Military Review

The most dangerous US nuclear weapon in history: the dirty SLAM missile

13
At the end of the 50s, in the midst of the Cold War, the United States attempted to create the most dangerous and destructive nuclear weapons в stories - SLAM missiles, causing great damage to infrastructure and the environment in the territory of the enemy.


For seven years, the US government has been developing a project to create, without exaggeration, the most deadly weapon in history. The development was called Supersonic Low Altitude Missile (SLAM) and was supposed to be the first (and, apparently, the last) absolute nuclear weapons.

Vintage video will help to understand the details. In addition to intercontinental ballistic missiles and strategic bombers, the United States Air Force wanted to have a third type of weaponry in order to launch retaliatory strikes in case the Cold War develops into a “hot” phase. The result was a SLAM - a nuclear-powered cruise missile that could fly for weeks before bringing rain of hydrogen bombs down on enemy rears.



The project, which received the working title The Big Stick (lit. "Big Stick") was transferred to the aerospace giant Convair. SLAM was considered as a nuclear-powered cruise missile that could penetrate enemy airspace at low altitude, drop nuclear bombs on targets, and then commit "suicide" in enemy territory and contaminate it with radioactive substances. The Pentagon hoped that the weapon would be ready for 1965 year - six years after the release of this film.

The launch of SLAM was carried out with the help of a special launch vehicle, and after reaching a certain threshold of speed, the own nuclear engine of the rocket began to work. According to calculations, it could stay in the air for up to several weeks: the entrance into the airspace of the enemy was at an altitude of 300 meters or less at a speed of Mach 3,5 (1160 m / s), and an unscreened nuclear reactor would further pollute the environment with radioactive waste.

SLAM was designed to carry nuclear weapons or more powerful thermonuclear bombs. The version of the rocket, shown in the video, contained one warhead with a thermonuclear filling, but could also carry smaller nuclear bombs - according to some sources, up to 26 units.

SLAM was canceled in 1964, amid concerns about its profitability and practicality. Testing a rocket designed to emit lethal doses of radiation was a very difficult and dangerous undertaking (although most of the individual components, including the reactor, were successfully prototyped). Ultimately, the use of such missiles would turn the Earth into a radioactive desert. Finally, the creation of conventional nuclear warheads was cheaper, simpler and much faster.
Author:
Originator:
https://www.popmech.ru/weapon/399452-samoe-opasnoe-yadernoe-oruzhie-ssha-za-vsyu-istoriyu-gryaznaya-raketa-slam/
13 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. demiurg
    demiurg 3 December 2017 07: 06
    11
    Kuzkina's mother in a ground explosion looks much more promising.
    But the imagination that the Americans, that our egg-headed 60s is impressive, didn’t want to trifle for 100-200 kilotons.
    1. pilot306
      pilot306 3 December 2017 07: 53
      +4
      In addition to the defeat factors listed in the article, SLEM had a monstrous shock wave from flying at three Machs at low altitude, which would kill all life below.
    2. 210ox
      210ox 3 December 2017 15: 03
      +3
      By the way, we developed an aircraft with an "atomic" engine .. For the same reasons, they covered up pollution, potential danger, and special aerodromes (normal landing was not possible due to high radioactivity)
      Quote: demiurg
      Kuzkina's mother in a ground explosion looks much more promising.
      But the imagination that the Americans, that our egg-headed 60s is impressive, didn’t want to trifle for 100-200 kilotons.
  2. polpot
    polpot 3 December 2017 08: 39
    0
    Thanks for the article. I wonder how much money was spent on preparing such a crazy project.
  3. The comment was deleted.
  4. Nikolaevich I
    Nikolaevich I 3 December 2017 10: 12
    +9
    Yeah .... There was a time .... "romantic"! Whatever the project, the "nuclear"! Nuclear power plants, nuclear ships, submarines, missiles, airplanes, atomic artillery ... you open a book (NFL), read it at your leisure ... and there you see: atomic hovercraft tanks, the same infantry fighting vehicles ; infantrymen in spacesuits-capsules with blasters at the ready and "atomic" satchels behind their backs .... Full "paragraph" !!! What is tepericha? Boredom!
    1. Monster_Fat
      Monster_Fat 3 December 2017 11: 49
      +5
      I agree. It is necessary to develop a variety of new “Wishlist” in order to force the nouveau riche and the state to invest not in competition with the goal of overthrowing one government or another in the name of further stuffing their money and not in the production of “iPhones” and “iPads”, but in creating something such as flying, underwater, underground cities, settlements on the Moon and other planets, which will push humanity to a new technological leap and the current "problems" by and large, "sucked from the finger" will go by the wayside ...
  5. Old26
    Old26 3 December 2017 14: 07
    +1
    Quote: polpot
    Thanks for the article. I wonder how much money was spent on preparing such a crazy project.

    not at all. unless the money spent on the movie and on the paper on which it was painted
  6. Aviator_
    Aviator_ 3 December 2017 15: 59
    +2
    [/ quote] Entrance into the airspace of the enemy was carried out at an altitude of 300 meters or less at a speed of Mach 3,5 (1160 m / s), [quote]
    Adroit piarast move for knocking out money. 1160 m / s at an altitude of 300 m is, in principle, an unattainable parameter for structural strength, I’m completely silent about the possibility of creating an engine for this aircraft. I understand that in the model aircraft circles of the Palaces of the Pioneers of the USSR projects of photon engines for interstellar spaceships were also created, but the Palaces of the Pioneers did this for free.
    1. ZVO
      ZVO 3 December 2017 20: 15
      0
      Quote: Aviator_
      Entrance into the enemy’s airspace was carried out at an altitude of 300 meters or less at a speed of Mach 3,5 (1160 m / s),
      Adroit piarast move for knocking out money. 1160 m / s at an altitude of 300 m is in principle an unattainable parameter


      You are inattentive.
      Or low-altitude flight at a height of 300 meters
      Or high-altitude flight with a speed of 3,5M.
      Depending on the type of air defense, an air defense breakthrough mode is chosen.
      1. Aviator_
        Aviator_ 3 December 2017 23: 04
        0
        I quoted the text of the article
        [/ quote] Entrance into the airspace of the enemy was carried out at an altitude of 300 meters or less at a speed of Mach 3,5 (1160 m / s), [quote]
        , so there is no question of dual-mode. This is obvious nonsense - to plan a new carrier for a completely new non-existent engine. The ideas of Soviet pioneers about a photon interplanetary ship are somewhat closer to embodiment, that is, no one thought about embodiment here. Very similar to the German Zenger 1945 project of the year on orbital planning media.
  7. shinobi
    shinobi 4 December 2017 05: 46
    0
    This project was actually closed for another simple and very banal reason. The proposed storage and conservation sites required a level of bioprotection as on a working reactor for each storage unit.
    1. vadimtt
      vadimtt 4 December 2017 13: 41
      0
      Why would it be, fresh nuclear fuel is not dangerous. And her warhead is not "dirty", but the usual one - nuclear or thermonuclear. So storage - like all similar ammunition.
  8. Dekabrev
    Dekabrev 4 December 2017 23: 16
    +1
    And how were they going to experience this - they wanted to arrange an environmental paragraph over the territory of the United States or a likely adversary or the Atlantic? One of the problems with nuclear bombers was precisely the possibility of a plane crash. And this product has a plane crash - this is a regular situation. Again, what material can withstand a long three-swing shaving flight? Therefore, they closed the project. This is a project from the same series as Star Wars - they implemented, implemented, but did not realize.

Самое опасное ядерное оружие США за всю историю: «грязная» ракета SLAM

В конце 50-х годов, в самый разгар Холодной войны, США предприняли попытку создания самого опасного и разрушительного ядерного оружия в истории — ракеты SLAM, наносящей огромный урон инфраструктуре и окружающей среде на территории врага.

В течение семи лет правительство США разрабатывало проект по созданию без преувеличения самого смертоносного оружия в истории. Разработка получила название Supersonic Low Altitude Missile (SLAM) и должна была стать первым (и, судя по всему, последним) абсолютным ядерным оружием.

Винтажное видео поможет разобраться в деталях. Военно-воздушные силы США в дополнение к межконтинентальным баллистическим ракетам и стратегическим бомбардировщикам для нанесения ответных ударов по Советскому Союзу хотели иметь третий тип вооружения на случай, если Холодная война перерастет в «горячую» фазу. Результатом стала SLAM — крылатая ракета с ядерным двигателем, которая могла летать целыми неделями, прежде чем обрушить дождь из водородных бомб на вражеские тылы.




Проект, получивший рабочее название The Big Stick (букв. «Большая Палка») был передан аэрокосмическому гиганту Convair. SLAM рассматривался как крылатая ракета с ядерным двигателем, которая могла бы проникать в воздушное пространство противника на малой высоте, сбрасывать ядерные бомбы на цели, а затем совершать «самоубийство» на вражеской территории и загрязнять ее радиоактивными веществами. Пентагон надеялся, что оружие будет готово к 1965 году — спустя шесть лет с момента выхода этого фильма.

Запуск SLAM производился с помощью специальной ракеты-носителя, а после достижения определенного порога скорости начинал работать собственный ядерный двигатель ракеты. Согласно расчетам, она могла держаться в воздухе до нескольких недель: вход в воздушное пространство противника осуществлялся на высоте 300 метров или менее на скорости в 3,5 Маха (1160 м/c), а неэкранированный ядерный реактор дополнительно загрязнял бы среду радиоактивными отходами.

SLAM был разработан для перевозки ядерного оружия или более мощных термоядерных бомб. Версия ракеты, представленная на видео, содержала одну боеголовку с термоядерной начинкой, но могла также нести ядерные бомбы меньшего размера — по некоторым данным, до 26 штук.

SLAM был отменен в 1964 году на фоне опасений относительно его рентабельности и практичности. Испытывать ракету, предназначенную для излучения летальных доз радиации, было очень трудной и опасной затеей (хотя большинство отдельных компонентов, включая реактор, были успешно прототипированы). В конечном итоге использование таких ракет превратило бы Землю в радиоактивную пустыню. Наконец, создание обычных ядерных боеголовок было дешевле, проще и намного быстрее.
Автор:
Василий Макаров
Первоисточник:
https://www.popmech.ru/weapon/399452-samoe-opasnoe-yadernoe-oruzhie-ssha-za-vsyu-istoriyu-gryaznaya-raketa-slam/
Ctrl Enter

Заметив ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

13 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. demiurg Офлайн
    demiurg (валера) 3 декабря 2017 07:06
    +11
    Кузькина мать при наземном взрыве куда перспективнее смотрится.
    Но фантазия что американских, что наших яйцеголовых 60х годов впечатляет, мелочится на 100-200 килотонн не хотели.
    1. pilot306 Офлайн
      pilot306 3 декабря 2017 07:53
      +4
      Кроме перечисленных в статье факторов поражения у СЛЭМа была чудовищная ударная волна от полёта на трёх Махах на малой высоте, которая убивала бы всё живое внизу.
    2. 210окв Офлайн
      210окв (дмитрий) 3 декабря 2017 15:03
      +3
      Кстати у нас разрабатывался самолёт с "атомным"двигателем..По тем же причинам прикрыли-загрязнение,потенциальная опасность,спецаэродромы(на обычный посадка была невозможна в следствие высокой радиоактивности)
      Цитата: demiurg
      Кузькина мать при наземном взрыве куда перспективнее смотрится.
      Но фантазия что американских, что наших яйцеголовых 60х годов впечатляет, мелочится на 100-200 килотонн не хотели.
  2. polpot Офлайн
    polpot (Andru) 3 декабря 2017 08:39
    0
    Спасибо за статью интересно сколько денег освоили при подготовке столь безумного проекта
  3. Комментарий был удален.
  4. Nikolaevich I Офлайн
    Nikolaevich I (Владимир) 3 декабря 2017 10:12
    +9
    Да уж....Было время...."романтическое" ! Что ни проект,то "ядерный" ! АЭС,"атомные" суда-корабли,подлодки,ракеты,самолёты,"атомная" артиллерия...книжку(НФЛ) раскроешь ,почитать на досуге...а там: "атомные" танки на воздушной подушке,такие же боевые машины пехоты;пехотинцы в скафандрах-капсулах с бластерами наперевес и "атомными" ранцами за спиной....Полный "абзац" !!! А чё теперича ? Скукотища !
    1. Monster_Fat Офлайн
      Monster_Fat (Да Какая Разница) 3 декабря 2017 11:49
      +5
      Согласен. Нужно развитие разнообразных новых "хотелок", чтобы заставить нуворишей и государства вкладывать деньги не в соревнование с целью свергнуть то или иное правительство во имя дальнейшего набивания своей мошны и не в производство одних "айфонов" и "айпадов", а в создание чего-то типа летающих, подводных, подземных городов, поселений на Луне и других планетах, что подвигнет человечество на новый технологический скачок и теперяшние "проблемы" по большому счету, "высосанные из пальца" уйдут на второй план...
  5. Старый26 Офлайн
    Старый26 (Владимир) 3 декабря 2017 14:07
    +1
    Цитата: polpot
    Спасибо за статью интересно сколько денег освоили при подготовке столь безумного проекта

    нисколько. разве только деньги, потраченные на кинофильм и на бумагу, на которой это рисовали
  6. Авиатор_ Офлайн
    Авиатор_ (Сергей) 3 декабря 2017 15:59
    +2
    [/quote]вход в воздушное пространство противника осуществлялся на высоте 300 метров или менее на скорости в 3,5 Маха (1160 м/c),[quote]
    Ловкий пиарастный ход для выбивания денег. 1160 м/с на высоте 300 м в принципе недостижимый параметр по прочности конструкции, я уж про возможность создания двигателя для этого ЛА вообще молчу. Понимаю, что в авиамодельных кружках Дворцов пионеров СССР тоже создавались проекты фотонных двигателей для межзвёздных космических кораблей, но Дворцы Пионеров всё же это делали бесплатно.
    1. ЗВО Онлайн
      ЗВО (Алекс) 3 декабря 2017 20:15
      0
      Цитата: Авиатор_
      вход в воздушное пространство противника осуществлялся на высоте 300 метров или менее на скорости в 3,5 Маха (1160 м/c),
      Ловкий пиарастный ход для выбивания денег. 1160 м/с на высоте 300 м в принципе недостижимый параметр


      Вы невнимательны.
      Либо низковысотный полет на высоте 300метров
      Либо высотный полет со скоростью 3,5М.
      В зависимости от типа ПВО и выбирается режим прорыва ПВО.
      1. Авиатор_ Офлайн
        Авиатор_ (Сергей) 3 декабря 2017 23:04
        0
        Я процитировал текст статьи
        [/quote]вход в воздушное пространство противника осуществлялся на высоте 300 метров или менее на скорости в 3,5 Маха (1160 м/c),[quote]
        , так что о двухрежимности здесь речи нет. Это явный бред - планировать новый носитель под абсолютно новый несуществующий двигатель. Идеи Советских пионеров о фотонном межпланетном корабле несколько ближе к воплощению, то есть, о воплощении тут никто и не думал. Очень похоже на немецкий проект Зенгера 1945 года об орбитальном планирующем носителе.
  7. синоби Офлайн
    синоби (Юрий) 4 декабря 2017 05:46
    0
    Закрыли на самом деле этот проект по другой простой и весьма банальной причине.Предпологаемые места хранения и консервации требовали уровень биозащиты как на работающем реакторе для каждой единицы хранения.Накладно однако.
    1. vadimtt Офлайн
      vadimtt (Вадим) 4 декабря 2017 13:41
      0
      С чего-бы это, свежее ядерное топливо не опасно. А боезаряд у нее не "грязный", а обычный - ядерный или термоядерный. Так что хранение - как у всех подобных боеприпасов.
  8. Dekabrev Офлайн
    Dekabrev 4 декабря 2017 23:16
    +1
    А как они это испытывать собирались - над территорией США или вероятного противника или Атлантике экологический абзац хотели устроить? Одна из проблем с ядерными бомбардировщиками была именно в возможности авиакатастрофы. А у этого изделия авиакатастрофа - это штатная ситуация. Опять же какой материал выдержит длительный трехмаховый бреющий полёт? Поэтому и закрыли проект. Это проект из того же ряда, что и "звёздные войны" - их реализовывали, реализовывали, да не выреализовывали.
Картина дня