Military Review

US report: Russia plays a dominant role in the economy of Bulgaria

14



Russia has a serious influence on the politics, business and energy sector of Bulgaria, even despite the country's membership in the EU and NATO, alleged in a report compiled by staff of the US Senate Committee on International AffairsThis was the first large-scale study of the strategy and tactics used by the Kremlin in the past two decades to intervene in political processes in Europe and the USA.

“Russia influences Bulgaria through its dominant role in the country's economy, mainly in the energy sector, as well as through propaganda, relations with political parties, cultural events and strongly influences the Bulgarian army, which continues to rely on Soviet-time equipment,” in the report.

“Sustainable historical relations between Bulgaria and Russia make the country unique among other EU and NATO countries, and requires constant vigilance regarding the effects of Russian influence in the country. ”

The 200 document with the title “Putin’s Asymmetric Attack on Democracy in Russia and Europe: Implications for US National Security” was prepared on the initiative of Democratic Senator Ben Cardin. Introducing the report, Senator stated that “while President Trump is practically inactive, Mr. Putin continues to improve his asymmetrical arsenal and look for opportunities to undermine the democratic and international institutions created by the United States and Europe over the past 70 years.”

The report emphasizes that Moscow influences Bulgaria with the help of soft power and energy dependence.

The Bulgarian Socialist Party (BSP) continues to maintain good relations with Moscow, and its chairman Cornelia Ninova constantly calls for the lifting of European sanctions against Russia, the report says. The Attack Party continuously calls for rapprochement with Russia and opposes Bulgaria’s membership in the EU and NATO. Its leader, Volen Siderov, began the election campaign of 2014 of the year in Moscow, the report says.

The document also notes that the government of Boyko Borisov declares the implementation of the EU and NATO engagements.

“As long as the history of Bulgarian-Russian relations is based on liberation from the Ottoman yoke, Moscow’s modern methods of influence will focus on soft power, energy, political and cultural influence,” the report emphasizes.

The document also cites research data from the non-governmental organization GLOBSEC, according to which around 70% of Bulgarians have a positive attitude towards Vladimir Putin, which is the highest rating among all EU countries.

The report notes that Bulgaria is almost completely dependent on Russian oil and gas. The country is counting on supplies from Russia of fuel for the Kozloduy NPP, which produces 35% of electricity in Bulgaria.

In one of the poorest countries in Europe, whose population is aging, social factors play a huge role in the success of the Russian campaigns in Bulgaria.

With the help of the Russkiy Mir Foundation, the Russian government supports organizations that “in partnership with the Russian Orthodox Church popularize the Russian language and Russian culture.” There are six such centers in Bulgaria, the report says.

Russia used the 2016 presidential election of the year to influence Bulgarian politics. During the election campaign, the then director of the Russian Institute for Strategic Studies, Leonid Reshetnikov, visited Bulgaria, where he met with Cornelia Ninova, recalled in the report and mentioned the presence of an alleged strategic document that helped the presidential election to win the election of the BSP candidate. However, becoming President Rumen Radev does not cease to declare support for the country's membership in the EU and NATO, the report stresses.

The Kremlin continues to interfere in the internal affairs of Bulgaria after the presidential elections. More than 300 Bulgarian sites spread pro-Russian propaganda before the parliamentary elections of the year 2017. Kremlin-sponsored trolls also play a significant role in enhancing Russian influence in Bulgaria.

Nevertheless, the country continues to actively participate in NATO missions, the report stresses. However, outdated military equipment, on whose support Bulgaria relies mainly on Russia, makes it difficult to fully fulfill the country's duties.

The Bulgarian government should urgently reduce its dependence on Russian weapons "in the light of the Law on Countering America's Opponents through Sanctions," the report says. This law gives the right to impose sanctions on countries closely cooperating with Russia in the defense and energy sectors.

The report contains more 30 recommendations, which, according to Senator Ben Cardin, should be immediately implemented by the White House.

Among them is the creation by the US president of an interdepartmental center that would take over the coordination of politics and the elaboration of a response to the actions of the Kremlin. The United States must also expand the assistance provided to its allies in Europe and to those countries that are not yet capable of independently resisting Russian financial, energy and information aggression. A model for creating a new international coalition could be the principles according to which the Global Coalition against the “Islamic State” was formed.

One of the most effective tools by the authors of the study is disclosure of information about corruption in Russia.

"The US Treasury must make public any intelligence on the corruption and personal condition of Mr. Putin hiding abroad, and take steps, together with our European allies, to cut Mr. Putin and members of his inner circle from access to global financial system, ”the document says.
Author:
Originator:
https://rus.bg/obschestvo/obschestvo/21687-doklad-ssha-rossiya-igraet-dominiruyushchuyu-rol-v-ekonomike-bolgarii
14 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. aszzz888
    aszzz888 13 January 2018 08: 45
    +4
    To listen, read these mericatos - and it becomes clear, without Russia, ANYWHERE !!! She is omnipotent and omnipresent!
    1. Thracian warrior
      Thracian warrior 13 January 2018 13: 15
      +7
      Pnd @ chuyka himself, with Bulgaria as an enemy of Russia, things went wrong. laughing
      1. antivirus
        antivirus 15 January 2018 20: 59
        0
        you can buy the whole village \ household instead of from Mexico + no-charge weapons + your own "cheap" gas-oil (cheaper than the KSA and the Russian Federation) + free from the Turks (there will still be a case by 2060)
        the commission worked out its money
  2. San Sanych
    San Sanych 13 January 2018 09: 31
    +4
    The United States is still those "helpers", they will give a nickel for so, but then they will tear off the ruble)
  3. Mountain shooter
    Mountain shooter 13 January 2018 10: 19
    +9
    Here I am curious. You can relate to GDP as you like, but only in stupidity is he not noticed. And how should you be an idiot so that, having a huge country subordinate, keep some funds "abroad"? Risk ALL for what? After all, it’s impossible to take advantage of such means anyway ... People building such theories are based on their own, thieves' psychology. And they are not aware that there is another ...
    1. Evdokim
      Evdokim 13 January 2018 17: 11
      +2
      Quote: Mountain Shooter
      And how should you be an idiot so that, having a huge country subordinate, keep some funds "abroad"?

      Not so much an idiot as a paranoid, d @ beat bl ..... hi
  4. parusnik
    parusnik 13 January 2018 10: 31
    +3
    Judging by this report, the Americans are "outside observers" ..
    1. antivirus
      antivirus 15 January 2018 21: 00
      +1
      they are always for freedom .. and against all bad
  5. parathyron
    parathyron 13 January 2018 12: 23
    +3
    “resist Russian financial, energy and information aggression” And all their actions are a boon to humanity, but they themselves are a symbol of all good and progressive. When will the countries understand this primitive wiring that covers their predatory plans ?!
    1. The Grubby
      The Grubby 13 January 2018 18: 21
      +3
      Quote: parathyron
      When will the countries understand this primitive wiring that covers their predatory plans ?!


      Meanwhile, Israel is at the same time with the United States in their bloody adventures in the Middle East.
  6. shinobi
    shinobi 13 January 2018 19: 14
    +2
    He smiled! The report for the senator is just the cry of pain. "Save yourself! The Russians are coming!"
  7. tosha.chuhontzev
    tosha.chuhontzev 17 January 2018 14: 04
    0
    Now I have no doubt that schizophrenia is an infectious disease transmitted by airborne droplets. Political schizophrenia will destroy the Americans, not beer!
  8. alatanas
    alatanas 17 January 2018 21: 20
    +2
    "The hat is on the thief." We have been living here for more than 1300 years, about 1100 years and more, as Orthodox. The first Slavic books were written here. Relations with the Russians also date back over 1000 years. If the Americans expect that we will immediately shut up with the Protestants and beat shamanistic tambourines - it will not work! What kind of cones?
    They in Bulgaria totally push the media, the government and intervene wherever they can.
  9. pytar
    22 January 2018 23: 02
    0
    Quote: alatanas
    They in Bulgaria totally push the media, the government and intervene wherever they can.

    Nevertheless, the mattresses did not achieve anything. In vain spent so much money and effort. The Bulgarians remain the Russophile people themselves in the EU. This is according to opinion polls. western social agencies!

Доклад США: Россия играет доминирующую роль в экономике Болгарии



Россия имеет серьезное влияние на политику, бизнес и энергетический сектор Болгарии, даже вопреки членству страны в ЕС и НАТО, утверждается в докладе, составленном сотрудниками аппарата сенатского комитета по международным делам США, который стал первым масштабным исследованием стратегии и тактики, использованной Кремлем в последние два десятилетия для вмешательства в политические процессы в странах Европы и США.

«Россия влияет на Болгарию с помощью своей доминирующей роли в экономике страны, в основном в энергетическом секторе, как и с помощью пропаганды, отношений с политическими партиями, культурных событий и сильно влияет на Болгарскую армию, которая продолжает рассчитывать на оборудование советского времени», пишется в докладе.


«Устойчивые исторические отношения между Болгарией и Россией делают страну уникальной среди других стран ЕС и НАТО, и требует постоянной бдительности в отношении эффектов российского влияния в стране».

Документ объемом в 200 страниц под названием «Ассиметричная атака Путина на демократию в России и Европе: последствия для национальной безопасности США» подготовлен по инициативе сенатора-демократа Бена Кардина. Представляя доклад, сенатор заявил, что «в то время как президент Трамп практически бездействует, г-н Путин продолжает совершенствовать свой асимметричный арсенал и искать возможности для подрыва демократических и международных институтов, созданных Соединенными Штатами и Европой за последние 70 лет».

В докладе подчеркивается, что Москва влияет на Болгарию с помощью мягкой силы и энергетической зависимости.

Болгарская социалистическая партия (БСП) продолжает поддерживать хорошие отношения с Москвой, а ее председатель Корнелия Нинова постоянно призывает к отмене европейских санкций против России, указывается в докладе. Партия «Атака» непрерывно призывает к сближению с Россией и выступает против членства Болгарии в ЕС и НАТО. Ее лидер Волен Сидеров начал предвыборную кампанию 2014 года именно в Москве, говорится еще в докладе.

Также в документе отмечается, что правительство Бойко Борисова декларирует выполнение ангажементов ЕС и НАТО.

«Пока история болгаро-российский отношений будет основываться на освобождении от османского ига, современные методы влияния Москвы будут сфокусированы на мягкой силе, энергетике, политическом и культурном влиянии», подчеркивается в докладе.

В документе цитируются и данные исследования неправительственной организации GLOBSEC, согласно которым около 70% болгар положительно относятся к Владимиру Путину, что является самой высокой оценкой среди всех стран ЕС.

В докладе отмечается, что Болгария почти полностью зависит от российских нефти и газа. Страна рассчитывает на поставки из России топлива для АЭС «Козлодуй», которая производит 35% электроэнергии в Болгарии.

В одной из беднейших стран Европы, населения которой стареет, социальные факторы играют огромную роль в успехе российских кампаний в Болгарии.

С помощью фонда «Русский мир» правительство России поддерживает организации, которые «в партнерстве с Русской православной церковью популяризируют русский язык и русскую культуру». В Болгарии работает шесть подобных центра, отмечается в докладе.

Россия использовала президентские выборы 2016 года для влияния на болгарскую политику. Во время предвыборной кампании тогдашний директор Российского института стратегический исследований Леонид Решетников посетил Болгарию, где встретился с Корнелией Ниновой, напоминается в докладе и упоминается о наличии предполагаемого стратегического документа, который помог выиграть выборы президента кандидату БСП. Однако, став президентом Румен Радев не перестает декларировать поддержку членства страны в ЕС и НАТО, подчеркивается в докладе.

Кремль продолжает вмешиваться во внутренние дела Болгарии и после выборов президента. Более 300 болгарских сайтов распространяли пророссийскую пропаганду перед парламентскими выборами 2017 года. Тролли, финансируемые Кремлем, также играют значительную роль в усилении российского влияния в Болгарии.

Все же страна продолжает активно участвовать в миссиях НАТО, подчеркивается в докладе. Однако, устаревшая военная техника, на поддержку которой Болгария рассчитывает в основном на Россию, затрудняет полноценное исполнение обязанностей страны.

Правительство Болгарии должно срочно снизить зависимость от российского вооружения «в свете Закона о противодействии противников Америки через санкции», пишется еще в докладе. Этот закон дает право ввести санкции на страны, тесно сотрудничающие с Россией в секторе обороны и энергетики.

В докладе содержатся более 30 рекомендаций, которые, как считает сенатор Бен Кардин, должны быть немедленно реализованы Белым домом.

В их числе – создание президентом США межведомственного центра, который взял бы на себя координацию политики и выработку ответа на действия Кремля. Соединенные Штаты также должны расширить помощь, оказываемую союзникам в Европе и тем странам, которые пока не способны самостоятельно противостоять российской финансовой, энергетической и информационной агрессии. Образцом для создания новой международной коалиции могли бы стать принципы, согласно которым была образована Глобальная коалиция по борьбе с «Исламским государством».

Одним из наиболее эффективных инструментов авторы исследования считают раскрытие информации о коррупции в России.

«Министерство финансов США должно обнародовать любые данные спецслужб о коррумпированности и личном состоянии г-на Путина, укрытом за рубежом, и вместе с нашими европейскими союзниками предпринять шаги для того, чтобы отрезать г-на Путина и членов его ближнего круга от доступа к мировой финансовой системе», говорится в документе.
Автор: Сайт "Русская Болгария"
Первоисточник: https://rus.bg/obschestvo/obschestvo/21687-doklad-ssha-rossiya-igraet-dominiruyushchuyu-rol-v-ekonomike-bolgarii


Читайте "Военное обозрение" в Яндекс Новостях

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также

Комментарии 14

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. a.s.zzz888 (шериф) 13 января 2018 08:45
    Послушать, почитать этих мерикатосов - и становится понятным, без России НИКУДА!!! Она всемогущая и вездесущая!
    1. Фракийский воин (Бисер) 13 января 2018 13:15
      У пнд@сам чуйка, што с Болгарий как враг России дело пошло не так. laughing
      1. антивирус 15 января 2018 20:59
        можно купить всю сел\хоз вместо из Мексики + бездвоздмездно оружие+ свой "дешевый" газ-нефть( дешевле КСА и РФ)+ освободить от турок( еще будет случай к 2060 году)
        комиссия отработала свои деньги
  2. Сан Саныч (Олег Андреев) 13 января 2018 09:31
    США еще те "помогальщики" , пятак дадут за так, зато потом рубль сдерут)
  3. Горный стрелок (Евгений) 13 января 2018 10:19
    Вот мне любопытно. Можно как угодно относится к ВВП, но только в глупости он не замечен. А каким надо быть идиотом, чтобы, имея в подчинении огромную страну, хранить какие то средства "за рубежом"? Рисковать ВСЕМ ради чего? Ведь такими средствами все равно воспользоваться не получится... Люди, строящие подобные теории, основываются на собственной, ВОРОВСКОЙ, психологии. И невдомек им, что существует другая...
    1. Евдоким ( Юрий) 13 января 2018 17:11
      Цитата: Горный стрелок
      А каким надо быть идиотом, чтобы, имея в подчинении огромную страну, хранить какие то средства "за рубежом"?

      Не столько идиотом, сколько параноиком, д@билы бл..... hi
  4. parusnik (Алексей Богомазов) 13 января 2018 10:31
    Судя по данному докладу, америкосы "сторонние наблюдатели"..
    1. антивирус 15 января 2018 21:00
      они всегда за свободу.. и против всего плохого
  5. паратирон (Василий) 13 января 2018 12:23
    "противостоять российской финансовой, энергетической и информационной агрессии" А все их действия - сплошное благодеяние для человечества, сами же - символ всего доброго и прогрессивного. Когда же страны поймут эту примитивную разводку, прикрывающую их грабительские планы?!
    1. Грубиян (Алексей) 13 января 2018 18:21
      Цитата: паратирон
      Когда же страны поймут эту примитивную разводку, прикрывающую их грабительские планы?!


      Меж тем Израиль заодно с США в их кровавых авантюрах на ближнем востоке.
  6. синоби (Юрий) 13 января 2018 19:14
    Улыбнуло!Отчёт для сенатора прямо таки крик боли."Спасайтесь!Русские идут!"
  7. tosha.chuhontzev (Тоша) 17 января 2018 14:04
    Теперь я не сомневаюсь, что шизофрения - это инфекционное заболевание передваемое воздушно-капельным путём. Американцев погубит не пиво, а политическая шизофрения!
  8. alatanas (Александър Атанасов) 17 января 2018 21:20
    "На воре шапка горит". Более 1300 лет здесь проживаем, около 1100 лет и более, как православные. Первые славянские книги у нас были написаны. Связи с русскими датируют тоже более 1000 лет. Если американцы ожидают, что мы сразу протестантами заделаемся и будем в бубны шаманские бить - не получится! За какие такие шишы?
    Они в Болгарии тотально осуществляют нажим на медии, правительство и вмешиваются везде где могут.
  9. pytar (Боян Иванов) 22 января 2018 23:02
    Цитата: alatanas
    Они в Болгарии тотально осуществляют нажим на медии, правительство и вмешиваются везде где могут.

    И все равно матрасники ничего не добились. Зря потратили столь много денег и усилий. Болгары остаются самы руссофилский народ в ЕС. Это по соцопросах западных соц-агенции!
Картина дня