Military Review

Martin's Day

7



В stories aviation sometimes there are very interesting coincidences, here is one of them. 85 years ago, on January 17, 1933, that is, exactly 15 years after the conclusion of the agreement by the US War Department and the Glenn Martin Company on the construction of the first American bomber, the same company received an order from the same department for a high-speed bomber " Martin "B-10 (factory designation" Martin-139 ") - the world's first aircraft of this type.

By comparing the MB-1 and B-10, you can see what an enormous step forward the aircraft industry has made in these 15 years. If the MV-1 was an angular veneer-linen "bookcase" with a whole forest of pillars and braces between the wings, then the B-10 was a full metal monoplane with smooth contours, smooth skin, retractable chassis and closed cabins. The number of crew and weapons remained the same: three people, 1000 kg of bombs and three machine guns, but at the same time the speed and ceiling more than doubled: from 170 to 350 km / h and from 3140 to 7375 meters. And the range with a bomb load is more than tripled - from 620 to 2000 km.

It should be noted that the fastest at that time American fighter "Curtiss" P-6 accelerated only to 320 km / h, the English Bristol "Bulldog" - to 330, and the Soviet I-5 - to 280. Monoplane high-speed fighters have just been developed. However, the war in those years did not even smell, and therefore the outstanding characteristics of the B-10 were not used.

"Martin" B-10 was produced before the 1938 year. A total of 342 aircraft was built (including an improved modification of the B-12), of which more than half was exported. 35 machines were purchased by Argentina, 20 - Turkey, six - Thailand, and most of all - the Netherlands - 120 units, all of which were intended for use in the Far East. One machine in the 1937 year for acquaintance acquired the USSR, but the Soviet experts did not find anything interesting in it, noting only the surprisingly high, by our standards, the quality of assembly and manufacture of individual parts.

By the beginning of the Second World War, due to the proliferation of high-speed fighter aircraft, for which B-10 / 12 were no longer invulnerable, the aircraft was morally obsolete, so the Americans did not use it in battle. However, the Thai and Dutch "Martin" in 1941-42 had a chance to make war. The first is against the French in Indochina, and the second against the Japanese over Indonesia. At the same time, Dutch cars showed themselves well, sinking several Japanese ships, including the destroyer Sinonomy. But the losses, quite naturally, turned out to be huge. The Japanese easily destroyed the Dutch bombers on the ground and in the air. The weak defensive weapons of the Martins could not protect them from the deadly Zero attacks.

By 1 in March, 1942 of the Martinovs remained in the ranks of about a hundred before the start of the war, and before 16 in March, when the remnants of the Dutch troops were evacuated from Java to Australia, only one survived. The Japanese captured on the 8 airfields, damaged and defective Martins. 13 of them subsequently presented to Thailand, who was then an ally of the Yamato empire. However, they no longer had to fight. Thais, I must say, was lucky. During the Cambodian campaign, their bombers never met the French interceptors, so there were no casualties.

On the screen saver - B-10 over Alaska.


The first prototype of the B-10, bearing the factory designation "Martin-123" and the army - XB-907. The cabins are still open, the weapons have not been installed, the narrow ring hoods of the Townend are worn on the motors. This aircraft first took off in January 1932.


B-10 on trial.


B-10 at night on a snowy runway. The plane is equipped with original flat plates in the form of plates that protected the engines from overcooling in frosty weather.


"Martin" B-12.


Squadron of American "Martinov" on exercises holds salvo bombing.


Dutch "Martin-139WH-3". The aircraft of this modification had a dull nose and a very long lantern of the "greenhouse" type. On the car marked pre-war identification marks.


Exporting Martins: Dutch, Thai and former Dutch, captured by the Japanese.


Netherlands "Martins" in battle. In the foreground - the machine modification WH-1, which apparently did not differ from the US.


One of the five survivors of the Thai-made Martins, who remained in service until 1949. Next - the plane of former opponents - the American Douglas C-47 transporter.
Author:
Originator:
https://vikond65.livejournal.com/711609.html
7 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. bulat
    bulat 20 January 2018 15: 43
    +2
    Sat Germans called Martin bombers.
  2. avt
    avt 20 January 2018 16: 08
    +6
    There is some kind of charm in these cars of those years, not burdened with aerodynamics. bully I’m here exactly This pot-bellied ,, Martin "in the photo like good Front ,, balcony "is something at all!
    1. Slon_on
      Slon_on 20 January 2018 16: 22
      +5
      And you take a look at the British Handley Page Harrow. A lot of impressions.
      1. avt
        avt 20 January 2018 16: 35
        +2
        Quote: Slon_on
        And you take a look at the British Handley Page Harrow.

        No. After Heyford This is just a reference in aerodynamics! bully
        1. Slon_on
          Slon_on 20 January 2018 23: 43
          +4
          So our TB, "Maxim Gorky", "Homeland" against this background are generally spaceships! winked
  3. Mountain shooter
    Mountain shooter 20 January 2018 19: 32
    +2
    It is amazing how aircraft designers of that time neglected air resistance (aerodynamics) ... Was there such a fashion?
    1. Warrior2015
      Warrior2015 31 July 2018 19: 41
      0
      No, the speeds were still small, it was possible to neglect something ...

День Мартина



В истории авиации порой бывают очень интересные совпадения, вот одно из них. 85 лет назад, 17 января 1933 года, то есть, ровно через 15 лет после заключения военным министерством США и фирмой "Гленн Мартин Компани" договора на постройку первого американского бомбардировщика, та же самая фирма получила от того же самого ведомства заказ на скоростной бомбардировщик "Мартин" В-10 (заводское обозначение "Мартин-139") - первый в мире самолет данного типа.

Сравнивая МВ-1 и В-10, можно увидеть, какой громадный шаг вперед сделало авиастроение за эти 15 лет. Если МВ-1 был угловатой фанерно-полотняной "этажеркой" с целым лесом стоек и расчалок между крыльями, то В-10 представлял собой цельнометаллический свободнонесущий моноплан с плавными обводами, гладкой обшивкой, убирающимся шасси и закрытыми кабинами. Численность экипажа и вооружение остались прежними: три человека, 1000 кг бомб и три пулемета, но при этом скорость и потолок выросли более чем вдвое: со 170 до 350 км/ч и с 3140 до 7375 метров. А дальность полета с бомбовой нагрузкой - более чем втрое - с 620 до 2000 км.


Надо заметить, что самый быстрый на тот момент американский истребитель "Кертисс" Р-6Е разгонялся лишь до 320 км/ч, английский Бристоль "Бульдог" - до 330, а советский И-5 - до 280. Скоростные истребители монопланной схемы еще только разрабатывались. Однако войной в те годы даже не пахло, а потому выдающимся характеристикам В-10 не нашлось применения.

"Мартин" В-10 выпускался до 1938 года. Всего было построено 342 самолета (включая улучшенную модификацию В-12), из которых более половины ушло на экспорт. 35 машин закупила Аргентина, 20 - Турция, шесть - Тайланд, а больше всего - Нидерланды - 120 штук, причем все они предназначались для использования на Дальнем Востоке. Одну машину в 1937 году для ознакомления приобрел СССР, но советские специалисты ничего интересного в ней не нашли, отметив лишь удивительно высокое, по нашим меркам, качество сборки и изготовления отдельных деталей.

К началу Второй мировой войны, в связи с распространением скоростных истребетелей, для которых В-10/12 уже не являлись неуязвимыми, самолет морально устарел, поэтому американцы его в боях не применяли. Однако тайландским и голландским "Мартинам" в 1941-42 годах довелось повоевать. Первым - против французов в Индокитае, а вторым - против японцев над Индонезией. При этом голландские машины неплохо себя проявили, утопив несколько японских кораблей, в том числе - эсминец "Синономи". Но и потери, вполне закономерно, оказались огромными. Японцы легко уничтожали голландские бомбардировщики на земле и в воздухе. Слабое оборонительное вооружение "Мартинов" не могло защитить их от смертоносных атак "Зеро".

К 1 марта 1942 года в строю оставалось 16 "Мартинов" из примерно сотни, имевшихся к началу войны, а до 8 марта, когда остатки голландских войск эвакуировались с Явы в Австралию, дожил всего один. Японцы захватили на аэродромах 13 поврежденных и неисправных "Мартинов". 10 из них впоследствии подарили Тайланду, который тогда являлся союзником империи Ямато. Однако больше им воевать не пришлось. Тайцам, надо сказать, повезло. Во время Камбоджийской кампании их бомбардировщики ни разу не встретились с французскими перехватчиками, поэтому потерь не было.

На заставке - В-10 над Аляской.


Первый прототип В-10, носивший заводское обозначение "Мартин-123" и армейское - ХВ-907. Кабины еще открыты, вооружение не установлено, на моторы надеты узкие кольцевые капоты Тауненда. Этот самолет впервые взлетел в январе 1932 года.


В-10 на испытаниях.


В-10 ночью на заснеженной ВПП. Самолет оснащен оригинальными плоскими коками в виде тарелок, которые предохраняли двигатели от переохлаждения в морозную погоду.


"Мартин" В-12.


Эскадрилья американских "Мартинов" на учениях проводит залповое бомбометание.


Нидерландский "Мартин-139WH-3". Самолеты этой модификации имели притупленный нос и очень длинный фонарь типа "оранжерея". На машину нанесены довоенные опознавательные знаки.


Окраски экспортных "Мартинов: голландский, тайландский и бывший голландский, захваченный японцами.


Нидерландские "Мартины" в бою. На первом плане - машина модификации WH-1, которая внешне не отличалась от американских.


Один из пяти переживших войну тайландских "Мартинов", которые оставались на вооружении до 1949 года. Рядом - самолет бывших противников - американский транспортник "Дуглас" С-47.
Автор: Вячеслав Кондратьев
Первоисточник: https://vikond65.livejournal.com/711609.html


Читайте "Военное обозрение" в Яндекс Новостях

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также

Комментарии 6

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. bulat (Булат) 20 января 2018 15:43
    СБ немцы Мартин бомберами называли.
  2. avt 20 января 2018 16:08
    Вот есть какой то шарм в этих машинах тех лет, не отягощённых аэродинамикой . bully Мне вот именно Этот пузатый ,,Мартин" на фото нравится good Передний ,,балкон"так и вовсе нечто !
    avt
    1. Slon_on (Пётр) 20 января 2018 16:22
      А Вы гляньте на британский Handley Page Harrow. Масса впечатлений.
      1. avt 20 января 2018 16:35
        Цитата: Slon_on
        А Вы гляньте на британский Handley Page Harrow.

        no После Heyford Это просто эталон в аэродинамике ! bully
        avt
        1. Slon_on (Пётр) 20 января 2018 23:43
          Так наши ТБ, "Максим Горький", "Родина" на этом фоне вообще космические корабли! winked
  3. Горный стрелок (Евгений) 20 января 2018 19:32
    Поразительно, как пренебрегали авиаконструкторы того времени сопротивлением воздуха ( аэродинамикой)... Мода, что ли, была такая?
Картина дня