Military Review

Hydroaviation of the Japanese submarine fleet in World War II. Part VIII

6
This year we continue the cycle of articles intended for a wide range of military stories and stories aviation and reflecting the stages of the emergence (during the First World War) and the development of a special class of hydroaviation - aircraft for submarines, as well as their carriers - aircraft-carrying submarines and submarine aircraft carriers in the interwar period and during the Second World War. Particular success in this direction was achieved in Japan, where by December 1941, as part of fleet there were special-purpose submarines with airborne reconnaissance aircraft.


A little known fact, but it is on-board a seaplane reconnaissance "Kugisho» E14Y1 (code name "Glen"), launched from aboard the submarine-I of 7, the day before, prior to the application in December 7 1941, the epoch-making impact of the Japanese carrier-based aircraft fleet on the American base in the Bay Porl- Harbor and other objects on the island of Oahu, made additional exploration purposes. His flight went unnoticed by the Americans and the plane returned safely to its carrier.

See Appendix for links to materials posted on 2017 website.


Submarine aircraft carriers

The successful practice of combat use of aircraft-carrying submarines in the initial period of the war in the Pacific Ocean, including in close proximity to the coast of North America, convinced the Naval General Headquarters of Japan at the very beginning of 1942 about the principal possibility of striking submarine-launched submarines on the mainland the territory of the United States. For inflicting tangible material damage in the event of such an attack, the fleet needs a full-fledged strike aircraft, and not an easy-bomber variant of a reconnaissance seaplane. In consequence of the I-25 aircraft carrying raid to the shores of the state of Oregon in September, 1942 clearly demonstrated the correctness of these judgments. For such new aircraft, other underwater carriers were required.

The proposal of the Marine General Staff on the need to build submarines - carriers of attack aircraft found its practical implementation in February 1942, when the commander of the Japanese United Fleet Admiral Yamomoto approved the plan to build a series of submarines of the type "Sen-Toku" ("Sensuican Toku" - a special submarine appointments) in the framework of the “Extraordinary Military Program of the 1942 of the Year”.

“Sen-Toku” (“STo”) submarines were supposed to carry three or four attack aircraft (dive torpedo bombers) with a combat load up to 1000 kg, have a cruising range up to 40 000 miles and have autonomy within four months.

The main purpose of the flotilla being built from 18 submarines of the type "Sen-Toku" (actually submarine aircraft carriers) was to become the Panama Canal. Destruction of the canal locks would significantly complicate the transfer of Allied forces and weapons from the Atlantic, from the European theater to the Pacific on detours, and allow the Japanese fleet to maintain its superiority on the Pacific theater (after hitting the US fleet in Pearl Harbor in December 1941) years) for a longer period.

Other plans for the combat use of Sen-Toku aircraft-carrying submarines were also considered - striking directly at the territory of the United States, in particular, at New York.


Diesel aircraft carrier submarine I-401 (type I-400 "Sen-Toku"), sea trials, 1945 year

The development and construction of these unique submarines (submarine aircraft carriers) unfolded at the Main Naval Arsenal in Yokosuka and shipyards in Kura and Sasebo, while practical applications of similar class of the Kai-Ko-Taka AM type were actively used. . The works were conducted in the strictest secrecy under the patronage of Admiral Yamamoto himself. The project “Sen-Toku” (production number “714”) was developing rapidly, the main one in the I-400 submarine series was laid down in less than a year - January 18 1943 at the shipyards in Kure. In the same year, four more submarines of the STo project were laid - two on cords in Sasebo (I-401 and I-402) and two in Kure (I-403 and I-404). In September, the sixth submarine of this type, the I-1944, was laid at the shipyards in Kure.

Diesel aircraft carrying submarines of type I-400 ("Sen-Toku") became the largest submarines built during the Second World War. They lost the palm in size only in the middle of the 60-ies of the XX century to a new class - nuclear submarines.

The submarine I-400 had a total surface displacement of 5223 tons (submerged 6560 tons) and the longest 122 meter. The width of the boat (the greatest) was 12 meters, and the height 7 meters.


Japanese submarine I-401 (type I-400 "Sen-Toku") at the pier, spring 1945 of the year

Durability with such gigantic dimensions was provided by a double-hulled construction - the robust case in the middle part had the shape of a horizontal figure eight (two cylinders were connected to each other by a high-strength longitudinal bulkhead), and this also made it possible to achieve an optimum height (draft). The flat sealed bulkheads inside the hull were divided into eight compartments.

To optimize the length of the boat, the engines of the power plant (four diesels with a total capacity of 7700 horsepower and two 1200-horsepower electric motors) were placed sequentially in two rows - each group of three engines worked on its own shaft line. To ensure the operation of diesel engines under water, there was a snorkel of the simplest design. The fuel supply for diesels was stored in tanks outside the robust hull, tanks for aviation gasoline were also placed here.

To reduce the noise of the boat on the go, all its main mechanisms had rubber-metal shock absorbers. In addition, to reduce acoustic and radar visibility, the elements of the light hull of the boat and the walls of the aircraft hangar were covered with a special rubber-based compound. Despite all the tricks to get rid of the big noise made by such large submarines, and failed.


Airborne submarine type I-400 ("Sen-Toku")

The submarine I-400 (“Sen-Toku”) developed in the surface position in the 18.7 nodes, and in the underwater 6.5 node. The maximum cruising range with an average speed of 14 nodes could be 37000 miles - an impressive figure! At the same time, the range of travel in a submerged position at the speed of a 3 node was just 60 miles. The boat had a working depth of diving 100 meters and autonomy in 90 days. The crew of I-400 (taking into account the air group) included the 144 person, the habitability conditions for its time were quite good.

In the central part of the boat, above the robust hull, there was a cylindrical aircraft hangar with a total length of 37,5 meters, which was closed in front with a massive door cover. Its internal diameter equal to the 3.5 meter and the length of the 34 meter were supposed to accommodate three strike seaplanes. The sturdy walls of the sealed hangar withstand the pressure of the outboard water when submerged to 100 meters. In the initial stage of work on the “STo” project, the hangar was supposed to hold only two aircraft, its length, as well as the size of the whole boat, was smaller (the total surface displacement was planned within 4550 tons).


A Japanese I-400 aircraft submarine hangar with a massive open lid-door in the foreground. The boat is moored to the American floating base, August 1945.

In the frontal view, the aviation hangar was slightly shifted from the centerline to the left, and the cabin of the boat was shifted to the right. The hangar and the cabin had a well-developed common fence and were equipped with platforms for placing anti-aircraft installations. From the durable hull of the boat there was a passage through a strong hatch into the hangar, it allowed to begin preparing aircraft for takeoff until the submarine emerged and shortened the total time it spent on the surface during aircraft launch, increasing survivability in combat conditions.

Hydroaviation of the Japanese submarine fleet in World War II. Part VIII

Starting track of the pneumatic catapult of the aircraft carrying submarine I-400, on the left side of the crane (in the stowed position) for lifting the floated plane to the deck, Pacific Ocean, 29 August 1944

A powerful pneumatic catapult Type 4 N1 mod 10 was placed in front of the hangar in the bow of the I-400. The length of its track was 26 meters (the length of the working section of the 21 meter), and the distance between the guides was equal to the 1.16 meter. The pressure in the system could vary from 90 to 150 atmospheres depending on the mass of the aircraft launched (maximum weight 5 tons). The starting track had an elevation angle equal to three degrees. The catapult accelerated the aircraft to a speed of 34 meters per second with an overload to 2.5 g. To reduce the time to prepare for the launch, impact seaplanes (without floats) were to be placed in the hangar on individual launch carts.


Launching trolley in the aircraft hangar submarines type I-400

Cylinder container for storing seaplane floats

All launch carts were equipped with a hydraulic lifting device that allows the plane attached to it to be lowered when it is moved into the hangar, and raised from the catapult in preparation for the launch, while providing an additional angle of attack at 3,5 degrees.

To the right and left of the catapult near the hangar under the deck deck there were placed two sealed cylindrical containers for storing removable floats of hydroplanes (three in each). If necessary, mounted on special trolleys, the floats were fed to the deck (in pairs) along inclined ramps - sheets of deck flooring that were deflected downwards, which, in the stowed position, occupied their main position flush with the deck.

On the left side of the submarine in front of the hangar housed a crane with a lifting capacity of up to 12 tons. In the stowed position, it was folded and retracted into a special deck deepening. Its main purpose is to lift onto the deck of a boat after a seaplane crashes down.


140-mm aft gun for aircraft carrying submarine I-401 (firing range 17,5 km, firing rate of 6 shots per minute)

The I-400 torpedo armament consisted of eight 533-mm vehicles located in the nose, four on each side (20 torpedoes). The artillery armament was represented by the stern 140-mm gun, and the anti-aircraft armament - by three built-in 25-mm machine guns and one single-barreled 25-mm unit. To detect surface and airborne targets on the boat, there were corresponding radar stations.

In addition to the submarine aircraft carriers of the Sen-Toku type (as well as for fear that their creation could be delayed), the same year, the development and construction of similar specialized AM-class aircraft carrier submarines was carried out at Yokosuka and the shipyards in Kura. . The first boat of this type - I-13 was laid already 4 February 1943 of the year (two weeks after the tab I-400). Here in Kure, three more were laid during 1943: I-15, I-14 and I-1.


I-14 submarine in Tokyo Bay, 1945 year (picture taken from the board of the American naval base)

Submarines of this type were a reduced copy of Sen-Toku type submarines and were deep processing of cruising aircraft carrying submarines of the A1 / A2 (Ko-Gata) type. In contrast to Sen-Toku, the aircraft hangar (the inner diameter of the 3.5 meter) was designed to accommodate not three, but two strike aircraft. The AM boats had a similar pneumatic catapult Type 4 N1 mod 10, located in front of the hangar in the bow, as well as a special crane.

Compared with the А2 project, AM submarines had a wider hull, draft and displacement (in the surface position, it increased from 2934 to 3603 tons, and in the submarine from 4172 to 4762 tons) with a boat. The power plant had less power (two diesel engines for 2200 horsepower and two 600-strong electric motors), but was more economical. Meanwhile, the reduction of stocks of diesel fuel due to the placement of aviation-technical equipment led to a reduction in the cruising range - just 21000 miles with 16 nodes. The maximum speed in the surface position was the 16,7 node, and in the subsea - 5,5 node.

The boat I-13 had a working depth of diving 100 meters and autonomy 90 day. The crew (taking into account the air group) included 118 people, the conditions of habitability in comparison with the boat I-12 of the project А2 noticeably worsened.


Submarine I-14 under the American flag (140-mm stern gun from the boat was dismantled by the previous owners), September 1945 of the year

The conventional armament of the I-13 submarine included one 140-mm gun in the stern of the boat, six bow-mounted 533-mm torpedo tubes (stock of 12 torpedoes) and 25-mm anti-aircraft guns (two units and one single-barreled).

Of the six submarines of the type "Sen-Toku" and four types "AM" before the end of hostilities, only five entered the Japanese fleet: I-400, I-401, I-402, I-13 and I-14. The remaining boats were dismantled on the stocks or destroyed by a raid of American aircraft during construction (I-404). The I-402 had no aircraft armament; it was converted to a submarine supply tanker before delivery to the fleet.


Submarine I-402 (submarine supply tanker) in the port of Sasebo, 1945 year

Thus, for carrying out special strike operations, the Imperial fleet of Japan had only four submarine aircraft carriers: I-400, I-401, I-13 and I-14.


Submarine aircraft carriers I-14 and I-401 (view from starboard)

The main tactical and technical characteristics of Japanese aircraft-carrying submarines (submarine aircraft carriers) of the types "Sen-Toku" and "AM"

References:
1. Beshanov V.V. Encyclopedia of aircraft carriers / Edited by AE Taras - Moscow: AST, Minsk: Harvest, 2002 (Library of Military History).
2. Platonov A.V. Linear forces of the submarine fleet. - SPb .: Galeya Print LLC, 1998.
3. Dashyan A.V. Ships of the Second World War. Japanese Navy (part of 2). Maritime collection №7, 2004.
4. Ivanov S.V. Japan submarines 1941-1945. War at sea (№31). - Beloretsk: ARS LLC, 2006.
5. Okolelov N.N., Shumilin S.E., Chechin A.A. Submarine aircraft carriers of the Japanese fleet (history, design, aircraft armament). Maritime collection. - №7, 2007.
6. Kascheev L.B. Japanese submarines in World War II. Maritime collection №2. - 2011.
7. Firsov A. Aviation of Japan in the second world war. Part One: Aichi, Yokosuka, Kawasaki. Aviation collection №4. TsAGI, 1996.
8. Solomonov B., Kulagin K. Submarine aviation of the Yamato country. Aviamaster №3, 2003.
9. Doroshkevich O. Airplanes of Japan of the Second World War - Minsk: Harvest, 2004.
10. Chechin A., Okolelov N. Start from under the water. Model builder. - №№7, 8. - 2009.
11. Chechin A., Okolelov N. Ominous "Mountain Fog". Seaplane Aichi MXNUMHA "Seyran" and its predecessors // Aviation and time. " - №№6 — 4. - 6.
12. Haruk A.I. Attack aircraft of the Second World War - attack aircraft, bombers, torpedo bombers - M .: Yauza; Eksmo, xnumx.
13. Haruk A.I. All seaplanes of the second world. Illustrated color encyclopedia - M .: Yauza; Eksmo, xnumx.
14. Kotelnikov V. Aviation in the Second World War. Aircraft of France. Part of 1 (Aviation collection No. 10), 1996.
15. Kozyrev M., Kozyrev V. Aviation of Axis Countries in the Second World War - M .: CJSC “Tsentpoligraf”, 2010.
16. Bryukhanov A. Deck aircraft in World War II: An Illustrated Collection. Parts I-IV. - Publishing solutions (licensed by Ridero), 2017.
17. Bryukhanov A. Japanese submarine aviation in World War II: Publishing solutions (licensed by Ridero), 2017.
18. Gusev A.N. Submarines for special purposes. Built ships and unrealized projects - M .: Morkniga, 2013.
19. RJ Francillon. Japanese Aircraft of the Pacific. Putman & Company. London-1970.
20. Robert C. Mikesh. Aichi M6A1 Seiran, Japan's Submarine-Launched Panama Canal Bomber (Monogram Close-Up 13) - Monogram Aviation Publications. Commonwealth Press Worcester, Massachustts, 1975.
21. Japanese Military Aircraft Illustrated. Vol. 3, Reconnaissance Flying Boat Trainer / Transport - Bunrin-Do Co. Ltd., Tokyo 1983.
22. Robert C. Mikesh & Shorzoe Abe. Japanese Aircraft 1910-1941. Putnam Aeronautical Books, London, 1990.
23. Famous airplanes of the world №47. Imperial Japanese Navy Reconnaissance Seaplane - BUNRINDO Co.Ltd, Tokyo 1994.
24. Tadeusz Januszewski. Japanese Submarine Aircraft - Red Series (No. 5103). Mushroom Model Publications, 2002.
25. Ryusuke Ishiguro, Tadeusz Januszewski. Kugisho E14Y GLEN: The Aircraft that Bombed America (White Series) - MMPBooks, 2012.
26. ER Johnson. United States Naval Aviation, 1919-1941 - Aircraft, Airships and Ships Between the Wars. McFarland, 2011.


Internet resources:
http://blogspot.com;
http://wordpress.com;
http://wikimedia.org;
http://en.wikipedia.org;
http://www.sub-driver.com;
http://airandspace.si.edu;
http://www.stripes.com;
http://www.tinypic.com.


To be continued ...
Author:
Articles from this series:
Parts of the article posted on the website in 2017 year:
Hydroaviation of the Japanese submarine fleet in World War II. Part I ;
Hydroaviation of the Japanese submarine fleet in World War II. Part II ;
Hydroaviation of the Japanese submarine fleet in World War II. Part III ;
Hydroaviation of the Japanese submarine fleet in World War II. Part IV ;
Hydroaviation of the Japanese submarine fleet in World War II. Part V ;
Hydroaviation of the Japanese submarine fleet in World War II. Part VI ;
Hydroaviation of the Japanese submarine fleet in World War II. Part VII
6 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. avt
    avt 25 January 2018 15: 29
    +3
    good Interesting photos.
    1. Amurets
      Amurets 25 January 2018 15: 59
      +3
      Quote: avt
      Interesting photos.

      So the boats are interesting. Something makes me think that the Americans used the ideas and experience of the Japanese to create their own missile boats, carriers of Regulus cruise missiles.
      1. sd68
        sd68 25 January 2018 22: 51
        +1
        unlikely.
        there was only one launch of Regulus directly from the submarine


        FAU-1 Americans launched using hangars from Japanese submarines
        1. AlexanderBrv
          29 January 2018 18: 33
          0
          [b] [/ b] The Americans didn’t launch the FAU-1 from Japanese boats, but such manipulations were carried out with the SSG-282 Tunny SSG-XNUMX Tunny cruise missile carrier Regulus; .
  2. polpot
    polpot 25 January 2018 19: 39
    +2
    Thanks for the article as always interesting
  3. Dead duck
    Dead duck 27 January 2018 13: 10
    +1
    In the old Navy Field, that was ...
    Dangerous thing when ships without air defense / defense cover remained laughing

Гидроавиация японского подводного флота во Второй мировой войне. Часть VIII

В наступившем году продолжаем цикл статей, предназначенный для широкого круга любителей военной истории и истории авиации и отражающий этапы появления (в годы Первой мировой войны) и развития особого класса гидроавиации – самолётов для подводных лодок, а также их носителей – авианесущих подводных крейсеров и подводных авианосцев в межвоенный период и во время Второй мировой войны. Особых успехов в этом направлении добились в Японии, где к декабрю 1941 года в составе флота имелись подводные лодки специальной постройки с бортовыми самолётами-разведчиками.

Малоизвестный факт, но именно бортовой гидросамолёт-разведчик «Кугишо» E14Y1 (кодовое имя «Глен»), стартовавший с борта подлодки I-7, накануне, перед нанесением 7 декабря 1941 года эпохального удара палубной авиации японского флота по американской базе в бухте Пёрл-Харбора и прочим объектам на острове Оаху, произвёл доразведку целей. Его полёт прошёл незамеченным для американцев и самолёт благополучно вернулся на свой носитель.


В Приложении смотрите ссылки на материалы, размещённые на сайте в 2017 году.


Подводные авианосцы

Успешная практика боевого применения авианесущих подводных крейсеров в начальном периоде войны на Тихом океане, в том числе в непосредственной близости от побережья Северной Америки, уже в самом начале 1942 года убедила Морской генеральный штаб Японии в принципиальной возможности нанесения удара гидросамолётами «подводного базирования» по континентальной части территории Соединённых Штатов. Для нанесения ощутимого материального ущерба при осуществлении такого удара флоту необходим полноценный ударный самолёт, а не лёгкобомбардировочный вариант разведывательного гидросамолёта. В последствие рейд авианесущей субмарины I-25 к берегам американского штата Орегон в сентябре 1942 наглядно продемонстрировал верность этих суждений. Для таких новых самолётов требовались уже и другие подводные носители.

Предложение Морского генерального штаба о необходимости постройки подводных лодок – носителей ударных самолётов нашло свое практическое воплощение в феврале 1942 года, когда командующий японским Объединённым флотом адмирал Ямомото утвердил план постройки серии подводных лодок типа «Sen-Toku» («Sensuican Toku» — подводная лодка специального назначения) в рамках «Внеочередной военной программы 1942 года».

Субмарины типа «Sen-Toku» («STo») должны были нести на своём борту по три – четыре ударных самолёта (пикирующих бомбардировщиков-торпедоносцев) с боевой нагрузкой до 1000 кг, иметь дальность плавания до 40 000 миль и обладать автономностью в пределах четырёх месяцев.

Основной целью создаваемой флотилии из 18 подводных лодок типа «Sen-Toku» (фактически подводных авианосцев) должен был стать Панамский канал. Разрушение шлюзов канала значительно затруднило бы переброску сил и средств союзников из Атлантики, с Европейского ТВД на Тихий океан по обходным маршрутам и позволило бы японскому флоту сохранить достигнутое им превосходство на Тихоокеанском ТВД (после удара по основной базе американского флота в Пёрл-Харборе в декабре 1941 года) на более долгий период.

Рассматривались и другие планы боевого использования авианесущих субмарин «Sen-Toku» — нанесение удара непосредственно по территории США, в частности по Нью-Йорку.


Дизельная авианесущая субмарина I-401 (типа I-400 «Sen-Toku»), ходовые испытания, 1945 год

Разработка и строительство этих уникальных подводных кораблей (подводных авианосцев) развернулась на Главном военно-морском арсенале в Йокосуке и верфях в Куре и Сасебо, при этом активно применялись практические наработки создаваемых в это же время субмарин аналогичного класса типа «Kai-Ko-Taka АМ». Работы велись в строжайшей секретности под патронажем самого адмирала Ямомото. Проект «Sen-Toku» (заводской номер «714») развивался стремительно, головная в серии субмарина I-400 была заложена менее чем через год – 18 января 1943 года на верфях в Куре. В этом же году заложили ещё четыре подводных лодки проекта «STo» — две на вервях в Сасебо (I-401 и I-402) и две в Куре (I-403 и I-404). В сентябре 1944 года на верфях в Куре была заложена шестая подлодка этого типа – I-405.

Дизельные авианесущие субмарины типа I-400 («Sen-Toku») стали крупнейшими подводными кораблями построенными в годы Второй мировой войны. Пальму первенства по своим размерам они уступили только в середине 60-х годов ХХ века уже новому классу – атомным подводным лодкам.

Подводная лодка I-400 имела полное надводное водоизмещение 5223 тонны (подводное 6560 тонн) и наибольшую длину 122 метра. Ширина лодки (наибольшая) составляла 12 метров, а высота 7 метров.



Японская подводная лодка I-401 (типа I-400 «Sen-Toku») у пирса, весна 1945 года

Прочность при таких исполинских размерах обеспечивалась двухкорпусной конструкцией – прочный корпус в средней части имел форму горизонтальной восьмёрки (два цилиндра соединялись друг с другом высокопрочной продольной переборкой), также это позволяло достичь оптимальной высоты (осадки). Плоскими герметичными переборками внутри корпус был разделён на восемь отсеков.

Для оптимизации длины лодки двигатели силовой установки (четыре дизеля суммарной мощностью 7700 лошадиных сил и два 1200-сильных электродвигателя) разместили последовательно в два ряда – каждая группа из трёх двигателей работала на свою линию вала. Для обеспечения работы дизелей под водой имелся шнорхель простейшей конструкции. Запас топлива для дизелей хранился в танках вне прочного корпуса, здесь же разместили и цистерны для авиационного бензина.

Чтобы снизить шумность лодки на ходу, все её главные механизмы имели резинометаллические амортизаторы. Кроме того, для снижения акустической и радиолокационной заметности элементы лёгкого корпуса лодки и стенки авиационного ангара покрывали специальным составом на основе каучука. Несмотря на все ухищрения избавиться от большого шума, издаваемого такими крупными подводными кораблями, так и не удалось.


Авианесущая подводная лодка типа I-400 («Sen-Toku»)

Субмарина I-400 («Sen-Toku») развивала в надводном положении скорость в 18.7 узлов, а в подводном 6.5 узла. Максимальная дальность плавания со средней скоростью в 14 узлов могла составить 37000 миль – впечатляющий показатель! При этом дальность хода в подводном положении при скорости 3 узла составляла всего 60 миль. Лодка имела рабочую глубину погружения 100 метров и автономность в 90 суток. Экипаж I-400 (с учётом авиагруппы) включал 144 человека, условия обитаемости для своего времени были довольно неплохими.

В центральной части лодки над прочным корпусом находился авиационный ангар цилиндрической формы общей длиной 37,5 метра, закрываемый спереди массивной крышкой-дверью. Его внутренний диаметр равный 3.5 метра и длина в 34 метра должны были обеспечить размещение трёх ударных гидросамолётов. Прочные стенки герметичного ангара выдерживали давление забортной воды при погружении до 100 метров. В начальной стадии работы над проектом «STo» ангар должен был вмещать лишь два самолёта, его длина, как и размеры всей лодки в целом были меньше (полное надводное водоизмещение планировали в пределах 4550 тонн).


Авиационный ангар японской субмарины I-400, на переднем плане приоткрытая массивная крышка-дверь. Лодка пришвартована к американской плавбазе, август 1945 года

Во фронтальной проекции авиационный ангар был немного смещён от осевой линии влево, а рубка лодки была смещена вправо. Ангар и рубка имели развитое общее ограждение и были оборудованы площадками для размещения зенитных установок. Из прочного корпуса лодки имелся проход через прочный люк в ангар, это позволяло начинать подготовку авиатехники к взлёту до момента всплытия субмарины и сокращало общее время нахождения её на поверхности при проведении запуска самолётов, повышая живучесть в боевых условиях.

Гидроавиация японского подводного флота во Второй мировой войне. Часть VIII

Стартовый трек пневматической катапульты авианесущей субмарины I-400, слева по борту кран (в походном положении) для подъёма на палубу приводнившихся гидросамолётов, Тихий океан, 29 августа 1944 года

Мощная пневматическая катапульта Type 4 N1 mod 10 размещалась перед ангаром в носовой части I-400. Длина её трека составляла 26 метров (длина рабочего участка 21 метр), а расстояние между направляющими равнялось 1.16 метра. Давление в системе могло варьироваться от 90 до 150 атмосфер в зависимости от массы запускаемого самолёта (максимальный вес 5 тонн). Стартовый трек имел угол возвышение равный трём градусам. Катапульта разгоняла самолёт до скорости 34 метра в секунду с перегрузкой до 2.5 g. Для сокращения времени на подготовку к старту ударные гидросамолёты (без поплавков) должны были размещаться в ангаре на индивидуальных стартовых тележках.


Стартовая тележка в авиационном ангаре субмарины типа I-400

Цилиндрический контейнер для хранения поплавков гидросамолётов

Все стартовые тележки были оснащены гидравлическим подъёмным устройством, позволяющим опускать закреплённый на ней самолёт при перемещении его в ангар, а при подготовке к старту с катапульты приподнимать, обеспечивая при этом дополнительный угол атаки в 3,5 градуса.

Справа и слева от катапульты у ангара под палубным настилом разместили два герметичных цилиндрических контейнера для хранения съёмных поплавков гидросамолётов (по три в каждом). В случае необходимости, закреплённые на специальных тележках, поплавки подавались на палубу (попарно) по наклонным аппарелям — отклоняемым вниз листам палубного настила, которые в походном положении занимали свое основное положение заподлицо с палубой.

По левому борту подлодки впереди ангара размещался подъёмный кран грузоподъёмностью до 12 тонн. В походном положении он складывался и убирался в специальное углубление палубы. Основное его предназначение – подъём на палубу лодки приводнившихся после выполнения полёта гидросамолётов.


140-мм кормовое орудие авианесущей подводной лодки I-401 (дальность стрельбы 17,5 км, скорострельность 6 выстрелов в минуту)

Торпедное вооружение I-400 состояло из восьми 533-мм аппаратов расположенных в носу по четыре с каждого борта (боезапас 20 торпед). Артиллерийское вооружение было представлено кормовым 140-мм орудием, а зенитное вооружение – тремя строенными 25-мм автоматами и одной одноствольной 25-мм установкой. Для обнаружения надводных и воздушных целей на лодке имелись соответствующие радиолокационные станции.

В дополнение к подводным авианосцам типа «Sen-Toku» (а также из опасений, что их создание может затянуться) там же на Главном военно-морском арсенале в Йокосуке и верфях в Куре велась разработка и создание аналогичных специализированных авианесущих подводных лодок типа «АМ». Первая лодка данного типа — I-13 была заложена уже 4 февраля 1943 года (через две неделе после закладки I-400). Здесь же в Куре в течение 1943 года заложили ещё три: I-15, I-14 и I-1.


Подводная лодка I-14 в Токийском заливе, 1945 год (снимок сделан с борта американской плавбазы)

Субмарины этого типа представляли собой уменьшенную копию подлодок типа «Sen-Toku» и являлись глубокой переработкой крейсерских авианесущих субмарин типов А1/А2 («Ko-Gata»). В отличие от «Sen-Toku» авиационный ангар (внутренний диаметр 3.5 метра) был рассчитан на размещение не трёх, а двух ударных самолётов. Лодки «АМ» имели аналогичную пневматическую катапульту Type 4 N1 mod 10, расположенную перед ангаром в носовой части, как и специальный подъёмный кран.

По сравнению с проектом А2 субмарины типа «АМ» имели более широкий корпус, осадку и водоизмещение (в надводном положении оно увеличилось с 2934 до 3603 тонн, а в подводном с 4172 до 4762 тонн) лодкой. Силовая установка имела меньшую мощность (два дизеля по 2200 лошадиных сил и два 600-сильных электродвигателя), но была более экономичной. Между тем сокращение запасов дизельного топлива из-за размещения авиационно-технического оборудования привело к сокращению дальности плавания – всего 21000 миль при 16 узлах. Максимальная скорость в надводном положении составляла 16,7 узла, а в подводном — 5,5 узла.

Лодка I-13 имела рабочую глубину погружения 100 метров и автономность 90 суток. Экипаж (с учётом авиагруппы) включал 118 человек, условия обитаемости по сравнению с лодкой I-12 проекта А2 заметно ухудшились.


Субмарина I-14 под американским флагом (140-мм кормовое орудие с лодки демонтировано ещё прежними хозяевами), сентябрь 1945 года

Обычное вооружение субмарины I-13 включало в себя одно 140-мм орудие в кормовой части лодки, шесть носовых 533-мм торпедных аппаратов (запас торпед 12 штук) и 25-мм зенитные автоматы (две строенные установки и одна одноствольная).

Из шести заложенных подводных лодок типа «Sen-Toku» и четырёх типа «АМ» до окончания боевых действий с состав японского флота вошли только пять: I-400, I-401, I-402, I-13 и I-14. Остальные лодки были разобраны ещё на стапелях или уничтожены налётом американской авиации во время постройки (I-404). Лодка I-402 авиационного вооружения не имела, её перед сдачей флоту переоборудовали в подводный танкер снабжения.


Подводная лодка I-402 (подводный танкер снабжения) в порту Сасебо,1945 год

Таким образом, для проведения специальных ударных операций Имперский флот Японии располагал только четырьмя подводными авианосцами: I-400, I-401, I-13 и I-14.


Подводные авианосцы I-14 и I-401 (вид с правого борта)

Основные тактико-технические характеристики японских авианесущих подводных лодок (подводных авианосцев) типов «Sen-Toku» и «AM»

Литература:
1. Бешанов В.В. Энциклопедия авианосцев/ Под обшей редакцией А.Е.Тараса – М.: АСТ, Мн.: Харвест, 2002 (Библиотека военной истории).
2. Платонов А.В. Линейные силы подводного флота. – СПб.: ООО «Галея Принт», 1998.
3. Дашьян А.В. Корабли Второй мировой войны. ВМС Японии (часть 2). Морская коллекция №7, 2004.
4. Иванов С.В. Субмарины Японии 1941-1945. Война на море (№31). — Белорецк: ООО «АРС», 2006.
5. Околелов Н.Н., Шумилин С.Э., Чечин А.А. Подводные авианосцы японского флота (история, конструкция, авиационное вооружение). Морская коллекция. — №7, 2007.
6. Кащеев Л.Б. Японские субмарины во Второй мировой войне. Морская коллекция №2. — 2011.
7. Фирсов А. Авиация Японии во второй мировой войне. Часть первая: Айчи, Йокосука, Кавасаки. Авиационный сборник №4. ЦАГИ,1996.
8. Соломонов Б., Кулагин К. Подводная авиация страны Ямато. Авиамастер №3, 2003.
9. Дорошкевич О. Самолёты Японии Второй мировой войны – Мн.: Харвест, 2004.
10. Чечин А., Околелов Н. Старт из-под воды. Моделист-конструктор. — №№7, 8. — 2009.
11. Чечин А., Околелов Н. Зловещий «Горный туман». Гидросамолёт Аичи М6А «Сейран» и его предшественники // Авиация и время». — №№4—6. — 2013.
12. Харук А.И. Ударная авиация Второй Мировой – штурмовики, бомбардировщики, торпедоносцы – М.: Яуза; ЭКСМО, 2012.
13. Харук А.И. Все гидросамолёты второй мировой. Иллюстрированная цветная энциклопедия – М.: Яуза; ЭКСМО, 2014.
14. Котельников В. Авиация во Второй Мировой войне. Самолеты Франции. Часть 1 (Авиационный сборник №10), 1996.
15. Козырев М., Козырев В. Авиация стран оси во Второй мировой войне – М.: ЗАО «Центрполиграф», 2010.
16. Брюханов А. Палубная авиация во Второй мировой войне: Иллюстрированный сборник. Части I-IV. – Издательские решения (по лицензии Ridero), 2017.
17. Брюханов А. Авиация подводного флота Японии во Второй мировой войне: Издательские решения (по лицензии Ridero), 2017.
18. Гусев А.Н. Подводные лодки специального назначения. Построенные корабли и нереализованные проекты — М.: Моркнига, 2013.
19. R.J. Francillon. Japanese Aircraft of the Pacific. Putman & Company. London-1970.
20. Robert C. Mikesh. Aichi M6A1 Seiran, Japan's Submarine-Launched Panama Canal Bomber (Monogram Close-Up 13) – Monogram Aviation Publications. Commonwealth Press Worcester, Massachustts, 1975.
21. Japanese Military Aircraft Illustrated. Vol. 3, Reconnaissance Flying Boat Trainer/Transport — Bunrin-Do Co. Ltd., Tokyo 1983.
22. Robert C. Mikesh & Shorzoe Abe. Japanese Aircraft 1910-1941. Putnam Aeronautical Books, London, 1990.
23. Famous airplanes of the world №47. Imperial Japanese Navy Reconnaissance Seaplane – BUNRINDO Co.Ltd, Tokyo 1994.
24. Tadeusz Januszewski. Japanese Submarine Aircraft — Red Series (№ 5103). Mushroom Model Publications, 2002.
25. Ryusuke Ishiguro, Tadeusz Januszewski. Kugisho E14Y GLEN: The Aircraft that Bombed America (White Series) – MMPBooks, 2012.
26. E. R. Johnson. United States Naval Aviation, 1919-1941 — Aircraft, Airships and Ships Between the Wars. McFarland, 2011.


Интернет-ресурсы:
http://blogspot.com;
http://wordpress.com;
http://wikimedia.org;
http://en.wikipedia.org;
http://www.sub-driver.com;
http://airandspace.si.edu;
http://www.stripes.com;
http://www.tinypic.com.


Продолжение следует…
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

6 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти