Military Review

The American "Sting" will be more effective. In the US, modernize the "Stinger"

8
In the near future, the US Army plans to adopt a program for large-scale modernization of the Stinger man-portable air defense missile system, reports Military Parity, citing defensenews.com.


The American "Sting" will be more effective. In the US, modernize the "Stinger"


In the course of modernization, an increase in the effectiveness of the use of MANPADS missiles, including in the fight against drones, is implied. Cruise Missile Defense Systems Project Office (CMDS) has already demonstrated a new warhead for Stinger MANPADS, which, according to the developers, has a higher lethal effectiveness against UAVs. In the course of the demonstration of a new warhead "Stinger", test firing at UAVs, both in static and flying at different speeds, was conducted. It is noted that a wide range of UAVs were used as targets: from small to UAVs weighing 1000 pounds, such as Shadow. The missiles were used as a portable air defense missile system, and launchers self-propelled machines Avenger.

Unlike the previous version of the Stinger MANPADS rocket warhead, which has a direct hit mode, the new warhead is equipped with a fuse for remote detonation. According to the plans of the US military, the new warhead will be ready for installation on upgraded missiles from February 2019.

The modernization program has not yet been adopted, but as soon as it is approved, a new fuse, engine and gas generator will be installed on the 5 thousand Stinger missiles. It is assumed that during the modernization of the rocket will not only become more efficient, but also extend the life of the 10 years.
Photos used:
http://veterano.com.ua/
8 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Victor_B
    Victor_B 12 September 2018 10: 20
    +7
    Natural process.
    It would be strange if we did not improve serial production.
    We, too, are not standing still.
    They have a Stinger, and we have a Willow.
    Personally, it’s more interesting for me - which of them is better?
    But for some reason they don’t send exact data to my sofa.
    1. Vadim851
      Vadim851 12 September 2018 10: 57
      -1
      Verba is definitely better, the 9M336 has a range of 6km and a reach in height of 4000-4500m versus 4,5 km and 3800m, respectively, at Stinger, also after the upgrade the electronics will probably be better than ours.
      Given the venerable age of Stinger, then solid indicators at that time.
    2. Avior
      Avior 12 September 2018 17: 42
      -1
      Stinger has a matrix GOS
  2. Machete
    Machete 12 September 2018 10: 22
    -3
    And to build a new complex weakly?
    Even we, with our limited budget, already, in my opinion, have built a couple of new MANPADS.
    1. Victor_B
      Victor_B 12 September 2018 10: 25
      +3
      A couple?
      Announce the entire list, please! (with)
    2. Vadim851
      Vadim851 12 September 2018 11: 00
      +1
      They don’t need him. Their ground forces are fighting with full control of the airspace and fighters are fighting with aviation in extreme cases, hence their air defense is much weaker than ours. It is difficult to imagine the situation that in a local conflict with enemy aircraft, the Americans will fight with the help of ground-based air defense. UAVs have been actively launched recently.
      Enough for the barmaley and the stinger is too bold to make a new MANPADS specially for them.
  3. aszzz888
    aszzz888 12 September 2018 10: 24
    0
    ... recently discussed a similar topic ...
    8 September 2018
    27
  4. Alexey-74
    Alexey-74 12 September 2018 10: 38
    +1
    "Stinger" is an old enemy of our aviation and is well studied, and its modernization by the Americans is quite a natural process.

Американское "Жало" станет эффективнее. В США модернизируют "Стингер"

Американская армия в ближайшее время планирует принять программу масштабной модернизации ракет переносного зенитно-ракетного комплекса Stinger, сообщает "Военный паритет" со ссылкой на defensenews.com.

Американское "Жало" станет эффективнее. В США модернизируют "Стингер"


В ходе модернизации подразумевается увеличение эффективности применения ракет ПЗРК, в том числе в борьбе против беспилотников. Американское управление по защите от крылатых ракет (Cruise Missile Defense Systems Project Office - CMDS) уже продемонстрировало новую боеголовку для ПЗРК Stinger, которая, по заявлению разработчиков, обладает большей летальной эффективностью против БПЛА. В ходе демонстрации новой боевой части "Стингера", были проведены контрольные стрельбы по беспилотникам, как находящимся в статическом положении, так и летящим с различными скоростями. Отмечается, что в качестве мишеней применялись БПЛА широкого диапазона: от небольших до БЛА массой 1000 фунтов, типа Shadow. Ракеты применялись как с переносного ЗРК, так и пусковых установок самоходных машин Avenger.


В отличие от предыдущей версии боеголовки ракеты ПЗРК "Стингер", имеющей режим прямого попадания в цель, новая боеголовка оснащена взрывателем для дистанционного подрыва. По планам военного ведомства США, новая боеголовка будет готова к установке на модернизируемых ракетах с февраля 2019 года.

Программа модернизации пока не принята, но как только она будет утверждена, на 5 тыс ракет "Стингер" будут установлены новый взрыватель, двигатель и газогенератор. Предполагается, что в ходе проведенной модернизации ракеты не только станут более эффективными, но и продлят срок эксплуатации на 10 лет.
Использованы фотографии:
http://veterano.com.ua/
Ctrl Enter

Заметив ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

8 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Victor_B Онлайн
    Victor_B 12 сентября 2018 10:20
    +7
    Естественный процесс.
    Было бы странно ежели бы не совершенствовали серийную продукцию.
    Мы тоже на месте не стоим.
    У них Стингер, а у нас Верба.
    Лично для меня интереснее - что из них лучше?
    Но на мой диван точных данных почему-то не присылают.
    1. Vadim851 Офлайн
      Vadim851 12 сентября 2018 10:57
      -1
      Однозначно лучше Верба, 9М336 имеет дальность за 6км и досягааемость по высоте 4000-4500м против 4,5 км и 3800м соответственно у Стингера, также после модернизации электроника возможно будет получше нашей.
      Учитывая почтенный возраст Стингера то солидные показатели на то время.
    2. Avior Офлайн
      Avior 12 сентября 2018 17:42
      -1
      У Стингера матричная ГСН
  2. Machete Офлайн
    Machete 12 сентября 2018 10:22
    -3
    А новый комплекс соорудить слабо?
    Даже мы с нашим ограниченным бюджетом уже, по-моему, пару новых ПЗРК соорудили.
    1. Victor_B Онлайн
      Victor_B 12 сентября 2018 10:25
      +3
      Пару?
      Огласите весь список, пжалста! (с)
    2. Vadim851 Офлайн
      Vadim851 12 сентября 2018 11:00
      +1
      Им он не нужен. Воюют их сухопутные силы при полном контроле воздушного пространства и с авиацией в крайнем случае борятся истребители, отсюда и ПВО у них куда слабее нашей. Трудно представить ситуацию что в локальном конфликте с авиацией противника американцы будут с помощью наземных ПВО бороться. БПЛА ведь активно совсем недавно пошли.
      Бармалеям хватит и стингера уж слишком жирно специально для них новый ПЗРК делать.
  3. a.s.zzz888 Онлайн
    a.s.zzz888 12 сентября 2018 10:24
    0
    ... совсем недавно обсуждали подобную тему...
    8 сентября 2018
    27
  4. Alexey-74 Офлайн
    Alexey-74 12 сентября 2018 10:38
    +1
    "Стингер" старый враг нашей авиации и хорошо изучен, а его модернизация американцами вполне естественный процесс.