Military Review

Submachine gun MAT-49 (France)

21
After liberation from occupation, France began to build a new army. Armed forces required a variety of weapon, including submachine guns. This problem was proposed to be solved both with the help of captured German weapons, and by launching the production of our own systems. First, the industry resumed production of one of the pre-war models, and then took up the development of a completely new weapon. By the end of the decade, new samples were presented, including the product MAT-49.


Recall, shortly after the end of the war, the French army, in need of small arms, initiated the resumption of production of MAS-38 submachine guns. This weapon was created in the late thirties and had certain drawbacks, but in the current situation it was not necessary to choose. The mass production of the old product made it possible to partially close the needs of the army, but this did not eliminate the need to create new projects. The relevant work started in the near future.

Submachine gun MAT-49 (France)
Submachine gun MAT-49. Photo Deactivated-guns.co.uk


All the leading French enterprises were involved in the program for creating a promising submachine gun. In accordance with the requirements of the military, the designers had to create a relatively light and compact weapon for a pistol cartridge with the possibility of automatic fire. Taking into account the operating experience of existing systems, the customer refused the cartridge 7,65x20 mm Longue, instead of which the more common 9x19 mm Parabellum should be applied. As in several previous versions of the technical specifications, there was a requirement for a folding weapon design, designed to facilitate transport.

Several enterprises participated in the program, including the Manufacture Nationale d'Armes de Tulle (MAT) plant from Tule. Its specialists already had some experience in creating weapons for the army and could use it when designing the next sample. The main designer of the new submachine gun from the company MAT became Pierre Montey.


MAT-49 and its creator Pierre Montey. Photo Guns.com


The first prototype of the advanced weapon was assembled in the 1948 year, as a result of which it received the working designation MAT-48. Serial production was launched a year later, which was reflected in the name of the final version of the submachine gun - MAT-49. A few years later there was a modification of weapons, intended for the use of gendarmerie. Its name also reflected the year of appearance - MAT-49 / 54.

The project of the plant MAT proposed the use of their own and others' developments, as well as the experience gained during the years of the last war. This led to the abandonment of certain devices and solutions characteristic of pre-war weapons, but at the same time allowed us to obtain the desired characteristics and capabilities. In addition, some already well-known ideas were developed, which gave certain advantages over existing samples.

The project MAT-48 / 49 provided for the assembly of automatic weapons under the pistol cartridge, built according to the traditional scheme. The submachine gun had to be equipped with a medium-length barrel with a protective casing. Details of automation were in the receiver of a simplified rectangular shape, under which were placed the folding magazine receiver and the pistol grip. Instead of a wooden butt, typical of previous projects, it was proposed to use a simple metal part. It was proposed to manufacture all the main parts of the weapon by stamping, which seriously reduced the cost and labor intensity of production.


Incomplete disassembly of weapons. Photo Guns.com


Submachine gun MAT-49 was completed with a rifled barrel caliber 9 mm. The barrel had a length of 230 mm or 25,5 caliber. The outer surface of the barrel was cylindrical. Near the barrel on the trunk was placed a rack with a front sight. About two-thirds of the trunk was covered with a cylindrical casing. For better cooling of the barrel with atmospheric air, there were numerous round holes in the casing.

The project used the receiver a little unusual design. The bolt and return spring were supposed to be inside a square casing made in the form of a tube open at the back. The front end of such a casing had attachments for the trunk, the rear one was closed with a removable cover. Other submachine guns of that time were often completed with a tubular receiver of round section, but P. Montey and his colleagues decided to use a square piece.


Submachine gun in a combat position. Photo Deactivated-guns.co.uk


On the right side of the receiver there was a large window for ejection of spent cartridges. In the transport position of the weapon, this window was closed with a rectangular lid. When the slide was moved backwards, the lid was folded back on the hinge with its own spring. In the left wall of the box provided a longitudinal groove for the bolt handle. From the bottom, in a rectangular tube, there were windows and slots for feeding cartridges, pulling out the details of the trigger mechanism, etc.

From the bottom, a relatively high part of a smaller width was attached to the tubular casing of the bolt, in front of which there was a receiving shaft of the store. Behind her, there was an integrated trigger bracket, and behind her, the metal base of a pistol grip.

Weapons used the principle of free shutter, which simplified the design of its internal devices. The shutter was made in the form of a massive rectangular block with several slots and channels for connecting with other parts. Behind the bolt backed back-fighting spring. Cocking mechanisms carried out with the help of the handle, derived on the left side of the weapon. The handle was rigidly connected to the plate-curtain, covering the longitudinal groove of the receiver. When firing, the handle remained in the forward position and did not move with the shutter.


MAT-49 with the store receiver folded; the store itself is missing. Photo Modernfirearms.net


The shot was carried out with an open shutter, and therefore the weapon did not need a complex trigger mechanism. All the main parts of the latter were placed inside the pistol grip. Fire control was carried out by a trigger of a traditional design. Initially, the MAT-49 product could only fire in single bursts without the possibility of fire. Safe handling of weapons provided automatic fuse. His large key was on the back of the pistol grip. To unlock the trigger and shooting the key should be pressed all the way into the handle.

The use of a folding butt did not allow for a drastic reduction in size in the transport position, and therefore, in the thirties, folding receivers were used in new French projects. The new project MAT-48 / 49 also provided for the use of such devices.


Folded weapons with a magazine. Photo Deactivated-guns.co.uk


The receiving shaft, which was part of the receiver, had a U-shaped form in plan and was not equipped with a front wall. Inside it, on two semi-axes, was placed a rectangular store receiver. The receiver received the front edge of a complex "anatomical" shape. In the vertical combat position, he served as the second handle. At the rear of the box shaft there was a latch locking the receiver in the working position. The latch holding the magazine was placed in front.

When transferring the weapon to the transport position, it was necessary to press the back latch and turn the receiver with the magazine forward. After that, he held a horizontal position under the barrel. Fixation was carried out by the latch on the front wall of the receiver and the hinge under the barrel cover. Before the battle, weapons were returned to the working position.

Two magazines were developed for the MAT-49 submachine gun. Both products had a box-shaped case of the same dimensions with different internal equipment. The first version of the store contained 32 cartridge, arranged in two rows. The second product was distinguished by the single row arrangement of 20 cartridges. A simpler single-row shop was more resistant to pollution and therefore was intended for use in the difficult conditions of the North African deserts.


Barrel casing and shop. You can consider the receiver lock. Photo Deactivated-guns.co.uk


The submachine gun was equipped with simple sights. On the muzzle of the trunk was placed support with a front sight mounted inside the protective ring. On the receiver, near its back cover, there was an open sight with a flip entirely. The latter could be used for aimed fire at a distance of 50 or 100 m.

The weapon was equipped with a butt of the simplest design, which should be made of several metal rods. The base of the butt was a pair of parallel horizontal barriers, smoothly turning into a curved shoulder rest. The latter had a pair of small transverse elements. The front bars of the butt entered the tube mounted on the sides of the receiver. In the unfolded position, the butt was fixed with an uncomplicated latch.


Folded submachine gun, right side view. Photo Armoury-online.ru


Submachine gun MAT-48 / 49 had the simplest accessories, providing an acceptable convenience of the shooter. Metal or plastic handles were fixed on the metal base that held the USM parts. On the back of its surface protruded key fuse. The second hand of the shooter had to hold the weapon by the metal receiver of the store of the optimized form.

The MAT-49 had a total length (with the butt extended) 660 mm. Folded stock reduced this parameter to 404 mm. The foldable design of the magazine receiver allowed to dramatically reduce the vertical size of the weapon, after which it was determined only by a rigidly fixed pistol grip. In the transport position, the submachine gun had a height of no more than 150 mm with a width of less than 50 mm. Weapons without a magazine weighed 3,6 kg.

Automatics based on the free gate, using the Parabellum mm 9x19 cartridge, showed a rate of fire at the level of 600 rounds per minute. The effective firing range reached 150-200 m. In this parameter, the new submachine gun was superior to previous products in its class, using a less powerful cartridge.


Butt close up. Photo Deactivated-guns.co.uk


At the end of the forties, several samples of perspective small arms of the French design passed the necessary tests, and some of them managed to get a recommendation for adoption. MAT-48 from the Manufacture Nationale d'Armes de Tulle was recognized as one of the most successful samples. Soon the latter received an order for full-scale mass production of new weapons. The submachine gun was adopted in the 1949 year, which was reflected in its official designation.

Serial weapons were supplied to various units of the French army and gradually filled their arsenals. Over time, the production of submachine guns MAT-49 allowed to reduce the proportion of obsolete samples, and then abandon them. By the end of the fifties, the plant of Thule and other enterprises involved in the production of weapons completed the rearmament of the army. According to reports, during the serial production of a submachine gun for the army did not undergo major changes. The only exception was small-scale products that had a barrel with a thread for installing a silent-firing device.


French soldier with submachine gun MAT-49. Photo Sassik.livejournal.com


In the early fifties, the National Gendarmerie of France became interested in new weapons. Soon, according to her order, a specialized version of the submachine gun was created. The product MAT-49 / 54, put into service in the 1954 year, differed from the basic modification of a wooden butt, an elongated barrel, fully enclosed casing, and a modified trigger mechanism. As part of the latter there were two triggers: one was responsible for shooting single, the second - for automatic fire. The rest of the MAT-49 / 54 repeated the design of the base sample.

From a certain time, the submachine guns MAT-49 were produced not only for domestic customers. A simple, effective and inexpensive weapon interested the military and law enforcement officers from third countries. Subsequently, a significant number of orders for the supply of arms to three dozen armies of Asia and Africa appeared. Due to the specific military-political situation in these regions, French submachine guns often “entered service” by various armed formations and were used against former owners.

Of particular interest are the submachine guns MAT-49, which in the recent past were in service with Vietnam. In the middle of the 20th century, France tried to keep its colonies in Southeast Asia under control, which led to the beginning of the war. French weapons often became the trophy of the Vietnamese, and they used it in subsequent battles. From a certain time, the Vietnamese army workshops began to remake French submachine guns and install new barrels on them. For logistical reasons, this weapon was transferred to the Soviet cartridge 7,62x25 mm TT. Such samples were actively used during all subsequent conflicts, up to the final liberation of Vietnam.


MAT-49 / 54 for gendarmerie. Photo Sassik.livejournal.com


Serial production of submachine guns MAT-49 continued in France until the end of the seventies and was minimized due to the advent of the new weapon. Soon the process of replacing outdated systems with new ones began. Place MAT-49 in the army took the latest automatic rifle FAMAS. Within a few years, the machine guns no longer needed were sent to storage; some of them were subsequently disposed of as unnecessary.

The operation of the MAT-49 products in other countries lasted longer. Not having access to newer weapons, the poor states of Africa and Asia were forced to retain existing submachine guns. At the same time, by now many of these countries have been able to find opportunities for updating their arsenals. However, according to various sources, the French post-war MAT-49 is still used by some armies and law enforcement agencies.

After the end of World War II, France launched a major rearmament program, one of the elements of which was to produce promising submachine guns. The product MAT-48 / 49 was supposed to replace outdated weapons of pre-war development and bring the combat performance of the troops to the required level. This task was successfully solved, and the army received a new weapon. In addition, a successful project allowed the French industry to take a favorable position in the international market of small arms.


Based on:
http://modernfirearms.net/
http://guns.com/
https://militaryfactory.com/
Popenker MR, Milchev M.N. World War II: gunsmiths war. - M .: Yauza, Eksmo, 2008.
Author:
21 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. inkass_98
    inkass_98 29 January 2018 15: 22
    +5
    An extremely ugly design, it was always surprising how un-aesthetic French weapons might look. Only “Stan” can compete with him, perhaps.
    1. Nitochkin
      Nitochkin 29 January 2018 17: 04
      +3
      And this applies not only to small arms. In what area do not spit, the French most often get freaks. One of the few exceptions is the Mirage.
      1. inkass_98
        inkass_98 29 January 2018 17: 36
        +1
        But weapons this is especially true. What is a Shosh machine gun, what are their pistols, what is MAT, what is FAMAS ...
    2. Kent0001
      Kent0001 29 January 2018 17: 59
      +6
      Despite the ugliness, it was a very successful and deadly machine.
  2. polpot
    polpot 29 January 2018 15: 32
    +4
    Thank you for the article, a product very familiar from French films.
    1. Okolotochny
      Okolotochny 29 January 2018 20: 58
      +5
      Yes, Adventurers with Allen Delon and Lino Ventura. This device flashed there in episodes.
      1. Michael_Zverev
        Michael_Zverev 30 January 2018 18: 52
        +3
        And in the film about the gendarme Cruchet with Louis de Funes.
  3. san4es
    san4es 29 January 2018 17: 56
    +4
    Submachine gun MAT-49

    ... a bit of shooting soldier
  4. Curious
    Curious 29 January 2018 21: 01
    +1
    "The bolt and the return-fighting spring should have been inside the square casing, made in the form of an open tube at the back".
    The author does not deign to clarify this passage. The casing is square, but made in the form of a tube. That is, the square is round in shape.

    Where is the round square in the picture?
    1. Nitochkin
      Nitochkin 30 January 2018 03: 28
      +3
      A little secret, pipes are square and rectangular.
      1. Curious
        Curious 30 January 2018 09: 37
        0
        Truth? I can’t even imagine the pipe is square.
        1. Nitochkin
          Nitochkin 30 January 2018 20: 38
          +5
          For example, GOST 8639-82 "Steel square pipes"
    2. hohol95
      hohol95 30 January 2018 08: 35
      +3
      TUBE PROFILE SQUARE

      hi
  5. hohol95
    hohol95 29 January 2018 21: 15
    +4

    French Rambo ...
    1. Michael_Zverev
      Michael_Zverev 30 January 2018 18: 53
      +2
      With emphasis on O. laughing
      1. hohol95
        hohol95 30 January 2018 21: 47
        +2
        Then with the prefix DE - DE REMBO ...
  6. John22
    John22 30 January 2018 10: 29
    +4
    1. The not entirely successful translation of the text is surprising in the perception of the terms of the construction of the software. Square tube instead of the receiver, etc.
    2. I do not agree with criticism of the PP. It is a completely normal design, with elements of convenience, to which, in our USSR, hands did not reach. I’m talking about a folding handle-shaft of a store, a cover for a window for cartridges, a fixed cocking handle. And about the normal rate of fire.
    1. Nitochkin
      Nitochkin 30 January 2018 20: 39
      0
      The appearance is criticized, and only.
    2. Huumi
      Huumi 31 January 2018 12: 08
      +3
      Above in the video, shooting, it’s visible, there is practically no withdrawal of the barrel and the recoil is small, it shoots smoothly. A good machine and even all the technological holes are closed ... successfully
  7. Catfish
    Catfish 1 February 2018 18: 07
    +4
    In this form, he got into our department: without a shutter, a shoulder rest and a store. The machine is made rude, uncomfortable due to the proximity of the handles. But strong, that way in one piece. From Vietnam, of course. My son liked it because of the small weight and small dimensions, but still the feeling is. one hundred you are holding a homemade product.
  8. vindigo
    vindigo 2 August 2018 20: 35
    +1
    In the French film "Jackal" saw this machine. A police detective shot him out of a killer. I was then struck by the appearance of the weapon.

Пистолет-пулемет MAT-49 (Франция)

После освобождения от оккупации Франция начала строить новую армию. Вооруженным силам требовалось разнообразное оружие, в том числе пистолеты-пулеметы. Эту проблему предложили решать как при помощи трофейного немецкого оружия, так и за счет запуска производства собственных систем. Сначала промышленность возобновила выпуск одного из довоенных образцов, а затем занялась разработкой совершенно нового оружия. К концу десятилетия были представлены новые образцы, в том числе изделие MAT-49.

Напомним, вскоре после окончания войны французская армия, нуждаясь в стрелковом оружии, инициировала возобновление производства пистолетов-пулеметов MAS-38. Это оружие было создано в конце тридцатых годов и имело определенные недостатки, но в существующей ситуации выбирать не приходилось. Массовый выпуск старого изделия позволил частично закрыть потребности армии, однако это не отменяло необходимости создания новых проектов. Соответствующие работы стартовали в скором будущем.


Пистолет-пулемет MAT-49 (Франция)
Пистолет-пулемет MAT-49. Фото Deactivated-guns.co.uk


К программе создания перспективного пистолета-пулемета были привлечены все ведущие французские предприятия. В соответствии с требованиями военных, конструкторы должны были создать сравнительно легкое и компактное оружие под пистолетный патрон с возможностью автоматического огня. Учтя опыт эксплуатации существовавших систем, заказчик отказался от патрона 7,65х20 мм Longue, вместо которого следовало применить более распространенный 9х19 мм Parabellum. Как и в нескольких предыдущих версиях технического задания, присутствовало требование о складной конструкции оружия, призванной облегчить переноску.

В программе участвовали несколько предприятий, в том числе завод Manufacture Nationale d'Armes de Tulle (MAT) из г. Тулле. Его специалисты уже имели определенный опыт создания оружия для армии и могли использовать его при проектировании очередного образца. Главным конструктором нового пистолета-пулемета от компании MAT стал Пьер Монтей.


MAT-49 и его создатель Пьер Монтей. Фото Guns.com


Первый прототип перспективного оружия был собран в 1948 году, вследствие чего получил рабочее обозначение MAT-48. Серийное производство было запущено годом позже, что было отражено в названии окончательного варианта пистолета-пулемета – MAT-49. Через несколько лет появилась модификация оружия, предназначавшаяся для использования жандармерии. В ее названии так же был отражен год появления – MAT-49/54.

Проект завода MAT предлагал использование собственных и чужих наработок, а также опыта, накопленного за годы прошедшей войны. Это привело к отказу от некоторых устройств и решений, характерных для оружия предвоенной разработки, но при этом позволило получить желаемые характеристики и возможности. Кроме того, некоторые уже известные идеи получили развитие, что дало определенные преимущества перед существующими образцами.

Проект MAT-48/49 предусматривал сборку автоматического оружия под пистолетный патрон, построенного по традиционной схеме. Пистолет-пулемет должен был комплектоваться стволом средней длины с защитным кожухом. Детали автоматики находились в ствольной коробке упрощенной прямоугольной формы, под которой помещались складной приемник магазина и пистолетная рукоятка. Вместо деревянного приклада, характерного для предыдущих проектов, предлагалось использовать простую металлическую деталь. Все основные детали оружия предлагалось изготавливать штамповкой, что самым серьезным образом сокращало стоимость и трудоемкость производства.


Неполная разборка оружия. Фото Guns.com


Пистолет-пулемет MAT-49 комплектовался нарезным стволом калибром 9 мм. Ствол имел длину 230 мм или 25,5 калибра. Внешняя поверхность ствола была выполнена цилиндрической. Рядом с дулом на стволе помещалась стойка с мушкой. Примерно две трети ствола прикрывались цилиндрическим кожухом. Для лучшего охлаждения ствола атмосферным воздухом в кожухе имелись многочисленные круглые отверстия.

В проекте использовалась ствольная коробка немного необычной конструкции. Затвор и возвратно-боевая пружина должны были находиться внутри кожуха квадратного сечения, выполненного в виде открытой сзади трубки. Передний торец такого кожуха имел крепления для ствола, задний закрывался съемной крышкой. Другие пистолеты-пулеметы того времени нередко комплектовались трубчатой ствольной коробкой круглого сечения, но П. Монтей и его коллеги решили использовать квадратную деталь.



Пистолет-пулемет в боевом положении. Фото Deactivated-guns.co.uk


На правом борту ствольной коробки имелось крупное окно для выброса стреляных гильз. В транспортном положении оружия это окно закрывалось прямоугольной крышкой. При смещении затвора назад крышка откидывалась назад на шарнире при помощи собственной пружины. В левой стенке коробки предусмотрели продольный паз для рукоятки затвора. Снизу в прямоугольной трубке имелись окна и прорези для подачи патронов, вывода деталей спускового механизма и т.д.

Снизу к трубчатому кожуху затвора присоединялась сравнительно высокая деталь меньшей ширины, в передней части которой находилась приемная шахта магазина. Позади нее имелась интегрированная скоба спускового крючка, сзади – металлическая основа пистолетной рукоятки.

Оружие использовало принцип свободного затвора, что позволило упростить конструкцию его внутренних устройств. Затвор выполнили в виде массивного прямоугольного блока с несколькими пазами и каналами для соединения с другими деталями. Сзади затвор подпирался возвратно-боевой пружиной. Взведение механизмов осуществлялось при помощи рукоятки, выведенной на левый борт оружия. Рукоятка жестко соединялась с пластиной-шторкой, прикрывавшей продольный паз ствольной коробки. При стрельбе рукоятка оставалась в переднем положении и не перемещалась вместе с затвором.


MAT-49 со сложенным приемником магазина; сам магазин отсутствует. Фото Modernfirearms.net


Выстрел осуществлялся с открытого затвора, и потому оружие не нуждалось в сложном ударно-спусковом механизме. Все основные детали последнего помещались внутри пистолетной рукоятки. Управление огнем осуществлялось спусковым крючком традиционной конструкции. Изначально изделие MAT-49 могло стрелять только очередями без возможности огня одиночными. Безопасность обращения с оружием обеспечивалась автоматическим предохранителем. Его крупная клавиша находилась на задней грани пистолетной рукоятки. Для разблокировки УСМ и стрельбы клавишу следовало до упора вжать в рукоятку.

Применение складного приклада не позволяло получить кардинального сокращения габаритов в транспортном положении, и потому уже в тридцатые годы в новых французских проектах использовались складные приемники магазина. Новый проект MAT-48/49 так же предусматривал использование подобных устройств.


Сложенное оружие с магазином. Фото Deactivated-guns.co.uk


Приемная шахта, являвшаяся частью ствольной коробки, имела П-образную в плане форму и не оснащалась передней стенкой. Внутри нее на двух полуосях помещался прямоугольный приемник магазина. Приемник получил переднюю грань сложной «анатомической» формы. В вертикальном боевом положении он выполнял функции второй рукоятки. В задней части шахты коробки имелась защелка, фиксировавшая приемник в рабочем положении. Защелка, удерживавшая магазин, помещалась спереди.

При переводе оружия в транспортное положение следовало отжать заднюю защелку и повернуть приемник с магазином вперед. После этого он занимал горизонтальное положение под стволом. Фиксация осуществлялась за счет защелки на передней стенке приемника и петли под кожухом ствола. Перед боем устройства оружия возвращались в рабочее положение.

Для пистолета-пулемета MAT-49 были разработаны два магазина. Оба изделия имели коробчатый корпус одинаковых габаритов с разным внутренним оснащением. Первый вариант магазина вмещал 32 патрона, расположенных в два ряда. Второе изделие отличалось однорядным расположением 20 патронов. Более простой однорядный магазин был более устойчив в загрязнениям и потому предназначался для использования в сложных условиях североафриканских пустынь.


Кожух ствола и магазин. Можно рассмотреть фиксатор приемника. Фото Deactivated-guns.co.uk


Пистолет-пулемет оснащался простыми прицельными приспособлениями. На дульной части ствола помещалась опора с мушкой, установленной внутри защитного кольца. На ствольной коробке, вблизи ее задней крышки, находился открытый прицел с перекидным целиком. Последний мог использоваться для прицельного огня на дистанции 50 или 100 м.

Оружие укомплектовали прикладом простейшей конструкции, который следовало изготавливать из нескольких металлических прутов. Основой приклада являлась пара параллельных горизонтальных тяг, плавно переходивших в изогнутый плечевой упор. В составе последнего имелась пара небольших поперечных элементов. Передние прутки приклада входили в трубки, установленные на бортах ствольной коробки. В разложенном положении приклад фиксировался несложной защелкой.


Сложенный пистолет-пулемет, вид справа. Фото Armoury-online.ru


Пистолет-пулемет MAT-48/49 имел простейшую фурнитуру, обеспечивавшую приемлемое удобство работы стрелка. На металлической основе рукоятки, вмещавшей детали УСМ, закреплялись деревянные либо пластиковые накладки. На задней ее поверхности выступала клавиша предохранителя. Второй рукой стрелок должен был удерживать оружие за металлический приемник магазина оптимизированной формы.

Изделие MAT-49 имело общую длину (с выдвинутым прикладом) 660 мм. Сложенный приклад сокращал этот параметр до 404 мм. Складная конструкция приемника магазина позволяла резко уменьшить вертикальный габарит оружия, после чего он определялся только жестко закрепленной пистолетной рукояткой. В транспортном положении пистолет-пулемет имел высоту не более 150 мм при ширине менее 50 мм. Оружие без магазина весило 3,6 кг.

Автоматика на основе свободного затвора, использовавшая патрон 9х19 мм «Парабеллум», показывала скорострельность на уровне 600 выстрелов в минуту. Эффективная дальность стрельбы достигала 150-200 м. По этому параметру новый пистолет-пулемет превосходил предыдущие изделия своего класса, использовавшие менее мощный патрон.


Приклад крупным планом. Фото Deactivated-guns.co.uk


В конце сороковых годов несколько образцов перспективного стрелкового оружия французской разработки прошли необходимые испытания, и некоторым из них удалось получить рекомендацию к принятию на вооружение. Одним из наиболее удачных образцов был признан MAT-48 от предприятия Manufacture Nationale d'Armes de Tulle. Вскоре последнее получило заказ на полномасштабное серийное производство нового оружия. Пистолет-пулемет приняли на вооружение в 1949 году, что отразили в его официальном обозначении.

Серийное оружие поставлялось различным подразделениям французской армии и постепенно заполняло их арсеналы. Со временем производство пистолетов-пулеметов MAT-49 позволило сократить долю устаревших образцов, а затем и отказаться от них. К концу пятидесятых годов завод г. Тулле и другие предприятия, привлеченные к выпуску оружия, завершили перевооружение армии. По имеющимся данным, в ходе серийного производства пистолет-пулемет для армии не претерпевал серьезных изменений. Единственным исключением были мелкосерийные изделия, имевшие ствол с резьбой для установки прибора бесшумной стрельбы.


Французский солдат с пистолетом-пулеметом MAT-49. Фото Sassik.livejournal.com


В начале пятидесятых годов новым оружием заинтересовалась Национальная жандармерия Франции. Вскоре по ее заказу была создана специализированная версия пистолета-пулемета. Изделие MAT-49/54, принятое на вооружение в 1954 году, отличалось от базовой модификации деревянным прикладом, удлиненным стволом, полностью закрытым кожухом, и доработанным ударно-спусковым механизмом. В составе последнего имелись два спусковых крючка: один отвечал за стрельбу одиночными, второй – за автоматический огонь. В остальном MAT-49/54 повторял конструкцию базового образца.

С определенного времени пистолеты-пулеметы MAT-49 выпускались не только для отечественных заказчиков. Простое, эффективное и недорогое оружие заинтересовало военных и правоохранителей из третьих стран. В дальнейшем появилось значительное количество заказов на поставку оружия трем десяткам армий Азии и Африки. Ввиду специфической военно-политической ситуации в этих регионах французские пистолеты-пулеметы нередко «поступали на вооружение» различных вооруженных формирований и использовались против бывших хозяев.

Особый интерес представляют пистолеты-пулеметы MAT-49, в недавнем прошлом состоявшие на вооружении Вьетнама. В середине XX века Франция пыталась удержать под контролем свои колонии в Юго-Восточной Азии, что привело к началу войны. Французское оружие нередко становилось трофеем вьетнамцев, и те использовали его в последующих боях. С определенного времени вьетнамские войсковые мастерские стали переделывать французские пистолеты-пулеметы и устанавливать на них новые стволы. По причинам логистического характера, это оружие переводилось на советский патрон 7,62х25 мм ТТ. Такие образцы активно использовались во время всех последующих конфликтов, вплоть до окончательного освобождения Вьетнама.


MAT-49/54 для жандармерии. Фото Sassik.livejournal.com


Серийный выпуск пистолетов-пулеметов MAT-49 продолжался во Франции до конца семидесятых годов и был свернут в связи с появлением нового оружия. Вскоре начался процесс замены устаревших систем новыми. Место MAT-49 в войсках заняла новейшая автоматическая винтовка FAMAS. За несколько лет более не нужные пистолеты-пулеметы были отправлены на хранение; некоторые из них впоследствии утилизировали за ненадобностью.

Эксплуатация изделий MAT-49 в других странах продолжалась дольше. Не имея доступа к более новым вооружениям, небогатые государства Африки и Азии были вынуждены сохранять имеющиеся пистолеты-пулеметы. При этом к настоящему времени многие из этих стран смогли изыскать возможности для обновления арсеналов. Тем не менее, по разным данным, французские послевоенные MAT-49 до сих пор используются некоторыми армиями и правоохранительными органами.

После окончания Второй мировой войны Франция запустила крупную программу перевооружения, одним из элементов которой должен был стать выпуск перспективных пистолетов-пулеметов. Изделие MAT-48/49 должно было заменить устаревшее оружие предвоенной разработки и довести боевые показатели войск до требуемого уровня. Эта задача была успешно решена, и армия получила новое оружие. Кроме того, удачный проект позволил французской промышленности занять выгодное положение на международном рынке стрелкового вооружения.


По материалам:
http://modernfirearms.net/
http://guns.com/
https://militaryfactory.com/
Попенкер М.Р., Милчев М.Н. Вторая мировая: война оружейников. – М.: Яуза, Эксмо, 2008.
Автор:
Рябов Кирилл
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

21 комментарий
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти