Military Review

Hydroaviation of the Japanese submarine fleet in World War II. Part III

2
Development of underwater aircraft in Japan in the pre-war years


In the Land of the Rising Sun, they closely followed the course of experiments conducted in Europe and the United States to create aircraft for submarines. Practical work in this direction took place in the 1923 year, when two Caspar U-1 floated seaplanes arrived in Germany.

After a thorough study of the acquired seaplanes at the Yokosuka Marine Arsenal in 1925, the creation of the first Japanese submarine aircraft, the Yokoshi 1-Go, began. The plane looked similar to the German Caspar U-1, but had a more powerful 80-strong 9-cylinder radial engine of the French company Renault and a four-bladed wooden propeller. The maximum flight speed of the Japanese hydroplane was 154 km per hour (versus 145 km per hour U-1).


Experimental seaplane "Yokoshi" 1-Go (the only photo that has survived)

The Yokoshi 1-Go had a mixed construction: a metal tubular frame, wooden wings, duralumin hood and floats (everything else had a plain skin). For placement in a cylindrical hangar with a length of 7.4 meter and a diameter of 1.7 meter wings and floats undocked. The project stipulated that a team of five people would take four minutes to assemble an 1-Go and an additional 10 – 12 minutes to prepare for the launch, and the disassembly would take about two minutes.

The first prototype of the Yokoshi 1-Go was built in the 1927 year. For sea trials, the Japanese fleet allocated an underwater mine layer I-21 with a surface displacement of 1380 tons (submerged 1768 tons) and a travel speed in the surface position of 14.5 nodes. To accommodate the seaplane behind the fencing of the cabin, a waterproof cylindrical hangar of a “heavy” type was mounted. The launch of the 1-Go into the water and its rise from the water was carried out using a special crane.


1-Go Experimental Yokoshi seaplane reconnaissance aircraft

Intensive testing of the Yokoshi 1-Go was carried out for 18 months in the years 1927-1928. The real time it took to prepare the seaplane for departure was as much as 40 minutes (instead of 16 under the project)! The low speed of the flight and its short duration (only two hours) were also unsatisfactory. In passing, it turned out that the submarine with aviation the hangar should have a large displacement.

The Japanese fleet refused to accept the Yokoshi 1-Go as an underwater-based reconnaissance seaplane. Only one prototype was built. To continue the work in this direction, before the end of the Yokoshi 1-Go test, in 1928, the Japanese fleet purchased the English Parnol double float seaplane Pato.


Experimental English seaplane “Parnol” “Pato”, 1928 year

At its base in Yokosuka Naval Arsenal, Japanese engineers developed a new seaplane project, the Yokoshi 2-Go, which outwardly resembled its progenitor, but was smaller and became single-seater. The metal tubular frame of the fuselage and wooden wings were covered with canvas. The tail fin is placed under the fuselage, and the horizontal tail is in its upper part. For placement in the hangar of the submarine wings and floats made removable. The power plant "Yokoshi" 2-Go was a licensed copy of the English radial five-cylinder 130-strong engine "Mongoose".

Hydroaviation of the Japanese submarine fleet in World War II. Part III

The first prototype of Yokoshi 2-Go is lifted with a special crane aboard the I-21 submarine.

Built in May 1929, the first 2-Go prototype passed the fleet for carrying out tests on the underwater mine layer I-21, which lasted until September 1931. Based on the test results, it was decided to put on a seaplane a more powerful seven-cylinder radial Japanese engine "Gasuden Jimpu" with a capacity of 160 horsepower. With the new power plant, the maximum speed of the Yokoshi 2-Go-Kai (the second prototype received the name) increased to 168 km per hour. The flight duration remained the same - 4 hours 24 minutes.


In flight, the second prototype "Yokoshi" 2-Go-Kai

The design of 2-Go-Kai made small changes - the tail fin has acquired a more traditional form. Wing racks biplane received N-view. The Yokoshi 2-Go-Kai tests were first performed on the same I-21, and in the final stage on the I-52 submarine, which had a surface displacement of 1500 tons (underwater - 2500 tons). At the end of 1931, the tests ended and were found to be satisfactory.


In the hangar hydroplane reconnaissance "Yokoshi" E6Y1 based on a submarine I-5

In 1932, a single float reconnaissance biplane under the designation "Yokoshi" E6Y1 (Type 91 model 1) was adopted. The fleet ordered a total of eight hydroplanes, which were built in 1933 – 1934 by Kavanishi (under the factory designation type N). Such a small number of ordered aircraft due to the weakness of the design, low flight performance and lack of weapons.

"Yokoshi" E6Y1 was the first serial reconnaissance seaplane to base on submarines. In the 1932 year, during the “Shanghai incident,” the E6Y1 (2-Go-Kai) seaplane performed several reconnaissance flights in the Shanghai area. In 1933, an experimental pneumatic catapult was installed on the submarine I-52 and the E6Y1 (2-Go-Kai) actively participated in its testing and fine-tuning. During 1937 – 1938, they were based on the I-5, I-6, I-7 and I-8 submarines, until they were replaced by the more advanced Watnabe E9W seaplanes. Flight Service "Yokoshi" E6Y1 ended in May 1943 year.


"Yokoshi" E6Y1 - the first serial seaplane for submarines

In 1932, the Aichi company commissioned the Chinese Navy to build a prototype of the Aichi AB-3 ship-based reconnaissance seaplane, similar in size and capabilities to the Yokoshi E6Y1. The plane had a folding outer wing console. The tests were successful, but no orders for mass production from China followed. The command of the Japanese fleet did not show interest in this development, since such a plane had already been put into service.


The prototype of the reconnaissance hydroplane "Aychi" AB-3, 1932 year


Basic tactical and technical characteristics of the first Japanese submarine aircraft (1927 – 1932 years)

References:
1. Beshanov V.V. Encyclopedia of aircraft carriers / Under the general editorship of AE Taras - Moscow: AST, Minsk: Harvest, 2002 - (Library of military stories).
2. Platonov A.V. Linear forces of the submarine fleet - SPb .: Galeya Print LLC, 1998.
3. Dashyan A.V. Ships of the Second World War. Japanese Navy (part of 2). Maritime collection №7, 2004.
4. Ivanov S.V. Japan submarines 1941-1945. War at sea (№31) - Beloretsk: ARS LLC, 2006.
5. Okolelov N.N., Shumilin S.E., Chechin A.A. Submarine aircraft carriers of the Japanese fleet (history, design, aircraft armament). Maritime collection №7, 2007.
6. Kascheev L.B. Japanese submarines in World War II. Maritime collection №2, 2011.
7. Firsov A. Aviation of Japan in the second world war. Part One: Aichi, Yokosuka, Kawasaki. Aviation collection №4. TsAGI, 1996.
8. Solomonov B., Kulagin K. Submarine aviation of the Yamato country. Aviamaster №3, 2003.
9. Doroshkevich O. Airplanes of Japan of the Second World War - Minsk: Harvest, 2004.
10. Chechin A., Okolelov N. Start from under the water. Model Designer #7,8 -2009.
11. Chechin A., Okolelov N. Ominous "Mountain Fog". Aichi MXNUMHA Seyran seaplane and its predecessors. Aviation and Time Magazine No. 6 - 04, 06.
12. Haruk A.I. Attack aircraft of the Second World War - attack aircraft, bombers, torpedo bombers - M .: Yauza; Eksmo, xnumx.
13. Haruk A.I. All seaplanes of the second world. Illustrated color encyclopedia - M .: Yauza; Eksmo, xnumx.
14. Kotelnikov V. Aviation in the Second World War. Aircraft of France. Part-1 (Aviation collection No. 10) - 1996.
15. Kozyrev M., Kozyrev V. Aviation of Axis Countries in World War II - M .: ZAO Tsentpoligraf, 2010.
16. Bryukhanov A. Deck aircraft in World War II: An Illustrated Collection. Parts I - IV. - Publishing solutions (licensed by Ridero), 2017.
17. Bryukhanov A. Japanese submarine aviation in World War II: Publishing solutions (licensed by Ridero), 2017.
18. Gusev A.N. Submarines for special purposes. Built ships and unrealized projects - M .: MORKNIGA, 2013.
19. RJ Francillon. Japanese Aircraft of the Pacific. Putman & Company. London-1970.
20. Robert C. Mikesh. Aichi M6A1 Seiran, Japan's Submarine-Launched Panama Canal Bomber (Monogram Close-Up 13) - Monogram Aviation Publications. Commonwealth Press Worcester, Massachustts, 1975.
21. Japanese Military Aircraft Illustrated. Vol. 3, Reconnaissance Flying Boat Trainer / Transport - Bunrin-Do Co. Ltd., Tokyo 1983.
22. Robert C. Mikesh & Shorzoe Abe. Japanese Aircraft 1910-1941. Putnam Aeronautical Books, London, 1990.
23. Famous airplanes of the world №47. Imperial Japanese Navy Reconnaissance Seaplane - BUNRINDO Co.Ltd, Tokyo 1994.
24. Tadeusz Januszewski. Japanese Submarine Aircraft - Red Series (No. 5103). Mushroom Model Publications, 2002.
25. Ryusuke Ishiguro, Tadeusz Januszewski. Kugisho E14Y GLEN: The Aircraft that Bombed America (White Series) - MMPBooks, 2012.
26. ER Johnson. United States Naval Aviation, 1919-1941 - Aircraft, Airships and Ships Between the Wars. McFarland, 2011.

Internet resources:
http://www.aviarmor.net;
http://wikimedia.org;
http://en.wikipedia.org;
http://jn.passieux.free.fr;
http://aircraft-catalog.com.


To be continued ...
Author:
2 comments
Ad

The editorial board of Voenniy Obozreniye urgently needs a proofreader. Requirements: impeccable knowledge of the Russian language, diligence, discipline. Contact: [email protected]

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. avt
    avt 23 December 2017 10: 51 New
    0
    Yes-ah-ah .... long and tortuous they had a way to ,, Seyran " bully
    1. DenZ
      DenZ 26 December 2017 15: 22 New
      0
      The main thing is that they have gone this way and now there is something to tell about. Probably no one had more submarine aircraft than in Japan.

Гидроавиация японского подводного флота во Второй мировой войне. Часть III

Разработка самолётов подводного базирования в Японии в предвоенные годы

В стране Восходящего солнца внимательно отслеживали ход экспериментов, проводимых в Европе и США, по созданию самолётов для подводных лодок. Практические работы в этом направлении развернулись в 1923 году, когда в Японию прибыли закупленные в Германии два поплавковых гидросамолёта «Каспар» U-1.


После тщательного изучения приобретённых гидросамолётов на Морском арсенале города Йокосука в 1925 году приступили к созданию первого японского самолёта для подводных лодок - «Йокоши» 1-Go. Самолёт внешне был похож на германский «Каспар» U-1, но имел более мощный 80-сильный 9-цилиндровый радиальный двигатель французской фирмы «Рено» и четырёхлопастной деревянный винт. Максимальная скорость полёта японского гидроплана составляла 154 км в час (против 145 км в час U-1).


Экспериментальный гидросамолёт «Йокоши» 1-Go (единственная фотография, дошедшая до наших дней)

«Йокоши» 1-Go имел смешанную конструкцию: металлический трубчатый каркас, деревянные крылья, дюралевую обшивку капота и поплавков (всё остальное имело полотняную обшивку). Для размещения в цилиндрическом ангаре длиной 7.4 метра и диаметром 1.7 метра крылья и поплавки отстыковывались. По проекту предусматривалось, что на сборку 1-Go командой из пяти человек будет уходить четыре минуты и дополнительно 10–12 минут на подготовку к старту, а разборка – около двух минут.

Первый прототип «Йокоши» 1-Go был построен в 1927 году. Для морских испытаний японский флот выделил подводный минный заградитель I-21 с надводным водоизмещением 1380 тонн (подводное 1768 тонн) и скоростью хода в надводном положении 14.5 узлов. Для размещения гидросамолёта за ограждением рубки смонтировали водонепроницаемый цилиндрический ангар «тяжёлого» типа. Спуск 1-Go на воду и подъём его с воды осуществлялся с помощью специального крана.


Экспериментальный гидросамолёт-разведчик «Йокоши» 1-Go

Интенсивные испытания «Йокоши» 1-Go проводились в течение 18 месяцев в 1927–1928 годах. Реальное время, которое уходило на подготовку гидросамолёта к вылету, составляло целых 40 минут (вместо 16 по проекту)! Неудовлетворительной также была низкая скорость полёта и его малая продолжительность (всего два часа). Попутно выяснилось, что подводная лодка с авиационным ангаром должна обладать большим водоизмещением.

От принятия на вооружение «Йокоши» 1-Go в качестве гидросамолёта-разведчика подводного базирования японский флот отказался. Был построен всего один прототип. Для продолжения работ в этом направлении, ещё до конца испытаний «Йокоши» 1-Go, в 1928 году японский флот приобрёл английский двухместный поплавковый гидросамолёт «Парнол» «Пэто».


Экспериментальный английский гидросамолёт «Парнол» «Пэто», 1928 год

На его базе в Военно-морском арсенале в Йокосуке японские инженеры разработали новый проект гидросамолёта - «Йокоши» 2-Go, который внешне напоминал своего прародителя, но имел меньшие размеры и стал одноместным. Металлический трубчатый каркас фюзеляжа и деревянные крылья были обтянуты полотном. Киль хвостового оперения разместили под фюзеляжем, а горизонтальное оперение – в его верхней части. Для размещения в ангаре подводной лодки крылья и поплавки сделали съёмными. Силовая установка «Йокоши» 2-Go представляла собой лицензионную копию английского радиального пятицилиндрового 130-сильного двигателя «Мангуст».

Гидроавиация японского подводного флота во Второй мировой войне. Часть III

Первый прототип «Йокоши» 2-Go поднимают специальным краном на борт подводной лодки I-21

Построенный в мае 1929 года первый прототип 2-Go передали флоту для проведения испытаний на подводном минном заградителе I-21, которые продолжались по сентябрь 1931 года. По результатам испытаний было решено поставить на гидросамолёт более мощный семицилиндровый радиальный японский двигатель «Гасудэн Дзимпу» мощностью 160 лошадиных сил. С новой силовой установкой максимальная скорость полёта «Йокоши» 2-Go-Kai (такое название получил второй прототип) возросла до 168 км в час. Продолжительность полёта осталась прежней – 4 часа 24 минуты.


В полёте второй прототип «Йокоши» 2-Go-Kai

В конструкцию 2-Go-Kai внесли небольшие изменения – киль хвостового оперения приобрёл более традиционную форму. Крыльевые стойки биплана получили N-вид. Испытания «Йокоши» 2-Go-Kai проходили вначале всё на той же I-21, а в завершающей стадии на подлодке I-52, которая имела надводное водоизмещение 1500 тонн (подводное – 2500 тонн). В конце 1931 года испытания завершились и были признаны удовлетворительными.


В ангаре гидросамолёт-разведчик «Йокоши» E6Y1 базирующийся на субмарине I-5

В 1932 году одноместный поплавковый разведывательный биплан под обозначением «Йокоши» E6Y1 (Тип 91 модель 1) был принят на вооружение. Флот заказал всего восемь гидросамолётов, которые были построены в 1933–1934 годах фирмой «Каваниши» (под заводским обозначением тип N). Такое малое количество заказанных самолётов объяснялось слабостью конструкции, невысокими лётными характеристиками и отсутствием вооружения.

«Йокоши» E6Y1 стал первым серийным разведывательным гидросамолётом для базирования на подводных лодках. В 1932 году во время «Шанхайского инцидента» гидросамолёт E6Y1(2-Go-Kai) выполнил несколько разведывательных полетов в районе Шанхая. В 1933 году на подводной лодке I-52 была установлена экспериментальная пневматическая катапульта и E6Y1(2-Go-Kai) активно участвовал в её испытаниях и доводке. В течение 1937–1938 годов они базировались на подводных лодках I-5, I-6, I-7 и I-8, пока не были заменены более совершенными гидросамолётами «Ватанабэ» E9W. Лётная служба «Йокоши» E6Y1 завершилась в мае 1943 года.


«Йокоши» E6Y1- первый серийный гидросамолёт для подводных лодок

В 1932 году фирмой «Айчи» по заказу ВМС Китая был построен прототип разведывательного гидросамолёта корабельного базирования «Айчи» АВ-3, аналогичный по своим размерам и возможностям «Йокоши» E6Y1. Самолёт имел складывающиеся внешние консоли крыла. Испытания прошли успешно, однако заказов на серийное производство от Китая не последовало. Командование японского флота не проявило заинтересованности к данной разработке, так как подобный самолёт уже был принят на вооружение.


Прототип разведывательного гидросамолёта «Айчи» АВ-3, 1932 год


Основные тактико-технические характеристики первых японских самолётов для подводных лодок (1927–1932 годы)

Литература:
1. Бешанов В.В. Энциклопедия авианосцев/Под обшей редакцией А.Е.Тараса – М.: АСТ, Мн.: Харвест, 2002 – (Библиотека военной истории).
2. Платонов А.В. Линейные силы подводного флота – СПб.: ООО «Галея Принт», 1998.
3. Дашьян А.В. Корабли Второй мировой войны. ВМС Японии (часть 2). Морская коллекция №7, 2004.
4. Иванов С.В. Субмарины Японии 1941-1945. Война на море (№31) - Белорецк: ООО «АРС», 2006.
5. Околелов Н.Н., Шумилин С.Э., Чечин А.А. Подводные авианосцы японского флота (история, конструкция, авиационное вооружение). Морская коллекция №7, 2007.
6. Кащеев Л.Б. Японские субмарины во Второй мировой войне. Морская коллекция №2, 2011.
7. Фирсов А. Авиация Японии во второй мировой войне. Часть первая: Айчи, Йокосука, Кавасаки. Авиационный сборник №4. ЦАГИ,1996.
8. Соломонов Б., Кулагин К. Подводная авиация страны Ямато. Авиамастер №3, 2003.
9. Дорошкевич О. Самолёты Японии Второй мировой войны – Мн.: Харвест, 2004.
10. Чечин А., Околелов Н. Старт из-под воды. Моделист-конструктор№7,8 -2009.
11. Чечин А., Околелов Н. Зловещий «Горный туман». Гидросамолёт Аичи М6А «Сейран» и его предшественники. Журнал «Авиация и Время» № 04 - 06, 2013.
12. Харук А.И. Ударная авиация Второй Мировой – штурмовики, бомбардировщики, торпедоносцы – М.: Яуза; ЭКСМО, 2012.
13. Харук А.И. Все гидросамолёты второй мировой. Иллюстрированная цветная энциклопедия – М.: Яуза; ЭКСМО, 2014.
14. Котельников В. Авиация во Второй Мировой войне. Самолеты Франции. Часть-1(Авиационный сборник №10) – 1996.
15. Козырев М., Козырев В. Авиация стран оси во Второй мировой войне – М.: ЗАО Центрполиграф, 2010.
16. Брюханов А. Палубная авиация во Второй мировой войне: Иллюстрированный сборник. Части I – IV. – Издательские решения (по лицензии Ridero), 2017.
17. Брюханов А. Авиация подводного флота Японии во Второй мировой войне: Издательские решения (по лицензии Ridero), 2017.
18. Гусев А.Н. Подводные лодки специального назначения. Построенные корабли и нереализованные проекты - М.: МОРКНИГА, 2013.
19. R.J. Francillon. Japanese Aircraft of the Pacific. Putman & Company. London-1970.
20. Robert C. Mikesh. Aichi M6A1 Seiran, Japan's Submarine-Launched Panama Canal Bomber (Monogram Close-Up 13) – Monogram Aviation Publications. Commonwealth Press Worcester, Massachustts, 1975.
21. Japanese Military Aircraft Illustrated. Vol. 3, Reconnaissance Flying Boat Trainer/Transport - Bunrin-Do Co. Ltd., Tokyo 1983.
22. Robert C. Mikesh & Shorzoe Abe. Japanese Aircraft 1910-1941. Putnam Aeronautical Books, London, 1990.
23. Famous airplanes of the world №47. Imperial Japanese Navy Reconnaissance Seaplane – BUNRINDO Co.Ltd, Tokyo 1994.
24. Tadeusz Januszewski. Japanese Submarine Aircraft - Red Series (№ 5103). Mushroom Model Publications, 2002.
25. Ryusuke Ishiguro, Tadeusz Januszewski. Kugisho E14Y GLEN: The Aircraft that Bombed America (White Series) – MMPBooks, 2012.
26. E. R. Johnson. United States Naval Aviation, 1919-1941 - Aircraft, Airships and Ships Between the Wars. McFarland, 2011.

Интернет-ресурсы:
http://www.aviarmor.net;
http://wikimedia.org;
http://en.wikipedia.org;
http://jn.passieux.free.fr;
http://aircraft-catalog.com.


Продолжение следует…
Автор:
Александр Брюханов
Ctrl Enter

Заметив ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

2 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти