Military Review

Rockets for Hellas

10



20 January 1958, the government of the USSR issued a statement on the introduction of economic sanctions against Greece in case of deployment of rocket weapons USA and other NATO countries. Moscow’s suspicions about the presence of atomic bombs on US military bases in this country were justified.

Athens escaped January 28 with a vague statement: they say, the deployment of missiles is currently not planned, Greece is committed to developing mutually beneficial relations with the USSR. The weapons destined for the country were soon redirected to Turkey, including its Aegean-Black Sea region. This, as you know, was the starting point of the Caribbean crisis.

But time has shown that Athens did not refuse at least the storage of American missiles in the country. The matter is clear: the country was part of NATO, its political and economic dependence on the United States in 50 – 60-x was the maximum.

The leadership of Albania, which participated in the Warsaw Pact (XA) before 1968, in a statement at the end of January on 1958, which was not coordinated with Moscow and other participants of the ND, threatened Greece with a blow to US military facilities. Athens and the West in general did not dare to take up the challenge: the relations between Albania and the USSR deteriorated after the anti-Stalinist CPSU XX Congress, in Washington and London, in this regard, hoped for a possible use of Tirana in opposition to NATO with the VD. However, Albania and Greece were in a state of war before the start of 1987, and since November 1940. Therefore, it was possible to expect anything from Tirana, especially considering the aggravation that had begun in relations with the USSR.

For the Soviet Union, the situation was aggravated by the fact that the active rapprochement between Tito and Khrushchev did not lead Belgrade to support Moscow’s position on American missiles. Yugoslavia, together with Greece and Turkey, was part of the NATO-controlled Balkan Pact, proclaimed in the last days of Stalin’s life and de facto abolished only in the second half of the 60s. That is, in this scenario, not only came under the protection of American missiles, but also had to support Greece in the event of its military conflict with Albania.

Meanwhile, Moscow, Sofia and Budapest warned Tirana that its actions against Athens would not be supported by the Warsaw Pact. In this regard, the Albanian authorities have a new reason to accuse the USSR and its "satellites" of compromise with imperialism. Yet the Soviet-Greek confrontation over American missiles and the Balkan war were averted.

But the US nuclear weapons did not bypass Greece. Already in 1959, a secret treaty was signed that allowed Washington to keep American weapons of mass destruction in this country, including within the city limits of Athens. Moreover, according to the local Ta Nea, both sides admitted the existence of such an agreement only in 1993.

In the spring of 2007, at four NATO military bases in Greece ("Araksos", "Drama", "Kukush", "Yanitsa"), experts found quite capable infrastructure for launching missile strikes. Although the last rocket and 20 bombs of B-61, each of which is 15 times more powerful than those dropped on Hiroshima, were removed from the NATO base in Araxos in 2001. “It will take no more than a week to transport and place these munitions in the remaining warehouses and launchers,” the specialists said.

Moscow’s preoccupation with Athens’s nuclear policy at the end of the 50s had every reason. For by that time, the US had about six thousand warheads, while the USSR had only 300. And in 1961, the States began to deploy in Turkey 15 high-precision medium-range missiles PGM-19 "Jupiter" with a radius of 2400 kilometers, which threatened a large part of the territory of the USSR, including Moscow. Washington found it more expedient to place the said weapon as close as possible to the main enemy, and not to its Balkan allies. Moreover, the Greek version could lead to the normalization of Albanian-Soviet relations, which, we repeat, was not part of the plans of the West.
Author:
Originator:
https://vpk-news.ru/articles/40909
10 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. parusnik
    parusnik 27 January 2018 15: 20
    +3
    The article, as if about today ...
  2. Aviator_
    Aviator_ 27 January 2018 22: 29
    0
    An interesting article is that Tito really was Broztitutka, I knew, but that not only in the 40 of the year was she, but also in the 60! And in the Soviet press - peace, friendship, non-aligned movement ... Respect to the author.
    1. Fitter65
      Fitter65 28 January 2018 02: 48
      +1
      Well, in 1999 they claimed that Russia MUST save Yugoslavia from NATO bombing, and now everyone insists that in the 90s they abandoned their ALLY — this is a normal approach.
      1. Aviator_
        Aviator_ 28 January 2018 11: 29
        +1
        Well, by the 1999 year, Tito was no longer there, and who was there and what he said was another matter. I mean that Tito ruined the USSR in the 40 years in a big way, and in the 50-60 years in a little. The SFRY has never been our ally, the only thing that had to be done in 1999 was to block as much as possible the creation of small pro-NATO mongrels on the site of the former SFRY, and this was impossible with the Obkomov drunken EBN. Remember how the famous rush to Pristina ended - they said thanks to everyone, issued a medal and sent to ..., sorry, to the place of constant deployment.
        1. Fitter65
          Fitter65 28 January 2018 11: 42
          +3
          Quote: Aviator_
          ... and who was there and what he said - this is another matter ...

          Well, they still say that Russia always abandons its allies. For the same SFRY, well, we had trade relations with them, nothing more. How everything was miscalculated, Russia didn’t warp all my life with the West, well, I bought from us weapon-device bite the owner’s pie-got in the face. Russia is to blame did not help a friend (friend? Whose friend?).
          So it is about Libya, well, and all those whom the West puts cancer. When they live well Russia is not needed as soon as a kick from the host, Russia must be saved immediately ...
          Quote: Aviator_
          the famous cast of Pristina

          They just showed that even with the complete collapse of the supreme power, Russia has someone to defend against an external mess. Of course, it’s harder to cope with the internal one, well, we have democracy ...
          1. Aviator_
            Aviator_ 28 January 2018 11: 58
            0
            These are internal and repeat
            [/ quote] they say Russia always abandons its allies [quote]
            Like Kuprin’s there: “external enemy and internal enemy” ...
            1. Fitter65
              Fitter65 28 January 2018 12: 14
              +1
              Quote: Aviator_
              Like Kuprin’s: “external enemy and internal enemy” ..

              So the “domestic” one will be more terrible. 1612, February-March 1917, from 1991 to the present ...
              1. Aviator_
                Aviator_ 28 January 2018 16: 00
                +1
                Essentially. To remove worms from a state organism is a difficult task.
  3. voyaka uh
    voyaka uh 30 January 2018 11: 52
    0
    In the 50s there were almost no ICBMs. Bombs were the main
    carriers of nuclear weapons. And they tried to store them closer to the goals.
    Now it is irrelevant.
    And no one will be lucky in Greece with atomic bombs.
  4. Cheburator
    Cheburator 5 February 2018 06: 24
    15
    Now the Greeks have become a little more independent
    It seems to be

Ракеты для Эллады



20 января 1958 года правительство СССР выступило с заявлением о введении против Греции экономических санкций в случае размещения там ракетного оружия США и других стран НАТО. Подозрения Москвы насчет наличия атомных бомб на американских военных базах в этой стране были обоснованными.

Афины отделались 28 января туманным заявлением: дескать, размещение ракет в настоящее время не планируется, Греция привержена курсу на развитие взаимовыгодных отношений с СССР. Предназначавшееся стране оружие было вскоре перенаправлено в Турцию, в том числе в ее Эгейско-Черноморский регион. Это, как известно, стало отправной точкой Карибского кризиса.


Но время показало, что Афины не отказались как минимум от хранения в стране американского ракетного оружия. Дело понятное: страна входила в НАТО, ее политико-экономическая зависимость от США в 50–60-х была максимальной.

Руководство Албании, участвовавшей до 1968 года в Варшавском договоре (ВД), в заявлении в конце января 1958-го, не согласованном с Москвой и другими участниками ВД, пригрозило Греции ударом по военным объектам США. Афины и в целом Запад не решились принять вызов: взаимоотношения Албании и СССР ухудшались после антисталинского ХХ съезда КПСС, в Вашингтоне и Лондоне рассчитывали в этой связи на возможное использование Тираны в противостоянии НАТО с ВД. Однако Албания и Греция до начала 1987 года находилась в состоянии войны, причем с ноября 1940-го. Потому от Тираны можно было ждать чего угодно, тем более с учетом начавшегося обострения в отношениях с СССР.

Для Советского Союза ситуация усугублялась тем, что активное сближение Тито и Хрущева не привело к поддержке Белградом позиции Москвы относительно американских ракет. Югославия входила вместе с Грецией и Турцией в подконтрольный НАТО Балканский пакт, провозглашенный еще в последние дни жизни Сталина и де-факто упраздненный лишь во второй половине 60-х годов. То есть в таком раскладе не только попадала под защиту американских ракет, но и должна была поддержать Грецию в случае ее военного конфликта с Албанией.

Тем временем Москва, София и Будапешт предупредили Тирану, что ее действия против Афин не будут поддержаны Варшавским договором. В связи с этим у албанских властей появился новый повод обвинять СССР и его «сателлитов» в соглашательстве с империализмом. И все же советско-греческую конфронтацию из-за американских ракет и войну на Балканах удалось предотвратить.

Но ядерное оружие США отнюдь не обошло Грецию стороной. Уже в 1959 году был подписан секретный договор, позволявший Вашингтону хранить американское оружие массового поражения в этой стране, в том числе в городской черте Афин. Причем, по данным местной Ta Nea, обе стороны признались в наличии такого соглашения только в 1993-м.

Весной 2007 года на четырех военных базах НАТО в Греции («Араксос», «Драма», «Кукуш», «Яница») эксперты обнаружили вполне дееспособную инфраструктуру для нанесения ракетных ударов. Хотя последние ракета и 20 авиабомб В-61, каждая из которых в 15 раз мощнее сброшенной на Хиросиму, были удалены с базы НАТО в Араксосе в 2001-м. «Потребуется не больше недели, чтобы перевезти и разместить эти боеприпасы в сохранившихся складах и пусковых шахтах», – заявили специалисты.

Озабоченность Москвы политикой Афин в ракетно-ядерном вопросе в конце 50-х годов имела все основания. Ибо к тому времени США располагали примерно шестью тысячами боеголовок, в то время как СССР – только 300. А в 1961-м Штаты начали размещать в Турции 15 высокоточных ракет средней дальности PGM-19 «Юпитер» с радиусом действия 2400 километров, угрожавших значительной части территории СССР, включая Москву. Вашингтон счел более целесообразным размещать означенное оружие в максимальном приближении к главному противнику, а не к его балканским союзникам. Тем более что греческий вариант мог привести к нормализации албано-советских отношений, что, повторим, не входило в планы Запада.
Автор:
Алексей Балиев
Первоисточник:
https://vpk-news.ru/articles/40909
Ctrl Enter

Заметив ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

10 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. parusnik Онлайн
    parusnik 27 января 2018 15:20
    +3
    Статья , словно про сегодня...
  2. Авиатор_ Офлайн
    Авиатор_ 27 января 2018 22:29
    0
    Интересная статья, то, что Тито действительно "Брозтитутка" я знал, но что не только в 40-е года он ей был, но и в 60-е! А в Советской прессе - мир, дружба, движение неприсоединения... Респект автору.
    1. Fitter65 Офлайн
      Fitter65 28 января 2018 02:48
      +1
      Ну в 1999 году утверждали что Россия ДОЛЖНА была спасать Югославию,от натовских бомбёжек,а сейчас все твердят чтомы в 90-е годы бросили своего СОЮЗНИКА-нормальный такой подход.
      1. Авиатор_ Офлайн
        Авиатор_ 28 января 2018 11:29
        +1
        Ну к 1999 году Тито уже не было, а кто там и что твердил - это дело другое. Я о том, что Тито подгадил СССР в 40 годы по-большому, а в 50-60 годы - по-малому. Союзником нам СФРЮ никогда не была, единственное, что надо было делать в 1999 году - это по-максимуму блокировать создание мелких проНАТОвских шавок на месте бывшей СФРЮ, а при обкомовской пьяни ЕБН это было невозможно. Помните, чем закончился знаменитый бросок на Приштину - всем сказали спасибо, выдали по медальке и послали на ..., пардон, в место постоянной дислокации.
        1. Fitter65 Офлайн
          Fitter65 28 января 2018 11:42
          +3
          Цитата: Авиатор_
          ... а кто там и что твердил - это дело другое...

          Ну твердят то до сих пор,мол Россия всегда бросает своих союзников.Про ту же СФРЮ-ну были у нас торговые отношения с ними,не более того.как прогадили всё Россия не помогла.Ирак всю жизнь с западом корефанился,ну закупал у нас оружие-приборзел куснул хозяйский пирожок-получил по морде.Россия виновата не помогла другу(другу? Чьёму другу?).
          Так же и про Ливию,ну и всех тех кого запад раком ставит.Когда хорошо живут Россия не нужна как только пинок от хозяина-сразу Россия нас спасать надо...
          Цитата: Авиатор_
          знаменитый бросок на Приштину

          Просто показали ,что даже при полном развале верховной власти,Россию есть кому оборонить от внешнего ворога.С внутреним конечно тяжеле справится-ну у нас ведь демократия...
          1. Авиатор_ Офлайн
            Авиатор_ 28 января 2018 11:58
            0
            Вот эти внутренние и твердят
            [/quote]мол Россия всегда бросает своих союзников[quote]
            Как там у Куприна : "враг внешний и враг унутренний"...
            1. Fitter65 Офлайн
              Fitter65 28 января 2018 12:14
              +1
              Цитата: Авиатор_
              Как там у Куприна : "враг внешний и враг унутренний"..

              Так "унутренний" он пострашней будет.1612 год ,февраль-март 1917,с 1991 и по ныне...
              1. Авиатор_ Офлайн
                Авиатор_ 28 января 2018 16:00
                +1
                Естессно. Глистов из государственного организма выводить - сложное занятие.
  3. voyaka uh Онлайн
    voyaka uh 30 января 2018 11:52
    0
    В 50-е годы почти не было МБР. Бомбы были основными
    носителями ЯО. И их старались складировать ближе к целям.
    Сейчас это неактуально.
    И никто в Грецию атомные бомбы не повезет.
  4. Чебуратор Офлайн
    Чебуратор 5 февраля 2018 06:24
    +15
    Сейчас греки чуток посамостоятельнее стали
    Вроде бы