Military Review

Hydroaviation of the Japanese submarine fleet in World War II. Part IX

4
M6A1 "Seyran" ("Mountain fog") - strike aircraft underwater fleet Japan


Along with the development and creation of submarine aircraft carriers for the Japanese fleet, work was underway on their aviation component - shock onboard seaplane.

The very idea of ​​using strike aircraft launched from large special submarines-aircraft carriers to attack targets on the Pacific coast of America, the continental United States or in other remote areas of the world’s ocean, appeared in the Marine General Staff of the Imperial Fleet of Japan (Kaigun Gunreibu) for several more months before the outbreak of war in the pacific. This idea is reflected in the specification under the code name "Maruyan", which was prepared by Kansei Hombu.

The command of the Japanese fleet believed that the success of the mission of the submarine aircraft carrier to deliver a surprise attack on the strategic goal would largely depend on the characteristics of the aircraft, as an integral part of a single strike complex.

To avoid interception by enemy fighters, a strike aircraft without external suspensions had to reach a maximum speed of 4000 nodes (300 kilometers per hour) at an altitude of 555 meters. The maximum range of his flight was to be at least 800 nautical miles (1482 kilometers), while initially it was assumed that this would be a “one-time” aircraft and he did not need floats (there is nothing to carry ballast for three seas!).

On an underwater aircraft carrier, strike aircraft in the amount of three units were to be placed folded (and not disassembled) in an airtight cylindrical hangar with a diameter of 3.5 meter and a length of 34 meter.

All these requirements of the Japanese fleet to the new aircraft found a formal expression in the specification of the "17-Shi Experimental Marine Attack Bomber", adopted by 15 May 1942 of the year. By this time, the parameters of the underwater aircraft carriers of the “Sen-Toku” type had been completely clarified and agreed upon, which made it possible to begin practical work on creating a strike aircraft for them.

The development of a fundamentally new aircraft was entrusted to Aichi, which, starting from 1920-s, created aircraft exclusively for the Japanese Navy. The representative of the Aichi company Takushiro Gomei (Takuichiro Gomei) was appointed the head of the project to create a striking seaplane, and Norio Ozaki became the chief engineer.

Despite the stringent requirements of the “17-Shi” specification, the project management considered the task of creating an aircraft-compliant aircraft specification quite feasible. The project itself received the brand designation "AM", and the developed strike aircraft - М6А1. Only fourteen months after the start of development, he was given his own name “Seiran” (Seiran), which in a simplified translation from Japanese means “Mountain Fog”. The traditional code name from the allies "Seyran" is not received, the Americans learned about its existence in the last days of the war.

Work on the project went slowly, however, despite its innovative nature, were planned, progressive. At the initial stage, in order to speed up the work, an attempt was made to adapt the commercially produced Aichi D4Y1 Susyi diving bomber to be placed in the aircraft hangar of an underwater aircraft carrier and to equip it with floats (if necessary). In addition, the unification of components and assemblies would greatly simplify the production and maintenance of the new aircraft.


Deck dive bomber "Yokosuka" D4Y2 "Susy" with liquid cooling engine "Atsuta-32", 1944 year

However, this idea had to be abandoned. “Susi” installed on the starting carriage didn’t fit into the dimensions of the hangar due to the large screw. It was considered inexpedient to make the screw removable, as the time for preparing the aircraft to start increased. For takeoff with the help of the D4Y1 catapult, a large lift force and, accordingly, a large area and powerful wing mechanization were required. The combat load (500-kg bomb) was placed on the dive bombard in the bomb bay, however it was not possible to fit the bomb or 800-kilogram torpedo required by the assignment of the 850-kg.

It became clear that you need to create a new plane, albeit with an eye on the Susi D4Y1. In addition to the excellent aerodynamic forms from the dive bomber, his 1400-strong 12-cylinder liquid-cooled engine “Aychi” Atsuta-32, which was a licensed copy of the German Daimler-Benz DB 601A, borrowed it. To provide a better view to the pilot and reduce the center of gravity, the V-shaped engine was installed on the M6А1 in an inverted position. The liquid engine, filled with hot water and heated oil, still in the hangar (before the boat ascended to the surface) warmed up much faster during launch (compared to the air-cooled engine), reducing the total time to prepare for the launch.

Hydroaviation of the Japanese submarine fleet in World War II. Part IX

1400-strong 12-cylinder liquid-cooled engine "Aychi" "Atsuta-32" in the assembly for the attack aircraft M6A1 "Seyran" (front view and rear view)

However, the serial production of Aichi Atsuta-32 aircraft engines was launched only at the end of 1943 of the year. The first Aichi model of Atsuta-21 appeared to be installed on the first Seyran prototypes ( 1400 horsepower, but were less reliable), later replaced by regular "Atsuta-32". The first modification of dive bombers, scouts D4Y1-C / D4Y1 «Susey" 1200-equipped with powerful engines' Atsuta-12 ", and 32-I model is set at the next modification - D4Y2 (the fastest of all the" Sousse).

To ensure sufficient lift in the ejection take-off, the M6A1 received an advanced wing flap system, tested on the prototype of the Aichi developed at the same time by the ship-based reconnaissance aircraft N16A1 Zuiun (“Zuiun -“ The Favorite Glove ”). Double-slot dural flaps, deflected and turned by 90 degrees, when diving performed the function of air brakes.


Ship-based reconnaissance seaplane "Aychi" Е16А1 "Zuyun"


The Seyran prototype demonstrates powerful wing mechanization, similar to the Aichi E16A1 “Zuyun” seaplane

From E16А1 "Seyran" borrowed and all-metal floats. They were attached to the wing consoles by free-carrying streamlined pylons and could be dropped in flight, if necessary (at high speed, break away from the pursuing fighters).

At the stage of elaboration of requirements, the floats were considered redundant. However, later “sober heads” concluded that it was impermissible to create “one-time strike aircraft”, which, after performing the main combat mission, could participate in attacking targets in other regions (block navigation in the area of ​​Cape Horn or strike the continental part of USA).

In addition to the floats and flaps, Zuyun shared its keel and tail fuselage with the M6-X1. The keel was a bit tall (the “Seyran” did not fit into the submarine hangar) and the ending had to be cut off.


One of the first prototypes МХNUMXА6 (front view)

In June, 1942, on a full-scale wooden layout, began developing the technology of folding wing consoles, tail units and placing the M6А1 in an aircraft hangar. As a result, a scheme was adopted (similar to that used by the Grumman company on American planes), which initially turned the wing consoles 90 counterclockwise, and then pressed against the fuselage toward the tail. This was preceded by folding the horizontal tail down and deviation of the tip of the vertical tail to the starboard. After folding, the total width of the Seyran was 2.46 meters, and the total height of the aircraft on the launch car did not exceed the 2.10 meter, which, with a screw diameter of 3.2 meters, made it possible to place it in a cylindrical aircraft hangar with a diameter of 3.5 meters. When the I-400 (“Sen-Toku”) underwater aircraft of the three “Seyrans” were stored in the hangar, the rudder was rejected as much as possible to reduce the overall length. For ease of assembly in the dark, structural elements at the junctions were painted with luminous paint. Removable floats on a submarine were stored in special sealed containers.


Layout of А6М1 in the aviation hangar of a submarine on the launching trolley

On the layout, all operations, of course, were performed manually. On real planes, a hydraulic mechanism was used for these purposes. Averaged calculations showed that after an ascent, a team of four people could assemble an airplane without installing floats in 4.5 minutes, it took 2.5 minutes to attach the floats. In practice (after the launch of the strike seaplane), the actual launch time of the I-400 submarine after the ascent of all three Seyrans took at least 45 minutes, and for I-14 with its two M6XXUMX, this figure was 1 - 30 minutes.

Structurally, the M6X1 "Seyran" was a two-engine single-engined two-float all-metal monoplane. Wooden were just the tips of the wings. The control surfaces were covered with linen. Wing fuel tanks contained 934 liters of aviation fuel.


The prototype of the M6A1 "Seyran" impact seaplane with 250-kg bomb under the fuselage

The crew of the Seyran consisted of a pilot and a gunner-radio operator (observer) and was housed in tandem in a glass-enclosed cockpit with two sliding sections.

Initially, the M6А1 small arms were to consist of two 7.7-mm machine guns - one for the course and one for the turret of the gunner-radio operator at the rear of the cab. In the end, on the basis of expediency and weight saving, it was decided to limit one defensive 13-mm machine gun Type 2 to the turret, which was a version of the German aviation machine gun MG 131.

The strike weapon of the Seyran could consist of one 850-kg of aerial torpedo Type 91 Mod. 2, suspended under the fuselage, or one 800-kg or two 250-kilogram bombs. To reduce the time to prepare for combat flight, the aircraft in the aircraft hangar of the submarine aircraft carrier were housed with suspended strike weapons. The rest of the ammunition for strike aircraft on submarine aircraft carriers of type I-400 was stored in a special cellar in one of the compartments. In total, four 6-mm aircraft torpedoes, three 1-kg and twelve 450-kg aircraft bombs were intended for armament of M800А250 "Seyran" airborne torpedo bombers.

In January, 1943 of the year, almost simultaneously with the laying of the first I-400 submarine aircraft of the Sen-Toku type, in Aytoku (in the Nagoya region), the Aichi plant began building the first six M6-X1 prototypes. The assembly of the first prototype of the aircraft was completed in November 1943 of the year, and in December, its flight tests began. In February, 1944, the second prototype of the Seyran, was put to the test.



In the guise of a new aircraft with elegant aerodynamic outlines, the features of the high-speed dive bomber "Yokosuka" D4Y1 "Susy" ("Judy") and reconnaissance hydroplane "Aychi" Е16А1 "Zuyun" were guessed.

In the course of flight tests, the prototype М6А1 confirmed the requirements for it. The maximum speed at an altitude of 4000 meters was 439 km per hour, cruising at an altitude of 3000 meters - 277 km per hour. Landing speed did not exceed 115 km per hour. The practical MX6X1 ceiling was equal to 9000 meters, and the normal flight range was 1100 kilometers. The tests revealed unsatisfactory travel stability, which was a typical problem for many float planes for its time. The problem was eliminated by increasing the height of the keel (folding part of it).


The third prototype of the M6А1 "Seyran" torpedo bomber on a transport trolley, under the fuselage 800-kg aerial bomb

By June 1944, four more prototypes М6А1 were built. Two of them were equipped with a wheeled landing gear retractable in flight and dual controls and they were intended for advanced flight tests and training purposes. The aircraft received the designation М6А1-К and the primary name "Seyran-Kai", which was later replaced by "Nanzan" (Nanzan - "South Mountain"). The wings of the wing and tail assembly at Nanzan did not fold, and the keel turned out to be truncated — it was carried out without a folding part (this did not affect track stability in the absence of floats). М6А1-К retained attachment points to the starting trolley, which made it possible to perform training launches from the “coastal catapult”.


The prototype "Seyran" with a wheel chassis "Aychi" М6А1-К "Nanzan"

Equipped with “Atsuta-32” М6А1-К “Nanzan” engines developed at a height of 3000 meters maximum speed 575 km per hour, cruising speed at the same height was 295 km per hour, the practical ceiling (9600 meters) and the range (F 1120 km).


With dual control М6А1-К, "Nanzan" was used to prepare pilots for "Seyrans", practical bombing and torpedo dumping

Satisfied with the course and test results of the prototypes М6А1, the command of the naval aviation of the Japanese fleet decided to start mass production. At the plant in Eitoka near Nagoya already in the spring of 1944, in the conditions of the strictest secrecy, preparations were made for serial production. Serial submarine impact seaplanes were designated as M6А1 Model 11 "Seiran".


“Aichi” М6А1 “Seyran” in the exposition of the National Museum of Aviation and Cosmonautics of the Smithsonian Institution, Virginia, USA

Preparation for the production of the first batch of production aircraft completed by October 1944 year. Before the devastating earthquake in the Nagoya region, 7 December 1944 managed to collect only four "Seyran". Due to the great destruction and loss of some of the most important equipment, the plant in Eytoku suspended the release of aircraft (damage was already received by the already built "Seyrans"). It was only possible to restore production by the spring of 1945. 12 in March, the plant in Eytoku was raided by American aircraft - the production of aircraft again stopped. Subsequently, production plants were subjected to attacks by enemy aircraft three times (May 17, June 26 and 24 July 1945 of the year), serial production was out of the question.


The only surviving (restored) copy of the Aichi M6А1 “Seyran” strike aircraft from the exposition of the National Museum of Aviation and Cosmonautics, Virginia, USA, today

The fleet received 14 serial M6А1 Model 11, assembled at Eytoku plant - this number was enough to equip the four 1945 submarine aircraft carriers (I-400, I-401, I-13 and I-14 by the end of March). Another six seaplanes were able to be assembled at the remaining production capacities of other aircraft building factories of the Aichi company from previously produced units, parts and components. The last Seyran was assembled in July 1945. These planes entered service with coastal-borne squadrons. Restore the full production of a specialized strike aircraft in the prevailing realities of wartime, it did not make sense.

In total, of the attack aircraft ordered by the fleet 44 (based on the equipment of the submarine aircraft carriers built at the shipyards), only 20 serial "Seyrans" were delivered. The total number of constructed МХNUMXА6 taking into account the prototypes (of which two М1А6-К) was 1 units.


The main tactical and technical characteristics of the shock Japanese seaplane "Aichi" МХNUMXА6 "Seyran"

References:
1. Beshanov V.V. Encyclopedia of aircraft carriers / Under the general editorship of AE Taras - Moscow: AST, Minsk: Harvest, 2002 - (Library of military stories).
2. Platonov A.V. Linear forces of the submarine fleet - SPb .: Galeya Print LLC, 1998.
3. Dashyan A.V. Ships of the Second World War. Japanese Navy (part of 2). Maritime collection №7, 2004.
4. Ivanov S.V. Japan submarines 1941-1945. War at sea (№31) - Beloretsk: ARS LLC, 2006.
5. Okolelov N.N., Shumilin S.E., Chechin A.A. Submarine aircraft carriers of the Japanese fleet (history, design, aircraft armament). Maritime collection №7, 2007.
6. Kascheev L.B. Japanese submarines in World War II. Maritime collection №2, 2011.
7. Firsov A. Aviation of Japan in the second world war. Part One: Aichi, Yokosuka, Kawasaki. Aviation collection №4. TsAGI, 1996.
8. Solomonov B., Kulagin K. Submarine aviation of the Yamato country. Aviamaster №3, 2003.
9. Doroshkevich O. Airplanes of Japan of the Second World War - Minsk: Harvest, 2004.
10. Chechin A., Okolelov N. Start from under the water. Model Designer #7,8 -2009.
11. Chechin A., Okolelov N. Ominous "Mountain Fog". Aichi MXNUMHA Seyran seaplane and its predecessors. Aviation and Time Magazine No. 6 - 04, 06.
12. Haruk A.I. Attack aircraft of the Second World War - attack aircraft, bombers, torpedo bombers - M .: Yauza; Eksmo, xnumx.
13. Haruk A.I. All seaplanes of the second world. Illustrated color encyclopedia - M .: Yauza; Eksmo, xnumx.
14. Kotelnikov V. Aviation in the Second World War. Aircraft of France. Part-1 (Aviation collection No. 10) - 1996.
15. Kozyrev M., Kozyrev V. Aviation of Axis Countries in World War II - M .: ZAO Tsentpoligraf, 2010.
16. Bryukhanov A. Deck aircraft in World War II: An Illustrated Collection. Parts I - IV. - Publishing solutions (licensed by Ridero), 2017.
17. Bryukhanov A. Japanese submarine aviation in World War II: Publishing solutions (licensed by Ridero), 2017.
18. Gusev A.N. Submarines for special purposes. Built ships and unrealized projects - M .: MORKNIGA, 2013.
19. RJ Francillon. Japanese Aircraft of the Pacific. Putman & Company. London-1970.
20. Robert C. Mikesh. Aichi M6A1 Seiran, Japan's Submarine-Launched Panama Canal Bomber (Monogram Close-Up 13) - Monogram Aviation Publications. Commonwealth Press Worcester, Massachustts, 1975.
21. Japanese Military Aircraft Illustrated. Vol. 3, Reconnaissance Flying Boat Trainer / Transport - Bunrin-Do Co. Ltd., Tokyo 1983.
22. Robert C. Mikesh & Shorzoe Abe. Japanese Aircraft 1910-1941. Putnam Aeronautical Books, London, 1990.
23. Famous airplanes of the world №47. Imperial Japanese Navy Reconnaissance Seaplane - BUNRINDO Co.Ltd, Tokyo 1994.
24. Tadeusz Januszewski. Japanese Submarine Aircraft - Red Series (No. 5103). Mushroom Model Publications, 2002.
25. Ryusuke Ishiguro, Tadeusz Januszewski. Kugisho E14Y GLEN: The Aircraft that Bombed America (White Series) - MMPBooks, 2012.
26. ER Johnson. United States Naval Aviation, 1919-1941 - Aircraft, Airships and Ships Between the Wars. McFarland, 2011.

Internet resources:
http://www.airwar.ru;
http://www.warbirdphotographs.com;
http://wiki.gcdn.co;
http://silverhawkauthor.com;
http://www.flickriver;
http://www.latoff.com;
http://yosikava.livejournal.com.


To be continued ...
Author:
4 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. polpot
    polpot 29 January 2018 08: 40
    +2
    Thanks for the article very interestingly written
  2. Dedall
    Dedall 29 January 2018 23: 41
    +2
    Gentlemen, you bastard from American museums! They dragged so many flying equipment from around the world that they stand tightly. But they stand in clean pavilions. Pretty all are - look, admire.
    And we have ... Two museums all over the country. One in the outback near Moscow - Monino. get there horseradish and almost all aircraft in the open. "A sad sight ... a heartbreaking sight ..." - as said Crocodile Gene. The second private museum of Vadim Zadorozhny in Arkhangelsk will be nicer. That's just built on the basis of the looted state design bureau Yakovlev and much more victorious. And the price of tickets somehow does not meet this.
    And do not write that there is still the Patriot Park. There, it is generally not clear what millions were spent on - planes castrated to bare skin are in a clean field. Oh, the wrong country was called Honduras!
  3. Warrior2015
    Warrior2015 20 July 2018 20: 33
    0
    Thanks to the author, well and interestingly written!
  4. Evgeny 2
    Evgeny 2 28 July 2018 13: 08
    0
    The db motor is initially inverted. and so everything is fine

Гидроавиация японского подводного флота во Второй мировой войне. Часть IX

М6А1 «Сейран» («Горный туман») - ударный самолёт подводного флота Японии

Одновременно с разработкой и созданием подводных авианосцев для японского флота велась работа над их авиационной составляющей – ударным бортовым гидросамолётом.


Сама идея использования ударных самолётов, запускаемых с больших специальных подводных лодок-авианосцев, для атаки целей на Тихоокеанском побережье Америки, континентальной части США или в других удаленных районах мирового океана, появилась в Морском генеральном штабе Имперского флота Японии (Kaigun Gunreibu) ещё за несколько месяцев до начала войны на Тихом океане. Эта идея нашла свое отражение в спецификации под кодовым наименованием «Maruyan», которую подготовил Кансей Хомбу (Kansei Hombu).

Командование японского флота считало, что успех миссии подводного авианосца по нанесению внезапного удара по стратегической цели во многом будет зависеть от характеристик самолёта, как составной части единого ударного комплекса.

Чтобы избежать перехвата вражескими истребителями, ударный самолёт без внешних подвесок должен был развивать на высоте 4000 метров максимальную скорость в 300 узлов (555 километров в час). Максимальная дальность полёта его должна была составлять не менее 800 морских миль (1482 километра), при этом первоначально предполагалось, что это будет «одноразовый» самолёт и поплавки ему не нужны (нечего возить балласт за три моря!).

На подводном авианосце ударные самолёты в количестве трёх единиц должны были размещаться в сложенном виде (а не разобранном) в герметичном цилиндрическом ангаре диаметром 3.5 метра и длиной 34 метра.

Все эти требования японского флота к новому самолёту нашли формальное выражение в спецификации «17-Shi Экспериментальный морской штурмовик-бомбардировщик», принятой 15 мая 1942 года. К этому времени полностью были уточнены и согласованы параметры подводных авианосцев типа «Sen-Toku», что позволяло приступить к практической работе над созданием для них ударного самолёта.

Разработку принципиально нового самолёта поручили компании «Айчи», которая, начиная ещё с 1920-х годов, создавала самолёты исключительно для военно-морского флота Японии. Руководителем проекта по созданию ударного гидросамолёта назначили представителя фирмы «Айчи» Такуширо Гомеи (Takuichiro Gomei), а главным инженером стал Норио Озаки (Norio Ozaki).

Несмотря на жёсткие требования спецификации «17-Shi», руководство проекта считало задачу создания соответствующего техническому заданию самолёта вполне выполнимой. Сам проект получил фирменное обозначение «АМ», а разрабатываемый ударный самолёт - М6А1. Лишь спустя четырнадцать месяцев после начала разработки ему присвоили собственной название «Сейран» (Seiran), что в упрощённом переводе с японского языка означает «Горный туман». Традиционного кодового имени от союзников «Сейран» не получил, американцы узнали о его существовании в последние дни войны.

Работы над проектом шли медленно, однако, несмотря на его инновационный характер, носили плановый, поступательный характер. На первоначальном этапе для ускорения работ была предпринята попытка адаптировать для размещения в авиационном ангаре подводного авианосца выпускающийся серийно пикирующий бомбардировщик «Айчи» D4Y1 «Сусей» и оснастить его сбрасываемыми (в случае крайней необходимости) поплавками. Кроме того, унификация узлов и агрегатов значительно упростила бы производство и обслуживание нового самолёта.


Палубный пикирующий бомбардировщик «Йокосука» D4Y2 «Сусей» с двигателем жидкостного охлаждения «Ацута-32», 1944 год

Однако от этой идеи пришлось отказаться. «Сусей», установленный на стартовую тележку, из-за большого винта не вписывался в габариты ангара. Делать винт съёмным посчитали нецелесообразным, так как увеличивалось время подготовки самолёта к старту. Для взлёта с помощью катапульты D4Y1 требовалась большая подъёмная сила и соответственно большая площадь и мощная механизация крыла. Боевая нагрузка (500-кг бомба) размещалась на пикировщике в бомбоотсеке, однако вместить туда требуемые по заданию 800-кг бомбу или 850-килограммовую торпеду не представлялось возможным.

Стало ясно, что создавать нужно новый самолёт, пусть и с оглядкой на D4Y1 «Сусей». Кроме превосходных аэродинамических форм от пикировщика позаимствовали его 1400-сильный 12-цилиндровый двигатель жидкостного охлаждения «Айчи» «Ацута-32», который представлял собой лицензионную копию германского DB 601A фирмы «Даймлер-Бенц». Для обеспечения лучшего обзора пилоту и снижения центра тяжести V-образный двигатель установили на М6А1 в перевёрнутом положении. Жидкостный двигатель, заправленный горячей водой и подогретым маслом ещё в ангаре (до всплытия лодки на поверхность), во время запуска гораздо быстрее прогревался (в сравнении с двигателем воздушного охлаждения), сокращая общее время для подготовки к старту.

Гидроавиация японского подводного флота во Второй мировой войне. Часть IX


1400-сильный 12-цилиндровый двигатель жидкостного охлаждения «Айчи» «Ацута-32» в сборке для ударного самолёта М6А1 «Сейран» (вид спереди и вид сзади)

Однако серийное производство авиационных двигателей «Айчи» «Ацута-32» было развёрнуто только в конце 1943 года, на первые прототипы «Сейрана», по всей видимости, устанавливалась более ранняя модель «Айчи» «Ацута-21» (имели аналогичную взлётную мощность в 1400 лошадиных сил, но были менее надёжны), заменённые в последующем на штатные «Ацута-32». Первые же модификации пикирующих бомбардировщиков-разведчиков D4Y1-С/D4Y1 «Сусей» оснащались 1200-сильными двигателями «Ацута-12», а 32-я модель устанавливалась на следующей модификации - D4Y2 (самой скоростной из всех «Сусеев).

Для обеспечения достаточной подъёмной силы при катапультном взлёте М6А1 получил развитую систему закрылков крыла, опробованную на прототипе разрабатываемого в это же время на фирме «Айчи» разведывательном гидросамолёте корабельного базирования Е16А1 «Зуйун» (Zuiun - «Благоприятное облако»). Двухщелевые дюралюминиевые закрылки, отклонённые и повёрнутые на 90 градусов, при пикировании выполняли функцию воздушных тормозов.


Разведывательный гидросамолёт корабельного базирования «Айчи» Е16А1 «Зуйун»


Прототип «Сейрана» демонстрирует мощную механизацию крыла, подобную гидросамолёту «Айчи» Е16А1 «Зуйуну»

От Е16А1 «Сейран» позаимствовал и цельнометаллические поплавки. Они крепились к консолям крыла свободнонесущими обтекаемыми пилонами и могли сбрасываться в полёте при необходимости (на большой скорости оторваться от преследующих истребителей).

На стадии проработки требований поплавки посчитали излишними. Однако впоследствии «трезвые головы» пришли к выводу о непозволительной расточительности создания «одноразовых ударных самолётов», которые после выполнения основной боевой задачи могли бы участвовать в нанесении ударов по целям в других регионах (блокировать судоходство в районе мыса Горн или нанести удар по континентальной части территории США).

Помимо поплавков и закрылков «Зуйун» поделился с М6А1 своим килем и хвостовой частью фюзеляжа. Киль оказался высоковат («Сейран» не помещался с ним в ангар субмарины) и его законцовку пришлось срезать.


Один из первых прототипов М6А1 (вид спереди)

В июне 1942 года на полномасштабном деревянном макете начали отработку технологии складывания консолей крыла, хвостового оперения и размещения М6А1 в авиационном ангаре. В итоге была принята схема (аналогичная применявшейся на американских самолётах фирмы «Грумман»), по которой вначале консоли крыла поворачивались на 90 градусов против часовой стрелки, а затем прижимались к фюзеляжу в сторону хвоста. Этому предшествовало складывание горизонтального хвостового оперения вниз и отклонение кончика вертикального хвоста к правому борту. После складывания общая ширина «Сейрана» составляла 2.46 метра, а общая высота самолёта на стартовой тележке не превышала 2.10 метра, что при диаметре винта в 3.2 метра позволяло разместить его в цилиндрическом авиационном ангаре диаметром 3.5 метра. При хранении в ангаре подводного авианосца типа I-400 («Sen-Toku») трех «Сейранов» руль направления для уменьшения общей длины отклоняли максимально. Для удобства сборки в тёмное время суток элементы конструкции в местах соединения окрашивались светящейся краской. Съёмные поплавки на субмарине хранились в специальных герметичных контейнерах.


Схема размещения А6М1 в авиационном ангаре подводной лодки на стартовой тележке

На макете все операции, естественно, выполнялись вручную. На реальных же самолётах для этих целей использовался гидравлический механизм. Усреднённые расчёты показывали, что после всплытия команда из четырёх человек может собирать самолёт без установки поплавков за 4.5 минут, на присоединение поплавков требовалось ещё 2.5 минуты. На практике (уже после принятия ударного гидросамолёта на вооружение) реальное время запуска субмариной I-400 после всплытия всех трёх «Сейранов» уходило не менее 45 минут, а для I-14 с её двумя М6А1 этот показатель составлял 30 - 35 минут.

Конструктивно М6А1 «Сейран» представлял собой двухместный однодвигательный двухпоплавковый цельнометаллический моноплан. Деревянными были только законцовки крыльев. Поверхности управления имели полотняную обшивку. Крыльевые топливные баки вмещали 934 литра авиабензина.


Прототип ударного гидросамолёта М6А1 «Сейран» с 250-кг бомбой под фюзеляжем

Экипаж «Сейрана» состоял из пилота и стрелка-радиста (наблюдателя) и размещался тандемом в застеклённой кабине с двумя сдвижными секциями.

Изначально стрелковое вооружение М6А1 должно было состоять из двух 7.7-мм пулемётов – одного курсового и одного на турели у стрелка-радиста в задней части кабины. В конечном итоге, исходя из целесообразности и экономии веса, решили ограничиться одним оборонительным 13-мм пулеметом Тип 2 на турели, который представлял собой версию немецкого авиационного пулемёта MG 131.

Ударное вооружение «Сейрана» могло состоять из одной 850-кг авиационной торпеды Тип 91 Мод. 2, подвешиваемой под фюзеляжем, либо одной 800-кг или двух 250-килограммовых авиабомб. Для сокращения времени на подготовку к боевому вылету самолёты в авиационном ангаре подводного авианосца размещались с подвешенным ударным вооружением. Остальной боезапас для ударных самолётов на подводных авианосцах типа I-400 хранился в специальном погребе в одном из отсеков. Всего для вооружения бортовых бомбардировщиков-торпедоносцев М6А1 «Сейран» предназначались четыре 450-мм авиационные торпеды, три 800-кг и двенадцать 250-кг авиационных бомб.

В январе 1943 года, почти одновременно с закладкой первого подводного авианосца I-400 типа «Sen-Toku», в Эйтоку (в районе Нагоя) на заводе фирмы «Айчи» приступили к постройке первых шести прототипов М6А1. Сборку первого прототипа самолёта закончили в ноябре 1943 года, а в декабре начались его лётные испытания. В феврале 1944 года на испытания вышел второй прототип «Сейрана».



В облике нового самолёта, обладающего изящными аэродинамическими очертаниями, угадывались черты скоростного пикирующего бомбардировщика «Йокосука» D4Y1 «Сусей» («Джуди») и разведывательного гидросамолёта «Айчи» Е16А1 «Зуйун».

В ходе лётных испытаний прототип М6А1 подтвердил в основном предъявляемые к нему требования. Максимальная скорость на высоте 4000 метров составляла 439 км в час, крейсерская на высоте 3000 метров – 277 км в час. Посадочная скорость не превышала 115 км в час. Практический потолок М6А1 равнялся 9000 метров, а нормальная дальность полёта составила 1100 километров. В ходе испытаний выявилась неудовлетворительная путевая устойчивость, что являлось типичной проблемой многих поплавковых самолётов для своего времени. Проблему устранили, увеличив высоту киля (складываемой его части).


Третий прототип бомбардировщика-торпедоносца М6А1 «Сейран» на транспортной тележке, под фюзеляжем 800-кг авиабомба

К июню 1944 года были построены ещё четыре прототипа М6А1. Два из них оснастили убираемым в полёте колёсным шасси и двойным управлением и предназначались они для расширенных лётных испытаний и учебных целей. Самолёты получили обозначение М6А1-К и первичное наименование «Сейран-Кай», которое позже заменили на «Нанзан» (Nanzan – «Южная гора»). Консоли крыла и хвостового оперения у «Нанзана» не складывались, а киль получился усечённым – его выполнили без складывающейся части (на путевую устойчивость в отсутствии поплавков это никак не сказывалось). М6А1-К сохранили узлы крепления к стартовой тележке, что давало возможность выполнять учебные запуски с «береговой катапульты».


Прототип «Сейрана» с колёсным шасси «Айчи» М6А1-К «Нанзан»

Оснащённые двигателями «Ацута-32» М6А1-К «Нанзан» развивали на высоте 3000 метров максимальную скорость 575 км в час, крейсерская скорость на этой же высоте составляла 295 км в час, несколько большими были практический потолок (9600 метров) и дальность полёта (1120 км).


Имеющий двойное управление М6А1-К, «Нанзан» применялся для подготовки пилотов для «Сейранов», практического бомбометания и сброса торпед

Удовлетворённое ходом и результатами испытаний прототипов М6А1 командование морской авиации японского флота приняло решение о начале серийного производства. На заводе в Эйтоку под Нагоей уже с весны 1944 года в условиях строжайшей секретности шла подготовка к серийному производству. Серийные ударные гидросамолёты подводного базирования получили обозначение М6А1 Модель 11 «Сейран».


«Айчи» М6А1 «Сейран» в экспозиции национального музея авиации и космонавтики Смитсоновского института, штат Вирджиния, США

Подготовку к производству первой партии серийных самолётов завершили к октябрю 1944 года. До разрушительного землетрясения в районе Нагои 7 декабря 1944 года успели собрать только четыре «Сейрана». Из-за больших разрушений и потери части важнейшего оборудования завод в Эйтоку приостановил выпуск самолётов (повреждения получили и уже построенные «Сейраны»). Восстановить производство удалось только к весне 1945 года. 12 марта завод в Эйтоку подвергся налёту американской авиации – производство самолётов вновь прекратилось. В последующем производственные цеха ещё трижды подвергались налетам вражеской авиации (17 мая, 26 июня и 24 июля 1945 года), о серийном производстве не могло быть и речи.


Единственный сохранившийся (восстановленный) экземпляр ударного самолёта «Айчи» М6А1 «Сейран» из экспозиции национального музея авиации и космонавтики, штат Вирджиния, США, наши дни

Флот получил 14 серийных М6А1 Модель 11, собранных на заводе в Эйтоку – этого количества вполне хватало на оснащение четырёх вошедших в строй к концу марта 1945 года подводных авианосцев (I-400, I-401, I-13 и I-14). Ещё шесть гидросамолётов удалось собрать на сохранившихся производственных мощностях других авиастроительных заводах фирмы «Айчи» из произведённых ранее узлов, деталей и комплектующих. Последний «Сейран» был собран в июле 1945 года. Эти самолёты поступили на вооружение строевых эскадрилий берегового базирования. Восстанавливать полноценное производство специализированного ударного самолёта в сложившихся реалиях военного времени уже не имело смысла.

Всего из заказанных флотом 44 ударных самолётов (исходя из расчёта оснащения заложенных на верфях подводных авианосцев) было поставлено только 20 серийных «Сейранов». Общее количество построенных М6А1 с учетом прототипов (из них два М6А1-К) составило 28 единиц.


Основные тактико-технические характеристики ударного японского гидросамолёта «Айчи» М6А1 «Сейран»

Литература:
1. Бешанов В.В. Энциклопедия авианосцев/Под обшей редакцией А.Е.Тараса – М.: АСТ, Мн.: Харвест, 2002 – (Библиотека военной истории).
2. Платонов А.В. Линейные силы подводного флота – СПб.: ООО «Галея Принт», 1998.
3. Дашьян А.В. Корабли Второй мировой войны. ВМС Японии (часть 2). Морская коллекция №7, 2004.
4. Иванов С.В. Субмарины Японии 1941-1945. Война на море (№31) - Белорецк: ООО «АРС», 2006.
5. Околелов Н.Н., Шумилин С.Э., Чечин А.А. Подводные авианосцы японского флота (история, конструкция, авиационное вооружение). Морская коллекция №7, 2007.
6. Кащеев Л.Б. Японские субмарины во Второй мировой войне. Морская коллекция №2, 2011.
7. Фирсов А. Авиация Японии во второй мировой войне. Часть первая: Айчи, Йокосука, Кавасаки. Авиационный сборник №4. ЦАГИ,1996.
8. Соломонов Б., Кулагин К. Подводная авиация страны Ямато. Авиамастер №3, 2003.
9. Дорошкевич О. Самолёты Японии Второй мировой войны – Мн.: Харвест, 2004.
10. Чечин А., Околелов Н. Старт из-под воды. Моделист-конструктор№7,8 -2009.
11. Чечин А., Околелов Н. Зловещий «Горный туман». Гидросамолёт Аичи М6А «Сейран» и его предшественники. Журнал «Авиация и Время» № 04 - 06, 2013.
12. Харук А.И. Ударная авиация Второй Мировой – штурмовики, бомбардировщики, торпедоносцы – М.: Яуза; ЭКСМО, 2012.
13. Харук А.И. Все гидросамолёты второй мировой. Иллюстрированная цветная энциклопедия – М.: Яуза; ЭКСМО, 2014.
14. Котельников В. Авиация во Второй Мировой войне. Самолеты Франции. Часть-1(Авиационный сборник №10) – 1996.
15. Козырев М., Козырев В. Авиация стран оси во Второй мировой войне – М.: ЗАО Центрполиграф, 2010.
16. Брюханов А. Палубная авиация во Второй мировой войне: Иллюстрированный сборник. Части I – IV. – Издательские решения (по лицензии Ridero), 2017.
17. Брюханов А. Авиация подводного флота Японии во Второй мировой войне: Издательские решения (по лицензии Ridero), 2017.
18. Гусев А.Н. Подводные лодки специального назначения. Построенные корабли и нереализованные проекты - М.: МОРКНИГА, 2013.
19. R.J. Francillon. Japanese Aircraft of the Pacific. Putman & Company. London-1970.
20. Robert C. Mikesh. Aichi M6A1 Seiran, Japan's Submarine-Launched Panama Canal Bomber (Monogram Close-Up 13) – Monogram Aviation Publications. Commonwealth Press Worcester, Massachustts, 1975.
21. Japanese Military Aircraft Illustrated. Vol. 3, Reconnaissance Flying Boat Trainer/Transport - Bunrin-Do Co. Ltd., Tokyo 1983.
22. Robert C. Mikesh & Shorzoe Abe. Japanese Aircraft 1910-1941. Putnam Aeronautical Books, London, 1990.
23. Famous airplanes of the world №47. Imperial Japanese Navy Reconnaissance Seaplane – BUNRINDO Co.Ltd, Tokyo 1994.
24. Tadeusz Januszewski. Japanese Submarine Aircraft - Red Series (№ 5103). Mushroom Model Publications, 2002.
25. Ryusuke Ishiguro, Tadeusz Januszewski. Kugisho E14Y GLEN: The Aircraft that Bombed America (White Series) – MMPBooks, 2012.
26. E. R. Johnson. United States Naval Aviation, 1919-1941 - Aircraft, Airships and Ships Between the Wars. McFarland, 2011.

Интернет-ресурсы:
http://www.airwar.ru;
http://www.warbirdphotographs.com;
http://wiki.gcdn.co;
http://silverhawkauthor.com;
http://www.flickriver;
http://www.latoff.com;
http://yosikava.livejournal.com.


Продолжение следует…
Автор:
Александр Брюханов
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

4 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти