Military Review

Deserted convoys: the near future

10
Deserted convoys: the near future

The autonomous transport convoy is headed by a NH-60 truck, followed by two LMTV trucks.


The US-British team tested the technologies and concepts of autonomous supply.

As part of the demonstration tests CAAR (Coalition Assured Autonomous Resupply - guaranteed autonomous coalition supply), the British Laboratory of Defense Science and Technology (Dstl), American Army Armored Research Center (TARDEC), Arms Research and Development Center (ARDEC) tested the use of remote controlled vehicles (in the form of modified crew platforms) and unmanned aerial vehicles in logistic tasks. These demonstration runs took place at Camp Grayling, Michigan.

The test program included a test of the operation of a typical joint transport support column, as well as an autonomous coordinated support scenario “on the last mile” (on the ground and in the air), which was developed over the past three years.

According to the Dstl laboratory, the goal of an autonomous supply system “on the last mile” is to reduce the need for existing platforms and infrastructure, reduce risks and staff load, increase the efficiency of supply operations at a given pace and schedule and ensure a guaranteed supply of personnel on the front line. enhance maneuverability in a complex combat space.

The column operated in a master-slave configuration and moved at speeds up to 40 km / h; She was accompanied by two HMMWV armored vehicles with crews, equipped with Robotic Toolkit Software control stations. The leading platform was the British Army NH-60 truck manufactured by Rheinmetall MAN Military Vehicles GmbH (RMMV), followed by two American Army LMTV trucks (Light Medium Tactical Vehicle) manufactured by Oshkosh. All the trucks were equipped with the Lock Authentic Mobility Applique System (AMAS) autonomous mobility system developed by Lockheed Martin. AMAS is an optional multi-touch kit that is designed for integration with tactical wheeled vehicles and can be installed on existing vehicles.

In September, 2017 of the year TARDEC demonstrated AMAS technology by running a mixed convoy of army trucks and civilian vehicles on the Interstate 69 highway, which also ran in master-slave mode.

The technology used in AMAS combines sensors and control systems and is based on GPS, LIDAR laser locator, car radar and automotive sensors available on the market. The system includes a navigation unit that receives various signals, including GPS, and then, based on an arbitration algorithm that evaluates various incoming positioning data, provides location information.

The AMAS kit includes an antenna for the communication system, which, as a rule, is installed on the roof of the vehicle along with the LIDAR and GPS antenna. Inside the car are installed power steering system, steering wheel position sensor and sensors measuring the turning effort. Also installed inside the transmission and engine controllers, an electronically controlled braking system and electronic stability control. Code wheel position sensors are mounted on selected wheels, and a stereo camera in the upper part of the windshield. In the front and back of the machine, several short-range radars and car radars are installed; also installed side radars to eliminate blind spots. In the center of the machine is installed accelerometer / gyrotachometer stability control system.

The Polaris MRZR4x4 vehicle was used as a ground component of the autonomous "last mile" concept, which was remotely controlled by military personnel from the British Army Research and Testing Center. The car was traveling along a given supply route and was driven by a device in the form of a gaming tablet. Optionally, the crew car weighs 867 kg, develops speed 96 km / h and has a payload capacity of 680 kg.

Since so far this is a relatively new concept, there were backup drivers in the vehicles while the transport column was moving. However, their services were not requested, the cars passed the routes on their own, based on the real-time data or followed the GPS coordinates. It should be noted that the ground-based components in the CAAR demonstration process worked on a common radio network and were controlled from a tablet device.

Jeff Ratowski, CAAR project manager at the TARDEC Center, reported that a test plan scheduled for September-October 2018 of the year and September-October of 2019 of the year is currently being agreed. “The goal is to improve technology, increase machine speed and the level of integration of air and ground components.”

One of the goals of testing in 2018 is to work without backup drivers. “This is really the next step, the highest priority in the short term. We hope to start testing this technology in April of 2018, ”noted Ratowski.

“The six vehicles of the convoy will include two HMMWV escort armored vehicles, two NH60 trucks and two LMTV trucks. Offline capabilities will be demonstrated without backup drivers. The lead HMMV will route with intermediate points, and the remaining five cars will follow this route and there will not be a driver in any of them. ”

As the CAAR program evolves, the integration of the air and ground components will be tested in greater detail in order to demonstrate supply capabilities in real-world conditions.

SkyFalcon drones from Gilo Industries and Hoverbike from Malloy Aeronautics also took part in the demonstration.

Hoverbike is an electric quadcopter the size of a small car, capable of lifting 130 kg of cargo. It can fly at a speed of 97 km / h, the maximum height of the flight is 3000 meters. The drone is made of carbon fiber reinforced with Kevlar filled with foam. The electric motors of the device can be supplemented by an onboard generator to increase the duration of work. The system is controlled by the tablet. Hoverbike is designed for those customers who need to perform supply operations at low altitudes in areas with difficult terrain.

Materials used:
www.shephardmedia.com
www.army.mil
www.gov.uk
www.army-technology.com
www.wikipedia.org
10 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Xroft
    Xroft 21 March 2018 15: 12
    +5
    Yeah, the Americans are ahead of everyone in this regard. An automatic convoy that will be guarded by automatic modules and drones from above ... riding through the enslaved lands brrrr
  2. voyaka uh
    voyaka uh 21 March 2018 16: 10
    +6
    The Americans have already run in such columns in Afghanistan.
    These are further improvements. The easiest drone application
    cars just that. It is high time.
    1. Professor
      Professor 25 March 2018 09: 13
      +1
      Quote: voyaka uh
      The Americans have already run in such columns in Afghanistan.
      These are further improvements. The easiest drone application
      cars just that. It is high time.

      Americans? The IDF used a similar technique in Gaza in 2014.
  3. Strashila
    Strashila 21 March 2018 17: 19
    +2
    Hypothetically ... it rides .. it rides ... and enters the jamming zone ... and the foil heat insulation just stretches in front of the head machine ... it should logically just stand up ... unload, turn off the insulation and turn off the jammers .. let them go on.
  4. Old26
    Old26 21 March 2018 18: 07
    +4
    Quote: Strashila
    Hypothetically ... it rides .. it rides ... and enters the jamming zone ... and the foil heat insulation just stretches in front of the head machine ... it should logically just stand up ... unload, turn off the insulation and turn off the jammers .. let them go on.

    In fact, the tasks of logistics are being solved in the rear, and not in the rear of the opposing forces. So famously you do it. We drove our equipment 20-50 kilometers deep into the enemy’s defenses and do whatever you want ...
    1. Simple
      Simple 21 March 2018 20: 16
      0
      What is the benefit of this system, so that they saved the driver’s life (in the worst case)?
      1. Lopatov
        Lopatov 22 March 2018 09: 14
        0
        The maximum speed of the columns is likely to increase.
        Drivers often get in the way of their own brains. The effect is manifested as an accordion
        1. Simple
          Simple 22 March 2018 20: 19
          0
          All non-standard situations cannot be laid as the basis for the response of the “automatic driver”.
          In the war of attrition, you get stuck keeping this entire robotic convoy in good condition - time, money, service technicians, components that have fallen out of a standing position (does such a convoy not only consist of vehicles traveling on the ground?).

          For war with an unequal self-go.
          Money is being spent on development, production, sale and service. But once again - until the first big hedgehog.
          IMHO, of course.
    2. VictorZhivilov
      VictorZhivilov 21 March 2018 22: 16
      +2
      This is subject to the classic textbook war. If the war is asymmetric, then the rear, like the front line, does not exist ...
  5. alstr
    alstr 22 March 2018 10: 23
    0
    Hmm. The guys just need to read a little fiction.
    Suffice it to recall Heinlein's "Queen of the Sun." there, their ground vehicles all had a route memory mode. Those. once drove, and then turned on the autopilot and the cart itself repeats all the movements that the operator made.
    And if you dig, then you can’t dig it out

Военное обозрение

Безлюдные транспортные колонны: дело недалёкого будущего

10
Безлюдные транспортные колонны: дело недалёкого будущего

Автономную транспортную колонну возглавляет грузовик НХ-60, за которым следуют два грузовика LMTV


Американо-британская команда провела испытания технологий и концепций автономного снабжения.

В рамках демонстрационных испытаний CAAR (Coalition Assured Autonomous Resupply - гарантированное автономное снабжение коалиции) британская Лаборатория оборонной науки и технологии (Dstl), Научно-исследовательский бронетанковый центр американской армии (TARDEC), Научно-исследовательский центр в области вооружений (ARDEC) проверили применение дистанционно управляемых машин (в виде доработанных экипажных платформ) и беспилотных летательных аппаратов в логистических задачах. Эти демонстрационные заезды прошли на базе Кэмп Грейлинг, штат Мичиган.

В программу испытаний входила проверка работы типичной совместной транспортной колонны обеспечения, а также сценария автономной координированной поддержки «на последней миле» (на земле и в воздухе), который разрабатывался в течение последних трех лет.

По данным лаборатории Dstl, целью автономной системы снабжения «на последней миле» является сокращение потребности в существующих платформах и инфраструктуре, снижение рисков и нагрузки на личный состав, повышение эффективности операций снабжения при заданном темпе и графике и обеспечение гарантированного снабжения личного состава на передовой с целью повышения маневренных качеств в комплексном боевом пространстве.

Колонна работала в конфигурации «ведущий-ведомый» и двигалась со скоростью до 40 км/ч; сопровождали ее два бронеавтомобиля HMMWV с экипажами, оборудованные станциями управления Robotic Toolkit Software. Ведущей платформой был грузовик британской армии НХ-60 производства Rheinmetall MAN Military Vehicles GmbH (RMMV), за которым следовали два грузовика американской армии LMTV (Light Medium Tactical Vehicle) производства Oshkosh. Все грузовики были оборудованы разработанной компанией Lockheed Martin дополнительной системой автономной мобильности AMAS (Autonomous Mobility Applique System). AMAS представляет собой дополнительный многосенсорный комплект, который предназначен для интеграции с тактическими колесными машинами и может устанавливаться на существующие транспортные средства.

В сентябре 2017 года TARDEC продемонстрировал технологию AMAS, проведя смешанную транспортную колонну из армейских грузовиков и гражданских машин по автостраде Interstate 69, которая также шла в режиме «ведущий-ведомый».

Технология, используемая в AMAS, объединяет сенсоры и системы управления и базируется на GPS, лазерном локаторе LIDAR, автомобильных радарах и доступных на рынке автомобильных сенсорах. В систему входит навигационный блок, в который поступают различные сигналы, включая GPS, после чего на основе арбитражного алгоритма, оценивающего различные входящие данные позиционирования, выдает информацию о местоположении.

В комплект AMAS входит антенна системы связи, которая, как правило, наряду с LIDAR и антенной GPS устанавливается на крышу машины. Внутри машины устанавливаются система рулевого управления с усилителем, датчик положения рулевого колеса и датчики измерения усилия поворота. Также внутри устанавливаются контроллеры трансмиссии и двигателя, тормозная система с электронным управлением и электронная система курсовой устойчивости. Кодовые датчики положения колес устанавливаются на выбранных колесах, а стереокамера в верхней части лобового стекла. В передней и задней части машины устанавливается несколько радаров ближнего действия и автомобильных радиолокаторов; также установлены боковые радары для исключения слепых зон. В центре машины установлен акселерометр/гиротахометр системы курсовой устойчивости.

В качестве наземного компонента концепции автономной «последней мили» был задействован автомобиль Polaris MRZR4x4, которым дистанционно управляли военнослужащие из Исследовательско-испытательного центра британской армии. Машина ехала по заданному маршруту снабжения и управлялась устройством в виде игрового планшета. Опционально экипажный автомобиль весит 867 кг, развивает скорость 96 км/ч и имеет полезную грузоподъемность 680 кг.

Поскольку пока это относительно новая концепция, во время движения транспортной колонны в машинах находились водители-дублеры. Впрочем, их услуги не были востребованы, машины проходили маршруты самостоятельно на основе получаемых в реальном времени данных или следовали по координатам GPS. Надо сказать, что наземные компоненты в процессе демонстрации CAAR работали в общей радиосети и управлялись с планшетного устройства.

Джеф Ратовски, руководитель проекта CAAR в Центре TARDEC, сообщил, что в настоящее время идет согласование плана испытаний, намеченных на сентябрь-октябрь 2018 года и сентябрь-октябрь 2019 года. «Цель состоит в том, чтобы усовершенствовать технологию, повысить скорость машин и уровень интегрированности воздушных и наземных компонентов».

Одной из целей испытаний в 2018 году является работа без водителей-дублеров. «Это действительно следующий шаг, наивысший приоритет в ближайшей перспективе. Мы надеемся начать тестировать эту технологию в апреле 2018 года», - заметил Ратовски.

«Шесть машин транспортной колонны будут включать два бронеавтомобиля эскорта HMMWV, два грузовика НХ60 и два грузовика LMTV. Будут продемонстрированы автономные возможности без водителей-дублеров. Ведущий автомобиль HMMV будет прокладывать маршрут с промежуточными точками, а остальные пять машин проедут по этому маршруту и при этом ни в одной из них не будет водителя».

По мере развития программы CAAR все более обстоятельно будет проверяться интеграция воздушного и наземного компонентов с целью демонстрации возможностей по снабжению в реальных условиях.

В демонстрации приняли участие также беспилотники SkyFalcon от Gilo Industries и Hoverbike от Malloy Aeronautics.

Hoverbike представляет собой электрический квадрокоптер размером с небольшой автомобиль, способный поднять 130 кг груза. Он может летать со скоростью 97 км/ч, максимальная высота полета составляет 3000 метров. Беспилотник изготовлен из углеволокна усиленного кевларом с наполнением из пенопласта. Электродвигатели аппарата могут быть дополнены бортовым генератором для увеличения продолжительности работы. Система управляется посредством планшета. Hoverbike предназначен для тех заказчиков, которым необходимо выполнять операции снабжения на небольших высотах в районах со сложным рельефом.

Использованы материалы:
www.shephardmedia.com
www.army.mil
www.gov.uk
www.army-technology.com
www.wikipedia.org
10 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Xroft
    Xroft 21 марта 2018 15:12
    +5
    Дааа,американцы в этом плане впереди всех.Автоматическая колонна которая будет охранятся автоматическими модулями и беспилотниками сверху...катаясь по порабощенным землям брррр
  2. voyaka uh
    voyaka uh 21 марта 2018 16:10
    +6
    Американцы уже обкатывали такие колонны в Афганистане.
    Это - дальнейшие усовершенствования. Самое простое применение беспилотных
    автомобилей именно такое. Давно пора.
    1. профессор
      профессор 25 марта 2018 09:13
      +1
      Цитата: voyaka uh
      Американцы уже обкатывали такие колонны в Афганистане.
      Это - дальнейшие усовершенствования. Самое простое применение беспилотных
      автомобилей именно такое. Давно пора.

      Американцы? ЦАХАЛ применял подобную технику в Газе в 2014-м.
  3. Strashila
    Strashila 21 марта 2018 17:19
    +2
    Гипотетически... едет она.. едет... и попадает в зону глушилок... а перед головной машиной просто растягивают фольгированную тепло изоляция... она по логике должна просто встать... выгружаем, изоляцию сворачиваем и выключаем глушилки... пусть едут дальше .
  4. Старый26
    Старый26 21 марта 2018 18:07
    +4
    Цитата: Strashila
    Гипотетически... едет она.. едет... и попадает в зону глушилок... а перед головной машиной просто растягивают фольгированную тепло изоляция... она по логике должна просто встать... выгружаем, изоляцию сворачиваем и выключаем глушилки... пусть едут дальше .

    Вообще-то задачи логистики решаются в собственном тылу, а не в тылу противостоящих войск. Так лихо у вас все получается. Загнали свою технику километров на 20-50 вглубь обороны противника и вытворяете все, что хотите...
    1. Простой
      Простой 21 марта 2018 20:16
      0
      В чем выигрыш данной системы- тем что сэкономили на жизни (в худшем варианте) водителя?
      1. Лопатов
        Лопатов 22 марта 2018 09:14
        0
        С высокой вероятностью повысится максимальная скорость колонн.
        Водителям зачастую мешают собственные мозги. Проявляется такой эффект, как "гармошка"
        1. Простой
          Простой 22 марта 2018 20:19
          0
          Все нестандартные ситуации в основу реагирования "автоматического водителя" не заложишь.
          В войне на истощение забодаешься всю эту роботизированную колонну поддерживать в работоспособном состоянии- время, деньги, специалисты по обслуживанию, выбывшие из стоя компоненты (такая де колонна не только из техники ездяещей по земле состоит?) .

          Для войны с неравным себе- пойдёт.
          Прокручиваются деньги на разработке, производстве, продажеи сервисе.Но ещё раз - до первого большого шухера.
          ИМХО, конечно.
    2. VictorZhivilov
      VictorZhivilov 21 марта 2018 22:16
      +2
      Это при условии классической войны по учебникам. Если же война асимметричная, то тыла как и передовой не существует...
  5. alstr
    alstr 22 марта 2018 10:23
    0
    Мда. Ребятам надо просто почитать немного фантастики.
    Достаточно вспомнить Хайнлайна "Королева Солнца". там у них наземные машины все имели режим запоминания маршрута. Т.е. один раз проехал, а дальше включил автопилот и телега сама повторяет все движения, которые совершил оператор.
    А если покопаться, то еще и не такое можно выкопать