Military Review

The birth of a legend: how the Dragunov sniper rifle was created

21
In 1963, the Dragunov sniper rifle was adopted by the Soviet Army. The Dragunov rifle, in the process of creation and improvement, passed the same severe tests as the Kalashnikov assault rifle. Although at that time it seemed to many designers that it was absolutely impossible.


But it is not enough to invent a rifle, it is necessary to begin its mass production. And here the SVD awaited quite a few difficulties. In order to produce trunks for a new sniper rifle, I had to master a completely new technology of forming rifling holes in the barrel.

Also, unlike the Kalashnikov assault rifle, where at that time the receiver was stamped, it was made for the SVD by a more expensive and more complex milling method. This greatly strained the military leadership of the USSR. But Dragunov did not compromise. He did not want to reduce the cost of rifle production to the detriment of its reliability and its phenomenal accuracy.

21 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Vard
    Vard 29 March 2018 11: 18
    +1
    One of the dreams ... which were not destined to come true ... to shoot from this sniper ...
    1. Romka47
      Romka47 29 March 2018 11: 28
      +7
      Well, dear, do not be a pessimist, you still live, then not all is lost! And judging by what’s happening in the world, we’ll still shoot enough ...
      1. Vard
        Vard 29 March 2018 12: 23
        +1
        Thank you ... at one time I was shot ... do not need such happiness ...
        1. Romka47
          Romka47 29 March 2018 13: 00
          +2
          May God grant us all to do without such "happiness", but as history shows for our age, that's enough ...
    2. Vend
      Vend 29 March 2018 11: 34
      +1
      The legendary SVD!
  2. beeper
    beeper 29 March 2018 14: 38
    +5
    I liked the video for the article, without speculation and almost without "water" good . Although the leader could better prepare and focus on important points, the more so because the creators of the "roller" were in contact with the son of the designer of the rifle, also a gunsmith ...
    I will bring my "5 kopecks" to the praises of my favorite "sniper" design of the unforgettable Evgeny Fedorovich Dragunov yes .
    "A completely new technology for the formation of rifling in the bore" - an electrochemical method that does not cause residual stresses in the barrel material and is therefore most suitable for sniper rifle trunks. By the way, it’s a very progressive method that can be automated quite well, although it is energy-consuming, and, as everywhere and everywhere, with its own cockroaches, multi-factor ...
    Evgeny Fedorovich "did not compromise" on the manufacture of the receiver, probably because he knew the advantages and disadvantages of stamped cases of small arms, as well as the numerous, not at all so "cheap" technological problems that had to be encountered in the manufacture AK stamped receiver and which were decided only with the development of AKM production, which was adopted in 1959 (and before that it had to be made by milling from a piece of a whole billet, it turned out to be simpler and, ultimately, cheaper, although the utilization rate of the metal of a billet was significantly lower and the weight of the finished product is higher).
    In addition, the loser (only at the very last stage of the competition, in December 1961-January 1962), A. Konstantinov’s sniper rifle had a stamped receiver design and all the inherent “stamping”, shortcomings in combat use, and, therefore, military clearly preferred her the "all-milled" SVD, albeit a little more expensive in production.
    Despite the rivalry of their models, according to the recollections of some colleagues, Yevgeny Fedorovich Dragunov and Alexander Semenovich Konstantinov were in very friendly relations and freely interacted, exchanged views on the design of their rifles, because they did the common thing for the defense of our Fatherland.
    I don’t remember where, but I came across infa, that the most problematic, in a constructive solution to the failure-free delivery of the “welded” cartridge 7,62x54mm, is a 10-charge magazine to the SVD-Konstantinovsky design, is this really so?
    In 1993, on the 30th anniversary of adoption, the journal Engineering and Armaments published an article on the creation of the SVD, which cited Memoirs of the Designer himself about the concept of the rifle’s device and provided intelligible diagrams of the units: a “three-point” shutter lock, “samples clearance "in the front position of the bolt and the" floating mount "forend. It’s a pity, I don’t remember exactly the last name of the colonel, the author of the article, but I highly recommend finding and reading those who are not indifferent to SVD — you won’t regret it!
    Also went such a weapon bike that E.F. all 5 years of the competition (announced at the beginning of 1958) did not remove from his kulman in the design bureau the originally pinned sheet of paper "24" in the format, on which he drew the design of his SVD from the first to the final version, constantly wiping something and erasing something .. Was it really this, or is it another of the legends that always accompany the great Constructors and their Creations ?!
    In general, Evgeny Fedorovich Dragunov is a very interesting and original Designer-Armsman by the Grace of God, like Alexey Ivanovich Sudaev, who, in his arms career, largely determined the trends of the current and future small arms. yes IMHO.
    hi
    1. silversnow
      silversnow 29 March 2018 15: 13
      +2
      Dear squeaker! And how, in your opinion, is it worthwhile to emphasize the most important points in such a video?
      I’ll get better prepared about it - I agree, I had about an hour to prepare, the introduction to the shootings came suddenly.
      1. beeper
        beeper 29 March 2018 17: 36
        +1
        Dear Silversnow, if you were not in the subject before, then in an hour of sudden preparation my, purely subjective, rating is “excellent”! You performed very well, it was nice to listen good !
        Moreover, I understand from the context that there was no one to “accent” you and “gratitude for the assistance” to Yevgeny Fedorovich’s son is just a “figure of speech” (after all, apparently, family photos of the Constructor’s youth are in the public domain)?
        hi
        1. silversnow
          silversnow 29 March 2018 21: 58
          +1
          Thanks.

          Gratitude is not a figure of speech. I was given the task, I prepared in an hour, and after the video was shot, I was able to contact Mikhail Evgenievich.
          He corrected the mistakes and pointed out the flaws, for which many thanks to him.
  3. konstantin68
    konstantin68 29 March 2018 15: 54
    +3
    Well, about the "phenomenal" accuracy, the author certainly turned down, but the SVD was developed according to our "sniper doctrine" (3-5 SVD per motorized rifle company), and for these tasks the option is successful. Shooted more than once personally, it was not very accurate, to be honest, but this is because the rifle is alien. From your personal weapon where you aim, you get there.
    1. silversnow
      silversnow 29 March 2018 21: 59
      +4
      I understand when people do not know how to read, but when they do not know how to listen ...
      The video said about the fantastic accuracy of the C-49 rifle, and not the SVD.
  4. Some kind of compote
    Some kind of compote 29 March 2018 20: 59
    +16
    Interesting video
  5. konstantin68
    konstantin68 30 March 2018 11: 04
    0
    Quote: silversnow
    I understand when people do not know how to read, but when they do not know how to listen ...
    The video said about the fantastic accuracy of the C-49 rifle, and not the SVD.

    ... He did not want to reduce the cost of manufacturing a rifle to the detriment of its reliability and its phenomenal accuracy.
    -in the title of the title, if you're talking about it. In general, I am more a reader than a listener and a caretaker.
  6. Lex.
    Lex. 30 March 2018 18: 17
    0
    https://people.onliner.by/2018/03/30/karabin-2
    Here is a man made a valu
    1. beeper
      beeper 30 March 2018 22: 26
      +1
      Dear Lex, to the deservedly revered SVD, tyulite the criminal "little thing" home-made from some kind of "turning shop", why do you need this ?! request
      And if this story was about a sniper version of the Israeli rifle "Galil" would have done the same?
      1. Lex.
        Lex. 31 March 2018 07: 47
        +1
        Comrade Pishchak, this means that among the common people, left-handed people are also being led, and everything is exactly galile or svd for me
        1. beeper
          beeper 31 March 2018 09: 43
          +1
          “Anyway,” comrade Lex, I didn’t understand your example of a primitive “frog” (even with a stock of silencers and a truncated optical sight) of an experienced Lyakhovichi turner with a “book on weapons”, because E. Dragunov (by the way, like I. Galili and U. Gal) are also from the "common people", but incomparably "left-handed" ...
          Or is this a manifestation of nostalgia for Belarus? wink
          1. Lex.
            Lex. 31 March 2018 16: 55
            +1
            I'm talking about the fact that thousands of officials sit in factories in trousers. They can’t invent anything normal, and what difference do you have for craftsmen in factories? For example, what’s worth doing with this turner?
            1. beeper
              beeper 31 March 2018 22: 42
              +1
              I understand and agree with you, there are few creatives, but for one with a bipod, seven with a spoon yes !
              Most likely, under the order, and, apparently, not one copy, because the muffler was prepared and “for the future” ... of course, the hands were golden and invented, although banal, but rational, even the “descent failure” was not disregarded and Compensated by the insert in the trigger guard. True, the screw bolt is clearly weakened, even for the “small things”, it will quickly become loose, and maybe even calculate (that the “pipers” will have to turn to the producer again for a reinforcing “upgrade”) ?! smile
              1. Lex.
                Lex. April 4 2018 15: 30
                +1
                Yes, under the penny it’s most likely that it’s more accessible and probably didn’t do it on doves
  7. fdgf
    fdgf 31 March 2018 22: 51
    0
    The birth of a legend: how the Dragunov sniper rifle was created

    A very mediocre product with an almost substandard (rather weak) cartridge. Call it a legend ... Well, I don’t know.

Военное обозрение

Рождение легенды: как создавалась снайперская винтовка Драгунова

21
В 1963 году снайперская винтовка Драгунова была принята на вооружение Советской Армии. Винтовка Драгунова, в процессе создания и совершенствования, прошла те же суровые испытания, что и автомат Калашникова. Хотя тогда многим конструкторам казалось, что это абсолютно невозможно.


Но мало изобрести винтовку, необходимо начать ее серийное производство. И здесь СВД поджидало не мало сложностей. Для того, чтобы производить стволы для новой снайперской винтовки, пришлось освоить совершенно новую технологию формирования нарезов в канале ствола.

Также, в отличие от автомата Калашникова, где на тот момент ствольная коробка была штампованной, для СВД ее изготавливали более дорогим и более сложным методом фрезеровки. Это изрядно напрягало военное руководство СССР. Но Драгунов не шел на компромисс. Он не хотел удешевлять стоимость производства винтовки в ущерб ее надежности и ее феноменальной точности.

21 комментарий
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Vard
    Vard 29 марта 2018 11:18
    +1
    Одна из мечт... которым не суждено было сбыться... пострелять из этой снайперки...
    1. Romka47
      Romka47 29 марта 2018 11:28
      +7
      Нуу уважаемый, не надо быть пессимистом, вы же еще живи,значит не все потеряно! А судя по тому что в мире творится, мы еще все вдоволь настреляемся....
      1. Vard
        Vard 29 марта 2018 12:23
        +1
        Спасибо... в своё время настрелялся... не надо такого счастья...
        1. Romka47
          Romka47 29 марта 2018 13:00
          +2
          Дай Бог нам всем обойтись без такого "счастья" , но как показывает история на наш век хватит...
    2. Венд
      Венд 29 марта 2018 11:34
      +1
      Легендарная СВД!
  2. пищак
    пищак 29 марта 2018 14:38
    +5
    Видео к статье понравилось, без домыслов и почти без "воды" good . Хотя ведущий мог лучше подготовиться и акцентироваться на важных моментах, тем более, что создатели "ролика" контактировали с сыном конструктора винтовки, тоже оружейником...
    Внесу и я свои "5 копеек" в дифирамбы моей любимой "снайперке" конструкции незабвенного Евгения Фёдоровича Драгунова yes .
    "Совершенно новая технология формирования нарезов в канале ствола"-электрохимическим способом, не вызывающим остаточных напряжений в материале ствола и поэтому наиболее подходящим для стволов снайперских винтовок. Между прочим-очень прогрессивный способ, неплохо поддающийся автоматизации, хотя и энергозатратный, да и, как везде и всюду, со "своими тараканами", многофакторными...
    Евгений Федорович "не шёл на компромис" по поводу изготовления ствольной коробки, наверное, потому что хорошо знал достоинства и недостатки штампованных корпусов стрелкового оружия, а также, многочисленные, отнюдь не такие уж "дешевые", технологические проблемы, с которыми пришлось столкнуться при изготовлении штампованной ствольной коробки АК и которые были решены только с освоением производства АКМ, принятого на вооружение в 1959 году( а до того пришлось изготавливать фрезерованием из куска цельной заготовки-так получалось проще и, в конечном итоге, дешевле, хотя коэффициент использования металла штучной заготовки был существенно ниже и вес готового изделия-выше).
    Кроме того, проигравшая( лишь на самом последнем этапе конкурса-в декабре 1961-январе 1962 ) снайперская винтовка А.С.Константинова имела штампованную конструкцию ствольной коробки и все, присущие "штамповке", недостатки в боевом применении, и, поэтому тоже, военные однозначно предпочли ей "цельнофрезерованную" СВД, пусть и чуть более дорогую в производстве.
    Несмотря на соперничество своих образцов, по воспоминаниям некоторых сослуживцев, Евгений Федорович Драгунов и Александр Семёнович Константинов были в очень даже приязненных отношениях и свободно взаимодействовали, обменивались мнениями по вопросам конструкции своих винтовок, ведь общее Дело делали для обороны нашего Отечества.
    Не помню уж где, но мне попадалась инфа, что наиболее проблемный, в конструктивном решении безотказности подачи "рантового" патрона 7,62х54мм, 10-зарядный магазин к СВД-константиновской конструкции, так ли это на самом деле?
    В журнале "Техника и Вооружение" за 1993 год, к 30-летию принятия на вооружение, была опубликована статья о создании СВД, в которой цитировались воспоминания самого Конструктора о концепции устройства винтовки и приводились внятные схемы узлов: "трехточечного" запирания затвора, "выборки зазора" в переднем положении затворной рамы и "плавающего крепления" цевья. Жаль, уже не помню точно фамилию полковника, автора статьи, но очень рекомендую неравнодушным к СВД найти и прочитать-не пожалеете!
    Тоже ходила такая оружейная байка, что Е.Ф. все 5 лет конкурса( объявленного в начале 1958 года) не снимал со своего кульмана в КБ первоначально приколотый лист ватмана "24" формата, на котором чертил конструкцию своей СВД от первого и до окончательного варианта, что-то постоянно вытирая ластиком и перечерчивая...так ли это на самом деле было или это ещё одна из легенд, всегда сопровождающих великих Конструкторов и их Творения?!
    Вообще, Евгений Федорович Драгунов очень интересный и самобытный Конструктор-Оружейник Божьей Милостью, как и Алексей Иванович Судаев, своей деятельностью на оружейном поприще во многом определивший тенденции настоящего и будущего легкого стрелкового оружия. yes имхо.
    hi
    1. silversnow
      silversnow 29 марта 2018 15:13
      +2
      Уважаемый пищак! А как, на ваш взгляд, стоит в таком видео делать акцент на наиболее важных моментах?
      Про подготовится получше - согласен, у меня на подготовку был примерно час, вводная по съёмкам пришла внезапно.
      1. пищак
        пищак 29 марта 2018 17:36
        +1
        Уважаемый Silversnow, если Вы до этого не были в теме, то за час внезапной подготовки моя, чисто субъективная, оценка-"отлично" ! Вы очень хорошо выступили, приятно было слушать good !
        Тем более, понимаю из контекста, что "акцентировать" Вас было некому и "благодарность за содействие" сыну Евгения Федоровича-это лишь "фигура речи"(ведь даже, видимо семейные, фото молодости Конструктора есть в открытом интернетдоступе)?
        hi
        1. silversnow
          silversnow 29 марта 2018 21:58
          +1
          Cпасибо.

          Благодарность - не фигура речи. Мне поставили задачу, я за час подготовился, и уже после того, как видео было отснято, смог связаться Михаилом Евгениевичем.
          Он поправил ошибки и указал на недостатки, за что ему огромное спасибо.
  3. konstantin68
    konstantin68 29 марта 2018 15:54
    +3
    Ну про "феноменальную" точность автор конечно загнул,но СВД разрабатывалась согласно нашей "снайперской доктрины"(3-5 СВД на мотострелковую роту),и для этих задач вариант удачный. Стреливал не раз лично,попадал неочень,если честно,но это потому,что винтовка чужая. Со своего личного оружия куда целишься-туда и попадаешь.
    1. silversnow
      silversnow 29 марта 2018 21:59
      +4
      Я понимаю, когда люди не умеют читать, но когда не умеют слушать...
      В видео было сказано про фантастическую кучность винтовки С-49, а не СВД.
  4. Какой-то Компот
    Какой-то Компот 29 марта 2018 20:59
    +16
    Интересный ролик
  5. konstantin68
    konstantin68 30 марта 2018 11:04
    0
    Цитата: silversnow
    Я понимаю, когда люди не умеют читать, но когда не умеют слушать...
    В видео было сказано про фантастическую кучность винтовки С-49, а не СВД.

    ... Он не хотел удешевлять стоимость производства винтовки в ущерб ее надежности и ее феноменальной точности.
    -в названии заголовка,если Вы про это. А вообще-то,я больше читатель,чем слушатель и смотритель.
  6. Лекс.
    Лекс. 30 марта 2018 18:17
    0
    https://people.onliner.by/2018/03/30/karabin-2
    Вот человек валыну сделал
    1. пищак
      пищак 30 марта 2018 22:26
      +1
      Уважаемый Лекс, к заслуженно почитаемой СВД тулите криминальную "мелкашку"-самоделку из какого-то "токарного цеха", зачем Вам это?! request
      А если бы этот рассказ был о снайперском варианте израильской винтовки "Галил" тоже так бы поступили?
      1. Лекс.
        Лекс. 31 марта 2018 07:47
        +1
        Товарищ Пищак а это к тому что в простом народе тоже левши ведутся и мне всё ровно галиль или свд
        1. пищак
          пищак 31 марта 2018 09:43
          +1
          "Всё равно", товарищ Лекс, не понял Ваш пример с примитивным "жабострелом"( пусть даже и с запасом глушителей и притороченным оптприцелом) ляховичского бывалого токаря с "книжкой по оружейному делу", ведь и Е.Драгунов( впрочем, как И.Галили и У.Гал) тоже из "простого народа", но несопоставимо "левшее"...
          Или это такое проявление ностальжи по Белоруссии? wink
          1. Лекс.
            Лекс. 31 марта 2018 16:55
            +1
            Я о том что тысячи чиновников на заводах просиживают штаны нечего нормального изобрести не могут да и какая разница у вас тоже умельцев хватает на заводах например чего только в стволе нарезы сделать стоит у этого токаря золотые руки наверное под заказ кому то делал
            1. пищак
              пищак 31 марта 2018 22:42
              +1
              Понял и согласен с Вами, креативщиков мало, а на одного с сошкой-семеро с ложкой yes !
              Скорее всего, под заказ, и, видимо, не один экземпляр, ведь глушитель заготовил и "на перспективу"...руки, конечно, золотые и придумано, хотя и банально, но рационально, даже "провал спуска" не оставлен без внимания и скомпенсирован вставкой в спусковой скобе. Правда, нагельный болт явно прослаблен, даже для "мелкашки", быстро расшатается, а может на то и расчёт( что "волынщикам" придётся вновь к продуценту обращаться, по поводу укрепляющего "апгрейда")?! smile
              1. Лекс.
                Лекс. 4 апреля 2018 15:30
                +1
                Да под мелкашку скорей всего что доступней и наверное не по голубям лупить сделал
  7. fdgf
    fdgf 31 марта 2018 22:51
    0
    Рождение легенды: как создавалась снайперская винтовка Драгунова

    Весьма посредственное изделие с почти некондиционный (слабоватым) патроном. Называть его легендой ... Ну, не знаю.