Military Review

Stories about weapons. Rifles of the First World War. Enfield R14 rifle

25



Interesting rifle with a rather funny fate. The name Pattern 1914 Enfield, abbreviated simply P14, the full name of The Rifle .303 Pattern 1914 is a British five-shot rifle with a longitudinal slide gate.

Developed in Britain, but produced in the United States by American companies Remington, Eddistoun and Winchester. Served as a sniper weapon, weapons of second-line fighters and reserve troops, until it was decommissioned in 1947.

During the Boer War 1899-1902 The British faced precise long-range fire from Mauser 1893 and 1895 rifles, designed for 7,92 × 57 mm caliber bullets with which the Germans armed the Boers.

The losses from these rifles and the very successful cartridge prompted the Ministry of War to think about creating a cartridge similar to that. And it was created in 1910 year, called .276 Enfield.

The new rifle, which was actually a copy of the Mauser 1898 (nothing like that, very few people copied the Mauser then) was called the Pattern 1913 Enfield or P13, but mass production was only partially established at the very beginning of the First World War. On the front, the rifle, as the main small arms, showed itself weakly.

When the First World War began, there was no talk of any production of two rifles in Britain. Therefore, Lee Enfield remained the main rifle, and while the Americans did not enter the war, the British government turned to the American companies Winchester, Remington and Eddystone (the Remington subsection, which later produced P14) with a request to start production of P14 for the needs Great Britain.

Of course, the Americans agreed. However, each plant produced its own different parts for a rifle, which led to the appearance of the problem of interchangeability of parts: Winchester had particularly serious problems in this regard. The official name of the rifle depended on the manufacturer by the last letter in the name: W meant the rifle produced by Winchester, E - Eddistoun, R - Remington. This is how the Pattern 1914 Mk IW / E / R appeared.



Andrey Bondar, an expert on historical weapons from the Infanteria club, will tell about the rifle and its device:



The main use in the First World War rifle P14 found as a sniper, because it had a higher accuracy compared to the rifle Lee Enfield. It was produced in several versions: with the usual sight, with a removable aperture sight - options Pattern 1914 Mk IW (F) and Pattern 1914 Mk I * W (F).

A side sight could also be installed for salvo shooting at group targets, consisting of a folding diopter rear sight (to the left of the main sight) and an adjustable fly range. The side fly had divisions for firing from 1500 to 2600 yards (from 1372 to 2377 m).





Since April, the 1918 of the year was the version of the Pattern 1914 Mk I * W (T) with the Aldis 1918 optical sight of the year, which was used mainly on rifles manufactured by Winchester, thanks to their high quality workmanship.

Stories about weapons. Rifles of the First World War. Enfield R14 rifle


Rompola rifle did not have. For cleaning and lubrication of the bore was used rope rubbing, worn in the butt.

A bayonet with a hewing blade and a handle in a wooden frame was worn separately from the rifle, in special leather sheath.





In total, 600 thousands of rifles were produced by Eddistoun, 400 thousands by Remington and 235293 by Winchester (total 1235293 copies).



It is the predecessor of the American rifle M1917 Enfield, which was produced by the same companies, but under the American cartridge .30-06 with some changes in the design.

Compared to the Lee-Enfield, the P14 rifle was more accurate and reliable, but heavier (the unloaded Li-Enfield Mk III weighed 3,91 kg against the 4,25 kg) and less rapid with a magazine capacity of two times less than that of Lee-Enfield.

The British Army followed the pre-war standard known as “Minute of Madness” (15 rounds per minute at a target diameter 30 cm from 270 m), and the experience of the Boer War, which led to the appearance of the P13 / P14 rifle, was almost useless in World War I, where the decisive role played by the rate of fire. That is why the British made the final choice in terms of a standard rifle in favor of Lee-Enfield.



R14 rifle took part in both world wars. A certain amount was in the USSR. Partly as a legacy from the British warehouses in the north, partly as having been in the Baltic States in service with the armies of the republics. Rifles were supplied in the framework of the Lend-Lease (М1917).


A fighter of the Leningrad militia on a city street. Steel helmet on his head - a copy of the British, but was produced in Leningrad at one of the factories for the needs of air defense and civil defense.
Author:
25 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Lexus
    Lexus 20 December 2017 15: 56 New
    +2
    A good review cycle, I always read and watch the attached video with pleasure. Regarding this rifle - it often appears in films in the hands of American snipers of the Second World War.
    1. Kibb
      Kibb 20 December 2017 18: 02 New
      0
      You are probably confusing it with Springfield M1903A1

      her marines preferred
      1. Lexus
        Lexus 20 December 2017 18: 15 New
        0
        I can’t remember, but several times I came across my eyes. Although the rifles are very similar in the muzzle region.

        Here, however, Canadians.
        1. Kibb
          Kibb 20 December 2017 19: 19 New
          0
          No, I don’t argue that the P14 was used as a sniper, but so often for American WWII snipers ...
        2. hohol95
          hohol95 20 December 2017 19: 24 New
          0
          Sniper "Sprigfield" did not have one small detail ...
          1. Kibb
            Kibb 20 December 2017 19: 43 New
            0
            This is an A4 Army
            1. hohol95
              hohol95 20 December 2017 20: 19 New
              0
              IS IT Springfield? Or will you say that it is ARISAKA?
              1. Kibb
                Kibb 20 December 2017 20: 27 New
                0
                This is Springfield M1903A4, to be honest I did not understand the irony
          2. Lexus
            Lexus 20 December 2017 19: 47 New
            0
            Not on all models, this same detail was missing. In the early
            here on the spot. And the sector sight, too.
            1. Kibb
              Kibb 20 December 2017 20: 14 New
              0
              Exactly, this is A1, the marines have their own pride, and they supplied them with a residual principle that was clearly worthy ... for the Civil War in 1861
              1. hohol95
                hohol95 20 December 2017 20: 25 New
                +1
                M1903A1 of the 1929 model - adopted in December 1929, a modification with a neck of a pistol-shaped box and with a front sight, either protected by a cylindrical head or without it.

                Where did you see the "neck of a pistol-shaped box" image ???
            2. hohol95
              hohol95 20 December 2017 20: 22 New
              +1
              M1903A4 sample of 1942 - the first US sniper rifle. For the alteration in sniper were selected the best, distinguished by the most accurate battle of the M1903 rifle. Standard sights - a front sight and an open sight, as well as a bayonet mount, were removed, instead of them mounted optical sights - 2,2x M84; Weaver Co 2,5x M73B1 or Unertlscope 10x. Some US Marine Corps rifles were fitted with 5x Lymann and 8x Unertl sights. This rifle was in service with the U.S. Army until 1961, in the U.S. Marine Corps - until 1969.

              In your photo, the standard M 1903 with an attached optical sight!
              1. Kibb
                Kibb 20 December 2017 20: 40 New
                +1
                and ... well, they dug, I admit hi
                By the way, I took a photo with VO
                1. Lexus
                  Lexus 20 December 2017 23: 47 New
                  0
                  Do not worry, you very worthily defended your point of view. And in the age of the Internet and copy-paste, the devil will break his leg in the flow of information. It happens that when you reread even the most respected publications, you notice mistakes and lose credibility.
                2. hohol95
                  hohol95 21 December 2017 08: 04 New
                  0
                  Yes, you do not seem to be a root crop to "dig" you! hi
                  drinks
              2. Lexus
                Lexus 20 December 2017 23: 49 New
                0
                Thanks for the detailed explanation.
        3. figwam
          figwam 20 December 2017 19: 30 New
          +1
          You can confuse of course, from afar. A characteristic difference between the R-14 and Springfield is the shutter handle R-14, which is curved like no other rifle.

  2. Monarchist
    Monarchist 20 December 2017 15: 58 New
    +1
    Mauser was a talent "few people did not copy Mauser then," but what about patents and other evidence?
    The diopter sight at the end of the 19th century was a revolutionary discovery. They showed me a hunting rifle with a diopter sight, in my opinion Italian production, for that period: 1981 - it was something: an imported rifle, with an inlay and a similar sight. In 2011, on occasion, I went to a hunting store "not fluff, not feather" (in my opinion, a strange name for a hunting store: you can’t get a car and you don’t change it) and there were provided guns: Turkey, China, America, Poland, even Tunisia (rather total 'subsidiary' enterprise) and only 1 production Russia
    1. figwam
      figwam 20 December 2017 18: 53 New
      +1
      Yes, copying to whom not laziness, Americans, British, Japanese. But no one put a Mauser dash in the name of their rifles, but with an enviable obstinacy to the name Mosin, they must put a Nagan dash.
      1. Kibb
        Kibb 20 December 2017 19: 22 New
        0
        And the Russians have their own pride and their own way
    2. Bormanxnumx
      Bormanxnumx 20 December 2017 20: 11 New
      +2
      Quote: Monarchist
      The diopter sight at the end of the 19th century was a revolutionary discovery.

      At Anfield, not a diopter sight is installed, but a ring one. Both sights are aperture types and differ in the diameters of the “eye”: for a ring one, it is 2-4 mm, for a diopter from tenths to 1 mm, plus the “plate” of the diopter because of its size, cuts off peripheral vision arrow.

      The main and side sights of Anfield R-14
      1. voyaka uh
        voyaka uh 21 December 2017 14: 08 New
        +1
        The M-16 has a hole of about 2 mm.
        But it is considered a diopter sight.
  3. Curious
    Curious 20 December 2017 19: 55 New
    +2
    A few additions and clarifications.
    According to the requirements of the military committee, by 1911, the Royal Small Arms Factory in the city of Enfield had developed two new cartridges with a sleeve without a rim - .276 caliber and .256 caliber.
    Further tests showed the advantage of the .276 cartridge, the development of which was completed in 1912. In 1913, a magazine rifle was created for this ammunition, which received the designation “Rifle, Magazine, .276, Pattern 1913” (rifle, magazine, .276 caliber, sample 1913), abbreviated “Pattern 1913” or simplified “P13” (sample thirteen). By January 13, 1913 P1281 rifles were produced.
    Enfield P13 turned out to be a fairly successful and accurate rifle, but there were problems with the ammunition under it. The new .7 caliber 276 mm cartridge proved to be very powerful and led to too strong recoil and muzzle flash, deformation of part of the parts, a change in pressure in the chamber, as well as rapid wear of the gun barrel.
    In this regard, it was decided to use the standard cartridge .303 British (7.7x56 R), which had less power.
    The developed .303 caliber rifle was adopted by the British Army under the designation “Rifle, Magazine, .303, Pattern 1914” (rifle, magazine, caliber. 303, model 1914), abbreviated “Pattern 1914” or simplified “P14”.
  4. XII Legion
    XII Legion 21 December 2017 08: 17 New
    15
    An interesting cycle!
  5. John22
    John22 21 December 2017 14: 38 New
    +1
    Quite a muddy explanation of the reason for creating a new rifle R 14. Accurate shooting from the M 98? So were the Anfield inaccurate? But they are more rapid-fire. Most likely, the high laboriousness in production was the reason for the requirement to create a cheaper rifle. After all, the development task appeared only in 1910. 9 years passed after the AB war. Are you really so scared? And copied or bought a license - this is a question. The Japanese and Americans bought a license and modified for themselves.

Рассказы об оружии. Винтовки Первой мировой войны. Винтовка Энфилд Р14



Интересная винтовка с довольно забавной судьбой. Название Pattern 1914 Enfield, сокращённое просто P14, полное название The Rifle .303 Pattern 1914 — британская пятизарядная винтовка с продольно скользящим затвором.

Разработана в Британии, но производилась в США американскими компаниями Ремингтон, Эддистоун и Винчестер. Служила как снайперское оружие, оружие бойцов второй линии и резервных войск, пока не была снята с вооружения в 1947 году.


Во время англо-бурской войны 1899-1902 гг. британцы столкнулись с точным дальним огнём из винтовок Маузера 1893 и 1895, разработанных под пули калибра 7,92 × 57 мм, которыми немцы вооружали буров.

Потери от этих винтовок и очень удачного патрона побудили Военное министерство задуматься о создании аналогично патрона. И он был создан в 1910 году, под названием .276 Enfield.

Новая винтовка, которая фактически была копией Маузера 1898 (ничего такого, мало кто не копировал Маузер тогда), получила название Pattern 1913 Enfield или P13, однако массовое производство было налажено лишь частично в самом начале Первой мировой войны. На фронте винтовка как основное стрелковое оружие проявила себя слабо.

Когда началась Первая мировая война, ни о каком производстве двух винтовок в Британии речи не шло. Поэтому основной винтовкой осталась Ли-Энфилд, а пока американцы не вступили в войну, британское правительство обратилось к американским компаниям «Winchester», «Remington» и «Eddystone» (подраздел «Ремингтона», производивший позднее P14) с просьбой наладить производство P14 для нужд Великобритании.

Конечно, американцы согласились. Однако каждый завод выпустил свои отличающиеся части к винтовке, что привело к появлению проблемы взаимозаменяемости частей: особенно серьёзные проблемы в этом плане были у «Винчестера». Официальное название винтовки зависело от производителя по последней букве в названии: W означала винтовку производства «Винчестера», E — «Эддистоуна», R — «Ремингтона». Так появилась Pattern 1914 Mk I W/E/R.



О винтовке и ее устройстве расскажет эксперт по историческому вооружению из клуба "Инфантерия", Андрей Бондарь:



Основное применение в Первой мировой войне винтовка P14 нашла как снайперская, поскольку обладала более высокой точностью по сравнению с винтовкой Ли-Энфилд. Она выпускалась в нескольких вариантах: с обычным прицелом, со съёмным апертурным прицелом — варианты Pattern 1914 Mk I W (F) и Pattern 1914 Mk I* W (F).

Также мог устанавливаться и боковой прицел для залповой стрельбы по групповым целям, состоявший из складного диоптрического целика (слева от основного прицела) и регулируемой по дальности мушки. Боковая мушка имела деления для стрельбы от 1500 до 2600 ярдов (от 1372 до 2377 м).





С апреля 1918 года выходила версия Pattern 1914 Mk I* W (T) с оптическим прицелом Альдиса 1918 года, который использовался преимущественно на винтовках, произведённых компанией «Винчестер», благодаря их высокому качеству изготовления.

Рассказы об оружии. Винтовки Первой мировой войны. Винтовка Энфилд Р14


Шомпола винтовка не имела. Для чистки и смазки канала ствола использовалась веревочная протирка, носимая в прикладе.

Штык с тесачным клинком и рукояткой в деревянной оправе носился отдельно от винтовки, в специальных кожаных ножнах.





Всего было произведено 600 тысяч винтовок компанией «Эддистоун», 400 тысяч — «Ремингтоном» и 235293 — «Винчестером» (итого 1235293 экземпляров).



Является предшественницей американской винтовки M1917 Enfield, которая выпускалась теми же фирмами, но под американский патрон .30-06 с некоторыми изменениями в конструкции.

По сравнению с Ли-Энфилд винтовка P14 была точнее и надёжнее, но тяжелее (незаряженный Ли-Энфилд Mk III весил 3,91 кг против 4,25 кг) и менее скорострельной при вместимости магазина в два раза меньшей, чем у Ли-Энфилда.

Британская армия следовала довоенному нормативу, известному как «Минута безумия» (15 выстрелов в минуту по цели диаметром 30 см с расстояния 270 м), и опыт Бурской войны, который привёл к появлению винтовки P13/P14, оказался практически бесполезным в Первой мировой войне, где решающую роль играла скорострельность. Именно поэтому окончательный выбор в плане штатной винтовки британцы сделали в пользу Ли-Энфилд.



Винтовка Р14 приняла участие в обеих мировых войнах. Некоторое количество оказалось и в СССР. Частично как наследие из британских складов на севере, частично как оказавшиеся в Прибалтике на вооружении армий республик. Поставлялись винтовки и в рамках ленд-лиза (М1917).


Боец ленинградского ополчения на улице города. Стальной шлем на голове — копия с британского, но выпускался в Ленинграде на одном из заводов для нужд ПВО и гражданской обороны.
Автор:
Роман Скоморохов, Роман Кривов
Ctrl Enter

Заметив ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

25 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Лексус Офлайн
    Лексус 20 декабря 2017 15:56
    +2
    Хороший цикл обзоров, всегда с удовольствием читаю и смотрю прикрепленное видео. Касательно этой винтовки - она часто мелькает в фильмах в руках американских снайперов II-й Мировой.
    1. Kibb Офлайн
      Kibb 20 декабря 2017 18:02
      0
      Это вы наверное путаете ее со Спрингфилдом М1903А1

      ее морпехи предпочитали
      1. Лексус Офлайн
        Лексус 20 декабря 2017 18:15
        0
        Не могу вспомнить, но несколько раз на глаза попадалась. Хотя винтовки очень похожи в районе дульного среза.

        Тут, правда, канадцы.
        1. Kibb Офлайн
          Kibb 20 декабря 2017 19:19
          0
          Не, я не спорю, что Р14 использовалась как снайперская, но вот чтобы часто у американских снайперов ВМВ...
        2. hohol95 Офлайн
          hohol95 20 декабря 2017 19:24
          0
          Снайперский "Спригфилд" НЕ ИМЕЛ одной маленькой детальки...
          1. Kibb Офлайн
            Kibb 20 декабря 2017 19:43
            0
            Это А4 армейский
            1. hohol95 Офлайн
              hohol95 20 декабря 2017 20:19
              0
              ЭТО Спрингфилд? Или вы скажете, что это - АРИСАКА?
              1. Kibb Офлайн
                Kibb 20 декабря 2017 20:27
                0
                Это Спрингфилд М1903А4, если честно не понял иронии
          2. Лексус Офлайн
            Лексус 20 декабря 2017 19:47
            0
            Не на всех моделях эта-самая деталька отсутствовала. На ранних,
            вот на месте. И секторный прицел тоже.
            1. Kibb Офлайн
              Kibb 20 декабря 2017 20:14
              0
              Вот именно, вот это А1 , у морпехов собственная гордость, да и снабжали их по ходу по остаточному принципу прицел явно достойный... для гражданской войны в 1861 года
              1. hohol95 Офлайн
                hohol95 20 декабря 2017 20:25
                +1
                М1903А1 образца 1929 года — принята на вооружение в декабре 1929 года, модификация с шейкой ложи пистолетовидной формы и с мушкой, либо защищённой цилиндрическим намушником, либо без него.

                Где вы углядели на изображении "шейку ложи пистолетовидной формы"???
            2. hohol95 Офлайн
              hohol95 20 декабря 2017 20:22
              +1
              М1903А4 образца 1942 года — первая снайперская винтовка США. Для переделки в снайперские отбирали лучшие, отличавшиеся самым точным боем винтовки М1903. Стандартные прицельные приспособления — мушку и открытый прицел, а также узел крепления штыка убирали, вместо них устанавливали оптические прицелы — 2,2х-кратный М84; 2,5х-кратный M73B1 фирмы «Weaver Co» или 10х-кратный Unertlscope. На некоторые винтовки корпуса морской пехоты США устанавливали прицелы 5х Lymann и 8x Unertl. Эта винтовка состояла на вооружении армии США до 1961 года, в корпусе морской пехоты США — до 1969 года.

              На вашем фото стандартная М 1903 с приделанным оптическим прицелом!
              1. Kibb Офлайн
                Kibb 20 декабря 2017 20:40
                +1
                а... ну урыли, признаю hi
                Межу прочим фотку брал с ВО
                1. Лексус Офлайн
                  Лексус 20 декабря 2017 23:47
                  0
                  Не переживайте, Вы очень достойно отстаивали свою точку зрения. А в век интернета и "копипасты" в потоке информации чёрт ногу сломит. Бывает, перечитывая даже самые уважаемые издания, замечаешь ляпы и теряешь достоверность.
                2. hohol95 Офлайн
                  hohol95 21 декабря 2017 08:04
                  0
                  Да вы вроде бы не корнеплод, чтобы вас "рыть"! hi
                  drinks
              2. Лексус Офлайн
                Лексус 20 декабря 2017 23:49
                0
                Спасибо за подробное разъяснение.
        3. фигвам Офлайн
          фигвам 20 декабря 2017 19:30
          +1
          Спутать можно конечно, издалека. Характерное отличие Р-14 от Спрингфилда это рукоятка затвора Р-14, которая изогнут так, как ни в одной другой винтовке.

  2. Монархист Офлайн
    Монархист 20 декабря 2017 15:58
    +1
    Маузер был талант "мало кто не копировал Маузер тогда",а как же патенты и прочие свидетельства ?
    Диоптрический прицел на конец 19 века был революционным открытием. Мне показывали охотничье ружье с диоптрическим прицелом,по -моему итальянское производство, на тот период: 1981 - это было нечто: импортное ружьё , с инкрустацией и подобным прицелом. В 2011 по случаю зашел в охотничий магазин" не пуха,не пера"( на мой взгляд странное название для охотничьего магазина: не машинки не менялась не добудешь) и там были предоставлены ружья: Турция, Китай, Америка,Польша,даже Тунис( скорее всего ' дочерное" предприятие) и лишь 1 производства Россия
    1. фигвам Офлайн
      фигвам 20 декабря 2017 18:53
      +1
      Да копировали кому не лень, американцы, англичане, японцы. Но никто в названии своих винтовок не ставил тире Маузер, но с завидным упрямством к названию Мосин обязательно ставят тире Наган.
      1. Kibb Офлайн
        Kibb 20 декабря 2017 19:22
        0
        А у русских собственная гордость и свой путь
    2. BORMAN82 Офлайн
      BORMAN82 20 декабря 2017 20:11
      +2
      Цитата: Монархист
      Диоптрический прицел на конец 19 века был революционным открытием.

      На Энфилде установлен не диоптрический прицел, а кольцевой, Оба прицела являются разновидностями апертурного и отличаются диаметрами "глазка": у кольцевого он составляет 2-4мм , у диоптра от десятых долей до 1мм, плюс "тарелка" диоптра из-за своих размеров, отсекает периферийное зрение стрелка.

      Основной и боковой прицелы Энфилда Р-14
      1. voyaka uh Офлайн
        voyaka uh 21 декабря 2017 14:08
        +1
        У М-16 отверстие около 2 мм примерно.
        Но считается диоптричским прицелом.
  3. Curious Офлайн
    Curious 20 декабря 2017 19:55
    +2
    Несколько дополненией и уточнений.
    Согласно требований военного комитета, к 1911 году королевский арсенал стрелкового оружия «Royal Small Arms Factory» в городе Энфильд разработал два новых патрона с гильзой без закраины - калибра .276 и калибра .256.
    Дальнейшие испытания показали преимущество патрона .276, разработка которого и была закончена в 1912 году. В 1913 году под этот боеприпас была создана магазинная винтовка, получившая обозначение «Rifle, Magazine, .276, Pattern 1913» (винтовка, магазинная, калибра .276, образца 1913 года), сокращенно «Pattern 1913» или упрощенно «P13» (образец 13). К январю 1913 года было выпущено 1281 винтовка Р13.
    Enfield P13 оказалась достаточно удачной и точной винтовкой, но возникли проблемы с боеприпасом под нее. Новый 7-миллиметровый патрон калибра .276 оказался весьма мощным и приводил к слишком сильной отдаче и дульной вспышке, деформации части деталей, изменению давления в патроннике, а также быстрому износу ствола оружия.
    В связи с этим было принято решение использовать штатный патрон .303 British (7.7x56 R), который обладал меньшей мощностью.
    Разработанная винтовка калибра .303 была принята на вооружение британской армии под обозначением «Rifle, Magazine, .303, Pattern 1914» (винтовка, магазинная, калибра . 303, образца 1914 года), сокращенно «Pattern 1914» или упрощенно «P14».
  4. XII легион Офлайн
    XII легион 21 декабря 2017 08:17
    +15
    Интересный цикл!
  5. Джон22 Офлайн
    Джон22 21 декабря 2017 14:38
    +1
    Довольно мутное пояснение причины создания новой винтовки Р 14. Точная стрельба из М 98 ? Значит Ли-Энфилды были неточными? А ведь они более скорострельные. Скорее всего высокая трудоёмкость в производстве была причиной требования создать более дешёвую винтовку. Ведь задание на разработку появилось только в 1910 г. 9 лет прошло после А-Б войны. Неужели так испугались? А копировали или купили лицензию - это вопрос. Японцы и американцы купили лицензию а дорабатывли под себя.