Military Review

US military needs drones that flap their wings more actively

13
The Nano Air Vehicle program has entered the third phase, which provides for detailed studies of new flight types for drones in the 2013 year. In particular, the “flapping wing” will be explored. In other words, the military needs UAV-ornithopters who mimic like birds.


Army needs UAVs that are not just like birds, they need to be able to fly as quietly and as maneuverable as real birds, that is, ornithopters. Can engineers solve technical difficulties?

US military needs drones that flap their wings more actively


Zhukovsky also claimed that, by definition, a flapping wing is by definition a much greater lift than a fixed one. But he also added that calculating its aerodynamics is much more difficult. But for small UAVs, the transition to this principle is inevitable. In order to hover in the air and then continue to move forward, aircrafts equipped with helicopter screws are now used. And their fuel efficiency is much worse than that of the aircraft, not to mention the ornithopters. Like all energy-efficient processes, flying such drones will be accompanied by a rather loud sound, which means that they are not suitable for unobtrusive army intelligence.

And one of the important obstacles for ornithopters is the high rigidity of the wing with a relatively small mass, which, in principle, is not a problem for micro-UAVs due to its small size and low enough requirements for rigidity. That is how the development of "Hummingbird" from the company Aerovironment. Hummingbirds in the name is not just - diving, this small bird can fly up to 400 length of its body in a second. It can fly back without turning, and has the highest speed of air braking, both among natural and artificial flyers. In Hummingbird, the weight and wingspan will be 19 and 16.5, respectively. The weight includes the weight of all flight systems, as well as an optional fairing similar to the hummingbird body, which should give the device similarity to the bird of the same name. Naturally, the average hummingbird is somewhat smaller, but everything is dictated by lithium-ion batteries, which are not found in nature, which makes it necessary to make the drone heavier.

The aircraft can quickly accelerate and stop, as well as fly backward without turning the body. At the same time he broadcasts video using the built-in camera. Moreover, the drone can hang for two minutes with a side wind 2.1 m / s, practically without demolition. It can fly through doors at maximum speed in 18 km / h.

But in terms of miniature and stealth, it is still far from real hummingbirds. For example, the smallest hummingbird leads the entire 2 gram (Cuban variety), which is much less than the mass of a drone. Also, the time of the drone's flight without recharging is lame: 8 minutes with active maneuvering, 20 minutes, if you “hang” on the spot. All this is due to the small capacity of the batteries. But not only, gigantic hummingbirds are migratory birds that change climatic zones without stopping and "refueling". It is clear that she would not be able to do this if it were as energy-consuming as the drone using her platform. To resolve the issue, Hummingbird want to provide the ability to refuel in the air.

However, it is worth noting that the mentioned Hummingbird LTHs are demos, so they can grow as part of a constantly evolving military program. If we consider information from sources in this industry, it states that the military already have several proposals for alternative UAVs from other companies that use alternative approaches to solve the problem of the flapping wing of microdrones.

Prepared by materials Computerra – Online и Wired.
Author:
13 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. itr
    itr April 4 2012 09: 00
    0
    In my installation!
  2. cvx
    cvx April 4 2012 09: 16
    +5
    I understand that this program is based on nanotechnology. This film must be shown to Chubais.
  3. vovan100
    vovan100 April 4 2012 09: 42
    +2
    without recharging in the air, it will be a toy for a long time
    1. beech
      beech April 4 2012 22: 16
      0
      why are they doing this garbage, it would be better if they did normal planes and tanks. These drones are of course priority things, but their time has not come yet
      1. Darn
        Darn April 5 2012 09: 52
        0
        Here in such a trifle it seems, at least 10 discoveries, and new inventions. Which will form the basis of new products. I’m interested in this little bird as small as it will protect itself from cats. It will be a shame
        They did, they did, and all the work to kat under the tail. Probably a bird, it will scare cats with ultrasound.
  4. Tyumen
    Tyumen April 4 2012 11: 41
    +7
    And how many shotguns do we have in our hands? laughing
    Yes, and the hunting season for the pen can enter year-round.
  5. 755962
    755962 April 4 2012 14: 04
    +4
    An amusing little thing, I will wait when it appears in a toy store.
  6. DEMENTIY
    DEMENTIY April 4 2012 16: 24
    +4
    Also promising!?.
  7. PabloMsk
    PabloMsk April 4 2012 18: 05
    +4
    These systems are developed by several groups.
    And the implementation of all of them is amazing!
    Ingenious developments and even scary to think that of these developments can grow ....
    Groups of such drones will be terrible rivals .....

    http://www.3dnews.ru/news/623914#.Ty0W0oay0i8.facebook
  8. Flanker
    Flanker April 4 2012 23: 14
    +2
    Laughter, laughter, but there really is something to ponder. In the case of implementation - a very good help for tactical groups. A miniature flying scout, and even maneuverable, can be very useful. And copying technology from nature is one of the surest ways to achieve success. The main thing is to have the mind to realize.
  9. 916-th
    916-th April 5 2012 06: 19
    +1
    This is a real breakthrough for tomorrow. Unfortunately not ours ...
  10. Leonid94
    Leonid94 April 5 2012 12: 56
    0
    By the way, drones are a good idea. Everything is better than a soldier.
  11. dred
    dred April 5 2012 12: 58
    0
    Quote: 916
    This is a real breakthrough for tomorrow. Unfortunately not ours ...

    We probably also have operating experience.
    1. PabloMsk
      PabloMsk April 6 2012 14: 19
      0
      dred,

      We don't have any "developments" :)
      If only one of the students of technical universities is not indulging, looking at the published materials.

      There is nothing complicated in these systems - materials are not a question, ready-made models are sold in stores :)
      Programming is also not a great topic for smart guys.

      The trend is important here.
      He was noticed and realized its importance.
  12. Gonoriy
    Gonoriy 7 February 2015 13: 51
    0
    But hummingbirds do not live on the entire planet. For example, in Iraq, such a drone will cause at least surprise among the Arabs.

Военным США нужны дроны, которые активнее машут крыльями

Программа Nano Air Vehicle вступила в третью фазу, которая предусматривает детальные исследования новых полетных типов для дронов в 2013 году. В частности, будет исследоваться «машущее крыло». Другими словами, военным нужны БПЛА-орнитоптеры, которые мимикрируются под птиц.

Армии нужны БПЛА, которые не просто будут похожи на птиц, нужно, чтобы они могли летать так же тихо и маневренно, как реальные пернатые, то есть орнитоптеры. Смогут ли инженеры решить технические трудности?

Военным США нужны дроны, которые активнее машут крыльями



Еще Жуковский утверждал, что у машущего крыла по определению намного большая подъемная сила, чем у неподвижного. Но также он и добавлял, что рассчитать его аэродинамику намного сложнее. Но для небольших БПЛА неизбежен переход на этот принцип. Для того чтобы зависнуть в воздуха, а затем продолжить движение вперед, сейчас используются ЛА, оснащенные вертолетными винтами. А их топливная эффективность намного хуже той, которой обладают самолеты, не говоря уже про орнитоптеры. Как и все энергоэффективные процессы, полеты таких дронов будет сопровождать довольно громкий звук, а это значит, что для малозаметной армейской разведки они не пригодны.

А одно из важных препятствий для орнитоптеров – это высокая жесткость крыла при сравнительно небольшой массе, что, в принципе, не является проблемой для микро-БПЛА из-за небольших размеров и достаточно низких требований для жесткости. Именно так ведется разработка «Колибри» от компании Aerovironment. Колибри вынесена в название не просто так - пикируя, эта небольшая птичка может пролететь до 400 длин своего корпуса за секунду. Она может лететь назад, не разворачиваясь, и обладает самой большой скоростью воздушного торможения, как среди природных, так и среди искусственных летунов. У Hummingbird масса и размах крыльев будут соответственно 19 г. и 16.5 см. В вес включена масса всех полетных систем, а также опционального обтекателя, аналогичного телу колибри, который должен придать аппарату сходство с одноименной птичкой. Естественно, средняя колибри несколько меньше, но тут все диктуют литий-ионные аккумуляторы, которых нет в природе, что и вынуждает сделать дрон более тяжелым.

ЛА может быстро ускориться и остановиться, а также летать назад, не разворачивая корпус. При этом он транслирует видео, используя встроенную камеру. Более того, дрон может зависнуть на две минуты при боковом ветре 2.1 м/с, практически без сноса. Он может пролетать сквозь двери при максимальной скорости в 18 км/ч.

Но по миниатюрности и скрытности ему еще далеко до реальных колибри. К примеру, самая мелкая колибри вести всего 2 грамма (кубинская разновидность), что намного меньше, чем масса дрона. Также хромает и время полета дрона без подзарядки: 8 минут с активным маневрированием, 20 минут, если «зависнуть» на месте. Все это из-за небольшой емкости аккумуляторов. Но не только, исполинские колибри – это перелетные птицы, которые меняют климатические зоны без остановок и «дозаправок». Понятно, что она не смогла бы этого делать, если бы была такой же энергозатратной, как дрон, использующий ее платформу. Для разрешения вопроса, Hummingbird хотят обеспечить возможностью дозаправки в воздухе.

Однако стоит отметить, что упомянутые ЛТХ Hummingbird – это демонстрационные версии, поэтому они могут вырасти в рамках постоянно развивающейся военной программы. Если рассматривать информацию из источников в этой отрасли, то она гласит, что у военных уже есть несколько предложений по альтернативным БПЛА от других компаний, которые применяют альтернативные подходы для разрешения проблемы машущего крыла у микродронов.

Подготовлено по материалам Компьютерра–Онлай и Wired.
Автор: Дедов Александр


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Видео в тему

Читайте также
Комментарии 13
  1. itr 4 апреля 2012 09:00
    По моему монтаж !
    itr
  2. cvx 4 апреля 2012 09:16
    Я так понимаю, что эта программа на нанотехнологиях основана. Этот фильм надо Чубайсу показать.
    cvx
  3. vovan100 4 апреля 2012 09:42
    без подзарядки в воздухе-это будет ещё долго игрушкой
    1. бук 4 апреля 2012 22:16
      че они этой фигней занимаются, лучше бы нормальные самолеты и танки делали.Эти дроны конечно приоритетные штучки, но не пришло пока их время
      бук
      1. Вот Блин 5 апреля 2012 09:52
        Вот в такой кажется безделице, как минимум 10 открытий, и новых изобретений. Которые лягут в основе новых изделий. Вот мне интересно эта птичка такая маленькая, как она будет защищаться от кошек. Ведь обидно будет
        Делали, делали а вся работа к кату под хвост. Наверно птичка, будет кошек ультразвуком отпугивать.
        Вот Блин
  4. тюменец 4 апреля 2012 11:41
    А у нас сколько дробовиков на руках населения? laughing
    Да и сезон охоты по перу можно ввести круглогодичный.
    тюменец
  5. 755962 4 апреля 2012 14:04
    Занятная штучка ,буду ждать когда появится в магазине игрушек.
    755962
  6. DEMENTIY 4 апреля 2012 16:24
    Тоже перспективно!?.
  7. PabloMsk 4 апреля 2012 18:05
    Эти системы разрабатываются несколькими группами.
    И реализация у всех из них потрясающая!
    Гениальные разработки и даже страшновато подумать, что из этих разработок может вырасти....
    Группы таких дронов будут страшными соперниками.....

    http://www.3dnews.ru/news/623914#.Ty0W0oay0i8.facebook
    PabloMsk
  8. flanker 4 апреля 2012 23:14
    Смех смехом, но действительно есть, над чем задуматься. В случае реализации - очень неплохое подспорье для тактических групп. Миниатюрный летающий разведчик, да ещё и манёвренный, может очень пригодиться. А копирование технологий у природы - один из вернейших способов достичь успеха. Главное, чтобы хватило ума в жизнь воплотить.
  9. 916-й 5 апреля 2012 06:19
    Это реальный прорыв в завтрашний день. К сожалению не наш...
    916-й
  10. Леонид94 5 апреля 2012 12:56
    кстати дроны хорошая идея.Всё лутше чем солдат .
    Леонид94
  11. dred 5 апреля 2012 12:58
    Цитата: 916-й
    Это реальный прорыв в завтрашний день. К сожалению не наш...

    У нас наверное тоже есть нароботки.
    dred
    1. PabloMsk 6 апреля 2012 14:19
      dred,

      Нет у нас никаких "наработок" :)
      Если только кто-то из студентов технических вузов не балуется, посмотрев на опубликованные материалы.

      Сложного в этих системах ничего нет - материалы не вопрос, готовые модельки в магазинах продаются :)
      Программирование - тоже тема не великая для толковых ребят.

      Тут важен тренд.
      Его заметили и осознали его важность.
      PabloMsk
  12. Gonoriy 7 февраля 2015 13:51
    Но колибри не живет на всей планете.к примеру в Ираке такой дрон вызовет минимум удивление у арабов.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня