Military Review

Hide and show

8
Among the prerequisites that ensure the success of a combat operation were measures to ensure the secrecy of training (so that the enemy did not have time to take countermeasures) and the implementation of demonstrations (to divert the enemy’s attention and strength from the main attack). What do we know about the implementation of such measures on the Russian front of the First World War?


Without touching on the psychological side of this issue, we can state (on the basis of militaryhistorical facts) that in most cases skillfully conducted demonstrations achieved their goal, misleading even cold-blooded and self-possessed military leaders. If tactical demonstrations gave a false idea of ​​forthcoming actions on the battlefield, then strategic demonstrations had to mislead the enemy about future operations throughout the theater of operations, on one front, or at least in the sector of one army. Measures to ensure secrecy and demonstration during the organization of the 7th Army in Odessa in October 1915 and before the Brusilov breakthrough in 1916 were exemplary and achieved their goals.

7-I army in Odessa.

In October, the 1915, the 5, the Caucasian Army, the 16, and the 2, the army corps, as well as the 3, the Turkestan Rifle Brigade, were transferred from the front to the Odessa Military District — they had to be staffed with personnel and horse personnel, to receive the missing quartermaster , artillery and engineering property, and then join the special assault squad. The latter had, after landing in Varna or Balchik, act against the Bulgarians.

Before the arrival of the Emperor to Odessa on November 7, this plan was changed, and the above units were merged into the 7 Army - she was to go to the South-Western Front to participate in the operation on the river. Strype.

Stealth measures.

Of course, such a large operation as a landing on the shores of the Black Sea could not be hidden from both the enemy and the troops participating in it. All the efforts of the command were aimed at ensuring that his real intentions became known as late as possible - and the enemy did not have enough time to carry out the counteraction. These measures were as follows.

1. Detailed routes with the designation of the landing points of troops deployed in the Odessa district, the parts were not issued; The conductors and station commanders had information about the transportation from the departure stations to the nearest junction stations, for example: Minsk - Orsha, Orsha - Smolensk, etc .; landing point became known only in Kiev.

2. Information indicating the concentration goals was communicated only to the commanders of the formations - and only after disembarking from the railway transport. At a meeting with General of the Infantry D. G. Shcherbachev, appointed head of the landing squad (then he became commander of the 7 Army), even before discussing the details of the operation, all corps commanders made a promise to keep all information known to them it was forbidden to initiate even the chiefs of staffs.


Fig. 1. D. G. Shcherbachev.

3. Reports on the disposition of the enemy in Bulgaria, on fortified coastal points, and the like, were first received only by corps commanders for personal acquaintance.

4. The troops that had begun trial landings-landings on transports did not know the purpose of these actions - considering that these were training events. Any public on the pier, where the landing took place, was not allowed.

5. When the troops began to be transferred to the South-Western Front, the rumors were spread among the troops that the landing was replaced by rail (through Romania) and the purpose of the operation remained the same. To hide not only the points, but even the landing areas of the trains, a sealed envelope was issued to each head of the train - the inscription on it ordered to open it after arriving at the nearest junction station. When the envelope was opened, there was another envelope with the same mark inside it - and so it was all the way to the final station (and in the last packet there was a detailed order to occupy a certain apartment area).

6. Finally, during the departure of troops from Odessa to the front, passenger traffic from the district to the center of Russia was temporarily stopped.

Demonstrations

Demonstrations began to take place only after abandoning the action plan in Bulgaria. They aimed to hide this change - not only from enemies, but also from their troops and population. The demonstrations included:

1) The loading on the sea transports was carried out until the last day of the landing on the railway transport - as a result, many were convinced that part of the troops would be transported to Bulgaria by sea, and part by land. Local authorities in Odessa were ordered to strengthen measures to prevent public access to the pier where the transports were located.

2) Information concerning Bulgaria and the Bulgarian troops began to be sent to the regiments.

3) A special document was drawn up and handed over to the troops - a line of loading and dispatching transports.

4) An officer was seconded from D.G. Shcherbachev's headquarters to coordinate all the necessary issues with the naval headquarters in Sevastopol.

Stealth measures and demonstrations were generally successful. The failure of the Stryp offensive a month later was due primarily to the following circumstances: 1) The 7 Army finished concentrating on December 6, the attack was assigned to December 12, and then postponed until December December 16 - and the tactical surprise was lost (the enemy managed to learn about the arrival of the army on the South-Western Front); 2) errors made in the preparation of an offensive plan; c) extremely adverse weather conditions.

The offensive of the South-Western Front 22 May 1916.

At a meeting of all the commanders-in-chiefs of the fronts and the chiefs of staffs at the 1 headquarters on April 1916, which was chaired by the Supreme Commander, all fronts were ordered to go on the offensive in May. The South-Western Front was entrusted with delivering an auxiliary strike in order to chain the forces and attention of the enemy.

The commander-in-chief of the armies of the South-Western Front, cavalry general A. A. Brusilov, could not come to terms with the secondary role, hoping that the advance of his front would take on a serious scale - and subsequent events fully justified these hopes.


Fig. 2. A. A. Brusilov.

Stealth measures.

1) Preparations began immediately and intensively - on the whole front. The time of the attack was not determined - the army commanders received verbal assurances that 7 days before the start (3 - 4 of the day was set aside for regrouping, and the rest of the time - for the troops to familiarize themselves with their sectors).

2) The plan of the operation was developed in detail by the chief of staff of the front, General of Infantry VN Klembovsky and approved by A. A. Brusilov - but it was kept in absolute secrecy. He was not acquainted with the head of the front supply service (in whose management excessively talkative officers were found). The latter even officially complained to A. A. Brusilov about the chief of staff of the front - that the information necessary for effective work was hidden from him. A. A. Brusilov reassured his commandos.

3) All troop regroupings were carried out as late as possible; in armies, as noted above, only 3 of the day was assigned to this and not earlier than during the week before the attack began.

4) The troops, brought up to reinforce a particular section of the front, were not withdrawn to the reserve, but left at the height of deep reserves. It was allowed to send to the front (for acquaintance with the terrain and disposition of the enemy) only commanding persons and intelligence officers.

5) Officers and soldiers continued to retire on vacation - the latter were terminated only a week before the offensive.

Demonstrations

The amount of demonstrations carried out by the front was small, but the events were very serious.

1) The main blow was inflicted by the 8 Army, but in order to disperse the attention and forces of the enemy, depriving him of the opportunity to determine the main strike sector and free up reserves there, A. A. Brusilov decided to attack all the armies of the front on the same day . In his directive it was prescribed that each of the armies conducts an independent offensive; and the division into auxiliary and main attacks was not carried out.

2) Engineering training (assault bridgeheads, a gradual approach to the enemy) was ordered not only in front of the attack, but also on the entire front of each army. Similarly, reconnaissance actions by infantrymen and pilots were to be carried out.

3) In order to control the tactical and engineering preparations for an offensive on the front of the armies, the high ranks of the front commander were seconded - the chief engineers of the front went to one army, the quartermaster general to the front, and the head of staff to the front of the other two armies. The front commander also wanted to personally visit one army - of course, he was especially interested in the 8 Army, which had dealt the main attack, but he did not go there, so as not to hint the enemy to the main offensive site, going to the 9 Army (8-th chief of staff of the front).

The consequences of the offensive of the South-Western Front are known - the defeat of the Austro-German armies, the occupation of large areas, the seizure of a huge number of prisoners and trophies. The offensive of the entire front was a complete surprise to the enemy - as evidenced by the data of both the enemy and the allies. In particular, the captured German headquarters officer reported that the consequence of the surprise achieved by the South-Western Front was the fact that a significant part of the German units, pulled out from different formations, in a hurry was thrown to the aid of an ally - and some German regiments and battalions were in a mess fighting acting in isolation and blindly, in the absence of communication and their standard artillery, went to certain death. But the confused commanders of the enemy, completely unaware of the situation, could not do anything to parry the Brusilovskiy rink skating rink. A significant number of not only Austrian but also German troops were destroyed.

The last episode especially clearly proves how thoughtful and expediently organized measures should be to conceal their forces and mislead the enemy. Obviously - what is the price of such measures, carried out in anticipation of serious offensive. Of particular importance were such measures during strategic operations - as the May 1916 breakthrough of the year showed.

Hide and show

Fig. 3. Cavalry General A. A. Brusilov and Major General M. V. Khanzhin. Spring 1916
Author:
8 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. parusnik
    parusnik 18 December 2017 07: 42
    11
    Major General M.V. Khanzhin - from June 1918 in the White Army, in the troops of Kolchak, commanded the 3rd Ural Corps, from 1919 commander of the Western Army. In March 1919 the Western Army launched a "spring" attack, capturing Ufa, Belebey and other important settlements. For military successes during this period, General Khanzhin was promoted to admiral Kolchak as a general from artillery - the only highest rank in the entire White Movement received during the Civil War in Russia. On June 20, 1919, at his personal request, he was replaced as commander of the Western Army, received sick leave and was credited to the Headquarters reserve. In October 1919, Khanzhin received the post of Minister of War in the Omsk government. In December 1919, together with other members of the government, Khanzhin sent a telegram to A.V. Kolchak with the proposal to renounce power in favor of General A.I. Denikin.Emigrated to China, lived in Harbin, where for some time he headed the 9th Far Eastern Department of the EMRO. In November 1922 - February 1925, he headed the Kovalsky bean transshipment office, then worked in the management of the South Manchurian Railway as a draftsman. On a personal initiative, Khanzhin organized the Board of Trustees for the Protection and Tidying up of Port Arthur and other Russian military cemeteries in Manzhou Guo and the Kwantung Region, in August 1935 he became its first chairman. After the Soviet troops occupied Manchuria, General Khanzhin was arrested by SMERSH on September 15, 1945 in Dairen. 10 years he spent in places of detention. In 1955 he was in a local prison in the city of Ukhta. After his release in 1956, he lived in Kazakhstan, died in Dzhambul in 1961.
  2. Rotmistr
    Rotmistr 18 December 2017 07: 44
    20
    In all wars, stealth and demonstration activities were very important. Even with Strategists prescribed.
    But it was in WWI that strategic success and the lives of hundreds of thousands of people began to depend on them.
    The fruits depended on many circumstances of course, but these are one of the key. And the result is on the face)
  3. Barcid
    Barcid 18 December 2017 09: 01
    18
    Still, the Brusilovsky breakthrough was a great victory. Thanks to the author for reporting on the work of military intelligence.
    1. Mikado
      Mikado 18 December 2017 15: 53
      11
      Still, the Brusilovsky breakthrough was a great victory. Thanks to the author for reporting on the work of military intelligence.

      and perhaps the most successful offensive during the WWII. I will join with gratitude to the author. hi
  4. XII Legion
    XII Legion 18 December 2017 10: 12
    19
    In the history of military art, the question being discussed occupies a prominent place.
    How many operations failed due to neglect of privacy measures.
    And to attract the attention of the enemy, switch to another object - is equally important.
    An important element of operational art.
    1. kalibr
      kalibr 18 December 2017 10: 56
      14
      Oleinikov always has interesting and informative articles ...
      1. XII Legion
        XII Legion 18 December 2017 13: 02
        18
        I agree.
        And you too.
        drinks
  5. Conductor
    Conductor 18 December 2017 17: 05
    +3
    Parusniky, thanks for the info, what a fate Khanjin has!

Спрятать и показать

Среди предпосылок, обеспечивающих успех боевой операции, важнейшее значение имели меры по обеспечению скрытности подготовки (чтобы противник не успел принять мер противодействия), и осуществлению демонстраций (чтобы отвлечь внимание и силы неприятеля от места главного удара). Что мы знаем о реализации таких мер на Русском фронте Первой мировой?

Не касаясь психологической стороны этого вопроса, мы можем констатировать (на основании военно-исторических фактов), что в большинстве случаев умело проведенные демонстрации достигали своей цели, вводя в заблуждение даже хладнокровных и обладавших большой выдержкой военачальников. Если тактические демонстрации давали ложное представление о предстоящих действиях на поле боя, то стратегические должны были ввести врага в заблуждение относительно будущих операций на всем ТВД, на одном фронте или хотя бы на участке одной армии. Образцовыми и достигшими своих целей были меры по обеспечению скрытности и демонстрации при организации 7-й армии в Одессе в октябре 1915 г. и перед Брусиловским прорывом 1916 г.

7-я армия в Одессе.


В октябре 1915 г. 5-й Кавказский армейский, 16-й и 2-й армейские корпуса, а также 3-я Туркестанская стрелковая бригада были перевезены с фронта в Одесский военный округ – они должны были доукомплектоваться личным и конским составом, получить недостающее интендантское, артиллерийское и инженерное имущество, а затем войти в состав особого десантного отряда. Последний должен был, высадившись в Варне или Балчике, действовать против болгар.

Перед прибытием Императора в Одессу 7 ноября этот план был изменен, и вышеуказанные соединения были объединены в 7-ю армию – она должна была отправиться на Юго-Западный фронт для участия в операции на р. Стрыпе.

Меры скрытности.

Конечно, столь крупную операцию, как десант на берегах Черного моря, невозможно было скрыть как от врага, так и от войск, в ней участвующих. Все усилия командования были направлены на то, чтобы настоящие его намерения стали известными как можно позднее – и у противника не оставалось достаточно времени для осуществления противодействия. Эти меры заключались в следующем.

1. Детальных маршрутов с обозначением пунктов высадки войск, перебрасываемых в Одесский округ, частям не выдавалось; кондуктора и коменданты станций имели сведения о перевозке от станций отправления и до ближних узловых станций, например: Минск – Орша, Орша - Смоленск и т. д.; пункт высадки становился известным только в Киеве.

2. Информация с указанием целей сосредоточения войск сообщалась лишь командирам соединений – и только после высадки с железнодорожного транспорта. На совещании у генерала от инфантерии Д. Г. Щербачева, назначенного начальником десантного отряда (затем он стал командующим 7-й армией), еще до обсуждения деталей операции, со всех командиров корпусов бралось обещание сохранить всю известную им информацию в тайне – причем в нее запрещалось посвящать даже начальников штабов.


Илл. 1. Д. Г. Щербачев.

3. Сводки о диспозиции противника в Болгарии, об укрепленных прибрежных пунктах и тому подобные сведения вначале получали только корпусные командиры - для личного ознакомления.

4. Приступившие к пробным посадкам-высадкам на транспорты войска не знали цели этих действий – считая что это учебные мероприятия. Какая-либо публика на пристани, где производилась погрузка десанта, не допускалась.

5. Когда войска начали перебрасываться на Юго-Западный фронт, в войсках распространялся слух, что десант заменен железнодорожной перевозкой (через Румынию), а цель операции осталась прежней. Для скрытия не только пунктов, но даже районов высадки с поездов, каждому начальнику эшелона был выдан запечатанный конверт – надпись на нем приказывала вскрыть его после прибытия на ближайшую узловую станцию. Когда конверт вскрывался, внутри него оказывался другой конверт с такой же отметкой - и так на весь путь до конечной станции (причем в последнем пакете лежал подробный приказ на занятие определенного квартирного района).

6. Наконец, в период отправления войск из Одессы на фронт пассажирское движение из округа в центр России было временно прекращено.

Демонстрации.

Демонстрации начали осуществляться лишь после отказа от плана действий в Болгарии. Они имели целью скрыть это изменение - не только от врагов, но и от своих войск и населения. Демонстрации заключались в том, что:

1) Погрузка на морские транспорты осуществлялась вплоть до последнего дня посадки на железнодорожный транспорт - вследствие чего многие были убеждены, что часть войск будет перевезена в Болгарию морем, а часть – по суше. Местным властям в Одессе было приказано усилить меры по предотвращению доступа публики на пристани, где находились транспорты.

2) Сведения, касающиеся Болгарии и болгарских войск, начали рассылаться в полки.

3) Был составлен и передан в войска специальный документ - очередь погрузки и отправки транспортов.

4) Из штаба Д. Г. Щербачева был откомандирован офицер – для согласования всех необходимых вопросов с морским штабом в Севастополе.

Меры по соблюдению скрытности и демонстрации в целом оказались удачны. Неудача состоявшегося месяцем позднее наступления на Стрыпе объяснялась, прежде всего, следующими обстоятельствами: 1) 7-я армия закончила сосредоточение 6-го декабря, атака была назначена на 12-е декабря, а затем отсрочена до 16-го декабря – и тактическая внезапность была утрачена (противник успел узнать о прибытии армии на Юго-Западный фронт); 2) ошибки, допущенные при составлении плана наступления; в) крайне неблагоприятные погодные условия.

Наступление Юго-Западного фронта 22 мая 1916 года.

На совещании всех главнокомандующих фронтами и начальников штабов в Ставке 1 апреля 1916 г., проходившем под председательством Верховного главнокомандующего, всем фронтам было приказано в мае перейти в наступление. На Юго-Западный фронт возлагалось нанесение вспомогательного удара - с целью приковать к себе силы и внимание противника.

Главнокомандующий армиями Юго-Западного фронта генерал от кавалерии А. А. Брусилов не мог смириться с второстепенной ролью, рассчитывая что наступление его фронта приобретет серьезный размах – и последующие события полностью оправдали эти надежды.


Илл. 2. А. А. Брусилов.

Меры скрытности.

1) Подготовка началась немедленно и интенсивно - по всему фронту. Время атаки не было определено – командующие армиями получили устные заверения о том, что за 7 дней до начала (3 - 4 дня отводилось на перегруппировку, а остальное время - на ознакомление войск с их участками) они будут предупреждены о переходе в наступление.

2) План операции был подробно разработан начальником штаба фронта генералом от инфантерии В. Н. Клембовским и одобрен А. А. Брусиловым – но он хранился в абсолютной тайне. С ним не был знаком и начальник службы снабжения фронта (в управлении которого были обнаружены излишне болтливые сотрудники). Последний даже официально пожаловался А. А. Брусилову на начальника штаба фронта – о том что от него скрывается информация, необходимая для эффективной работы. А. А. Брусилов успокоил своего начснаба.

3) Все войсковые перегруппировки проводились как можно позже; в армиях, как отмечено выше, на это отводилось только 3 дня и не ранее как в течение недельного срока до начала атаки.

4) Войска, подвозившиеся на усиление того или иного участка фронта, не выводились в резерв, а оставлялись на высоте глубоких резервов. Разрешалось посылать на фронт (для ознакомления с местностью и диспозицией противника) лишь начальствующих лиц и разведчиков.

5) Офицеры и солдаты продолжили увольняться в отпуска - последние были прекращены только за неделю до наступления.

Демонстрации.

Объем демонстраций, осуществленных фронтом, был невелик, но мероприятия были очень серьезными.

1) Главный удар наносила 8-я армия, но для того чтобы распылить внимание и силы противника, лишив его возможности определить участок главного удара и стянуть туда свободные резервы, А. А. Брусилов решил атаковать всеми армиями фронта - в один и тот же день. В его директиве предписывалось, что каждая из армий проводит самостоятельное наступление; а деление на вспомогательные и главную атаки не осуществлялось.

2) Инженерную подготовку (штурмовые плацдармы, постепенный подход к противнику) предписывалось вести не только напротив участков атаки, но и по всему фронту каждой армии. Аналогично должны были осуществляться разведывательные действия со стороны пехотинцев и летчиков.

3) В целях контроля над тактической и инженерной подготовкой к наступлению на фронт армий откомандировывались высшие чины командования фронта – в одну армию поехал начальник инженеров фронта, в другую - генерал-квартирмейстер, наконец, на фронт двух остальных армий фронта - начальник штаба. Командующий фронтом также хотел лично посетить одну армию - разумеется, его особенно интересовала 8-я армия, наносившая главный удар, но туда он (чтоб не намекнуть врагу на главный участок наступления) не поехал, отправившись в 9-ю армию (8-ю посетил начальник штаба фронта).

Последствия наступления Юго-Западного фронта известны - разгром австро-германских армий, занятие значительной территории, захват огромного количества пленных и трофеев. Наступление всего фронта стало полной неожиданностью для противника - о чем свидетельствуют данные как противника, так и союзников. В частности, пленный германский штаб-офицер сообщал, что последствием достигнутой Юго-Западным фронтом внезапности стал тот факт, что значительная часть германских частей, вырванных из разных соединений, впопыхах была брошена на помощь союзнику – и отдельные полки и батальоны немцев, в неразберихе тяжелых боев действуя изолированно и вслепую, при отсутствии связи и своей штатной артиллерии, шли на верную смерть. А растерявшийся командный состав противника, совершенно не ориентирующийся в обстановке, ничего не смог сделать для парирования катка «Брусиловского прорыва». Было уничтожено значительное количество не только австрийских, но и германских войск.

Последний эпизод особенно ярко доказывает, какими продуманными и целесообразно организованными должны быть меры по сокрытию своих сил и введению в заблуждение противника. Очевидно - какова цена таким мерам, осуществляемым в преддверии серьезных наступлений. Особое значение такие меры имели при проведении стратегических операций – что и показал майский прорыв 1916 года.

Спрятать и показать

Илл. 3. Генерал от кавалерии А. А. Брусилов и генерал-майор М. В. Ханжин. Весна 1916 г.
Автор: Олейников Алексей


Читайте "Военное обозрение" в Яндекс Новостях

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также

Комментарии 8

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. parusnik (Алексей Богомазов) 18 декабря 2017 07:42
    генерал-майор М. В. Ханжин- с июня 1918 г. в Белой армии, в войсках Колчака ,командовал 3-м Уральским корпусом, с 1919 командующий Западной армией.В марте 1919 года Западная армия начала "весеннее" наступление, захватив Уфу, Белебей и другие важные населенные пункты. За военные успехи в этот период генерал Ханжин был произведен адмиралом Колчаком в чин генерала от артиллерии - единственный высший чин во всем Белом движении, полученный в период Гражданской войны в России. 20 июня 1919 года ,по личной просьбе, он был заменен на посту командующего Западной армии , получил отпуск по болезни и зачислен в резерв Ставки. В октябре 1919 года Ханжин получил пост военного министра в Омском правительстве. В декабре 1919 года, вместе с другими членами правительства, Ханжин отправил телеграмму А.В. Колчаку с предложением отречься от власти в пользу генерала А.И. Деникина.Эмигрировал в Китай, жил в Харбине, где возглавлял некоторое время 9-й Дальневосточный отдел РОВС. В ноябре 1922 – феврале 1925 годов заведовал конторой Ковальского по перевалке бобов, затем работал в управлении Южно-Маньчжурской железной дороги чертежником. По личной инициативе Ханжин организовал Попечительский совет по охране и приведению в порядок Порт-Артурского и других русских военных кладбищ в Маньчжоу Го и Квантунской области, в августе 1935 года стал первым его председателем. После занятия советскими войсками Маньчжурии генерал Ханжин был арестован органами СМЕРШ 15 сентября 1945 года в Дайрене.10 лет провел в местах заключения. В 1955 году находился в местной тюрьме города Ухта . После освобождения в 1956 году жил в Казахстане, умер в Джамбуле в 1961 году.
  2. Rotmistr (Дмитрий Панченко) 18 декабря 2017 07:44
    Во всех войнах меры по обеспечению скрытности и демонстрационным действиям имели очень важное значение. Даже с Стратегмах прописывались.
    Но именно в ПМВ от них стал зависеть стратегический успех и жизни сотен тысяч людей.
    Плоды зависели от многих конечно обстоятельств, но эти - одни из ключевых. И результат - на лице)
  3. Barcid (Андрей) 18 декабря 2017 09:01
    Все-таки Брусиловский прорыв был Великой победой. Спасибо автору за освещение работы военной разведки.
    1. Микадо (Николай) 18 декабря 2017 15:53
      Все-таки Брусиловский прорыв был Великой победой. Спасибо автору за освещение работы военной разведки.

      и, пожалуй, самым успешным наступлением за время ПМВ. Присоединюсь с признательностью Автору. hi
  4. XII легион (Цезарь) 18 декабря 2017 10:12
    В истории военного искусства расскрываемый вопрос занимает видное место.
    Сколько операций сорвалось из-за пренебрежения мерами секретности.
    И привлечь внимание врага, переключить на другой объект - не менее важно.
    Важный элемент оперативного искусства.
    1. kalibr (Вячеслав) 18 декабря 2017 10:56
      У Олейникова всегда интересные и информативные статьи...
      1. XII легион (Цезарь) 18 декабря 2017 13:02
        Согласен.
        И у Вас тоже.
        drinks
  5. Дирижер 18 декабря 2017 17:05
    Parusniky, спасибо за инфу, какая судьба у Ханжина!
Картина дня