Military Review

Bomber day

11



Exactly 100 years ago, on January 17, 1918, a bomber appeared in the United States aviation, which later, as you know, played an important, and sometimes a decisive role in many armed conflicts of the twentieth century. On this day, the US Department of War entered into a contract with Glenn Martin Company to build the first US Martin-1 MB-XNUMX bombers.

Interestingly, the contract for the supply of ten serial machines was concluded long before the first flight of the prototype, which took to the 17 in August of the same year. Contrary to the well-known saying, "the first pancake" was quite successful. MV-1, equipped with two Liberty 400-powerful engines, developed a maximum speed of 170 km / h, comparable to the speeds of the fighters of that time, could lift up to a ton of bombs (overload - 1360 kg) and had three turret machine guns for self-defense. The crew consisted of three people.

Unless, the flight range was small for a car of this class - only 620 km. It could increase to 900 km by reducing the bomb load, but in this case, the plane took on board just 1000 pounds (450 kg) of bombs. However, it was much more than the average combat load from which the Ilya Muromets bombers flew.

The first production copies of the MB-1 left the factory workshops in October 1918 of the year, three weeks before the end of the war, so the plane did not hit the front. But his release continued after the conclusion of a truce. After 20 instances of the MB-1 were built into the series, its modified version of the MB-2 was launched. The aircraft of this modification was made much more - 110 pieces. Some of them were released in the version of photo prospectors. The MB-2 differed from its predecessor in a simplified chassis design with two wheels instead of four, the installation of motors on the lower wing and the wingspan increased by a meter, which were made foldable for easy storage.

MB-2 formed the basis of American bomber aviation in the first half of the 1920-s. But their wooden construction with linen covering did not imply long-term operation, therefore by the end of the decade all of them were written off. A decade for the United States turned out to be extremely peaceful, therefore these machines did not participate in any military conflict. On the screen saver - MB-1 in flight over Washington.


The first prototype of the CF-1.


MB-1 on trial. On the nose is temporarily installed air pressure receiver rod.


One of the serial machines.






Assembling "Martinov" MB-2.




"Martin" MB-2 at the airport. Note the differences with the MB-1 in engine installation and in chassis design.

Cockpit MB-2, windshield is not installed. On the left you can see a manhole in the cockpit of the navigator-scorer, he is also the front shooter.
Author:
Originator:
https://vikond65.livejournal.com/711364.html
11 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Antares
    Antares 21 January 2018 15: 55 New
    +2
    the birth of a means to implement the theory of carpet bombing ...
    1. jjj
      jjj 21 January 2018 16: 30 New
      +6
      True, by this time the Russian bombers had already made 400 sorties
  2. Nikolaevich I
    Nikolaevich I 21 January 2018 16: 10 New
    +9
    As one wise Saxau taught ... (pah.) .... aksakal: "Shish kebab in tandoor, and flies on the street!" The author, judging by everything, did not finally decide what to write about! He conceived, “Bomber Day”, ... and “betrayed”: “American Bomber Day!” And what did the Italian, English, German, Russian bombers who “born” before the Americans “guilty” of before the author? belay request stop
  3. avt
    avt 21 January 2018 16: 12 New
    +3
    Well, this article is not an example of the previous one about “Vintelator.” The illustrations at the level and title of the text seem to correspond quite well - you will not dig into the memorial date. Besides that, in “Armament” there is nothing to do, but exclusively in “History” bully
  4. NF68
    NF68 21 January 2018 16: 18 New
    +1
    + + + + + + + + + +
  5. novel66
    novel66 21 January 2018 17: 10 New
    +2
    pig-bullshit - and "Ilya Muromets" - chtoli fighters?
    1. Iline
      Iline 21 January 2018 17: 55 New
      +3
      Yeah ... This year we will celebrate 104 years. And for the American bombers, I won’t raise a single toast.
    2. PPD
      PPD 21 January 2018 21: 46 New
      0
      Attack aircraft, probably ... wassat
  6. Curious
    Curious 21 January 2018 17: 46 New
    +2
    You can write a dozen and a half such articles a day or two. What is the point of posting such material?
  7. Svist
    Svist 21 January 2018 17: 46 New
    +4
    What does the Americans have to do with it? Whose holiday the author posted this opus? Wrong address? Or the bombers invented in the USA, as UK - ry a submarine?
  8. Saxahorse
    Saxahorse 23 January 2018 19: 30 New
    0
    I wonder how they were sausage with the chassis, almost every photo has different options. Thank you for the article, a good review.

День бомбера



Ровно 100 лет назад, 17 января 1918 года, в США появилась бомбардировочная авиация, которая в дальнейшем, как известно, сыграла важную, а порой - решающую роль во многих вооруженных конфликтах ХХ века. В этот день военное министерство США заключило с фирмой "Гленн Мартин Компани" контракт на постройку первых американских бомбардировщиков "Мартин" МВ-1.

Интересно, что договор на поставку десяти серийных машин был заключен задолго до первого полета прототипа, который поднялся в воздух 17 августа того же года. Вопреки известной поговорке, "первый блин" оказался вполне удачным. МВ-1, оснащенный двумя 400-сильными моторами "Либерти", развивал максимальную скорость 170 км/ч, сравнимую со скоростями тогдашних истребителей, мог поднимать до тонны бомб (в перегрузку - 1360 кг) и имел для самозащиты три турельных пулемета. Экипаж состоял из трех человек.


Разве что, дальность полета была невелика для машины такого класса - всего 620 км. Она могла увеличиваться до 900 км за счет сокращения бомбовой нагрузки, но в этом случае самолет брал на борт всего 1000 фунтов (450 кг) бомб. Впрочем, это было гораздо больше средней боевой нагрузки, с которой летали бомбардировщики "Илья Муромец".

Первые серийные экземпляры МВ-1 вышли из заводских цехов в октябре 1918 года, за три недели до окончания войны, поэтому на фронт самолет не попал. Но его выпуск продолжался и после заключения перемирия. После постройки 20 экземпляров МВ-1 в серию запустили его модифицированный вариант МВ-2. Самолетов этой модификации было сделано гораздо больше - 110 штук. Часть из них выпустили в варианте фоторазведчиков. МВ-2 отличался от предшественника упрощенной конструкцией шасси с двумя колесами вместо четырех, установкой моторов на нижнем крыле и увеличенным на метр размахом крыльев, которые были сделаны складными для удобства хранения.

МВ-2 составляли основу американской бомбардировочной авиации в первой половине 1920-х годов. Но их деревянная конструкция с полотняной обшивкой не предполагала длительной эксплуатации, потому к концу десятилетия все они были списаны. А десятилетие для США выдалось на редкость миролюбивым, поэтому ни в одном военном конфликте эти машины не участвовали. На заставке - МВ-1 в полете над Вашингтоном.


Первый прототип МВ-1.


МВ-1 на испытаниях. На носу временно установлена штанга приемника воздушного давления.


Одна из серийных машин.






Сборка "Мартинов" МВ-2.




"Мартин" МВ-2 на аэродроме. Обратите внимание на различия с МВ-1 в установке двигателей и в конструкции шасси.

Кабина пилота МВ-2, лобовое стекло не установлено. Слева виден лаз в кабину штурмана-бомбардира, он же - передний стрелок.
Автор: Вячеслав Кондратьев
Первоисточник: https://vikond65.livejournal.com/711364.html


Читайте "Военное обозрение" в Яндекс Новостях

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также

Комментарии 11

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Антарес (Антарес) 21 января 2018 15:55
    рождение средства для реализации теории ковровых бомбежек...
    1. jjj 21 января 2018 16:30
      Правда, к этому времени русские бомбардировщики уже успели сделать 400 боевых вылетов
      jjj
  2. Nikolaevich I (Владимир) 21 января 2018 16:10
    Как учил один мудрый саксау...(тьфу ты.)....аксакал: "Шашлык в тандыре,а мухи на улице" ! Автор.судя по всему,так и не решил окончательно,о чём ему писать ! Задумал ,,День бомбера",... а "выдал" : "День американского бомбера"! А чем "провинились" перед автором итальянские,английские,немецкие,русские бомберы,которые "родились" по-раньше американцев ? belay request stop
  3. avt 21 января 2018 16:12
    Ну эта статья не в пример предыдущей о ,,Винтеляторе". Иллюстрации на уровне и заголовку текст вроде как вполне соответствует - памятная дата и не подкопаешься.Кроме того , что ей в ,,Вооружение" делать нечего , а исключительно в ,,История" bully
    avt
  4. NF68 (Николай.) 21 января 2018 16:18
    ++++++++++
  5. роман66 (роман) 21 января 2018 17:10
    чушь свинячья - а " Ильи Муромцы" - истребители чтоли?
    1. Iline (Сергей) 21 января 2018 17:55
      Угу... В этом году уже 104 года будем праздновать. И за американских бомбёров я не подниму ни одного тоста.
    2. PPD (Дмитрий) 21 января 2018 21:46
      Штурмовики, наверно... wassat
      PPD
  6. Curious (Victor) 21 января 2018 17:46
    Таких статей за день можно десятка полтора - два написать. В чем смысл размещения такого материала?
  7. Svist (Михаил) 21 января 2018 17:46
    А при чём здесь американцы? Про чей праздник автор выложил сей опус? Адресом ошибся? Или бомбардировщики изобрели в САСШ, как у.к. - ры подводную лодку?
  8. Saxahorse 23 января 2018 19:30
    Интересно как их с шасси колбасило, чуть не на каждой фотке разные варианты. За статью спасибо, неплохой обзор.
Картина дня