер не стучал"-это как раз о чем реконструктор говорит,что маузеровский затвор плотно сидит.

      Плотность посадки затвора не комильфо, при попадании грязи его заклинит. Это не тир а война! Что решил Михаил Калашников, при относительно расхлябаной механике Калаша умудрился благодоря конической гильзе и поворотному механизму снизить ударные нагрузки и сделать надёжным механизм запирания ствола. Калаш стал легендой, М-16 символом ненадёжности. Напомните это родственникам американских солдат убитых во Вьетнаме погибшим с заклинеными АРками от пулевых ранений в головы с близкого расстояния.
      1. фигвам (Сергей) 5 декабря 2017 19:43
        Да, в отличии от Маузера, винтовку Мосина можно заряжать кидая по одному патрону в патронник что делали наши снайперы в войну или отстегнув крышку магазина закинуть сразу 4 патрона, а 5-й в патронник.
  3. Curious (Victor) 5 декабря 2017 14:39

    В 1998 году к столетию знаменитого оружия заводом в Обердорфе была выпущена лимитированая серия винтовок Jubiläum 98 model. Это точная копия Gewehr 98. Количество экземпляров 1998.В 2020 году 125-летний не менее знаменитой "трехлинейки". Еще есть время подготовиться. Сестрорецк уже не сможет, но Тула и Ижевск могли бы отметить юбилей своей знаменитой продукции таким оригинальным способом.
    1. Curious (Victor) 5 декабря 2017 15:05
      Прошу прощения за досадную ошибку - в 2021 - 130-летний юбилей.
  4. Мак 6 декабря 2017 14:16
    у меня "бельгиец" есть, там отличие в дереве, а не в прицеле и штык стандартный встаёт
  5. Джон22 (Александр) 8 декабря 2017 11:59
    Что-то я не слышал, чтобы у Г98 ломался выбрасыватель. Это у Мосинки ломался часто, потому что вращался и был нешироким.
Картина дня