Military Review

The new use of the bomb Viper Strike

4
The new use of the bomb Viper Strike


After more than a decade of failing a guided laser-guided bomb Viper Strike, she finally gets some work. The US Army is currently using Viper Strike on a UAV Hunter. Seven hundred and twenty-seven kilogram UAV Hunter is capable of carrying up to 91 kg of sensors and weapons. This payload limit makes the use of 47 kg Hellfire boundary, but is ideal for a twenty-kilogram Viper Strike.



Viper Strike was originally developed as an anti-tank weapon and its warhead contains only 1.8 kg of explosives. But it was not a small amount of explosives that made it an excellent weapon for fighting in urban conditions, since the bomb is very accurate and there is less likelihood that its use will lead to undesirable civilian casualties. Viper Strike is a glider (without an engine) with a length of 914 mm and 130 mm in diameter (with folded wings). The bomb should be dropped no more than a thousand meters from the target, but this was not a problem.



Recently, the Viper Strike bombs were also used on the new KC-130J transport aircraft equipped with a modified Derringer Door, which allows launching rockets and reloading the launcher without first depressurizing the aircraft and lowering the rear ramp.



The KC-130J is the latest and largest version of the C-130 transport aircraft of the US Marine Corps used for air refueling. But the KC-130J can carry cargo and carry weapons (bombs and missiles) on its wings. The latter are probably on the KC-130J version, called Harvest Hawk. This combat system allows you to quickly deploy weapons and sensors on the C-130 transport aircraft. This whole procedure takes only a few hours and as a result, the C-130 transport aircraft turns into a combat platform (similar to the capabilities of AC-130). A set of sensors consists of a package of day and night cameras with zoom capabilities. Currently, the armament consists of ten Derringer Door launch tubes and four Hellfires missiles suspended under the wings. The first combat system of the US Marine Corps arrived in Afghanistan two years ago. Since then, the planes Harvest Hawk launched hundreds of Hellfire and Griffin missiles, and also repeatedly detected enemy activities. Now also used Viper Strikes.



One problem was the need to open the rear hatch to launch rockets and reload the launcher. Since airplanes usually operate at high altitude (6400 meters above sea level, the crew had to wear oxygen masks and it took time to equalize the pressure in the cargo hold and lower the rear ramp). The new system Derringer Door contains ten launch tubes that can be used (for firing or reloading) with the ramp closed.



Initially, a Griffin rocket was used from these launch tubes. It weighs 20.5 kg and is equipped with a 5.9 kilogram warhead. Griffin has a greater range (15 km) than Hellfire thanks to the drop-down flaps allowing it to plan after launch. Griffin uses a laser, GPS and inertial guidance system. The Hellfire II missile was developed much earlier, it weighs 48.2 kg, is equipped with a 9 kg warhead and has a range of 8000 meters.



The main advantage of the combat system on the KC-130J are its sensors, and not weapons. The system is able to observe the picture of what is happening at night in the smallest detail and immediately begin to destroy the target using on-board armament, and with the advent of smart bombs (with GPS and laser guided), air weapons have become more accessible to defeat any detected target. Thus, Harvest Hawk is capable of hitting “urgent” targets (which must be destroyed before they disappear), and can also use “smart” bombs or laser-guided missiles at targets that are not going anywhere in operational terms. Most of the work of Harvest Hawk in Afghanistan is related to the search for roadside bombs or those who lay them. Marines want to keep track of those who lay roadside land mines in order to reach their bases, and then conduct a combat operation against them.
Originator:
http://www.strategypage.com
4 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Nova
    Nova April 24 2012 09: 34
    +3
    Wow! A pretty good conversion of a transport old man into a bomber and a rocket monitor!
    1. Dan099
      Dan099 April 24 2012 12: 43
      +2
      Somebody knows. Do our Air Force have an analogue of such a guided bomb? What is it called?
      1. postman
        postman April 24 2012 20: 28
        +3
        Quote: Dan099

        Dan099

        KAB-500Kr, KAB-500-OD

        KAB-500C

        CAB-250
        1. Eugene
          Eugene April 26 2012 15: 47
          0
          Figas counterparts belay 25 times heavier and 12.5. it is not analogues.
  2. Olegovich
    Olegovich April 24 2012 13: 12
    -7
    The Pascuds of these Amerians ... are sophisticated, how they better kill the enemy in his home, after their filthy politicians appointed him as the enemy. They fight only on foreign territory, when will the war come to their house?
    1. Pimply
      Pimply April 24 2012 15: 37
      +5
      She tried to get in to them not so long ago. Therefore, they are fighting in foreign territories. And then Envy is bad. When there was an opportunity, we also fought on foreign territories.
  3. Nechai
    Nechai April 24 2012 16: 34
    +1
    Quote: Dan099
    Our Air Force has an analogue of a similar guided bomb

    So the story of the appearance of this device with us dates back to the days of the Vietnam War. There, the amers bombed the bridge with a laser from the GOS. Several pieces didn’t hit the bridge, they stuck into the muddy bottom and did not explode. They were recovered and transported to the Union.

Новое применение бомбы Viper Strike

Новое применение бомбы Viper Strike


После более чем десяти лет отказа управляемой бомбы с лазерным наведением Viper Strike она, наконец, получает некоторую работу. Армия США в настоящее время использует Viper Strike на БЛА Hunter. Семьсот двадцати семи килограммовый БЛА Hunter способен нести до 91 кг датчиков и оружия. Такое ограничение по полезной нагрузке делает применение 47 кг Hellfire граничным, но идеально подходит для двадцати килограммовой Viper Strike.

Новое применение бомбы Viper Strike



Viper Strike была первоначально разработана как противотанковое оружие и её боевая часть содержит всего лишь 1.8 кг взрывчатых веществ. Но именно не большое количество взрывчатки сделало её отличным оружием для боевых действий в городских условиях, так как бомба является очень точной и существует меньшая вероятность, что её применение приведет к нежелательным потерям среди мирного населения. Viper Strike представляет из себя планер (без двигателя) длиной в 914 мм и 130 мм в диаметре (с сложенными крыльями). Бомба должна быть сброшена не более чем в тысяче метров от цели, но это оказалось не проблемой.

Новое применение бомбы Viper Strike


В последнее время бомбы Viper Strike были также использованы на новых транспортных самолетах KC-130J, оснащенных модифицированным задним люком (Derringer Door), позволяющим запускать ракеты и перезаряжать пусковую установку без предварительной разгерметизации самолета и опускания задней рампы.

Новое применение бомбы Viper Strike


KC-130J является последней и самой большой версией транспортного самолета С-130 корпуса морской пехоты США, используемого для воздушной дозаправки. Но KC-130J может перевозить грузы и нести вооружение (бомбы и ракеты) на своих крыльях. Последние, возможно, на версии KC-130J, называемой Harvest Hawk. Это боевая система позволяет оперативно развернуть оружие и датчики на транспортных самолетах С-130. Вся эта процедура занимает всего несколько часов и в результате транспортный самолет C-130 превращается в боевую платформу (аналогичную возможностям AC-130). Набор датчиков состоит из пакета дневных и ночных видеокамер с возможностями увеличения. В настоящее время вооружение состоит из десяти пусковых труб Derringer Door и четырех ракет Hellfires, подвешенных под крыльями. Первая боевая система Корпуса морской пехоты США прибыла в Афганистан еще два года назад. С тех пор самолеты Harvest Hawk выпустили сотни ракет Hellfire и Griffin, а также многократно обнаруживали вражескую деятельность. Теперь также используются Viper Strikes.

Новое применение бомбы Viper Strike


Одна проблема заключалась в необходимости приоткрыть задний люк для осуществления запуска ракет и перезаряжения пусковой установки. Поскольку самолеты обычно действуют на большой высоте (6400 метров над уровнем моря, экипажу приходилось надевать кислородные маски и требовалось время для выравнивания давления в грузовом отсеке и опускания задней рампы). Новая система Derringer Door содержит десять пусковых труб, которые можно использовать (для стрельбы или перезарядки) при закрытой рампе.

Новое применение бомбы Viper Strike


Первоначально из этих пусковых труб применялась ракета Гриффин. Она весит 20.5 кг и оснащена 5.9 килограммовой боеголовкой. Гриффин обладает большей дальностью (15 км), чем Hellfire благодаря раскрывающимся закрылкам позволяющим ей планировать после запуска. Гриффин использует лазерную, GPS и инерциальную систему наведения. Ракета Hellfire II была разработана намного раньше, она весит 48.2 кг, оснащена 9 кг боеголовкой и обладает радиусом действия в 8000 метров.

Новое применение бомбы Viper Strike


Главным преимуществом боевой системы на KC-130J являются её датчики, а не вооружение. Система способна наблюдать картину происходящего ночью в мельчайших подробностях и незамедлительно приступить к уничтожению цели используя бортовое вооружение, а с появлением "умных" бомб (с GPS и лазерным наведением) воздушное оружие стало более доступно для поражения любой обнаруженной цели. Таким образом, Harvest Hawk способен поражать "срочные" цели (которые необходимо уничтожить прежде чем они скроются), а также может использовать "умные" бомбы или ракеты с лазерным наведением по целям, которые никуда не денутся в оперативном плане. Большая часть работы Harvest Hawk в Афганистане связана с поиском придорожных фугасов или тех, кто их закладывает. Морские пехотинцы хотят отслеживать тех, кто закладывает придорожные фугасы с целью выйти на их базы, а затем провести против них боевую операцию.
Первоисточник: http://www.strategypage.com
Перевод: профессор

Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Видео в тему

Читайте также
Комментарии 4
  1. Nova 24 апреля 2012 09:34
    Ого! Довольно неплохая конвертация транспортного старичка в бомбер и ракетным монитор!
    1. Dan099 24 апреля 2012 12:43
      Кто-нибудь знает. В наших ВВС есть аналог подобной управляемой бомбы? Как он называется?
      Dan099
      1. почтальон 24 апреля 2012 20:28
        Цитата: Dan099

        Dan099

        КАБ-500Кр,КАБ-500-ОД

        КАБ-500C

        КАБ-250
        почтальон
        1. Eugene 26 апреля 2012 15:47
          Фигасе аналоги belay В 25 раз тяжелее и в 12.5 . нее это не аналоги.
          Eugene
  2. Олегыч 24 апреля 2012 13:12
    Паскуды эти амери..нские, изощряются, как им лучше замочить противника в его родном доме, после того, как их поганые политики, назначили его противником. Воюют только на чужой территории, когда же война придет в их дом?
    Олегыч
    1. Пупырчатый 24 апреля 2012 15:37
      Она к ним как-то не так давно попыталась прити. Потому и воюют на чужих территориях. И потом Зависть - это плохо. Когда была возможность, мы тоже воевали на чужих территориях.
  3. Nechai 24 апреля 2012 16:34
    Цитата: Dan099
    В наших ВВС есть аналог подобной управляемой бомбы

    Так история появления сего девайса у нас относится ещё ко временам вьетнамской войны. Там амеры мост разбомбили бомбой с лазерной ГСН. Несколько штук по мосту не попали, в вонзились в дно илистое и не взорвались. Были извлечены и переправлены в Союз.
    Nechai

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гость, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня