Military Review

Project "ZZ". Nationalism versus globalism: give money for war!

9
What will win in this difficult world: globalism or nationalism? While experts from Europe are breaking spears in disputes, the American establishment has decided the question: American nationalism will win. But calling it out of political politeness follows global liberalism.




The article “A Fractured World: Nationalism vs. the Global Liberal Order ", published in the influential edition "The Wall Street Journal", economic commentator Greg Yip showed how modern globalism is cracking under the onslaught of nationalism.

Nationalism opposes the “global liberal order”, the author is convinced. And even if the nationalist movements lost “some recent battles,” it’s too early to think that “they are retreating.”

And yet the global liberal order holds better today than many feared a year ago.

In Europe, right-wing populists lost the election: this picture is typical of the Netherlands, Austria and France.

But this does not mean that globalists can “breathe freely,” the author writes further. The activities of the nationalists are growing, changing and expanding. And this is not only about the relationship of countries on free trade issues. Nationalism, the journalist points out, “is destroying institutions and norms.”

Populists, supported by legitimate people's complaints about "cultural and economic upheavals caused by globalization," often use authoritarian means to achieve their goals, thereby undermining the "stable, rule-based environment." Namely, such an environment is preferred by companies, preferred by business.

There are two trends. The first is economic. Protectionism usually retreats where the economy improves. However, last year, protectionism, on the contrary, increased despite the “large-scale global expansion”. Global Trade Alert (an economic monitoring group from Switzerland) counted 642 (!) On the actions of governments that last year somehow damaged other countries - from US inflatable mattresses to Chinese financial support for their own cloud data industry. This is just below the 2015 record of the year, but 95% higher than the 2010 of the year!

The second trend is political. Characterized by a decrease in the level of freedom - last year it was noted in 71 country. Improvements in freedom were shown in all 35 countries. This is Freedom House data. According to analysts of this non-profit organization, liberal democracy has been retreating on the planet since 2006, and in recent years the retreat has accelerated.

What is even more alarming to experts is that the United States, which for a long time headed economic and political liberalism in the world, "played a key role in both trends."

Last year, the United States initiated 143 harmless trade actions, which is 59% more than in the 2016 year. And although the US remains a free country so far, the level of freedom there has been declining for seven years, and especially it has decreased in the 2017 year “due to foreign interference in its elections,” and also due to the lack of “ethical compliance”.

Nationalism is required of those leaders who seek to "conquer and retain power," the author points out. Autocrats depict their opponents (judges, journalists, opposition politicians) with tools in the hands of an “external enemy” or use nationalism “to rally supporters along ethnic and religious lines”.

This trend is perhaps most characteristic of Eastern European states, the journalist continues. Almost three decades ago, it was nationalism that helped liberate the satellite countries of the Soviet Union from communism. But in recent years, the governments of Hungary and Poland have again used nationalism in order to justify the "erosion of democratic institutions." And both states have already faced the threat of sanctions from the European Union: Poland may be sanctioned for attacking the independence of the judiciary, and Hungary for threatening to end university independence and refugee policy.

Both countries have already responded to possible sanctions in a nationalistic manner. In Poland, the ruling law and justice party claims that criticism of the EU is a pretext for imposing multiculturalism on it and forcing it to accept more Muslim migrants. Hungary’s leader Viktor Orban has called Muslim refugees “poison” and a threat to Europe’s Christian identity.

However, in other countries, nationalism is failing. Marine Le Pen, who spoke in France for quitting the eurozone and drastically reducing immigration, lost to globalist Emmanuel Macron in the presidential election (although the National Front received a record 34% of votes).

In Austria, the far-right "Freedom Party", which strongly opposes immigration and warns of "Islamization", received enough votes to enter the ruling coalition.

In Germany, the anti-immigration and anti-European “Alternative for Germany” also dragged enough voters to its side and gained some influence.

As for the United States, then the grandmother said in two. Mr. Trump rules in many ways in Republican traditions. Earlier this month, he even fell out with his former strategist Steve Bannon, an ardent supporter of economic nationalism, who attacked the globalizing establishment and called him "the Davos party." David French from the National Review even then welcomed the demise of “incoherent, destructive nationalist populist ideology” and gave the Republican Party a chance to “restore” it as a “party of conservative ideas.”

But this is premature, says the journalist. Mr. Bannon may disappear from the political field, and Mr. Trump's animosity towards immigration and free trade persists to this day.

As for Russians and Chinese, even there a “corruption investigation” has long been “a pretext for punishing wayward business leaders.” Economic freedom there has become "more limited." The Chinese Communist Party "has recently achieved an increase in its representation in key companies," and the government's leading partner in the field of Internet business is now "watching its people."

Populism, which is operated by nationalists, is bad for business for an obvious reason: its own instability.

But this very populism, we add, helps the above-mentioned Mr. Trump to fulfill the slogan of the election campaign: “Let's make America great again!” To do it quite in the spirit of reaganomics - the very one in whose times there was no talk of globalism, but American nationalism (notorious exclusivity) was aimed at crushing the Soviet "evil empire". This “empire” D. Trump was replaced by its fragment - Russia.

"The generals want money for yesterday's cold war," - writes in the pages Bloomberg View Leonid Bershidsky.

The American and British generals have every reason to "be grateful to Russian President Vladimir Putin," the columnist sneers. “For the first time after the Cold War, Russia acts as a weighty argument in budgetary tug-of-war and is at the center of military strategies,” the author points out.

The new message of Sir Nicholas Carter, Chief of the General Staff of Great Britain, was aimed at supporting the aspiration of the military establishment to increase military spending. The latter seek to achieve 3% of GDP - even more than two percent required by the North Atlantic Treaty Organization! Mr. Carter mentioned the “Russian threat” in his speech.

These statements are quite consistent with the new US National Defense Strategy (2018, we wrote about it on "Military Review"), which says about “strategic competition” with Russia and China, because these states are trying to undermine the world order. To counteract the PRC and the Russian Federation, the generals need “sustainable investment” The "good old days" of the Cold War and the arms race are back.

Bershidsky considers the tendency of returning to the “wars of yesterday” to be fraught with not only high expenses “for shoes and equipment”. By itself, such a policy is a dangerous reflexive temptation.

* * *


When generals and politicians in the United States talk about threats to world order, they actually mean a completely nationalistic order: the very order where only US interests are at the forefront. In the second "corner" are the interests of American allies. And so on those distant corners are distributed those whom the United States to the corners generally allow.



The United States has all the rights, their allies have a part of the rights, the rest have nothing, except that the United States will allow them. It is this “liberal order”, which has nothing in common with true liberalism and its freedoms, that Mr. Trump’s “reflecting” administration today values. It is quite conservative, I must say. It retains US power on the planet.

This is confirmed by the new US National Defense Strategy. There it is written in black and white: “For decades, the United States has enjoyed an incontestable, if not dominant, superiority in every field of operations. We could deploy our forces whenever we wanted, place them where we want and act as we want. ”

And this White House is trying to return to this “good old” world order. This is a special nationalism, its American variety.
Author:
Photos used:
http://www.globallookpress.com/
9 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Streletskos
    Streletskos 24 January 2018 09: 09
    16
    Better national nationalisms win!
    1. 210ox
      210ox 24 January 2018 09: 37
      +1
      So I’m thinking. Keep your pocket closer to your body .... Why then do we enter the WTO, can’t send the OSCE away with PACE, store assets in an alien country ..?
      Quote: Streletskos
      Better national nationalisms win!
      1. Antianglosax
        Antianglosax 24 January 2018 11: 02
        +2
        Quote: 210ox
        And why do we then enter the WTO, we can’t send the OSCE away together with PACE, we store assets in an alien country.

        This is all about us. First we need to determine who these "we" are. "We" in our country are divided into two hostile camps, which have practically nothing in common: 1. Liberated forces that seized power in the 90s and their henchmen, robbed the population of the USSR, clutched 70% of the country's national assets in personal assets and associating themselves with west. 2. The rest of the population of Russia.
        I do not know of any cases in which a thief who robbed someone would give the loot back. It is better to pass this loot to a dubious accomplice with a risk of losing everything, but not returning it. Moreover, if you return - confirm the theft! So there is nothing to be surprised - “we” are not us, but “they”, vigilant of their vital interests in order to increase the amount of personal dough available. We have nothing in common except the language and country of birth. Western bourgeoisie and thieves are mentally and physically closer to them than compatriots. This is a fact that needs to be understood and accepted.
        1. volodya
          volodya 24 January 2018 15: 02
          +2
          Quote: Antianglosaks
          This is all about us. First we need to determine who these "we" are. "We" in our country are divided into two hostile camps, which have practically nothing in common: 1. Liberated forces that seized power in the 90s and their henchmen, robbed the population of the USSR, clutched 70% of the country's national assets in personal assets and associating themselves with west. 2. The rest of the population of Russia.

  2. ImPerts
    ImPerts 24 January 2018 09: 22
    +4
    American nationalism will win. But calling it out of political politeness follows global liberalism.

  3. rotmistr60
    rotmistr60 24 January 2018 09: 42
    +3
    Looking at what liberalism is doing with Europe for many decades, you will perceive the situation as a good vaccine against this. Regarding American nationalism, I agree - he is actively hiding behind the guise of liberalism and is doing his job. And therefore, both liberalism and American nationalism are poisonous berries from one bush.
    1. 210ox
      210ox 24 January 2018 10: 56
      +1
      No, looking at the situation in our country, especially what is happening in the education, culture and upbringing of youth ... Unfortunately, there is no vaccination. We will leave, the older generation ... It becomes terrible for the country.
      Quote: rotmistr60
      Looking at what liberalism is doing with Europe for many decades, you will perceive the situation as a good vaccine against this. Regarding American nationalism, I agree - he is actively hiding behind the guise of liberalism and is doing his job. And therefore, both liberalism and American nationalism are poisonous berries from one bush.
  4. flicker
    flicker 24 January 2018 14: 22
    +2
    how modern globalism breaks up under the influence of nationalism.

    Yeah, the world bankers and financiers got scared - slowly the control of world processes from their hands is flowing into the hands of generals. Soon, the generals will determine the agenda - appoint bankers and financiers, if any banker or financier does not immediately understand what they are, they will quickly correct him with the kick of a soldier’s boot. lol
  5. flicker
    flicker 24 January 2018 14: 25
    +2
    Quote: ImPerts
    American nationalism will win. But calling it out of political politeness follows global liberalism.


    And there is nothing to add, with humor and the top ten. relevant to this day.

Проект «ЗЗ». Национализм против глобализма: дайте денег на войну!

Что победит в нынешнем сложном мире: глобализм или национализм? Пока эксперты из Европы ломают в спорах копья, американский истеблишмент вопрос решил: победит американский национализм. Но называть его из политической вежливости следует глобальным либерализмом.



В статье «A Fractured World: Nationalism vs. the Global Liberal Order», опубликованной во влиятельном издании «The Wall Street Journal», экономический комментатор Грег Ип показал, как раскалывается современный глобализм под воздействием натиска национализма.


Национализм выступает против «глобального либерального порядка», убеждён автор. И если даже националистические движения проиграли «некоторые недавние битвы», рано думать, что «они отступают».

И всё-таки глобальный либеральный порядок держится сегодня лучше, чем многие опасались год назад.

В Европе правые популисты проиграли выборы: эта картина характерна для Нидерландов, Австрии и Франции.

Но это не значит, что глобалисты могут «вздохнуть свободно», пишет далее автор. Деятельность националистов растёт, меняется и ширится. И речь не только об отношениях стран по вопросам свободной торговли. Национализм, указывает журналист, «разрушает институты и нормы».

Популисты, поддерживаемые законными народными жалобами на «культурные и экономические потрясения, вызванные глобализацией», часто используют авторитарные средства для достижения своих целей, чем подрывают «стабильную, основанную на правилах среду». А именно такую среду предпочитают компании, предпочитает бизнес.

Есть две тенденции. Первая — экономическая. Протекционизм обычно отступает там, где экономика улучшается. Однако в прошлом году протекционизм, напротив, вырос, несмотря на «широкомасштабную глобальную экспансию». «Global Trade Alert» (торговая группа по экономическому мониторингу из Швейцарии) насчитала 642 (!) действия правительств, которые в прошлом году так или иначе навредили другим странам — от американских тарифов на надувные матрацы до китайской финансовой поддержки собственной индустрии облачных данных. Это чуть ниже рекордных показателей 2015 года, но на 95% выше показателей 2010 года!

Второй тренд — политический. Характерно понижение уровня свободы — в прошлом году оно было отмечено в 71 стране. Улучшение свободы показали всего 35 стран. Это данные «Freedom House». Как считают аналитики этой некоммерческой организации, либеральная демократия отступает на планете с 2006 года, а в последние годы отступление ускорилось.

Ещё более тревожит специалистов то, что США, долгое время возглавлявшие экономический и политический либерализм в мире, «сыграли ключевую роль в обеих тенденциях».

В прошлом году США инициировали 143 торговых действия, наносящие вред, что на 59% больше, чем в 2016 году. И хотя США остаются пока свободной страной, уровень свободы там снижается уже семь лет, и особенно он снизился в 2017 году «из-за иностранного вмешательства в свои выборы», а также из-за недостаточного «соблюдения этических норм».

Национализм требуется тем деятелям, которые стремятся «завоевать и удержать власть», указывает далее автор. Автократы изображают своих противников (судей, журналистов, оппозиционных политиков) инструментами в руках «внешнего врага» или используют национализм «для сплочения сторонников по этническому и религиозному признаку».

Эта тенденция, возможно, наиболее характерна для государств Восточной Европе, продолжает журналист. Почти три десятилетия тому назад именно национализм помог освободить страны-сателлиты Советского Союза от коммунизма. Но в последние годы правительства Венгрии и Польши снова используют национализм с тем, чтобы оправдать «эрозию демократических институтов». И оба государства уже столкнулись с угрозой санкций от Европейского союза: Польше санкции могут выписать за наступление на независимость судебной власти, а Венгрии — за угрозу прекращения независимости университетов и политику в отношении беженцев.

Обе страны уже отреагировали на вероятные санкции в националистическом ключе. В Польше правящая партия «Право и справедливость» утверждает, что критика ЕС — предлог для того, чтобы навязать ей мультикультурализм и заставить её принять больше мусульманских мигрантов. Лидер Венгрии Виктор Орбан назвал мусульманских беженцев «ядом» и угрозой для христианской идентичности Европы.

Тем не менее, в других странах национализм терпит поражение. Марин Ле Пен, выступавшая во Франции за выход из еврозоны и резкое сокращение иммиграции, проиграла на президентских выборах глобалисту Эммануэлю Макрону (правда, «Национальный фронт» получил рекордные 34% голосов).

В Австрии крайне правая «Партия свободы», которая решительно выступает против иммиграции и предупреждает об «исламизации», получила достаточно голосов, чтобы войти в правящую коалицию.

В ФРГ антииммиграционная и антиевропейская «Альтернатива для Германии» тоже перетянула на свою сторону достаточно избирателей и получила определённое влияние.

Что касается США, то тут бабушка надвое сказала. Мистер Трамп во многом управляет в республиканских традициях. В начале месяца он даже рассорился со своим бывшим стратегом Стивом Бэнноном, ярым сторонником экономического национализма, нападавшим на глобализаторский истеблишмент и обзывавшим его «партией Давоса». Дэвид Френч из «National Review» даже приветствовал после этого кончину «бессвязной, разрушительной националистической популистской идеологии» и дал шанс Республиканской партии на «восстановление» её как «партии консервативных идей».

Но это преждевременно, полагает журналист. Мистер Бэннон может исчезнуть с политического поля, а враждебность мистера Трампа к иммиграции и свободной торговле сохраняется до сих пор.

Что до русских и китайцев, то там даже «расследование коррупции» уже давно является «предлогом для наказания своенравных лидеров бизнеса». Экономическая свобода там стала «более ограниченной». Китайская компартия «недавно добилась увеличения своего представительства в ключевых компаниях», а ведущий партнёр правительства в сфере интернет-бизнеса теперь «следит за своим народом».

Популизм, которым оперируют националисты, плох для бизнеса по очевидной причине: собственной нестабильности.

Но этот самый популизм, добавим, помогает упомянутому выше мистеру Трампу выполнить лозунг предвыборной кампании: «Сделаем Америку снова великой!» Выполнить вполне в духе рейганомики — той самой, во времена которой ни о каком глобализме и речи не было, зато американский национализм (пресловутая исключительность) был направлен на сокрушение советской «империи зла». Эту «империю» Д. Трампу заменил её осколок — Россия.

«Генералы хотят денег на вчерашнюю холодную войну», — пишет на страницах «Bloomberg View» Леонид Бершидский.

У американских и у британских генералов есть все основания «быть благодарными президенту России Владимиру Путину», иронизирует обозреватель. «Впервые после холодной войны Россия выступает в качестве веского аргумента в бюджетном перетягивании каната и стоит в центре внимания военных стратегий», — указывает автор.

Новое послание сэра Николаса Картера, начальника Генерального штаба Великобритании, было нацелено на поддержку стремления военного истеблишмента нарастить военные расходы. Последние стремятся достичь 3% ВВП — это даже больше двух процентов, требуемых Организацией Североатлантического договора! Мистер Картер упоминал в своей речи «российскую угрозу».

Эти заявления вполне согласуются с новой Стратегией национальной обороны США (2018 г., о ней мы писали на «Военном обозрении»), в которой сказано о «стратегической конкуренции» с Россией и Китаем, потому как эти государства стремятся подорвать мировой порядок. На противодействие КНР и РФ генералам нужно «устойчивое инвестирование». Вернулись «старые добрые времена» холодной войны и гонки вооружений.

Бершидский считает тенденцию возврата к «войнам вчерашнего дня» чреватой не только большими расходами «на ботинки и технику». Сама по себе такая политика — опасный рефлексивный соблазн.

* * *


Когда генералы и политики в США говорят об угрозах мировому порядку, они на самом деле имеют в виду порядок вполне националистический: тот самый порядок, где во главу угла ставятся исключительно интересы США. Во втором «углу» находятся интересы американских союзников. А уж по дальним углам распределяются те, кого США к углам вообще допустят.



У США есть все права, у их союзников — часть прав, у остальных нет ничего, кроме того, что им позволят США. Именно этим «либеральным порядком», ничего общего не имеющим с истинным либерализмом и его свободами, сегодня дорожит «рефлексирующая» администрация мистера Трампа. Вполне консервативная, надо сказать. Она сохраняет власть США на планете.

Это подтверждается новой Стратегией национальной обороны США. Там чёрным по белому написано: «Десятилетия Соединённые Штаты пользовались неоспоримым, а то и доминирующим превосходством в каждой операционной сфере. Мы могли развернуть наши силы, когда захотим, расположить их там, где захотим, и действовать так, как захотим».

И вот к этому-то «старому доброму» мировому порядку и пытается вернуться Белый дом. Это особенный национализм, американская его разновидность.
Автор: Олег Чувакин

Использованы фотографии: http://www.globallookpress.com/

Читайте "Военное обозрение" в Яндекс Новостях

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также

Комментарии 9

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Стрелецкос (Петр) 24 января 2018 09:09
    Пусть лучше победят национальные национализмы!
    1. 210окв (дмитрий) 24 января 2018 09:37
      Вот я все думаю.Ведь свой карман ближе к телу....А зачем мы тогда входим в ВТО,никак не можем послать подальше ОБСЕ вместе с ПАСЕ,храним активы в чуждой на стране..?
      Цитата: Стрелецкос
      Пусть лучше победят национальные национализмы!
      1. Антианглосакс 24 января 2018 11:02
        Цитата: 210окв
        А зачем мы тогда входим в ВТО,никак не можем послать подальше ОБСЕ вместе с ПАСЕ,храним активы в чуждой на стране.

        Тут всё дело в "мы". Сперва надо дать определение, кто эти "мы". "Мы" в нашей стране делятся на два враждебных лагеря, не имеющие практически ничего общего: 1. Либерастная свора, захватившая власть в 90-х и их приспешники, ограбившие население СССР, зажавшие в личных активах 70% национального достояния страны и ассоциирующие себя с западом. 2. Остальное население России.
        Мне неизвестно ни одного случая, когда вор, ограбивший кого-либо, отдал бы награбленное назад. Лучше это награбленное передать сомнительному подельнику с риском лишится всего, но не возвращать. Тем более, если возвратишь - подтвердишь факт кражи! Так что удивляться нечему - "мы" это не мы, а "они", блюдущие свои кровные интересы для увеличения количества имеющегося личного бабла. Ничего общего у нас, кроме языка и страны рождения нет. Западные буржуи и воры им ментально и физически ближе, чем соотечественники. Это факт, который нужно понять и принять.
        1. volodya (владимир) 24 января 2018 15:02
          Цитата: Антианглосакс
          Тут всё дело в "мы". Сперва надо дать определение, кто эти "мы". "Мы" в нашей стране делятся на два враждебных лагеря, не имеющие практически ничего общего: 1. Либерастная свора, захватившая власть в 90-х и их приспешники, ограбившие население СССР, зажавшие в личных активах 70% национального достояния страны и ассоциирующие себя с западом. 2. Остальное население России.

  2. ИмПерц (Игорь) 24 января 2018 09:22
    победит американский национализм. Но называть его из политической вежливости следует глобальным либерализмом

  3. rotmistr60 (Геннадий) 24 января 2018 09:42
    Глядя на то, что творит либерализм с Европой на много десятков лет воспримешь ситуацию как хорошую прививку от этого. По поводу американского национализма согласен - активно прикрывается личиной либерализма и делает свое дело. А посему и либерализм и американский национализм - ядовитые ягоды с одного куста.
    1. 210окв (дмитрий) 24 января 2018 10:56
      Нет.Глядя на ситуацию у нас в стране,особенно то что происходит в образовании,культуре и воспитания молодежи...К сожалению,никакой прививки.Уйдем мы,старшее поколение...За Страну страшно становится.
      Цитата: rotmistr60
      Глядя на то, что творит либерализм с Европой на много десятков лет воспримешь ситуацию как хорошую прививку от этого. По поводу американского национализма согласен - активно прикрывается личиной либерализма и делает свое дело. А посему и либерализм и американский национализм - ядовитые ягоды с одного куста.
  4. мерцание (Николай) 24 января 2018 14:22
    как раскалывается современный глобализм под воздействием натиска национализма.

    Ага, мировые банкиры и финансисты перепугались - потихоньку управление мировыми процессами из их рук уплывают в руки генералов. Скоро генералы будут определять повестку дня - назначать банкиров и финансистов, если какой банкир или финансист чего там не поймет сразу, то его быстро поправят пинком солдатского ботинка. lol
  5. мерцание (Николай) 24 января 2018 14:25
    Цитата: ИмПерц
    победит американский национализм. Но называть его из политической вежливости следует глобальным либерализмом


    И добавить нечего, с юмором и в десятку. актуально и по сей день.
Картина дня