Military Review

Are the forces of democracy striking back?

7
Events in Afghanistan have been developing in recent weeks, if not days, just at breakneck speed. As we remember, last August turned out to be the hottest for the forces of the international coalition and the Kabul government in several years. Peak activity militants banned in Russia, the Taliban, the Islamic State and a number of other, smaller groups, fell in the middle - second half of August 2018. For the first time in several years, radical Islamists have achieved significant success, even "freeing the kafirs from power and munafikov "a couple of Afghan provinces.


The Afghan government army, trained and equipped by the Americans, began to suffer unexpected defeats; For some unknown reason, the forces of the NATO countries were sitting at their bases cowardly; only the Americans, and quite sluggishly and very limited forces, reacted to the changing military situation in the country and provided military support to the Afghan government forces.

Because of all this, by the end of August the situation in Afghanistan, this essentially key country in the Middle East, has changed significantly. Things reached the point that the president of the official Afghan government offered on his own behalf a truce to the Taliban on the occasion of the holy month of Ramadan for Muslims and the approach of one of the main Islamic holidays, Kurban Bayram.


The real face of the Islamic "jihad of the sword": the current leader of the Afghan Taliban movement (prohibited in the Russian Federation) and its flag.


Many began to get the impression that the forces of the international coalition led by the United States were ready to withdraw from Afghanistan altogether (contrary to what seemed to be the plan of military operations adopted this summer for several years ahead), but they do not know how to do it “without losing face.

It is quite likely that, having “guessed” a similar scenario, Russia decided to use the logic of the moment, especially since Moscow has very old, though weak and not active all the time, ties with the Taliban. Taking adequate advantage of the change in the situation, despite the rejection of the “truce of Ramadan” by Islamic militants, our country offered both the official Kabul government and the supporters of the Taliban movement mediating in direct negotiations without other parties (i.e., from among Western countries) .

The outcome of this was a preliminary decision to start such negotiations in Moscow (or, alternatively, in Islamabad or Doha) at the beginning of September 2018. However, for some unknown reasons, armed supporters of the Taliban movement (or persons posing as them? ) break through the Afghan-Tajik border and carry out a series of attacks on Tajikistan in late August. Those. It is attacking a country that is one of Russia's strategic allies in Central Asia, whose security is ensured by the Russian military contingent.

Are the forces of democracy striking back?

Machine gun company of the Taliban.


As a result, Moscow and the official Kabul government refuse to negotiate, as well as the Taliban leadership, which states that it did not give consent to the beginning of the peace process, and also that it was deeply offended by postponing the date of negotiations without agreeing with them.

At the same time, as it turned out, the western “partners” of Russia were not at all going to leave Afghanistan and did their best to break the negotiations and to change the military-political situation inside this long-suffering country again in their favor.

So, one of the first foreign policy steps was the visit to Kabul by the Minister of Defense of Great Britain Gavin Williamson, who held talks with the President of Afghanistan Mohammad Ashraf Ghani.

According to an official communiqué released yesterday, the talks that took place on Friday were “to discuss key issues of bilateral interest, including the UK’s support for the Afghan armed forces.” The statement further added that "both sides discussed regional issues, financing and equipping the Afghan armed forces, led by the Afghans in the peace process and fighting international and regional terrorism."

President Ghani very warmly welcomed Mr. Williamson in Kabul and thanked the United Kingdom for supporting Afghanistan, mainly for supporting the Afghan armed forces in the framework of the NATO-led Resolute Support Mission.

In turn, Mr. Williamson welcomed the Afghan government forces for their contribution to the fight against terrorism and reaffirmed the focus of his country's course on establishing long-term peace and stability in Afghanistan.


Minister of Defense of the United Kingdom and President of Afghanistan.


And, quite revealingly, at the same time (day after day!) The visit of the Iranian Foreign Minister to Pakistan last Thursday-Friday, Islamabad, for some, not quite clear reasons, closes its consulate in Jalalabad, the capital of Nangarhar province in eastern Afghanistan, from - for some alleged interference by local authorities.

"The Pakistani Embassy in Kabul deeply regrets the unlawful interference of Governor Hayatullah Hayat with the work of the Consulate General of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan in Jalalabad, which is a complete violation of the Vienna Convention on Consular Relations 1963 of the Year," the Pakistani embassy in Kabul said in a statement.

The statement further added that “the embassy asked the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Afghanistan to ask the provincial governor to kindly refrain from interfering with the work of the consulate general and to ensure the restoration of the security of the consulate as it existed 28 August 2018.”

"The embassy wishes to report that the consulate general will be closed until security measures are completed to the satisfaction of the embassy," the statement said. The Afghan government, the foreign ministry and provincial officials have not yet commented on this issue.

In addition, along with the visit of the Minister of Defense of Great Britain to Kabul, the commander of the combined command of NATO forces in Western Asia, General Brunissum Riccardo Marsho, arrived there. Abdullah Abdullah, Chief Executive of the Government of National Unity of Afghanistan, met with General Marsho in Kabul last Thursday.

In an official statement regarding this visit, it was added that Mr. Abdulla very cordially welcomed General Marsho in Kabul and thanked the NATO forces in his person for their contribution to the fight against terrorism, and also expressed gratitude for the support of the Afghan National Defense Forces.

In turn, General Marsho expressed satisfaction with the successes achieved by the Afghan government forces, and reaffirmed NATO’s long-term support for Afghanistan. He also added that NATO remains committed to supporting, equipping and strengthening the capabilities of the Afghan national defense and security forces that are fighting terrorism, and is not going to withdraw troops.

According to a representative of the chief executive of Afghanistan, the parties also discussed the latest military events and effective ways to combat terrorism in the light of regional and international cooperation.


Negotiations between the representative of the High Command of NATO and the head of the government of Afghanistan.


In parallel with the visits of high-ranking NATO officials to Kabul, the Afghan government forces, with the leading role of the American contingent, made a firm attempt to reverse the military situation in their favor and level all the tactical successes of the militants.

The process began with the removal of the leader of the Islamic State in Afghanistan group, who was killed along with his five or nine comrades during an air strike on the eastern province of Nangarhar. According to the statement of the Afghan military, the US Air Force launched air strikes using unmanned aerial vehicles aimed at ISIL shelters in the Vazir-Tangi area of ​​the Khogiani district.

The statement of the representatives of the command also added that quite reliable evidence had been received that as a result of the airstrikes, the ISIL leader and his adjutants had died, and a lot of the weapons and equipment of the militants had been destroyed. Anti-government armed militants and terrorist groups, including the ISIS loyalists, have not yet commented on this report.

It should be noted that Nangarhar was among the few relatively quiet provinces of Afghanistan since the fall of the Taliban regime in 2001-2003, but anti-government Islamist militants have been actively trying to expand their positions and influence in this province in recent years.

In addition, anti-government armed militants suffered heavy losses during individual clashes during operations that are still being conducted last week in the Ghazni region (South-Eastern Afghanistan), a spokesman for the 203 Corps of the Afghan security forces said at a briefing last Thursday.

According to the statement, at least eight radical Islamists were killed and seventeen others injured during the clash in the area of ​​the town of Nani, Andar County. The statement also added that "a clash occurred due to the fact that the Afghan forces were engaged in demining operations."

As a result of this battle, the rocket launcher, small arms and militants' communications equipment became trophies of the Afghan government forces.


Air strikes against radical Islamist positions in Afghanistan.


Also, at least three militants were killed as a result of a separate clash in the Meri region of the same province, a 203 corps spokesman said, adding that the Afghan air force also carried out successful air strikes on the Cenis and Shaliz regions, where militant clusters were seen. According to government forces, as a result of these airstrikes, at least 15 Islamists were killed and 17 were injured, and several motorcycle and motor vehicles belonging to the militants were destroyed.

However, the forces of the radical Islamic opposition did not remain in debt: 01 September 2018, the car was blown up, which drove the governor of the administrative district of Durbaba and the police chief of Nangarhar Province (East Afghanistan).

A statement from the provincial press service said the incident occurred around 9: 30 local time, and the purpose of the mine was precisely the car of the governor of the district Hamish Gul Muslim and the police chief Nawab Khan.

The statement further added that the explosion was caused by an improvised explosive placed on the side of the road, but its power was not enough, and as a result, two senior officials were only slightly injured. Both the governor and the police chief were transferred to a hospital and are undergoing treatment, the provincial government said in a statement.

Well, to top it all, it turns out a curious fact: it was at the end of August 2018 that the Pentagon negotiated at least two new contracts for the development of the new Afghan Air Force, which were previously signed back in June of this year.


American attack aircraft makes combat mission in Afghanistan.


In particular, according to Pentagon official information, among them was a contract with General Dynamics - OTS Inc. USA ”, voiced as“ for foreign military sales ”, and on the conditions that have been applied to a number of countries (Saudi Arabia, Afghanistan, Kenya, Jordan, Nigeria and Qatar). This contract #w31p4q-14-C-0154 announces the ability to purchase different quantities of M151, M274, M257, M278, M156, M264, M278 and WTU-1 / B, missiles, warheads, engines and / or related systems. The contract statement further added: “the work will be completed in Williston, Vermont; and Hampton, Arizona, with an estimated completion date of 28 in February of 2021.”

Thus, we can quite clearly see that the change in the situation in Afghanistan is much more tied to the financial interests of the military-industrial concerns of the United States and the NATO countries than to the real aspirations of the Afghan people and the hopes of neighboring states for peace in this unfortunate country.
Author:
Photos used:
Tolo.News, Khaama.News
7 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. sabakina
    sabakina 3 September 2018 14: 18
    +3
    Interestingly, they themselves are not tired of fighting? It seems that since the 19th century already ...
    1. 2329 Carpenter
      2329 Carpenter 3 September 2018 14: 37
      +3
      Yes, not from the 19th ... With Makedonsky A.F. they managed to beat. With whom to him - a popular history of Orlando is silent. So this is already genetically.
      Here is a shark - she needs movement all the time. Otherwise, it will die.
      So are the Afghans too.
  2. lucul
    lucul 3 September 2018 14: 35
    -2
    Yes, all this is a staged circus - all for the sake of selling weapons to Amer VPK.
    In fact - take, for example, our motorized rifle division, remove the armored vehicles and leave only small arms. It will be a kind of analogue, for the purity of the experiment, for comparison with bearded men.
    So there are 10 people. - they need to be provided with three meals a day and water, in the conditions of mountainous terrain. How much transport is needed to ensure supplies of food daily to the troops? This transport is impossible to track, or what?
    Regarding armaments - if these 10 people even wage a guerrilla war, then the supply of ammunition is vital for them. Arms and ammunition supplies are always tightly controlled. For example, in industry, some machines have built-in GPS sensors, and these machines will not work in the permitted area until these sensors are removed. The same thing with weapons - it would be a desire to figure out those who do not legally supply weapons to bearded men would not be a problem. But there is no desire for this, for the conflict is beneficial to some.
    1. aybolyt678
      aybolyt678 3 September 2018 20: 48
      -1
      Quote: lucul
      to calculate those who do not legally supply weapons to bearded men will not be problematic. But there is no desire for this, for the conflict is beneficial to some.

      the conflict there is beneficial to everyone! The aspirations of the Afghan people are aimed at increasing the productivity of sleepy poppies and the development of its industrial processing. The Afghans need a war to complicate control and break down the resistance of those who resist the country's development in this way. Americans need war to sell weapons and direct industrial product flows, and only Russia, while consuming Afghanistan products, still resists the system.
  3. thinker
    thinker 3 September 2018 16: 07
    0
    The explosion was caused by improvised explosive.

    What a substance, an improvised explosive device.
  4. Yak28
    Yak28 3 September 2018 18: 13
    +1
    Afghanistan is a backward country with an underdeveloped population. To seize or destroy the trifling matter. But this does not happen, so is it beneficial to someone?
  5. gsev
    gsev 9 September 2018 13: 42
    0
    The Pakistani government needs to get recognition from Afghanistan of the inviolability of the Durand line and guarantees against the reunification of the entire Pashtun people in a single state on the model of the return of Crimea. Therefore, Pakistani intelligence organizes the Taliban and Daesh against Afghanistan. The goal of Afghan diplomacy is to consolidate all Afghans to defend their state, even if they are the Taliban. The goal of Pakistani intelligence is to further split the neighboring people. If events are viewed from such an angle., The picture takes on meaningful outlines. Russia also needs to wait for the aggravation of Siberian, Pomeranian or Circassian separatism thanks to the frenzied activities of the intelligence of our worried neighbors and not disdaining dirty money and grants from our politicians, bloggers and opposition members.

Силы демократии наносят ответный удар?

События в Афганистане развиваются в последние недели, если не дни, просто с головокружительной быстротой. Как мы помним, минувший август оказался самым «жарким» для сил международной коалиции и кабульского правительства за несколько лет. Пик активности боевиков запрещённых в России движений «Талибан», «Исламское государство» и ряда других, более мелких группировок, пришёлся на середину – вторую половину августа 2018 г. Впервые за несколько лет радикальные исламисты добились существенных успехов, даже «освободив от власти кяфиров и мунафиков» пару афганских провинций.

Афганская правительственная армия, обученная и оснащённая американцами, стала терпеть неожиданные поражения; силы стран НАТО по непонятным причинам трусливо отсиживались на своих базах; только американцы, и то достаточно вяло и весьма ограниченными силами, реагировали на изменение боевой ситуации в стране и оказывали военную поддержку афганским правительственным силам.


Из-за всего этого к концу августа ситуация в Афганистане, этой по сути ключевой страны Среднего Востока, существенно поменялась. Дело дошло до того, что президент официального афганского правительства предложил от своего лица перемирие «талибам» по случаю священного для мусульман месяца Рамадан и приближению одного из главных исламских праздников «Курбан-байрам».


Настоящий лик исламского "джихада меча": действующий лидер афганского движения "Талибан" (запрещено в РФ) и его флаг.


У многих стало складываться впечатление, что силы международной коалиции во главе с США уже готовы вообще уйти из Афганистана (вопреки, казалось бы, принятому этим летом планом боевых операций на несколько лет вперёд), но не знают, как это сделать «не потеряв лица.

Вполне вероятно, что «угадав» подобный сценарий, логикой момента решила воспользоваться и Россия, тем более что у Москвы имеются весьма давние, хотя слабые и не активные постоянно, связи с «талибами». Адекватно воспользовавшись изменением ситуации, несмотря на отвержение «перемирия Рамадана» со стороны исламских боевиков, наша страна предложила как официальному кабульскому правительству, так и сторонникам движения «Талибан» посредничество при проведении прямых переговоров без иных сторон (т.е. из числа стран Запада).

Итогом этого было предварительное решение о начале подобных переговоров в Москве (или, как вариант, в Исламабаде или Дохе) в начале сентября 2018 г. Однако, по несколько непонятным причинам, вооружённые сторонники движения «Талибан» (или лица, выдававшие себя за них?) прорывают афгано-таджикскую границу и совершают в конце августа ряд нападений на Таджикистан. Т.е. атакует страну, являющуюся одним из стратегических союзников России в Центральной Азии, безопасность которой обеспечивает в том числе и российский воинский контингент.

Силы демократии наносят ответный удар?

Пулемётная рота "талибов".


В результате этого Москва и официальное кабульское правительство отказываются от переговоров, так же, как и руководство «талибов», которое заявляет, что вообще не давало согласия на начало мирного процесса, а также, что оно глубоко оскорблено перенесением даты переговоров без согласования с ними.

Одновременно с этим, как оказалось, западные «партнёры» России вовсе не собирались уходить из Афганистана и приложили все силы, как для срыва переговоров, так и для перелома военно-политической ситуации внутри этой многострадальной страны вновь в свою пользу.

Так, одним из первых внешнеполитических шагов стал визит в Кабул министра обороны Великобритании Гэвина Уильямсона, который провёл переговоры с президентом Афганистана Мохаммадом Ашрафом Гани.

Согласно официальному коммюнике, выпущенному вчера, переговоры, прошедшие в пятницу, произведены «с целью обсуждения ключевых вопросов, представляющих двусторонний интерес, включая поддержку Великобритании афганским вооруженным силам». В заявлении далее было также добавлено, что «обе стороны обсудили региональные вопросы, финансирование и оснащение афганских вооруженных сил, возглавляемый афганцами мирный процесс и борьбу с международным и региональным терроризмом».

Президент Гани весьма тепло приветствовал г-на Уильямсона в Кабуле и поблагодарил Соединенное Королевство за поддержку Афганистана, главным образом за поддержку афганских вооруженных сил в рамках возглавляемой НАТО миссии «Решительная поддержка».


В свою очередь, г-н Уильямсон приветствовал афганские правительственные силы за их вклад в борьбу с терроризмом и подтвердил нацеленность курса его страны на установление долгосрочного мира и стабильности в Афганистане.


Министр обороны Великобритании и президент Афганистана.


И, что весьма показательно, одновременно (день в день!) с визитом министра иностранных дел Ирана в Пакистан в минувшие четверг-пятницу, Исламабад по некоторым, не вполне ясным причинам, закрывает свое консульство в Джалалабаде, столице провинции Нангархар в восточном Афганистане, из-за некоего предполагаемого вмешательства местных властей.

"Посольство Пакистана в Кабуле глубоко сожалеет о неправомерном вмешательстве губернатора Хайатуллы Хайата в работу Генерального консульства Исламской Республики Пакистан в Джелалабаде, что является полным нарушением Венской конвенции о консульских сношениях 1963 года", - говорится в заявлении пакистанского посольства в Кабуле.

В заявлении далее было добавлено, что “посольство просило Министерство иностранных дел Афганистана попросить губернатора провинции любезно воздержаться от вмешательства в работу Генерального консульства и обеспечить восстановление безопасности Генерального консульства в том виде, в каком оно существовало 28 августа 2018 года.”

"Посольство желает сообщить, что Генеральное консульство будет закрыто до тех пор, пока меры безопасности не будут завершены к удовлетворению посольства”, - говорится в заявлении. Афганское правительство, Министерство иностранных дел и провинциальные должностные лица пока не комментируют эту проблему.

Кроме того, наряду с визитом министра обороны Великобритании в Кабул, туда же прибыл командующий объединенным командованием сил НАТО в Передней Азии генерал Брюнсюм Риккардо Маршо. Глава исполнительной власти правительства национального единства Афганистана Абдулла Абдулла встретился с генералом Маршо в Кабуле в минувший четверг.

В официальном заявлении, касающимся этого визита, было добавлено, что г-н Абдулла весьма радушно приветствовал генерала Маршо в Кабуле и поблагодарил силы НАТО в его лице за их вклад в борьбу с терроризмом, а также выразил благодарность за поддержку афганских национальных сил обороны.

В свою очередь, генерал Маршо выразил удовлетворение в связи с успехами, достигнутыми афганскими правительственными силами, и подтвердил долгосрочную поддержку НАТО Афганистану. Он также добавил, что НАТО по-прежнему привержена поддержке, оснащению и укреплению потенциала афганских национальных сил обороны и безопасности, которые ведут борьбу с терроризмом, и не собирается осуществлять вывод войск.

По сообщению представителя аппарата главы исполнительной власти Афганистана, стороны также обсудили последние военные события и эффективные пути борьбы с терроризмом в свете регионального и международного сотрудничества.


Переговоры между представителем Высшего командования НАТО и главой правительства Афганистана.


Параллельно с визитами высокопоставленных чинов НАТО в Кабул афганские правительственные силы, при ведущей роли американского контингента, сделали твёрдую попытку переломить военную ситуацию в свою пользу и нивелировать все тактические успехи боевиков.

Начало этому процессу положило устранение лидера группировки «Исламское государство в Афганистане», который был убит вместе со своими пятью или девятью товарищами во время авиаудара по восточной провинции Нангархар. Согласно заявлению афганских военных, ВВС США нанесли авиаудары с использованием беспилотных летательных аппаратов, нацеленных на укрытия «ИГИЛ» в районе Вазир-Танги района Хогиани.

В заявлении представителей командования также было добавлено, что были получены вполне достоверные доказательства того, что в результате авиаударов лидер ИГИЛ со своими адъютантами погибли, и много вооружения и снаряжения боевиков было уничтожено. Антиправительственные вооруженные боевики и террористические группы, включая лоялистов «ИГИЛ», пока не прокомментировали этот доклад.

Следует отметить, что Нангархар была в числе немногих, относительно спокойных, провинций Афганистана со времени падения режима талибов в 2001-2003 гг., но антиправительственные боевики-исламисты активно пытаются расширить свои позиции и своё влияние в этой провинции в последние годы.

Кроме того, антиправительственные вооруженные боевики понесли большие потери во время отдельных столкновений в ходе операций, всё ещё проводящихся на прошлой неделе в районе Газни (Юго-Восточный Афганистан), заявил на брифинге в минувший четверг представитель 203-го корпуса афганских сил безопасности.

Согласно данному заявлению, во время столкновения в районе местечка Нани Андарского уезда было убито не менее восьми радикальных исламистов и ранено еще семнадцать человек из их состава. В заявлении также было добавлено, что «боестолкновение имело место в связи с тем, что афганские силы были заняты проведением операций по разминированию».

В итоге этого боя трофеями афганских правительственных войск стали ракетная пусковая установка, стрелковое вооружение и средства связи боевиков.


Удары с воздуха по позициям радикальных исламистов в Афганистане.


Также, как минимум, три боевика были убиты в результате отдельного столкновения в районе Мери той же провинции, заявил представитель 203 корпуса, добавив при этом, что афганские ВВС также нанесли успешные авиаудары по районам Сени и Шализ, где были замечены скопления боевиков. Согласно данным правительственных сил, в результате этих авиаударов по меньшей мере 15 исламистов были убиты и еще 17 ранены, а также было уничтожено несколько принадлежавших боевикам мотоциклов и автомашин.

Однако силы радикальной исламской оппозиции не остались в долгу: 01 сентября 2018 года был взорван автомобиль, в котором ехали губернатор административного округа Дурбаба и начальника полиции провинции Нангархар (Вост.Афганистан).

В заявлении пресс-службы властей провинции говорится, что инцидент произошел около 9:30 по местному времени, и целью минирования был именно автомобиль губернатора округа Хамиша Гюля Муслима и начальника полиции Наваба Хана.

В заявлении далее было добавлено, что взрыв был вызван самодельным взрывчатым веществом, заложенным на обочине дороги, однако его мощности оказалось недостаточно, и в результате два старших должностных лица получили только легкие ранения. Как губернатор, так и начальник полиции, были переведены в больницу и проходят курс лечения, говорится в заявлении правительства провинции.

Ну и в довершение всего, выясняется любопытный факт: именно в конце августа 2018 года Пентагон провёл согласование как минимум двух новых контрактов по развитию новых афганских ВВС, которые были предварительно заключены ещё в июне этого года.


Американский штурмовик совершает боевой вылет в Афганистане.


В частности, согласно официальной информации Пентагона, среди них был контракт с компанией «General Dynamics – OTS Inc. США», озвученный как «для иностранных военных продаж», и на условиях, которые применялись до этого уже к ряду стран (Саудовская Аравия, Афганистан, Кения, Иордания, Нигерия и Катар). Этот контракт №w31p4q-14-C-0154 озвучивает возможность для закупки различных количеств M151, M274, M257, M278, M156, M264, M278 и WTU-1/B, ракет, боеголовок, двигателей и\или связанных с ними компонентов. В заявлении на контракт далее добавлено: "работы будут выполнены в Уиллистоне, штат Вермонт; и Хэмптоне, штат Аризона, с предполагаемой датой завершения 28 февраля 2021.”

Таким образом, мы можем вполне чётко увидеть, что изменение ситуации в Афганистане в гораздо большей степени увязано с финансовыми интересами военно-промышленных концернов США и стран НАТО, чем с реальными чаяниями афганского народа и надеждами соседних государств на мир в этой несчастной стране.
Автор:
Михаил Сириец
Использованы фотографии:
Tolo.News, Khaama.News
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

7 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти