Military Review

NASA is working on a horizontal launch system for spacecraft launch

2
Engineers Space Center. Kennedy (USA) proposed a well-forgotten new concept of launching spacecraft.

The wedge-shaped apparatus, equipped with air-jet engines, must take off after an independent or on a sled run on an electrified rail. Having reached the speed of 11 thousand km / h (М10), in the upper atmosphere the device shoots a small container (similar to the second stage of the launch vehicle), and then goes into orbit.

Project manager Stan Starr notes that the system does not require the development of new technologies. “All elements have already been created or studied,” says the scientist. “We are simply proposing to benefit from them at a higher level compared to where they are currently used.”

For example, not the first year electrified rails move roller coaster cars. The only difference is that their maximum speed approaches only 100 km / h. This is enough to entertain the man in the street, but launching a spacecraft will require at least a tenfold increase in the rate. In addition, the length of the runway, equipped with such accelerating device, must exceed three kilometers.

Fortunately, work in this direction is already underway. Prototypes (albeit on a reduced scale) are built on the basis of the Center for Space Flight. Marshall in Alabama, as well as the aforementioned Center. Kennedy. The US Navy creates something similar for its aircraft.

Tests in the X-43A and X-51 programs have shown that jet apparatus can achieve quite impressive speeds with the help of similar systems.

To implement the project, Stan Starr calls for combining those departments of NASA, whose activities usually do not intersect, and within ten years try to launch the first unmanned aircraft, and only then - the satellite.

Originator:
http://science.compulenta.ru"rel =" nofollow ">http://science.compulenta.ru
2 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Honory
    Honory 9 July 2012 17: 11
    0
    And what are the benefits of such a start?
  2. crambol
    crambol 13 November 2012 18: 17
    0
    Cheapness.

НАСА работает над системой запуска космических аппаратов с горизонтальным стартом

НАСА работает над системой запуска космических аппаратов с горизонтальным стартом
Инженеры Космического центра им. Кеннеди (США) предложили хорошо забытую новую концепцию запуска космических кораблей.

Клиновидный аппарат, снабжённый воздушно-реактивными двигателями, должен взлетать после самостоятельного или на реактивных салазках разбега по электрифицированным рельсам. Достигнув скорости 11 тыс. км/ч (М10), в верхних слоях атмосферы аппарат выстреливает небольшой контейнер (аналог второй ступени ракеты-носителя), после чего выходит на орбиту.

Руководитель проекта Стэн Старр отмечает, что система не требует разработки новых технологий. «Все элементы уже созданы или изучены, — говорит учёный. — Мы просто предлагаем извлечь из них пользу на более высоком уровне по сравнению с тем, где они сейчас применяются».


Например, электрифицированные рельсы далеко не первый год двигают вагончики американских горок. Разница только в том, что их максимальная скорость приближается всего лишь к 100 км/ч. Этого достаточно, чтобы развлечь обывателя, но запуск космического аппарата потребует по меньшей мере десятикратного увеличения показателя. Кроме того, длина ВПП, оборудованной таким разгонным устройством, должна превышать три километра.

К счастью, работа в этом направлении уже ведётся. Прототипы (правда, в уменьшенном масштабе) построены на базе Центра космических полётов им. Маршалла в штате Алабама, а также вышеупомянутого Центра им. Кеннеди. ВМС США создают нечто подобное для своих ЛА.

Испытания в рамках программ X-43A и X-51 показали, что реактивные аппараты могут достигать весьма впечатляющих скоростей с помощью подобных систем.

Для осуществления проекта Стэн Старр призывает объединить те департаменты НАСА, деятельность которых обычно не пересекается, и в течение десяти лет попытаться запустить первый беспилотный самолёт, а уже потом — спутник.

НАСА работает над системой запуска космических аппаратов с горизонтальным стартом
Первоисточник: http://science.compulenta.ru" class="text" rel="nofollow" target="_blank">http://science.compulenta.ru


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 2
  1. Gonoriy 9 июля 2012 17:11
    А в чем выгода такого старта?
  2. crambol 13 ноября 2012 18:17
    Дешевизна.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня