Military Review

“Great Rifle US Drama” (Rifles by countries and continents - 5)

9
As in this series of articles has already been noted, with quite decent carbines, the USA army did not have a decent modern rifle and was forced to be content with capsule rifles of the 1861 model of the year. But this does not mean that there were no specialists working in this field.


[/ Center]
Rifle "Ward-Burton" M1871 year.

So, in 1859, Brooklyn gunsmith Bethel Burton patented a rifle with a sliding bolt, but could not attract attention. Then in 1861, he turned to the Confederation and was immediately arrested by federal marshals after he received an order from 40 000 rifles. After spending a year in prison, Burton reformed, took an oath of allegiance to the United States and became a "good citizen." In 1868, he modified his rifle, and now it became possible to use brass cartridges with caps of central combat, and again tried to attract interest in it both in the US and abroad. Demonstrating a rifle in New York State, Bethel Burton met General William G. Ward. These two people became partners and, using the military connections of the general, managed to interest the specialists of the Springfield arsenal. In 1871, Ward-Burton was the first rifle created for the US Army.


The Ward-Burton M1871 carabiner of the year.

The rifle was made chambered for Springfield .50 (11,4-mm) central combat. Locking was done by turning the bolt, and the lugs and reloading handle were located at the rear of the bolt. The lugs consisted of six turns of a large triangular thread, diametrically divided into two sectors (like the arrangement of piston valves of artillery guns!), Thanks to which the receiver was very technological. Drummer cocked while moving forward. In this case, the operation of the mechanism differed smoothly. The fuse in the form of a small lever was located on the right of the bolt carrier. The scope ensured firing 1000 yards.


The MHNUMX Ward-Burton rifle is open.

“Great Rifle US Drama” (Rifles by countries and continents - 5)

Mark rifle on the bolt.

A total of 1013 rifles and 313 Ward-Burton carbines were sent to the 13 Infantry Regiment and individual cavalry companies. The operation revealed, however, the disadvantage that the troops, unfamiliar with a sliding-bolt rifle, could not decide whether it was charged or not, which resulted in incidents with unexpected shots. And such a trifle as the absence of an external “indicator”, demonstrating whether it is charged or not, decided the whole thing. Therefore, the US Army has retained the more familiar Springfield rifle and the same carbine as its official firearm. weapons.


The shutter of the Ward-Burton M1871 of the year.


Carabiner clip and arsenal mark in Springfield on the M1871 Ward-Burton MX.


Diagram of the device shutter rifle "Ward-Burton" M1871 year.

Meanwhile, as time went on, 1876 had taught the US military a lot of the year, and they decided to arm their army with store weapons.


Winchester-Hotchiss M1879 carabiner

Such was the rifle (or "musket", if we use American terminology) "Winchester-Hotchiss" arr. 1879 G., the first model adopted by the US Navy. All these rifles and carbines of the first model was made 6396. Of these, 5199 muskets, 812 carbines, 563 sporting rifles, and 1500 for sailors. Nevertheless, the army ordered all 500 rifles, China - 1000 units, Japan - also 500 units. Well, for familiarization purposes, they were bought by other armies of the world.


Winchester-Hochkiss rifle device schematic arr. 1883

Chosen by the 1878 magazine rifle commission of the year, the Hotchiss system used a six-round tubular magazine, placed in the butt. He loaded the cartridges through the bolt carrier, that is, the cartridges were inserted into it with the gate open with bullets forward. Interestingly, the trigger had a wide ring that slid inside along the store. The store itself could be turned off. For this, there was a rotary switch on the right of the bed. The Winchester firm became the production shareholder, but the assembly and production of many other parts were carried out by the Springfield arsenal.


Switch store.

The 1879 model was produced in configurations "First Model" and "Second Model". Rifles were also released in the “Third Model” (sometimes called the 1883 model), but it found limited use.

Interestingly, today the carbines of this system are much more expensive than rifles, and their parts are almost identical. Therefore, some "smart people" have thought that they started buying rifles, shortening them, putting in a new forearm and getting a difference in the price of a carbine and a rifle. But fortunately, the serial numbers of all early carbines are known, so it’s not difficult for an intelligent collector to determine whether a particular carbine is genuine. This list of serial numbers is published in the list of equipping the US cavalry dr. Farrington There are also functional differences. For example, a ramrod rifle is one, but a carbine under the barrel of them ... two, and they are screwed!

Winchester also attempted to create a musket and a carbine for the army, but its 1873 models of the year remained unclaimed. However, the carbines of this model were purchased from Turkey by the company and armed by them their cavalrymen who fought with our cavalry during the years of the Russian-Turkish war 1877-1878.


Rifles of the Turkish army. Above: Snyder M1866 rifle, in the center - Peabody-Martini M1869, below - “Winchester” 1866 (S. Petersburg Artillery Museum. Photo by N. Mikhailov)

Thus, the American army, as before, remained without a magazine rifle, and this “gap” in its armament tried to fill James Paris Lee, a Scot who naturalized in the United States. The first box store was patented by him in 1879, after which he had to plead with Ferdinand von Mannlicher for a long time about copyright infringement. It is believed that Lee was a British designer, as his name is included in the name of the rifles "Lee-Metford" and "Lee-Enfield." In fact, only his shop was used in these rifles, and Lee had a detachable one!


M1NUMX Remington Lee Rifle


Scheme of the device “Remington-Lee” M1885 g

Immediately, we note that his rifle model 1879 "Remington-Lee" US Navy liked the fleet, but he didn’t have the means for production, and Remington began to fulfill the order, hence the double name of this sample. About 1300 of these rifles were made, and later a contract was signed for the 1882 model for another 770 rifles. Then there was the contract of the Navy for the model of 1885, according to which another 1500 pieces were produced. Among its features was the caliber .43 Spanish (11.15 × 58 mm R). In 1887, New Zealand purchased 500 rifles.


Bolt rifle cocked drummer. The rear shutter handle position, which increased its rate of fire.


The shutter and the extractor spring on it, resting on the cut-out of the receiver.

Another experienced rifle tested at the time in the USA is the 1882 model of the Chaffee-Riza model. 753 such rifles were made in springfield arsenal in 1884 year. It was designed by Ruben Shipley Chaffee, and an interesting tubular store, which lacked a spring supply, became its feature.


Diagram of the device Chafi-Riza M1882

Instead, the store tube has two rails at the bottom: one with prongs (which moves) and the other with notches (which is fixed in place). It was all arranged in such a way that the cartridges in the store were fixed one after the other and, when the shutter was juggled, moved forward. That is, they had to be inserted from the front, but also from the back. Moreover, it was not recommended to insert one cartridge into the magazine. In order for it to fall into the chamber, it was necessary to distort the bolt five times! It is clear that all these "drag-and-drop" were too fragile to beat opponents with a butt, like a club, therefore they did not accept the rifle.


Chaffee-Riza M1882 rifle


Chuffie-Riza rifle with an open bolt.

The Remington Keen is another experienced rifle with a tubular barrel. The Navy purchased 250 rifles for comparison with their 2500 rifles, Hotchiss and 300 rifles, Remington Lee, M1885. These rifles remained in service for about ten years aboard the Trenton and Michigan ships. In July, 1880, the United States Department of the Interior purchased 600 rifles of this type to arm Indian police in several states in the western United States. Rifles were made for civilian sales, had calibers .45-70, .40-60 and .43. The rifle's weight was 4,1 kg. The number of cartridges in the under-barrel shop - 9.


Remington Keen rifle.

The design of the Keen's rifle had a number of interesting features that were not encountered in other rifles. For example, a sliding butterfly valve was provided with a trigger, which the shooter had to manually enter before the shot. Another feature of Keen's design was that his tubular magazine could be charged from two sides at once: either through the top with the shutter open, or from the bottom with the shutter closed, through a window with a spring-loaded lid.


Keen's rifle charging window cover.

As a result, the “Great Gun Drama” ended in the United States only with the adoption of the МNNXX “Krag-Jorgensen” rifle. That is, even later than it ended here in Russia. That's how it is!


Soldiers of the American army during the war with Spain.

Well, about the Lee M1895 rifles and the M1903 "Springfield" MX. Here on the pages of the BO we have already told ...

Продолжение следует ...
Author:
9 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Firework
    Firework 12 February 2018 15: 09
    +5
    Thank you well-composed material!
  2. Curious
    Curious 12 February 2018 17: 40
    +4
    "Springfield cartridges .50"
    The specified cartridge had a caliber of 12,7 mm But he did not fully satisfy the military. He had a lot of weight, which reduced the number of rounds in the calculation and gave a strong return, weary of the shooter. There was a need to create a single cartridge of reduced caliber, suitable also for magazine rifles. After trying two dozen options (including the Russian Berdan), we settled on a cartridge of .45 or 11,43 mm caliber, which received the designation “government 45-70”.
    1. gladcu2
      gladcu2 13 February 2018 00: 44
      +1
      That's interesting.

      What wearable ammunition was the standard for each rifle?
      In clips and in bulk? Where did they wear it?

      Offhand, I could be wrong. In the Wehrmacht's army, there were 98 cartridge pouches in a cartridge of 6 rounds for the K-5 Mauser. And that 30 rounds. I do not know about additional reserves.

      Is it a lot? Few? Enough? Conceptually?
      1. Kot_Kuzya
        Kot_Kuzya 13 February 2018 02: 14
        +1
        Each pouch had two clips of 5 rounds, totaling a German soldier carrying 60 rounds in pouches. https://forma-odezhda.ru/encyclopedia/snaryazheni
        e-soldat-vermahta /
        Plus, another 60 rounds of ammunition in the holders of the soldiers wore in a satchel. In total, he had 120 rounds of ammunition.
      2. Grid
        Grid 15 February 2018 09: 11
        0
        Cartridges for ONE-CHARGED rifles in a clip did not carry. Just by definition.
    2. Grid
      Grid 15 February 2018 09: 13
      0
      / After trying two dozen options (including the Russian Berdan), we settled on a cartridge of .45 or 11,43 mm caliber, which received the designation “government 45-70”. /
      Link please.
      1. Curious
        Curious 15 February 2018 22: 28
        0
        Type in a search engine one of the designations 45-70 govt, .45−70, 45−70 US Govt. Rifle Mod. 1872, .45−70−405, .45−70 Rabbeth, .45−70−300 Remington, .45−70 Sharps and the whole world in front of you. True, it is desirable to know the enemy language.
  3. serge siberian
    serge siberian 12 February 2018 18: 26
    +2
    Nevertheless, this series of articles is interesting. I look forward to continuing. good
  4. fighter angel
    fighter angel 13 February 2018 12: 21
    0
    Respect to the author! Well done! I read and understood, old Markevich is not the ultimate truth. The rifle of the Ward-Burton system was introduced for the first time. You look at the photo, like Berdan No. 1, but no! A completely different system. In general, we look forward to continuing.

«Великая ружейная драма США» (Винтовки по странам и континентам – 5)

Как в этом цикле статей уже отмечалось, имея вполне приличные карабины, армия САСШ не имела приличной современной винтовки и вынуждена была довольствоваться капсюльными винтовками модели 1861 года. Но это не значит, что там не было специалистов, работавших в этой области.

[/center]
Винтовка «Уорд-Бёртон» М1871 года.

Так, в 1859 году бруклинский оружейник Вефиль Бёртон запатентовал винтовку со скользящим затвором, но не смог привлечь к себе внимания. Тогда в 1861 году он обратился к Конфедерации и был немедленно арестован федеральными маршалами после того, как получил заказ из 40 000 винтовок. Просидев год в тюрьме, Бёртон исправился, принес клятву верности Соединенным Штатам и стал «хорошим гражданином». В 1868 году он модифицировал свою винтовку, и теперь в ней стало возможно использовать латунные патроны с капсюлями центрального боя, и вновь попытался привлечь к ней интерес как в США, так и за рубежом. Демонстрируя винтовку в штате Нью-Йорк, Вефиль Бёртон встретил генерала Уильяма Г. Уорда. Эти два человека стали партнерами и, используя военные связи генерала, сумели заинтересовать специалистов Спрингфилдского арсенала. В 1871 году «Уорд-Бёртон» стала первой винтовкой, созданной для армии США.



Карабин «Уорд-Бёртон» М1871 года.

Винтовка была создана под патроны Спрингфилд .50 (11,4-мм) центрального боя. Запирание осуществлялось поворотом затвора, причем боевые упоры и рукоятка перезаряжания располагались в задней части затвора. Боевые упоры представляли собой шесть витков крупной треугольной резьбы, разделенных диаметрально на два сектора (подобно устройству поршневых затворов артиллерийских орудий!), благодаря чему ствольная коробка оказалась очень технологичной. Ударник взводился при ходе затвора вперед. При этом работа механизма отличалась плавностью. Предохранитель в виде небольшого рычажка находился справа на затворной раме. Прицел обеспечивал ведение огня на 1000 ярдов.


Затвор винтовки «Уорд-Бёртон» М1859 года – открыт.

«Великая ружейная драма США» (Винтовки по странам и континентам – 5)

Марка винтовки на затворе.

Всего было произведено 1013 винтовок и 313 карабинов Уорда-Бёртона, поступивших в 13-й пехотный полк и отдельные кавалерийские роты. Эксплуатация выявила, однако, тот недостаток, что войска, незнакомые с винтовкой со скользящим поворотным затвором, никак не могли решить, заряжена она или нет, из-за чего имели место инциденты с неожиданными выстрелами. И вот такая мелочь, как отсутствие внешнего «индикатора», демонстрирующего, заряжена она или нет, решило все дело. Поэтому армия США сохранила более привычную винтовку «спрингфилд» и такой же карабин в качестве своего официального огнестрельного оружия.


Затвор винтовки «Уорд-Бёртон» М1871 года.


Карабинная скоба и марка арсенала в Спрингфилде на карабине «Уорд-Бёртон» М1871 года.


Схема устройства затвора винтовки «Уорд-Бёртон» М1871 года.

Между тем время шло, 1876 год многому американских военных научил, и они решили вооружить свою армию магазинным оружием.


Карабин «Винчестер-Гочкисс» М1879 г.

Таковым оказалась винтовка (или «мушкет», если пользоваться американской терминологией) «Винчестер-Гочкисс» обр. 1879 г., первая модель, принятая на вооружение ВМС САСШ. Всего таких винтовок и карабинов первой модели было изготовлено 6396. Из них 5199 мушкетов, 812 карабинов, 563 спортивных винтовок и 1500 для моряков. Тем не менее армия заказала всего 500 винтовок, Китай – 1000 шт., Япония – также 500 шт. Ну и в ознакомительных целях купили их и другие армии мира.


Схема устройства винтовки «Винчестер-Гочкисс» обр. 1883 г.

Выбранная Комиссией магазинных винтовок 1878 года, система Гочкисса использовала трубчатый магазин на шесть патронов, размещенный в прикладе. Он загружался патронами через затворную раму, то есть патроны вставлялись в ней при открытом затворе пулями вперед. Интересно, что спусковой крючок имел широкое кольцо, скользившее внутри вдоль магазина. Сам магазин можно было отключать. Для этого справа на ложе имелся поворотный переключатель. Акционером производства стала фирма Винчестера, но сборка и производство многих других частей осуществлялись Спрингфилдским арсеналом.


Переключатель магазина.

Модель 1879 выпускалась в конфигурациях «Первая модель» и «Вторая модель». Винтовки были выпущены и в «Третьей модели» (иногда называемой моделью 1883), но она нашла ограниченное применение.

Интересно, что сегодня карабины этой системы стоят значительно дороже, чем винтовки, а их детали практически идентичны. Поэтому некоторые «умные люди» додумались до того, что начали покупать винтовки, укорачивать их, ставить новое цевье и получать разницу в цене карабина и винтовки. Но к счастью, серийные номера всех ранних карабинов известны, поэтому для толкового коллекционера совсем нетрудно установить, является ли конкретный карабин подлинным. Этот список серийных номеров опубликован в списке оснащения кавалерии США Д.Р. Фаррингтонам. Есть также функциональные отличия. Например, у винтовок шомпол один, а вот у карабина под стволом их… два, и они свинчиваются!

«Винчестер» также попытался создать «мушкет» и карабин для армии, но его модели 1873 года так и остались невостребованными. Впрочем, карабины этой модели у фирмы закупила Турция и вооружила ими своих кавалеристов, сражавшихся с нашей конницей в годы русско-турецкой войны 1877-1878 гг.


Винтовки турецкой армии. Вверху: винтовка Снайдера М1866 г., в центре – Пибоди-Мартини М1869 г., внизу – «винчестер» 1866 г. (С. Петербургский Артиллерийский музей. Фото Н. Михайлова)

Таким образом американская армия, как и раньше, оставалась без магазинной винтовки и этот «пробел» в ее вооружении постарался заполнить Джеймс Пэрис Ли, шотландец, натурализовавшийся в Соединенных Штатах. Первый коробчатый магазин был запатентован им в 1879 году, после чего ему пришлось долго судиться с Фердинандом фон Маннлихером по поводу нарушения его авторских прав. Считается, что Ли был британским конструктором, так как его имя включено в наименование винтовок «Ли-Метфорд» и «Ли-Энфилд». На самом деле в этих винтовках использован всего лишь его магазин, причем у Ли он был отъемным!


Винтовка «Ремингтон-Ли» М1885 г.


Схема устройства винтовки «Ремингтон-Ли» М1885 г

Сразу отметим, что его винтовка модели 1879 г. «Ремингтон-Ли» U.S. Navy понравилась американскому флоту, но средств на производство у него не было и заказ стала выполнять фирма «Ремингтон», отсюда и двойное название этого образца. Было сделано около 1300 таких винтовок, а позднее подписан контракт на модель 1882 года на еще 770 винтовок. Затем был контракт ВМФ на модель 1885 года, по которому произведено еще 1500 штук. К числу ее особенностей относился калибр .43 Испанский (11.15×58-мм R). В 1887 году 500 винтовок закупила Новая Зеландия.


Затвор винтовки со взведенным ударником. Расположение рукоятки затвора заднее, что увеличивало ее скорострельность.


Затвор и на нем пружина экстрактора, опирающаяся на вырез ствольной коробки.

Еще одна опытная винтовка, испытывавшаяся в это время в САСШ – это винтовка модели 1882 г. Чаффи-Риза. 753 таких винтовок были сделаны в спрингфилдском арсенале в 1884 году. Сконструировал ее Рубен Шипли Чаффи, причем особенностью ее стал интересный трубчатый магазин, у которого пружина-подаватель отсутствовала.


Схема устройства винтовки Чаффи-Риза М1882 г.

Вместо этого труба магазина имеет в нижней части два рельса: один с зубцами (который перемещается), а другой с вырезами (который закреплен на месте). Устроено все это было таким образом, что патроны в магазине фиксировались друг за другом и при передергивании затвора передвигались вперед. То есть вставлять их нужно было спереди, но также и сзади. Причем, вставлять в магазин один патрон не рекомендовалось. Для того, чтобы он попал в патронник, нужно было пять раз передернуть затвор! Понятно, что все эти «тяги-перетяги» были слишком хрупки для того, чтобы побивать противников прикладом, как дубиной, поэтому винтовку на вооружение не приняли.


Винтовка Чаффи-Риза М1882 г.


Винтовка Чаффи-Риза с открытым затвором.

«Ремингтон-Кин» – еще одна опытная винтовка с подствольным трубчатым магазином. Военно-морской флот приобрел 250 винтовок для сравнения с их 2500 винтовками «Гочкисс» и 300 винтовками «Ремингтон-Ли» M1885 г. Эти винтовки оставались на службе около десяти лет на борту кораблей «Трентон» и «Мичиган». В июле 1880 года Министерство внутренних дел Соединенных Штатов закупило 600 винтовок этого типа, чтобы вооружить индейскую полицию в ряде штатов в западной части Соединенных Штатов. Винтовки были изготовлены для гражданских продаж, имели калибры .45-70, .40-60 и .43. Вес винтовки составлял 4,1 кг. Количество патронов в подствольном магазине – 9.


Винтовка «Ремингтон-Кин».

Конструкция винтовки Кина имела ряд интересных особенностей, в других винтовках не встречавшихся. Например, скользящий поворотный затвор у нее был снабжен курком, который стрелок должен был вручную ввести перед выстрелом. Другой особенностью конструкции Кина было то, что его трубчатый магазин мог заряжаться сразу с двух сторон: либо через верх с открытым затвором, либо снизу с закрытым затвором, через окно с подпружиненной крышкой.


Крышка зарядного окна винтовки Кина.

В итоге «Великая ружейная драма» закончилась в США только с принятием на вооружение винтовки «Краг-Йоргенсен» М1892 года. То есть даже позднее, чем она закончилась у нас в России. Вот даже как!


Солдаты американской армии периода войны с Испанией.

Ну, а про винтовки Ли М1895 г. и «спрингфилд» М1903 г. здесь на страницах ВО мы уже рассказывали…

Продолжение следует...
Автор:
В.О.Шпаковский
Ctrl Enter

Заметив ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

9 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Салют Офлайн
    Салют 12 февраля 2018 15:09
    +5
    спасибо грамотно составленный материал!
  2. Curious Онлайн
    Curious 12 февраля 2018 17:40
    +4
    "патроны Спрингфилд .50"
    Указанный патрон имел калибр 12,7 мм. Но он не в полной мере удовлетворял военных. Он имел большой вес, что сокращало число патронов в выкладке и давал сильную отдачу, утомлявшую стрелка. Возникла необходимость в создании единого патрона уменьшенного калибра, пригодного также для магазинных винтовок. Перепробовав два десятка вариантов (в том числе, русский Бердан) остановились на патроне калибра .45 или 11,43 мм, получивший обозначение «правительственный 45-70».
    1. gladcu2 Офлайн
      gladcu2 13 февраля 2018 00:44
      +1
      Вот интересно.

      Какой носимый боезапас был стандартом, для каждой винтовки?
      В обоймах и россыпью? Где носили?

      На вскидку, могу ошибаться. В армии Вермахта к маузеру К-98 было 6 подсумков по обойме в 5 патронов. И того 30 патронов. Про дополнительные запасы не знаю.

      Много это? Мало? Достаточно? Концептуально?
      1. Кот_Кузя Офлайн
        Кот_Кузя 13 февраля 2018 02:14
        +1
        В каждом подсумке было по две обоймы по 5 патронов, итого немецкий солдат в подсумках носил 60 патронов. https://forma-odezhda.ru/encyclopedia/snaryazheni
        e-soldat-vermahta/
        Плюс еще 60 патронов в обоймах солдат носил в ранце. Итого у него было по штату 120 патронов.
      2. Grille Офлайн
        Grille 15 февраля 2018 09:11
        0
        Патроны для ОДНОЗАРЯДНЫХ винтовок в обойме не носили. Просто по определению.
    2. Grille Офлайн
      Grille 15 февраля 2018 09:13
      0
      / Перепробовав два десятка вариантов (в том числе, русский Бердан) остановились на патроне калибра .45 или 11,43 мм, получивший обозначение «правительственный 45-70». /
      Ссылку, пожалуйста.
      1. Curious Онлайн
        Curious 15 февраля 2018 22:28
        0
        Набираете в поисковике одно из обозначений 45-70 govt, .45−70, 45−70 US Govt. Rifle Mod. 1872, .45−70−405, .45−70 Rabbeth, .45−70−300 Remington, .45−70 Sharps и весь мир перед Вами. Правда желательно владеть вражеским языком.
  3. серж сибиряк 12 февраля 2018 18:26
    +2
    И всё таки эта серия статей интересна.Жду продолжения. good
  4. ангел-истребитель 13 февраля 2018 12:21
    0
    Автору- респект! Молодцом! Прочитал и понял- старик Маркевич не есть истина в последней инстанции.Винтовка системы Уорд-Бертона- ознакомился впервые. Глянешь на фото- вроде как Бердан №1, ан нет! Совершенно другая система. В-общем, ждем продолжения.