Military Review

Guards property

12
The First World War witnessed a unique phenomenon - when the battle trophies were bestowed on the property of the units of the Russian Imperial Army that had captured them. We reliably know about two such cases - we want to tell about them.


The first of these occurred 6 August 1914.

On this day, the battle took place at Kaushen - when dismounted squadrons of the Russian Guards cavalry engaged in combat with units of the German 2 land brigade supported by 3 squadrons and 12 guns. The forces of the Russian cavalry did not exceed the numerical strength of the 4's German battalions, while the enemy at Kaushen had the 6 battalions in a defensive position, supported by artillery.

The frontal advance of the dismounted cavalry was difficult - but support for the Guards Horse Artillery and an attack in the 3 squadron of the Horse Guards under the command of the captain Baron P. N. Wrangel allowed the battle to be reversed.

Guards property
1. Captain P. N. Wrangel.

The squadron galloped at the enemy’s operating weapons - and despite the loss, captured 2 field guns, 4 charging boxes and a tower. And the last shot of the German cannon under the komeske killed a horse. The Captain was awarded the Order of St. George 4-th degree.


2. Chronicles of the War 1914-15-16 No. 104.

In this battle, soldiers and officers of the cavalry detachment showed an outstanding military impulse that cost only horsemen 13 officers (of which 6 were killed, and among the wounded were commander of the regiment Colonel Hartman - and he was wounded twice) and 38 of the lower ranks (of which 18 killed). The 2-th battalion of the 4-th landvehr regiment, who fought against parts of the 1-th Guards Cavalry Division, lost all officers (13 people) and 219 lower ranks.


3. Chronicle of the war 1914 of the year. No. 15.

The success of horse guards became a turning point - the Germans began to retreat, and the Russians captured the ferry across the river. Inster.

And in memory of the glorious battle and commemoration of the feat of horsemen 2 of captured German 77-mm guns, 4 charging boxes and a tower. The highest command was granted to the property ("gift") of the Life Guards Horse Regiment. And they were transported to St. Petersburg - to the barracks of the regiment, "for storage."


4. The 77-mm field gun, one of the 2-guns captured by horse guards in the Kaushen battle, is the property of the Horse Guards of the Horse Regiment.

Second case - episode stories The 2 Company of the Life Guard 3 Rifle Regiment of His Majesty.

For the battle of 27 in August, Neshawa, by order of the regiment, the company received the name “Combat” - and, as the company commander, captain Christopher Aue, noted, “we were all very proud”. For combat differences in the battles of Neshava H. Aue becomes the knight of Gergievsky weapons: for the fact that in this battle, under the destructive fire of the enemy, a company captured an Austrian trench, in which they later found about a hundred corpses of enemy soldiers. Roth H. Aue in this battle lost more than 50 people killed and wounded.

The “fighting” company remained in the course of the entire war - later acquiring the next trophy.

In one of his letters, the last Chief of the Guards Rifle Division Baron N. I. Stakelberg wrote that he somehow drew attention to the fact that the 2 company of the 3 regiment was the only one in the division to have its own machine guns - 2 of German machine guns on gigs. The regiment commander told the chief that during the night attack on Lomza in February 1915, the 2 Company X. Aue captured these machine guns — and the German non-commissioned officers were chained to the latter by nickel-plated chains. The machine guns were remade under the Russian patron, and H. Aue formed his own (company!) Machine-gun platoon - and by order of the regiment the machine guns were named as inviolable property of the Second Combat. And the covenant of H. Aue, when he handed over the company, said: under no circumstances do not part with these machine guns, taking them to apartments in peacetime - in Tsarskoye Selo. NI Shtakelberg noted that he had seen these 2 machine guns in Tsarskoe Selo in the premises of the 2 Company, and when the regiment was disbanded, they were handed over along with the regimental property to the Quartermaster.

After the battle of Lomzha, Captain Christopher Aue became a Knight of the Order of St. George of the 4 degree - for the fact that on the night of 20 February February 1915 in the battle of der. Karvovo for the height of 85,0 during a bayonet attack at the head of his company knocked out the Germans from the trenches, capturing prisoners and two acting machine guns.


5. Christopher Alexandrovich Aue.

All in all, in the battle for high. 85,0 at der. Wysoké and Male Douzhe by the guards, who defeated parts of the German 41 infantry and 1 landwehr divisions, were captured by 5 machine guns. The attack of the Life Guard units of the 3 Infantry Regiment was noted in the Bids report and on the pages of the German Reich Archives.

The exploits of units and divisions of the Russian Imperial Army were encouraged in the following way: by awarding them the property of a valuable trophy gained in battle - as was the case in the history of the Life Guards Equestrian and Life Guards of the 3 Infantry Regiment. This was to be the visible embodiment of the feat, the pride of soldiers and officers, who had obtained the valuable trophy with their blood. And after the war - an important exhibit in the regimental museum. Perhaps it makes sense to revive this tradition in the modern Russian army.


6. One of the first captured German machine guns.
Author:
12 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Adjutant
    Adjutant 22 February 2018 06: 29
    +8
    Beautiful tradition
    Really the personification of the feat
    And his result
  2. Olgovich
    Olgovich 22 February 2018 06: 45
    +12
    Wrangel, Oue, what wonderful people, real heroes.
    What happened to the mentioned trophies, regimental museums, the units themselves, their traditions?
    A rhetorical question....
    1. BRONEVIK
      BRONEVIK 22 February 2018 09: 03
      +22
      You raised a very interesting question.
      The issue of continuity of army traditions
      It remains to envy the British army, in which many regiments exist for hundreds of years, have their own traditions, talismans, etc. etc.
      Unfortunately, our continuity has repeatedly been interrupted. Imperial, and then Soviet units and formations disbanded - and without succession. Unfortunately.
      Regarding property - during the disbandment in January-April 1918, the property of parts of the old army was surrendered to the Quartermaster. By the way, during the WWII, the Museum of the Great War was created; regimental museums were to become its complement.
      During the Yaroslavl fire of 1918, much that burned down, incl. many trophy banners. Civil war destroys history too.
      1. Rotmistr
        Rotmistr 22 February 2018 10: 45
        +20
        In particular, disbanding the cavalry units in 1947, they did not think about this.
        The British took a different path - they had a number of cavalry units converted to tank, historical names and traditions were preserved.
      2. Monarchist
        Monarchist 22 February 2018 11: 48
        +8
        The armored car, I agree with you: "succession was repeatedly interrupted," and the succession of military traditions means a lot. Ignatiev in “Fifty Years in the ranks” tells how traditions were transmitted in the old army: during a ceremonial march, soldiers of one of the regiments marched with rifles to make- this is in memory of the mass feat of the soldiers of the regiment in the Prussian War, guard lancers with peaks to make, once they attacked Napoleon well in such an attack.
        Denikin in the book “The Way of the Russian Officer” also talked about how traditions were transmitted.
        And in our country, many of the units glorified in the Great Patriotic War were disbanded, and Field Marshal Taburetkin surpassed the "corncracker" with his reform: the glorified units were disbanded and deprived of their names, and some kind of anonymous brigade were formulated in return. I read a story at Drabkin’s guards division in Belarus stupidly lost its banner, and they reported to Moscow: this way and that the car with the banner burned down and a handful of land was applied. After the Victory, the higher command found out and the division was disbanded, but here that they deserved it and got it, and Taburetkin disbanded the most prosperous
      3. Barkun
        Barkun 22 February 2018 15: 49
        +6
        No, well, to go nuts to such an extent that I would also rivet the non-commissioned machine guns ??? :)
        So I see it in the museum: a machine gun and a non-nickel skeleton chained to it by a nickel chain :))).

        And so, of course, yes: both the old guard feel sorry for and the Soviet Battalion of Glory.
  3. XII Legion
    XII Legion 22 February 2018 07: 01
    +23
    Very interesting tradition
    People, trophies
    Olgovich asked a very interesting rhetorical question
    The heroes of the feats were abroad - Peter Nikolaevich Wrangel rested in Brussels, Christopher A. Aue - in Sydney.
    Fate really scattered HEROES. For example, awards Aue.
    Order of St. Anne 4th Art. with the inscription "for courage" (VP 22.11.1914);
    St. George's weapons (VP ​​3.01.1915);
    Order of St. Anne, 2nd art. with swords (VP ​​12.02.1915);
    Order of St. Stanislav, 2nd art. with swords (VP ​​3.03.1915);
    Order of St. Vladimir 4th art. with swords and bow (VP 8.04.1915);
    Order of St. Stanislav 3rd Art. with swords and bow (VP 30.04.1915);
    Order of St. George 4th Art. (VP May 29.05.1915, XNUMX).
    ALL are combat.
    Only regimental associations abroad remained of the units, traditions that we remember and history - which we honor
  4. parusnik
    parusnik 22 February 2018 08: 02
    +7
    Interesting facts, thanks ...
  5. kvs207
    kvs207 22 February 2018 08: 59
    +2
    Quote: Olgovich
    What happened to the mentioned trophies, regimental museums, the units themselves, their traditions?
    A rhetorical question....

    And what happened to the streltsy regiments, smashing the adversaries in the 16th and 17th centuries? Also a rhetorical question.
    1. Lieutenant Teterin
      Lieutenant Teterin 22 February 2018 09: 16
      +11
      Many of them were later transferred to the musketeers. The Butyrsky Streletsky regiment, formed in 1642, existed until 1918 under this name — as the 66th Butyrsky Infantry Regiment.
  6. Lieutenant Teterin
    Lieutenant Teterin 22 February 2018 09: 14
    +11
    Great article! And the tradition is really glorious — to save trophies of army units as direct evidence of the heroic deeds of its officers and lower ranks. To the author — my gratitude for the work done!
  7. serge siberian
    serge siberian 22 February 2018 19: 10
    +4
    But how many parts today have a long history? And how many trophies in their museums? request
    Thanks to the author for the article! hi

Гвардейская собственность

Первая мировая война стала свидетелем уникального явления – когда боевые трофеи даровались в собственность захвативших их частей Русской Императорской армии. Нам достоверно известно о двух таких случаях – о них мы и хотим рассказать.

Первый из них произошел 6 августа 1914 г.

В этот день состоялся бой при Каушене – когда спешенные эскадроны русской гвардейской кавалерии вступили в бой с частями германской 2-й ландверной бригады, поддержанной 3 эскадронами и 12 орудиями. Силы русской конницы численно не превышали состава 4-х германских батальонов, тогда как противник у Каушена располагал 6-ю батальонами, занимавшими оборонительную позицию, при поддержке артиллерии.


Фронтальное наступление спешенной кавалерии проходило сложно – но переломить бой позволили поддержка Гвардейский Конной артиллерии и атака в конном строю 3-го эскадрона Конной гвардии под командованием ротмистра барона П. Н. Врангеля.

Гвардейская собственность
1. Ротмистр П. Н. Врангель.

Эскадрон ринулся галопом на действующие орудия противника – и, несмотря на потери, захватил 2 полевые пушки, 4 зарядных ящика и вышку. Причем последним выстрелом германского орудия под комэском была убита лошадь. Ротмистр был удостоен ордена Св. Георгия 4-й степени.


2. Летопись войны 1914-15-16 гг. № 104.

В этом бою солдатами и офицерами конного отряда был проявлен выдающийся боевой порыв, стоивший лишь конногвардейцам 13-ти офицеров (из них 6 убитых, а среди раненых находился командующий полком полковник Гартман – причем он был дважды ранен) и 38 нижних чинов (из них 18 убитыми). 2-й батальон 4-го ландверного полка, сражавшийся против частей 1-й гвардейской кавалерийской дивизии, потерял всех офицеров (13 человек) и 219 нижних чинов.


3. Летопись войны 1914 года. № 15.

Успех конногвардейцев стал переломным – германцы стали отступать, а русские захватили переправы через р. Инстер.

И в память славного боя и ознаменование подвига конногвардейцев 2 трофейных германских 77-мм орудия, 4 зарядных ящика и вышка Высочайшим повелением были пожалованы в собственность («в дар») лейб-гвардии Конному полку. И были перевезены в Санкт-Петербург – в казармы полка, «для хранения».


4. 77-мм полевая пушка, одно из 2-х орудий, захваченных конногвадейцами в каушенском бою - собственность лейб-гвардии Конного полка.

Второй случай - эпизод истории 2-й роты лейб-гвардии 3-го Стрелкового Его Величества полка.

За бой 27 августа у Нешавы, приказом по полку, рота получила наименование «Боевая» - и, как отмечал ротный командир штабс-капитан Христофор Ауэ, - «мы все были очень горды». За боевые отличия в боях под Нешавой Х. Ауэ становится кавалером Гергиевского оружия: за то, что в этом бою под губительным огнем противника рота захватила австрийский окоп, в котором потом обнаружили около сотни трупов солдат противника. Рота Х. Ауэ в этом бою потеряла убитыми и ранеными более 50 человек.

«Боевой» рота осталась в ходе всей войны – позднее приобретя следующий трофей.

В одном из своих писем последний Начальник Гвардейской Стрелковой дивизии барон Н. И. Штакельберг писал, что как-то обратил внимание на тот факт, что 2-я рота 3-го полка единственная в дивизии имела собственные пулеметы – 2 германских пулемета на двуколках. Командир полка рассказал начдиву, что в ходе ночной атаки у Ломжи в феврале 1915 г. 2-я рота Х. Ауэ захватила эти пулеметы – причем к последним были прикованы никелированными цепочками германские унтер-офицеры. Пулеметы были переделаны под русский патрон, и Х. Ауэ сформировал собственный (ротный!) пулеметный взвод – а приказом по полку пулеметы были поименованы как неприкосновенная собственность Второй Боевой. Причем завет Х. Ауэ, когда он сдавал роту, гласил: ни при каких обстоятельствах не paсставаться с этими пулеметами, доставив их на квартиры мирного времени - в Царское Село. Н. И. Штакельберг отмечал, что видел эти 2 пулемета в Царском Селе - в помещении 2-й роты, а при расформировании полка они были сданы вместе с полковым имуществом в Интендантство.

А штабс-капитан Христофор Ауэ после боя под Ломжей стал кавалером ордена Святого Георгия 4-й степени - за то что в ночь на 20-е февраля 1915 г. в ходе боя у дер. Карвово за высоту 85,0 во время штыковой атаки во главе своей роты выбил германцев из окопов, захватив пленных и два действовавших пулемета.


5. Христофор Александрович Ауэ.

Всего же в том бою за выс. 85,0 у дер. Високе и Мале Дуже гвардейскими стрелками, нанесшими поражение частям германских 41-й пехотной и 1-й ландверной дивизий, было захвачено 5 пулеметов. Атака частей лейб-гвардии 3-го Стрелкового полка была отмечена в сводке Ставки и на страницах германского Рейхсархива.

Подвиги частей и подразделений Русской Императорской армии поощрялись и таким образом: путем пожалования им в собственность ценного трофея, добытого в бою – как это имело место в истории лейб-гвардии Конного и лейб-гвардии 3-го Стрелкового полков. Это должно было стать зримым воплощением подвига, предметом гордости солдат и офицеров, добывших своей кровью ценный трофей. А после войны – важным экспонатом в полковом музее. Возможно, имеет смысл воскресить эту традицию и в современной российской армии.


6. Один из первых трофейных германских пулеметов.
Автор:
Олейников Алексей
Ctrl Enter

Заметив ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

12 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Адьютант Офлайн
    Адьютант 22 февраля 2018 06:29
    +8
    Красивая традиция
    Действительно олицетворение подвига
    И его результата
  2. Ольгович Офлайн
    Ольгович 22 февраля 2018 06:45
    +12
    Врангель, Оуэ-какие замечательные люди, настоящие герои.
    Что стало с упомянутыми наградными трофеями, с полковыми музеями, самими частями , их традициями?
    Риторический вопрос....
    1. BRONEVIK Офлайн
      BRONEVIK 22 февраля 2018 09:03
      +22
      Вы подняли очень интересный вопрос
      Вопрос преемственности армейских традиций
      Остается позавидовать британской армии, в которой многие полки существуют сотни лет, имеют свои традиции, талисманы и т.д. и т.п.
      У нас, к сожалению, преемственность неоднократно прерывалась. Императорские, а затем и советские части и соединения расформировывались - причем без правопреемства. К сожалению.
      По поводу имущества - при расформировании в январе-апреле 1918 г. имущество частей старой армии сдавалось в Интендантство. Кстати во время ПМВ создавался Музей Великой войны, его дополнением должны были стать полковые музеи.
      Во время ярославского пожара 1918 г. много что сгорело, вкл. много трофейных знамен. Гражданская война разрушает и историю, так вот.
      1. Rotmistr Офлайн
        Rotmistr 22 февраля 2018 10:45
        +20
        Расформировывая в частности кавалерийские части в 1947 году об этом не подумали.
        Англичане пошли другим путем - у них ряд кавалерийских частей был преобразован в танковые, исторические названия и традиции были сохранены.
      2. Монархист Офлайн
        Монархист 22 февраля 2018 11:48
        +8
        Броневик, согласен с Вами:"приемственность неоднократно прерывалась",а приемственность боевых традиций очень много значит. Игнатьев в " Пятьдесят лет в строю"рассказывает как в старой армии передавались традиции::во время парадного марша солдаты одного из полков прроходили с ружьями на изготов- это в память о массовом подвиге солдат полка в Прусскую войну ,гвардейские уланы с пиками на изготовь, когда-то они в такой атаке хорошо наклали Наполеону.
        Деникина в книге"Путь русского офицера" также рассказывал о том как передавались традиции.
        А у нас многие прославленные в ВОВ части были расформирован, а фельдмаршал Табуреткин со своей реформой превзошел" кукурузника":прославленный части расформировали и лишили их имен,а в замен были сформулированы какие-то безликип бригады. У Драбкина читал рассказ гвардейская дивизия в Белоруссии по глупому потеряла своё знамя,а в Москву сообщили: так и так машина с знаменем сгорела и горсть земли приложили. После Победы вышестоящие команандование узнало и дивизию расформировали,но тут , что заслужили то и получили, а Табуреткин расформировывал наиболее прослпвленные
      3. Barkun Офлайн
        Barkun 22 февраля 2018 15:49
        +6
        Не, ну а офигеть в такой степени, что бы к пулемётам ещё и унтеров приковывать??? :)
        Так и вижу в музее: пулемёт и прикованный "никелированной цепочкой" к нему скелет унтера :))).

        А так, конечно да: и старую гвардию жалко, и советский Батальон Славы.
  3. XII легион Офлайн
    XII легион 22 февраля 2018 07:01
    +23
    Очень интересная традиция
    Люди, трофеи
    Ольгович задал очень интересный риторический вопрос
    Герои подвигов оказались за рубежом - Петр Николаевич Врангель упокоился в Брюсселе, Христофор Александрович Ауэ - в Сиднее.
    Судьба разбросала действительно ГЕРОЕВ. Вот например награды Ауэ.
    Орден Святой Анны 4-й ст. с надписью «за храбрость» (ВП 22.11.1914);
    Георгиевское оружие (ВП 3.01.1915);
    Орден Святой Анны 2-й ст. с мечами (ВП 12.02.1915);
    Орден Святого Станислава 2-й ст. с мечами (ВП 3.03.1915);
    Орден Святого Владимира 4-й ст. с мечами и бантом (ВП 8.04.1915);
    Орден Святого Станислава 3-й ст. с мечами и бантом (ВП 30.04.1915);
    Орден Святого Георгия 4-й ст. (ВП 29.05.1915).
    ВСЕ боевые.
    От частей остались только полковые объединения за рубежом, традиции, которые помним и история - которую чтим
  4. parusnik Офлайн
    parusnik 22 февраля 2018 08:02
    +7
    Интересные факты ,спасибо...
  5. kvs207 Офлайн
    kvs207 22 февраля 2018 08:59
    +2
    Цитата: Ольгович
    Что стало с упомянутыми наградными трофеями, с полковыми музеями, самими частями , их традициями?
    Риторический вопрос....

    А что стало со стрелецкими полками, громившими супостатов в 16 и 17 веках? Тоже риторический вопрос.
    1. ПоручикТетеринъ 22 февраля 2018 09:16
      +11
      Многие из них потом были переведены в мушкетёрские. Бутырский стрелецкий полк, сформированный в 1642 году существовал до 1918 года под этим названием—как 66-й Бутырский пехотный полк.
  6. ПоручикТетеринъ 22 февраля 2018 09:14
    +11
    Прекрасная статья! И традиция действительно славная—сохранять трофеи армейских частей как прямое свидетельство героических дел ее офицеров и нижних чинов. Автору—моя благодарность за проделанный труд!
  7. серж сибиряк 22 февраля 2018 19:10
    +4
    А много ли частей сегодня имеют свою длительную историю?И сколько в их музеях трофеев? request
    Спасибо автору за статью! hi