Gun machine "Hotchkiss"

10
In 1909, the Hotchkiss company introduced two light machine guns weighing 7 and 10 kilograms to the market. They were made on the basis of an easel machine gun of its own design. Gunsmith GAU Artkom department immediately decided to test the "heavy model" with a radiator and quick-change barrel in Russia. And although the tests carried out at the Gun range were discontinued due to the breakdown of the receiver, the Armory department, "given ... the distribution in the armies of foreign countries along with the machine gun and submachine guns" (Japan, USA) decided to continue the tests, and issued order for 3 more guns "Hotchkiss". In 1912, the company introduced a “model for air fleet"Having a pistol grip instead of a stock, a special sight and a swivel mount. On July 23, 1914, the company sent 4 sets directly to the Officers Rifle School.

Gun machine "Hotchkiss"


About "Hotchkise" remembered with the beginning of the First World War. In France, it was adopted under the designation Mle 1909, in the UK under the designation Mk I “Hotchkiss.” 303, and in the United States - “Bene-Mercier” .30 M1909 "). In 1916, the English put the production of machine guns in Enfield and Coventry (by order from France, about 670 units were produced per month). These machine guns supplied folding bipod, a ring on the trunk with trunnions under a light tripod, could be installed rear support. The Hotchkis machine gun was also delivered to Greece, Spain, Norway, and Brazil.

The Hotchkis machine gun retained the gas-discharging engine of automation (removal of powder gases through the transverse hole located below the barrel) and the long stroke of the gas piston having a spigot. The gas chamber regulator was an unscrewable piston located in front of the chamber and functioning according to the principle of volume change. Exhaust gases were dumped through holes in the gas cylinder. The recoil spring was positioned in the piston rod channel. The locking knot was changed - on the battle larva of the bolt and on the breech breech intermittent cutting was performed. The clutch of the breech breech and the combat larvae of the bolt were made with a rotary clutch with internal sectors, the barrel served as its axis of rotation, and the piston rod produced a turn. This somewhat cumbersome system provided strong locking and protection of the shooter during a breakthrough of powder gases through the chamber. On the muzzle of the trunk was attached clutch with a tide for bipods and front sight. The reloading handle was also the fuse interpreter. By turning the knob in the transverse plane, the mode was determined - a fuse (“S” mark, located on the rear wall of the receiver), a single fire (“R”), continuous fire (“A”). The movable automation system had a stroke length equal to 106 millimeters.



Power was supplied from a rigid tape on the 30 English or 24 French patron. The ribbon was propelled by a finger of a lever that is connected to a moving system. The mass of the ribbon was much less than that of the store, but it worked less reliably, and loading the machine gun was especially difficult at night. On the wooden butt there were a pistol protrusion and a narrow neck for coverage with the left hand, shoulder rest. In the butt there was a compartment for placing the oil can.

Russia acquired 540 Gochkis submachine guns in 1909; in general, delivery was completed in January 1917. Fabric tapes were sent to Russia for "Hotchkiss", but the work of the machine guns was so unreliable that they were remade under a rigid tape. The weapon did not show any special advantages besides the comparative simplicity of the device. They were mainly used in aviation. In June 1917, the UK adopted the Mkl * modification with a semi-rigid or rigid tape - this most successful modification of the manual "Hotchkiss" was mainly used as tank machine gun. Later, in this capacity, he came to Russia with British tanks.

“Hotchkiss” did not like any army as a light machine gun. His service was more or less long only in the colonies — for example, by the Indian army, it was used until the beginning of the 30s. During the Second World War in England, the old “Hotchkiss” had to arm the local defense forces (at that time they, in accordance with the new nomenclature, had the designation MkI * and No. XXUMX MkI).



The procedure for unloading the Hotchkis Mle 1909 or MK 1 light machine gun: Uncheck the box of the arrester, pull out the hard tape to the left. Unlock and pull the cocking handle back, inspect the receiver and the chamber (check whether the cartridge is in it), release the cocking handle and pull the trigger.

Technical characteristics of the Gochkis Mkl light machine gun:
Cartridge - .303 "British" (7,71x56);
The mass of weapons - 12,25 kg (without cartridges);
Weight equipped with weapons - 12,68 kg;
The length of the weapon is 1187 mm;
Barrel length - 59 6mm;
Initial bullet speed - 739 m / s;
Sighting range - 2000 m;
The rate of fire - 500 shots per minute;
Combat rate - 250 shots per minute;
Tape capacity - 30 cartridges.



Based on: S. Fedoseev - Machine Guns in the First World War
    Our news channels

    Subscribe and stay up to date with the latest news and the most important events of the day.

    10 comments
    Information
    Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
    1. Brother Sarych
      +3
      April 26 2012
      Some of it is not at all tame!
    2. +1
      April 26 2012
      Here in the photo is easel. Here is the heavy manual:

    3. Young man
      +1
      April 26 2012
      The stuff is useful! she saved a lot of life at one time! to the author +
    4. Dust
      0
      April 26 2012
      It is visible to the author of a lack of time to look for a suitable picture!



      An improved model of 1922 - comes across a photo of the battle of Moscow
    5. Dust
      +1
      April 26 2012
      There is a better picture on the net

      An improved model of 19222 - comes across a photo of the battle of Moscow
      1. Dust
        0
        April 26 2012
        The picture was supposed to be before - model of 1909
      2. laurbalaur
        +1
        April 26 2012
        In Bren, Czech is like! Somehow Czech armourers, more trust! Although they helped the Nazis to the utmost.
    6. +1
      April 26 2012
      With "Lewis" and not lying around, the Gauls in WWI only tanks turned out the best, and then not immediately. One of their "Shosha" is worth ...
    7. 0
      April 27 2012
      Article plus
    8. +2
      March 20 2014
      I remember that A. Gaidar mentions Hotchkiss in his story "School". Probably used in the Civil.
    9. +1
      30 May 2014
      I won the entire 2 World War with dzhapov, though all the dzhapovskie machine guns had a grease fitting that was rigidly fixed to the body, from which after shooting the store it was supposed to squeeze a few drops into the feed mechanism .. Otherwise, a wedge. In general, despite some archaic and unreliable, for the times of the WWII, weapons are quite nothing to themselves .. More like an ancestor of a single machine gun. As a loom, then Maxim reigned supreme among all the warring parties.
      1. 0
        December 26 2016
        I came across an article, and could not help but respond, though a necropost. USA - Browning machine gun, France and Japan - machine guns Hotchkiss, Austria-Hungary - Schwarzlose machine gun, Italy - Fiat Revelli 1914, Maxims and Vickers. In addition, Colt M1895 / 1914 easel machine guns were widely used. So Maxim was far from dominating.

    "Right Sector" (banned in Russia), "Ukrainian Insurgent Army" (UPA) (banned in Russia), ISIS (banned in Russia), "Jabhat Fatah al-Sham" formerly "Jabhat al-Nusra" (banned in Russia) , Taliban (banned in Russia), Al-Qaeda (banned in Russia), Anti-Corruption Foundation (banned in Russia), Navalny Headquarters (banned in Russia), Facebook (banned in Russia), Instagram (banned in Russia), Meta (banned in Russia), Misanthropic Division (banned in Russia), Azov (banned in Russia), Muslim Brotherhood (banned in Russia), Aum Shinrikyo (banned in Russia), AUE (banned in Russia), UNA-UNSO (banned in Russia), Mejlis of the Crimean Tatar People (banned in Russia), Legion “Freedom of Russia” (armed formation, recognized as terrorist in the Russian Federation and banned)

    “Non-profit organizations, unregistered public associations or individuals performing the functions of a foreign agent,” as well as media outlets performing the functions of a foreign agent: “Medusa”; "Voice of America"; "Realities"; "Present time"; "Radio Freedom"; Ponomarev; Savitskaya; Markelov; Kamalyagin; Apakhonchich; Makarevich; Dud; Gordon; Zhdanov; Medvedev; Fedorov; "Owl"; "Alliance of Doctors"; "RKK" "Levada Center"; "Memorial"; "Voice"; "Person and law"; "Rain"; "Mediazone"; "Deutsche Welle"; QMS "Caucasian Knot"; "Insider"; "New Newspaper"

Ручной пулемет «Гочкис»

В 1909 году фирмой «Гочкис» было представлено на рынок два ручных пулемета массой 7 и 10 килограмм. Они были выполнены на основе станкового пулемета ее же разработки. Оружейный отдел Арткома ГАУ сразу же решил испытать «тяжелый образец» имеющий радиатор и быстросменный ствол в России. И хотя испытания, проводимые на Ружейном полигоне, были прекращены из-за поломки ствольной коробки, Оружейный отдел, «учитывая... распространение в армиях иностранных государств наряду с пулеметом и ружей-пулеметов» (Япония, США) решил продолжить испытания, и выдал заказ еще на 3 пулемета «Гочкис». В 1912 году фирмой был представлен «образец для воздушного флота», имеющий вместо приклада пистолетную рукоятку, специальный прицел и вертлюжную установку. 23 июля 1914 года фирма выслала 4 комплекта непосредственно в Офицерскую стрелковую школу.

Ручной пулемет «Гочкис»


О «Гочкисе» вспомнили с началом Первой мировой войны. Во Франции он был принят на вооружение под обозначением Мlе 1909, в Великобритании под обозначением Мк I «Гочкис» .303, а в Соединенных Штатах - «Бене-Мерсье» .30 M1909 (в Армии США на 1916 год имелось лишь 670 пулеметов «Гочкис»). В 1915 году англичане поставили производство пулеметов в Энфилде и Ковентри (по заказам от Франции выпускалось около 700 единиц в месяц). Данные пулеметы снабжали складными сошками, кольцом на стволе с цапфами под легкую треногу, могла устанавливаться задняя опора. Ручной пулемет «Гочкис» также поставлялся в Грецию, Испанию, Норвегию, Бразилию.


Пулемет «Гочкис» сохранил газоотводный двигатель автоматики (отвод пороховых газов осуществлялся через поперечное отверстие находящееся снизу ствола) и длинным ходом газового поршня имеющего патрубок. Регулятор газовой камеры представлял собой вывинчиваемый поршень, расположенный впереди камеры и функционировавший по принципу изменения объема. Отработанные газы сбрасывали через отверстия, находящиеся в газовом цилиндре. Возвратную пружину располагали в канале штока поршня. Был изменен узел запирания — на боевой личинке затвора и на казенной части ствола выполнялась прерывчатая нарезка. Сцепление казенной части ствола и боевой личинки затвора производилось поворотной муфтой с внутренними секторами, ее осью вращения служил ствол, а шток поршня производил поворот. Этой несколько громоздкой системой обеспечивалось прочное запирание и защита стрелка при прорыве через патронник пороховых газов. На дульной части ствола крепилась муфта с приливом для сошек и мушкой. Рукоятка перезаряжания также являлась переводчиком-предохранителем. Поворотом рукоятки в поперечной плоскости определялся режим — предохранитель (отметка «S», находилась на задней стенке ствольной коробки), одиночный огонь («R»), непрерывный огонь ( «А»). Подвижная система автоматики имела длину хода равную 106 миллиметрам.

Ручной пулемет «Гочкис»


Питание осуществлялось от жесткой ленты на 30 английских или 24 французских патрона. Ленту продвигал палец рычага, который связан с подвижной системой. Масса ленты была гораздо меньше, чем у магазина, но она работала менее надежно, а заряжание пулемета особенно затруднялось ночью. На деревянном прикладе имелись пистолетный выступ и узкая шейка для охвата левой рукой, плечевой упор. В прикладе имелось отделение для размещения масленки.

Россия приобрела 540 ружей-пулеметов «Гочкис» 1909 года, в целом поставку закончили в январе 1917 года. В Россию к «Гочкису» высылали матерчатые ленты, однако работа пулеметов была настолько ненадежной, что они были переделаны под жесткую ленту. Оружие не показало каких-то особых достоинств кроме сравнительной простоты устройства. В основном, они использовалось в авиации. В июне 1917 года в Великобритании приняли модификацию Mkl* имеющий полужесткую или жесткую ленту — эту самую удачную модификацию ручного «Гочкиса», в основном, использовали как танковый пулемет. Позже в этом качестве он попала в Россию вместе с английскими танками.

«Гочкис» не понравился ни одной армии в качестве ручного пулемета. Его служба была более или менее продолжительной лишь в колониях — например индийской армией он использовался до начала 30-х годов. В годы Второй мировой в Англии старыми «Гочкисами» пришлось вооружать войска местной обороны (в это время они, в соответствии с новой номенклатурой, имели обозначение MkI* и №2 MkI).

Ручной пулемет «Гочкис»


Порядок разряжания ручного пулемета «Гочкис» Мlе 1909 или Мк 1: Отвести флажок разрядника, вытянуть влево жесткую ленту. Отпереть и отвести рукоятку взведения назад, осмотреть ствольную коробку и патронник (проверить не находится ли в нем патрон), отпустить рукоятку взведения и нажать спусковой крючок.

Технические характеристики ручного пулемета «Гочкис» Mkl:
Патрон – .303 «бритиш» (7,71x56);
Масса оружия – 12,25 кг (без патронов);
Масса снаряженного оружия – 12,68 кг;
Длина оружия – 1187 мм;
Длина ствола – 59 6мм;
Начальная скорость пули – 739 м/с;
Прицельная дальность – 2000 м;
Темп стрельбы – 500 выстрелов в минуту;
Боевая скорострельность – 250 выстрелов в минуту;
Емкость ленты – 30 патронов.

Ручной пулемет «Гочкис»


По материалам: С. Федосеев - Пулеметы в Первой Мировой войне


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 9
  1. Братец Сарыч 26 апреля 2012 10:48
    Какой-то он совсем не ручной!
    Братец Сарыч
  2. Lexx 26 апреля 2012 13:11
    Здесь на фото станковый. Вот тяжелый ручной:

  3. Юноша 26 апреля 2012 16:16
    Штукенция полезная! многим она в свое время жизнь спасла! автору +
    Юноша
  4. Dust 26 апреля 2012 17:38
    Видно автору недосуг было подходящую картинку поискать!



    Усовершенствованная модель 1922 года - попадается на фото битвы под Москвой
    Dust
  5. Dust 26 апреля 2012 17:41
    В сети есть картинка получше

    Усовершенствованная модель 19222 года - попадается на фото битвы под Москвой
    Dust
    1. Dust 26 апреля 2012 17:43
      Картинка должна была быть до - модель 1909 года
      Dust
    2. laurbalaur 26 апреля 2012 19:31
      На Bren , чешский похож ! Как-то чешским оружейникам ,доверия больше ! Хоть они и нацистам помогали в полный рост .
      laurbalaur
  6. Mikhado 26 апреля 2012 23:12
    С "Льюисом" и рядом не валялся, у галлов в ПМВ только танки лучше всех получились, и то не сразу. Один их "Шоша" чего стоит...
  7. woland05 27 апреля 2012 06:22
    Статье плюс
  8. Алекс 20 марта 2014 18:59
    Помнится, у А. Гайдара в повести "Школа" упоминается "Гочкис". Наверное, в Гражданскую использовался.
  9. Biggi_2006 30 мая 2014 22:58
    У джапов всю 2 мировую провоевал, правда все джаповские пулеметы имели жестко закрепленную на корпусе масленку из которой после отстрела магазина полагалось выдавливать несколько капель в подающий механизм.. Иначе клин. Вообщем несмотря на некоторую архаичность и ненадежность, для времен ПМВ оружие вполне себе ничего.. Больше похоже на предка единого пулемета. В качестве станкача тогда у всех воюющих сторон безраздельно господствовал Максим.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня