Military Review

Headhead debutant

11



4 January 1936 for the first time took to the air Vout SB2U "Vindikaytor" - the world's first high-speed carrier-based diving bomber monoplane scheme. Aircraft of this class appeared in the middle of 1930-x, played a prominent role in the Second World War, especially in the Far East theater of operations, and in just 10 years they are gone due to the advent of controlled weapons.

But the "Vindikaytor", as is often the case with the firstborn, nothing special distinguished. Although the Americans and the French tried to use this machine against enemy warships (the “Vindicateurs” even participated in the famous Battle of Midway), there wasn’t much success for them. Is that one of the French dive bombers managed to drown the Italian submarine. All glory and honors went to the later Donteless and Helldiver, and the Windijker, if it came to something history WWII, it is only relatively large losses.

However, there were few of them built - only 260 units, and the first truly massive American deck dive bomber was Dontless, which appeared in the 1940 year and was replicated in 5936 copies. But on the "Windikutor" many technical solutions were tested and a number of errors appeared that could be avoided in the future. However, for us this was only of theoretical importance, because in the USSR no aircraft of this class were built.


A pair of "Vindikaytorov" from the aircraft carrier "Lexington" is through a thunderstorm.


SB2U at the NACA Test Center.


"Vindikaytor" from the aircraft carrier "Saratoga".


"Vindiktoryora" from the aircraft carrier "Wasp" in flight.


"Vindikaytor", destroyed in Pearl Harbor.


"Vindikaytor" after an unsuccessful attack on the Japanese battleship.


"Vindikaytor" commander of the aircraft group of the aircraft carrier "Yorktown" in the pre-war "anti-camouflage."
Export "Vindikaytor" V-156F-3 of the French Air Force.
"Vindikaytor" in gray camouflage pattern 1941 year with 1000-pound bomb.


The only preserved copy of the museum "Vindikaytor". Cylinders with oxygen and compressed air are visible through the open service hatch.
Author:
Originator:
https://vikond65.livejournal.com/707410.html
11 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. bionik
    bionik 21 January 2018 07: 54 New
    +6
    An American deck-based reconnaissance bomber SB2U Vindicator (Vought SB2U Vindicator) from the aircraft carrier Ranger (USS Ranger, CV-4) during anti-submarine patrols over a convoy (WS-12) of ships en route to Cape Town (Capetown).

    From right to left, in the front row: the heavy cruiser Vincennes (USS Vincennes (CA-44), the liner West Point (USS West Point (AP-23), the liner Mount Vernon (USS Mount Vernon (AP-22) and "Wakefield" (USS Wakefield (AP-21). In the middle of the second row is the heavy cruiser Quincy (USS Quincy (CA-39). In the second row are transports "Leonard Wood" (USS Leonard Wood (AP-25) and " Joseph T. Dickman "(USS Joseph T. Dickman (AP-26). Modification SB2U-3
    Wingspan, m 12.80
    Length, m 10.36
    Height, m ​​3.12
    Wing area, m2 28.33
    Weight, kg
    empty 2555 aircraft
    normal takeoff 4272
    Engine Type 1 PD Pratt Whitney R-1535-02
    Power, hp 1 x 825
    Maximum speed, km / h 391
    Cruising speed, km / h 245
    Practical range, km 1803
    Rate of climb, m / min 326
    Practical ceiling, m 7195
    Crew, people 2
    Armament: two 12.7 mm front machine guns and
    two 7.62 mm turret machine guns in the rear cockpit.
    bomb load - 454 kg of bombs
  2. polpot
    polpot 21 January 2018 09: 39 New
    +1
    Thank you for the article
  3. Anyone
    Anyone 21 January 2018 09: 43 New
    +1
    The Japanese had a similar deck aircraft - Aichi D3A.
  4. avt
    avt 21 January 2018 11: 11 New
    12
    request Vyacheslav has been upset lately. Well, actually, what is it all about? And most importantly for whom? It’s just right for the magazine ,, Funny Pictures "to send. negative bionik in the comment gave more information. Well and not ashamed? These are not even Kostya Sivkov's coefficients. request Can the moderators somehow monitor the quality of the posted material?
  5. moskowit
    moskowit 21 January 2018 11: 59 New
    +7
    The article is about nothing .... Semi-delusions of some sort .... One hope for commentators who are much more knowledgeable and competent in matters of aviation history ...
    1. bionik
      bionik 21 January 2018 12: 30 New
      +3
      If you need more information. then here: Sky corner Vought SB2U Vindicator www.airwar.ru/enc/sww2/sb2u.html
      1. moskowit
        moskowit 21 January 2018 12: 33 New
        +3
        I say that one hope for commentators and their sincere interest in expanding the field of knowledge ....
  6. iouris
    iouris 21 January 2018 14: 01 New
    +2
    The article is about nothing. Original. Thank.
  7. AlexanderBrv
    AlexanderBrv 21 January 2018 18: 18 New
    0
    Thank you for the article! More information about the combat use of dive bombers SB2U Vindicator during World War II (as well as US carrier aviation in general) can be found in the Illustrated collection (2017 g.) "Deck Aviation in World War II. Part I" on the site https: / /www.litres.ru/aleksandr-bruhanov/palubnay
    a-aviaciya-vo-vtoroy-mirovoy-voyne-illustrirovann
    yy-sbornik-chast-i /.
  8. Alf
    Alf 22 January 2018 00: 06 New
    +1
    The most valuable in the article is a PICTURE.
  9. Dedall
    Dedall 22 January 2018 22: 48 New
    +1
    Someday, the same unfortunate historians about our aircraft, such as the Su-25, will write: "flight tactical data is bad ... In the fighting, he did not show himself ...", etc. About the MiG-23 they are already writing like that. And those to really feel these planes, as well as these "Windows", there are already units left. So it will be with the Su-25 and others. And this I mean that you need Ukrainian planes in the Crimea, you need to go to museums and distribute to military-patriotic clubs.

Стремглавый дебютант



4 января 1936 года впервые поднялся в воздух Воут SB2U "Виндикейтор" - первый в мире скоростной палубный пикирующий бомбардировщик монопланной схемы. Самолеты этого класса появились в середине 1930-х, сыграли заметную роль во Второй мировой войне, особенно - на Дальневосточном ТВД, а всего через 10 лет - ушли в прошлое в связи с появлением управляемого оружия.

Но сам "Виндикейтор", как это нередко бывает с первенцами, ничем особым не отличился. Хотя американцы и французы пытались использовать эту машину против вражеских боевых кораблей ("Виндикейторы" участвовали даже в знаменитом Мидуэйском сражении), особых успехов за ними не числилось. Разве что, одному из французских пикировщиков удалось утопить итальянскую подводную лодку. Вся слава и почести достались более поздним "Донтлессам" и "Хеллдайвером", а "Виндикейтор", если чем-то и вошел в историю ВМВ, то только лишь относительно большими потерями.


Впрочем, построено их было немного - всего 260 штук, а первым по-настоящему массовым американским палубным пикировщиком стал "Донтлесс", появившийся в 1940 году и растиражированный в 5936 экземплярах. Зато на "Виндикейторе" были обкатаны многие технические решения и проявился целый ряд ошибок, которых удалось избежать в дальнейшем. Однако для нас это имело лишь теоретическое значение, ведь в СССР самолетов такого класса не строили.


Пара "Виндикейторов" с авианосца "Лексингтон" идет через грозу.


SB2U в испытательном центре NACA.


"Виндикейтор" с авианосца "Саратога".


"Виндикейторы" с авианосца "Уосп" в полете.


"Виндикейтор", уничтоженный в Перл-Харборе.


"Виндикейтор" после неудачной атаки на японский линкор.


"Виндикейтор" командира авиагруппы авианосца "Иорктаун" в довоенном "антикамуфляже".
Экспортный "Виндикейтор" V-156F-3 французских ВВС.
"Виндикейтор" сером в камуфляже образца 1941 года с 1000-фунтовой бомбой.


Единственный сохранившийся до наших дней музейный экземпляр "Виндикейтора". Сквозь открытый эксплуатационный люк видны баллоны с кислородом и сжатым воздухом.
Автор: Вячеслав Кондратьев
Первоисточник: https://vikond65.livejournal.com/707410.html


Читайте "Военное обозрение" в Яндекс Новостях

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также

Комментарии 11

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. bionik (владислав) 21 января 2018 07:54
    Американский палубный разведчик- бомбардировщик SB2U «Виндикейтор»(Vought SB2U Vindicator) с авианосца «Рейнджер» (USS Ranger, CV-4) во время противолодочного патрулирования над конвоем(WS-12) судов на пути в Кейптаун(Capetown).

    Справа налево, в первом ряду: тяжелый крейсер «Винценнес»(USS Vincennes (CA-44), лайнер «Вест Поинт»(USS West Point (AP-23), лайнер «Моунт Вернон» (USS Mount Vernon (AP-22) и «Уэйкфилд» (USS Wakefield (AP-21). В середине второго ряда тяжелый крейсер «Куинси»(USS Quincy (CA-39). Во втором ряду транспорты «Леонард Вуд»( USS Leonard Wood (AP-25) и «Джозеф Т. Дикман»(USS Joseph T. Dickman (AP-26). Модификация SB2U-3
    Размах крыла, м 12.80
    Длина, м 10.36
    Высота, м 3.12
    Площадь крыла, м2 28.33
    Масса, кг
    пустого самолета 2555
    нормальная взлетная 4272
    Тип двигателя 1 ПД Pratt Whitney R-1535-02
    Мощность, л.с. 1 х 825
    Максимальная скорость , км/ч 391
    Крейсерская скорость , км/ч 245
    Практическая дальность, км 1803
    Скороподъемность, м/мин 326
    Практический потолок, м 7195
    Экипаж, чел 2
    Вооружение: два 12.7-мм передних пулемета и
    два 7.62-мм пулемета на турели в задней кабине.
    бомбовая нагрузка - 454 кг бомб
  2. polpot (Andru) 21 января 2018 09:39
    Спасибо за статью
  3. Anyone (Anyone) 21 января 2018 09:43
    У японцев был похожий палубный самолет - Aichi D3A.
  4. avt 21 января 2018 11:11
    request Вячеслав последнее время огорчает . Ну собственно это всё о чём ? А главное для кого ? Это впору в журнал ,,Весёлые картинки" отправить. negative bionik в комменте больше информации дал . Ну и не стыдно ? Это даже не коэффициенты Кости Сивкова. request Может модераторам как то следить за качеством выкладываемого материала?
    avt
  5. moskowit (Николай Иванович) 21 января 2018 11:59
    Статья ни о чём.... Полубред какой то.... Одна надежда на комментаторов, которые гораздо более сведущи и компетентны в вопросах истории авиации...
    1. bionik (владислав) 21 января 2018 12:30
      Если нужно больше инфы. тогда сюда : Уголок неба Vought SB2U Vindicator www.airwar.ru/enc/sww2/sb2u.html
      1. moskowit (Николай Иванович) 21 января 2018 12:33
        Я и говорю, что одна надежда на комментаторов и их искренний интерес в расширении поля познания....
  6. iouris (iouris) 21 января 2018 14:01
    Статья ни о чём. Оригинально. Спасибо.
  7. AlexanderBrv (Брюханов Александр Борисович) 21 января 2018 18:18
    Спасибо за статью! Подробнее о боевом применении пикирующих бомбардировщиков SB2U "Виндикейтор" во время Второй мировой войны ( а также палубной авиации США в целом) можно почитать в Иллюстрированном сборнике (2017 г.) "Палубная авиация во Второй мировой войне. Часть I" на сайте https://www.litres.ru/aleksandr-bruhanov/palubnay
    a-aviaciya-vo-vtoroy-mirovoy-voyne-illustrirovann
    yy-sbornik-chast-i/.
  8. Альф (Василий) 22 января 2018 00:06
    Самое ценное в статье-КАРТИНКА.
  9. Dedall (Alexy) 22 января 2018 22:48
    Когда-нибудь такие же горе-историки про наши самолёты, типа Су-25 напишут: "лётно-тактические данные плохие... В боевых действиях ничем себя не проявил..." и т.д. Про МиГ-23 уже сейчас так пишут. А тех, чтобы реально пощупать эти самолёты, как и этих "виндикейторов", уже единицы остались. Так и с Су-25 и прочими будет. И это я к тому, что нужно украинские самолёты в Крыму надо по музеям и в военно-патриотические клубы раздать.
Картина дня