Military Review

Navigator and polar explorer Ferdinand Wrangel

7
Navigator and polar explorer Ferdinand Wrangel



Wrangell made three round-the-world trips, explored the hard-to-reach areas of the Far North, claimed the Russian presence in America and negotiated with Mexico about the transfer of territories to Russia in California

Baron Wrangel was born into a noble family, the main principle of which was to serve the Fatherland. “I die, but I don’t give up!” - this motto is inscribed on the Wrangel family coat of arms. He determined the life course of many representatives of the famous German-Danish family, regardless of what service they performed.

One of the most famous representatives of the genus was the great navigator and scientist Ferdinand Petrovich Wrangel. He was born on December 29 1796 (January 9 1797) in the ancient Russian city of Pskov. In 10, the boy was orphaned and was sent by his relatives to the Naval Cadet Corps of St. Petersburg. Meeting with the great navigator Fyodor Kruzenshtern determined his life. Thrice Wrangel went on world travel. For the first time on the ship "Kamchatka", under the leadership of Admiral Vasily Golovnin. In the second round-the-world voyage, to the shores of Russian America, Wrangel himself headed the Meleky military transport.

Between the two round-the-world voyages, Wrangel took part in a unique scientific expedition along the northeast coast of Siberia, during which thousands of kilometers of remote territories of Russia were described. After 20 years, it was Ferdinand Wrangel who became one of the initiators of the creation of the Russian Geographical Society.

A significant part of the life of the famous explorer and explorer was associated with Russian America. From 1830 to 1835, Ferdinand Petrovich served as the main ruler of Russian America, and in 1840 he was director of a Russian-American company. As governor, Wrangel continued to do research, he personally investigated the western North American coast from the Bering Strait to California, created a magnetic meteorological observatory on Sitka Island and made a great contribution to the development of ethnography.

In the American possessions of Russia, he had to work hard on both state and church activities with the great missionary Innokenty (Benjamin). Together they built temples and schools and preached the gospel to the locals.

In 1835-1836, one of the first Russians he traveled in unfamiliar Mexico, the report of this trip formed the basis of his travel feature. It contains not only materials of a geographical or ethnographic nature, but also interesting sketches about Mexican society, about the customs and customs of Mexicans, information about the foreign policy of the country. In Mexico, as a representative of a Russian-American company, he negotiated with the Mexican government, Russia had a real opportunity to gain a foothold in this territory, the Mexican government in exchange for recognition from Russia of Mexico as a state, agreed to cede the Slavyanka valley, but Nicholas I did not go for this agreement.

In 1867, the land, the discovery and development of which was accompanied by great dangers, Russia was forced to sell to the United States. Wrangell was against this deal. However, his work, as well as the work of many other Russian pioneers, was not in vain, Russian Orthodoxy remained forever on American soil.
Author:
Originator:
http://rusplt.ru/wins/moreplavatel-polyarnyiy-issledovatel-32129.html
7 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Vard
    Vard 13 January 2018 15: 18 New
    +2
    The heroism of some ... The complete lack of care of others ... It was in those days and now ...
  2. parusnik
    parusnik 13 January 2018 16: 16 New
    +4
    It is a pity, the article is very short .. It was possible to write more about this outstanding man. His main works are: "An outline of the path from Sith to St. Petersburg" (1836); "Historical Review of Travels on the Arctic Ocean" (1836); "Traveling along the northern shores of Siberia and the Arctic Sea" (1841).
    1. Andrey Yuryevich
      Andrey Yuryevich 13 January 2018 17: 16 New
      +1
      He personally explored the western North American coast from the Bering Strait to California, created the Magnetic Meteorological Observatory on Sitka Island and made a great contribution to the development of ethnography.
      so ... fuck all .... return Alaska! the baron definitely "marked" her ... means ours. (period)
  3. captain
    captain 13 January 2018 19: 01 New
    +1
    The villains in VO, started writing about Wrangel. Nothing, when the true Leninists return, everyone will remember.
    1. svd-xnumx
      svd-xnumx 13 January 2018 19: 47 New
      +3
      If it’s a joke, insert a smiley face. If not, you should know that the true Leninists didn’t erase the name Wrangel from geographical maps ..
    2. Was mammoth
      Was mammoth 13 January 2018 20: 03 New
      +2
      Quote: captain
      Nothing, when the true Leninists return, everyone will remember.

      Nothing that article about F.P. Wrangel? About the one whose name the island is named. Ile, you only know about one certain "black baron"? And they didn’t even read the article diagonally?
      Hesitates? Something was recalled of the American secretary of defense, who had kicked out of the window. Sick, however.wink
  4. Olgovich
    Olgovich 14 January 2018 07: 14 New
    0
    Wrangels are the oldest numerous family. famous 13th century. Had 40 branches! Only on the field near Poltava remained 22 Wrangel-from the Swedish side.
    In the Russian service was the largest network of Wrangels, diplomats, scientific ministers, generals, art historians, entrepreneurs, worked gloriously for the good of Russia!

Мореплаватель и полярный исследователь Фердинанд Врангель

Мореплаватель и полярный исследователь Фердинанд Врангель


Врангель совершил три кругосветных путешествия, исследовал труднодоступные районы Крайнего Севера, утверждал русское присутствие в Америке и вел переговоры с Мексикой о передаче России территорий в Калифорнии

Барон Врангель родился в дворянской семье, главным принципом которого было служение Отечеству. «Погибаю, но не сдаюсь!», - этот девиз начертан на фамильном гербе Врангелей. Он определял жизненный путь многих представителей знаменитого немецко-датского рода, вне зависимости от того, какую службу они исполняли.


Одним из самых известных представителей рода стал великий мореплаватель и ученый Фердинанд Петрович Врангель. Он родился 29 декабря 1796 (9 января 1797) года в старинном русском городе Пскове. В 10 лет мальчик осиротел и был отправлен родственниками в Морской кадетский корпус Петербурга. Встреча с великим мореплавателем Федором Крузенштерном определила его жизнь. Трижды Врангель ходил в кругосветные путешествия. В первый раз на корабле «Камчатка», под руководством адмирала Василия Головнина. Во втором кругосветном плавании, к берегам Русской Америки, Врангель сам возглавил военный транспорт «Кроткий».

Между двумя кругосветными плаваниями Врангель принимал участие в уникальной научной экспедиции по северо-восточному побережью Сибири, в ходе которой были описаны тысячи километров отдаленных территорий России. Через 20 лет именно Фердинанд Врангель стал одним из инициаторов создания Российского Географического Общества.

Значительная часть жизни прославленного мореплавателя и исследователя оказалась связана с Русской Америкой. С 1830 по 1835 год Фердинанд Петрович занимал пост главного правителя Русской Америки, а в 1840 годы был директором Российско-Американской компании. На посту губернатора Врангель продолжал заниматься научной работой, он лично исследовал западное североамериканское побережье от Берингова пролива до Калифорнии, создал магнитно-метеорологическую обсерваторию на острове Ситка и внес большой вклад в развитие этнографии.

В американских владениях России ему пришлось потрудиться и на государственном, и на церковном поприще вместе с великим миссионером Иннокентием (Вениаминовым). Вместе они строили храмы и школы и проповедовали Евангелие местным жителям.

В 1835-1836 годах одним из первых русских он совершил путешествие по незнакомой Мексике, отчет об этой поездке лег в основу его путевого очерка. В нем не только материалы географического или этнографического характера, но интересные зарисовки о мексиканском обществе, о нравах и обычаях мексиканцев, сведения о внешней политике страны. В Мексике как представитель Российско-Американской компании он вел переговоры с мексиканским правительством, у России была реальная возможность закрепиться на этой территории, правительство Мексики в обмен на признание со стороны России Мексики как государства, соглашалось уступить долину реки Славянка, однако Николай I не пошел на это соглашение.

В 1867 году земли, открытие и освоение которых сопровождалось большими опасностями, Россия вынуждена была продать Соединенным Штатам. Врангель был против этой сделки. Однако его труд, так же как труд многих других русских первопроходцев не пропал даром, русское православие навсегда осталось на американской земле.
Автор: Кирилл Брагин
Первоисточник: http://rusplt.ru/wins/moreplavatel-polyarnyiy-issledovatel-32129.html


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 7

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Vard 13 января 2018 15:18
    Героизм одних... Полная безолаберность других... Это было и в те времена и сейчас...
  2. parusnik 13 января 2018 16:16
    Жаль, статья очень короткая..Можно было написать больше об этом выдающемся человеке.Главные его сочинения : "Очерк пути из Ситхи в Санкт-Петербург" (1836); "Историческое обозрение путешествий по Ледовитому океану" (1836); "Путешествие по северным берегам Сибири и по Ледовитому морю" (1841).
    1. андрей юрьевич 13 января 2018 17:16
      он лично исследовал западное североамериканское побережье от Берингова пролива до Калифорнии, создал магнитно-метеорологическую обсерваторию на острове Ситка и внес большой вклад в развитие этнографии.
      так...нахрен всё....верните Аляску! барон её точно "пометил"...значит -наша.(точка)
  3. ротмистр 13 января 2018 19:01
    Негодяи на ВО, про Врангеля писать начали. Ничего, когда истинные ленинцы вернуться, всем припомнят.
    1. svd-73 13 января 2018 19:47
      Если шутка,то смайлик вставляйте.А если нет то знайте,что истинные ленинцы фамилию Врангель с географических карт не стирали..
    2. Был Мамонт 13 января 2018 20:03
      Цитата: ротмистр
      Ничего, когда истинные ленинцы вернуться, всем припомнят.

      Ничего, что статья о Ф.П. Врангеле? О том самом, чьим именем остров назван. Иль, Вы только об одном некоем "черном бароне" знаете? И статью даже по диагонали не читали?
      Мерещится? Что-то вспомнилось об американском министре обороны , который сиганул из окна . Болел, однако.wink
  4. Ольгович 14 января 2018 07:14
    Врангели-стариннейший многочисленнейший род. известный 13 века. Имел 40 ветвей! Только на поле под Полтавой осталось лежать 22 Врангеля-с шведской стороны.
    На русской службе была самая многочисленная веть Врангелей-дипломаты, ученые министры, генералы, искусствоведы, предприниматели-славно потрудлись на благо России!
Картина дня