Military Review

The Caspian Sea enters the diplomatic shores

10
Moscow hosted a meeting of foreign ministers of the Caspian states (Russia, Azerbaijan, Iran, Kazakhstan and Turkmenistan), which resulted in the completion of work on the text of the Convention on the Legal Status of the Caspian Sea. This news somehow slipped unnoticed through the Russian media, stingy on the details of the talks held and the site of the Russian Foreign Ministry. Meanwhile, the last ministerial meeting of the Caspian states deserves our attention.


The Caspian Sea enters the diplomatic shores


Bargaining for the seabed is a bargaining over the possession of Caspian energy resources.

At the end of the meeting, Russian Minister Sergey Lavrov “with great satisfaction” announced that the parties “had found solutions to all remaining key issues related to the preparation of this document. In fact, the text of the convention is ready. ” Lavrov added: “In the near future, editorial revision, translation into national languages ​​and in-country preparation in each of our countries will be held to sign this high-level convention.”

Next year, the Fifth Caspian Summit, which will be held in Kazakhstan's Astana, will draw the final line under long-standing disputes over the conditions of ownership and use of sectors, communications and resources of the Caspian Sea. Bargaining about it went almost a quarter of a century. The parties held almost fifty multilateral, often unsuccessful meetings.

Until now, the position of Iran was a bone of contention. In Soviet times, he owned the 13 percent of the Caspian Sea. When, after the collapse of the Soviet Union, the Caspian immediately became five owners (Russia, Iran, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan and Turkmenistan), Tehran, without further ado, suggested dividing the sea into five equal sectors. The Iranian share would increase to 20 percent.

The Caspian countries were not ready for such a gift to their southern neighbor. Indeed, for each percentage of concessions, their ability to use the resources of the sea was reduced. And this is great wealth. Experts, first of all, pay attention to stocks of sturgeon and other valuable species of fish. In the Caspian, the bulk of their global population is concentrated.

However, hydrocarbons are the main resource of the sea. Predictive estimates of oil and gas here make 18-20 billions of tons of standard fuel - the second place in the world after the Persian Gulf. Iranian researchers have calculated in the depths of the Caspian Sea about 260 trillions of cubic feet of natural gas and 50 billions of barrels of oil.

It is clear that Western multinational energy companies are staring at this wealth from behind the backs of the Caspian littoral states. The Canadian Center for the Study of Globalization Problems (Center for Research on Globalization (CRG)) warned the world ten years ago: if the Caspian countries do not agree among themselves about the conditions for using the resources of the sea, then the United States will enter.

The Americans had already identified their interests. They lobbied and by the summer of 2006, they built the Baku-Tbilisi-Ceyhan oil pipeline (from the Caspian Sea to the ports of the Mediterranean Sea), in which the State Oil Company of Azerbaijan's share was only 25 percent. The rest was shared by Western investors from the multinational corporations ConocoPhillips, BP, Total, Statoil, etc.

A year later, the Baku-Tbilisi-Erzurum gas pipeline (South Caucasus Pipeline) was commissioned, largely repeating the same composition of investors. True, this time 25,5 percent was received not by the Azerbaijani, but by the united company BP-Azerbaijan, which, among other things, assumed the functions of a technical operator.

Both of these projects were aimed not only at the resource base of the Azerbaijani part of the Caspian Sea, but also at transporting hydrocarbons from other Caspian countries. However, at first, investors first of all considered the possibilities of Azerbaijan itself. He, as suggested by Russia, was supposed to depart 19,5 percent of the sea.

Caspian Status Convention opens up new opportunities for cooperation

The Russian Federation has seen the division of the Caspian according to the principle of the median line (the border should be at an equal distance from the coasts of the neighboring countries). In this scenario, Russia and Turkmenistan were departed on 18,7% of the seabed, Azerbaijan - 19,5, Iran got only 13,5%.

The beneficiary of the Russian approach to the division of the Caspian was Kazakhstan. Instead of Iranian (arithmetic mean) 20% of the sea floor, he received almost 30%. It is not by chance that Astana backed Moscow in 1998 and signed an agreement on the sea border with it. Azerbaijan also approved the division of the northern part of the Caspian Sea. Only the south of the sea for many years remained an apple of discord between neighbors.

Clarify the question wanted foreign investors of Azerbaijani pipelines. The Canadian Center for the Study of the Problems of Globalization already mentioned here predicted even military intervention by the West in the Caspian zone. According to the CRG Center, the United States made plans to destabilize the Transcaucasus in order to restore its order in the region.

Under the pretext of “ensuring the safety of transportation of oil and gas resources from the Caspian Sea”, the United States could well send its troops to this region, stationed at military bases in south-eastern Europe. Something similar at the end of the last century, they already worked in the Persian Gulf zone.

Americans prepared their project for the Caspian Sea. A “Caspian guard” plan was developed. It provided for the creation in the Caspian Sea of ​​a naval grouped by forces of Western states, recipients of energy carriers through pipelines from Baku. The task of the group was to guard the pipelines, including those laid along the bottom of the Caspian Sea.

Western plans were frustrated by the persistent and consistent policies of Russia and Iran, which declared the Caspian zone free from "non-regional players." This was not a solid position of the Caspian states. For example, Turkmenistan seriously counted on the help of Western countries in the construction and use of gas pipelines under the Caspian Sea. Ashgabat even prepared the appropriate infrastructure on its territory.

The Turkmen authorities did not stop the objections of Moscow and Tehran about threats to the environmental security of the Caspian Sea emanating from the projects of bottom pipelines. Experts joke: a missile salvo of Russian Caspian ships helped defuse the situation flotilla on targets in Syria, showing the strategic capabilities of the Russian Navy.

Like it or not, the negotiations on the division of the Caspian Sea went completely different dynamics. After the Moscow meeting, not only Russian Minister Lavrov spoke about this. Iranian Foreign Minister Mohammad-Javad Zarif reaffirmed: “The list of issues agreed by the Caspian littoral countries is preventing the presence of foreign military forces in the Caspian Sea.”

Perhaps this is the main result of the last meeting of the Caspian ministers. The details of the compromise to which they arrived in Moscow as a whole under the Convention have not been disclosed yet. Minister Zarif just made a reservation that all the participants in the meeting agreed on the division of the Caspian Sea on a sectoral basis.

Experts recognize that "reaching a consensus on the Convention on the Legal Status of the Caspian Sea can be considered a major breakthrough." This removes many obstacles in relations between the states of the region, and most importantly, transnational companies will have to act in the Caspian according to the rules agreed upon by the Caspian countries, and not according to their will.

Now the Caspian Sea is entering the international legal field and its diplomatic shores. Investors will actually benefit from this. They will receive grounds for legitimate activities and legal protection of their projects. The range of their large - an increase in hydrocarbon production, the expansion of transport corridors and logistics centers.

Russia, for example, has already developed a strategy for the development of seaports and rail and road approaches to them. The decree was signed by the Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev in November. By 2030, a full Russian-Iranian corridor North-South will appear in the Caspian.

Kazakhstan will get its own route for transshipment of cargo through disputed parts of the sea. Azerbaijan will finally form a regional transport hub for the movement of energy resources and goods to Western countries. So far, only Turkmenistan has questions, aimed at exporting its gas through the pipeline system in Transcaucasia.

Experts are inclined to believe that “in the absence of the influence of external players,” this problem will eventually find its solution. The Caspian will become a “sea of ​​cooperation”, not discord. However, the conditions for this have already been created today, which was confirmed by the meeting in Moscow of the foreign ministers of the five Caspian countries.
Author:
10 comments
Ad

The editorial board of Voenniy Obozreniye urgently needs a proofreader. Requirements: impeccable knowledge of the Russian language, diligence, discipline. Contact: [email protected]

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. solzh
    solzh 20 December 2017 15: 05 New
    0
    They wrote somewhere, I don’t remember exactly where, that Persian oil is Caspian. Oil enters the Persian Gulf from the Caspian Sea through underground, natural (created by nature) channels.
    1. Fatoss
      Fatoss 20 December 2017 22: 59 New
      +1
      everything can be)
  2. maxim1987
    maxim1987 20 December 2017 15: 37 New
    +2
    are we less than 20%? it will not be enough !!!
    1. Chertt
      Chertt 20 December 2017 16: 11 New
      +2
      Quote: maximNNX
      it will not be enough !!!

      You can imagine what would happen if US soldiers came to the Caspian. The Middle East, with its constant wars, would seem a quiet oasis.
  3. Kasym
    Kasym 20 December 2017 16: 50 New
    +3
    I hope the tensions between Iran, Azerbaijan and Turkmenistan will end. It came to the advance of the fleets in the disputed territories. Iran has not won much, 0,5%. I remember how the Iranians drove off the Azerbaijani drilling platform, which wanted to conduct exploration in the disputed waters. What heated the situation to military rhetoric.
    The Russian Federation put forward a proposal taking into account the size of the coastline. It is interesting what will happen now with intentions about submarine pipelines. Lech Kaczynski (Polish president, brother of the current leader of the Poles) somehow threatened that he would decide everything with the National Academy of Sciences about gas supplies bypassing the Russian Federation (gas wars unleashed by Kiev). wassat . But having arrived in the Republic of Kazakhstan, he received "du.lu". laughing. “Is the EU ready to finance this construction by 100%, including environmental and other expertise, pay for land allocation and pay rent for it, coordinate all issues with the five Caspian littoral countries? Do Poles have such finances? From the point of view of Kazakhstan: we are not profitable to keep empty pipes of the finished gas transportation system of the RF. " Played to the point that almost all of the gas from Central Asia went to China. hi
    Lech was then forced to publicly admit that he did not understand the scale of the problems with the construction of a new gas pipeline. And that he was stunned by the necessary amount for such a project - he was blown away instantly from one conversation with the National Academy of Sciences.
  4. Nemesis
    Nemesis 20 December 2017 17: 43 New
    +1
    So Putin leaked again ... Russia has more territory on the Caspian coast and it is not clear why the Russian Federation got less than Azerbaijan
    1. Conductor
      Conductor 20 December 2017 21: 01 New
      +2
      Exactly how did they share it? Azerbaijanis more than us? But Turkem must be driven away in the desert, let the watermelons also grow cotton.
      1. Mih1974
        Mih1974 21 December 2017 01: 26 New
        +1
        If vi is so smart, then - take the ruler and go ahead and change and count)) tongue
  5. Fatoss
    Fatoss 20 December 2017 22: 46 New
    +1
    Quote: Conductor
    Exactly how did they share it? Azerbaijanis more than us? But Turkem must be driven away in the desert, let the watermelons also grow cotton.

    what evil you feel better kardash)
  6. Fatoss
    Fatoss 20 December 2017 22: 54 New
    +1
    In this situation, Russia and Turkmenistan left 18,7% of the seabed, Azerbaijan - 19,5,

Каспийское море заходит в дипломатические берега

В Москве прошла встреча министров иностранных дел прикаспийских государств (России, Азербайджана, Ирана, Казахстана и Туркменистана), по итогам которой было объявлено о завершении работы над текстом Конвенции о правовом статусе Каспийского моря. Эта новость как-то незаметно проскочила через российские СМИ, поскупился на детали состоявшихся переговоров и сайт российского МИДа. Меж тем, прошедшее совещание министров прикаспийских государств заслуживает нашего внимания.

Каспийское море заходит в дипломатические берега


Торг за морское дно – это торг за обладание энергоресурсами Каспия


По окончании встречи российский министр Сергей Лавров «с большим удовлетворением» объявил, что стороны «нашли развязки по всем остававшимся ключевым вопросам, связанным с подготовкой этого документа. Фактически текст конвенции готов». Лавров добавил: «В ближайшее время будет проведена редакторская доработка, перевод на национальные языки и внутригосударственная подготовка в каждой из наших стран к подписанию этой конвенции на высшем уровне».

В следующем году Пятый Каспийский саммит, который состоится в казахстанской Астане, подведёт окончательную черту под многолетними спорами об условиях владения и пользования секторами, коммуникациями и ресурсами Каспийского моря. Торг об этом шёл практически четверть века. Стороны провели почти полсотни многосторонних, часто безрезультатных встреч.

До сих пор яблоком раздора была позиция Ирана. В советское время ему принадлежало 13 процентов Каспийского моря. Когда после развала Советского Союза у Каспия стало сразу пять хозяев (Россия, Иран, Азербайджан, Казахстан и Туркмения), Тегеран, не мудрствуя лукаво, предложил делить море на пять равных секторов. Иранская доля при этом возросла бы до 20 процентов.

На такой подарок своему южному соседу прикаспийские страны были не готовы. Ведь за каждым процентом уступки сокращались их возможности пользоваться ресурсами моря. А это большое богатство. Эксперты, прежде всего, обращают внимание на запасы осетровых и других ценных видов рыб. В Каспии сконцентрирована основная часть их мировой популяции.

Однако главным ресурсом моря являются углеводороды. Прогнозные оценки нефти и газа здесь составляют 18-20 миллиардов тонн условного топлива – второе в мире место после Персидского залива. Иранские исследователи насчитали в недрах Каспия порядка 260 триллионов кубических футов природного газа и 50 миллиардов баррелей нефти.

Понятно, что на это богатство из-за спины прикаспийских государств засмотрелись западные транснациональные энергетические компании. Канадский Центр изучения проблем глобализации (Centre for Research on Globalisation (CRG) ещё десять лет назад предупреждал мир: если прикаспийские страны не договорятся между собой об условиях пользования ресурсами моря, то в дело вступят Соединённые Штаты.

Американцы к тому времени уже обозначили свои интересы. Они пролоббировали и к лету 2006 года построили нефтепровод Баку–Тбилиси–Джейхан (от Каспия к портам Средиземного моря), в котором доля Государственной нефтяной компании Азербайджана составила только 25 процентов. Остальное поделили между собой западные инвесторы из транснациональных корпораций ConocoPhillips, BP, Total, Statoil и пр.

Спустя год, в строй вошла газовая магистраль «Баку–Тбилиси– Эрзурум» (Южно-Кавказский трубопровод), во многом повторяющая тот же состав инвесторов. Правда, на этот раз 25,5 процента получила не азербайджанская, а объединённая компания BP-Azerbaijan, взявшая на себя кроме прочего функции технического оператора.

Оба эти проекта были нацелены не только на ресурсную базу азербайджанской части Каспия, но и на транспортировку углеводородов из других прикаспийских стран. Однако на первых порах инвесторы, прежде всего, рассматривали возможности самого Азербайджана. Ему, как предлагала Россия, должно было отойти 19,5 процента моря.

Конвенция о статусе Каспия открывает новые возможности сотрудничества

Российская Федерация видела деление Каспия по принципу срединной линии (граница должна проходить на равном удалении от побережий соседствующих стран). При таком раскладе России и Туркменистану отходило по 18,7% морского дна, Азербайджану – 19,5, Ирану доставалось лишь 13,5 %.

Бенефициаром российского подхода к делению Каспия оказывался Казахстан. Вместо иранских (среднеарифметических) 20% дна моря он получал почти 30%. Не случайно Астана ещё в 1998 году поддержала Москву и подписала с ней соглашение о морской границе. Деление северной части Каспия одобрил также Азербайджан. Только юг моря долгие годы оставался яблоком раздора между соседями.

Внести ясность в вопрос хотели зарубежные инвесторы азербайджанских трубопроводов. Уже упомянутый здесь Канадский Центр изучения проблем глобализации предсказывал даже военное вмешательство Запада в зону Каспия. По версии Центра CRG, Соединённые Штаты строили планы дестабилизации Закавказья, чтобы потом навести в регионе свой порядок.

Под предлогом «обеспечения безопасности транспортировки нефтегазовых ресурсов из Каспийского моря» США вполне могли послать в этот регион свои войска, дислоцированные на военных базах в юго-восточной Европе. Нечто подобное в конце прошлого века они уже творили в зоне Персидского залива.

Свой проект американцы приготовили и для Каспия. Был разработан план «Caspian guard» («Каспийская стража»). Он предусматривал создание в Каспийском море военно-морской группировки, укомплектованной силами западных государств, получателей энергоносителей по трубопроводам из Баку. В задачу группировки ставилась охрана трубопроводов, в том числе и проложенных по дну Каспия.

Планы Запада сорвала настойчивая и последовательная политика России и Ирана, объявивших зону Каспия свободной от «внерегиональных игроков». Это не было солидарной позицией прикаспийских государств. Например, Туркменистан всерьёз рассчитывал на помощь западных стран в строительстве и использовании газопроводов по дну Каспийского моря. Ашхабад даже подготовил на своей территории соответствующую инфраструктуру.

Туркменские власти не останавливали возражения Москвы и Тегерана об угрозах экологической безопасности Каспия, исходящих от проектов придонных трубопроводов. Эксперты шутят: разрядить ситуацию помог ракетный залп кораблей российской Каспийской флотилии по целям на территории Сирии, показавший стратегические возможности ВМС России.

Так это или нет, но переговоры по разделу Каспийского моря пошли совершенно в другой динамике. Об этом после московского совещания говорил не только российский министр Лавров. Глава МИД Ирана Мохаммад-Джавад Зариф подтвердил: «в перечне вопросов, согласованных прикаспийскими странами, — недопущение нахождения иностранных военных сил на Каспии».

Пожалуй, это главный результат прошедшей встречи прикаспийских министров. Детали компромисса, к которому они пришли в Москве в целом по Конвенции, пока не разглашаются. Министр Зариф лишь оговорился, что все участники совещания сошлись на делении Каспия по секторальному принципу.

Эксперты признают, что «достижение консенсуса по Конвенции о правовом статусе Каспийского моря можно считать большим прорывом». Это снимает многие препятствия в отношениях между государствами региона, а главное – транснациональным компаниям придётся действовать на Каспии по правилам, согласованным прикаспийскими странами, а не по своему хотению.

Теперь Каспийское море входит в международное правовое поле и свои дипломатические берега. Инвесторы от этого, на самом деле, только выиграют. Они получат основания для легитимной деятельности и юридической защиты своих проектов. Диапазон их большой – увеличение добычи углеводородов, расширение транспортных коридоров и логистических центров.

Россия, например, уже выработала стратегию развития морских портов и железнодорожных и автомобильных подходов к ним. Распоряжение об этом подписал в ноябре премьер-министр Дмитрий Медведев. К 2030 году на Каспии появится полноценный российско-иранский коридор Север – Юг.

Свой маршрут перевалки грузов через спорные прежде участки моря получит Казахстан. В Азербайджане окончательно сформируется региональный транспортный хаб для движения энергоресурсов и товаров в страны Запада. Вопросы остались пока только у Туркменистана, нацеленного на экспорт своего газа по существующей в Закавказье трубопроводной системе.

Эксперты склоняются к тому, что «в отсутствие влияния внешних игроков» и эта проблема со временем найдёт своё решение. Каспий станет «морем сотрудничества», а не раздора. Впрочем, условия для этого созданы уже сегодня, что и подтвердила встреча в Москве министров иностранных дел пяти прикаспийских стран.
Автор: Геннадий Грановский


Читайте "Военное обозрение" в Яндекс Новостях

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также

Комментарии 10

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. solzh (Сергей) 20 декабря 2017 15:05
    Где-то писали, не помню где именно, что персидская нефть, есть каспийская. В персидский залив нефть попадает из Каспийского моря по подземным, естественным (созданных природой), каналам.
    1. Fatoss (Fatow) 20 декабря 2017 22:59
      все может быть )
  2. максим1987 (Немчинов Максим Сергеевич) 20 декабря 2017 15:37
    нам меньше 20%? маловато будет!!!
    1. Chertt (Алексей) 20 декабря 2017 16:11
      Цитата: максим1987
      маловато будет!!!

      Вы можете представить, что бы было, если бы на Каспий пришли солдаты США. Ближний восток с его постоянными войнами, Тихим оазисом показался бы.
  3. Касым (Даурен) 20 декабря 2017 16:50
    Надеюсь трениям между Ираном, Азербайджаном и Туркменией наступит конец. Доходило до выдвижения флотов в спорные территории. Иран ни так и много выиграл, 0,5%. Помню, как иранцы прогнали азербайджанскую буровую платформу, которая хотела провести разведку в спорных водах. Что накалило обстановку до воинсвенной риторики.
    РФ выдвинула предложение с учетом размера береговой линии. Интересно, что теперь будет с намерениями по поводу подводных трубопроводов. Леха Качиньский (польский президент, брат нынешнего лидера поляков) как-то грозил, что с НАНом все решит по поводу поставок газа в обход РФ (газовые войны, развязанные Киевом). wassat . Но приехав в РК, получил "ду.лю". laughing. "Готова ли ЕС профинансировать это строительство на 100%, вкл. экологические и др. экспертизы, оплатить работы по землеотводу и платить аренду за нее, согласовать все вопросы с пятеркой прикаспийских стран? У поляков есть такие финансы? С точки зрения Казахстана: нам невыгодно держать пустые трубы уже готового ГТС ч\з РФ." Доигрались до того, что газ из ЦА практически весь пошел в КНР. hi
    Леха тогда вынужден был публично признать, что не понимал масштаб проблем со строительством нового газопровода. И что ошалел от необходимой суммы для такого проекта - сдулся моментально от одного разговора с НАНом.
  4. Немезида 20 декабря 2017 17:43
    Значит Путин опять слил...Россия имеет больше территории на побережье Каспия и не понятно почему РФ досталось меньше,чем Азербайджану
    1. Дирижер 20 декабря 2017 21:01
      Точно, как оне там делили то? азербайджанцам больше чем нам? А туркем надо вооще прогнать в пустныни, пусть хлопок растят и арбузы.
      1. Мих1974 (Михаил) 21 декабря 2017 01:26
        Если ви такой умный, то - берите линейку и вперед меняйте и считайте )) tongue
  5. Fatoss (Fatow) 20 декабря 2017 22:46
    Цитата: Дирижер
    Точно, как оне там делили то? азербайджанцам больше чем нам? А туркем надо вооще прогнать в пустныни, пусть хлопок растят и арбузы.

    какой ты злой полегчи кардаш)
  6. Fatoss (Fatow) 20 декабря 2017 22:54
    При таком раскладе России и Туркменистану отходило по 18,7% морского дна, Азербайджану – 19,5,
Картина дня