Military Review

The first anti-submarine aircraft P-8A Poseidon entered service with the Australian Air Force

5
The Australian Air Force adopted the first anti-submarine aircraft P-8A Poseidon, reports "Warspot" with a link to the portal navaltoday.com


The P-8A Poseidon and the MQ-4C Triton drone will provide Australia with one of the world's most advanced maritime patrol and surveillance capabilities. The P-8A is a very effective successor to the AP-3C Orion, which will soon be leaving military service after nearly forty years of work.
- said Australian Defense Minister Marise Payne.

The first anti-submarine aircraft P-8A Poseidon entered service with the Australian Air Force


The Australian Ministry of Defense ordered X-NUMX P-12A Poseidon aircraft for its Air Force. To date, six of them have already been delivered to Australia, and yesterday the first aircraft officially took up combat duty.

The Boeing P-8A Poseidon is a new generation anti-submarine aircraft based on the Boeing 737 – 800 passenger liner. The Poseidon is equipped with an AN / APS-137D (V) 5 airborne radar and an AN / APY-10 electronic surveillance system. The radar station allows the aircraft to map the terrain, identify fixed surface targets, and also detect submarines at periscope depths.

The aircraft’s armament consists of Harpoon anti-ship missiles and Side-Air-to-Air missiles. In the internal compartment of weapons are placed sonar buoys designed to detect submarines at great depths, as well as depth charges and torpedoes Mark 54.
Photos used:
navaltoday.com
5 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. rotmistr60
    rotmistr60 21 March 2018 11: 32
    +2
    12 aircraft P-8A
    Why do they need as many as 12 such aircraft if the Australian Navy includes about 50 warships and auxiliary vessels (including one aircraft carrier)? Or are they afraid that the submarines of Russia and China will rush to them in the first place?
    1. KVU-NSVD
      KVU-NSVD 21 March 2018 11: 44
      +9
      Australia plays the role of one of the auxiliary Anglo-Saxon armies and its mission - to control its area of ​​responsibility and help the amers if necessary. Hence the specific distortions in the armament, and the complete conjugation with their equipment ...
    2. Thunderbolt
      Thunderbolt 21 March 2018 11: 45
      0
      Quote: rotmistr60
      Or are they afraid that the submarines of Russia and China will rush to them in the first place?

      But who knows where the Queen of England wants to send them this time. The Australian fighters (with a kangaroo) in the Middle East seem to sound like nonsense, but they were there and carried out combat missions. WWII history, again, the Japanese didn’t reach them on a large scale. only because of the active actions of the Americans. Between China and Australia, a bunch of island countries in the ocean hang out where both actively throw their investments, get resources from them. Therefore
      such a weapon they will certainly not be amiss.
  2. Don
    Don 21 March 2018 12: 02
    +2
    White envy can envy the Australians. Russian anti-submarine aircraft to Poseidon, as ... in general, as a Cossack against a modern Mercedes winked
  3. Old26
    Old26 21 March 2018 18: 02
    +1
    Quote: rotmistr60
    12 aircraft P-8A
    Why do they need as many as 12 such aircraft if the Australian Navy includes about 50 warships and auxiliary vessels (including one aircraft carrier)? Or are they afraid that the submarines of Russia and China will rush to them in the first place?

    Well, your answer was predictable. if not for us, then why should they? And why do we need a replacement for the Be-12 and IL-38? For us, too, Australian submarines do not rush?

Военное обозрение

Первый противолодочный самолет P-8A Poseidon поступил на вооружение ВВС Австралии

5
ВВС Австралии приняли на вооружение первый самолёт противолодочной борьбы P-8A Poseidon, сообщает "Warspot" со ссылкой на портал navaltoday.com


P-8A Poseidon и беспилотник MQ-4C Triton предоставят Австралии одну из самых передовых в мире возможностей морского патрулирования и наблюдения. P-8A — очень эффективный преемник AP-3C Orion, который вскоре покинет боевую службу после почти сорокалетней работы
— рассказала министр обороны Австралии Мариз Пейн.

Первый противолодочный самолет P-8A Poseidon поступил на вооружение ВВС Австралии


Минобороны Австралии заказало для своих ВВС 12 самолётов P-8A Poseidon. На сегодняшний день шесть из них уже доставлены в Австралию, а вчера первый самолёт официально заступил на боевое дежурство.

Boeing P-8A Poseidon — противолодочный самолёт нового поколения, созданный на базе пассажирского лайнера Boeing 737–800. Poseidon оснащён бортовой радиолокационной станцией AN/APS-137D(V)5 и системой радиотехнической разведки AN/APY-10. Радиолокационная станция позволяет самолёту осуществлять картографирование местности, проводить опознавание неподвижных надводных целей, а также обнаруживать подлодки, находящиеся на перископной глубине.

Вооружение самолёта состоит из противокорабельных ракет Harpoon и ракет Sidewinder класса «воздух-воздух». Во внутреннем отсеке вооружения размещаются гидроакустические буи, предназначенные для обнаружения субмарин на больших глубинах, а также глубинные бомбы и торпеды Mark 54.
Использованы фотографии:
navaltoday.com
5 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. rotmistr60
    rotmistr60 21 марта 2018 11:32
    +2
    12 самолётов P-8A
    Зачем им аж 12 таких самолетов если ВМС Австралии насчитывают около 50 боевых кораблей и вспомогательных судов (в т.ч. один авианосец)? Или боятся, что подводные лодки России и Китая в первую очередь кинуться к ним?
    1. КВУ-НСвД
      КВУ-НСвД 21 марта 2018 11:44
      +9
      Австралия играет роль одной из вспомогательных англосаксонских армий и её задачи - контроль своей зоны ответственности и помощь амерам при необходимости . Отсюда и специфические перекосы в вооружении , и полная сопряжённость с их техникой...
    2. Громобой
      Громобой 21 марта 2018 11:45
      0
      Цитата: rotmistr60
      Или боятся, что подводные лодки России и Китая в первую очередь кинуться к ним?

      Да кто его знает,куда вздумается английской королеве послать их на этот раз.Австралийские истребители (с кенгуру) на Ближнем Востоке вроде бы звучит как нонсенс,но они там были и выполняли боевые задачи.История ВМВ опять же,японцы до них масштабно не добрались только из-за активных действий американцев.Между Китаем и Австралией болтается куча стран-островов в океане куда оба активно закидывают свои инвестиции,получают с них ресурсы.Поэтому
      такое оружие им точно будет не лишним.
  2. Донской
    Донской 21 марта 2018 12:02
    +2
    Белой завистью можно завидовать австралийцам. Российским противолодочным самолетам до Посейдона, как ... в общем как запорожец против современного мерседеса winked
  3. Старый26
    Старый26 21 марта 2018 18:02
    +1
    Цитата: rotmistr60
    12 самолётов P-8A
    Зачем им аж 12 таких самолетов если ВМС Австралии насчитывают около 50 боевых кораблей и вспомогательных судов (в т.ч. один авианосец)? Или боятся, что подводные лодки России и Китая в первую очередь кинуться к ним?

    Ну ответ ваш был прогнозируемый. если не нам, то зачем им? А зачем нам требуется замена Бе-12 и Ил-38? К нам ведь тоже австралийские ПЛ не кинуться?