Military Review

Air bomb Mk 2 Alpha (Rhodesia)

8
The security forces of the unrecognized state of Rhodesia were not able to buy modern foreign models of equipment or weapons, which, among other things, forced them to create their own projects. Developed and produced products of different classes, including aviation the bombs. The gradual development of weapons for military aviation led to the appearance of a bomb under the official designation Mk 2 Alpha.


At the time of independence, the arsenal of Rhodesia had bombs of several types of foreign production. During the exercises and military operations, it was found that the available ammunition does not fully correspond to the terrain features. It turned out that medium- and large-caliber high-explosive fragmentation bombs manage to burrow into soft soil before the explosion, which is why the shock wave and fragments go mostly up and therefore cannot hit ground targets. In addition, tough South African bushes in some situations could protect the enemy from low-energy fragments. So the Air Force needed a new weaponscorresponding to the features of the region.

Air bomb Mk 2 Alpha (Rhodesia)
Bomb Mk 2 Alpha from the arsenals of the Iraqi army. Photo Michaelyon-online.com


In the early seventies, the Rhodesian industry created the fragmentation bomb Mk 1. This product had a significant similarity with existing bombs, but, unlike them, could only explode when it touched the ground. This possibility was provided by another fuse and a modified form of the head part. Undermining on the surface of the ground dramatically increased the effectiveness of the combat work of aviation. The main carrier of the Mk 1 bombs was the English Electric Canberra medium bomber. In the cargo compartment of such a machine was placed 96 light bombs.

Operation of the Mk 1 aerial bombs lasted until the mid-seventies, after which they were recommended to be removed from service because of the extreme danger. 4 April 1974, the Canberra airplane, piloted by the pilots Keith Goddard and Bill Aire, was carrying out a combat mission in Mozambique. The plane dropped the bomb load, and the ammunition exploded instantly, destroying its carrier. An investigation revealed that the overly sensitive Mk 1 bomb fuze could have triggered at any time after the safety checks were removed and dropped from the carrier. K. Goddard and B. Ayri died due to the fact that a couple of bombs, barely leaving the cargo compartment, collided with each other and exploded.

It became clear that the available weapons could not be used, and the air force needed new bombs. By this time, Rhodesian engineers managed to develop a new concept of a small-caliber bomb, and the results of the investigation into the death of a bomber over Mozambique spurred work in this direction.

The idea behind the new project was suggested by pilot Peter Petter-Bower. The technical issues were dealt with by engineers Denzil and Bev. Together, the three authors of the project developed an interesting concept that included the use of some well-known principles in combination with original ideas. The correct approach to the choice of solutions allowed us to obtain the desired combat effectiveness.

A new project bombs received the working title Alpha ("Alpha"). Subsequently, new projects of aviation weapons of destruction were named after other letters of the Greek alphabet. After adopting the product assigned official index Mk 2.

To break through the air defense of the South African countries of that time, the strike aircraft had to go at the lowest altitude as fast as possible. The new project Alpha offered to drop bombs precisely at low altitude. In order to avoid the destruction of the bomber with their own weapons, as well as to increase combat effectiveness, original proposals were implemented in the design of the bomb.


Bomb in section. Figure Saairforce.co.za


The warhead of the bomb, which is responsible for hitting targets, was to be a metal sphere filled with explosive and equipped with a decelerating fuse. On top of the main body, crushing into fragments, it was necessary to place a larger thin sphere. The space between the two buildings was planned to be filled with rubber balls of sufficient diameter. Petter-Bower, Denzil and Bev believed that a spherical bomb, after being dropped from an airplane, would lose speed and fly along a gentle trajectory. Falling to the ground, the product had to bounce off it and fly up again. For a more effective “reflection” from the surface, elastic balls were placed between the bodies. Only after climbing to a certain height should the explosion take place. During the fall and rebound of the bomb, the carrier managed to go a safe distance.

P. Petter-Bower had connections with the command of the Rhodesian army, and took advantage of this opportunity. The Alpha project was proposed to Air Force Commander Marshal Mick McLaren. In addition, he brought the layout of the future bomb to the marshal’s office. After studying the original design, the commander ordered to remove the product from the office, as well as continue work. Maclaren demanded that, in a month and a half, the first batch of bombs be made, sufficient to fully arm the four Canberra planes.

The author of the project indicated the lack of necessary funding, but the marshal promised to deal with this problem. Engineers were able to focus on design work, without being distracted by organizational issues. This allowed them to solve the task in a timely manner.

Soon the final appearance of the Alpha bomb was determined, after which the production of the first experimental batch for testing began. It is curious that with the design and testing of the design of the product has not changed. The general features of the bomb remained the same, while only a few of its individual elements underwent minor changes.

The largest element of the serial bomb was an external “soft” case with a diameter of 155 mm, stamped from steel sheet with a thickness of 3 mm. It consisted of two hemispheres that welded during the final assembly of the bomb. In the external sphere there were small hatches for the installation of the fuse and other operations. Directly under the outer casing, almost over its entire outer surface, there were 240 rubber balls with a diameter of about 20 mm. They served as a shock absorber, accumulating the energy of impact and helping the bomb to jump off the ground. Balls were absent only near the necks for the fuse and pouring the explosive.


Container CB470. Photo Bayourenaissanceman.blogspot.fr


The inner case had walls 8 mm thick. Inside it was set a glass of variable cross section, intended for the fuse and detonator. The upper part of such glass protruded beyond the inner body and reached the outer one, allowing technicians to serve the fuse. Also in the inner case there was a hole for pouring explosives during manufacture. It was closed by its own stopper.

Alpha type bomb carried a charge in the form of TNT 680. It was proposed to carry out an explosion using a shock detonator with a delay. For safe handling, the fuse was equipped with a safety check, which should be removed when the bombs were loaded onto the aircraft. The design of the fuse was determined in such a way that it worked at any impact on the ground, regardless of the position of the bomb in space. Calculations showed that the best results of the bomb will show when the fuse is slowed down in 0,7 s.

Small size and weight, as well as the simplicity of the design allowed the use of new bombs in large quantities. It was proposed to load them into special containers placed in the cargo compartments of the aircraft carrier. The discharge of a large number of bombs was carried out simultaneously, by simply opening the doors of the bomb bay. Containers with a capacity of 50 bombs have been developed for use with Canberra aircraft. Each such bomber could carry six containers with a total ammunition in 300 bombs.

The ideal use of Alpha bombs, as conceived by the designers, was as follows. The Canberra carrier aircraft was supposed to fly at an altitude of 500 feet (152 m) at a speed of 300 nodes (555 km / h). Approaching the goal, the pilot had to open the containers and drop bombs. Spherical munitions quickly slowed by the oncoming flow and lagged behind the flying aircraft, reducing the risks to it. With reduced speed, he had to go along a gentle path and reach the ground.

When hitting the ground with a meeting angle of no more than a 15-17 degree bomb, using rubber balls, extinguished the blow, and then bounced upwards, continuing to move. At the moment of impact, the detonator fuse began to work. Over the 0,7 with between the strike and the ground and the explosion, the bomb managed to rise to a height of no more than 10 m and move away from the point of impact on the 18-20 m. After that, there was a blast in the air, which ensured the correct distribution of fragments over the surrounding space and increased the effectiveness of the munition.


CB470 container and payload. Photo Bayourenaissanceman.blogspot.fr


A little ahead of schedule, Rhodesian experts prepared the first set of Alpha test bombs for use in trials. Three hundred of such products did not receive an explosive, instead of which concrete of the required mass was poured into them. In the course of the first tests, it was intended to determine the features of the release of bombs from the carrier's discharge chamber and the subsequent flight.

Already the first checks led to very interesting results. Thus, it was found that the test bombs could be used several times: after the first discharge, they had minor damage, and therefore a new test could take place without making a new batch. However, this was not the main achievement of the project.

Spherical aerial bombs, as required, slowed down noticeably during the fall and allowed the wearer to go a safe distance. In this case, the transverse dispersion of ammunition turned out to be even more calculated, which was considered a positive feature. It was soon determined that the sequential opening of six containers with 50 bombs each at intervals in 0,5-0,6 s, when flying at 500 feet with 300 nodes, allows the area to be covered with 700 meters and 100 widths. By changing the height and speed of flights , it was possible to influence the size of the attacked area.

Seven weeks after the start of design work, or a week after the deadline set by Marshal M. McLaren, the first test dump of Alpha bombs in combat configuration took place. On the site with a length of 1200 m and a width of 200 m placed a few hundred cardboard and metal targets, imitating manpower, equipment and materiel of the enemy. Only one Canberra bomber with a full load of Alpha products was to attack such a "base" of a conditional enemy. In confirmation of the already obtained characteristics of the bomb successfully hit almost all the existing targets. Calculations showed that an area of ​​one square foot accounted for an average of one fragment.

The command that observed these tests was delighted and did not hesitate in terms. With strong words, the Alpha bomb was recommended for use. Soon, an official order appeared, in accordance with which this product was accepted by the security forces of Rhodesia under the official designation M2 Alpha. Previously, to ensure testing, a full-scale production of such bombs was deployed. After adoption, it continued, now in the interests of the Air Force. An important feature of serial bombs was their low cost. Alfa alone cost the army about $ 60-65 US dollars at current prices.

According to various sources, the Rhodesian aircraft repeatedly used new weapons during various conflicts and operations. Almost all история Rhodesia was associated with armed struggle, and the original light bombs clearly did not have to lie in warehouses. At the same time, however, accurate information about the combat use of such weapons is missing. Where, when, how and with what results it was used by the Air Force of Rhodesia - is unknown.


CB470 containers with Mk 2 Alpha bombs on the external load of an aircraft of the South African Air Force. Photo Bayourenaissanceman.blogspot.fr


In 1979, the unrecognized Rhodesia ceased to exist. The authors of the project “Alpha” and many other specialists of the Rhodesian defense industry preferred to go to the Republic of South Africa. At the new site, they continued the development of the existing project and supplemented the existing bomb with a new tool. The Mk 2 Alpha was used with containers that were compatible only with Canberra bombers. For the use of bombs with other aircraft, a universal container called CB470 was developed.

The container had a torpedo-shaped hull with a lively head fairing and an X-shaped tail. In the central part of the hull 40 cells for bombs covered with round covers were provided. After the container was dropped from the aircraft, the caps should have been released and flown, ensuring the release of four dozen bombs. The CB470 container had a length of 2,6 m with a body diameter of 419 mm. The span of the stabilizer is 640 mm. Universal mounts allowed to use such a device with any aircraft that have external or internal suspension components. The container could be dropped from a height of at least 30 m. In optimal conditions, it ensured the destruction of targets in a strip of length 250 m and width 70 m.

Bomb container for products Mk 2 Alpha was adopted by the South African Air Force in the early eighties. There is information on the use of such products in subsequent armed conflicts. However, this time too there is no detailed information on the operation of weapons.

In the early eighties, a number of Alpha bombs and CB470 containers were sold to Iraq, which at that time fought with Iran. Known about the use of such weapons in the Iran-Iraq war. In addition, according to available data, the Iraqi industry has launched the release of its own version of South African bombs. A significant number of such products remained in warehouses until the early nineties. During the Gulf War, coalition aircraft destroyed most of these stocks.

A curious story took place in the middle of the two thousandth. Investigating the captured objects of the Iraqi army, American troops found a number of strange round ammunition. They could not be identified immediately, and therefore in certain circles rumors spread about some secret and mysterious Iraqi weapons. Not all Rhodesian developments are known to the general public, which led to such amusing consequences. Later, the interested public nevertheless was able to identify in the mysterious Iraqi bombs bombs created by the specialists of Rhodesia.

Since the declaration of independence, Rhodesia has faced the most serious problems, including in the field of armaments and military equipment. The existing tasks had to be solved on their own, without outside help. At the same time, the most original and interesting ideas were often suggested. One of them was implemented in the project with the “Alpha” code and had a noticeable effect on the combat capability of the less developed Air Force.


On the materials of the sites:
http://ourstory.com/
http://saairforce.co.za/
https://bayourenaissanceman.blogspot.fr/
http://michaelyon-online.com/
Author:
8 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. semenoffdima
    semenoffdima 4 December 2017 16: 21 New
    +2
    Well, we got to the rubber bomb ... Next in line is a concrete bomb, the radius of destruction of which is equal to the radius of the bomb ...
    1. gaudin
      gaudin 4 December 2017 19: 23 New
      +2
      You will not believe it, but Americans have such bombs, they do not have explosives, they are flooded with concrete. Designed to defeat armored vehicles in densely populated areas (do not create fragments) a minimum of collateral damage.
      1. opus
        opus 5 December 2017 00: 42 New
        +2
        Quote: gaudin
        Do not believe it, but there are Americans such bombs,

        I will not believe
        125 kg x 300м / с ^ 2 / 2 = Ек
        fragile concrete
        for
        Quote: gaudin
        for defeat armored vehicles

        will not work.

        was originally so
        US Wields Desert Weapon Against Iraq: Concrete Bomb
        He has been filling in with air traffic controllers, for example.

        Not by tanks, but by buildings.
        ==================
        and the concrete, for the manufacture of cases of bombs, the Germans used in 2МВ
        1. zyablik.olga
          zyablik.olga 5 December 2017 14: 07 New
          +1
          Quote: opus
          Quote: gaudin
          Do not believe it, but there are Americans such bombs,

          I will not believe
          125 kg x 300м / с ^ 2 / 2 = Ек
          fragile concrete
          for
          Quote: gaudin
          for defeat armored vehicles

          will not work.

          was originally so
          US Wields Desert Weapon Against Iraq: Concrete Bomb
          He has been filling in with air traffic controllers, for example.

          Not by tanks, but by buildings.
          ==================
          and the concrete, for the manufacture of cases of bombs, the Germans used in 2МВ

          Not so long ago, in one of the articles about American landfills, American training bombs of concrete with a blue package inside were mentioned. Which in the fall gave a clearly visible blue cloud.
        2. CTABEP
          CTABEP 10 December 2017 22: 03 New
          0
          Yes, and we, emnip, also during the Second World War, made concrete bombs. It’s clear that it’s not from a good life.
          And the bomb itself is interesting - in fact, an air blast with improvised means.
  2. viktorch
    viktorch 4 December 2017 16: 50 New
    0
    about the cast-iron bomb, what is heard?
  3. gaudin
    gaudin 5 December 2017 14: 52 New
    0
    Quote: opus
    Not by tanks, but by buildings.

    For what I bought for it and sell it, I heard it on TV, it was to destroy armored vehicles.
    Quote: opus
    will not work.

    At the Americans, in tests of 500 kg, a bomb split a tank turret.
    1. Aviator_
      Aviator_ 5 December 2017 19: 49 New
      +2
      Was the tower also made of concrete?

Авиационная бомба Mk 2 Alpha (Родезия)

Силы безопасности непризнанного государства Родезия не имели возможности покупать современные зарубежные образцы техники или вооружения, что, среди прочего, заставляло их создавать собственные проекты. Разрабатывались и выпускались изделия разных классов, в том числе авиационные бомбы. Постепенное развитие вооружения для боевой авиации привело к появлению бомбы под официальным обозначением Mk 2 Alpha.

На момент объявления независимости на вооружении Родезии имелись авиабомбы нескольких типов зарубежного производства. В ходе учений и боевых операций было установлено, что имеющиеся боеприпасы не в полной мере соответствуют особенностям местности. Оказалось, что осколочно-фугасные бомбы средних и больших калибров перед взрывом успевают зарыться в мягкий грунт, из-за чего ударная волна и осколки уходят преимущественно вверх и потому не могут поражать наземные цели. Кроме того, жесткие южноафриканские кусты в некоторых ситуациях могли защитить противника от осколков с малой энергией. Таким образом, ВВС нуждались в новом оружии, соответствующем особенностям региона.

Авиационная бомба Mk 2 Alpha (Родезия)
Бомба Mk 2 Alpha из арсеналов иракской армии. Фото Michaelyon-online.com



В начале семидесятых годов родезийская промышленность создала осколочную бомбу Mk 1. Это изделие имело значительное сходство с существующими бомбами, но, в отличие от них, могло взрываться только при касании земли. Такая возможность обеспечивалась иным взрывателем и измененной формой головной части. Подрыв на поверхности грунта резко повысил эффективность боевой работы авиации. Основным носителем бомб Mk 1 стал средний бомбардировщик English Electric Canberra. В грузоотсеке такой машины помещалось 96 легких бомб.

Эксплуатация авиабомб Mk 1 продолжалась до середины семидесятых, после чего их рекомендовали снять с вооружения ввиду чрезвычайной опасности. 4 апреля 1974 года самолет «Канберра» под управлением летчиков Кита Годдарда и Билла Айри выполнял боевую задачу на территории Мозамбика. Самолет сбросил бомбовую нагрузку, и боеприпасы моментально взорвались, уничтожив свой носитель. Расследование показало, что излишне чувствительный взрыватель бомбы Mk 1 мог сработать в любой момент после извлечения предохранительной чеки и сброса с носителем. К. Годдард и Б. Айри погибли из-за того, что пара бомб, едва покинув грузоотсек, столкнулась друг с другом и взорвалась.

Стало ясно, что имеющееся оружие использовать нельзя, и военно-воздушные силы нуждаются в новых бомбах. К этому времени родезийские инженеры успели разработать новую концепцию бомбы малого калибра, и результаты расследования гибели бомбардировщика над Мозамбиком подстегнули работы в этом направлении.

Идею, лежавшую в основе нового проекта, предложил летчик Питер Петтер-Боуэр. Проработкой технических вопросов занимались инженеры Дензил и Бев. Совместными усилиями трое авторов проекта разработали интересную концепцию, предусматривавшую использование некоторых известных принципов в сочетании с оригинальными идеями. Правильный подход к выбору решений позволял получить желаемую боевую эффективность.

Новый проект авиабомбы получил рабочее название Alpha («Альфа»). Впоследствии новые проекты авиационных средств поражения получали названия по другим буквам греческого алфавита. После принятия на вооружение изделию присвоили официальный индекс Mk 2.

Для прорыва противовоздушной обороны южноафриканских стран того времени ударный самолет должен был идти на минимальной высоте с максимально возможной скоростью. Новый проект Alpha предлагал сбрасывать бомбы именно на малой высоте. Во избежание поражения бомбардировщика собственным оружием, а также для повышения боевой эффективности в конструкции бомбы реализовывались оригинальные предложения.


Бомба в разрезе. Рисунок Saairforce.co.za


Боевая часть бомбы, отвечающая за поражение целей, должна была представлять собой металлическую сферу, заполненную взрывчатым веществом и оснащенную взрывателем с замедлением. Поверх основного корпуса, дробящегося на осколки, следовало помещать более крупную тонкую сферу. Пространство между двумя корпусами планировалось заполнить резиновыми шариками достаточного диаметра. Петтер-Боуэр, Дензил и Бев полагали, что сферическая бомба после сброса с самолета будет терять скорость и лететь по пологой траектории. Упав на землю, изделие должно было отскакивать от нее и вновь подлетать вверх. Для более эффективного «отражения» от поверхности между корпусами располагались упругие шары. Только после подъема на некоторую высоту должен был происходить подрыв. За время падения и отскока бомбы носитель успевал уйти на безопасное расстояние.

П. Петтер-Боуэр имел связи с командованием родезийской армии, и воспользовался такой возможностью. Проект «Альфа» был предложен командующему ВВС маршалу Мику Макларену. Кроме того, он принес в офис маршала макет будущей бомбы. Изучив оригинальную разработку, главком распорядился убрать изделие из кабинета, а также продолжить работы. Макларен потребовал, чтобы через полтора месяца была изготовлена первая партия бомб, достаточная для полного вооружения четырех самолетов Canberra.

Автор проекта указал на отсутствие необходимого финансирования, но маршал пообещал разобраться с этой проблемой. Инженеры получили возможность сосредоточиться на конструкторской работе, не отвлекаясь на организационные вопросы. Это позволило им решить поставленную задачу в установленные сроки.

Вскоре был определен окончательный облик бомбы Alpha, после чего началось производство первой опытной партии, предназначенной для испытаний. Любопытно, что по мере проектирования и испытаний конструкция изделия почти не менялась. Общие особенности бомбы оставались прежними, тогда как незначительные изменения претерпевали лишь отдельные ее элементы.

Самым крупным элементом серийной бомбы был внешний «мягкий» корпус диаметром 155 мм, штамповавшийся из стального листа толщиной 3 мм. Он состоял из двух полусфер, сваривавшихся при окончательной сборке бомбы. Во внешней сфере имелись небольшие лючки для установки взрывателя и других операций. Непосредственно под внешним корпусом, почти по всей его внешней поверхности, располагалось 240 резиновых шариков диаметром около 20 мм. Они выполняли функции амортизатора, накапливавшего энергию удара и помогавшего бомбе отпрыгнуть от земли. Шарики отсутствовали только около горловин для взрывателя и заливки взрывчатого вещества.


Контейнер CB470. Фото Bayourenaissanceman.blogspot.fr


Внутренний корпус имел стенки толщиной 8 мм. Внутри него устанавливался стакан переменного сечения, предназначавшийся для взрывателя и детонатора. Верхняя часть такого стакана выступала за пределы внутреннего корпуса и доходила до внешнего, позволяя техникам обслуживать взрыватель. Также во внутреннем корпусе имелось отверстие для заливки взрывчатого вещества при изготовлении. Оно закрывалось собственной пробкой.

Бомба типа Alpha несла заряд в виде 680 г тротила. Подрыв предлагалось осуществлять при помощи ударного взрывателя с замедлением. Для безопасного обращения взрыватель оснащался предохранительной чекой, которую следовало извлекать при загрузке бомб в самолет. Конструкция взрывателя была определена таким образом, что он срабатывал при любом ударе о грунт, независимо от положения бомбы в пространстве. Расчеты показали, что наилучшие результаты бомба покажет при замедлении взрывателя в 0,7 с.

Малые размеры и масса, а также простота конструкции позволяли использовать новые бомбы в больших количествах. Их предлагалось загружать в специальные контейнеры, помещаемые в грузоотсек самолета-носителя. Сброс большого числа бомб осуществлялся одновременно, простым открытием створок бомболюка. Для использования с самолетами Canberra были разработаны контейнеры емкостью 50 бомб. Каждый такой бомбардировщик мог нести шесть контейнеров при общем боекомплекте в 300 бомб.

Идеальное применение бомб «Альфа», по задумке конструкторов, выглядело следующим образом. Самолет-носитель типа «Канберра» должен был лететь на высоте 500 футов (152 м) со скоростью 300 узлов (555 км/ч). Приближаясь к цели, летчик должен был открывать контейнеры и сбрасывать бомбы. Сферический боеприпас быстро замедлялся набегающим потоком и отставал от улетающего самолета, снижая риски для него. С сокращенной скоростью он должен был проходить по пологой траектории и достигать земли.

При ударе о землю с углом встречи не более 15-17 градусов бомба, используя резиновые шарики, гасила удар, а затем отскакивала вверх, продолжая поступательное движение. В момент удара начинал работу взрыватель с замедлителем. За 0,7 с между ударом и землю и взрывом бомба успевала подняться на высоту не более 10 м и удалиться от точки падения на 18-20 м. После этого происходил подрыв в воздухе, обеспечивавший правильное распределение осколков по окружающему пространству и повышавший эффективность боеприпаса.


Контейнер CB470 и его полезная нагрузка. Фото Bayourenaissanceman.blogspot.fr


С небольшим опережением установленных сроков родезийские специалисты подготовили первый комплект опытных бомб Alpha, предназначенный для использования в испытаниях. Три сотни таких изделий не получили взрывчатое вещество, вместо которого в них залили бетон требуемой массы. В ходе первых испытаний предполагалось определить особенности выхода бомб из грузоотсека носителя и последующего полета.

Уже первые проверки привели к весьма интересным результатам. Так, было установлено, что опытные бомбы могут использоваться несколько раз: после первого сброса они имели незначительные повреждения, и потому новая проверка могла состояться без изготовления новой партии. Тем не менее, это было далеко не главным достижением проекта.

Сферические авиабомбы, как и требовалось, заметно замедлялись во время падения и позволяли носителю уйти на безопасное расстояние. При этом поперечное рассеивание боеприпасов оказалось даже больше расчетного, что посчитали положительной особенностью. Вскоре было определено, что последовательное открытие шести контейнеров с 50 бомбами в каждом с интервалами в 0,5-0,6 с, при полете на высоте 500 футов со скоростью 300 узлов, позволяет накрыть бомбами район длиной 700 м и шириной 100 м. Изменяя высоту и скорость полета, можно было влиять на размеры атакуемого района.

Через семь недель после старта проектных работ или через неделю после крайнего срока, установленного маршалом М. Маклареном, состоялся первый испытательный сброс бомб «Альфа» в боевой комплектации. На площадке длиной 1200 м и шириной 200 м разместили несколько сотен картонных и металлических мишеней, имитировавших живую силу, технику и материальную часть противника. Атаковать такую «базу» условного противника должен был всего один бомбардировщик Canberra с полным боекомплектом изделий Alpha. В подтверждение уже полученных характеристик бомбы успешно поразили почти все имеющиеся цели. Подсчеты показали, что на площадь в один квадратный фут приходилось в среднем по одному осколку.

Командование, наблюдавшее за этими испытаниями, было в восторге и не стеснялось в выражениях. Крепким словцом бомбу «Альфа» рекомендовали к принятию на вооружение. Вскоре появился официальный приказ, в соответствии с которым это изделие принималось силами безопасности Родезии под официальным обозначением M2 Alpha. Ранее, для обеспечения испытаний, было развернуто полномасштабное производство таких бомб. После принятия на вооружение оно продолжилось, теперь уже в интересах ВВС. Важной особенностью серийных бомб стала их низкая стоимость. Одна «Альфа» обходилась армии примерно в 60-65 долларов США в современных ценах.

По разным данным, родезийские самолеты неоднократно использовали новое оружие в ходе различных конфликтов и операций. Почти вся история Родезии была связана с вооруженной борьбой, и оригинальным легким бомбам явно не приходилось залеживаться на складах. При этом, однако, точные сведения о боевом применении такого оружия отсутствуют. Где, когда, как и с какими результатами оно использовалось ВВС Родезии – неизвестно.


Контейнеры CB470 с бомбами Mk 2 Alpha на внешней подвеске бомбардировщика ВВС ЮАР. Фото Bayourenaissanceman.blogspot.fr


В 1979 году непризнанная Родезия прекратила свое существование. Авторы проекта «Альфа» и многие другие специалисты родезийской оборонной промышленности предпочли уехать в Южно-Африканскую Республику. На новом месте они продолжили развитие существующего проекта и дополнили имеющуюся бомбу новым средством. Изделие Mk 2 Alpha использовалось вместе с контейнерами, которые были совместимы только с бомбардировщиками «Канберра». Для применения бомб с другими самолетами был разработан универсальный контейнер под названием CB470.

Контейнер имел торпедообразный корпус с оживальным головным обтекателем и Х-образным хвостовым оперением. В центральной части корпуса предусматривалось 40 ячеек для бомб, прикрытых круглыми крышками. После сброса контейнера с самолета крышки должны были освобождаться и слетать, обеспечивая выход четырех десятков бомб. Контейнер CB470 имел длину 2,6 м при диаметре корпуса 419 мм. Размах стабилизатора – 640 мм. Универсальные крепления позволяли использовать такое устройство с любыми самолетами, имеющими узлы внешней или внутренней подвески. Контейнер можно было сбрасывать с высоты не менее 30 м. В оптимальных условиях он обеспечивал поражение целей в полосе длиной 250 м и шириной 70 м.

Бомбовый контейнер для изделий Mk 2 Alpha был принят на вооружение ВВС ЮАР в начале восьмидесятых годов. Имеется информация о применения таких изделий в последующих вооруженных конфликтах. Впрочем, и на этот раз подробные сведения об эксплуатации вооружения отсутствуют.

В начале восьмидесятых некоторое количество бомб «Альфа» и контейнеров CB470 было продано Ираку, который в то время воевал с Ираном. Известно об использовании такого оружия в ирано-иракской войне. Кроме того, по имеющимся данным, иракская промышленность наладила выпуск собственной версии южно-африканских бомб. Значительное число таких изделий оставалось на складах до начала девяностых. Во время войны в Персидском заливе авиация коалиции уничтожила большую часть этих запасов.

Любопытная история имела место в середине двухтысячных годов. Обследуя захваченные объекты иракской армии, американские войска нашли некоторое количество странных круглых боеприпасов. Их не удалось опознать сразу, и потому в определенных кругах распространились слухи о неком секретном и загадочном иракском оружии. Далеко не все родезийские разработки известны широкой общественности, что и привело к таким забавным последствиям. Позже интересующаяся общественность все же смогла опознать в загадочных иракских шарах бомбы, созданные специалистами Родезии.

С момента объявления о своей независимости Родезия сталкивалась с самыми серьезными проблемами, в том числе в области вооружений и военной техники. Имеющиеся задачи приходилось решать своими силами, без чужой помощи. При этом нередко предлагались самые оригинальные и интересные идеи. Одна из них была реализована в проекте с шифром «Альфа» и заметным образом повлияла на боеспособность не самых развитых ВВС.


По материалам сайтов:
http://ourstory.com/
http://saairforce.co.za/
https://bayourenaissanceman.blogspot.fr/
http://michaelyon-online.com/
Автор: Рябов Кирилл


Читайте "Военное обозрение" в Яндекс Новостях

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также

Комментарии 8

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. semenoffdima (Дмитрий) 4 декабря 2017 16:21
    Ну вот и до каучуковой бомбы добрались... На очереди - бетониевая бомба, радиус поражения которой равен радиусу бомбы...
    1. gaudin (Andrej Stepanov) 4 декабря 2017 19:23
      Не поверишь, но есть такие бомбы у американцев, они не имеют взрывчатки, залиты бетоном. Предназначены для поражение бронетехники в густонаселенных районах (не создают осколков) минимум побочных повреждений.
      1. opus (Антон) 5 декабря 2017 00:42
        Цитата: gaudin
        Не поверишь, но есть такие бомбы у американцев,

        не поверю
        125 кг х 300м/с^2/ 2=Ек
        бетон хрупкий
        для
        Цитата: gaudin
        для поражение бронетехники

        не подойдёт.

        изначально было так
        U.S. Wields Defter Weapon Against Iraq: Concrete Bomb
        Wary of killing civilians, the Air Force has begun filling 2,000-pound, laser-guided bombs with concrete instead of explosives and dropping them on military targets near populated areas, American military officials here said.

        Не по танкам, а по зданиям.
        ==================
        а бетон, для изготовления КОРПУСОВ бомб еще немцы использовали во 2МВ
        1. zyablik.olga (Ольга) 5 декабря 2017 14:07
          Цитата: opus
          Цитата: gaudin
          Не поверишь, но есть такие бомбы у американцев,

          не поверю
          125 кг х 300м/с^2/ 2=Ек
          бетон хрупкий
          для
          Цитата: gaudin
          для поражение бронетехники

          не подойдёт.

          изначально было так
          U.S. Wields Defter Weapon Against Iraq: Concrete Bomb
          Wary of killing civilians, the Air Force has begun filling 2,000-pound, laser-guided bombs with concrete instead of explosives and dropping them on military targets near populated areas, American military officials here said.

          Не по танкам, а по зданиям.
          ==================
          а бетон, для изготовления КОРПУСОВ бомб еще немцы использовали во 2МВ

          Не так давно в одной из статей про американские полигоны упоминались американские учебные бомбы из бетона с пакетом синьки внутри. Которая при падении давала хорошо видимое синее облако.
        2. CTABEP (Михаил) 10 декабря 2017 22:03
          Да и мы, емнип, тоже во время ВОВ корпуса бомб из бетона делали. Понятное дело, что не от хорошей жизни.
          А сама по себе бомба интересная - по сути воздушный подрыв подручными средствами.
  2. viktorch 4 декабря 2017 16:50
    про чугунеевую бомбу что слышно ?
  3. gaudin (Andrej Stepanov) 5 декабря 2017 14:52
    Цитата: opus
    Не по танкам, а по зданиям.

    За что купил за то и продаю, сам слышал по телеку, уничтожать именно бронетехнику.
    Цитата: opus
    не подойдёт.

    У американцах на испытаниях 500 кг бомба раскалывала башню танка.
    1. Авиатор_ (Сергей) 5 декабря 2017 19:49
      Башня была тоже из бетония?
Картина дня