Military Review

Prisoners of war Swedes in Russia. 1700-1721

16
During the Northern War, there were no international organizations such as the Red Cross, but neither the Russian tsar nor the Swedish king forgot about their loyal subjects, and on both sides there were officials whose task was to travel to the enemy for mutual settlement of the issues of soldiers also civilians, by the will of the fate turned out to be prisoners of war: funds were allocated, issues of residence, provision of medical care to the wounded were specified. They even tried to make an equivalent mass exchange, but, unfortunately, it remained at the level of diplomatic correspondence.


Prisoners of war Swedes in Russia. 1700-1721


Before 1709, Moscow, the Moscow region and other cities of Central Russia coped well with the reception of captive Caroliners, but when the Russian victories at Lesnaya and Poltava thundered, the flow increased significantly, and the question arose: where to go next? Well, then there were Kazan, the Urals, well, and what kind of Russia is this, but without Siberia? Some of the Swedes were lucky: those who joined the army, having a civil specialty, managed to get settled quite well, and no one was going to resettle them from the former capital and central regions. They were engaged in crafts, for example, military doctors (healers) conducted medical practice, some officers were even able to get into the civil service, worked in Russian enterprises or opened their shops. However, there were those in the Swedish army who, except for how to fight, could not do anything else, and moreover, considered it beneath their dignity (especially the officers) to do something else. This category depended entirely on the financial support that His Majesty King Carl sent them, and the funds were received late, irregularly, and the Russians had to feed the Swedes at their own expense. The trouble is that the Russian tsar was still a fair man in this matter, and when, for example, in 1707, he learned that Russian prisoners of war in Sweden live in worse conditions than the Swedes in Russia, he ordered that we stop treasury on caroliners.

After 1710, the Swedes from central Russia began to be sent to the Urals and Siberia, i.e., if previously all this was done in limited quantities, then with the increase in the number of prisoners it was decided, including with their help, to master this complex region of our empire, which turned out to be not at all ready for this turn of events. As a result, some of the former Vikings were lucky, they ended up in the then major cities like Tomsk or Tyumen, and some were not lucky on a large scale, and he came to Irkutsk and Yakutsk or in the area adjacent to them. On the other hand, there were some advantages in being in Siberia: the local authorities there did not practice permanent security (for where are you, my dear, getting away from here?), And there was some freedom of movement. In the same places in Siberia and in the Urals, where security was practiced, this function was performed by civilians (well, you know, where in Siberia at that time we could recruit so many of our servicemen). Of course, there were local clashes with “aliens”, but this was not systematic, and was immediately stopped by the available forces. In my opinion, it was better to be in the distant regions of immense Russia than on the construction of, for example, the city of St. Petersburg, because the conditions of their maintenance differed little from those in which simple Russian men lived, also sent to build a new capital of a future empire .

Captured to the Swedes left the right to correspond with relatives, but in the order of military censorship all correspondence was viewed. However, in the XVIII century, with literacy, people were not all right, and the kingdom of Sweden was no exception. Also, no one is forbidden to imprisoned Swedes in Russia to profess their Lutheran faith, but, naturally, without proselytism.

There were also cases of interfaith marriages, while prisoners of war did not need to convert to Orthodoxy in order to marry a Russian woman. Initially, it was just a tacit approval / indifference of the authorities, but over time this developed into a regulated relationship. Another thing is that the transition from Lutheranism to Orthodoxy canceled the status of a prisoner of war, and Caroliner, who took such a step, greatly eased his position in Russia, but could not return home, for he became a loyal subject of the Russian tsar. Most often, the faith was also changed in connection with the transition to the Russian service, since the huge country needed a lot of competent specialists (and the Swedes were noted not only in military affairs and small crafts, but also in trade and mining), and the government did not stint for considerable salaries for new employees (in general, in Russia, neither before Peter nor after a foreigner was it necessary to change the religion to enter the service, but in this case we will not forget that there was a war, and the Swedish servicemen were enemies who you would believe ? Only if they are will render that “theirs”, and theirs then is first of all a one-faith).

Summing up, I would like to say that the life of the captured Swedes in Russia was not uniform. Some of them got into private farms and along with Russian peasants, someone got into construction or mining (where, by the way, almost everything could be taken prisoner, except for escaping, for which it was easy to run into the death penalty), or , using his skills in civilian life, he became popular in those places where fate brought him, but someone was lucky much less. There were those unfortunates who, as a result of abuses by local authorities, found themselves in the position of slaves and whom they traded like cattle in the markets. In order not to aggravate the fate of Russian prisoners who were in Sweden, the Russian central authorities tried to fight this sort of thing, but, unfortunately, this was not always the case.

After the end of the Northern War, a considerable part of the prisoners returned to their native kingdom, which already had little resemblance to the country they had once seen: now it was land devastated by years of opposition. However, this did not prevent the Caroliners from addressing the petition to the then Queen’s name with the aim of obtaining soldiers ’salaries during the years of captivity. Of course, for the budget of Sweden it was a considerable blow, and he was not ready for such trials. Therefore, payments could drag on for years. However, to the credit of the authorities of Sweden, they did not abandon their loyal servants.

In fairness, we note that in Russia, with the Russians who were captured by the Swedes, they also acted humanly, without leaving them alone with their troubles.

According to Russian laws, following the Northern War, prisoners of the “defectors” included people who converted to Orthodoxy and entered the Russian civil service. All the others, even those who married Orthodox, were not deterred by the Russian authorities (there is an interesting question: if such a husband leaves his Russian wife for homeland, and after 2 of the year, neither the answer nor the greeting, the woman was considered free, t. e. automatically divorced). Also defaulters were considered persons who have suffered criminal penalties.

Well, the theme of "Russian captivity" in the period 1700-1721. interesting enough, but, unfortunately, can not meet the framework of a single article, because this issue is quite multifaceted, and, most interestingly, as of today, not fully explored by experts.
Author:
16 comments
Ad

Our projects are looking for authors in the news and analytical departments. Requirements for applicants: literacy, responsibility, efficiency, inexhaustible creative energy, experience in copywriting or journalism, the ability to quickly analyze text and check facts, write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. The work is paid. Contact: [email protected]

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. parusnik
    parusnik 9 December 2017 15: 57 New
    +2
    Interesting topic. Why would the author not continue the series of articles ...
    1. Lexus
      Lexus 9 December 2017 17: 46 New
      +2
      I have another suggestion. If we are all enemies, is it time to continue the cycle of events ... for the reception of prisoners)
      1. Conductor
        Conductor 10 December 2017 01: 49 New
        0
        Do you propose again to take the Swedes captive?
    2. Buffet
      Buffet 9 December 2017 21: 47 New
      0
      So my ancestors at that time were lost in the Kazan province laughing
      1. Felix99
        Felix99 11 December 2017 14: 02 New
        0
        I met two people with the name Shved, one from Kiev, the other from Donetsk.
        1. vnord
          vnord 12 December 2017 12: 34 New
          0
          There are many of them in the Kuban ...
    3. andrewkor
      andrewkor 10 December 2017 07: 51 New
      +1
      I support you in your request to the author, a big topic of the appearance of Paris in the Urals!
      1. parusnik
        parusnik 10 December 2017 07: 54 New
        0
        Such Paris is not only in the Urals ... It seems that somewhere else there is ...
    4. moskowit
      moskowit 10 December 2017 10: 55 New
      +1
      It is known from some books that captured Swedes, familiar with metallurgy and blacksmithing, were involved in our ironworks .... The material is not very specific ... The author had to tell in more detail about the integration of many Swedes into Russian society, about some well-known surnames, which the Swedes became the ancestors ... An example "offhand", Vladimir Vladimirovich Koenigson a popular artist ....
  2. Nikolaevich I
    Nikolaevich I 9 December 2017 16: 31 New
    +2
    A very interesting topic! And, practically, "not developed"! Yes, one could sometimes find references to the fate of Swedish prisoners, their biographies in some historical novels, in "historical" films ... but all this, so to speak, in an "artistic version". I myself have thought about this topic more than once; even, was going to take up the collection, study of materials; but ... something did not "grow together"! recourse (As they say: what roads are paved with good intentions?) Therefore, thanks to Dmitry! It was written interestingly and therefore "I would like more" .... for more details and for "volumetric" fellow . Well, Duc is an article, not a rohman. wink
  3. bbss
    bbss 9 December 2017 17: 12 New
    0
    The surname "Swedes" is very common in Russia.
    1. Buffet
      Buffet 9 December 2017 21: 47 New
      0
      It’s very interesting to meet your namesakes laughing
  4. captain
    captain 9 December 2017 18: 10 New
    0
    Some of them even joined the Cossacks. Artillerymen were especially appreciated.
  5. alavrin
    alavrin 9 December 2017 22: 08 New
    +1
    Good topic. The minus is big - there are no numbers, that is statistics.
  6. Mavrikiy
    Mavrikiy 10 December 2017 06: 43 New
    +1
    Prisoners of war Swedes in Russia. 1700-1721
    And the pictures as the Swedes surrendered did not find the author? But how did Russian flags with eagles be thrown under the hooves of the Swedes? Strange ....
  7. Balagan
    Balagan 11 December 2017 18: 25 New
    0
    Sensible heads were lured into Russian science for the time of captivity. The same Stralenberg for example.

Военнопленные шведы в России. 1700-1721 гг

В годы Северной войны не существовало никаких международных организаций типа Красного Креста, но ни русский царь, ни шведский король о своих верноподданных не забывали, и с обеих сторон существовали должностные лица, в задачу которых входило ездить к неприятелю для взаимного урегулирования вопросов содержания солдат, а также гражданских лиц, волею судеб оказавшихся в качестве военнопленных: выделялись средства, оговаривались вопросы проживания, оказания медицинской помощи раненым. Даже пытались произвести равноценный массовый обмен, но, к сожалению, это так и осталось на уровне дипломатической переписки.

Военнопленные шведы в России. 1700-1721 гг


До 1709 года Москва, Подмосковье и иные города Центральной России вполне справлялись с приемом пленных каролинеров, но, когда прогремели русские победы при Лесной и Полтаве, то поток значительно увеличился, и встал вопрос: куда дальше? Ну что ж, дальше были Казань, Урал, ну и какая же это Россия, да без Сибири? Кому-то из шведов крупно повезло: тем, кто попал в армию, имея гражданскую специальность, удалось устроиться весьма неплохо, и переселять их из бывшей столицы и центральных регионов никто не собирался. Они занимались ремеслами, например, военные врачи (лекари) вели медицинскую практику, некоторые офицеры даже смогли попасть на гражданскую службу, работали в русских предприятиях или открывали свои лавочки. Однако были в шведской армии и такие, кто, кроме как воевать, ничего больше не умел, и более того, считал ниже своего достоинства (особенно офицеры) заниматься чем-то другим. Эта категория всецело зависела от того денежного содержания, которое присылал на них его величество король Карл, а средства поступали с опозданием, нерегулярно, и русским приходилось кормить шведов за свой счет. Беда в том, что русский царь был все ж человеком справедливым в этом вопросе, и когда, например, в 1707 году, он узнал, что русские военнопленные в Швеции живут в худших условиях, чем шведы в России, то приказал прекратить денежные отчисления из нашей казны на каролинеров.


После 1710 года шведов из центральной России стали отправлять на Урал и в Сибирь, т. е., если ранее это все происходило ограниченными партиями, то с увеличением числа пленных было решено в том числе с их помощью осваивать этот непростой регион нашей империи, который оказался вообще не готов к такому повороту событий. В итоге кому-то из бывших викингов повезло, они оказались в тогдашних крупных городах вроде Томска или Тюмени, а кому-то не свезло по-крупному, и он приехал в Иркутск и Якутск или в области, к ним прилегающие. С другой стороны, в нахождении в Сибири были и свои плюсы: тамошняя местная власть не практиковала постоянную охрану (ибо куда ты, родной, отсюда денешься?), и некоторая свобода передвижения присутствовала. В тех же местах в Сибири и на Урале, где охрана практиковалась, эту функцию выполняли гражданские лица (ну, сами понимаете, где в тогдашней Сибири мы могли набрать столько своих военнослужащих). Конечно, имели место быть столкновения местных с «пришлыми», но это не носило систематического характера, и сразу же пресекалось имеющимися силами. На мой взгляд, уж лучше оказаться было в дальних регионах необъятной России, чем на строительстве, например, города Санкт-Петербурга, ибо условия их содержания мало чем отличались от тех, в которых жили простые русские мужики, также отправленные на строительство новой столицы будущей империи.

Пленным шведам оставлялось право на переписку с родственниками, но в порядке военной цензуры вся корреспонденция просматривалась. Впрочем, в XVIII веке с грамотностью у людей было не все в порядке, и королевство Швеция тут исключением не была. Также пленным шведам в России никто не воспрещал исповедовать их лютеранскую веру, но, естественно, без прозелитизма.

Были также случаи и межконфессиональных браков, при том военнопленным не требовалось переходить в православие, чтобы жениться на русской женщине. Изначально было просто молчаливое одобрение/равнодушие власти, но со временем это переросло в нормативно урегулированные отношения. Другое дело, что переход из лютеранства в православие отменял статус военнопленного, и каролинер, сделавший такой шаг, существенно облегчал свое положение в России, но домой уже вернуться не мог, ибо становился верноподданным русского царя. Чаще всего веру меняли ещё и в связи с переходом на русскую службу, поскольку огромная страна очень нуждалась в грамотных специалистах (а шведы отметились не только в военном деле и мелких ремеслах, но и в торговле, и в горной промышленности), и власть не скупилась на немалые оклады для новых служащих (в целом же в России ни до Петра, ни после иностранцу не требовалось менять религию для поступления на службу, но в данном случае не будем забывать, что шла война, и военнослужащие Швеции являлись врагами, которым вот как поверишь? Только если они докажут что «свои», а свой тогда – это в первую очередь единоверец).

Подытоживая, хочется сказать, что жизнь пленных шведов в России не была однородной. Кто-то из них попадал в частные хозяйства и наравне с русскими крестьянствовал, кто-то попадал на строительство или в горнодобывающую промышленность (где, кстати, пленным можно было практически все, кроме побега, за который запросто и на смертную казнь нарваться), или, используя свои умения в гражданской жизни, становился востребованным в тех местах, куда его занесла судьба, но кому-то везло намного меньше. Были те несчастные, кто в результате злоупотреблений местной власти оказывался на положении рабов и кем торговали как скотом на рынках. Дабы не утяжелять участь русских пленных, находившихся в Швеции, российская центральная власть старалась с подобным бороться, но, к сожалению, получалось это не всегда.

После окончания Северной войны немалая часть пленных вернулась в свое родное королевство, которое уже мало напоминало страну, виденную ими когда-то: теперь это была разоренная многолетним противостоянием земля. Однако это не помешало каролинерам обращаться с прошением на имя своей тогда уже королевы с целью получения солдатского жалования за годы плена. Безусловно, для бюджета Швеции это был немалый удар, и он оказался не готов к таким испытаниям. Поэтому выплаты могли тянуться годами. Однако, к чести властей Швеции, своих верноподданных слуг они не бросили.

Справедливости ради отметим, что в России с русскими, бывшими в плену у шведов, поступили тоже по-человечески, не оставив их наедине со своими бедами.

По российским законам по итогам Северной войны, к пленным «невозвращенцам» относились лица, принявшие православие и поступившие на русскую государственную службу. Всех же остальных, даже тех, кто женился на православных, российская власть не удерживала (тут интересный вопрос: если такой муженек уедет от своей русской жены на родину, и через 2 года от него ни ответа ни привета, то женщина считалась свободной, т.е. автоматически разведенной). Также невозвращенцами считались лица, понесшие уголовное наказание.

Что ж, тема «русского плена» в период 1700-1721 гг. достаточно интересна, но, к сожалению, не может уложиться в рамки одной статьи, потому что этот вопрос достаточно многогранен, и, что самое интересное, по состоянию на сегодняшний день не до конца исследован специалистами.
Автор:
Хандога Дмитрий
Ctrl Enter

Заметив ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

16 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. parusnik Офлайн
    parusnik (Алексей Богомазов) 9 декабря 2017 15:57
    +2
    Интересная тема.Почему бы автору не продолжить цикл статей...
    1. Лексус Офлайн
      Лексус (Алексей) 9 декабря 2017 17:46
      +2
      У меня другое предложение. Если уж мы всем враги, не пора ли продолжить цикл событий... по приёму пленных)
      1. Дирижер Офлайн
        Дирижер 10 декабря 2017 01:49
        0
        Вы предлагаете опять шведов в плен брать?
    2. ШВЕДский_стол (Роман) 9 декабря 2017 21:47
      0
      Вот и мои предки в то время и потерялись в Казанской губернии laughing
      1. Felix99 Офлайн
        Felix99 (Феликс) 11 декабря 2017 14:02
        0
        Встречал двух человек с фамилией Швед, один из Киева, другой из Донецка.
        1. vnord Офлайн
          vnord (Валерий) 12 декабря 2017 12:34
          0
          Есть их на Кубани много...
    3. andrewkor Офлайн
      andrewkor (Корчуганов Андрей) 10 декабря 2017 07:51
      +1
      Поддерживаю Вас в Вашей просьбе Автору,большая тема появления Парижа -на-Урале!
      1. parusnik Офлайн
        parusnik (Алексей Богомазов) 10 декабря 2017 07:54
        0
        Такие Парижи не только на Урале...Кажется еще где-то есть...
    4. moskowit Офлайн
      moskowit (Николай Иванович) 10 декабря 2017 10:55
      +1
      Из некоторых книг известно, что пленные шведы, знакомые с металлургией и кузнечным делом, были задействованы на наших железоделательных заводах .... Материал малоконкретный...Автору надо было более подробно рассказать о интеграции многих шведов в русское общество, о некоторых известных фамилиях, которыми родоначальниками стали шведы... Пример "навскидку", Кенигсон Владимир Владимирович популярный артист....
  2. Nikolaevich I Офлайн
    Nikolaevich I (Владимир) 9 декабря 2017 16:31
    +2
    Весьма интересная тема ! И,практически, "не разработанная" ! Да,можно было иногда встретить упоминания о судьбе шведских пленных,их жизнеописания в некоторых исторических романах,в "исторических" фильмах...но всё это,так сказать, в "художественном варианте". Я сам не раз задумывался над этой темой; даже, собирался взяться за сбор,изучение материалов;но...что-то не "срасталось" ! recourse ( Как говорится:какие дороги вымощены благими намерениями ? ) Поэтому,спасибо Дмитрию !Написано интересно и потому "хотелось бы ещё"....по подробнее и по-"объёмнее" fellow .Ну,дык это статья,а не рОман. wink
  3. bbss Офлайн
    bbss (Владимир) 9 декабря 2017 17:12
    0
    Фамилия "Шведов" весьма распространена в России.
    1. ШВЕДский_стол (Роман) 9 декабря 2017 21:47
      0
      Очень кстати интересно встречать своих однофамильцев laughing
  4. ротмистр Офлайн
    ротмистр (Юрий) 9 декабря 2017 18:10
    0
    Некоторые из них даже вступали в казаки. Особенно ценились артиллеристы.
  5. alavrin Офлайн
    alavrin (alex) 9 декабря 2017 22:08
    +1
    Хорошая тема. Минус большой - нет цифр, то бишь статистики.
  6. Mavrikiy Офлайн
    Mavrikiy 10 декабря 2017 06:43
    +1
    Военнопленные шведы в России. 1700-1721 гг
    А картинки как шведы в плен сдавались не нашлось у автора? Только как русские флаги с орлами под копыта шведов бросали? Странно....
  7. Балаган Офлайн
    Балаган (Александр) 11 декабря 2017 18:25
    0
    Толковые головы в русскую науку переманивали на время плена. Тот же Страленберг к примеру.
Картина дня