Military Review

"... The joy of flying is life, real life"

8
In the Krasnodar Territory, in the picturesque village of Mostovsky, the legendary woman, first-class test pilot Marina Lavrentievna Popovich (Vasilieva), who was nicknamed "Madame MIG", has lived her last years. Now one of the streets in this village will be named after her. And they buried Marina Lavrentievna on December 4 in the Moscow region, in Mytishchi. Solemnly held weapons fireworks ...


"... The joy of flying is life, real life"


Among her merits are six thousand flight hours, flights on 40 types of aircraft, 102 world records, 10 of which is on the AN-22 aircraft. In 1967, she, the only one among Soviet women, broke the sound barrier on a MIG-21 jet aircraft. Then Marina Popovich broke the record of the American pilots Jacqueline Cochran, for which she got her nickname - “Madame MIG”. In recent years, wrote books, was in the Union of Writers of Russia. She became the author of the scripts for the films “Sky with Me” and “Bouquet of Violets”.

Marina Lavrentievna Vasilyeva was born in the village of Samusenki, Smolensk region. From early childhood, she had to work a lot - after her elder sister died, Marina stayed for the eldest in a large family. The girl had the ability to music. She might have become a musician, but ...

The Great Patriotic War began. The guys had to hide from the bombing. The girl made a deep impression on a case when a Soviet plane was shot down by fascists in the sky. The pilot tried to jump, but was killed in the air. After that, Marina had a dream to become a pilot.

The family was evacuated to Novosibirsk. There Marina after school entered Novosibirsk aviation technical College. Due to her short stature, the girl didn’t reach the pedals on the plane - I had to perform special exercises. She got hers, after which she was able to go to the flying club. She jumped with a parachute, and then became a pilot - athlete DOSAAF.

However, Marina wanted to become a military pilot. It would seem that during the Great Patriotic War "Night Witches" showed such heroism, which was not a match for every man. And this, in theory, would have to unambiguously resolve the issue of women's participation in aviation (including military). However, Marina, unfortunately, had to deal with manifestations of bureaucracy and inert thinking - she was repeatedly told: “This is not a woman’s business.” And breaking through this wall is sometimes harder than coping with the heaviest machine ...

Marina went to Moscow for a long time sought reception with Marshal Clement Voroshilov. Sometimes it was necessary to spend the night in a park on a bench. But the girl reached her - Voroshilov accepted her and issued a document in which he asked “as an exception” to take her to the Saransk Flight School. Marina graduated from this educational institution with a red diploma. At first she worked as an instructor pilot, then she flew to the Central Aeroclub named after Chkalov in Moscow.

In 1962, Marina, who graduated from the Leningrad Academy of Civil Aviation and married astronaut Pavel Popovich by then, tried to become an astronaut herself. Unfortunately, the medical board weed out.

In 1963, Popovich decided to become a test pilot. She had the rank of senior lieutenant in the reserve, mastered five types of aircraft. But she again had to overcome numerous bureaucratic barriers along the way. And she got her way again.

In 1965, Marina tested the Yak-25РV reconnaissance aircraft. There was an emergency situation that almost cost her her life. Sensing oxygen starvation, she attempted to activate an emergency oxygen system. But the system did not work, and the pilot lost consciousness. The plane began to fall. Marina still managed to plant him. As a result, changes were made to the design of the aircraft, and Marina Lavrentievna Popovich was introduced to the title of Hero of the Soviet Union.

It would seem that her life was a triumph, but once, after one of the risky flights, she was fired - only because the woman ... Then there were two terrible years of life without the sky, for which she very much yearned. In this situation, the aircraft pilot was saved by aircraft designer Oleg Antonov. He invited her to work in his development bureau. Popovich, without hesitation, immediately agreed. Soon she began to fly again. In addition, Antonov instructed her to create a detachment of women aviators.

In 1980, Marina divorced her first husband — he could not stand the fact that his wife was fully committed to aviation. Soon she married again - Boris Zhihorev, deputy chief of staff of the ground forces aviation. Spouses were co-authors of several books.

In the preface to one of her books entitled “I Am a Pilot!” Zhihorev wrote these words: “As time passes, people will forget the names of those who today do not descend from the screens and pages of the media. And the descendants will connect our time with the names of Gagarin, Korolev and other true heroes. Among these names, the name of the great woman of the 20th century, Marina Popovich, will remain forever.».

In the last years of her life, Marina Lavrentievna held an active civil position, was in the Communist Party of the Russian Federation and the Union of Soviet officers. Was interested in ufology. She died on November 30.

«... And the joy of flying is life, real life. And the truth is that a person, having risen to the sky himself, having enjoyed the power over the machine, having believed it, will love this boundless ocean of light, sun and joy forever ...", - she wrote in the book" I am a pilot! "With her happy and heroic life, she proved the truth of her words.
Author:
8 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Amurets
    Amurets 7 December 2017 06: 32 New
    +8
    In 1963, Popovich decided to become a test pilot. She had the rank of senior lieutenant in the reserve, mastered five types of aircraft. But she again had to overcome numerous bureaucratic barriers along the way. And she got her way again.

    Talented woman. And as a pilot and as a writer. Unfortunately, the first books of Marina Popovich cannot be found on the Internet. This is "Walking in Two Machs", "Sisters of Icarus" and a number of other works.
    Eternal memory to an outstanding woman, a test pilot, a talented writer.
    Thanks to the author for the article in memory of Marina Popovich.
  2. parusnik
    parusnik 7 December 2017 07: 24 New
    +7
    During her life she became a legend, she remained a legend ... Eternal memory ...
  3. bionik
    bionik 7 December 2017 07: 35 New
    +6
    Brave, courageous woman was. Bright memory !!!
  4. XII Legion
    XII Legion 7 December 2017 09: 16 New
    20
    Extraordinary
    Bright personality
    Thank you!
  5. Reptiloid
    Reptiloid 7 December 2017 13: 28 New
    +5
    Thank you Elena for the story. Wonderful Soviet woman. Now I’ll try to learn more about her.
  6. Glory1974
    Glory1974 7 December 2017 16: 34 New
    +5
    “Time will pass, people will forget the names of those who today do not leave the screens and pages of the media. And the descendants will connect our time with the names of Gagarin, Korolev and other real heroes. Among these names, the name of the great woman of the 20th century, Marina Popovich, will forever remain. ”

    Great words! Let it be so!
  7. Alekseits
    Alekseits 7 December 2017 18: 00 New
    +5
    Earth rest in peace and blessed memory ...
  8. Bersaglieri
    Bersaglieri 8 December 2017 16: 28 New
    +1
    Eternal memory to her!

«…Радость полетов – это жизнь, настоящая жизнь»

В Краснодарском крае, в живописном поселке Мостовском, свои последние годы прожила легендарная женщина, летчик-испытатель первого класса Марина Лаврентьевна Попович (Васильева), которую прозвали «Мадам МИГ». Теперь ее именем будет названа одна из улиц в этом поселке. А похоронили Марину Лаврентьевну 4 декабря в Московской области, в Мытищах. Торжественно проводили оружейным салютом…

«…Радость полетов – это жизнь, настоящая жизнь»


Среди ее заслуг – шесть тысяч часов налета, полеты на 40 типах воздушных судов, 102 мировых рекорда, 10 из которых – на самолете АН-22. В 1967 году она, единственная среди советских женщин, преодолела звуковой барьер на реактивном самолете МИГ-21. Тогда Марина Попович побила рекорд американской летчицы Жаклин Кокран, за что и получила свое прозвище – «Мадам МИГ». В последние годы писала книги, состояла в Союзе писателей России. Стала автором сценариев к фильмам «Небо со мной» и «Букет фиалок».


Марина Лаврентьевна Васильева родилась в деревне Самусенки Смоленской области. С раннего детства ей приходилось много работать – после того, как умерла ее старшая сестра, Марина осталась за старшую в многодетном семействе. У девочки были способности к музыке. Возможно, она бы и стала музыкантом, но…

Началась Великая Отечественная война. Ребятам пришлось прятаться от бомбардировок. Глубокое впечатление на девочку произвел случай, когда в небе был подбит фашистами советский самолет. Летчик пытался выпрыгнуть, но был убит в воздухе. После этого у Марины зародилась мечта – стать летчицей.

Семья эвакуировалась в Новосибирск. Там Марина после школы поступила в Новосибирский авиационный техникум. В самолете девочка из-за своего невысокого роста не доставала до педалей – пришлось выполнять специальные упражнения. Своего она добилась, после чего смогла пойти в аэроклуб. Прыгала с парашютом, а затем стала летчицей - спортсменкой ДОСААФ.

Однако Марине хотелось стать военным летчиком. Казалось бы, во время Великой Отечественной войны «Ночные ведьмы» проявляли такой героизм, который был под стать не каждому мужчине. И это, по идее, должно было бы решить однозначно вопрос об участии женщин в авиации (в том числе, и военной). Однако Марине, к сожалению, пришлось столкнуться с проявлениями бюрократии и косного мышления – ей многократно говорили: «Это не женское дело». А пробить эту стену – порой тяжелее, чем справиться с самой тяжелой машиной…

Марина поехала в Москву, долго добивалась приема у маршала Климента Ворошилова. Порой приходилось ночевать в парке на скамейке. Но девушка своего достигла – Ворошилов принял ее и выдал документ, в котором попросил «в порядке исключения» принять ее в Саранское летное училище. Это учебное заведение Марина окончила с красным дипломом. Сначала она работала летчиком-инструктором, затем – летала в Центральном аэроклубе имени Чкалова в Москве.

В 1962 году Марина, закончившая Ленинградскую академию гражданской авиации и вышедшая к тому времени замуж за космонавта Павла Поповича, пыталась сама стать космонавтом. К сожалению, медкомиссия ее отсеяла.

В 1963 году Попович приняла решение – стать летчиком-испытателем. Она имела звание старшего лейтенанта запаса, освоила пять видов самолетов. Но ей снова пришлось преодолевать многочисленные бюрократические барьеры на этом пути. И она снова добилась своего.

В 1965 году Марина испытывала самолет-разведчик ЯК-25РВ. Там произошла нештатная ситуация, чуть было не стоившая ей жизни. Почувствовав кислородное голодание, она попыталась привести в действие аварийную кислородную систему. Но система не сработала, и летчица потеряла сознание. Самолет начал падать. Марине все-таки удалось его посадить. В результате в конструкцию самолета были внесены изменения, а Марина Лаврентьевна Попович была представлена к званию Героя Советского Союза.

Казалось бы, ее жизнь была триумфом, но однажды, после одного из рискованных полетов, ее уволили - только за то, что женщина… Потом были два страшных года жизни без неба, по которому она очень тосковала. В этой ситуации летчицу спас авиаконструктор Олег Антонов. Он пригласил ее работать в свое опытно-конструкторское бюро. Попович, не раздумывая, сразу же согласилась. Вскоре она снова начала летать. Кроме того, Антонов поручил ей создание отряда женщин-авиаторов.

В 1980-е годы Марина развелась с первым мужем – он не выдержал того факта, что жена полностью посвящает себя авиации. Вскоре она вновь вышла замуж – за Бориса Жихорева, замначальника штаба авиации сухопутных войск. Супруги были соавторами нескольких книг.

В предисловии к одной из ее книг под названием «Я – летчик!» Жихорев написал такие слова: «Пройдет время, люди забудут имена тех, кто сегодня не сходит с экранов и страниц средств массовой информации. И потомки свяжут наше время с именами Гагарина, Королёва и других настоящих героев. Среди этих имен навсегда сохранится и имя великой женщины XX века – Марины Попович».

В последние годы жизни Марина Лаврентьевна занимала активную гражданскую позицию, состояла в КПРФ и Союзе советских офицеров. Интересовалась уфологией. Скончалась она 30 ноября.

«…И радость полетов – это жизнь, настоящая жизнь. И правда состоит в том, что человек, поднявшись сам в небо, насладившись властью над машиной, поверив ей, навсегда полюбит этот безбрежный океан света, солнца и радости…», - так написала она в книге «Я – летчик!» Своей счастливой и героической жизнью она доказала правоту своих слов.
Автор: Елена Громова


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 8

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. амурец 7 декабря 2017 06:32
    В 1963 году Попович приняла решение – стать летчиком-испытателем. Она имела звание старшего лейтенанта запаса, освоила пять видов самолетов. Но ей снова пришлось преодолевать многочисленные бюрократические барьеры на этом пути. И она снова добилась своего.

    Талантливая женщина. И как лётчик и как писатель. К сожалению, первые книги Марины Попович, в интернете не найти. Это "Хождение за два Маха", "Сёстры Икара" и ещё ряд других произведений.
    Вечная память выдающейся женщине, лётчику-испытателю, талантливому писателю.
    Спасибо автору за статью памяти о Марине Попович.
  2. parusnik 7 декабря 2017 07:24
    При жизни стала легендой, осталась легендой...Вечная память...
  3. bionik 7 декабря 2017 07:35
    Отважная, смелая женщина была .Светлая память!!!
  4. XII легион 7 декабря 2017 09:16
    Неординарная
    Яркая личность
    Спасибо!
  5. Reptiloid 7 декабря 2017 13:28
    Спасибо, Елена, за рассказ. Замечательная советская женщина. Теперь постараюсь узнать о ней больше.
  6. слава1974 7 декабря 2017 16:34
    «Пройдет время, люди забудут имена тех, кто сегодня не сходит с экранов и страниц средств массовой информации. И потомки свяжут наше время с именами Гагарина, Королёва и других настоящих героев. Среди этих имен навсегда сохранится и имя великой женщины XX века – Марины Попович».

    Великолепные слова! Да будет так!
  7. Alekseits 7 декабря 2017 18:00
    Земля ей пухом и светлая память...
  8. Bersaglieri 8 декабря 2017 16:28
    Вечная ей память!
Картина дня