Military Review

Hydroaviation of the Japanese submarine fleet in World War II. Part V

3
Kugisho E14Y1 - the only aircraft that bombed America during WWII


At the end of 1936 in Japan, in accordance with the "Third Ship Replacement Program" of the Imperial fleet started to create new aircraft-carrying submarines of the A1 (“Ko-Gata”) and B1 (“Otsu-Gata”) projects. They needed a more advanced seaplane than the standing on the armament "Watanabe" E9W1. The requirements for the new aircraft were contained in the 12-Shi specification developed by the fleet, which in 1937 was brought to the attention of the Kugisho, Yokoshi, and Watanabe developers who took part in the competition.

In 1939, the first flights of prototypes of the Kugisho E14Y1 and Vataeabe E14WXNNXX took place. Comparing both projects, the fleet gave preference to the project of the Kugisho company. Work on the creation of a hydroplane for submarines "Kugisho" E1Y14 was carried out on the basis of the 1-th naval arsenal in Yokosuka in the strictest secrecy mode under the guidance of the chief engineer of the project Mitsuo Yamada.

Hydroaviation of the Japanese submarine fleet in World War II. Part V

In flight prototype reconnaissance seaplane for submarines "Kugisho" E14Y1, 1939 year

The prototype "Kugisho" E14Y1 was a single-engine double float nizklana mixed design. The new seaplane, like its predecessor "Watanabe" E9W1, had a small size. As a power plant, a Hitachi star-shaped 9-cylinder air-cooled engine GK2 “Tempo 12” with horsepower 340 power with a wooden two-bladed constant-pitch propeller was selected.

The E14Y1 fuselage, having a power frame made of metal pipes, was sheathed with duralumin sheets in the nose and a sheet in the tail. The wing and tail assembly had a mixed construction and linen casing. For placement in the aviation hangar submarines of oval shape with a length of 8.5 meter 2.4 meter wide and 1.4 height meter wing wings were folded along the fuselage. The tail stabilizer was folded down to reduce the height. All-metal floats were attached to the fuselage and wing consoles with the help of racks. When stored in a boat hangar, the floats were dismantled, and the racks were folded under the fuselage.


Layout E14Y1 in the hangar of a submarine

The pilot and gunner-observer were placed in a half-closed glazed cockpit. For communication with the submarine, the observer had a radio station in the cockpit, and for self-defense the 7.7-mm machine gun Type 92 mounted on the henry unit was intended.


Kugisho E14Y1 seaplane with two 30-kilogram bombs under the wing

Under the wing of the E14Y1 there were bomb racks for two 30-kg bombs. When reducing the stock of fuel and dismantling defensive weapons, and when absolutely necessary and reducing the crew to that person, bomb weapons could consist of two 76-kg bombs.

During flight tests, the Kugisho prototype E14Y1 developed a maximum flight speed of 239 km per hour. Cruising speed at an altitude of 1000 meters was 157 km per hour. The empty weight of the prototype was 1130 kg and exceeded the requirements of the 12-Shi specification for 180 kg, which, combined with a small supply of fuel in 200 liters, determined the low normal flight range in 480 km (Watnabe's E9W1 had the same indicator as 590 km). This clearly did not suit the customer. In addition, in the course of flights, unsatisfactory travel stability was revealed.


One of the first serial Kugisho seaplanes E14Y1, Yokosuka, 1940 year

The identified deficiencies were eliminated during the construction of the pre-production batch of E14Y1 (in the amount of 10 units) in the 1940 year. The design of the aircraft was facilitated by 80 kg, fuel capacity increased to 340 liters. Under the fuselage installed a small falshil and increased the area of ​​the main keel. The cockpit has become completely closed.


Reconnaissance seaplane "Kugisho" E14Y1, based on the submarine I-7, 1941 year

The first two pre-series E14Y1 samples on tests showed improved flight performance. The maximum speed in steady horizontal flight increased to 246 km per hour, and cruising to 167 km per hour. Normal flight range increased to 822 kilometers, and the maximum was 1074 km. The practical ceiling at the same time made 5420 meters.

With low seas, the submarine E14Y1 stored in the hangar and its launch with the help of a pneumatic catapult took a quarter of an hour to prepare for the departure (an experienced calculation could have performed this operation in 6 minutes and 23 seconds). The plane that was driven down at the end of the flight was lifted by a special crane onto the deck of the boat, disassembled (folded) and placed back in the hangar. The fleet command was satisfied with the test results.


Kugisho E14Y1 on a trolley, coastal airfield, Yokosuka, 1944 year


Kugisho E14Y1 from the Japanese Navy airbase in Fukuyama, December 1944

In December, the 1940 of the new naval reconnaissance aircraft for basing on Kugisho submarines under the designation E14Y1 model 11 was adopted by the Japanese fleet. The serial production of the seaplane was entrusted to the Watanabe company in Ykosuka. The total number of E14Y1 built by her was 136 copies, two more prototypes were created directly by Kugisho.


The main tactical and technical characteristics of the seaplane "Kugisho" ("Yokosuka") E14Y1 ("Glen")

The combat experience gained during the operation of the first aircraft-carrying Junsen submarine projects (J2 and J3) was taken into account when developing a whole series of shipbuilding programs for the construction of new aircraft-carrying submarines of the A1 / A2 (Ko-Gata) and V1 / XXNX projects ("Otsu-Gata"). All of them were designed for the deployment and use of the new Kugisho E2Y3 reconnaissance seaplane.


Scheme of the underwater cruiser I-9 of the project А1 ("Ko-Gata") (View from the starboard side)

The plane with dismantled wing consoles and removed floats was stored in a single hangar, which was now located in front of the conning tower in the same complex with it. Starting pneumatic catapult was also located in the bow of the deck of the boat, so the launch of the seaplane could be carried out while moving it at full speed. In order to fulfill the flight task, the plane, as before, was landing on the water near the submarine and its crane was lifted aboard, and at a height of waves of more than one meter it was no longer possible to land on the water.

All submarines of the above projects had a double-hulled construction, a working depth of 100 meters and autonomy up to 90 days. The main armament consisted of six 533-mm nose torpedo tubes (the stock of torpedoes ranged from 17 to 19 pieces). Artillery weapons included one 140-mm gun and anti-aircraft guns caliber 25-mm.


Aircraft-carrying submarine I-10 of project А1 ("Ko-Gata") at the pier, before being sent on a long voyage, 1942 year

In 1938, the first boat I-9 of Project A1 ("Ko-Gata") was laid. It was a further development of the project of heavy aircraft-carrying submarine cruisers of the J3 project ("Junsen 3"), but with a modified aviation weapons. In total, until the year 1942, three submarines of this type were built (I-9, I-10 and I-11). All of them could act as flagships of submarine squadrons, as well as be used for relaying radio messages for ships performing combat missions at a considerable distance from the bases (there was appropriate equipment for these purposes).

These were quite large submarines (surface displacement was 2919 tons, and scuba - 4149 tons) and speed (23.3 node in the surface position and 8 nodes in the underwater). But the powerful power plant (12400 horsepower in diesel engines) did not differ in efficiency, the cruising range on the surface did not exceed 16000 miles at a speed of 16 knots.

The only submarine of the A2 project, built during the 1942 period - 1944, largely repeated the A1 boats. I-12 had a more economical power plant of lower power (in two diesel engines there were only 4700 horsepower). The maximum surface speed dropped to 17.7 nodes per hour, but the cruising range increased significantly (22000 miles with the same 16 nodes).

In the same 1938 year (at the same time as I-9), the lead submarine I-15 of the B1 project (“Otsu-Gata”) was laid. It was the most numerous series of aircraft-carrying submarines - the last of the 20 built boats I-39 was commissioned in the 1943 year. The boats of the V1 project were created on the basis of the Kaidai 6 project, but with A1 (Ko-Gata) aircraft armament. I-15 differed from I-9 in smoother contours of the hull and cutting-hangar complex. The production of the B1 series differed from A1 and the best manufacturability - electric welding was used in the manufacture of some light-body structures.


Schematic device for aircraft carrying submarine I-25 of type В1

Part of the V1 project boats were commissioned without aircraft armament, instead of it, a second 140-mm gun was installed before cutting. A separate exception in the series was the boat I-17, on it the hangar adjoined the aft deckhouse. The launch catapult also moved to the stern of the deck of the boat.

The boats of the V1 project, in comparison with A1 / A2, had a much smaller displacement - 2589 tons in surface position and 3654 tons in submerged. Combining the qualities of cruising and squadron submarines, they could operate effectively with both the main forces of the fleet and conduct long-range reconnaissance.


Airborne submarine cruiser I-19 of project В1 ("Otsu-Gata")

Powerful power plant (12000 horsepower in diesel engines and 2000 in electric motors) provided submarines with a high speed (23.6 nodes in the surface position and 8 nodes under water). But the increased fuel consumption limited the cruising range on the surface - 14000 miles at speed in 16 nodes.


Submarine cruiser I-27 of project В1 ("Otsu-Gata") modified into carrier of mini-submarines, 1944 year

Aircraft-carrying submarines of type B2 (“Otsu-Gata”), built with a series of six units in 1942 - 1944, differed from B1 with a slightly lower powerplant, better living conditions for a crew of 101 people. The sailing range remained the same, and the speed characteristics changed slightly. Already after commissioning, the aviation equipment was dismantled on some submarines, and a second 140-mm gun was installed instead.


Airborne submarine I-45 of type B2 ("Otsu-Gata"), 1943 year

In 1945, the I-44 submarine lost all 140-mm guns and became the carrier of human-guided torpedoes, the Kaiten. A year earlier, the I-36 and I-37 boats of the В1 project went through a similar “upgrade”.


I-58 type В3 ("Otsu-Gata") airborne submarine, on the site of the aft 140-mm guns are installed "Kaitens", 1944 year

On boats of type B3 ("Otsu-Gata"), which were built during the same period, a small series (I-54, I-56 and I-58), in order to increase the cruising range (similar to type А2) were installed less powerful, but more economical diesels. As a result, it was possible to increase the range to the 21000 miles with a travel speed in surface position in the 16 nodes.


The I-58 airborne submarine launched the Kugisho reconnaissance plane E14Y1, autumn 1944 of the year

At the end of 1944, I-56 and I-58 lost their aviation and artillery weapons and also became carriers of the Kaitens.


Submarine cruiser I-58 fully converted into carrier man-guided torpedoes (“Kaitens”), 1945 year


The main tactical and technical characteristics of aircraft carrying submarines - carriers of seaplanes "Kugisho" E14Y1 ("Glen")

References:
1. Beshanov V.V. Encyclopedia of aircraft carriers / Under the general editorship of AE Taras - Moscow: AST, Minsk: Harvest, 2002 - (Library of military stories).
2. Platonov A.V. Linear forces of the submarine fleet - SPb .: Galeya Print LLC, 1998.
3. Dashyan A.V. Ships of the Second World War. Japanese Navy (part of 2). Maritime collection №7, 2004.
4. Ivanov S.V. Japan submarines 1941-1945. War at sea (№31) - Beloretsk: ARS LLC, 2006.
5. Okolelov N.N., Shumilin S.E., Chechin A.A. Submarine aircraft carriers of the Japanese fleet (history, design, aircraft armament). Maritime collection №7, 2007.
6. Kascheev L.B. Japanese submarines in World War II. Maritime collection №2, 2011.
7. Firsov A. Aviation of Japan in the second world war. Part One: Aichi, Yokosuka, Kawasaki. Aviation collection №4. TsAGI, 1996.
8. Solomonov B., Kulagin K. Submarine aviation of the Yamato country. Aviamaster №3, 2003.
9. Doroshkevich O. Airplanes of Japan of the Second World War - Minsk: Harvest, 2004.
10. Chechin A., Okolelov N. Start from under the water. Model Designer #7,8 -2009.
11. Chechin A., Okolelov N. Ominous "Mountain Fog". Aichi MXNUMHA Seyran seaplane and its predecessors. Aviation and Time Magazine No. 6 - 04, 06.
12. Haruk A.I. Attack aircraft of the Second World War - attack aircraft, bombers, torpedo bombers - M .: Yauza; Eksmo, xnumx.
13. Haruk A.I. All seaplanes of the second world. Illustrated color encyclopedia - M .: Yauza; Eksmo, xnumx.
14. Kotelnikov V. Aviation in the Second World War. Aircraft of France. Part-1 (Aviation collection No. 10) - 1996.
15. Kozyrev M., Kozyrev V. Aviation of Axis Countries in World War II - M .: ZAO Tsentpoligraf, 2010.
16. Bryukhanov A. Deck aircraft in World War II: An Illustrated Collection. Parts I - IV. - Publishing solutions (licensed by Ridero), 2017.
17. Bryukhanov A. Japanese submarine aviation in World War II: Publishing solutions (licensed by Ridero), 2017.
18. Gusev A.N. Submarines for special purposes. Built ships and unrealized projects - M .: MORKNIGA, 2013.
19. RJ Francillon. Japanese Aircraft of the Pacific. Putman & Company. London-1970.
20. Robert C. Mikesh. Aichi M6A1 Seiran, Japan's Submarine-Launched Panama Canal Bomber (Monogram Close-Up 13) - Monogram Aviation Publications. Commonwealth Press Worcester, Massachustts, 1975.
21. Japanese Military Aircraft Illustrated. Vol. 3, Reconnaissance Flying Boat Trainer / Transport - Bunrin-Do Co. Ltd., Tokyo 1983.
22. Robert C. Mikesh & Shorzoe Abe. Japanese Aircraft 1910-1941. Putnam Aeronautical Books, London, 1990.
23. Famous airplanes of the world №47. Imperial Japanese Navy Reconnaissance Seaplane - BUNRINDO Co.Ltd, Tokyo 1994.
24. Tadeusz Januszewski. Japanese Submarine Aircraft - Red Series (No. 5103). Mushroom Model Publications, 2002.
25. Ryusuke Ishiguro, Tadeusz Januszewski. Kugisho E14Y GLEN: The Aircraft that Bombed America (White Series) - MMPBooks, 2012.
26. ER Johnson. United States Naval Aviation, 1919-1941 - Aircraft, Airships and Ships Between the Wars. McFarland, 2011.

Internet resources:
http://www.aviarmor.net
http://www.findmodelkit.com
http://pinimg.com
http://www.silenthunter.cz
http://wikimedia.org
http://tarutani.com
http://www.pilotspost.com
http://www.sealmodel.com


To be continued ...
Author:
3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Vard
    Vard 24 December 2017 07: 06 New
    +1
    And all this fuss for the sake of one bombing ... Once again we are convinced that a bad head ... All the rest does not give rest ...
    1. Mooh
      Mooh 24 December 2017 15: 15 New
      +2
      Run forward. So far, all the fuss, so as not to invent the locator :)
  2. polpot
    polpot 24 December 2017 10: 13 New
    +1
    Thanks for the article is very interesting

Гидроавиация японского подводного флота во Второй мировой войне. Часть V

«Кугишо» E14Y1 – единственный самолёт, бомбивший Америку во время WWII

В конце 1936 года в Японии, в соответствии с «Третьей программой замены кораблей» Имперского флота приступили к созданию новых авианесущих подводных крейсеров проектов А1 («Ko-Gata») и В1 («Otsu-Gata»). Для них требовался более совершенный гидросамолёт, чем стоящий на вооружении «Ватанабэ» E9W1. Требования к новому самолёту содержались в разработанной флотом спецификации 12-Shi, которая в 1937 году была доведена до принявших участие в конкурсе фирм-разработчиков «Кугишо», «Йокоши» и «Ватанабэ».


В 1939 году состоялись первые полёты прототипов гидросамолётов «Кугишо» E14Y1 и «Ватаеабэ» E14W1. Сравнив оба проекта, флот отдал предпочтение проекту фирмы «Кугишо». Работы по созданию нового гидросамолёта для подводных лодок «Кугишо» E14Y1 велись на базе 1-го Военно-морского арсенала в Йокосуке в режиме строжайшей секретности под руководством главного инженера проекта Мицуо Ямада (Mitsuo Yamada).

Гидроавиация японского подводного флота во Второй мировой войне. Часть V

В полёте прототип разведывательного гидросамолёта для подводных лодок «Кугишо» E14Y1, 1939 год

Прототип «Кугишо» E14Y1 представлял собой однодвигательный двухместный поплавковый низкоплан смешанной конструкции. Новый гидросамолёт, как и его предшественник «Ватанабэ» E9W1, имел небольшие размеры. В качестве силовой установки был выбран звездообразный 9-цилиндровый двигатель воздушного охлаждения «Хитачи» GK2 «Темпу 12» мощностью 340 лошадиных сил с деревянным двухлопастным винтом постоянного шага.

Фюзеляж E14Y1, имеющий силовой каркас из металлических труб, обшивался листами дюралюминия в носовой его части и полотном в хвостовой. Крыло и хвостовое оперение имели смешанную конструкцию и полотняную обшивку. Для размещения в авиационном ангаре подводных лодок овальной формы с длиной 8.5 метра шириной 2.4 метра и высотой 1.4 метра консоли крыльев складывались вдоль фюзеляжа. Стабилизатор хвостового оперения для уменьшения высоты складывался поворотом вниз. Цельнометаллические поплавки крепились к фюзеляжу и консолям крыла с помощью стоек. При хранении в лодочном ангаре поплавки демонтировались, а стойки складывались под фюзеляж.


Схема размещения E14Y1 в ангаре подводной лодки

Пилот и стрелок-наблюдатель размещались в полузакрытой остеклённой кабине. Для связи с подводной лодкой в кабине у наблюдателя имелась радиостанция, а для самообороны предназначался установленный на шворневой установке 7.7-мм пулемёт Тип 92.


Гидросамолёт «Кугишо» E14Y1 с двумя 30-килограммовыми бомбами под крылом

Под крылом E14Y1 имелись бомбодержатели для двух 30-кг авиабомб. При уменьшении запаса топлива и демонтаже оборонительного вооружения, а при крайней необходимости и сокращения экипажа до оного человека бомбовое вооружение могло состоять из двух 76-кг бомб.

В ходе лётных испытаний прототип «Кугишо» E14Y1 развил максимальную скорость полёта 239 км в час. Крейсерская скорость на высоте 1000 метров составляла 157 км в час. Пустой вес прототипа составлял 1130 кг и превышал требования спецификации 12-Shi на 180 кг, что в совокупности с малым запасом топлива в 200 литров определило невысокую нормальную дальность полёта в 480 км (у «Ватанабэ» E9W1 аналогичный показатель был равен 590 км). Это явно не устраивало заказчика. Кроме того, в ходе полётов выявилась неудовлетворительная путевая устойчивость.


Один из первых серийных гидросамолётов «Кугишо» E14Y1, Йокосука, 1940 год

Выявленные недостатки были устранены в ходе постройки предсерийной партии E14Y1 (в количестве 10 единиц) в 1940 году. Конструкция самолёта была облегчена на 80 кг, запас топлива увеличили до 340 литров. Под фюзеляжем установили небольшой фальшкиль и увеличили площадь основного киля. Кабина экипажа стала полностью закрытой.


Разведывательный гидросамолёт «Кугишо» E14Y1, базирующийся на подводном крейсере I-7, 1941 год

Первые два предсерийных образца E14Y1 на испытаниях показали улучшенные лётно-технические характеристики. Максимальная скорость в устойчивом горизонтальном полёте возросла до 246 км в час, а крейсерская до 167 км в час. Нормальная дальность полёта увеличилась до 822 километров, а максимальная составила 1074 км. Практический потолок при этом составил 5420 метров.

При слабом волнении на море на подготовку к вылету хранящегося в ангаре подводной лодки E14Y1 и запуск его с помощью пневматической катапульты уходило четверть часа (опытный расчёт мог осуществить эту операцию за 6 минут и 23 секунды). Приводнившийся по окончании полёта самолёт поднимался специальным краном на палубу лодки, разбирался (складывался) и помещался обратно в ангар. Командование флота было удовлетворено результатами испытаний.


«Кугишо» E14Y1на транспортной тележке, береговой аэродром, Йокосука, 1944 год


«Кугишо» E14Y1с авиабазы японского флота в Фукуяме, декабрь 1944 года

В декабре 1940 года новый военно-морской разведывательный самолёт для базирования на подводных лодках фирмы «Кугишо» под обозначением E14Y1 модель 11 был принят на вооружение японского флота. Серийное производство нового гидросамолёта было поручено фирме «Ватанабэ» в Йкосуке. Общее количество построенных ей E14Y1 составило 136 экземпляров, ещё два прототипа были созданы непосредственно фирмой «Кугишо».


Основные тактико-технические характеристики гидросамолёта «Кугишо» («Йокосука») E14Y1 («Глен»)

Боевой опыт, накопленный при эксплуатации первых авианесущих подводных крейсеров проектов «Junsen» (J2 и J3), был учтён при разработке целой серии кораблестроительных программ по постройке новых авианесущих подлодок проектов А1/А2 («Ko-Gata») и В1/В2/В3 («Otsu-Gata»). Все они были рассчитаны на размещение и применение нового разведывательного гидросамолёта «Кугишо» E14Y1.


Схема подводного крейсера I-9 проекта А1 («Ko-Gata») (Вид с правого борта)

Самолёт с демонтированными консолями крыла и снятыми поплавками хранился в единственном ангаре, который теперь размещался перед боевой рубкой в едином с ней комплексе. Стартовая пневматическая катапульта также располагалась в носовой части палубы лодки, поэтому старт гидросамолёта мог быть осуществлён при движении её на полном ходу. По выполнению полётного задания самолёт, как и прежде, садился на воду вблизи субмарины и его краном поднимали на борт, а при высоте волн более одного метра посадка на воду была уже невозможна.

Все подлодки указанных выше проектов имели двухкорпусную конструкцию, рабочую глубину погружения 100 метров и автономность до 90 суток. Основное вооружение состояло из шести 533-мм носовых торпедных аппаратов (запас торпед варьировался от 17 до 19 штук). Артиллерийское вооружение включало одно 140-мм орудие и зенитные установки калибра 25-мм.


Авианесущий подводный крейсер I-10 проекта А1 («Ko-Gata») у пирса, перед отправкой в дальний поход, 1942 год

В 1938 была заложена первая лодка I-9 проекта А1 («Ko-Gata»). Она представляла собой дальнейшее развитие проекта тяжелых авианесущих подводных крейсеров проекта J3 («Junsen 3»), но с изменённым авиационным вооружением. Всего в период до 1942 года было построено три подлодки этого типа (I-9, I-10 и I-11). Все они могли выступать в роли флагманов эскадр подводных лодок, а также использоваться для ретрансляции радиосообщений для кораблей, выполняющих боевые задачи на значительном удалении от баз (для этих целей имелось соответствующее оборудование).

Это были довольно крупные подводные корабли (надводное водоизмещение составляло 2919 тонн, а подводное – 4149 тонн) и скоростные (23.3 узла в надводном положении и 8 узлов в подводном). Но мощная энергетическая установка (12400 лошадиных сил у дизелей) не отличалась экономичностью, дальность плавания в надводном положении не превосходила 16000 миль при скорости хода в 16 узлов.

Единственная подлодка проекта А2, построенная в период 1942 – 1944 годах, во многом повторяла лодки проекта А1. I-12 имела более экономичную энергетическую установку меньшей мощности (в двух дизелях было всего 4700 лошадиных сил). Максимальная скорость надводного хода снизилась до 17.7 узлов в час, но зато существенно увеличилась дальность плавания (22000 миль при тех же 16 узлах).

В том же 1938 году (одновременно с I-9) была заложена головная подлодка I-15 проекта В1 («Otsu-Gata»). Это была самая многочисленная серия авианесущих подводных лодок – последняя из 20 построенных лодок I-39 вошла в строй в 1943 году. Лодки проекта В1 были созданы на основе проекта «Kaidai 6», но с авиационным вооружением по типу А1 («Ko-Gata»). I-15 отличалась от I-9 более плавными обводами корпуса и комплекса «рубка-ангар». Производство серии В1 отличалось от А1 и лучшей технологичностью – при изготовлении некоторых конструкций лёгкого корпуса применялась электросварка.


Схематическое устройство авианесущей субмарины I-25 типа В1

Часть лодок проекта В1 вошли в строй без авиационного вооружения, вместо него перед рубкой было установлено второе 140-мм орудие. Отдельным исключением в серии стала лодка I-17, на ней ангар примыкал к кормовой части рубки. Стартовая катапульта также переместилась в кормовую часть палубы лодки.

Лодки проекта В1, в сравнении с А1/А2, имели гораздо меньшее водоизмещение – 2589 тонн в надводном положении и 3654 тонн в подводном. Сочетая в себе качества крейсерских и эскадренных подлодок, они могли эффективно действовать как с главными силами флота, так и вести дальнюю разведку.


Авианесущий подводный крейсер I-19 проекта В1 («Otsu-Gata»)

Мощная энергоустановка (12000 лошадиных сил у дизелей и 2000 у электродвигателей) обеспечивала подлодкам высокую скорость хода (23.6 узлов в надводном положении и 8 узлов под водой). Но повышенный расход топлива ограничивал дальность плавания в надводном положении - 14000 миль при скорости в 16 узлов.


Подводный крейсер I-27 проекта В1 («Otsu-Gata») модифицированный в носитель минисубмарины, 1944 год

Авианесущие подводные лодки типа В2 («Otsu-Gata»), построенные серией из шести единиц в 1942 – 1944 годах, отличались от В1 несколько меньшей мощностью силовой установки, лучшими условиями обитаемости для экипажа из 101 человека. Дальность плавания осталась прежней, а скоростные характеристики изменились незначительно. Уже после ввода в строй на некоторых подлодках авиационное оборудование было демонтировано, а вместо него установлено второе 140-мм орудие.


Авианесущая подводная лодка I-45 типа В2 («Otsu-Gata»), 1943 год

В 1945 году лодка I-44 лишилась всех 140-мм орудий и стала носителем управляемых человеком торпед - «Кайтенов». Годом раньше подобную «модернизацию» прошли и лодки I-36 и I-37 проекта В1.


Авианесущая субмарина I-58 типа В3 («Otsu-Gata»), на месте кормового140-мм орудия установлены «Кайтены»,1944 год

На лодках типа В3 («Otsu-Gata»), которые строились в этот же период небольшой серией (I-54, I-56 и I-58), в целях увеличения дальности плавания (аналогично типу А2) были установлены менее мощные, но более экономичные дизели. В результате удалось увеличить показатели дальности до 21000 миль при скорости хода в надводном положении в 16 узлов.


Авианесущая субмарина I-58 осуществила запуск гидросамолёта-разведчика «Кугишо» E14Y1, осень 1944 года

В конце 1944 года I-56 и I-58 лишились авиационного и артиллерийского вооружения и также стали носителями «Кайтенов».


Подводный крейсер I-58 полностью переоборудованный в носитель человекоуправляемых торпед («Кайтенов»), 1945 год


Основные тактико-технические характеристики авианесущих подводных крейсеров - носителей гидросамолётов «Кугишо» E14Y1 («Глен»)

Литература:
1. Бешанов В.В. Энциклопедия авианосцев/Под обшей редакцией А.Е.Тараса – М.: АСТ, Мн.: Харвест, 2002 – (Библиотека военной истории).
2. Платонов А.В. Линейные силы подводного флота – СПб.: ООО «Галея Принт», 1998.
3. Дашьян А.В. Корабли Второй мировой войны. ВМС Японии (часть 2). Морская коллекция №7, 2004.
4. Иванов С.В. Субмарины Японии 1941-1945. Война на море (№31) - Белорецк: ООО «АРС», 2006.
5. Околелов Н.Н., Шумилин С.Э., Чечин А.А. Подводные авианосцы японского флота (история, конструкция, авиационное вооружение). Морская коллекция №7, 2007.
6. Кащеев Л.Б. Японские субмарины во Второй мировой войне. Морская коллекция №2, 2011.
7. Фирсов А. Авиация Японии во второй мировой войне. Часть первая: Айчи, Йокосука, Кавасаки. Авиационный сборник №4. ЦАГИ,1996.
8. Соломонов Б., Кулагин К. Подводная авиация страны Ямато. Авиамастер №3, 2003.
9. Дорошкевич О. Самолёты Японии Второй мировой войны – Мн.: Харвест, 2004.
10. Чечин А., Околелов Н. Старт из-под воды. Моделист-конструктор№7,8 -2009.
11. Чечин А., Околелов Н. Зловещий «Горный туман». Гидросамолёт Аичи М6А «Сейран» и его предшественники. Журнал «Авиация и Время» № 04 - 06, 2013.
12. Харук А.И. Ударная авиация Второй Мировой – штурмовики, бомбардировщики, торпедоносцы – М.: Яуза; ЭКСМО, 2012.
13. Харук А.И. Все гидросамолёты второй мировой. Иллюстрированная цветная энциклопедия – М.: Яуза; ЭКСМО, 2014.
14. Котельников В. Авиация во Второй Мировой войне. Самолеты Франции. Часть-1(Авиационный сборник №10) – 1996.
15. Козырев М., Козырев В. Авиация стран оси во Второй мировой войне – М.: ЗАО Центрполиграф, 2010.
16. Брюханов А. Палубная авиация во Второй мировой войне: Иллюстрированный сборник. Части I – IV. – Издательские решения (по лицензии Ridero), 2017.
17. Брюханов А. Авиация подводного флота Японии во Второй мировой войне: Издательские решения (по лицензии Ridero), 2017.
18. Гусев А.Н. Подводные лодки специального назначения. Построенные корабли и нереализованные проекты - М.: МОРКНИГА, 2013.
19. R.J. Francillon. Japanese Aircraft of the Pacific. Putman & Company. London-1970.
20. Robert C. Mikesh. Aichi M6A1 Seiran, Japan's Submarine-Launched Panama Canal Bomber (Monogram Close-Up 13) – Monogram Aviation Publications. Commonwealth Press Worcester, Massachustts, 1975.
21. Japanese Military Aircraft Illustrated. Vol. 3, Reconnaissance Flying Boat Trainer/Transport - Bunrin-Do Co. Ltd., Tokyo 1983.
22. Robert C. Mikesh & Shorzoe Abe. Japanese Aircraft 1910-1941. Putnam Aeronautical Books, London, 1990.
23. Famous airplanes of the world №47. Imperial Japanese Navy Reconnaissance Seaplane – BUNRINDO Co.Ltd, Tokyo 1994.
24. Tadeusz Januszewski. Japanese Submarine Aircraft - Red Series (№ 5103). Mushroom Model Publications, 2002.
25. Ryusuke Ishiguro, Tadeusz Januszewski. Kugisho E14Y GLEN: The Aircraft that Bombed America (White Series) – MMPBooks, 2012.
26. E. R. Johnson. United States Naval Aviation, 1919-1941 - Aircraft, Airships and Ships Between the Wars. McFarland, 2011.

Интернет-ресурсы:
http://www.aviarmor.net
http://www.findmodelkit.com
http://pinimg.com
http://www.silenthunter.cz
http://wikimedia.org
http://tarutani.com
http://www.pilotspost.com
http://www.sealmodel.com


Продолжение следует…
Автор:
Александр Брюханов
Ctrl Enter

Заметив ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

3 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти