Military Review

Mad Patty. As the heiress of the billionaire joined the terrorists

15
It was about nine o'clock in the evening when 4 February 1974 of the year, unknown persons burst into the apartment where Berkeley University graduate student Stephen Wid lived. Three criminals beat Stephen, and his girlfriend, Patty, 19-year-old, was tied up and taken to the trunk of the car in an unknown direction in a dressing-gown. Already at night, all the police services were put on their feet - the kidnapped girl Patty was not just from a wealthy family. She brought her granddaughter to William Randolph Hirst, the largest American media magnate. True, William Randolph Hirst himself had rested safely before Patty was born, in 1951, but his inheritance was enough to ensure all descendants.


It is with the personality of William Randolph Hurst that the appearance of such terms as the "yellow press" and "public relations" is associated. At one time, William Hurst, the former son of the millionaire George Hurst, decided to try his hand at the newspaper business and by the 1940s had created an entire empire, which included 25 daily and 24 weekly newspapers, 12 radio stations, 2 agencies News, the Cosmopolitan film studio and a number of other organizations. It is clear that the abduction of a girl brought by such a granddaughter by her own granddaughter could not but excite the whole of America. Who could need a nineteen-year-old Patty?

The full name of the kidnapped girl is Patricia Hirst. She was born 20 in February 1954 of the year in the family of Randolph Hirst - the eldest son of the famous media mogul. Randolph had five daughters, Patricia had a third. She spent her childhood in the elite suburb of San Francisco. Private school, home education, arranged youth - the life of Patricia in a favorable direction was different from most of her peers.

Mad Patty. As the heiress of the billionaire joined the terrorists
Stephen and Patricia


By her nineteen years she studied in the second year of the faculty stories Arts at the University of Berkeley. Patricia lived with her boyfriend Stephen, who was a graduate student at the same university and worked as a teacher. In the summer of 1974, the young people were about to get married. Unlike many of her peers, Patricia Hirst was not interested in the countercultural movements and radical politics that were fashionable at that time among young people, but was an ordinary domestic girl whose interests were all about learning and personal life. Who could have guessed that the fate of the granddaughter of the most famous media magnate would be so paradoxical?

The police, arriving at the scene of Patricia’s abduction, immediately interviewed the neighbors. They confirmed that the half-naked girl was really dragged out of the house and placed in the trunk of a Chevrolet car. Soon the car was found abandoned. Apparently, the gangsters just transferred to another car and disappeared. In the agonizing wait two days have passed. And only on the third day, the radio studio in Berkeley received a “communique” - a typewritten letter in which Randolph Hirst, the girl’s father, was called “the enemy of the people”, and poor Patty the “important prisoner of war”. The authors of the letter warned that if the authorities tried to free a hostage or arrest any of her kidnappers, the girl would be immediately executed. For the release of the girl, the criminals demanded ... no, not to give them a large sum of money, but to provide 70 dollars with food aid to every indigent California citizen, and pay for the mass circulation of propaganda literature. If the Hirst family went to satisfy the kidnappers, it would cost the media magnate 400 million dollars. Under the letter there was a signature - “The Symbionist Liberation Army”.

This strange name was already familiar to operatives from the US Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI). The kidnappers were not trivial criminals: under the name of CAO, one of the most dangerous left-wing radical organizations in the United States acted. The beginning of the 1970-ies was a period of maximum recovery of left-wing terrorism around the world - from Spain to Japan, from Germany to Argentina. The USA was no exception. Enormous social inequality and persistent racial discrimination provided a fertile ground for the flourishing of left-wing radical movements. African Americans still felt hurt, and leftists who opposed the American state machine viewed the inequality of white and black Americans as one of the main reasons for their actions against the government.

The thirty-year-old African-American Donald David Defreez, who now called himself none other than “Field Marshal Chinke,” was the exact opposite of Patricia Hirst. A native of Cleveland in Ohio, Donald Defries, at the age of fourteen, ran away from a house where he lived badly because of his father’s beatings. Dropping out of school in ninth grade, Defriz interrupted by odd jobs and soon went to prison for stealing from a parking lot. After his release, he married Gloria Thomas, who had three children, and moved to California. He was detained several times by the police for transportation weapons, for shooting in the basement of the house from a pistol, and in 1969 year - for the abduction of the synagogue caretaker.

17 November 1969, Defreeze was injured during an exchange of fire with police near a bank in Los Angeles. He was arrested and put in prison, where, while imprisoned, Defris joined the Black Cultural Association. That was his acquaintance with the African-American and left-wing radicals, but soon Defries broke away from the Black Cultural Association, deciding to create his own group. His closest associates were two white Americans - Willy Wolfe and Russ Little. This is how SLA - Symbionese Liberation Army appeared.

Unlike many other leftist organizations, which at least could be classified according to ideological affiliation as Maoist, anarchist, or Hevarist, SLA was a formation with a completely eclectic and vague ideology. The name "symbionist" came from the word "symbiosis", which Defries called harmonious coexistence of people of all races and nationalities. A seven-headed cobra was depicted on the banner of the Symbionist Liberation Army. Each of the heads represented umoja (unity), kujichagulia (self-determination), ujima (teamwork and responsibility), ujamaa (cooperative economy), nia (aspiration), kuumba (creativity) and imani (faith). These words in Swahili were used in the organization’s lexicon in solidarity with the world national liberation movement and the anti-racist movement of African Americans.



Defrize himself made himself field marshal and took the nickname "Chinki" - in honor of the leader of the slave uprising on the Spanish slave-trading ship "Amistad". In addition, Defriz took the surname “Mtume”, borrowed from the African language Swahili. In December, 1972, Defreez was transferred to Soledad prison in California, and on March 5, 1973, he escaped from prison, hiding with his friends. Interestingly, Defreeze was the only African-American in the Symbionist Liberation Army. The rest of the people who joined the CAO were white Americans of left-wing views, and it was hardly possible to characterize them as staunch leftists — rather, they were just street criminals and people from the countercultural environment who were dissatisfied with the actions of the police and the policies of the American authorities.

6 November 1973 in Oakland, California, two SAO members killed school inspector Marcus Foster and severely injured his deputy, Robert Blackburn. Interestingly, the bullets used to kill Foster were filled with cyanide. The reason for the murder of Foster was the proposed last plan for the introduction of identity cards in schools of Auckland. 10 January 1974 for the murder of Foster two members of the CAO, Russell Little, nicknamed Osceola and Joseph Remiro, nicknamed Bo, were arrested. Joseph Remiro, a 26-year-old Vietnam war veteran who served in the 101 Airborne Division, after demobilization joined the radical left movement and became involved in the work of the Black Cultural Association.


Joseph Remiro and Russell Little


A month after the murder of Foster, Patricia Hirst was abducted. Initially, the group planned to exchange Hirst for Russell Little and Joseph Remiro, but then decided to put forward other demands. For the first two months (57 days), the girl was held in a closet the size of 2 meters by 63 centimeters, beaten and raped.

Meanwhile, police and members of the Hurst family were deciding how to rescue Patricia from captivity. When the surname Hurst nevertheless arranged the distribution of food packages in the amount of 4 million dollars, the Symbianist Liberation Army issued an appeal in which the 19-year-old Patty stated that she refused to return to her family and joined the Symbianist Liberation Army. America was in shock. The granddaughter of the well-known billionaire William Hurst, the daughter of the oligarch Randolph Hurst - and joins the left-wing terrorists? The news seemed like a silly joke.



In the SAO, Patricia Hirst was called “Tanya” - in honor of Tamara (Tani) Bunke, who lost her companion to Ernesto Che Guevara. Already on 15 on April 1974, two months after the abduction, Patricia "Tanya" Hirst took part in her first "revolutionary action" - as part of a group of members of the CAO robbed Hibernia Bank in San Francisco. The participation of Patti, armed with a carbine, in a bank robbery was recorded by surveillance cameras. But the authorities and relatives refused to believe in the "rebirth" of the girl. 22 April 1974, the FBI launched a flyer on the bank robbers Donald Defries, Patricia Soltisic, Nancy Perry and Camilla Hall. The fourth girl in the "five" of robbers, Patricia Hirst, was designated in the leaflet as an "important witness."

17 May 1974 Los Angeles police surrounded the house where Donald Defries and five other CAO militants were. On the demand for surrender, the symbionists responded with automatic fire. During the shootout, the house caught fire. Defrize, not wanting to burn alive, shot himself. Along with him were killed 23-year-old Willy Wolfe nicknamed "Kakho", 25-year-old Angela Atwood nicknamed "General Gelina", 29-year-old Patricia Soltisic nicknamed "Zoya", 29-year-old Kamilla "Glie" challa-hail challa. Nancy Perry, nicknamed "Fahiz."



After the death of Defreeze, the Symbionist army was led by William Harris, who, due to the increase, renamed himself from “General Tyco” to “Field Marshal Tyko”. Despite the tragic death of Defriz and five other comrades, the symbionists continued to rob banks in which Patricia Hurst participated. More than a year she spent in the gang. During a bank robbery in a suburb of Sacramento, one of the visitors was fatally injured.

September 18 As a result of a successful FBI round-up, a whole series of CAO members were arrested. Among those arrested were William Harris - "Field Marshal Tyko", his wife Emily Harris, the artist Wendy Yoshimura and Patricia Hirst herself. 1975 March, 11, the famous trial began at which Patty was accused. While the investigation was going on, Patricia told about the horrors she had to endure during the abduction. Her lawyers focused on the fact that Patricia had no other choice - either to join the gang, or the symbionists would have killed her. Psychiatric examination showed that the girl had experienced post-traumatic mental disorder. However, the prosecution insisted that the girl joined the gang of her own free will and did not take into account that her will was simply broken in two months of beatings and rape. 1976 March 20, Patricia Hirst was sentenced to seven years in prison. But behind bars, Patricia spent far less than seven years. Already in January 1976, President Jimmy Carter reduced the sentence to Patricia Hirst and she was released from prison.



After being released, Patricia married former police officer and bodyguard Bernard Shaw and settled in a suburb of New York. Her testimony formed the basis of three trials in the case of crimes committed by symbionists. Patricia has two daughters - model and actress Lidia Marie Hearst-Show and Gillian Hurst-Show. Now Patricia Hearst 64 of the Year. 20 January 2001, by decree of US President Bill Clinton, she was completely pardoned.

As for the other former symbionists, their fate was less fortunate. Someone died, someone was repeatedly brought to justice. Among the exceptions is Wendy Masako Yoshimura (born 1943), who lives in Auckland and is a well-known artist, who runs her own painting studio. Jim Kilgore was on the run from 1975 to 2002, managing to become a professor of history at the University of Cape Town in South Africa. He was arrested only in 2002, and in 2009, he was released, becoming the last of the liberated members of the CAO.

Currently, only one 70-year-old Joseph Remiro remains behind bars, serving a life sentence in San Quentin prison. He was denied the request for release on parole three times. Meanwhile, US human rights activists say that if it were not for the “cosmic” ties of the Hirst family at the highest level, then Patricia could well, at best, sit out her seven-year term “from call to call”, and at worst get more sentence.
Author:
15 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Adjutant
    Adjutant 30 May 2018 06: 58
    +2
    Often, girls from high society want to try bad
    Princesses are drawn to ugly boys. It is necessary to burn terrorists with the red-hot iron - regardless of gender, age and social affiliation.
    1. parma
      parma 30 May 2018 09: 18
      +4
      the young girl was kept in a confined space for almost 2 months, beaten, raped, not allowed to go to the toilet and hardly fed .... Yes, and if you look at the video surveillance cameras from the robbed banks, you can see that she’s always in the shelling sector " colleagues ".... Rather than desires of the" princess ", but simply psychological trauma and" Stockholm "syndrome multiplied by the desire of these mentally unstable (they did not even really have normal political views, unlike the other left radicals of that time). .. Moreover, in his address to accede to these terrorists, she said that the choice of death or joining, she chose the latter ...
      1. The comment was deleted.
    2. Conductor
      Conductor 10 August 2018 14: 13
      0
      Do you think she should have been slapped?
  2. Reptiloid
    Reptiloid 30 May 2018 07: 00
    0
    With great interest I read an article about this organization. I think I will not be mistaken if I say that not only I have not heard about this organization before. 1954 year --- Paisius birth date --- retirement age now. But, probably, the older generation, we did not know about all this.
    I recalled other articles by the author about various protest associations in countries in the last century. Thank you very much for these topics.
    1. andrewkor
      andrewkor 30 May 2018 09: 00
      0
      Well, guys, the Soviet press thundered at the expense of Patricia Hurst quite loudly, but without special details, as in the article, thanks to the Author!
      1. Reptiloid
        Reptiloid 30 May 2018 09: 02
        0
        Quote: andrewkor
        Well, guys, the Soviet press thundered at the expense of Patricia Hurst quite loudly, but without special details, as in the article, thanks to the Author!
        Perhaps you are a little older than Patricia, and therefore remember. My relatives are a little younger, did not know
        1. andrewkor
          andrewkor 30 May 2018 10: 27
          0
          Correctly noticed!
    2. Conductor
      Conductor 10 August 2018 14: 22
      0
      No, there was a bit of information, I in 1972, I heard from my ear, in 1986, when they didn’t accept the Komsomol.
  3. Letnab
    Letnab 30 May 2018 08: 35
    +1
    an interesting topic, I did not know about such an organization.
    Quote: Adjutant
    Often, girls from high society want to try bad
    Princesses are drawn to ugly boys. It is necessary to burn terrorists with the red-hot iron - regardless of gender, age and social affiliation.

    well, after two months under pressure, you can’t say that the girl wanted to try what else is the thread ...
  4. Altona
    Altona 30 May 2018 10: 46
    0
    Quote: Reptiloid
    1954 year --- Paisius birth date --- retirement age now. But, probably, the older generation, we did not know about all this.

    ----------------------------
    Knew about it. But as a chronicle from the heading "their morals." I read political agitation literature at a young age, but I did not meet about Patricia Hurst.
    1. Reptiloid
      Reptiloid 30 May 2018 23: 09
      0
      Relatives remember at a young age about the Red Brigades, Italy? The abduction of Moro. Remember about Ulster, about Bangladesh. There were clashes, killings, deaths
      Quote: Altona
      I read political agitation literature at a young age, but I did not meet about Patricia Hurst.
      I suddenly remembered that I saw small little books
      Agitator Notebook.
  5. Monarchist
    Monarchist 30 May 2018 13: 47
    +2
    Quote: Adjutant
    Often, girls from high society want to try bad
    Princesses are drawn to ugly boys. It is necessary to burn terrorists with the red-hot iron - regardless of gender, age and social affiliation.

    In general, I am a siglasen, and in particular: such “Chambu” and “Tiku” love to play off children in their “games”, and the child is a blank sheet of paper, whatever you want, write it. I would have different "field marshals and a different commandant:" Name Movements "or" liberation army of something, so that children would not be corrupted by a fire, but would be kiddied with "birch porridge"
    1. parma
      parma 30 May 2018 14: 24
      +1
      You know, the phrase from the movie “weapon baron” is recalled - the more the names of such organizations have the words “democratic”, “liberation”, “liberal”, “saving” and so on, the more cruel a bunch of sadists it is ...
  6. Monarchist
    Monarchist 30 May 2018 13: 53
    +1
    Quote: andrewkor
    Well, guys, the Soviet press thundered at the expense of Patricia Hurst quite loudly, but without special details, as in the article, thanks to the Author!

    Indeed, quite a lot was mentioned about Patricia Hurst in our media, but I only found out today what leaders are and what kind of “army”. In my opinion, a photograph was even published where Patricia poses with a weapon
  7. Senior seaman
    Senior seaman 31 May 2018 12: 17
    0
    Joseph Remiro nicknamed Bo ... RemiroBo .... Rimbaud?
    So here you are

Бешеная Патти. Как наследница миллиардера примкнула к террористам

Было около девяти часов вечера, когда 4 февраля 1974 года в квартиру, где проживал аспирант университета Беркли Стивен Вид, ворвались неизвестные. Трое преступников избили Стивена, а его подругу – 19-летнюю Патти – скрутили и прямо в домашнем халате увезли в багажнике автомобиля в неизвестном направлении. Уже ночью все полицейские службы были поставлены на ноги – похищенная девушка Патти была не просто из состоятельной семьи. Она доводилась внучкой самому Уильяму Рэндольфу Хёрсту – крупнейшему американскому медиамагнату. Правда, сам Уильям Рэндольф Хёрст благополучно почил еще до рождения Патти, в 1951 году, но его наследства хватало на то, чтобы обеспечить всех потомков.

Именно с личностью Уильяма Рэндольфа Хёрста связано появление таких терминов как «желтая пресса» и «связи с общественностью». В свое время Уильям Хёрст, бывший сыном миллионера Джорджа Хёрста, решил попробовать себя в газетном бизнесе и к 1940-м годам создал целую империю, включавшую в себя 25 ежедневных и 24 еженедельные газеты, 12 радиостанций, 2 агентства новостей, киностудию «Cosmopolitan» и целый ряд других организаций. Понятно, что похищение девушки, доводившейся родной внучкой такому человеку, не могло не взбудоражить всю Америку. Кому могла потребоваться девятнадцатилетняя Патти?


Полное имя похищенной девушки – Патрисия Хёрст. Она родилась 20 февраля 1954 года в семье Рэндольфа Хёрста – старшего сына знаменитого медиамагната. У Рэндольфа было пять дочерей, Патрисия – третья. Свое детство она провела в элитном пригороде Сан-Франциско. Частная школа, домашнее воспитание, устроенная юность – жизнь Патрисии в выгодную сторону отличалась от большинства сверстниц.

Бешеная Патти. Как наследница миллиардера примкнула к террористам
Стивен и Патрисия


К своим девятнадцати годам она училась на втором курсе факультета истории искусств в университете Беркли. Патрисия жила вместе со своим парнем Стивеном, который учился в аспирантуре того же университета и работал преподавателем. Летом 1974 года молодые люди собирались пожениться. В отличие от многих сверстников, Патрисия Хёрст не интересовалась модными в то время в молодежной среде контркультурными движениями и радикальной политикой, а была обычной домашней девушкой, все интересы которой сводились к учебе и личной жизни. Кто мог предположить, что судьба внучки известнейшего медиамагната сложится столь парадоксальным образом?

Полиция, прибыв на место похищения Патрисии, сразу же опросила соседей. Они подтвердили, что полураздетую девушку действительно вытащили из дома и поместили в багажник автомобиля «Шевроле». Вскоре автомобиль обнаружили брошенным. Судя по всему, бандиты просто пересели на другую машину и скрылись. В томительном ожидании прошло два дня. И лишь на третий день радиостудия в Беркли получила «коммюнике» - машинописное письмо, в котором Рэндольфа Хёрста, отца девушки, называли «врагом народа», а несчастную Патти – «важным военнопленным». Авторы письма предупреждали, что если власти попробуют освободить заложницу или арестовать кого-либо из ее похитителей, девушку немедленно казнят. За освобождение девушки преступники потребовали … нет, не передать им крупную сумму денег, а обеспечить выдачу каждому неимущему жителю Калифорнии продовольственной помощи на сумму в 70 долларов, и оплатить выпуск массового тиража пропагандистской литературы. Если бы семья Хёрст пошла на удовлетворение требований похитителей, это обошлось бы наследникам медиамагната в 400 млн долларов. Под письмом красовалась подпись – «Симбионистская Армия Освобождения».

Это странное название уже было знакомо оперативникам из Федерального Бюро Расследований (ФБР) США. Похитители не были банальными уголовными преступниками: под названием САО действовала одна из наиболее опасных на тот период вооруженных леворадикальных организаций США. Начало 1970-х годов было периодом максимального подъема левацкого терроризма по всему миру – от Испании до Японии, от Германии до Аргентины. США не были исключением. Плодотворную почву для расцвета леворадикальных движений обеспечивали колоссальное социальное неравенство и сохраняющаяся расовая дискриминация. Афроамериканцы все еще чувствовали себя ущемленными, а леваки, выступавшие против американской государственной машины, рассматривали неравенство белых и черных американцев как один из главных поводов для своих выступлений против власти.

Тридцатилетний афроамериканец Дональд Дэвид Дефриз, который теперь называл себя не иначе как «фельдмаршал Чинке», был полной противоположностью Патрисии Хёрст. Выходец из Кливленда в штате Огайо, Дональд Дефриз уже в четырнадцать лет сбежал из дома, где ему жилось плохо из-за рукоприкладства отца. Бросив школу в девятом классе, Дефриз перебивался случайными заработками и вскоре попал в тюрьму за кражу с парковки. После освобождения он женился на Глории Томас, у которой было трое детей, и перебрался в Калифорнию. Его еще несколько раз задерживала полиция – за транспортировку оружия, за стрельбу в подвале дома из пистолета, а в 1969 году – за похищение смотрителя синагоги.

17 ноября 1969 года Дефриз был ранен во время перестрелки с полицией возле банка в Лос-Анджелесе. Его арестовали и поместили в тюрьму, где во время заключения Дефриз присоединился к «Черной Культурной Ассоциации». Так произошло его знакомство с афроамериканскими и левыми радикалами, но вскоре Дефриз откололся от «Черной Культурной Ассоциации», решив создать собственную группу. Его ближайшими соратниками стали двое белых американцев – Вилли Вулф и Русс Литтл. Так появилась SLA – Симбионистская Армия Освобождения (Symbionese Liberation Army).

В отличие от многих других левацких организаций, которые хотя бы можно было классифицировать по идеологической принадлежности как маоистские, анархистские или геваристские, SLA была формированием с совершенно эклектичной и невнятной идеологией. Название «симбионистская» происходило от слова «симбиоз», которым Дефриз называл гармоничное сосуществование людей всех рас и национальностей. На знамени Симбионистской Армии Освобождения была изображена семиглавая кобра. Каждая из голов олицетворяла umoja (единство), kujichagulia (самоопределение), ujima (работу в коллективе и ответственность), ujamaa (кооперативную экономику), nia (стремление), kuumba (творчество) и imani (веру). Эти слова на языке суахили использовались в лексиконе организации в знак солидарности с мировым национально-освободительным движением и антирасистским движением афроамериканцев.



Сам Дефриз произвел себя в фельдмаршалы и взял прозвище «Чинке» - в честь лидера восстания рабов на испанском работорговом корабле «Амистад». Кроме того, Дефриз взял себе фамилию «Мтуме», заимствованную из африканского языка суахили. В декабре 1972 года Дефриза перевели в тюрьму Соледад в Калифорнии, а 5 марта 1973 года он бежал из тюрьмы, скрывшись у своих друзей. Интересно, что Дефриз был единственным афроамериканцем в Симбионистской Армии Освобождения. Остальные присоединившиеся к САО люди были белыми американцами леворадикальных взглядов, причем вряд ли их можно было охарактеризовать как убежденных левых – скорее это были просто уличные преступники и выходцы из контркультурной среды, недовольные действиями полиции и политикой американских властей.

6 ноября 1973 года в Окленде в Калифорнии два члена САО убили школьного инспектора Маркуса Фостера и тяжело ранили его заместителя Роберта Блэкберна. Интересно, что пули, которые использовались в убийстве Фостера, были наполнены цианидом. Поводом для убийства Фостера стал предложенный последним план введения удостоверений личности в школах Окленда. 10 января 1974 года за убийство Фостера были арестованы двое членов САО – Рассел Литтл по прозвищу «Оцеола» и Джозеф Ремиро по прозвищу «Бо». Джозеф Ремиро, 26-летний ветеран войны во Вьетнаме, служивший в 101-й воздушно-десантной дивизии, после демобилизации примкнул к леворадикальному движению и стал участвовать в работе «Черной Культурной Ассоциации».


Джозеф Ремиро и Рассел Литтл


Спустя месяц после убийства Фостера и была похищена Патрисия Хёрст. Первоначально группа планировала обменять Хёрст на Рассела Литтла и Джозефа Ремиро, но затем решила выдвинуть другие требования. Первые два месяца (57 дней) девушку держали в шкафу размером 2 метра на 63 сантиметра, избивали и насиловали.

Тем временем, представители полиции и члены семьи Хёрст решали, каким образом вызволить Патрисию из плена. Когда фамилия Хёрст все же организовала распределение продовольственных пакетов на сумму в 4 млн долларов, Симбионистская Армия Освобождения выпустила обращение, в котором 19-летняя Патти заявляла, что она отказывается вернуться в свою семью и присоединяется к Симбионистской Армии Освобождения. Америка была в шоке. Внучка всем известного миллиардера Уильяма Хёрста, дочь олигарха Рэндольфа Хёрста – и присоединяется к левым террористам? Эта новость казалась какой-то глупой шуткой.



В САО Патрисию Хёрст назвали «Таней» - в честь Тамары (Тани) Бунке, погибшей спутницы Эрнесто Че Гевары. Уже 15 апреля 1974 года, через два месяца после похищения, Патрисия «Таня» Хёрст приняла участие в своей первой «революционной акции» - в составе группы членов САО ограбила банк «Хиберния» в Сан-Франциско. Участие Патти, вооруженной карабином, в ограблении банка зафиксировали камеры видеонаблюдения. Но и власти, и родственники отказывались верить в «перерождение» девушки. 22 апреля 1974 года ФБР выпустило листовку о розыске грабителей банка Дональда Дефриза, Патрисии Солтисик, Нэнси Перри и Камиллы Холл. Четвертая девушка в «пятерке» грабителей, Патрисия Хёрст, была обозначена в листовке как «важная свидетельница».

17 мая 1974 г. полиция Лос-Анджелеса окружила дом, где находились Дональд Дефриз и пятеро других боевиков САО. На требование о сдаче симбионисты ответили автоматным огнем. В процессе перестрелки дом загорелся. Дефриз, не желая сгорать живьем, застрелился. Вместе с ним погибли 23-летний Вилли Вулф по прозвищу «Кахо», 25-летняя Анжела Этвуд по прозвищу «генерал Джелина», 29-летняя Патрисия Солтисик по прозвищу «Зоя», 29-летняя Камилла «Габи» Холл и 26-летняя Нэнси Перри по прозвищу «Фахиза».



После гибели Дефриза Симбионистскую армию возглавил Уильям Харрис, в связи с повышением переименовавший себя из «генерала Тико» в «фельдмаршала Тико». Несмотря на трагическую гибель Дефриза и пяти других товарищей, симбионисты продолжали ограбления банков, в которых участвовала и Патрисия Хёрст. Более года она провела в составе банды. Во время ограбления банка в пригороде Сакраменто была смертельно ранена одна из посетительниц.

18 сентября 1975 года в результате успешной облавы ФБР был арестован сразу целый ряд членов САО. Среди арестованных были Уильям Харрис – «фельдмаршал Тико», его жена Эмили Харрис, художница Венди Ёшимура и сама Патрисия Хёрст. 11 марта 1976 года начался знаменитый процесс, на котором Патти была обвиняемой. Пока шло следствие, Патрисия рассказала о том, какие ужасы пришлось ей пережить во время похищения. Ее адвокаты акцентировали внимание на том, что у Патрисии не было иного выхода – либо присоединиться к банде, либо ее бы убили симбионисты. Психиатрическая экспертиза показала, что девушка пережила посттравматическое расстройство психики. Однако, обвинение настаивало, что девушка присоединилась к банде по собственной воле и не принимало во внимание то, что ее воля была просто сломлена за два месяца избиений и изнасилований. 20 марта 1976 года Патрисия Хёрст была приговорена к семи годам лишения свободы. Но за решеткой Патрисия провела гораздо меньше семи лет. Уже в январе 1979 года президент Джимми Картер сократил срок наказания Патрисии Хёрст и она вышла из тюрьмы.



После освобождения Патрисия вышла замуж за бывшего полицейского и телохранителя Бернарда Шоу и поселилась в пригороде Нью-Йорка. Ее показания легли в основу трех судебных процессов по делу о преступлениях, совершенных симбионистами. У Патрисии двое дочерей – модель и актриса Лидия Мари Херст-Шоу и Джиллиан Херст-Шоу. Сейчас Патрисии Херст 64 года. 20 января 2001 года указом президента США Билла Клинтона она была полностью помилована.

Что касается других бывших симбионистов, то их судьбы сложились менее удачно. Кто-то погиб, кто-то был повторно привлечен к ответственности. Среди исключений - Венди Масако Ёшимура (род.1943), которая живет в Окленде и является известной художницей, возглавляет собственную студию живописи. Джим Килгор с 1975 по 2002 годы находился в бегах, успев за это время стать профессором истории в Кейптаунском университете в ЮАР. Арестовали его только в 2002 году, а в 2009 году он вышел на свободу, став последним из освобожденных членов САО.

В настоящее время за решеткой остается лишь один 70-летний Джозеф Ремиро, отбывающий пожизненное заключение в тюрьме «Сан-Квентин». Ему трижды отказывали в удовлетворении прошения об условно-досрочном освобождении. Между тем, правозащитники США отмечают, что если бы не «космические» связи семьи Хёрст на самом высоком уровне, то и Патрисия вполне могла бы в лучшем случае отсидеть свой семилетний срок «от звонка до звонка», а в худшем – получить и более жесткий приговор.
Автор:
Илья Полонский
Ctrl Enter

Заметив ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

15 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти