Military Review

Abrau-Durso: a village erected by a warrior, a wine that has become a symbol. Part of 2

9
The Great Patriotic War took a bloody ax across Abrau-Durso, despite the fact that the main battles concentrated in Novorossiysk. In 1942, the Germans crowded our troops, trying to break through to the Sukhumskoe highway, open the road to Transcaucasia and Turkey, and also seize the functional Novorossiysk port. In such conditions, there was no point in defending the village of Abrau-Durso with its tiny population and the complete absence of strategic and tactical necessity. But what about the factory of sparkling wines “Abrau-Durso”?


Abrau-Durso: a village erected by a warrior, a wine that has become a symbol. Part of 2


Already post-war Abrau-Durso overlooking the factory building

It is also worth mentioning that in 1920, Anastas Mikoyan signed an order on the formation of a stock of vintage and collection wines. These wines also lay in the cellars-tunnels of Abrau. And everything that was created by Russian wine-makers in blood and sweat was to go to the Fritz. Moreover, a collection of elite wines could become a powerful political weapons in the hands of the German "Goebbels".

The evacuation of cement plants and port equipment, which could not be taken away, was in full swing - destroyed. Naturally, there were no resources to take everything out, but there was also a factory of sparkling wines ... Straining all the efforts, the workers of the factory tried to take everything from equipment and documentation to already prepared wine and collection products. But the possibilities were sorely lacking. As a result, it was decided that part of the basements would be safely walled up so that the Nazis would not even have a thought, what is the true length of the Abrau tunnels.



Soviet officer in the company of beautiful ladies on a pleasure boat

But this was not enough. And then, truly, shedding tears on the verge of a heart attack, the plant’s management decided to lower the remaining wine into the lake. Sailors and wine-makers took oak barrels (which are unique in themselves) with elite wines to the middle of the lake and dumped overboard with heavy pontoons. According to various sources, two hundred barrels went to the bottom.



Somewhere at the bottom to this day lie hundreds of wine barrels.

After the war, of course, attempts were made to lift the cargo, but without success. And soon the lake waters and forever covered the barrels with a thick layer of silt and as if absorbed themselves. Given the complex structure of the bottom and the still unexplained nature of Lake Abrau, we will never see those pre-war wine barrels.



The war continued. In the state farm "Abrau-Durso" settled the command post of the General of the Infantry Wilhelm Wettsel. True, the “delicate connoisseur” Wetzel already painted a picture of his personal estate on the beautiful shores of a mountain lake. By the way, it was in Abrau on the eve of the hardest 1943 battles of the year of the year that General von Greifenberg arrived at Wetzel to discuss the operation to eliminate the “Small Earth” bridgehead.



It was in this pacifying mountain landscape near the lake surface that the German generals worked out the plan for Operation Neptune. It is ironic that the collapse of this operation will bury both the hope of eliminating the “Little Earth” and entering the Sukhumskoye highway, and the dream of a cozy mansion on the bank of Abrau.

When it became clear even for the most fanatical “SS” that it was impossible to remain in Novorossiysk, “enlightened Europeans” and wine connoisseurs appreciated more than half a century of efforts by Russian wine-makers “to their merits”. Cellars threw grenades, and the vineyards tried to burn. Not reaching the elite and free drinks, the carriers of the “drinking culture” began to devastate the village. Most of the production infrastructure was destroyed, the Nazis did not leave without their attention even the mountain serpentine, connecting the village with Novorossiysk.



Immediately after the liberation of Abrau in the middle of September 1943, the active harvest of the surviving crop began. The workers opened the preserved basements, found there 1600 wine barrels. Immediately, presses for grapes were brought to the village, and wine production began in the dilapidated buildings. I think it is not worth talking about what a feat the state farm workers made in these hungry and terrible years. But it was necessary, by all means, to keep the brand ...



In 1955, the design was completed and the construction of the factory of champagne and table wines began. The infrastructure destroyed during the war, from the roads to the power lines, was also actively built. Then the final appearance of Abrau was formed, which reached us.

Unfortunately, now the Abrau-Durso plant headed for “Westernism” and “Glamor”. Here you will often hear the name of Dravigny, rather than the legendary scientist winemaker Frolov-Bagreev, the agronomist Heyduk or the founding general Pylenko. Apparently, this course is dictated by the oligarch Titov. Of course, the plant is developing, but at the same time, in pursuit of success, it loses that royal, and later Soviet statehood. Bohemian mediocrity is constantly being brought here, and relatively recently I was even “lucky enough” to meet Yeltsin Khakamada in Abrau with a Yeltsin singing and dancing.



The sight was surreal. Above the water surface of a mountain lake, a speech of a professional political outsider rushed full of liberal doctrine labels. The small public, as I later became aware, mostly stood in anticipation of the Leningrad group concert and did not understand very well why there was a political dispute here, and even with Khakamada.





All less remember the creator of the cult "Soviet champagne" Anton Frolov-Bagreev. Persons of the era go into the shadows, so to feel the true Abrau, then it is better to come in the winter, when the bohemians are busy with New Year’s “chez” or warming their silicone bodies behind the cordon. Only then can you feel the peace that so attracted General Pilenko - a career officer and winemaker.
Author:
9 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. parusnik
    parusnik 12 January 2018 07: 37
    +3
    Having not reached the elite and free drink, the bearers of the "culture of drinking" began to devastate the village.
    ... But what about the "enlightened" Europeans .. Thank you to the author for an interesting article ...
  2. Albatroz
    Albatroz 12 January 2018 07: 45
    17
    Richly illustrated article.
    Hood!
  3. urman
    urman 12 January 2018 08: 32
    +4
    Liked! I live nearby and did not bother to visit. After the article I will definitely sit down, the more the author writes that it is better to go there in the winter.
  4. Monster_Fat
    Monster_Fat 12 January 2018 09: 33
    +2
    At one time, Abrau came to underwater hunting for silver carp, bream, etc. The water was normal for diving in a suit .... and clean, even collected crayfish ... But for a long time it was ... back in the USSR ...
  5. Des10
    Des10 12 January 2018 12: 34
    0
    Abrau-Durso used to be high-quality and expensive wines, but not for 200 r quite and so on in bulk. It is like Maserati in price and, accordingly, in circulation, Fiat. Yes, I do not mind, but - the dream is gone. )
  6. Curious
    Curious 12 January 2018 14: 05
    +4
    About 70% of Abrau-Durso wine material is imported (mainly from South Africa). From it, the company makes inexpensive lines of its sparkling wines. Expensive sparkling wines made by classical technology and all still wines are produced by the company from Russian grapes, but it is not enough.
  7. Mamka pula
    Mamka pula 12 January 2018 15: 58
    15
    I love Abrau - Durso!
  8. wax
    wax 12 January 2018 16: 45
    +2
    A miracle is a place, and guilt has worsened for everyone. The quantity goes into poor quality. In Soviet times, finding brut is simply happiness, and now - drink sour as much as you want.
  9. A.
    A. 22 January 2018 20: 10
    0
    Quote: Wax
    A miracle is a place, and guilt has worsened for everyone. The quantity goes into poor quality. In Soviet times, finding brut is simply happiness, and now - drink sour as much as you want.

    Once we were treated to champagne Abrau-Durso, they said that it was expensive. It turned out to be sour in taste, in smell - dichlorvos reminded. It's a bit sad of course.

Абрау-Дюрсо: посёлок, возведённый воином, вино, ставшее символом. Часть 2

Великая Отечественная война кровавым топором прошла по Абрау-Дюрсо, несмотря на то, что основные бои сконцентрировались в Новороссийске. В 1942 году немцы теснили наши войска, пытаясь прорваться на Сухумское шоссе, открыть дорогу в Закавказье и в Турцию, а также завладеть функциональным Новороссийским портом. В таких условиях оборонять посёлок Абрау-Дюрсо с его крохотным населением и полным отсутствием стратегической и тактической необходимости не имело смысла. Но как же завод шампанских вин «Абрау-Дюрсо»?

Абрау-Дюрсо: посёлок, возведённый воином, вино, ставшее символом. Часть 2


Уже послевоенный Абрау-Дюрсо с видом на здание завода


Стоит также упомянуть, что в 1920 году Анастас Микоян подписал приказ об образовании фонда выдержанных и коллекционных вин. Эти вина также лежали в подвалах-тоннелях Абрау. И всё то, что кровью и потом создавалось русскими виноделами выходит должно было достаться фрицам. Более того коллекция элитных вин могла стать мощным политическим оружием в руках германских «геббельсов».

Шла полным ходом эвакуация цементных заводов и портовой техники, что нельзя было увезти - уничтожалось. Естественно, ресурсов, чтобы вывезти всё не было, а тут ещё и завод шампанских вин… Напрягая все усилия работники завода старались вывезти всё – от оборудования и документации до уже приготовленного вина и коллекционной продукции. Но возможностей катастрофически не хватало. В итоге было принято решение часть подвалов надёжно замуровать, чтобы у нацистов и мысли не возникло, на какую истинную длину раскинулись тоннели Абрау.



Советский офицер в обществе прекрасных дам на прогулочной лодке

Но и этого оказалось недостаточно. И тогда, верно, обливаясь слезами на грани инфаркта, руководство завода решило спустить оставшееся вино в озеро. Моряки и виноделы с отяжелевших от груза понтонов вывозили дубовые бочки (которые сами по себе уникальны) с элитными винами на середину озера и сбрасывали за борт. По разным данным на дно отправилось две сотни бочек.



Где-то на дне по сей день лежат сотни винных бочек

После войны, конечно, попытки поднять груз предпринимались, но безуспешно. А вскоре озёрные воды и вовсе навсегда покрыли бочки толстым слоем ила и будто вобрали в себя. Учитывая сложную структуру дна и до сих пор невыясненную природу озера Абрау, мы уже никогда не увидим тех предвоенных винных бочек.



Война продолжалась. В совхозе «Абрау-Дюрсо» обосновался командный пункт генерала от инфантерии Вильгельма Ветцеля. Верно, «тонкий ценитель» Ветцель уже живописно расписывал картину своего личного имения на красивейших берегах горного озера. Кстати, именно в Абрау в преддверии тяжелейших апрельских боёв 1943 года к Ветцелю прибыл генерал фон Грейфенберг, чтобы обсудить операцию по ликвидации плацдарма «Малая Земля».



Именно в этом умиротворяющем горном пейзаже у водной озёрной глади германские генералы разрабатывали план операции «Нептун». Какая ирония, что крах данной операции похоронит как надежду ликвидировать «Малую Землю» и выйти на Сухумское шоссе, так и мечты об уютном особнячке на берегу Абрау.

Когда стало ясно даже для самого фанатичного «СС», что удержаться в Новороссийске невозможно, «просвещённые европейцы» и ценители вин оценили более чем полувековые старания русских виноделов «по достоинству». Подвалы забрасывали гранатами, а виноградники старались сжечь. Не добравшись до элитной и дармовой выпивки, носители «культуры пития» принялись опустошать посёлок. Большая часть производственной инфраструктуры была уничтожена, не оставили без своего внимания нацисты даже горный серпантин, соединявший посёлок с Новороссийском.



Сразу после освобождения Абрау в середине сентября 1943 года начался активный сбор уцелевшего урожая. Рабочие вскрыли сохранившиеся подвалы, там обнаружили 1600 бочек вина. Сразу же в посёлок привезли прессы для винограда, и в полуразвалившихся зданиях началось производство вина. Говорить о том, какой подвиг совершили работники совхоза в эти голодные и страшные годы, думаю, не стоит. Но надо было, во что бы то ни стало, держать марку…



В 1955 году было закончено проектирование и началось строительство непосредственно завода шампанских и столовых вин. Также активно строилась разрушенная в ходе войны инфраструктура – от дорог до электролиний. Тогда и сформировался окончательный облик Абрау, который дошёл до нас.

К сожалению, сейчас завод Абрау-Дюрсо взял курс на «западничество» и «гламур». Здесь чаще услышишь фамилию Дравиньи, нежели легендарного учёного винодела Фролова-Багреева, агронома Гейдука или генерала-основателя Пиленко. Видимо, этот курс продиктован олигархом Титовым. Конечно, завод развивается, но при этом в погоне за успехом теряет ту царскую, а позже советскую державность. Сюда постоянно завозят богемных бездарностей, а относительно недавно мне даже «посчастливилось» встретить в Абрау ельцинскую певунью-плясунью Ирину Хакамаду.



Зрелище было сюрреалистическое. Над водной гладью горного озера неслась полная либеральных доктринёрских ярлыков речь профессионального политического аутсайдера. Немногочисленная публика, как мне стало потом известно, в основном стояла в ожидании концерта группы «Ленинград» и слабо понимала, зачем здесь устраивать политический диспут, да ещё с Хакамадой.





Всё меньше вспоминают создателя культового «Советского шампанского» Антона Фролова-Багреева. Лица эпохи уходят в тень, поэтому чтобы почувствовать истинный Абрау, то приезжать лучше зимой, когда богема занята новогодним «чёсом» или прогревает свои силиконовые тела за кордоном. Только тогда можно почувствовать то умиротворение, что так привлекло генерала Пиленко – кадрового офицера и винодела.
Автор: Восточный ветер


Читайте "Военное обозрение" в Яндекс Новостях

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также

Комментарии 9

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. parusnik (Алексей Богомазов) 12 января 2018 07:37
    Не добравшись до элитной и дармовой выпивки, носители «культуры пития» принялись опустошать посёлок.
    ...А как же "просвещенные" европейцы..Спасибо, автору за интересную статью...
  2. Albatroz (Manfred) 12 января 2018 07:45
    Богато иллюстрированная статья.
    Гуд!
  3. урман (александр) 12 января 2018 08:32
    Понравилось! Живу рядом а так и не удосужился побывать. После статьи обязательно сьежу, тем более автор пишет что лучше зимой там побывать.
  4. Monster_Fat (Да Какая Разница) 12 января 2018 09:33
    В свое время в Абрау приезжал заниматься подводной охотой на толстолобика, леща и пр. Вода была нормальная для ныряния в костюме....и чистая-даже раков собирал... Но давно это было...еще при СССР...
  5. Des10 (Александр) 12 января 2018 12:34
    Раньше Абрау-Дюрсо - высококачественные и дорогие вина, а ноне - за 200р вполне и пр. навалом. Это как Мазерати по цене и, соответственно - тиражу, Фиат. Да я не против, но - мечта ушла. )
  6. Curious (Victor) 12 января 2018 14:05
    Примерно 70% виноматериала "Абрау-Дюрсо" импортирует (главным образом из ЮАР). Из него компания делает недорогие линейки своих игристых вин. Дорогие игристые вина, изготовленные по классической технологии, и все тихие вина компания производит из российского винограда, но его недостаточно.
  7. Mamka pula (Татьяна) 12 января 2018 15:58
    Люблю Абрау - Дюрсо!
  8. вакса (Валерий Зюков) 12 января 2018 16:45
    Чудо место, а вина для всех похужели. Количество переходит в низкое качество. В советское время найти брют - просто счастье, а сейчас - пей кислятины сколько хочешь.
  9. Анатольевич (Александр) 22 января 2018 20:10
    Цитата: вакса
    Чудо место, а вина для всех похужели. Количество переходит в низкое качество. В советское время найти брют - просто счастье, а сейчас - пей кислятины сколько хочешь.

    Как то угостили шампанским Абрау-Дюрсо, сказали что дорогое. По вкусу оказалось кислятиной, по запаху - дихлофос напомнило. Грусновато конечно.
Картина дня