Military Review

Armored car Minerva (Belgium)

7
The First World War in the most noticeable way contributed to the development of weapons and military equipment. Specialists from all countries participating in the conflict developed various samples capable of increasing the combat capability of armies. Shortly after entry into the war, the development of new projects began Belgium. The result of this work was the emergence of several new armored vehicles. One of these machines became known under the name Minerva.


It is curious that the army of the Kingdom of Belgium at the beginning of the First World War was distinguished by a relatively high degree of motorization. The development of the latest technology has led to the fact that already in 1912, patrol car units were formed. They used serial cars, armed with machine guns available models. Such equipment could move freely on the developed road network of Belgium and made a significant contribution to the country's defense. However, the lack of protection was a clear disadvantage of the available machines.

Armored car Minerva (Belgium)
Reconstruction of the appearance of the Minerva armored car. Drawing Landships.info


In early August, 1914, just a few days after Belgium entered the war, Lieutenant Charles Ancar proposed to build new armored cars. Serial chassis technology, with protection and machine guns, could strengthen existing units and provide some advantages over the enemy. Initially, two armored cars should have been assembled, and in obtaining positive results it was possible to deploy full-scale mass production.

Wanting to help his country, Lieutenant Ankar "donated" two of his own car brand Minerva Motor Works. This fact affected the size of the first batch of equipment, which was to show the correctness of the proposal and the solutions used. A couple of civilian cars were transferred to the Cockerill Works plant in Hoboken. The employees of this enterprise, in cooperation with the military, were to carry out restructuring. In the case of the appearance of an order for the mass production of armored cars, it was planned to involve the Minerva company (the city of Antwerp), which was to assemble the required chassis.

Perspective armored cars were to be built on the chassis of the company Minerva Motor Works. This fact determined the future name of military equipment. According to the name of the company-manufacturer of base cars armored car called "Minerva". To avoid confusion, this name was often accompanied by the specification of the class of the machine. In this case, the technique was designated as Automitrailleuse Minerva - "Minerva Self-Propelled Machine Gun."


Side view. Figure Tanks-encyclopedia.com


According to reports, Sh. Ankar proposed to build the first armored cars based on the chassis of the Minerva 16CV passenger car. From the existing chassis, it was necessary to remove the body and part of other units, instead of which it was planned to mount an armored body. Preliminary calculations showed that the new body will give additional load on the undercarriage. Last strengthened by installing additional wheels.

The 16CV type chassis was completed with a Minerva 8L carburetor gasoline engine with 40 horsepower. Through a mechanical transmission, which had in its composition a manual gearbox and propeller shaft, torque was given to the rear drive axle. Due to the lack of reasonable alternatives, as well as due to the presence of acceptable roads, the armored car could well have the wheel formula 4х2. The suspension was built on the basis of bridges and leaf springs. The front steering wheels remained flat. Rear axle equipped with double wheels, which was to compensate for the increase in mass.


View of the stern. Drawing Landships.info


The original armored hull designed by Sh. Ankar and his colleagues should be installed on top of the chassis. The body consisted of sheets of various shapes and sizes that had a thickness of no more than 4 mm. Individual parts of the required configuration were fixed on the common frame. The corps was supposed to provide protection from rifle bullets. weapons and light fragments. For a variety of reasons, the hull did not receive a roof. The open case allowed to get into the car “over the side” and to do without side hatches weakening the structure. In addition, the project "Minerva" implied the use of a machine gun turret.

The armored body consisted of two main units. The front, which had a smaller size, served as the hood. He received a pentagonal frontal sheet with a large hatch for the supply of air to the radiator. In a combat situation, this hatch was closed by a pair of hinged doors. On the side, the engine was defended by a side mounted at an angle to the longitudinal axis of the chassis. From above, the power plant was covered with a relatively narrow longitudinal sheet, leaving small openings near the sides. This did not impair the protection of the engine, but facilitated the access of air. On a similar cover large headlights were placed to illuminate the road in the dark.

Inhabited compartment differed greater complexity of design. Its front part, which served as the separation of control, was made in the form of a rectangular box of sufficient size. A vertical front sheet was placed above the engine cover. On the sides of the crew were large vertical sides. The aft fighting compartment was characterized by a greater complexity of the contours. The rear housing unit was formed by a pair of rectangular vertical sheets, between which there was a large curved part.


Armored car and its crew. Photo Landships.info


The fighting compartment ended to the rear axle, due to which the stern of the frame had to be equipped with its own protection. This unit covered the armor box of small height with a beveled rear sheet. The top sheet of such a casing had attachments for the transport of the spare wheel. On the sides of the feed box was a pair of rectangular plates covering the wheels.

The body of the Minerva armored car was supplemented with a set of external boxes for the transportation of property. Metal units placed outside the main body could, to a certain extent, increase the overall level of protection of certain sections of armor. Two drawers were fixed on the left side: the front had a smaller height with a greater width, whereas the back one was narrower, but taller. The right side was equipped with smaller boxes. All additional boxes for the property were fixed on the side of the hull and on the side footboard, made in the form of one piece with the wings of the wheels.

On the rounded feed assembly of the armored corps, above the conventional fighting compartment, there was an annular support of the machine-gun turret. It was proposed to place weapons on a mobile unit with the possibility of free pointing in two planes. The shooter could move the entire machine-gun installation in the right direction and implement a thin tip by moving the actual machine gun. The mobile support of the weapon was completed with an armored shield with a vertical embrasure.


Column "Minerv" on the highway. Wikimedia Commons Photos


The Minerva’s only weapon of an armored car was the Hotchkiss Modèle 1909 machine gun, chambered for 7,92x57 mm “Mauser” (according to other sources, for ammunition such as 8x50 mm “Lebel”). This weapon used ammunition based on rigid metal tape cassettes and showed technical rate of fire at the level of 500 shots per minute.

The crew’s personal weapon could be used as an additional weapon for the armored car. The lack of a roof allowed crew members to fire across the board, complementing the "main caliber" in the form of a machine gun.

The crew was supposed to include from three to six people. The crew in all cases included the driver, commander and machine gunner. Also, the crew could be strengthened with three additional arrows with rifles. The crew had to get into the car through the open top of the hull. To monitor the situation, the driver had a front and side inspection hatches. A larger frontal was equipped with a hinged lid. There was another access hatch in the center of the stern. For obvious reasons, the machine gunner and additional arrows had to follow the terrain on top of the hull sides.


The lack of a roof gave certain amenities. Photo Landships.info


The Belgian Minerva armored car had a total length of about 4,9 m with a width of 1,75 m and an altitude of 2,3 m. The combat weight reached 4 tons. On the highway, the car could reach speeds up to 40 km / h. Power reserve - 150 km. On rough terrain, the ride quality of the existing chassis deteriorated, but the armored car could still be driven off-road, including overcoming obstacles.

The first two armored vehicles of the new type were rebuilt from the cars of Lieutenant Ankara in just a few weeks, no later than the end of August 1914. After the required checks, the new equipment was handed over to the army. The command became interested in this project, and soon an order appeared for mass production of equipment. The Minerva company was supposed to build an 16CV type chassis without any initial “automotive” equipment. They should be transferred to another company to equip with armor.

Production of Minerva armored cars continued for several weeks. In late September, German troops began the siege of Antwerp. In less than two weeks, the city came under German control, and Minerva Motor Works was no longer able to supply chassis for the construction of armored vehicles for the Belgian army. Before the loss of Antwerp, the company managed to assemble and deliver the required chassis order 30-35. All of them were completed under the existing project, but further production of armored cars was not possible. As a result, the total number of "Minerv" no longer increased.


Belgian soldiers are ready to meet the enemy with dense rifle and machine-gun fire. Wikimedia Commons Photos


In early September, the first Belgian armored cars 1914 went to the front. This technique had the expected impact on the course of the fighting and gave the army certain advantages over the enemy. However, it was not without difficulties and problems. In addition, there were first losses. So, already September 6 one of the first Minerva armored vehicles was ambushed. The lack of a roof led to tragedy. The enemy fire killed Lieutenant S. Ankar. The remaining crew members were able to escape from the environment, save themselves and the car.

In the future, serial armored cars of the Automitrailleuse Minerva type were used for solving a number of tasks. The technique was reduced to several platoons, three cars each. These units were sent to support infantry and cavalry. In addition to the direct support of the troops, the crews were engaged in conducting reconnaissance in the near rear, patrolling specified areas, etc. In all cases, the armor showed, in general, good results.

Belgian armored cars for a long time participated in the battles over the occupied territories. A little later, they managed to take part in battles in another theater of military operations. In the spring of 1915, a significant number of Belgian soldiers and officers, led by Major Collon, became part of the Corps des Autos-Canons-Mitrailleuses Belges en Russie Expeditionary Force. In mid-autumn, this compound went to the Russian Empire. Together with the servicemen, a number of vehicles, including 12 armored vehicles, including the Minerva, were delivered to the new duty station.


Armored car Minerva №8 and his machine gunner. Photo of Chicago Tribune, Feb 11, 1915 / Wikimedia Commons


Fighting on two fronts, the Belgian armored cars from time to time suffered losses. The available reservation allowed to protect people and equipment only from small arms bullets, but did not guarantee rescue at short distances. Artillery guns destroyed such equipment without any problems. It is curious that the Belgian Expeditionary Force lost only one Minerva-type vehicle. She was captured by German troops and was later put into operation. It is known that this particular armored car survived to the end of the war, and in 1919, it was used in the suppression of mass actions in Berlin.

One of the main reasons for the loss of people and machines "Minerva" was the lack of a roof of the hull. Bullets and fragments fell through the top and hit the crews. In 1916, work began on the modernization of the remaining armored vehicles in order to improve the safety of crews. All existing machines were to receive a roof thickness of 4 mm, completely covering the upper cut of the hull. Medium-sized doors appeared on the sides of the hull, providing access to the car. A hemispherical turret with devices for mounting a machine gun was now placed in the rear of the hull. In the shortest possible time, all the existing armored cars underwent a similar revision.

According to reports, almost all Minerva armored vehicles retained machinegun armament. At least one machine was equipped with a Puteaux SA 37 18-mm threaded gun. This led to a sharp increase in firepower and, consequently, combat effectiveness.


The commander is looking for targets, the shooter is attacking. Photo of the newspaper Tensas gazette, Feb 26, 1915 / Wikimedia Commons


Combat use of modernized armored vehicles continued until the very end of the First World War. By the time of the cessation of hostilities, a significant number of Minerva vehicles had been lost under certain circumstances, but the Belgian army still maintained a significant share of such equipment. The end of the war could raise the question of the further service of the existing armored vehicles, but it was quickly resolved in a positive way.

Despite limited characteristics, relatively large age and certain problems, the Minerva armored cars retained some of their potential. They decided to leave in service until the new models. The service of such machines in the army continued, according to various sources, until the mid-twenties. After that, the military wrote off the available equipment and handed it over to the gendarmerie. This structure showed great interest in armored vehicles and continued their operation. Only at the beginning of the thirties the equipment became outdated morally and physically, which launched the process of decommissioning and replacement. The latest Minerva vehicles were retired gendarmes only in 1935 year.

Needing armored combat vehicles, the Kingdom of Belgium at the very beginning of World War I created several new armored vehicles. Despite the lack of experience in this area, the first projects were, on the whole, successful. In addition, the Belgian automakers managed to establish a mass production of equipment, which, however, was soon discontinued due to the loss of the manufacturer. Despite this, the first Belgian armored cars of the Minerva type were quite numerous and left a noticeable mark on the military stories your country.


On the materials of the sites:
http://minervamotor-car.50megs.com/
https://militaryfactory.com/
http://tanks-encyclopedia.com/
http://aviarmor.net/
http://landships.info/
Modern replica of the Minerva armored car:
Author:
7 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Monarchist
    Monarchist 27 December 2017 16: 55
    +1
    The armored car for the war was very tolerable. 40 kilometers on the highway is good even for today. The main minus “. Minerva” open body, even a 4mm roof is an additional chance for the crew.
    For me, the news is that the Belgians fought on the Russian front
  2. faiver
    faiver 27 December 2017 17: 27
    +1
    basically cheap and cheerful, a good car
  3. hohol95
    hohol95 27 December 2017 23: 05
    +1
    In November 1915, the armored units of the Russian Army were replenished from the outside - the Belgian auto armored division arrived in Russia (as it appears in Russian documents). The story of his appearance is as follows.
    In the spring of 1915, a separate armored unit was formed from Belgian volunteers in Paris - the Corps des Autos-Canons-Mitrailleuses Corps des Autos-Canons. Major Colon became its commander. Initially, this corps was intended for military operations in the West. However, the front stabilized here, and the armored cars were out of work. In Russia, at that time, heavy fighting was going on in Galicia, in which armored cars also took an active part. Therefore, the Belgian king Albert handed over the division to Nicholas II.
    The Belgians arrived in Arkhangelsk on October 13, 1915. For a while they were housed in Peterhof. The severe Russian winter served as the reason for the Belgian officers and soldiers to be given winter uniforms tailored especially for them - very colorful short fur coats and popes. On December 6, 1915, the Highest Review of the division took place in Tsarskoye Selo, and a month later he arrived on the Southwestern Front. In Belgian sources, this division is officially referred to as the "Expeditionary Force of the Belgian cannon-machine gun vehicles in Russia" (Corps Expeditionnaire des Autos-Canons-Mitrailleuses Beiges en Russie).
    The division staff included 350 personnel, 13 armored vehicles (6 cannon, 4 machine gun and 3 commander), 6 cars, 20 trucks, 18 motorcycles and 130 bicycles. The main types of armored vehicles were Morse and Peugeot.
    These vehicles with a mass of 3,5 tons were armed with two machine guns "Hotchkiss" (of which one spare) or a 37-mm cannon. The crew consisted of 3-4 people, the thickness of the armor ranged from 3 to 7 mm. On the armored cars installed engine "Minerva" with a capacity of 35 hp
    In addition to military vehicles in the division there were three commander (or staff) without weapons. Subsequently, they were disassembled into spare parts for military vehicles.
    During the battles, the division lost several armored cars, in exchange for which they received one Armstrong-Whitworth-Fiat and the Megebrov Renault.
    In January 1918, the division was in Kiev. Since the path to Arkhangelsk was controlled by the Bolsheviks, the Belgians had to evacuate along the Trans-Siberian Railway through Vladivostok, to China, and then to the United States. At the same time, only personnel left Russia - the material part had to be left.

    Lieutenant General Shishkevich examines the armored car "Morse" with an 8-mm machine gun Hotchkiss. Southwestern Front, 9th Army, January 1916 (RGAKFD).
    1. Amurets
      Amurets 28 December 2017 15: 42
      0
      Quote: hohol95
      In January 1918, the division was in Kiev. Since the path to Arkhangelsk was controlled by the Bolsheviks, the Belgians had to evacuate along the Trans-Siberian Railway through Vladivostok, to China, and then to the United States. At the same time, only personnel left Russia - the material part had to be left.

      Thank you Interesting information.
      1. hohol95
        hohol95 28 December 2017 16: 18
        +1
        Trifle! drinks Belgian BA must have broken down on complex Russian miles laughing
  4. polpot
    polpot 28 December 2017 00: 32
    +1
    Thank you for the article interesting content and photos
  5. tchoni
    tchoni 28 December 2017 08: 59
    +1
    me in these armored cars (and not only in minerva, but in all cars of that period) always touches the ratio of the mass of armor to the total mass - 15-20%)))

Бронеавтомобиль Minerva (Бельгия)

Первая мировая война самым заметным образом поспособствовала развитию вооружений и военной техники. Специалисты всех стран-участниц конфликта разрабатывали различные образцы, способные повысить боеспособность армий. Вскоре после вступления в войну разработку новых проектов начала Бельгия. Результатом этих работ стало появление нескольких новых бронеавтомобилей. Одна из таких машин получила известность под именем Minerva.

Любопытно, что армия Королевства Бельгия к началу Первой мировой войны отличалась сравнительно высокой степенью моторизации. Освоение новейшей техники привело к тому, что уже в 1912 году были сформированы патрульные автомобильные отряды. Они использовали серийные автомашины, вооруженные пулеметами имеющихся моделей. Такая техника могла свободно перемещаться по развитой дорожной сети Бельгии и вносила заметный вклад в обороноспособность страны. Тем не менее, отсутствие защиты было явным минусом имеющихся машин.

Бронеавтомобиль Minerva (Бельгия)
Реконструкция облика бронеавтомобиля Minerva. Рисунок Landships.info



В начале августа 1914 года, всего через несколько дней после вступления Бельгии в войну, лейтенант Шарль Анкар предложил построить новые бронеавтомобили. Техника на базе серийного шасси, имеющая защиту и пулеметное вооружение, могла бы усилить существующие подразделения и обеспечить некоторые преимущества перед противником. Изначально следовало собрать два броневика, а при получении положительных результатов можно было развернуть полномасштабное серийное производство.

Желая помочь своей стране, лейтенант Анкар «пожертвовал» два собственных автомобиля марки Minerva Motor Works. Именно этот факт сказался на размерах первой партии техники, которой предстояло показать правильность предложения и использованных решений. Пару гражданских легковых автомашин перегнали на завод Cockerill Works в г. Хобокен. Сотрудники этого предприятия в кооперации с военными должны были осуществить перестройку. В случае появления заказа на серийное производство броневиков к работам планировалось привлечь компанию «Минерва» (г. Антверпен), которой предстояло собирать требуемые шасси.

Перспективные броневики должны были строиться на автомобильных шасси фирмы Minerva Motor Works. Этот факт определил будущее название военной техники. По названию предприятия-производителя базовых машин бронеавтомобиль назвали «Минервой». Во избежание путаницы такое название нередко сопровождалось уточнением класса машины. В таком случае технику обозначали как Automitrailleuse Minerva – «Самоходный пулемет «Минерва».


Вид сбоку. Рисунок Tanks-encyclopedia.com


По имеющимся данным, Ш. Анкар предложил строить первые бронеавтомобили на основе шасси легковой машины Minerva 16CV. C имеющихся шасси следовало удалить кузов и часть других агрегатов, вместо которых планировалось монтировать броневой корпус. Предварительные расчеты показали, что новый корпус даст дополнительную нагрузку на ходовую часть. Последнюю усилили при помощи установки дополнительных колес.

Шасси типа 16CV комплектовалось карбюраторным бензиновым двигателем Minerva 8L мощностью 40 л.с. Через механическую трансмиссию, имевшую в своем составе коробку передач с ручным управлением и карданный вал, крутящий момент выдавался на заднюю ведущую ось. Ввиду отсутствия разумных альтернатив, а также в связи с наличием приемлемых дорог броневик вполне мог иметь колесную формулу 4х2. Подвеска строилась на основе мостов и листовых рессор. Передние управляемые колеса остались односкатными. Задний мост оснастили двойными колесами, что должно было компенсировать рост массы.


Вид на корму. Рисунок Landships.info


Поверх шасси следовало устанавливать оригинальный бронекорпус, разработанный Ш. Анкаром и его коллегами. Корпус состоял из листов разных форм и размеров, имевших толщину не более 4 мм. Отдельные детали требуемой конфигурации закреплялись на общем каркасе. Корпус должен был обеспечить защиту от пуль стрелкового оружия и легких осколков. По целому ряду причин корпус не получил крыши. Открытый корпус позволял попадать в машину «через борт» и обходиться без бортовых люков, ослабляющих конструкцию. Кроме того, проект «Минерва» подразумевал использование турельной установки пулемета.

Броневой корпус состоял из двух основных агрегатов. Передний, имевший меньшие размеры, выполнял функции капота. Он получил пятиугольный лобовой лист с крупным люком для подвода воздуха к радиатору. В боевой обстановке этот люк закрывался парой распашных створок. Сбоку двигатель защищался бортом, установленным под углом к продольной оси шасси. Сверху силовую установку прикрыли сравнительно узким продольным листом, оставлявшим небольшие проемы возле бортов. Это не ухудшало защиту двигателя, но облегчало доступ воздуха. На подобной крышке расположили крупные фары для освещения дороги в темное время суток.

Обитаемый отсек отличался большей сложностью конструкции. Его передняя часть, выполнявшая функции отделения управления, была выполнена в виде прямоугольного короба достаточных размеров. Над крышкой двигателя помещался вертикальный лобовой лист. По бокам от экипажа находились крупные вертикальные борта. Кормовое боевое отделение отличалось большей сложностью обводов. Задний агрегат корпуса образовывался парой прямоугольных вертикальных листов, между которыми находилась крупная изогнутая деталь.


Броневик и его экипаж. Фото Landships.info


Боевое отделение заканчивалось до задней оси, из-за чего корму рамы пришлось оснастить собственной защитой. Этот агрегат прикрыли броневым коробом небольшой высоты со скошенным задним листом. Верхний лист такого кожуха имел крепления для перевозки запасного колеса. По бокам от кормового короба находилась пара прямоугольных щитков, прикрывавших колеса.

Корпус бронеавтомобиля Minerva дополнили набором внешних ящиков для перевозки имущества. Металлические агрегаты, размещенные за пределами основного корпуса, могли в определенной мере повысить общий уровень защиты некоторых участков брони. На левом борту закреплялись два ящика: передний имел меньшую высоту при большей ширине, тогда как задний был уже, но выше. Правый борт оснащался менее крупными коробами. Все дополнительные ящики для имущества закреплялись на борту корпуса и на боковой подножке, выполненной в виде одной детали с крыльями колес.

На скругленном кормовом агрегате броневого корпуса, над условным боевым отделением, располагалась кольцевая опора пулеметной турели. Оружие предлагалось размещать на подвижной установке с возможностью свободного наведения в двух плоскостях. Стрелок мог переместить всю пулеметную установку на нужное направление и осуществить тонкую наводку перемещением собственно пулемета. Подвижная опора оружия комплектовалась броневым щитком с вертикальной амбразурой.


Колонна "Минерв" на шоссе. Фото Wikimedia Commons


Единственным собственным оружием бронеавтомобиля Minerva был пулемет Hotchkiss Modèle 1909 под патрон 7,92x57 мм «Маузер» (по другим данным, под боеприпас типа 8х50 мм «Лебель»). Это оружие использовало боепитание на основе жестких металлических лент-кассет и показывало техническую скорострельность на уровне 500 выстрелов в минуту.

В качестве дополнительного вооружения бронеавтомобиля могло использоваться личное оружие экипажа. Отсутствие крыши позволяло членам экипажа вести огонь через борт, дополняя «главный калибр» в виде пулемета.

Экипаж должен был включать от трех до шести человек. В экипаж во всех случаях входили водитель, командир и пулеметчик. Также экипаж можно было усилить тремя дополнительными стрелками с винтовками. Экипаж должен был попадать в машину через открытый верх корпуса. Для наблюдения за обстановкой водитель имел лобовой и бортовой смотровой лючки. Более крупный лобовой оснащался откидной крышкой. Еще один смотровой люк имелся в центре кормы. По очевидным причинам, пулеметчик и дополнительные стрелки должны были следить за местностью поверх бортов корпуса.


Отсутствие крыши давало определенные удобства. Фото Landships.info


Бельгийский броневик Minerva имел общую длину около 4,9 м при ширине 1,75 м и высоте 2,3 м. Боевая масса достигала 4 т. На шоссе машина могла развить скорость до 40 км/ч. Запас хода – 150 км. На пересеченной местности ходовые качества имеющегося шасси ухудшались, но бронеавтомобиль все же мог передвигаться по бездорожью, в том числе преодолевая препятствия.

Первые два броневика нового типа были перестроены из автомобилей лейтенанта Анкара всего за несколько недель, не позднее конца августа 1914 года. После требуемых проверок новую технику передали армии. Командование заинтересовалось этим проектом, и вскоре появился заказ на массовое производство техники. Компания «Минерва» должна была строить шасси типа 16CV без какого-либо исходного «автомобильного» оснащения. Их следовало передавать на другое предприятие для оснащения броней.

Производство броневиков Minerva продолжалось в течение нескольких недель. В конце сентября немецкие войска начали осаду Антверпена. Менее чем через две недели город перешел под контроль Германии, и завод Minerva Motor Works более не мог поставлять шасси для строительства броневиков для бельгийской армии. До потери Антверпена предприятие успело собрать и поставить порядка 30-35 требуемых шасси. Все они были достроены по существующему проекту, но дальнейшее производство броневиков не представлялось возможным. Как следствие, общее количество «Минерв» более не увеличивалось.


Бельгийские солдаты готовы встретить противника плотным ружейно-пулеметным огнем. Фото Wikimedia Commons


В начале сентября 1914 года первые бельгийские броневики отправились на фронт. Эта техника оказала ожидаемое влияние на ход боев и дала армии определенные преимущества перед противником. Тем не менее, не обошлось без затруднений и проблем. Кроме того, имели место первые потери. Так, уже 6 сентября один из первых броневиков Minerva попал в засаду. Отсутствие крыши привело к трагедии. Огнем противника был убит лейтенант Ш. Анкар. Оставшиеся члены экипажа смогли вырваться из окружения, спасти себя и машину.

В дальнейшем серийные броневики типа Automitrailleuse Minerva использовались для решения ряда задач. Технику свели в несколько взводов, по три машины в каждом. Эти подразделения отправлялись на поддержку пехоты и кавалерии. Помимо непосредственной поддержки войск экипажи занимались ведением разведки в ближнем тылу, патрулированием заданных районов и т.д. Во всех случаях бронетехника показывала, в целом, неплохие результаты.

Бельгийские броневики в течение длительного времени участвовали в боях за оккупированные территории. Чуть позже им удалось принять участие в сражениях на другом театре военных действий. Весной 1915 года значительное число бельгийских солдат и офицеров во главе с майором Коллоном вошло в состав Экспедиционного корпуса Corps des Autos-Canons-Mitrailleuses Belges en Russie. В середине осени это соединение отправилось в Российскую Империю. Вместе с военнослужащими к новому месту службы доставили некоторое количество техники, в том числе 12 бронеавтомобилей, среди которых были и «Минервы».


Бронеавтомобиль Minerva №8 и его пулеметчик. Фото газеты Chicago Tribune, Feb 11, 1915 / Wikimedia Commons


Воюя на двух фронтах, бельгийские броневики время от времени несли потери. Имеющееся бронирование позволяло защитить людей и технику только от пуль стрелкового оружия, однако не гарантировало спасение на малых дистанциях. Артиллерийские орудия без особых проблем уничтожали такую технику. Любопытно, что бельгийский Экспедиционный корпус потерял лишь одну машину типа Minerva. Она была захвачена немецкими войсками и позже была введена в эксплуатацию. Известно, что именно этот броневик дожил до конца войны, а в 1919 году использовался при подавлении массовых акций в Берлине.

Одной из главных причин потерь людей и машин «Минерва» являлось отсутствие крыши корпуса. Пули и осколки попадали через верх и поражали экипажи. В 1916 году стартовали работы по модернизации остававшихся бронеавтомобилей с целью повышения безопасности экипажей. Все имеющиеся машины должны были получить крышу толщиной 4 мм, полностью закрывающей верхний срез корпуса. В бортах корпуса появились двери среднего размера, обеспечивавшие доступ в машину. В корме корпуса теперь помещалась полусферическая башня с устройствами для монтажа пулемета. В кратчайшие сроки подобную доработку прошли все имевшиеся броневики.

По имеющимся данным, почти все броневики Minerva сохранили пулеметное вооружение. Как минимум, одна машина была оснащена 37-мм нарезной пушкой Puteaux SA 18. Это привело к резкому росту огневой мощи и, как следствие, боевой эффективности.


Командир ищет цели, стрелок - атакует. Фото газеты Tensas gazette, Feb 26, 1915 / Wikimedia Commons


Боевое применение модернизированных бронеавтомобилей продолжалось до самого конца Первой мировой войны. К моменту прекращения боевых действия заметное количество машин Minerva было потеряно при тех или иных обстоятельствах, но бельгийская армия все еще сохраняла значительную долю такой техники. Окончание войны могло поставить вопрос о дальнейшей службе имеющейся бронетехники, но его достаточно быстро разрешили в позитивном ключе.

Несмотря на ограниченные характеристики, сравнительно большой возраст и определенные проблемы, броневики «Минерва» сохраняли часть своего потенциала. Их решили оставить на вооружении до появления новых образцов. Служба таких машин в армии продолжалась, по разным данным, до середины двадцатых годов. После этого военные списали имеющуюся технику и передали ее жандармерии. Эта структура проявила большой интерес к бронеавтомобилям и продолжила их эксплуатацию. Только в начале тридцатых годов техника устарела морально и физически, что запустило процесс списания и замены. Последние машины Minerva были сняты с вооружения жандармов только в 1935 году.

Нуждаясь в боевых бронированных машинах, Королевство Бельгия в самом начале Первой мировой войны создало несколько новых бронеавтомобилей. Несмотря на отсутствие опыта в этой сфере, первые проекты были, в целом, удачными. Кроме того, бельгийским автостроителям удалось наладить массовый выпуск техники, который, впрочем, был вскоре прекращен в связи с потерей завода-изготовителя. Несмотря на это, первые бельгийские броневики типа Minerva были достаточно многочисленными и оставили заметный след в военной истории своей страны.


По материалам сайтов:
http://minervamotor-car.50megs.com/
https://militaryfactory.com/
http://tanks-encyclopedia.com/
http://aviarmor.net/
http://landships.info/
Автор: Рябов Кирилл


Читайте "Военное обозрение" в Яндекс Новостях

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Видео в тему

Современная реплика бронеавтомобиля Minerva:
Читайте также

Комментарии 7

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Монархист (Лабинский Слава) 27 декабря 2017 16:55
    Броневик для военной поры получился весьма сносный. 40 километров по шоссе хорошо даже для сегодняшнего дня. Главный минус". Минервы" открытый кузов, даже 4мм крыша дополнительный шанс для экипажа.
    Для меня новость,что бельгийцы воевали на русском фронте
  2. faiver (Андрей) 27 декабря 2017 17:27
    в принципе дешево и сердито, удачная машина
  3. hohol95 (Алексей) 27 декабря 2017 23:05
    В ноябре 1915 года броневые части Русской Армии пополнились извне - в Россию прибыл Бельгийский автобронедивизион (так он фигурирует в русских документах). История его появления такова.
    Весной 1915 года в Париже из бельгийских волонтеров была сформирована отдельная броневая часть - "Корпус автопушек и автопулеметов" (Corps des Autos-Canons-Mitrailleuses). Ее командиром стал майор Коллон. Первоначально этот корпус предназначался для боевых действий на Западе. Однако фронт здесь стабилизировался, и броневики оказались не у дел. В России же в это время шли тяжелые бои в Галиции, в которых активное участие принимали и бронеавтомобили. Поэтому бельгийский король Альберт передал дивизион в распоряжение Николая II.
    Бельгийцы прибыли в Архангельск 13 октября 1915 года. На некоторое время их расквартировали в Петергофе. Суровая русская зима послужила причиной выдачи бельгийским офицерам и солдатам зимней формы одежды, пошитой специально для них - весьма колоритных полушубков и папах. 6 декабря 1915 года состоялся Высочайший смотр дивизиона в Царском Селе, а спустя месяц он прибыл на Юго-Западный фронт. В бельгийских источниках этот дивизион официально именуется как "Экспедиционный корпус бельгийских пушечно-пулеметных автомобилей в России" (Corps Expeditionnaire des Autos-Canons-Mitrailleuses Beiges en Russie).
    В штат дивизиона входили 350 человек личного состава, 13 бронеавтомобилей (6 пушечных, 4 пулеметных и 3 командирских), 6 легковых машин, 20 грузовиков, 18 мотоциклеток и 130 велосипедов. Основными типами бронеавтомобилей были "Морс" и "Пежо".
    Эти машины при массе 3,5 тонны вооружались двумя пулеметами "Гочкис" (из них один запасной) или 37-мм пушкой. Экипаж состоял из 3–4 человек, толщина брони колебалась в пределах от 3 до 7 мм. На броневиках устанавливался двигатель "Минерва" мощностью 35 л.с.
    Кроме боевых машин в дивизионе имелись три командирских (или штабных) без вооружения. Впоследствии они были разобраны на запасные части для боевых машин.
    В ходе боев дивизион потерял несколько броневиков, взамен которых получил один "Армстронг-Уитворт-Фиат" и мгебровский "Рено".
    В январе 1918 года дивизион находился в Киеве. Поскольку путь на Архангельск контролировался большевиками, бельгийцам пришлось эвакуироваться по Транссибирской магистрали через Владивосток, в Китай, а потом в США. При этом Россию покинул только личный состав - материальную часть пришлось оставить.

    Генерал-лейтенант Шишкевич осматривает броневик "Морс" с 8-мм пулеметом Гочкиса. Юго-Западный фронт, 9-я армия, январь 1916 года (РГАКФД).
    1. амурец (николай) 28 декабря 2017 15:42
      Цитата: hohol95
      В январе 1918 года дивизион находился в Киеве. Поскольку путь на Архангельск контролировался большевиками, бельгийцам пришлось эвакуироваться по Транссибирской магистрали через Владивосток, в Китай, а потом в США. При этом Россию покинул только личный состав - материальную часть пришлось оставить.

      Спасибо Интересная информация.
      1. hohol95 (Алексей) 28 декабря 2017 16:18
        Пустяк! drinks Бельгийские БА наверное сломались на сложных русских вёрстах laughing
  4. polpot (Andru) 28 декабря 2017 00:32
    Спасибо за статью интересное содержание и фотографии
  5. tchoni (Евгений) 28 декабря 2017 08:59
    меня в этих броневиках (причем нетолько в минерве, а во всех машинах того периода) всегда умиляет соотношение массы брони к общей массе - 15-20%)))
Картина дня