Military Review

Military History Museum of the Black Sea Fleet

4
Militaryhistorical Museum of the Black Sea fleet. Sevastopol


The museum was opened on September 14 (old style) 1869 on the street. Ekaterininskaya in the house of one of the leaders of the first defense of Sevastopol, General E. I. Totleben.

28 June 1892 of the year began and October 5 of the year 1895 was completed the construction of a new building for the museum according to the project of academician A. M. Kochetov. 150 thousand rubles were spent, of which 100 thousand were spent by naval and military departments, and the latter also allocated a plot for its construction. The building was made in a strict classical style, with cast-iron and bronze ornaments. On the main facade was depicted the “Sevastopol sign”: the cross and the number 349, meaning the number of days of defense. The side facades were decorated with cast iron fittings depicting parts of sailing ships, guns, covered with bronze banners. The decorations of the facades and the interior were made according to the project of the Odessa sculptor B. V. Eduards.

The Russian public collected considerable funds and a large amount of materials, among which were personal belongings of the city’s defense leaders V. A. Kornilov and P. S. Nakhimov, paintings by famous Russian artists IK Ayvazovsky, F. A. Rubo. Later, the picture of I. K. Aivazovsky was donated to the museum from the collection of Emperor Alexander II, the grand dukes donated the sword of Osman Pasha, commander of the Turkish squadron, P. Nakhimov's telescope, M. P. Lazarev’s widow, donated his awards to the museum . According to the 1913 catalog of the year, there were already over two thousand exhibits in the museum, in the middle of the 2000-s, over 30 thousands of exhibits.

During the second defense of Sevastopol, the museum continued to work and be replenished with exhibits brought by the city’s defenders. Some of the most valuable exhibits were evacuated to Baku, then to Ulyanovsk. The left part of the exhibition due to the fact that the museum building was partially destroyed, was transferred to the building of the art gallery. After the liberation of Sevastopol from the Nazis, the building was restored, and 15 August 1948, the museum resumed exhibition activities.

The museum is located at: Sevastopol st. Lenina d.11

Excellent exposure, both in the halls of the museum and on the street.

Again, a lot of photos and few letters, forgive.

Photos of several visits, different years.

Welcome.




































































































Author:
Photos used:
Photo by the author
4 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Spartanez300
    Spartanez300 20 January 2018 07: 53 New
    +1
    I would like to visit it, I think it's quite interesting.
  2. art266
    art266 20 January 2018 22: 25 New
    +1
    Virtual tour of the museum, filmed in 2012:
    http://virtual-sevastopol.ru/center-muzei-4f.html
    1. KOMA
      21 January 2018 23: 41 New
      +1
      Great virtual tour. Thank!
  3. Lexus
    Lexus 20 January 2018 23: 47 New
    +2
    GREAT HISTORY OF THE GREAT COUNTRY! Thank! hi

Военно-исторический музей Черноморского флота

Военно-исторический музей Черноморского флота. г.Севастополь.

Музей был открыт 14 сентября (по старому стилю) 1869 года на ул. Екатерининской в доме одного из руководителей первой обороны Севастополя генерала Э. И. Тотлебена.

28 июня 1892 года началось и 5 октября 1895 года было завершено строительство нового здания для музея по проекту академика А. М. Кочетова. Было затрачено 150 тыс. рублей, из них 100 тысяч затратили морские и военные ведомства, причём последнее выделило также и участок под его постройку. Здание было выполнено в строгом классическом стиле, с чугунными и бронзовыми украшениями. На главном фасаде был изображён «севастопольский знак»: крест и число 349, означающее количество дней обороны. Боковые фасады были украшены чугунными арматурами, изображающими части парусных кораблей, пушки, прикрытые бронзовыми знаменами. Украшения фасадов и интерьера были выполнены по проекту одесского скульптора Б. В. Эдуардса.


Русская общественность собрала значительные средства и большое количество материалов, среди которых были личные вещи руководителей обороны города В. А. Корнилова и П. С. Нахимова, картины известных русских художников И. К. Айвазовского, Ф. А. Рубо. В дальнейшем из коллекции императора Александра II в дар музею была передана картина И. К. Айвазовского, великие князья передали саблю командующего турецкой эскадрой Осман-паши, подзорную трубу П. С. Нахимова, вдова М. П. Лазарева передала в дар музею его награды. По каталогу 1913 года в музее уже насчитывалось свыше двух тысяч экспонатов, в середине 2000-х годов — свыше 30 тысяч экспонатов.

В период второй обороны Севастополя музей продолжал работать и пополняться экспонатами, которые приносили защитники города. Часть наиболее ценных экспонатов была эвакуирована в Баку, затем в Ульяновск. Оставленная часть экспозиция из-за того, что здание музея было частично разрушено, была переведена в здание картинной галереи. После освобождения Севастополя от фашистов здание было восстановлено, и 15 августа 1948 года музей возобновил выставочную деятельность.

Музей расположен по адресу: г.Севастополь ул. Ленина д.11

Отличная экспозиция, как в залах музея, так и на улице.

Опять много фото и мало букв, уж простите.

Фото нескольких посещений, разных годов.

Милости прошу.




































































































Автор: Алексей (Щепа)

Использованы фотографии: Фото автора

Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 4

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Spartanez300 20 января 2018 07:53
    Хотелось бы посетить его , думаю довольно интересно .
  2. art266 20 января 2018 22:25
    Виртуальный тур по музею, снимал в 2012 г.:
    http://virtual-sevastopol.ru/center-muzei-4f.html
    1. KOMA 21 января 2018 23:41
      Отличный виртуальный тур. Спасибо!
  3. Лексус 20 января 2018 23:47
    ВЕЛИКАЯ ИСТОРИЯ ВЕЛИКОЙ СТРАНЫ! Спасибо! hi
Картина дня