Military Review

A diplomat who is so lacking ...

12
The confrontation between Russia and the collective West continues and is becoming more fierce. Under these conditions, the outstanding Russian diplomat Vitaly Ivanovich Churkin is so lacking! And, although the new permanent representative of Russia at the UN also defends the position of our country in the international arena, but ... there are no replaceable people. Especially - people of this magnitude.




Vitaly Ivanovich was respected even by the most ardent enemies - those with whom he constantly argued at meetings of the Security Council and the UN General Assembly. At the same time at the household level, he was always polite and correct with his colleagues. A pleasant, intelligent person, he became tough and decisive where it was needed. In those moments when I had to advocate for the interests of their homeland. And also when it was necessary to prevent collective reprisals against the next small state (unfortunately, this was not always possible).

February 20 UN Security Council meeting began with a minute of silence in honor of the memory of Vitaly Churkin. A year ago, right on the eve of his 65 anniversary, the tireless fighter of Russian diplomacy died (according to the official version - from a heart attack). This is truly a great loss. And not only for Russia, but also for many other nations.

I remember well with what enthusiasm in Syria met every veto imposed by Russia on another attempt to push through an unbalanced resolution through the UN Security Council. Every time the Syrians saw on TV, how Vitaly Ivanovich (sometimes with his Chinese counterpart, and sometimes alone) raised his hand, voting against the anti-Syrian document - jubilant exclamations were heard. Including, in Russian: “Thank you, Russia!”

Under Vitaly Churkin’s permanent mission, Russia blocked six attempts to push through a resolution that could create grounds for aggression against Syria. For one thing he was nicknamed "Mr. No." And one can only assume how many such draft resolutions were rejected even before they were submitted to the UNSC meetings.

Yes, only the Russian (as well as the Chinese) veto did not save the country from the terrorist war unleashed against it, but the plans of the West were clearly frustrated. We all became witnesses more than once, under the pretext that the country's leader “brutally cracked down on the opposition,” the United States and its allies in the NATO bloc carried out direct military intervention. Sometimes - under the guise of a wrongly interpreted UN Security Council resolution.

Churkin’s powers were not enough to veto 2011 in March to veto UN Security Council Resolution No. 1973, which opened the way to the merciless bombings of the Libyan Jamahiriya. At that time, a serious struggle was going on in the Russian upper ranks. Vitaly Ivanovich was forced to abstain in its adoption, but from the very beginning he warned that words that could open the door for foreign military intervention in the affairs of Libya were included in this document. But some people at the top believed that this was only a “no-fly zone”.

After that, Churkin often reminded at various international events that the “humanitarian intervention” in Libya did not bring to good. This was subsequently one of the main Russian arguments in the matter of preventing the same scenario in Syria.

Many thanks to Vitaly Ivanovich Churkin say the Bosnian Serbs. It was a diplomat who did not leave the sad 90s, but tried to pursue a slightly different line than the outspoken traitor Kozyrev (who then headed the Russian Foreign Ministry). Of course, to radically resist the line on the total surrender of all Russian interests was impossible. However, being at the post of deputy foreign minister, one could try to minimize treason. When Kozyrev spoke in favor of completely surrendering the interests of Bosnian Serbs, Churkin often paid attention to the fact that Bosnian Muslims are not fulfilling their obligations.

In April 2006, Vitaly Ivanovich became Russia's Permanent Representative to the UN. A few months later, he covetted a draft resolution concerning Myanmar. The “international community” (as always) accused the authorities of this country of violating human rights - not to improve the position of the people, but for their own selfish purposes. Churkin then noted that there really are problems, but this is an internal matter of the country. Then there was a similar situation regarding Zimbabwe.

In the memorable days of August 2008, the object of collective persecution was no longer Myanmar or Zimbabwe, but Russia itself. This was due to the fact that Moscow did not allow Georgia to perpetrate genocide in South Ossetia and Abkhazia. It was then that Churkin's best qualities emerged as an uncompromising warrior diplomat capable of protecting his state.

Another bright episode is a veto on a Malaysian draft resolution against our country. In July, 2015, Malaysia (clearly, not on its own initiative) proposed the creation of an international tribunal for the MH17 plane crash over the DPR territory. According to Churkin, you must first wait for the results of the investigation of this tragedy, otherwise the trial will turn into a “political show”. It is clear that such a show would have been directed, first of all, against Russia, which has recently been indiscriminately accused of everything.

In November 2017, a monument to Vitaly Ivanovich Churkin appeared in the city of Istochno Sarajevo (the territory of the Republika Srpska, which is part of Bosnia and Herzegovina). It reads: "Thank you for the Russian" No. " This is a tribute to the memory of the diplomat from the Bosnian Serbs for the fact that on July 8, 2015, by vetoing another UN Security Council resolution, he did not allow the so-called. massacre in Srebrenica on the Serbian side. He then stressed that the Serbs suffered no less than the other parties to the conflict.

Now the Serbian sculptor Dragan Radenovic intends to erect a monument to Vitaly Ivanovich in his native village of Marinkino, Vladimir region.
Author:
12 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Andrey Yuryevich
    Andrey Yuryevich 22 February 2018 06: 43
    +12
    A diplomat who is so lacking ... TO THE SPECIAL REPRESENTATIVE
    OF THE PRESIDENT OF THE RUSSIAN FEDERATION
    Vitaly Ivanovich Churkin (Sergey Lavrov)

    Through the snowstorm, snowfalls, drifts,
    Under the sights of the NATO muzzle
    And under the gaze of Akasha * slanting
    The diplomat bent his line.

    Neither threat nor ultimatum
    Do not break the forward movement.
    Applauds the world to the diplomat
    He deserves praise.

    Can't imagine a better moment -
    Birthday celebrate in battle.
    Special Ambassador of the President
    He did his work with honor.

    At the end of the Bosnian battles
    We drink for these men's affairs.
    We heartily congratulate Vitaliy!
    Happy Birthday! Ours took!

    21 February 1994 year

    * Y. Akashi - in the first half of the 1990s, the special representative of the UN Secretary General in the Balkans.
    1. Vend
      Vend 22 February 2018 09: 09
      +7
      There are not many of these in Russia. Bright memory.
      1. Hoc vince
        Hoc vince 22 February 2018 11: 10
        +7
        He was one of the few representatives of the government for whom it was not a shame who was respected for his affairs, and not for his position or under duress.
      2. 79807420129
        79807420129 22 February 2018 14: 09
        +5
        Eternal Memory to Vitaly Ivanovich! Really miss him in our hectic times. Until his last day, he fought on the diplomatic front, the real Russian Soldier.
      3. alekc73
        alekc73 24 February 2018 13: 22
        0
        Land in peace. Did everything I could ......
  2. German Titov
    German Titov 22 February 2018 07: 52
    +5
    A man of great soul! Bright memory!
  3. parusnik
    parusnik 22 February 2018 08: 28
    +6
    He died at a military post, and you can’t say otherwise.
  4. CARLSON
    CARLSON 22 February 2018 10: 10
    +4
    I would very much like to see our good, high-quality film (not important documentary or feature) about this MAN.
    And the opponents themselves came up with the name for the film "MISTER NO"
    Not all the same, patriotism in youth should be brought up by aliens in Chertanovo and the comic bear with a machine gun at the ready
    1. elenagromova
      22 February 2018 20: 13
      0
      And here is the film: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B4eB_TyTNS4
  5. HEATHER
    HEATHER 22 February 2018 16: 56
    +3
    Already a year ... Ivanitch is not enough for us. Honest, strong, sharp. Respect him and still are the same mattresses. Memory.
  6. Huumi
    Huumi 25 February 2018 08: 52
    +1
    Fell on the battlefield ... Enemies killed him ...
  7. rfrdfc pjden
    rfrdfc pjden 26 February 2018 08: 20
    +1
    He fought almost alone with this gang, died but did not retreat. Eternal memory to him and glory.

Дипломат, которого так не хватает...

Противостояние России и коллективного Запада продолжается и становится все более ожесточенным. В этих условиях так не хватает выдающегося российского дипломата Виталия Ивановича Чуркина! И, хотя новый постпред России при ООН тоже отстаивает на международной арене позиции нашей страны, но… заменимых людей не бывает. Особенно — людей такого масштаба.



Виталия Ивановича уважали даже самые ярые враги — те, с которыми он постоянно полемизировал на заседаниях Совета Безопасности и Генеральной Ассамблеи ООН. При этом на бытовом уровне он всегда был вежлив и корректен с коллегами. Приятный, интеллигентный человек, он становился жестким и решительным там, где это было нужно. В те моменты, когда приходилось выступать за интересы своей Родины. А еще — когда необходимо было предотвратить коллективную расправу над очередным небольшим государством (к сожалению, это удавалось не всегда).


20 февраля заседание Совета Безопасности ООН началось с минуты молчания в честь памяти Виталия Чуркина. Год назад, прямо накануне своего 65-летия, неутомимый борец российской дипломатии скончался (по официальной версии — от сердечного приступа). Это — воистину огромная потеря. И не только для России, но и для многих других народов.

Хорошо помню, с каким воодушевлением в Сирии встречали каждое вето, наложенное Россией на очередную попытку протолкнуть через Совбез ООН несбалансированную резолюцию. Каждый раз, когда сирийцы видели на телеэкране, как Виталий Иванович (иногда вместе со своим китайским коллегой, а порой и в одиночку) поднимает руку, голосуя против антисирийского документа, — раздавались ликующие возгласы. В том числе, и по-русски: «Спасибо, Россия!»

При постпредстве Виталия Чуркина Россия заблокировала шесть попыток протащить резолюцию, которая могла бы создать почву для агрессии в отношении Сирии. За одно это его прозвали «Мистером Нет». И можно только предполагать, сколько подобных проектов резолюций было отклонено еще до того, как они были вынесены на заседания СБ ООН.

Да, одно лишь российское (как и китайское) вето не спасло страну от террористической войны, развязанной против нее, но планы Запада явно были сорваны. Все мы неоднократно становились свидетелями, как под предлогом того, что лидер страны «жестоко расправляется с оппозицией», США и их союзники по блоку НАТО осуществляли прямое силовое вмешательство. Иногда — под прикрытием превратно истолкованной резолюции Совбеза ООН.

Полномочий Чуркина не хватило для того, чтобы в марте 2011 года наложить вето на резолюцию СБ ООН №1973, которая открыла дорогу к беспощадным бомбардировкам Ливийской Джамахирии. В российских верхах тогда шла нешуточная борьба. Виталий Иванович вынужден был воздержаться при ее принятии, однако он с самого начала предупреждал, что в этот документ были включены слова, которые могут открыть двери для иностранного военного вмешательства в дела Ливии. Но кое-кто в верхах полагал, что речь идет лишь о «бесполетной зоне».

После этого Чуркин часто напоминал на различных международных мероприятиях, что «гуманитарная интервенция» в Ливию не довела до добра. Это и был впоследствии один из главных российских аргументов в деле предотвращения такого же сценария в Сирии.

Огромное спасибо Виталию Ивановичу Чуркину говорят и боснийские сербы. Это был дипломат, который в печальные 90-е годы не ушел, а пытался проводить несколько иную линию, чем откровенный предатель Козырев (возглавлявший тогда МИД РФ). Конечно, радикально противостоять линии на тотальную сдачу всех российских интересов было невозможным. Однако, находясь на посту зама главы МИД, можно было пытаться минимизировать предательство. Когда Козырев выступал за то, чтобы полностью сдать интересы боснийских сербов, Чуркин нередко обращал внимание на то, что боснийские мусульмане не выполняют взятых на себя обязательств.

В апреле 2006 года Виталий Иванович стал постоянным представителем России при ООН. Через несколько месяцев он заветировал проект резолюции, касающейся Мьянмы. «Международное сообщество» (как всегда) обвиняло власти этой страны в нарушении прав человека — не для того, чтобы улучшить положение народа, а в собственных корыстных целях. Чуркин тогда отметил, что проблемы действительно есть, но это — внутреннее дело страны. Затем была аналогичная ситуация, касающаяся Зимбабве.

В приснопамятные дни августа 2008 года объектом коллективной травли стала уже не Мьянма и не Зимбабве, а сама Россия. Это было связано с тем, что Москва не позволила Грузии учинить геноцид в Южной Осетии и Абхазии. Именно тогда проявились лучшие качества Чуркина как бескомпромиссного дипломата-воина, способного защитить свое государство.

Еще один яркий эпизод — это вето на малазийский проект резолюции, направленной против нашей страны. В июле 2015 года Малайзия (ясно, не по собственной инициативе) предложила создать международный трибунал по поводу крушения самолета MH17 над территорией ДНР. По словам Чуркина, нужно сначала дождаться результатов расследования этой трагедии, иначе судебное разбирательство превратится в «политическое шоу». Понятно, что такое шоу было бы направлено, прежде всего, против России, которую в последнее время огульно обвиняют во всем.

В ноябре 2017 года в городе Источно Сараево (территория Республики Сербской, входящей в состав Боснии и Герцеговине) появился памятник Виталию Ивановичу Чуркину. На нем начертано: «Спасибо за русское «Нет». Это — дань памяти дипломату от боснийских сербов за то, что он 8 июля 2015 года с помощью ветирования очередной резолюции СБ ООН не позволил возложить вину за т. н. резню в Сребренице на сербскую сторону. Он тогда подчеркнул, что сербы пострадали не меньше других сторон конфликта.

Теперь сербский скульптор Драган Раденович намерен установить памятник Виталию Ивановичу в его родном селе Маринкино Владимирской области.
Автор: Елена Громова


Читайте "Военное обозрение" в Яндекс Новостях

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также

Комментарии 12

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. андрей юрьевич (андрей юрьевич) 22 февраля 2018 06:43
    Дипломат, которого так не хватает...СПЕЦИАЛЬНОМУ ПРЕДСТАВИТЕЛЮ
    ПРЕЗИДЕНТА РОССИЙСКОЙ ФЕДЕРАЦИИ
    Виталию Ивановичу Чуркину ( Сергей Лавров)

    Сквозь буран, снегопады, заносы,
    Под прицелами НАТОвских дул
    И под взглядом Акаши* раскосым
    Дипломат свою линию гнул.

    Ни угрозы и ни ультиматум
    Не сломили движенье вперед.
    Аплодирует мир дипломату,
    По заслугам хвалу воздает.

    Не придумаешь лучше момента –
    День рожденья отметить в бою.
    Специальный посол Президента
    С честью сделал работу свою.

    На исходе боснийских баталий
    Пьем за эти мужские дела.
    От души поздравляем, Виталий!
    С Днем рождения! Наша взяла!

    21 февраля 1994 года

    *Я.Акаши - в первой половине 1990-х годов спецпредставитель Генерального секретаря ООН на Балканах.
    1. Венд (Анатолий) 22 февраля 2018 09:09
      Таких у нас в России не много. Светлая память.
      1. Hoc vince 22 февраля 2018 11:10
        ОН был один из немногих представителей власти, за которого не было стыдно, кого уважали за дела его, а не за должность или по принуждению.
      2. 79807420129 (Влад.) 22 февраля 2018 14:09
        Вечная Память Виталию Ивановичу! Очень не хватает его в наше беспокойное время. До последнего своего дня сражался на дипломатическом фронте, настоящий Русский Солдат.
      3. alekc73 (алексей) 24 февраля 2018 13:22
        Земля пухом.Делал все что мог......
  2. German Titov (Herat) 22 февраля 2018 07:52
    Человек большой души! Светлая память!
  3. parusnik (Алексей Богомазов) 22 февраля 2018 08:28
    Погиб на боевом посту, как-то иначе и не скажешь...
  4. КАРЛСОН (VOLK34) 22 февраля 2018 10:10
    Очень бы хотелось увидеть хороший, качественный наш фильм (не важно документальный или художественный) про этого ЧЕЛОВЕКА.
    А название для фильма его оппоненты сами придумали "МИСТЕР НЕТ"
    Не все же патриотизм в молодежи воспитывать инопланетянами в Чертаново и комиксовскому медведю с пулеметом наперевес
    1. elenagromova (Елена Громова) 22 февраля 2018 20:13
      А вот и фильм: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B4eB_TyTNS4
  5. ВЕРЕСК 22 февраля 2018 16:56
    Уже год...Иваныча нам не хватает.Честный,сильный,резкий.Уважают его и до сих- пор те-же матрасы.Память.
  6. Huumi (Ваня) 25 февраля 2018 08:52
    Пал на поле боя...Убили его враги...
  7. rfrdfc pjden (rfrdfc pjden) 26 февраля 2018 08:20
    Сражался практически в одиночку со всей этой бандой, умер но не отступил. Вечная память ему и слава.
Картина дня