Military Review

How German soldiers in Crimea froze

11



As you know, in 1941, the German command made a fatal miscalculation, not providing its troops with winter uniforms suitable for the Eastern Front. Then, when the consequences of the miscalculation became obvious, one of the German quartermasters came up with a terrific way to help the freezing soldiers, by inventing a stunning instruction for them ...

The anti-tank commander Hans Biederman recalled his participation in the siege of Sevastopol: “The second half of November 1941 was freezing nights. Fortunately, in Crimea there is no cruel Russian winter, and we did not experience the long suffering from temperatures below zero that our comrades in the northern parts of the front had to endure. In the northern and central parts of the Crimean peninsula, winter is mostly similar to the one that happens here in Germany, with frost and snow, but on the southern coast, on the “Russian Riviera,” the weather remains relatively mild. ”

But even there, in the relatively tolerable conditions of the Crimea, the unsuitability of the German uniform for the winter turned out: “The days and nights spent let us understand that the winter uniform issued according to the provision on service in the German infantry division was too light, especially for the soldiers in the front line. In front-line conditions, we were forced to live in open trenches or behind stone walls, and the roof over our heads consisted of a light tarpaulin raincoat. In these primitive shelters, we were open to the elements, and it became even worse with the onset of frost and rain. The rear units, including the intendants and support staff, usually used the opportunity to find warm rooms and settled in the existing Russian houses, despite the fact that large-scale naval guns from Soviet ships and from the fortress could cover these targets far behind us. ” Some quartermaster thinker came up with a way to help the German soldiers: “From somewhere in the rear, we received instructions that at night temperatures below zero, army socks can be used as gloves.

The recommendation, clearly stated in a clear military language, stated that soldiers at the front line should cut two holes for the thumb and index fingers in the sock. Someone probably did not know that our boots were about to be thrown away, and their socks almost turned into tatters and there were so many holes in them that it was easy for us to find openings for all five fingers. ”

Who created this wonderful instruction in serious creative torment? What "gloomy German genius"? Socks instead of gloves, but what to use instead of socks? After all, they have already turned into rags. Underwear for such a need to adjust? Was the problem of delivering gloves to soldiers fighting in the Crimea really such an unsolvable problem? Did the Germans "hesitate" to organize their confiscation in Odessa, Nikolaev and other localities nearby? Do not think to buy them in Romania?

The guerrilla movement in the Crimea and the surrounding territories was just being organized. A serious threat to German communications from the actions of the guerrillas has not yet been. To paralyze the supply of Germans with sabotage at that moment was completely unrealistic. But almost the whole winter of 1941-42 was fought by German soldiers in the Crimea, warmed by a wise sock and glove instruction.

It was only at the very end of winter that the situation began to change: “The companies of our infantry regiments were too exhausted during the months of uninterrupted fighting to perform such a task. Now the 9-I company of our regiment consisted of only 18 people; The duties of the company commander were Feldwebel. For weeks, the soldiers did not know a respite, beating off Russian attacks, and then attacking again. Stress and fighting losses aggravated the climate - wet, cold days and frosty nights. In the trenches, under the shelter of a tattered cloak, pocket stoves on which food could be heated from a candle could be heated only to warm sore joints and stiff hands. We perfectly understood that our light clothes are not at all suitable for the Russian winter.

In response to appeals to society for the help of our all-knowing brown leaders, who were sitting far from the fighting in the East, a collection of clothing was organized for soldiers of the Eastern Front. Warm ski sweaters, fur vests, sportswear, thick blankets, woolen socks and mittens, collected this way by the agency of winter assistance, first came to us in February 1942 of the year. ”

Send socks, mittens, etc., in February, when spring is near - this is just the highest chic of quartermaster bullying a soldier. Although, of course, it would be possible to send gloves to the Crimea in June.
Author:
Originator:
https://vpk-news.ru/articles/40874
11 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. MRomanovich
    MRomanovich 27 January 2018 07: 07 New
    +2
    Here are those eprst - to freeze in the Crimea! From time immemorial, our people traveled to the Crimea exclusively to bask.
    1. Olgovich
      Olgovich 27 January 2018 07: 19 New
      +3
      Quote: MRomanovich
      Here are those eprst - to freeze in the Crimea! From time immemorial, our people traveled to the Crimea exclusively to bask.

      With great humidity, even a little frost is scary.
    2. Finches
      Finches 27 January 2018 07: 27 New
      +3
      "Poor, poor" Fritz! The quartermasters scoffed at them, the Russian soldier bang-bang, General Moroz rapes ... Maybe I'm wrong, but the article, somehow, is not clear - Kolya from Urengoy smacks of! And who the hell, Germans, you Crimea is pinned - they froze poor fellows!
      1. Same lech
        Same lech 27 January 2018 07: 59 New
        +2

        https://fishki.net/anti/1491333-chernym-po-krasno
        mu-zverstva-fashistov-v-krymu.html / gallery-186215
        9/

        it remains after this to regret that not all Fritz froze and rested there.
      2. igordok
        igordok 27 January 2018 10: 40 New
        +2
        Quote: Finches
        "Poor, poor" Fritz! The quartermasters scoffed at them, the Russian soldier bang-bang, General Moroz rapes ...

        And here for mockery, instructions are printed.

  2. Korsar4
    Korsar4 27 January 2018 07: 38 New
    +2
    I think the winter of 1941/42 was not very warm in the Crimea. And in the trench, and not only in winter, I want heat.
  3. parusnik
    parusnik 27 January 2018 08: 09 New
    +4
    And again, General Frost, nowhere did the Germans give rest ... Figley, Russian climatic weapons ...
  4. Aviator_
    Aviator_ 27 January 2018 08: 35 New
    +2
    Kolya from Urengoy under the pseudonym "Max" is printed on VO?
    1. Curious
      Curious 27 January 2018 09: 16 New
      0
      I wonder where the author got the idea for articles of this content from clinging to headings like fairy tales. Is it really not clear that one is not molded to the other.
  5. Cherkashin Ivan
    Cherkashin Ivan 27 January 2018 09: 57 New
    +1
    I read the article and comments. I can’t understand where the commentators in the article found sympathy for the Germans? There is a description of the mess in the Wehrmacht, but there is no sympathy. I somehow came across a whole book that described the "order" in the Third Reich, so there were a lot of similar examples.
  6. samarin1969
    samarin1969 27 January 2018 14: 33 New
    +1
    The winter of 41/42 in the Crimea was harsh. Crimean partisans and reports on the landings also recall this. Raw frosty winds in the Crimea are a serious factor even for the current peace time. Thanks to the author. It is more interesting to read than descriptions of operations from textbooks.
    ps And those Germans and Romanians, of course, do not mind ...

Как немецкие солдаты в Крыму замерзали



Как известно, в 1941 году немецкое командование допустило роковой просчет, не обеспечив свои войска зимним обмундированием, пригодным для Восточного фронта. Затем, когда последствия просчета стали очевидны, кто-то из немецких интендантов придумал потрясающий способ помочь замерзающим солдатам, придумав для них сногсшибательную инструкцию…

Командир противотанкового расчета Ганс Бидерман вспоминал о своем участии в осаде Севастополя: «Вторая половина ноября 1941 г. Ночами было морозно. К счастью, в Крыму не бывает жестокой русской зимы, и мы не испытывали тех длительных страданий от температур ниже нуля, какие пришлось пережить нашим товарищам на северных участках фронта. В северной и центральной частях Крымского полуострова зима в основном похожа на ту, что бывает у нас в Германии, с морозом и снегом, но на Южном побережье, на «русской Ривьере», погода остается сравнительно мягкой».


Но даже там, в относительно сносных условиях Крыма, выяснилась непригодность немецкой формы для зимы: «Проведенные дни и ночи дали нам понять, что зимняя форма, выданная согласно положению о службе в германской пехотной дивизии, слишком легкая, особенно для солдат на переднем крае. Во фронтовых условиях мы были вынуждены жить в открытых окопах или за каменными стенами, а крыша над головой состояла из легкого брезента плащ-палаток. В этих примитивных укрытиях мы были открыты стихиям, и еще хуже стало с наступлением морозов и дождей. Тыловые части, включая интендантов и вспомогательный персонал, обычно пользовались возможностью подыскать теплые помещения и устраивались в имевшихся русских домах, несмотря на то, что морские орудия большого калибра с советских кораблей и из крепости могли накрыть эти цели далеко позади нас». Какой-то интендантский мыслитель придумал, как помочь немецким солдатам: «Откуда-то из тыла до нас дошла инструкция о том, что при ночной температуре ниже нуля в качестве перчаток можно использовать армейские носки.

В ясно изложенной четким военным языком рекомендации говорилось, что солдатам на переднем крае надо прорезать в носке два отверстия для большого и указательного пальцев. Кто-то, вероятно, не знал, что наши сапоги вот-вот уже можно будет выбрасывать, а носки почти превратились в лохмотья и в них было так много дыр, что нам было нетрудно найти отверстия для всех пяти пальцев».

Кто же эту замечательную инструкцию создавал в тяжких творческих муках? Какой «сумрачный германский гений»? Носки вместо перчаток, а вот что вместо носков использовать? Они ведь и без того в лохмотья превратились. Нижнее белье для такой надобности приспособить? Неужели такой уж неразрешимой была проблема доставки перчаток для солдат, воюющих в Крыму? Неужели немцы «постеснялись» организовать их конфискацию в Одессе, Николаеве и других населенных пунктах поблизости? Не додумались закупить их в Румынии?

Партизанское движение в Крыму и на прилегающих территориях только-только организовывалось. Серьезной угрозы немецким коммуникациям от действий партизан еще не было. Парализовать снабжение немцев диверсиями в тот момент было совершенно нереально. Но так и провоевали почти всю зиму 1941-42 годов германские солдаты в Крыму, согреваемые мудрой носково-перчаточной инструкцией.

Лишь к самому концу зимы положение стало меняться: «Роты наших пехотных полков слишком истощились за месяцы непрерывных боев, чтобы выполнить такую задачу. Сейчас 9-я рота нашего полка насчитывала только 18 человек; обязанности командира роты исполнял фельдфебель. Неделями солдаты не знали передышки, отбивая русские атаки, а потом снова атакуя. Стресс и боевые потери усугублял и климат – сырые, холодные дни и морозные ночи. В окопах под укрытием изодранных плащ-палаток карманные печки, на которых от свечи можно было нагревать консервированную в банках пищу, давали тепло лишь для того, чтобы отогреть больные суставы и застуженные руки. Мы отлично понимали, что наша легкая одежда вовсе не подходит для русской зимы.

В ответ на призывы к обществу о помощи наших всезнающих лидеров в коричневом, сидевших вдали от боев на Востоке, был организован сбор одежды для солдат Восточного фронта. Теплые лыжные свитера, меховые жилеты, спортивная одежда, плотные одеяла, шерстяные носки и рукавицы, собранные таким путем агентством зимней помощи, впервые поступили к нам в феврале 1942 года».

Прислать носки, рукавицы и т.д., в феврале, когда весна уже близко – это просто высший шик интендантского издевательства над солдатом. Хотя, конечно, можно было бы и в июне в Крым перчатки прислать.
Автор: Максим Кустов
Первоисточник: https://vpk-news.ru/articles/40874


Читайте "Военное обозрение" в Яндекс Новостях

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также

Комментарии 11

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. МРоманович (Михаил) 27 января 2018 07:07
    Вот те ёпрст - в Крыму замерзнуть! Наши люди испокон веков ездили в Крым исключительно греться.
    1. Ольгович (Андрей) 27 января 2018 07:19
      Цитата: МРоманович
      Вот те ёпрст - в Крыму замерзнуть! Наши люди испокон веков ездили в Крым исключительно греться.

      При огромной влажности даже маленький мороз -страшен.
    2. Зяблицев (Евгений) 27 января 2018 07:27
      "Бедные, бедные" фрицы! Интенданты над ними издевались, русский солдат пиф-паф, генерал Мороз насилует... Может я не прав, но статья, какая то, не понятная - Колей из Уренгоя попахивает! А кого хрена, немцы, вы Крым то приперлись - замерзали они бедолаги!
      1. Тот же ЛЕХА (Алексей ) 27 января 2018 07:59

        https://fishki.net/anti/1491333-chernym-po-krasno
        mu-zverstva-fashistov-v-krymu.html/gallery-186215
        9/

        остается после этого сожалеть что не все фрицы перемерзли и передохли там.
      2. igordok (Игорь) 27 января 2018 10:40
        Цитата: Зяблицев
        "Бедные, бедные" фрицы! Интенданты над ними издевались, русский солдат пиф-паф, генерал Мороз насилует...

        А тут еще для издевательства, инструкции печатают.

  2. Korsar4 (Сергей ) 27 января 2018 07:38
    Думаю, зима 1941/42 и в Крыму была не сильно тёплой. А в окопе, и не только зимой тепла хочется.
  3. parusnik (Алексей Богомазов) 27 января 2018 08:09
    И снова генерал Мороз, нигде покоя немцам не давал...Фигли, климатическое оружие русских...
  4. Авиатор_ (Сергей) 27 января 2018 08:35
    Коля из Уренгоя под псевдонимом "Макс" на ВО печатается?
    1. Curious (Victor) 27 января 2018 09:16
      Интересно, откуда автор почерпнул идею к статьям такого содержания цеплять такие заголовки, вроде сказки. Неужели не понятно, что одно к другому не лепится.
  5. Черкашин Иван 27 января 2018 09:57
    Прочел статью и комментарии. Не могу понять где комментаторы в статье нашли сочувствие к немцам? Описание бардака творившегося в вермахте есть, а сочувствия нет. Мне как то целая книга попадалась, в которой описывался "порядок" в Третьем рейхе, так там подобных примеров масса была.
  6. samarin1969 (Константин Викторович Самарин) 27 января 2018 14:33
    Зима 41/42 годов в Крыму была суровой. Об этом вспоминают и крымские партизаны и отчеты о десантах. Сырые морозные ветра в Крыму - серьезный фактор даже для нынешнего мирного времени. Спасибо автору. Это интереснее читать чем описания операций из учебников.
    п.с. А тех немцев и румын конечно не жалко...
Картина дня