Military Review

How Ravu Russian stormed. Part of 3

8
As a result of the four-day battles of Rava Ruska - Waldorf - Magiruv, the efforts of the 3 corps of the Russian 3 army were not enough to fulfill the main task.


The Austrians still held important railroad lines. the node of Rava Russkaya, on the left flank of the 3 Army (near Waldorf), was threatened with a breakthrough between the 10 and 12 army corps and a further bypass of the internal flanks of the Russian armies. The resulting breakthrough tried to localize 3 Russian cavalry divisions.

Commander-3 N.V. Ruzsky, reporting the situation to the front command, expressed the view that further success is not feasible - referring to the presence of strong in nature and well-fortified positions, which were occupied by "still unshaken" parts. N.V. Ruzsky complained about the lack of reserves in his army, concluding that a difficult situation could be resolved only after the capture of Rava-Russkaya with the help of the troops of neighboring armies - the 21 corps of the 8 army and the left-flanking corps of the 5 army. The assistance of the latter was recognized as essential.

The report of N.V. Ruzsky and the removal of the 11 Division from the front and the withdrawal of the latter to the army reserve indicate that the commander, having little or no orientation in the situation, considered the position of his army in extremely pessimistic tones - and in fact at that time on the right flank operational unification was brewing a major victory.

The official description of the 1914 campaign. on the Russian front, this was how the first stage of the operation at Rava Ruska was: “the enemy strained all his efforts in the Rava-Russky area to break through between the 3rd and 5th armies. The desperate position of the enemy gave him strength. The general situation of our armies under the concentrated blows of the Austrians again became complicated and until August 26 was rather difficult ... ”

As tasks for their corps on 28, August N.V. Ruzsky ordered: 21, 11, and 9 army corps to continue the attack on Rav Ruska. The 21 Corps was ordered to take a more southerly direction (the left flank was to attack the Grebenne – Rzhichki sector), and the 10 Corps was to defend its positions by ensuring measures against the enemy’s breakthrough.

The Austrian 2s, 3s and most of the 4 armies continued their concentric attack on Lviv, while the left flank of the 4 armies and the Joseph-Ferdinand group were assigned to ensure their flank and rear.

On August 28, from the north, Russian corps began to approach the Russian Rawa — the 21 (8) and 5 and 17 (5) armies.

The 21 Army Corps fought the whole day with the Austrian 8 Infantry Division (the offensive was led by the 44 Infantry Division, which occupied the Lyubych area by evening). After occupying the 5 Army Corps of Narol, the cavalry corps of the 5 Army advanced towards the Ceshanuva region by evening. The exit of the 5 Corps to Narol and the far round of the cavalry corps forced the Austrians in the evening to begin the withdrawal of the 4, 8 of the infantry and 13 of the Landwehr infantry divisions for the railway station Gorinetts-Potylich. Further movement of the Russian 5 corps threatened to cut the railway Rava Russkaya - Yaroslav with access to the deep rear of the Austrian 4 army. The 17 and 21 army corps also advanced successfully to the railway, taking the Rudka-Khmel district and the parts of the 17 corps - Verkhrat-Sedliska-Grebenne by the evening with the 21 corps.

The command of the Austrian 4 Army saw the impossibility of quantifying the weak exhausted troops of the 2 Army Corps to stop a deep bypass of their left flank with 3 army corps and cavalry. And in 16 hours 30 minutes received an order to withdraw for the river. San

How Ravu Russian stormed. Part of 3

Galicia. At camping tents (photo piece-cap. Korsakov)

At the same time, there was a turning point in the course of hostilities at the front of the main forces of the 3 Army. The general attack of the positions of Rava Ruska by the troops of the 9 and 11 of the army corps was to take place on August 29 - how the success of the offensive of the 21 corps on Grebenna was marked.

28 August The 10 Army Corps managed to eliminate the Waldorf breakthrough. The Austrian 6 and 9 army corps 28 - 29 of August led active operations - vigorously advancing. The worst situation was created on the left flank of the Russian 10 Army Corps - but, despite repeated enemy attacks, the 9, 19, and 31 infantry divisions not only repulsed all attacks, but advanced on the flanks. The 4 heavy artillery brigade division, which led a successful counter battery battle in the area of ​​the village of Vereshchitsy, actively contributed to the success of the battle.

In his reports to the front command N.V. Ruzsky, by the end of 28, August described the operational situation in the 3 and 8 armies as extremely serious - reporting that the Austrian corps departing from the front of the 5 army were trying to break through in the interval between 3 and 8 armies - to Lviv. He also noted the threat of bypassing the left flank of the 8 Army, and the 3 Army could help the latter only after seizing Rava of Russia by hitting the Austrians with Nemirov. But Rava Russkaya, the general noted, keeps holding back the implementation of the maneuver. The troops of the 3 Army were very tired, suffered serious losses. And an urgent need for the exit of the left-flank corps of the 5 Army from the Tomashev side is urgently needed.

In the morning of August 29, the artillery of the 4's Russian divisions of the 9 and 11 of the army corps (220 guns), which surrounded Rav Russian in a semicircle, opened hurricane fire at enemy positions. Part of the Austrian 3-th and 19-th infantry divisions with heavy losses retreated under the onslaught of Russian troops.

By 13 hours, the 78 Infantry Division captured the village of Senkowice, and by the morning of August 30, occupied the Rzichki region - Rawa Russkaya. Slowly advancing during the night, and leading battles with the enemy rearguards, the 5 Infantry Division by the morning of August 30 reached Rava Russkaya - the city was abandoned by the enemy.

In the area of ​​the 58 Infantry Division, Austrians conducted offensive operations. D. G. Shcherbachev marked the energetic attack of the enemy in 22 hours of August 28. The general recalled the picture of the battle: the non-stop artillery fire, releasing hundreds of shells, missiles. But 58-I division not only repelled the enemy, but also went on the offensive - and in some areas bayonet fights took place. The 2 Russian night attacks were also successful - and by the morning of August 29 the Austrians began to retreat. The prisoners turned out to be "more corps".

All Russian divisions went on the offensive.

Summing up the battles on the approaches to Rawa Russkaya, it should be noted that the troops of the 11 and 9 of the army corps, leading a frontal attack on the fortified position of the enemy for 6 days, could only seize its forward lines and approached the main resistance line. This speaks, on the one hand, of the power of the 24-kilometer fortified position under Rava Russkaya, and on the other hand, of the valor of its defenders - parts of the Austrian 3, 19-th infantry and 41-th trooped infantry divisions, as well as the equestrian corps Whitman. On the other hand, this situation is indicative of serious operational-tactical omissions on the part of the command of the Russian 3 Army and personally N. V. Ruzsky. Inconsistency between the actions of divisions and corps, the unsuccessful maneuver of the 11 corps, the lack of a sufficient number of heavy guns - these are the main reasons for the poor performance of the central army group. Both Russian corps suffered relatively small losses: the 11 Army Corps — about 3,2 thousand people (without the 11 Infantry Division), the 9 Army Corps in one 58 division lost about 1,9 thousand people. The losses of the Austrian 17 Army Corps were much more significant. Only for 26-27 of August, troops of the Russian 3-th army captured 8 guns and more than 4 thousand prisoners.

Key to the success of the assault on Rava Russkaya was the fact that a group of corps - 21 army 3 army and 5 and 17 army 5 army - the attack from the north contributed to the abandonment of the fortified area by the enemy.

By the end of the operation, the troops of the Russian 3 Army held the following positions: The 21 Army Corps - Verkhrat-Sedliska-Grebenne; 11 Army Corps - Rzicki-Rawa Russkaya; 9 Army Corps - Rava Russkaya-Lipnik-Magiruv-Biala; 10 Army Corps - M. Vyshenka - Waldorf.



The operation on which the parties had placed such hopes ended.

Having interrupted the operation between the Bug and the Vistula, and concentrating more than 2 / 3 forces of the Galician armies on its right flank, the Austrian command attempted to crush the Russian 3 and 8 armies, taking possession of the Lvov region. This attempt, after six days of fierce fighting, as a result of a difficult strategic situation on the left flank of the Austrian 4 Army, ended in failure, despite the successes on the front of the Austrian 2, 3 and 4 armies. As a result, the Austrian 30 divisions were forced to hastily retreat, so as not to be cut off from the r. San from the north faced them with the threat of a flank strike from the Russian northern armies.

The official description of the 1914 campaign on the Russian front assessed the last phase of the operation in Rava Russkaya: “Despite the fact that everywhere we began to crowd the enemy, the latter did not abandon the idea of ​​a breakthrough between the III and V armies. As a result, a grand battle began at Rava-Russkaya. The 28 number was one of the hardest battles in the area that were meaningful to both sides. The enemy strained desperate efforts to break through our disposition and thereby save the position of the rest of his armies, who were in full retreat on the line r. Sana.

In turn, the Third Army, resorting to the latest resources, with the extreme tension of the spirit of its troops, exhausted by continuous battles for a whole month, continued to persevere in its mission.

28 August and the Rava-Russian Austrians were finally shot down. A general retreat of the IV, III and II armies of the enemy, retreating in the greatest disorder, with the loss of tens of thousands of people, horses and masses of military equipment began. ”

The main participant in the operation of Rava Russkaya from the Russian side is the 3-I army. On August 23, advancing towards Belgorai, on the approaches to the Rava Russkaya region, she received a strong counter-attack from the Austrian 4 and 3 armies. This strike forced the Russian army to stop and, for 4 days, unsuccessfully attacking the fortified positions of Rava Ruska to the forehead, expect results from the actions of the 5 and 8 armies, which were moved to support its flanks.

The main reason for the initial failure of the 3 Army was the incorrect orientation on the part of the front command and the unclear statement of the operational objective (the dual task of acting on Laschov - Ravu Russkaya). Accordingly, in seeking to secure themselves from the Gorodok position, bypassing the latter from the north, the army advanced in directions diverging from Lviv — which deprived its combination of the possibility of timely interaction. In addition, it attracts the 8 army to the Gorodok position. Such a maneuvering of the southern armies of the front to the north prevented the South-Western Front from making its own flanking maneuver.

DG Shcherbachev also noted that one of the reasons for the 3 Army to the north was the task of assisting the 5 Army, cramped by superior forces. But this is only part of the reason. More weighty was the fact that the command of the 3 Army made a number of operational and tactical blunders and organizational omissions. So, 22-23 of August (that is, at the crucial moment of the start of the operation) the army headquarters did not send a single operational report to the front headquarters. N.V. Ruzsky considerably constrained the initiative of his corps commanders. When the 25 of August, the main task of the army was the attack of Rava Ruska, then instead of a decisive attack of this point by all forces (i.e., three corps), the group was weakened due to the threat of a breakthrough on the site of the 10 corps - Shows the necessary hardness and determination.

At the same time, the lack of timely management response from the frontline command led in the first days of the operation to inconsistent actions of the 3 and 8 armies. In fact, when the Austrians managed to penetrate between them by August 29, the fate of the operation on the southern flank of the Galician Battle was in the balance.

The ending should ...
Author:
Articles from this series:
How Ravu Russian stormed. Part of 1
How Ravu Russian stormed. Part of 2
8 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Brutan
    Brutan April 22 2018 06: 33
    +6
    3rd Army tried ...
    page of her fame
    But Ruzsky traditionally did not benefit the troops that had the misfortune of being under his command
    1. Horseman without a head
      Horseman without a head April 22 2018 08: 56
      +17
      Ruzsky traditionally did not benefit the troops that had the misfortune of being under his command

      Yes, at first he buzzed
      He expressed the view that further success is not feasible - referring to the presence of strong in nature and well-fortified by the enemy positions, which occupied the "not yet shaken" parts. N.V. Ruzsky complained about the lack of reserves in his army, concluding that a difficult situation could be resolved only after the capture of Rava-Russian with the help of troops of neighboring armies - the 21st Corps of the 8th Army and the left-flank corps of the 5th Army.

      Then I almost looked at the victory.
      Yes, and other errors
      He did not send a single operational report to the front headquarters. ... significantly constrained the initiative of their corps commanders ...
      the army command does not show the necessary firmness and decisiveness.

      also impressive as they say.
      It was not necessary to move it to increase
      And put on the division.
      Of militias of the 2nd category
      Guarding the railway
      1. Cheburator
        Cheburator April 22 2018 10: 01
        +16
        Of militias of the 2nd category
        Guarding the railway

        Maybe a lot of that
  2. Horseman without a head
    Horseman without a head April 22 2018 09: 00
    +17
    Thank you for the interesting analysis of the core of the Gorodok battle
    The second stage of the significant battle of Galicia, one of the decisive operations of the WWII
    1. Cheburator
      Cheburator April 22 2018 10: 02
      +16
      I subscribe to every word hi
  3. kipage
    kipage April 22 2018 10: 22
    +17
    The Third Army, resorting to the last resources, with the extreme strain of the spirit of its troops, exhausted by continuous battles for a whole month, continued to stubbornly fulfill its task

    Well done boys
    Contrary to everything
  4. Serge72
    Serge72 April 22 2018 12: 02
    +17
    D. Shcherbachev’s corps is a trapper, a dergach of the 3rd Army at the battle of Rava Russkaya.
    As well as the corps of V. Gorbatovsky in the Tomashevsky battle - the backbone of the 5th Army.
    A good school for the generals, the selection of talented comkors and commanders.
  5. Some kind of compote
    Some kind of compote April 22 2018 14: 12
    +17
    We look forward to continuing good

Военное обозрение

Как Раву Русскую штурмовали. Часть 3

8
В результате четырехдневных боев у Равы Русской - Вальдорфа - Магирува усилий 3-х корпусов русской 3-й армии оказывалось недостаточно для выполнения главной задачи.


Австрийцы по-прежнему удерживали важный ж.-д. узел Равы Русской, на левом же фланге 3-й армии (в районе ф. Вальдорф) угрожали прорывом между 10-м и 12-м армейскими корпусами и дальнейшим обходом внутренних флангов русских армий. Образовавшийся прорыв пытались локализовать 3 русские кавалерийские дивизии.

Командарм-3 Н. В. Рузский, докладывая командованию фронта обстановку, высказал мнение о том, что дальнейший успех неосуществим – ссылаясь на наличие сильных по природе и хорошо укрепленных противником позиций, которые занимали «еще не поколебленные» части. Н. В. Рузский сетовал на отсутствие в его армии резервов, делая вывод, что трудное положение может разрешиться лишь после взятия Равы-Русской с помощью войск соседних армий – 21-го корпуса 8-й армии и левофланговых корпусов 5-й армии. Содействие последних признавалось крайне необходимым.

Донесение Н. В. Рузского и снятие последним с фронта 11-й дивизии и отвод последней в армейский резерв говорят о том, что командарм, слабо ориентируясь в обстановке, рассматривал положение своей армии в крайне пессимистичных тонах – а ведь в это время на правом фланге оперативного объединения назревала крупная победа.

Официальное описание кампании 1914. на Русском фронте так оценивало первый этап операции у Равы Русской: «неприятель напрягал все усилия в pайоне Равы-Русской, чтобы прорваться в промежуток между III и V армиями. Отчаянное положение неприятеля придавало ему силы. Общее положение наших армий под сосредоточенными ударами австрийцев вновь стало осложняться и примерно до 26 августа было довольно тяжелым…».

В качестве задач своим корпусам на 28-е августа Н. В. Рузский предписал: 21-му, 11-му и 9-му армейским корпусам продолжить наступление на Раву Русскую. 21-му корпусу приказывалось принять более южное направление (левый фланг должен был наступать на участок Гребенне – Ржички), а 10-му корпусу - отстаивать свои позиции, обеспечив меры против прорыва противника.

Австрийские 2-я, 3-я и большая часть 4-й армий продолжили концентрическое наступление к Львову, тогда как на левый фланг 4-й армии и группу Иосифа-Фердинанда возлагалось обеспечение их фланга и тыла.

28-го августа с севера к Раве Русской стали приближаться выходящие ей в тыл русские корпуса – 21-й (8-й армии), 5-й и 17-й (5-й армии).

21-й армейский корпус весь день вел бой с австрийской 8-й пехотной дивизией (наступление вела 44-я пехотная дивизия, к вечеру занявшая район Любыча). После занятия 5-м армейским корпусом раойна Нароля, конный корпус 5-й армии к вечеру продвинулся в район Цешанува. Выход 5-го корпуса к Наролю и дальний обход конного корпуса вынудили австрийцев вечером начать отход 4-й, 8-й пехотных и 13-й ландверной пехотной дивизий за ж/д на Горинец-Потылич. Дальнейшее движение русского 5-го корпуса угрожало перерезать ж/д Рава Русская - Ярослав с выходом в глубокий тыл австрийской 4-й армии. 17-й и 21-й армейские корпуса также успешно продвигались к ж/д, заняв к вечеру 17-м корпусом район Рудка-Хмела и частями 21-го корпуса - Верхрата-Седлиска-Гребенне.

Командование австрийской 4-й армии видело невозможность количественно слабыми утомленными войсками 2-го армейского корпуса остановить глубокий обход своего левого фланга 3-мя армейскими корпусами и кавалерией. И в 16 часов 30 минут поступил приказ об отходе за р. Сан.

Как Раву Русскую штурмовали. Часть 3

Галиция. У походных палаток (фотография шт.-кап. Корсакова)

В это же время наметился перелом и в ходе боевых действий на фронте главных сил 3-й армии. Общая атака позиций у Равы Русской войсками 9-го и 11-го армейских корпусов должна была состояться 29-го августа - как обозначится успех наступления 21-го корпуса на Гребенне.

28-го августа 10-му армейскому корпусу удалось ликвидировать вальдорфский прорыв. Австрийские 6-й и 9-й армейские корпуса 28 - 29 августа вели активные действия – энергично наступая. Самое тяжелое положение создалось на левом фланге русского 10-го армейского корпуса – но, несмотря на многократные атаки противника, 9-я, 19-я и 31-я пехотные дивизии не только отбили все атаки, но на флангах продвинулись вперед. Дивизион 4-й тяжелой артиллерийской бригады, который вел удачную контрбатарейную борьбу в районе селения Верещицы, активно содействовал успеху боя.

В своих донесениях командованию фронта Н. В. Рузский к исходу 28-го августа характеризовал оперативную ситуацию в 3-й и 8-й армиях как чрезвычайно серьезную – сообщая, что отходящие с фронта 5-й армии австрийские корпуса пытаются прорваться в интервале между 3-й и 8-й армиями - на Львов. Отмечал он и угрозу обхода левого фланга 8-й армии, а помочь последней 3-я армия могла лишь после захвата Равы Русской, ударив по австрийцам у Немирова. Но Рава Русская, отмечал генерал, держится, препятствуя реализации маневра. Войска 3-й армии сильно утомлены, понесли серьезные потери. И крайне необходим скорейший выход левофланговых корпусов 5-й армии - со стороны Томашева.

Утром 29-го августа артиллерия 4-х дивизий русских 9-го и 11-го армейских корпусов (220 орудий), окружавшая Раву Русскую полукольцом, открыла ураганный огонь по позициям противника. Части австрийских 3-й и 19-й пехотных дивизий с большими потерями отходили под натиском русских войск.

К 13-ти часам 78-я пехотная дивизия овладела д. Сенковице, а к утру 30-го августа заняла район Ржички - Рава Русская. Медленно продвигаясь в течение ночи, и ведя бои с арьергардами противника, 5-я пехотная дивизия к утру 30-го августа достигла Равы Русской – город был противником оставлен.

На участке 58-й пехотной дивизии австрийцы вели наступательные действия. Д. Г. Щербачев отмечал энергичную атаку противника в 22 часа 28-го августа. Генерал вспоминал картину боя: безостановочный огонь артиллерии, выпускающей сотни снарядов, ракеты. Но 58-я дивизия не только отразила противника, но и перешла в наступление – причем на отдельных участках состоялись штыковые бои. Успешными были и 2 ночные атаки русских – и к утру 29-го августа началось отступление австрийцев. Пленных оказалось «больше состава корпуса».

Все русские дивизии перешли в наступление.

Подводя итог боев на подступах к Раве Русской, необходимо отметить, что войска 11-го и 9-го армейских корпусов, ведя в течение 6 дней лобовое наступление на укрепленную позицию противника, смогли овладеть только ее передовыми рубежами и подошли к полосе главного сопротивления. Это говорит, с одной стороны, о мощи 24-километровой укрепленной позиции под Равой Русской, а с другой стороны – о доблести ее защитников – частей австрийских 3-й, 19-й пехотных и 41-й гонведной пехотной дивизий, а также конного корпуса Витмана. С другой стороны, эта ситуация свидетельствует о серьезных оперативно-тактических упущения со стороны командования русской 3-й армии и лично Н. В. Рузского. Несогласованность действий дивизий и корпусов, неудачный маневр 11-го корпуса, отсутствие достаточного количества тяжелых орудий – вот главные причины малой результативности действий центральной группы армии. Оба русских корпуса понесли сравнительно небольшие потери: 11-й армейский корпус - около 3,2 тыс. человек (без 11-й пехотной дивизии), 9-й армейский корпус в одной 58-й дивизии потерял около 1,9 тыс. человек. Потери австрийского 17-го армейского корпуса были гораздо значительнее. Лишь за 26-27 августа войсками русской 3-й армии были захвачены 8 орудий и более 4 тыс. пленных.

Ключевое значение для успеха штурма Равы Русской имело то обстоятельство, что группа корпусов – 21-й армейский 3-й армии и 5-й и 17-й армейские 5-й армии - наступлением с севера способствовала оставлению противником укрепленного района.

К концу операции войска русской 3-й армии занимали следующие позиции: 21-й армейский корпус - Верхрата-Седлиска-Гребенне; 11-й армейский корпус - Ржички-Рава Русская; 9-й армейский корпус – Рава Русская-Липник-Магирув-Бяла; 10-й армейский корпус - Вышенька М. - Вальдорф.



Операция, на которую стороны возлагали такие надежды, закончилась.

Оборвав операцию между Бугом и Вислой, и сосредоточив на своем правом фланге более 2/3 сил галицийских армий, австрийское командование попыталось разгромить русские 3-ю и 8-ю армии, овладев районом Львова. Данная попытка, после шести дней ожесточенных боев, в результате тяжелой стратегической обстановки на левом фланге австрийской 4-й армии, закончилась неудачей, несмотря на успехи на фронте австрийских 2-й, 3-й и 4-й армий. В итоге, 30 австрийских дивизий были вынуждены поспешно отходить, чтобы не быть отрезанными от р. Сан – с севера над ними нависла угроза флангового удара от русских северных армий.

Официальное описание кампании 1914 г. на Русском фронте так оценивало последнюю фазу операции у Равы Русской: «Несмотря на то, что всюду мы стали теснить неприятеля, последний не оставил идеи прорыва между III и V армиями. В результате завязалось грандиозное сражение у Равы-Русской. 28 число было одним из наиболее тяжелых в многозначивших для обеих сторон боях в этом районе. Неприятель напрягал отчаянные усилия, чтобы прорвать наше расположение и тем спасти положение остальных своих армий, находившихся в полном отступлении на линию р. Сана.

В свою очередь и III армия, прибегая к последним ресурсам, при крайнем напряжении духа своих войск, изнуренных непрерывными боями в течение целого месяца, продолжала упорно выполнять свою задачу.

28 августа и у Равы-Русской австрийцы были наконец сбиты. Началось общее отступление IV, III и II армий неприятеля, отходивших в величайшем беспорядке, с потерей десятков тысяч людей, лошадей и массы боевого имущества».

Основной участник операции у Равы Русской с русской стороны - 3-я армия. 23-го августа, наступая в направлении на Белгорай, на подступах к району Равы Русской она получила сильный встречный удар со стороны австрийских 4-й и 3-й армий. Этот удар заставил русскую армию остановиться и, в течение 4-х дней, безрезультатно атакуя в лоб укрепленные позиции у Равы Русской, ожидать результатов от действий соединений 5-й и 8-й армий, двинутых на поддержку ее флангов.

Основной причиной первоначальной неудачи 3-й армии стало неверное ориентирование со стороны командования фронта и неясная постановка оперативной цели (двойственная задача действовать на Лащов – Раву Русскую). Соответственно, стремясь себя обеспечить со стороны Городокской позиции, обойдя последнюю с севера, армия наступала по расходящимся от Львова направлениям - что лишило ее соединения возможности своевременного взаимодействия. Кроме того, это притягивает 8-ю армию к Городокской позиции. Подобное маневрирование южных армий фронта к северу лишало Юго-Западный фронт возможности произвести охватывающий маневр своими флангами.

Д. Г. Щербачев также отмечал, что одной из причин наступления 3-й армии на север, стала задача оказать помощь 5-й армии, теснимой превосходящими силами. Но это лишь часть причин. Более весомым было то, что командование 3-й армии допустило ряд оперативных и тактических промахов и организационных упущений. Так, 22-23 августа (т. е. в ответственный момент завязки операции) штаб армии не послал в штаб фронта ни одного оперативного донесения. Н. В. Рузский значительно стеснял и инициативу своих корпусных командиров. Когда 25-го августа главной задачей армии была признана атака Равы Русской, то вместо решительной атаки данного пункта всеми силами (т. е. тремя корпусами), группировка ослабляется вследствие угрозы прорыва на участке 10-го корпуса - т. е. армейское командование не проявляет необходимой твердости и решительности.

В то же время отсутствие своевременной управленческой реакции со стороны фронтового командования привело в первые дни операции к несогласованным действиям 3-й и 8-й армий. Фактически, когда к 29-му августа австрийцам удалось между ними вклиниться, судьба операции на южном фланге Галицийской битвы оказалась на волоске.

Окончание следует...
Автор:
Статьи из этой серии:
Как Раву Русскую штурмовали. Часть 1
Как Раву Русскую штурмовали. Часть 2
8 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Брутан
    Брутан 22 апреля 2018 06:33
    +6
    3-я армия постаралась...
    страничка ее славы
    Но вот Рузский традиционно не шел на пользу войскам, которые имели несчастье оказаться под его командованием
    1. Всадник без головы
      Всадник без головы 22 апреля 2018 08:56
      +17
      Рузский традиционно не шел на пользу войскам, которые имели несчастье оказаться под его командованием

      Да, вначале канючил
      высказал мнение о том, что дальнейший успех неосуществим – ссылаясь на наличие сильных по природе и хорошо укрепленных противником позиций, которые занимали «еще не поколебленные» части. Н. В. Рузский сетовал на отсутствие в его армии резервов, делая вывод, что трудное положение может разрешиться лишь после взятия Равы-Русской с помощью войск соседних армий – 21-го корпуса 8-й армии и левофланговых корпусов 5-й армии.

      потом чуть вообще не просмотрел победу.
      Да и другие ошибки
      не послал в штаб фронта ни одного оперативного донесения. ...значительно стеснял и инициативу своих корпусных командиров...
      армейское командование не проявляет необходимой твердости и решительности.

      тоже как говорится впечатляют.
      Его надо было не на повышение двигать
      А на дивизию ставить.
      Из ополченцев 2-го разряда
      Охраняющих железную дорогу
      1. Чебуратор
        Чебуратор 22 апреля 2018 10:01
        +16
        Из ополченцев 2-го разряда
        Охраняющих железную дорогу

        Возможно и этого много
  2. Всадник без головы
    Всадник без головы 22 апреля 2018 09:00
    +17
    Спасибо за интересный анализ сердцевины Городокского сражения
    Второго этапа знаменательной Галицийской битвы, одной из решающих операций ПМВ
    1. Чебуратор
      Чебуратор 22 апреля 2018 10:02
      +16
      Подписываюсь под каждым словом hi
  3. кипеж
    кипеж 22 апреля 2018 10:22
    +17
    III армия, прибегая к последним ресурсам, при крайнем напряжении духа своих войск, изнуренных непрерывными боями в течение целого месяца, продолжала упорно выполнять свою задачу

    Молодцы ребята
    Вопреки всему
  4. Серж72
    Серж72 22 апреля 2018 12:02
    +17
    Корпус Д. Щербачева - закоперщик, дергач 3-й армии в битве у Равы Русской.
    Так же как корпус В. Горбатовского в Томашевском сражении - становой хребет 5-й армии.
    Хорошая школа для генералитета, отбор талантливых комкоров и командармов.
  5. Какой-то Компот
    Какой-то Компот 22 апреля 2018 14:12
    +17
    Ждём продолжения good