Military Review

Acute Lack of Information Warfare Skills (CEPA)

10



Old proven methods are becoming increasingly important, despite the speed with which everything changes. This is the paradox of modern security policy.

Britain and other countries are no longer firing cold war veterans who have experience in counter-propaganda and spyware capture. These people understood the mentality of the Soviet Union at that time; they can understand the intentions of Russia now. They can, in general noise, catch the necessary signal, analyzing which events are combined into a general picture, and which - the result of accidents.

In turn, men and women dressed in uniforms learn to handle maps and compasses in case Russia breaks down satellite communications and other technologies on which we depend. Traditional weapon in many cases it turns out to be more reliable. In the Baltic States and not only our special operations forces teach locals guerilla warfare. In a sense, this is the legacy of the Forest Brothers guerrilla resistance in 40-50.

All this produces a good deterrent effect. The Kremlin has enjoyed its success over the past 25 years. Western countries refused to believe that Russia had aggressive intentions. Then they did not want to believe that these intentions would turn into aggressive actions. And then, for political and economic reasons, they decided to pretend that nothing happened.

Now this era is over. The Kremlin understands that its long-term attack on the West is becoming risky. His spies can catch. His illegal transactions will be announced and presented before the court. If he decides to attack, it will cost him dearly. No one can guarantee security, but all this means that the risk of an escalation of the conflict has become lower.

This problem has two sides. We still do not quite understand what is being said when it comes to "Kremlin tactics." How does Russia use drones? Artificial Intelligence? Face recognition technology?

Of particular concern is how we will protect the population. We are talking not only about those who criticize the Kremlin in their official statements. At risk all those who are related to the security of the state. I constantly hear examples (which are refuted at the official level) of the use of cyber attacks against NATO personnel at all levels. New technologies make it possible to deliver an incredibly accurate point punch. For example, an episode with hacking of smartphones of German soldiers in Lithuania, when they believed that their second half changed them until they were at home. If something like this was the place to be, then this is one of the oldest tricks, but it was very skillfully implemented using social networks and other modern means of communication.

We not only fail to keep up with the rapidly evolving threat. We also lack the experience of proven fighters. Western countries have lost their skills in studying Russia after the 1991 year. We hire and train Russian-speaking specialists, but some skills have been developing for decades. Officials say that in the heart of the intelligence world, the traditional approach to learning has always been maintained. But this is not so much benefit when we talk about the Russian threat to society - education, energy, finance, the media, the legal system, and so on. We need an open and detailed debate about Russian influence and how to deal with it, and then strengthen the vulnerabilities enjoyed by the Kremlin.

Fortunately, our allies - the Baltics, Ukraine, Central Europe and others - have this experience. We need to learn from them.
Author:
Originator:
http://cepa.org/EuropesEdge/The-infowar-skills-gap
Photos used:
US Air Force photo / Tech. Sgt. Cecilio ricardos
10 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Kleber
    Kleber 4 December 2017 17: 30
    +1
    Britain and other countries stop firing Cold War veterans who have experience in counter-propaganda and the capture of spies. These people understood the way of thinking of the Soviet Union in those days; they can understand Russia's intentions now.


    Well, well

    "Russia doesn’t understand,
    No yardstick to measure:
    She has a special feature -
    You can only believe in Russia. "
    Author: F. I. Tyutchev
  2. andr327
    andr327 4 December 2017 18: 35
    +2
    Western brawler-layman. I didn’t try to turn on my head. Although the Westerners have lost this opportunity, it seems forever. The society of consumers of food, rules of behavior, other people's thoughts ...
    1. japs
      japs 4 December 2017 19: 47
      +5
      What a familiar tone, style, and “whether all polymers are pro”, “we were merged”.
      Special propaganda in action. We would still have to restore effective counter-propaganda ...
  3. iouris
    iouris 4 December 2017 20: 03
    0
    To promote this noble provocateur Lucas - do not respect yourself.
  4. AshiSolo
    AshiSolo 4 December 2017 20: 31
    0
    Kaptsov, chtol, works on the second front ???
  5. Andrei from Chelyabinsk
    Andrei from Chelyabinsk 4 December 2017 20: 35
    +1
    For example, the episode with the hacking of smartphones of German soldiers in Lithuania, when they believed that their soul mates were cheating on them while they were not at home

    I understand that the author of the article is that very soulmate who cheated on his faithful while he was in Latvia?
    But in general - it is symptomatic. If in the West they are trying to justify adultery with the machinations of Russian hackers wassat
  6. BMP-2
    BMP-2 5 December 2017 02: 11
    +1
    Hmmm ... what Chop off so much Soviet territory, and still talk about some kind of Russian aggression ... belay fool
    The author, why do you need the skills of information warfare? You are already informationally killed! laughing

    Ps: as I understand it, this is one of the descendants of George Lucas decided to sketch out the scenario "Star Wars. Episode 7". laughing
  7. Rostislav
    Rostislav 5 December 2017 09: 32
    +1
    Ordinary custom article-moan about "scary and treacherous Russia." Why quote her on VO? Still okay to include in the review of horror stories published in the west, but reprint?
    What is the purpose of the editorial office by posting such articles here?
    1. AlexMark
      AlexMark 8 December 2017 21: 28
      +3
      Well, there must be a section "Humor"? laughing For the completeness of the picture, all that is missing is the assault squads riding on bears ... But why not enough, here they are:

      In fact, this article is also one of the options for waging an information war - “Oh, look, we are so defenseless, we are withdrawing from the retirement of specialists,” dull their vigilance.
  8. turbris
    turbris 9 December 2017 15: 19
    0
    Another hysteria of a blinded Russophobe - the basis of a successful information struggle - is to tell the truth. But with this in the West it’s very bad and here no concept of way of thinking will help. A lie has the ability to climb out over time, remember the Owen test tube. Goebbels succeeded in pushing incredible things into the population, but for this there must be a purely Nazi state, with all its attributes (party, organizations, press, Gestapo, SD and other punitive bodies). When you read what Westerners write in comments, you understand that in most cases they have learned to distinguish truth from lies, which is precisely why failures appeared in the conduct of the information war.

Рубрика "Мнения" : Здесь выкладываются абсолютно различные мнения-статьи посетителей сайта, а также статьи с других сайтов для обсуждения. Администрация сайта по поводу этих новостей может иметь мнение, отличное от мнения авторов материалов.

Острая нехватка навыков ведения информационной войны (CEPA)



Старые проверенные методы становятся все более важными, несмотря на скорость, с которой все меняется. В этом парадокс современной политики безопасности.

Британия и другие страны перестают увольнять ветеранов холодной войны, которые имеют опыт в контрпропаганде и поимке шпионов. Эти люди понимали образ мышления Советского Союза в те времена; они могут понять намерения России сейчас. Они могут в общем шуме поймать нужный сигнал, анализируя, какие события складываются в общую картин, а какие – следствие случайностей.


В свою очередь, мужчины и женщины, одетые в униформу, учатся обращаться с картами и компасами на тот случай, если Россия выведет из строя спутниковую связь и другие технологии, от которых мы зависим. Традиционное оружие во многих случаях оказывается более надежным. В странах Балтии и не только наши силы специальных операций обучают местных жителей партизанской войне. В каком-то смысле это наследство от партизанского сопротивления «Лесных братьев» в 40-50х годах.

Все это производит хороший сдерживающий эффект. Кремль наслаждался своими успехами в течение последних 25 лет. Западные страны отказывались верить, что у России были агрессивные намерения. Потом они не хотели поверить, что эти намерения превратятся в агрессивные действия. А затем, по политическим и экономическим причинам, они решили сделать вид, что ничего не произошло.

Теперь эта эра позади. Кремль понимает, что его длительная атака на Запад становится рискованной. Его шпионов могут поймать. Его незаконные сделки огласят и представят перед судом. Если он решит напасть, ему это будет дорогого стоить. Никто не может гарантировать безопасность, но все это означает, что риск эскалации конфликта стал ниже.

Эта проблема имеет две стороны. Мы все еще не совсем понимаем, о чем идет речь, когда дело касается «кремлевской тактики». Как Россия использует дронов? Искусственный интеллект? Технологии распознавания лиц?

Особенное беспокойство вызывает то, как мы будет защищать население. Мы говорим сейчас не только о тех, кто критикует Кремль в своих официальных заявлениях. В зоне риска все, кто имеет отношение к безопасности государства. Я постоянно слышу о примерах (которые опровергаются на официальном уровне) применения кибератак против сотрудников НАТО на всех уровнях. Новые технологии позволяют нанести невероятно точный точечный удар. Например, эпизод со взломами смартфонов немецких военнослужащих в Литве, когда они поверили, что их вторые половинки им изменяют, пока они не дома. Если нечто подобное имело место быть, то это один из старейших трюков, но он был очень умело реализован с помощью социальных сетей и других современных средств связи.

Мы не только не успеваем за быстро развивающейся угрозой. Нам также не хватает опыта проверенных бойцов. Западные страны растеряли навыки по изучению России после 1991 года. Мы нанимаем и обучаем русскоговорящих специалистов, но некоторые умения развиваются десятилетиями. Чиновники заявляют, что в самом сердце мира разведки всегда сохранялся традиционный подход к обучению. Но в этом не таком много пользы, когда мы говорим о российской угрозе обществу – образованию, энергетике, финансам, СМИ, правовой системе и так далее. Нам нужны открытые и подробные дебаты о российском влиянии и о том, как с этим бороться, а затем укрепить уязвимые места, которыми пользуется Кремль.

К счастью, наши союзники – Балтия, Украина, Центральная Европа и другие – обладают этим опытом. Нам нужно у них учиться.
Автор: Edward Lucas
Первоисточник: http://cepa.org/EuropesEdge/The-infowar-skills-gap
Перевод: Виктор Зарецкий
Использованы фотографии: U.S. Air Force photo/Tech. Sgt. Cecilio Ricardos

Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 10

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Клебер 4 декабря 2017 17:30
    Британия и другие страны перестают увольнять ветеранов холодной войны, которые имеют опыт в контрпропаганде и поимке шпионов. Эти люди понимали образ мышления Советского Союза в те времена; они могут понять намерения России сейчас.


    Ну-ну

    "Умом Россию не понять,
    Аршином общим не измерить:
    У ней особенная стать —
    В Россию можно только верить."
    Автор: Ф. И. Тютчев
  2. andr327 4 декабря 2017 18:35
    Западный всепропальщик-обыватель. А голову включить не пробовал., Хотя западники эту возможность потеряли кажется навсегда. Общество потребителей пищи, правил поведения, чужих мыслей...
    1. japs 4 декабря 2017 19:47
      Какой знакомый тон, стиль и "про...ли все полимеры", "нас слили".
      Спецпропаганда в действии. Нам бы еще действенную контрпропаганду восстановить...
  3. iouris 4 декабря 2017 20:03
    Этого знатного провокатора Лукаса пропагандировать - себя не уважать.
  4. AshiSolo 4 декабря 2017 20:31
    Капцов, чтоль, на второй фронт работает???
  5. Андрей из Челябинска 4 декабря 2017 20:35
    Например, эпизод со взломами смартфонов немецких военнослужащих в Литве, когда они поверили, что их вторые половинки им изменяют, пока они не дома

    Я так понимаю, что автор статьи и есть та самая вторая половинка, изменившая своему благоверному пока тот был в Латвии?
    Но вообще - симптоматично. Если уж на Западе пытаются супружеские измены оправдывать происками русских хакеров wassat
  6. БМП-2 5 декабря 2017 02:11
    М-да... what Оттяпать столько советской территории, и ещё говорить о какой-то там российской агрессии... belay fool
    Автор, а зачем вам навыки информационной войны? Вы же уже и так информационно убиты! laughing

    P.s.: так понимаю, это один из потомков Джорджа Лукаса решил набросать сценарий "Звёздные войны. Эпизод 7". laughing
  7. Rostislav 5 декабря 2017 09:32
    Рядовая заказная статья-стон о "страшной и коварной России". К чему цитировать ее на ВО? Еще ладно включить в обзор страшилок, публикуемых на западе, но перепечатывать?
    Какую цель редакция преследует, размещая тут такие статьи?
    1. AlexMark 8 декабря 2017 21:28
      Ну должен же быть раздел "Юмор"? laughing Для полноту картины не хватает только штурмовых отрядов верхом на медведях... Хотя почему не хватает, вот они:

      На самом деле и эта статья тоже один из вариантов ведения информационной войны - "Ой, посмотрите мы такие беззащитные, с пенсии специалистов отзываем" Притупляют бдительность.
  8. turbris 9 декабря 2017 15:19
    Очередная истерика зашоренного русофоба - основа успешной информационной борьбы - это говорить правду. А вот с этим на Западе совсем плохо и тут никакое понятие образа мышления не поможет. Вранье имеет способность со временем вылазить наружу, вспомните пробирку Оуэна. Это у Геббельса получалось невероятные вещи населению втюхивать, но для этого должно быть чисто нацистское государство, со всеми его атрибутам (партия, организации, пресса, гестапо, СД и другие карательные органы). Когда читаешь, что пишут в коментах граждане западных государств, понимаешь, что в большинстве случаев они научились отличать правду от лжи, вот именно поэтому и появились неудачи в ведении информационной войны.
Картина дня