Military Review

May 18 - Baltic Fleet Day

7
May 18 (new style) in 1703, a Russian detachment of 30 boats with infantry under the command of Peter the Great and A.D. Menshikov boarded the Swedish ships. Having the advantage in the form of artillery, the bot Gedan and the sloven Astrild could not use it, and were taken as trophies. Almost three centuries later, the day of this victory was declared a holiday in honor of the founding of the Twice Red Banner Baltic fleet.


At the beginning of the 18th century, Russia was at war with Sweden, and the created Baltic fleet played a crucial role in it. The construction of new shipyards and bases ensured numerous victories at sea and on the coast. With the help of the fleet, our country was able to regain access to the Baltic Sea, and the Baltic Fleet itself became the basis of the nascent Russian Navy. After a few decades, the Baltic seamen had to participate in the new war with Sweden, and also help the army during the Seven Years War.



The main event of the XIX century for the Baltic Fleet was the Crimean War. He was assigned a special task of protecting the capital from enemy ships. The enemy repeatedly shelled the fortress and the base of the fleet, but was never able to reach St. Petersburg. Shortly after the end of the Crimean War, the Baltic Fleet began to receive the newest steam ships. For several decades, there has been a cardinal renewal of the fleet with significant qualitative growth.

By the beginning of the 20th century, the Baltic Fleet had two and a half hundred ships and vessels of various classes, including the most modern combat units. During the Russo-Japanese War, the Baltic Fleet formed the Second Pacific Squadron, which made a unique transition to the Far East and accepted the battle. A few years after that, a new shipbuilding program was launched, on the results of which the Baltic were to receive a large number of the most modern ships.

With the beginning of the First World War, the Baltic Fleet took upon itself the defense of the Gulf of Finland and other water areas. The ships fought the enemy’s presence in the protected areas and also assisted the ground forces. During the Civil War, the hastily formed Acting detachment of ships assumed the blows of the interventionists. Meanwhile, coastal troops and the crews who had been forced off the ships fought on land.

In the interwar period, the fleet was again modernized. With the new ships, bases and other objects he had to enter the Great Patriotic War. Again, the task of the fleet was to protect the Baltic Sea and the Gulf of Finland in order to prevent the enemy from approaching Leningrad. In addition to the main part of the fleet, several lake flotillas were formed. During the war years, the fleet operated in difficult conditions and suffered significant losses, but it was able to solve a number of critical tasks.

In 1946-55, the single Baltic fleet was divided into two independent unions. At the same time, both fleets received new ships and a fundamentally new weapon. The emergence of new technology allowed the fleet to begin work not only in the Baltic Sea and north of Europe, but also in remote regions such as the Mediterranean and even the Indian Ocean. By the early nineties, before the unfortunate events, the Baltic Fleet of the Soviet Navy was the largest force in its region.

The collapse of the Soviet Union and subsequent events struck the Baltic Fleet, but it was still saved. At the first opportunity, its development resumed. In recent years, numerous coastal sites and bases have been updated and reconstructed. They have been handed over to the fleet or new ships and ships of various classes are being built.

The next Day of the Baltic Fleet is optimistic. The modern Twice Red Banner Baltic Fleet - through 315 years after its foundation - is once again a real force capable of showing the strength of Russia both near its bases and in the remote seas. The editorial staff of the Military Review congratulates all veterans, military personnel and civilian personnel of the Baltic Fleet!
7 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, daily additional materials that do not get on the site: https://t.me/topwar_ru

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Tatyana
    Tatyana 18 May 2018 05: 34
    +4
    I congratulate the Chernomorets of the Russian Navy and all those involved in it on their professional holiday! love
    All of you health, happiness, success in the service and all the best in life!



    Black Berets-Baltic Fleet
    1. Andrey Yuryevich
      Andrey Yuryevich 18 May 2018 06: 14
      +4
      Quote: Tatiana
      Chernomortsev Russian Navy

      correct Tanya, we are celebrating the Baltics today! hi and yes, Happy Holidays in the Baltic Fleet! soldier "BOA KAA"-special congratulations, health Sasha to you and loved ones! hi
      1. Tatyana
        Tatyana 18 May 2018 06: 47
        +4
        Good morning, Andrey Yuryevich! hi
        Quote: Andrey Yurievich
        correct Tanya, we are celebrating the Baltics today!
        I had a typo in the text! Of course, I meant the Baltic people! sad
        Both the picture and the video are set correctly! good
        Unfortunately, the text cannot be corrected anymore! crying
        This morning I got up no light, no dawn - at 4 in the morning! Apparently, in the early morning I still didn’t really wake up! No. Happenes. I apologize to everyone! crying
        ----------------------------------

        Happy holiday, dear Baltic! hi love
        All of you health, happiness, success in the service and all the best in life! drinks
        1. bouncyhunter
          bouncyhunter 18 May 2018 08: 10
          +2
          Tatyana, welcome! love Only he who does nothing is not mistaken. wink I join the congratulations of the KBF !!! soldier drinks
  2. raw174
    raw174 18 May 2018 07: 25
    +2
    Happy holiday brothers! Russian sailors have always rightfully been proud of their involvement in the fleet! Do not shame St. Andrew’s flag today! Higher flag and guis!
  3. stas-xnumx
    stas-xnumx 18 May 2018 10: 39
    +2
    From the sailor of the reserve BS-5 KSF, I congratulate all the Baltics!
  4. Mikado
    Mikado 18 May 2018 14: 43
    +3
    Dear sailors, Happy Holiday! drinks always seven feet under the keel!

Военное обозрение

18 мая – День Балтийского флота

7
18 мая (по новому стилю) 1703 года российский отряд из 30 лодок с пехотой под командованием Петра Великого и А.Д. Меншикова взял на абордаж шведские корабли. Имея преимущество в виде артиллерии, бот «Гедан» и шнява «Астрильд» не смогли воспользоваться им, и были взяты в качестве трофеев. Почти через три века день этой победы был объявлен праздником в честь основания Дважды Краснознаменного Балтийского флота.


В начале XVIII века Россия вела войну со Швецией, и созданный Балтийский флот сыграл в ней важнейшую роль. Строительство новых верфей и баз обеспечило многочисленные победы на море и на побережье. Силами флота наша страна смогла вернуть себе выход к Балтийскому морю, а сам Балтийский флот стал основой зарождающегося российского ВМФ. Через несколько десятилетий морякам-балтийцам пришлось участвовать в новой войне со Швецией, а также помогать армии во время Семилетней войны.



Главным событием XIX века для Балтийского флота стала Крымская война. На него возлагалась особая задача по защите столицы от вражеских кораблей. Противник неоднократно обстреливал крепости и базы флота, но так и не смог добраться до Санкт-Петербурга. Вскоре после завершения Крымской войны Балтийский флот начал получать новейшие паровые корабли. За несколько десятилетий произошло кардинальное обновление флота со значительным качественным ростом.

К началу XX века Балтийский флот располагал двумя с половиной сотнями кораблей и судов разных классов, и имел в том числе самые современные боевые единицы. Во время Русско-японской войны Балтийский флот сформировал Вторую Тихоокеанскую эскадру, совершившую уникальный переход на Дальний Восток и принявшую бой. Через несколько лет после этого стартовала новая программа кораблестроения, по результатам которых балтийцы должны были получить большое число самых современных кораблей.

С началом Первой мировой войны Балтийский флот взял на себя защиту Финского залива и других акваторий. Корабли боролись с вражеским присутствием в защищаемых районах, а также содействовали сухопутным войскам. Во время Гражданской войны спешно сформированный Действующий отряд кораблей принял на себя удары интервентов. Тем временем береговые войска и вынужденно сошедшие с кораблей экипажи сражались на суше.

В межвоенный период флот вновь был модернизирован. С новыми кораблями, базами и прочими объектами ему пришлось вступать в Великую Отечественную войну. Вновь задачей флота стала защита Балтийского моря и Финского залива с целью недопущения противника к Ленинграду. В дополнение к основной части флота были сформированы несколько озерных флотилий. В годы войны флот действовал в сложных условиях и понес значительные потери, но при этом смог решить ряд важнейших задач.

В 1946-55 годах единый Балтийский флот был разделен на два самостоятельных объединения. При этом оба флота получали новые корабли и принципиально новое оружие. Появление новой техники позволило флоту начать работу не только в Балтийском море и к северу от Европы, но и в удаленных регионах, таких как Средиземноморье и даже Индийский океан. К началу девяностых годов, до известных печальных событий, Балтийский флот ВМФ СССР был самой крупной силой в своем регионе.

Распад Советского Союза и последующие события ударили по Балтийскому флоту, но он все же был сохранен. При первой же возможности его развитие возобновилось. В последние годы были обновлены и реконструированы многочисленные береговые объекты и пункты базирования. Переданы флоту или строятся новые корабли и суда разных классов.

Очередной День Балтийского флота встречаем с оптимизмом. Современный Дважды Краснознаменный Балтийский флот – через 315 лет после своего основания – вновь является реальной силой, способной показывать силу России как вблизи своих баз, так и в отдаленных морях. Редакция «Военного обозрения» поздравляет всех ветеранов, военнослужащих и гражданский персонал Балтийского флота!
7 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Татьяна
    Татьяна 18 мая 2018 05:34
    +4
    Чёрноморцев ВМФ России и всех к ним причастных поздравляю с профессиональным праздником! love
    Всем вам здоровья, счастья, успехов на службе и всяческого благополучия в жизни!



    Черные береты-Балтийский флот
    1. андрей юрьевич
      андрей юрьевич 18 мая 2018 06:14
      +4
      Цитата: Татьяна
      Чёрноморцев ВМФ России

      поправьте Таня,Балтийцев сегодня чествуем ! hi и да, С Праздником всех флотских Балтики ! soldier "УДАВ КАА"-отдельное поздравление,здоровья Саша тебе и близким ! hi
      1. Татьяна
        Татьяна 18 мая 2018 06:47
        +4
        Доброе утро, Андрей Юрьевич! hi
        Цитата: андрей юрьевич
        поправьте Таня,Балтийцев сегодня чествуем !
        Опечатка у меня в тексте произошла! Конечно, я имела в виду балтийцев! sad
        И картинка, и видео выставлены правильно! good
        К сожалению, текст поправить уже не получится! crying
        Я сегодня утром встала ни свет, ни заря - в 4 утра! Видимо, я ранним утром ещё толком не проснулась! no Ну, бывает. Я прошу у всех прощения! crying
        ----------------------------------

        С праздником, дорогие балтийцы! hi love
        Всем вам здоровья, счастья, успехов на службе и всяческого благополучия в жизни! drinks
        1. bouncyhunter
          bouncyhunter 18 мая 2018 08:10
          +2
          Татьяна , приветствую ! love Не ошибается только тот , кто ничего не делает . wink Присоединяюсь к поздравлениям КБФ !!! soldier drinks
  2. raw174
    raw174 18 мая 2018 07:25
    +2
    С праздником братья! Русские моряки всегда по праву гордились своей причастностью флоту! Не посрамим Андреевский флаг и сегодня! Выше флаг и гюйс!
  3. stas-21127
    stas-21127 18 мая 2018 10:39
    +2
    От моряка запаса БЧ-5 КСФ, всех Балтийцев поздравляю!
  4. Микадо
    Микадо 18 мая 2018 14:43
    +3
    Дорогие моряки, с Праздником! drinks всегда - семь футов под килем!