Military Review

Malta - the province of Russia

13
Malta - the province of Russia

Vladimir Borovikovsky. Portrait of Paul in a coronation vestment, 1800. On the emperor - signs of the Order of Malta


After the Knights of St. John chose the Grand Master of the Maltese Order of Emperor Paul I, Malta formally became one of the territories of the Russian Empire

Contemporaries, who knew the Emperor Paul I, noted "features of chivalry in his character. It is these features that he elevated to the principle of his everyday and social behavior. ”

The idea of ​​Pavel Petrovich’s chivalrous idea was especially vividly manifested in his relations with the Order of St. John, a Christian historywhose knights fought against the Muslim invaders and repelled raids by North African pirates. Despite the unfavorable circumstances, the Order managed to survive, the island Malta became the main place of its deployment, and when especially difficult times came for the Order, its leadership began to seek help from Russia and Paul I. And the Russian knight-emperor supported them, which, incidentally, corresponded not only its noble character, but also the national interests of Russia.

Already Catherine II was aware of the strategic importance of Malta and noted the need to have a Russian diplomat here: “for political reasons, to contain ... a person’s attorney”. Under Catherine, Russia returned the status of a great maritime power, and in conditions of constant wars with Turkey, a naval base in the Mediterranean was extremely necessary.

At the same time, Malta has become a bargaining chip in the geopolitical struggle of England and France. The goal of England was to provoke the French military actions against Malta and thereby draw Russia into the war with France. It was not difficult to confront the Jacobins-anticlericals with the religious Order; in 1792, the Order’s activities on the territory of the French Republic were banned, property was confiscated, and six years later French troops captured the last stronghold of Johannites - Malta.

For Emperor Paul, who had been the protector of the Order since August 1797, the occupation of the territory he had vowed to defend was a personal challenge. Russia joined the anti-French coalition, in November 1798, Pavel was awarded the title of Grand Master of the Order, and in December of the same year the knights elected the Russian monarch Grand Master of the Order of Malta. The Russian emperor thereby demonstrated Russia's readiness to assist the Catholics in the fight against godless Jacobins.

Despite the fact that such an appointment cannot be called legitimate, firstly, according to the statute, the Order can be headed only by a Catholic, secondly, some Spanish and Italian Johnites did not recognize his election, the Roman pontiff Pius VI recognized this election and called the Russian emperor a "friend of humanity and protector of the oppressed. "

The grandmaster provides refuge in Russia to the Knights Hospitallers, Malta is declared protected by Russia, and Andrei Nikolai, president of the St. Petersburg Academy of Sciences, is assigned the island of Malta on the maps and calendar as the province of the Russian Empire. A year later, in St. Petersburg, St. John’s will transfer the ancient Christian shrines: a piece of the tree of the Cross of the Lord, the Philerm Icon of the Mother of God and the right hand of St. John the Baptist. The emblem of the Order will be included in the draft of the updated State Emblem of Russia.

Since Russia became a member of the anti-French coalition, it sent an army under the command of Suvorov to northern Italy, and a squadron under the command of Ushakov into the Mediterranean Sea.

As part of the anti-French coalition, in December 1798, two agreements were signed, in which Russia, England and Naples agreed on the procedure for introducing garrisons into the occupied Malta. Valletta, the capital of the island, was to be occupied by the Russian garrison, and the island was governed by a military council, in which the key posts belonged to the Russians.

Russia fulfilled its obligations to the allies, but the British violated them. They inclined the King of Neapolitan, who, thanks to the Russian sailors, returned his possessions, to abandon the treaty and not to transfer the island to the control of a foreign power.

The Russian squadron, which liberated the Ionian archipelago and southern Italy, was ready to knock the French out of Malta. Fyodor Ushakov wanted to end the Mediterranean march by storming the last French outpost on the Mediterranean.

“I am very incomparably regretful that our affairs and preparations in Malta’s argument were upset and, so to speak, all the work was lost,” the celebrated admiral noted with bitterness.


Stepan Schukin. Portrait of Paul I in the costume of the Grand Master of the Order of Malta, 1799

Paul I did not unreasonably believe that today's ally could suddenly turn into an enemy and strike at our the fleet, therefore, ordered the squadron to return home. The British were captured by Malta in August 1800, and the island was in their hands for over a century and a half.

Russian diplomacy delivered a reciprocal and rather tangible blow to the treacherous ally. The geopolitical alignment and allied blocs began to be rapidly restructured, Petersburg decided to establish diplomatic relations with Paris. An experienced diplomat Kolychev was sent to the capital of France, who managed to agree on the exchange of prisoners; the French, for their part, released 8 of thousands of Russian prisoners of war. There was a discussion in the plans and the fate of Malta, obviously, in resolving this issue, Napoleon would go to meet Russia (which confirms the subsequent agreement on providing Russia and France with “freedom of the seas”).

However, while in Paris, Kolychev received news of the demise of Emperor Paul I, an English trace clearly appears in his death. England did everything to ensure that the base on the island remained behind her. To some extent, Malta cost Emperor Paul I life.

His successor on the throne, Alexander I, refused the title of grandmaster of the Order of Malta, and the legitimate reason for the entry of Malta into Russia was eliminated.
Author:
Originator:
http://rusplt.ru/sub/history/malta-guberniya-rossii-31637.html
13 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. polpot
    polpot 10 December 2017 15: 32 New
    +8
    Poor, poor Paul, the last knight monarch on our planet
    1. svp67
      svp67 10 December 2017 16: 34 New
      +3
      Quote: polpot
      Poor, poor Paul, the last knight monarch on our planet

      Well, I do not. What about Nicholas II? That KNIGHT, so a knight ...
      1. Proxima
        Proxima 10 December 2017 17: 04 New
        +3
        Quote: svp67
        Quote: polpot
        Poor, poor Paul, the last knight monarch on our planet

        Well, I do not. What about Nicholas II? That KNIGHT, so a knight ...

        Yeah, abdicated from the throne "knightly" "Abdicated, as if the squadron had surrendered ...", as he put it
        Major General of the Suite of His Imperial Majesty Dmitry Nikolaevich Dubensky.
        1. svp67
          svp67 10 December 2017 17: 15 New
          +1
          Quote: Proxima
          Renounced, as if the squadron had surrendered ..

          The knight is ... the horse is more important to him ...
      2. moskowit
        moskowit 10 December 2017 20: 20 New
        +5
        Well, well ... Knights are fighting with their peers .... Bloody Sunday and Lensky shooting remember ???? Millions of dead in the Civil War, for which there are no monuments !!! That’s who the Saints are not killed for anything! Read the terrible narratives of Babel ... And then let the king go to saints ... Children, of course, Saints. And this is true ... Like everything with us, Russians have no middle ground ... One way, now another ... Hatching their eyes and not listening to anyone ... It’s especially fun when the deserter and coward Solzhenitsyn were appointed a prophet and a classic ....
        1. Proxima
          Proxima 10 December 2017 22: 00 New
          +1
          Quote: moskowit
          Well, well ... Knights are fighting with their peers .... Bloody Sunday and Lensky shooting remember ???? Millions of dead in the Civil War, for which there are no monuments !!! That’s who the Saints are not killed for anything! Read the terrible narratives of Babel ... And then let the king go to saints ... Children, of course, Saints. And this is true ... Like everything with us, Russians have no middle ground ... One way, now another ... Hatching their eyes and not listening to anyone ... It’s especially fun when the deserter and coward Solzhenitsyn were appointed a prophet and a classic ....

          I agree one hundred percent!
  2. svp67
    svp67 10 December 2017 15: 33 New
    +3
    And what, EXCELLENT PURCHASE. Maybe it's time to claim his rights to him? A base that is sea, that is air, in the middle of the Mediterranean Sea, certainly, would not be superfluous now ...
    1. Proxima
      Proxima 10 December 2017 15: 58 New
      +1
      Quote: svp67
      And what, EXCELLENT PURCHASE. Maybe it's time to claim his rights to him?

      We can claim a lot of things. Everyone knows about Russian possessions in America fellow (modern American states - Alaska, Washington, Oregon, California). But for example, few have heard about our possessions in the Hawaiian Islands and in Hokkaido.
      With the "Russian South America" ​​generally came a funny thing. belay The Russian colony off the coast of South America could be the island of Tobago, which was a colony of Courland, which became part of the Russian Empire.

      In 1652, the Duke of Courland Jacob took possession of Fr. Tobago off the coast of South America. Over the course of 30 years, 400 Courlandians moved here, and more than 900 Negro slaves were purchased in Africa. In Africa, the Courlandians acquired St. Andrew's Island (James Island, now part of the Gambia).

      However, in 1661, these territories in two hemispheres passed into the use of England: the Duke of Courland actually contributed them as a guarantee for loans. When Courland became part of the Russian Empire, Catherine II until 1795 tried to seize the British islands with these two islands, but to no avail.
      1. San Sanych
        San Sanych 10 December 2017 20: 00 New
        0
        You can still add Papua New Guinea to this list.
        1. Proxima
          Proxima 10 December 2017 21: 49 New
          +1
          Quote: San Sanych
          You can still add Papua New Guinea to this list.

          I then, sinfully, thought that Miklouho-Maclay was an ethnographer, but he turned out to be a colonizer? belay
  3. parusnik
    parusnik 10 December 2017 15: 36 New
    +2
    and six years later, the French troops captured the last stronghold of the Johannites - Malta.
    ... Malta was surrendered to the French without a fight, and several weeks before the surrender, many knights of the order were in Russia. From the very beginning of the appearance of the "Maltese" at court, the higher ranks of the Russian Empire stopped even more trying to sympathize with the already unpopular Paul I. Members of the Order of Malta began to feed from the Russian estates. The order could not organically fit into the system of views of the nobility. "The Maltese "were not satisfied with all sectors of society. For the progressive part of society, he was a strange anachronism. Members of numerous Masonic lodges did not accept him because of disagreements on issues related to the church. Among the conservative part of the Russian nobility, the Orthodox emperor’s appeal to Catholic chivalry also did not find a response. After Malta switched to the British, they increasingly began to find a common language with the capital and Moscow Freemasons, who were increasingly dissatisfied with the ban on the activities of lodges. .In March 1801, Paul I was killed in his bedroom. Historians do not directly accept the assassination of the Russian emperor with his protectorate over the Order of Malta.
    1. dSK
      dSK 10 December 2017 18: 06 New
      +4
      Quote: parusnik
      In March 1801, Paul I was killed in his bedroom. It is not customary for historians to directly link the murder of the Russian emperor with his protectorate over the Order of Malta.
      Hello Alexey Bogomazov! When is it interesting that Masons confessed to their black deeds? They bought Pavel, having “presented” a beautiful trinket for salvation from the frazuzs, he warmed the snake not only to his death, but also to his descendants. The "noble" hospitals - the Illuminati - free masons "thanked" the royal dynasty to the fullest - even the children of the last monarch were not sorry.
  4. Nukesmoke
    Nukesmoke 31 January 2018 14: 28 New
    0
    Pavel Petrovich ... If you were a knight also in relation to your close people, you would look and you wouldn’t have smoked a snuff on the head ...

Мальта – губерния России

Мальта – губерния России

Владимир Боровиковский. Портрет Павла в коронационном облачении, 1800. На императоре – знаки Мальтийского ордена

После того как рыцари-иоанниты избрали Великим Магистром Мальтийского ордена императора Павла I, Мальта формально вошла в число территорий Российской империи

Современники, близко знавшие императора Павла I, отмечали «черты рыцарственности в его характере. Именно эти черты он возвел в принцип своего бытового и общественного поведения».


Особенно ярко рыцарская идея Павла Петровича проявилась в отношениях с Орденом Святого Иоанна, христианской организации с богатой историей, рыцари которой сражались с мусульманскими захватчиками и отражали набеги североафриканских пиратов. Ордену, несмотря на неблагоприятные обстоятельства, удалось уцелеть, главным местом его дислокации стал остров Мальта, а когда для Ордена наступили особенно тяжелые времена, его руководство стало искать помощи у России и Павла I. И русский рыцарь-император их поддержал, что впрочем, соответствовало не только его благородному характеру, но и национальным интересам России.

Уже Екатерина II осознавала стратегическую важность Мальты и отмечала необходимость иметь здесь российского дипломата: «по политическим резонам содержать… поверенного человека». При Екатерине Россия вернула статус великой морской державы, а в условиях постоянных войн с Турцией, военно-морская база на Средиземном море была крайне необходима.

В то же время Мальта стала разменной картой в геополитической борьбе Англии и Франции. Целью Англии было спровоцировать военные действия Франции против Мальты и тем самым втянуть Россию в войну с Францией. Столкнуть якобинцев-антиклерикалов с религиозным Орденом было не трудно, в 1792 году деятельность Ордена на территории Французской республики была запрещена, имущество конфисковано, а спустя шесть лет французские войска захватили последний оплот иоаннитов – Мальту.

Для императора Павла, который с августа 1797 года являлся протектором Ордена, оккупация территории, защитником которой он поклялся быть, означала личный вызов. Россия вступила в антифранцузскую коалицию, в ноябре 1798 года Павел удостоился титула гроссмейстера Ордена, а декабре того же года рыцари избрали российского монарха Великим магистром Мальтийского Ордена. Российский император продемонстрировал тем самым готовность России оказывать помощь католикам в борьбе с безбожными якобинцами.

Несмотря на то, что такое назначение нельзя назвать легитимным, во-первых, согласно уставу Орден может возглавить лишь католик, во-вторых его избрание не признали некоторые испанские и итальянские иоанниты, римский понтифик Пий VI признал это избрание и назвал российского императора «другом человечества и защитником угнетенных».

Гроссмейстер предоставляет в России убежище рыцарям-госпитальерам, Мальта объявляется находящейся под защитой России, а Андрею Николаи, президенту Петербургской Академии наук, поручено на картах и в календаре остров Мальта обозначить как губернию Российской империи. Годом позже, в Петербург иоанниты перенесут древние христианские святыни: частицу древа Креста Господня, Филермскую икону Божией Матери и десницу святого Иоанна Крестителя. Эмблема Ордена войдет в проект обновленного Государственного герба России.

Поскольку Россия стала участником антифранцузской коалиции, она направила в северную Италию армию под командованием Суворова, а эскадру под командованием Ушакова – в Средиземное море.

В рамках действий антифранцузской коалиции, в декабре 1798 года последовало подписание двух договоров, в котором Россия, Англия и Неаполь договорились о порядке введения на оккупированную французами Мальту гарнизонов. Валлетту, столицу острова, должен был занять русский гарнизон, а управлять островом должен был военный совет, ключевые посты в котором принадлежали русским.

Свои обязательства перед союзниками Россия выполнила, однако англичане их нарушили. Они склонили Неаполитанского короля, который благодаря русским морякам вернул свои владения, отказаться от договора и не передавать остров под управление иностранной державы.

Русская эскадра, освободившая Ионический архипелаг и южную Италию, была готова выбить французов и с Мальты. Федор Ушаков Средиземноморский поход хотел завершить штурмом последнего форпоста французов на Средиземноморье.

«Я весьма бесподобно сожалею, что дела наши и приготовления в рассуждении Мальты расстроились и, так сказать, все труды пропали», - с горечью отмечал прославленный адмирал.


Степан Щукин. Портрет Павла I в костюме гроссмейстера Мальтийского ордена, 1799

Павел I не безосновательно считал, что сегодняшний союзник в одночасье может обернуться врагом и ударить по нашему флоту, поэтому отдал приказ эскадре о возвращении домой. Мальту в августе 1800 года захватили англичане, и свыше полутора столетий остров находился в их руках.

Российская дипломатия нанесла ответный и довольно ощутимый удар по вероломному союзнику. Геополитический расклад и союзнические блоки стали стремительно перестраиваться, Петербург решил наладить дипломатические отношения с Парижем. В столицу Франции был отправлен опытный дипломат Колычев, которому удалось договориться об обмене пленных, французы со своей стороны освободили 8 тысяч русских военнопленных. В планах было обсуждение и судьбы Мальты, очевидно, что в решении этого вопроса Наполеон пошел бы навстречу России (что подтверждает последующий договор об обеспечении России и Франции «свободы морей»).

Однако, находясь в Париже, Колычев получил известие о кончине императора Павла I, в его смерти явно проступает английский след. Англия сделала всё для того, чтобы база на острове осталась за ней. В какой-то степени Мальта стоила императору Павлу I жизни.

Его преемник на троне, Александр I отказался от титула гроссмейстера Мальтийского ордена, и легитимная причина для вхождения Мальты в состав России была ликвидирована.
Автор:
Кирилл Брагин
Первоисточник:
http://rusplt.ru/sub/history/malta-guberniya-rossii-31637.html
Ctrl Enter

Заметив ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

13 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. polpot Офлайн
    polpot 10 декабря 2017 15:32
    +8
    Бедный ,бедный Павел ,последний рыцарь монарх на нашей планете
    1. svp67 Офлайн
      svp67 10 декабря 2017 16:34
      +3
      Цитата: polpot
      Бедный ,бедный Павел ,последний рыцарь монарх на нашей планете

      Ну, уж НЕТ. А Николай II? Уж тот РЫЦАРЬ, так рыцарь...
      1. Проксима Офлайн
        Проксима 10 декабря 2017 17:04
        +3
        Цитата: svp67
        Цитата: polpot
        Бедный ,бедный Павел ,последний рыцарь монарх на нашей планете

        Ну, уж НЕТ. А Николай II? Уж тот РЫЦАРЬ, так рыцарь...

        Да уж, отрёкся от престола "по рыцарски" «Отрёкся, как будто эскадрон сдал...", как выразился
        Генерал-майор Свиты Его Императорского Величества Дмитрий Николаевич Дубенский.
        1. svp67 Офлайн
          svp67 10 декабря 2017 17:15
          +1
          Цитата: Проксима
          Отрёкся, как будто эскадрон сдал..

          Рыцарь же... Ему лошадь то главнее...
      2. moskowit Офлайн
        moskowit 10 декабря 2017 20:20
        +5
        Ну-ну... Рыцари сражаются с равными себе.... Кровавое воскресение и Ленский расстрел помните???? Миллионы погибших в Гражданской войне, которым и памятников нет!!! Вот кто Святые, убиённые не за что! Почитайте страшные повествования Бабеля... А тут давай царя в святые... Дети, конечно, Святые. И это верно... Как всё у нас, у русских нет середины... То в одну сторону, то в другую... Вылупив глаза и никого не слушая... Особенная потеха, когда дезертира и труса солженицына пророком и классиком назначили....
        1. Проксима Офлайн
          Проксима 10 декабря 2017 22:00
          +1
          Цитата: moskowit
          Ну-ну... Рыцари сражаются с равными себе.... Кровавое воскресение и Ленский расстрел помните???? Миллионы погибших в Гражданской войне, которым и памятников нет!!! Вот кто Святые, убиённые не за что! Почитайте страшные повествования Бабеля... А тут давай царя в святые... Дети, конечно, Святые. И это верно... Как всё у нас, у русских нет середины... То в одну сторону, то в другую... Вылупив глаза и никого не слушая... Особенная потеха, когда дезертира и труса солженицына пророком и классиком назначили....

          Согласен на все сто!
  2. svp67 Офлайн
    svp67 10 декабря 2017 15:33
    +3
    А что, ОТЛИЧНОЕ ПРИОБРЕТЕНИЕ. Может и пора на него свои права заявить? База, что морская, что воздушная, по среди Средиземного моря, уж точно, сейчас лишней не была бы...
    1. Проксима Офлайн
      Проксима 10 декабря 2017 15:58
      +1
      Цитата: svp67
      А что, ОТЛИЧНОЕ ПРИОБРЕТЕНИЕ. Может и пора на него свои права заявить?

      Мы можем на много чего заявить свои права. Про русские владения в Америке знают все fellow (современные американские штаты - Аляска, Вашингтон, Орегон, Калифорния). А вот например про наши владения на Гавайских островах и в Хоккайдо мало кто слышал.
      С "Русской Южной Америкой" вообще вышел курьёз. belay Российской колонией у берегов Южной Америки мог бы стать остров Тобаго, который являлся колонией Курляндии, вошедшей в состав Российской империи.

      В 1652 курляндский герцог Яков завладел о. Тобаго у берегов Южной Америки. В течение 30 лет сюда переселились 400 курляндцев, а также были закуплены в Африке более 900 негров-рабов. В Африке курляндцы приобрели остров святого Андрея (Остров Джеймс, ныне часть Гамбии).

      Однако в 1661 эти территории в двух полушариях перешли в пользование Англии: курляндский герцог фактически внес их как залог за кредиты. Когда Курляндия вошла в состав Российской империи, Екатерина II до 1795 пыталась отсудить у британцев эти два острова, но безуспешно.
      1. Сан Саныч Офлайн
        Сан Саныч 10 декабря 2017 20:00
        0
        К этому списку еще можно добавить Папуа Новую Гвинею
        1. Проксима Офлайн
          Проксима 10 декабря 2017 21:49
          +1
          Цитата: Сан Саныч
          К этому списку еще можно добавить Папуа Новую Гвинею

          Я то, грешным делом, думал, что Миклухо-Маклай этнограф, а он оказывается колонизатор? belay
  3. parusnik Офлайн
    parusnik 10 декабря 2017 15:36
    +2
    а спустя шесть лет французские войска захватили последний оплот иоаннитов – Мальту.
    ...Мальта была сдана французам без боя, и уже за несколько недель до капитуляции многие рыцари ордена пребывали в России. Уже с самого начала появления "мальтийцев" при дворе высшие чины Российской империи в еще большей степени перестали пытать симпатии к без того непопулярному Павлу I.Члены Мальтийского ордена стали кормиться с российских поместий.Орден не мог органично встроиться в систему взглядов дворянского сословия."Мальтийцами" не довольны были все слои общества. Для прогрессивной части общества он был странным анахронизмом. Члены многочисленных масонских лож не принимали его в силу разногласий по вопросам отношения к церкви. В среде консервативной части русского дворянства обращение православного императора к католическому рыцарству, так же отклик не нашло.После того, как Мальта перешла к англичанам, они стали все чаще находить общий язык со столичными и московскими масонами, которые были все более недовольны запретом на деятельность лож.В марте 1801 года Павел I был убит в своей спальне. Историками не принято напрямую связывать убийство российского императора с его протекторатом над Мальтийским орденом.
    1. dsk Офлайн
      dsk 10 декабря 2017 18:06
      +4
      Цитата: parusnik
      В марте 1801 года Павел I был убит в своей спальне.Историками не принято напрямую связывать убийство российского императора с его протекторатом над Мальтийским орденом
      Здравствуйте Алексей Богомазов! Когда интересно масоны признавались в своих чёрных делах? Купили Павла, "подарив" красивую побрякушку за спасение от фрацузов, пригрел он змеюку не только себе на погибель, но и своим потомкам. "Благордные" госпитальеры - иллюминаты - вольные каменщики "отблагодарили" царской династии по полной - даже детей последнего монарха не пожалели.
  4. Nukesmoke Офлайн
    Nukesmoke 31 января 2018 14:28
    0
    Павел Петрович... Был бы ты рыцарем ещё и в отношении со своими приближёнными, глядишь и не отоварили бы по голове табакеркой...