Military Review

Singapore's secret purchases: Leopard 2A7 tanks

5

According to the latest trade database weapons Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI), Singaporean army could secretly buy 2016 in 2017 or 12 tanks Leopard 2A7 manufactured by Krauss-Maffei Wegmann (KMW).


A senior representative of the SIPRI Institute reported that this information was obtained from the UN Register of Conventional Arms 2016 (UN Register of Conventional Arms), in which Germany recorded the transfer of seven Leopard 2 tanks.

News The alleged sale of Leopard 2A7 tanks was reinforced by two different German press visits to the KMW plant in January 2016 and in February 2017. In the first story, the semi-finished A7 towers for Qatar and Singapore were shown. In the second story, the 2-7 tanks of these two countries were shown on the assembly line.

The German government disclosed the sale of surplus Leopard 2A4 tanks to Singapore in 2013 and reported on an export license issued in 2014 for the cost of 329 million euros. The representative of the Institute believes that with high probability under this license for the Singapore army, 2А4 tanks should be upgraded to the 2А7 configuration.

At the SIPRI Institute, based on the pace of production, they believe that in the year 2017 five more A7 tanks were manufactured, although the UN Register for 2017 will not be released a year before the end of this year. The representative of the institute added that Germany voluntarily reports data each year to the UN, as well as to the secretariat of the Arms Trade Treaty Organization (ATT). "Singapore is not a member of ATT and therefore is not obliged to inform it about its purchases."

However, the Singapore Ministry of Defense strongly denies any new purchases of German tanks: “In 2006, the Singaporean armed forces announced the acquisition of Leopard 2A4 tanks from Germany to replace SM1 tanks. Since then, the updated Leopard tanks entered the army and Singapore did not buy other Leopard variants. ”

According to SIPRI, Singapore received the 182 tank Leopard 2A4 from the presence of the German army in 2007-2012, some of which were intended for spare parts. They were upgraded with the assistance of the Office of Defense Technologies and ST Engineering, after which they received the new designation Leopard 2SG (in the photo).

These tanks were seriously refined, receiving IBD Deisenroth Engineering armor sets, a fire control system, an auxiliary power unit, an on-board information and control system and a commanding sight of the STELOP commander.

It is in the nature of things for the Singapore army to buy second-hand military equipment to study its conformity with the Singapore theory of combat use before purchasing new or deeply modernized equipment and weapons.

Materials used:
www.shephardmedia.com
www.mindef.gov.sg
eyeni.info
en.wikipedia.org
5 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. inkass_98
    inkass_98 22 June 2018 07: 32
    0
    Mysterious Singapore: either give them a Merkava, or a Leopard of the latest modification ... What will they do with this happiness on local soils? The mass of these tanks rolls over.
    1. Yrec
      Yrec 22 June 2018 12: 14
      +3
      Perhaps Singapore as a "gasket" works. This is a clean huckster. Moreover, huge traffic through the port allows you to hide the final destination port.
  2. Xroft
    Xroft 22 June 2018 07: 41
    +5
    a city is a state with huge reserves of money and poor neighbors .... I think they are designed primarily for defense, and not for attempts to storm the jungle.
    1. Hole puncher
      Hole puncher 22 June 2018 09: 24
      0
      Crush the bulldozers and excavators of the builders of the Kra Canal ... When they appear ...
  3. NF68
    NF68 28 June 2018 18: 11
    0
    What is the point of the secret purchase of Leopards 7-th modification?

Военное обозрение

Тайные закупки Сингапура: танки Leopard 2A7

5

По данным новейшей базы данных торговли оружием Стокгольмского международного института по исследованию проблем мира (SIPRI), сингапурская армия в 2016 или 2017 году могла тайно купить 12 танков Leopard 2А7 производства Krauss-Maffei Wegmann (KMW).


Высокопоставленный представитель института SIPRI сообщил, что эта информация получена из Регистра ООН по обычным вооружениям 2016 (UN Register of Conventional Arms), в который Германия записала передачу семи танков Leopard 2.

Новости о предполагаемой продаже танков Leopard 2A7 были подкреплены два разными визитами немецкой прессы на завод компании KMW в январе 2016 года и в феврале 2017 года. В первом сюжете были показаны полуготовые башни А7 для Катара и Сингапура. Во втором сюжете на сборочной линии были показаны танки 2А7 этих двух стран.

Немецкое правительство раскрыло продажу излишков танков Leopard 2A4 Сингапуру в 2013 году и сообщило о выпущенной в 2014 году экспортной лицензии стоимостью 329 миллионов евро. Представитель института полагает, что с большой долей вероятности по этой лицензии для сингапурской армии танки 2А4 должны быть модернизированы до конфигурации 2А7.

В Институте SIPRI, исходя из темпов производства, считают, что в 2017 году было изготовлено еще пять танков А7, хотя Регистр ООН за 2017 год не выйдет до конца этого года. Представитель института добавил, что Германия каждый год добровольно сообщает данные в ООН, а также в секретариат Организации Договора о торговле вооружением (АТТ). «Сингапур не является членом АТТ и поэтому не обязан сообщать ей о своих покупках».

Впрочем, министерство обороны Сингапура решительно отрицает любые новые закупки немецких танков: «В 2006 году сингапурские вооруженные силы объявили о приобретении танков Leopard 2A4 у Германии для замены танков SM1. С тех пор обновленные танки Leopard поступили в армию и других вариантов Leopard Сингапур не покупал».

По данным SIPRI, Сингапур получил 182 танка Leopard 2A4 из наличия немецкой армии в 2007-2012 годах, некоторые из них предназначались на запчасти. Они были модернизированы при содействии Управления оборонных технологий и компании ST Engineering, после чего получили новое обозначение Leopard 2SG (на фото).

Эти танки были серьезно доработаны, получив бронекомплекты компании IBD Deisenroth Engineering, систему управления огнем, вспомогательную силовую установку, бортовую информационно-управляющую систему и панорамный прицел командира STELOP.

Для сингапурской армии в порядке вещей покупать бывшее в употреблении военное имущество для изучения его соответствия сингапурской теории боевого применения, прежде чем закупать новые или глубоко модернизированные технику и вооружение.

Использованы материалы:
www.shephardmedia.com
www.mindef.gov.sg
eyeni.info
ru.wikipedia.org
5 комментариев
Объявление

Подписывайтесь на наш Телеграм-канал, регулярно дополнительные сведения о спецоперации на Украине, большое количество информации, видеоролики, то что не попадает на сайт: https://t.me/topwar_official

Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. inkass_98
    inkass_98 22 июня 2018 07:32
    0
    Загадочный Сингапур: то "Меркаву" им подавай, то "Леопард" последней модификации... Что они с этим счастьем делать-то будут на местных почвах? Масса-то у этих танков зашкаливает.
    1. Yrec
      Yrec 22 июня 2018 12:14
      +3
      Возможно, Сингапур как "прокладка" работает. Это же чистый барыга. Тем более огромный трафик через порт позволяет скрыть конечный порт назначения.
  2. Xroft
    Xroft 22 июня 2018 07:41
    +5
    город государство с огромными запасами денег и бедными соседями....я думаю они рассчитаны в первую очередь на оборону , а не на попытки в джунгли штурмовать.
    1. Дырокол
      Дырокол 22 июня 2018 09:24
      0
      Давить бульдозеры и экскаваторы строителей канала Кра... Когда они появятся...
  3. NF68
    NF68 28 июня 2018 18:11
    0
    Какой смысл в тайной закупке Леопардов 7-й модификации?