Military Review

Experimental 60-mm mortar for silent firing GNIAP

6
All artillery guns of traditional schemes, including mortars, produce certain noise when firing, and also “demonstrate” a large muzzle flash. The loud sound of the shot and the flame can unmask the position of the gun and simplify the striking. For this reason, the troops may be interested in special samples of guns, which are characterized by a reduced loudness of the shot and the absence of a flash. In the early eighties, one of the Soviet research institutions proposed an original project of a light mortar with similar capabilities.


According to known data, at the turn of the seventies and eighties, Soviet scientists and designers from several organizations of the defense industry were engaged in working through the issues of reducing artillery noise, including lightweight portable systems. Together with other institutions, this subject was studied by the State Research Artillery Test Site (GNIAP). In the early eighties, his staff offered an original solution to the task, and soon a ready-made sample of a silent mortar appeared.

An experimental mortar with unusual capabilities was created and submitted for testing in 1981. It was created by a group of GNIAP designers under the leadership of V.I. Koroleva, N.I. Ivanova and S.V. Zueva. Due to its specific role, the project did not receive any designation or index of its own. He is known by the simplest name - "60-mm mortar silent shooting." It should be noted that this name fully revealed the essence of the project.

Experimental 60-mm mortar for silent firing GNIAP


The problem of noise reduction and flash exclusion turned out to be quite complicated, which affected the ways to solve it. In the new project it was necessary to create new constructions of mortar and mines for it, seriously different from the existing ones. So, it was proposed to get rid of the flash and shock wave due to the so-called. locking of powder gases inside the ammunition. To work properly with such a mine weapon was to combine the main features of the barrel and mortar mortars. At the same time, the design of the mortar was planned to use uncharacteristic solutions for domestic weapons.

GNIAP specialists proposed an original weapon design, even outwardly different from other domestic models of its class. First of all, the “unitary trunk” scheme was used, extremely rarely used in Soviet practice. The trunk was proposed to be mounted only on the corresponding fixtures of the base plate, while the bipod for additional support on the ground was missing. There were also internal differences due to the need to use a special mine.

The main detail of the new mortar was the barrel of a special design. A 60-mm smooth barrel with a length of 365 mm was used. The new mine did not create a high pressure inside the trunk, which made it possible to reasonably reduce its length, strength and, consequently, its mass. The breech was made in the form of a separate part, including a glass for mounting the barrel and a ball bearing for fastening on the “carriage”. On the front of the breech there was a relatively durable rod with a diameter of 20 mm. The breech also contained the details of an uncomplicated firing mechanism.

The lack of bipeds affected the design of the base plate and related parts. The trunk and the plate were connected using so-called. mount and pointing - actually a compact top machine, similar to those used on artillery carriages. This design provided horizontal and vertical pickup of the barrel. The elevation angle varied from + 45 ° to + 80 °. In the horizontal plane, the gun carriage with the trunk moved within the sector of width 10 °. If necessary, the transfer of fire to a greater angle would have to move the entire mortar.

The silent mortar baseplate was made in the form of a disk with a diameter of 340 mm with a set of projections and various devices on the upper and lower surfaces. There was a side ledge on top of the slab, and a hinge was provided in the center for mounting the mount. From the bottom, several rounded protrusions were placed on the slab, under which were small openers in the form of vertical metal discs of small diameter. Such a slab design could provide sufficient penetration into the ground and efficient transfer of recoil momentum.

On the central part of the plate was placed the swivel mount and guidance. Directly with the plate in contact with the axis, over which was the holder for the ball bearing of the trunk. Behind the clip provided a rack for mounting some of the guidance mechanisms. Also, the mount had a pair of side parts of complex shape, protecting other devices from external influence.

Horizontal guidance should be performed by turning the barrel and the attachment point around the vertical axis. Separate drives or mechanisms were not used for this. For vertical guidance designers used an uncomplicated screw mechanism. It consisted of a fixed tube with an internal thread, fixed on the back of the mount of the mount, and an internal screw. The latter was articulated with a yoke on the breech breech. Turning the screw around the longitudinal axis led to its translational movement, and at the same time to the inclination of the barrel.

The 60-mm mortar silent shooting was an exclusively experimental sample and was intended for experiments, which affected the composition of its equipment. So, the mortar did not have any sights. Moreover, the project did not even provide for the use of mounts for sight. The designers of the GNIAP were interested in noise issues, and therefore there were no special requirements for shooting accuracy.

According to known data, the mortar was made collapsible. For transportation, it could be divided into three parts: the barrel, attachment and interception, as well as the support plate. However, even without this, an experienced weapon had acceptable ergonomics, which provided some ease of carrying and operating. The possibility of dismantling could be useful in the further development of the project with the subsequent entry of the mortar into service.

The experimental mortar was distinguished by its small size and weight. The maximum height of the product, at an elevation angle of 85 °, did not exceed 400 mm. The length and width in this case were determined by the diameter of the base plate - 340 mm. Weight in the fighting position - only 15,4 kg. At the same time a significant part of the mass fell on a large and heavy base plate. Service weapons could calculation of two people.

For the new mortar was developed special ammunition. The construction of this mine used the principles of barreled ammunition and locking of powder gases. These decisions led to the fact that the new mine apparently differed significantly from the "traditional" ammunition. At the same time, despite all the innovations, the product had a fairly simple design with acceptable characteristics.

Mina received a head with a cylindrical body with a diameter of 60 mm, supplemented with a conical fairing. This body was supposed to hold a charge of explosives weighing hundreds of grams. Behind the body joined a tubular shank with plumage. The tail was made hollow: a propellant charge was placed in its front part, immediately behind which there was a special movable piston. The shank channel was made in such a way that the mortar piston could enter it, and the piston could move freely, but it was braked in the rear position.

Mine for 60-mm mortar silent shooting had a total length of about 660 mm and was significantly longer than the barrel. As a result, when loading a significant part of the body appeared in front of the muzzle cut. This design feature gave the charged mortar a distinctive appearance. At the same time, the weapon did not need a separate indicator of the presence of mines in the barrel - these functions were performed by the ammunition itself.

Combining the barrel-and mortar mortar units, as well as the use of locking powder gases led to the receipt of a specific principle of the weapon. Preparing a mortar for a shot was not difficult. Mina should be placed in a mortar with a barrel. At the same time, the stabilizer on the shank ensured centering and allowed the shank to be put on the stem inside the barrel. After the mine was shifted to the extreme rear position, the stabilizer in the breech was ready to fire.

The use of the trigger lever led to the displacement of the impactor and the ignition of the propellant charge inside the mine. Expanding powder gases were supposed to press on the movable piston inside the shank, and through it interact with the mortar rod. The piston remained motionless relative to the weapon, while the mine accelerated and left the barrel. The moving part inside the shank was braked in the extreme rear position, as a result of which the gases were trapped inside the mine. This eliminated the formation of a muzzle flash and a shock wave responsible for the noise of a shot.

According to known data, in 1981, GNIAP experts collected an experienced silent mortar and sent him to a shooting range for testing. Unfortunately, there is no information about the firing characteristics of this product. Apparently, the 60-mm mine of a special design could fly at a distance of at least several hundred meters, and the limited volumes of its warhead did not allow for high high-explosive or fragmentation action. However, the objectives of the project were different - the designers planned to determine the real prospects for the unusual architecture of weapons and ammunition.

Some sources mention that the 60-mm mortar from GNIAP did indeed show a drastic reduction in the volume of shot noise. The presence of moving metal parts did not preclude a clang, but the absence of a muzzle shock wave significantly reduced the overall noise when firing. In the conditions of the landfill it was possible in practice to confirm the correctness of the ideas applied.

An experimental 60-mm silent-shooting mortar confirmed its capabilities and demonstrated the potential of a new weapon architecture. With the appropriate order of the army, the proposed concept could be developed and lead to the appearance of a full-fledged mortar. However, the potential customer was not interested in the proposed ideas, and work on all topics stopped for a long time.

Fortunately, the original principles of the silent mortar were not forgotten. In the middle of the last decade, the Nizhny Novgorod Petrel Research Institute was engaged in this topic. As part of the development work with the Supermodel cipher, this organization has developed a new lightweight mortar caliber 50 mm, designed to use special mines with gas locking. The ready-made mortar 2B25 "Gall" was presented at the end of the two thousandth, and then, after some refinement, it was offered to future customers.

Mortar 2B25 has a lightweight barrel with an internal stem to interact with the shank of the mine. The shot for “Gall” also uses the main ideas and solutions of the 1981 project of the year. At the same time, a modern silent mortar has received other means of targeting and a base plate, more similar to "traditional" units from other domestic projects.

For special tasks, troops may need special weapons - for example, silent mortars. At the same time, such weapons are highly specialized and have serious limitations of various kinds. It is probably for this reason that the 60-mm mortar of silent firing from the Main Research Artillery Firing Range remained an experimental model and did not receive further development. However, the original ideas were not forgotten and nevertheless applied in the new project, even after a quarter of a century.

Based on:
http://bratishka.ru/
http://russianarms.ru/
http://war-russia.info/
Shirokorad A.B. Domestic mortars and rocket artillery. - Mn., Harvest, 2000.
Author:
Photos used:
Bratishka.ru
6 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Nikolaevich I
    Nikolaevich I 27 September 2018 08: 56
    0
    You think ... 60 mm! negative In the days of the Union, the 120-mm silent mortar was also developed fellow True, one-time ... recourse By the way, the design bureau, which developed the 82-mm "Gall", now has to work on a 60-mm silent mortar with a range of 4,5 km ...
  2. Semurg
    Semurg 27 September 2018 09: 02
    +1
    The third or fourth material on this mortar recently. This weapon, of course, has its own niche, but probably only for special operations, since the range and power of the ammunition are not enough for combined arms use.
  3. Izotovp
    Izotovp 27 September 2018 09: 19
    0
    I think that at the next stage of development the mortar will be a light (most likely plastic) support plate with a mount and guidance unit and disposable attachable shots on the principle of disposable grenade launchers.
    1. scientist
      scientist 27 September 2018 10: 13
      0
      Quote: Izotovp
      on the principle of disposable grenade launchers

      most likely, further development in the creation of silent mortars will be planning ammunition with the possibility of adjustment and guidance according to GLONASS and optical systems. But the main thing is to automate the loading and shooting process.
  4. Horse, people and soul
    Horse, people and soul 27 September 2018 22: 08
    +1
    A silent mortar with a guided mine can be a weapon of saboteurs to replace a large-caliber sniper rifle.

    1) A sniper rifle needs direct visibility of the target. Anti-sniper teams perfectly see potential sniper positions and will react to them. The line of sight mortar is not needed.

    2) The mortar range is greater than that of a large-caliber rifle.

    3) A guided mine is sent along a ballistic trajectory and, when the mine is lowered, it can hit the target precisely. Though with operator control, at least in the database of images. Mina will be expensive and piece. But the work of saboteurs - not with a bayonet to attack.


    In theory...

    If the enemy has an anti-battery radar - he does not care if you have a silent mortar or not. The radar monitors the trajectory of the mine and accurately calculates the position of the mortar.

    The saboteurs will have time to let out a few mines, but then immediately legs in their hands and ...
    1. evgen1221
      evgen1221 28 September 2018 15: 03
      0
      It turns out that a sniper mortar for stationary targets - stealth of the first 2 shots has not yet come to the attention of the guard. But how to get into the moving target if there is interference? I do not think IMHO what will be effective, but for hospitals and disturbing fire guided minarets there is an interesting option

Экспериментальный 60-мм миномёт бесшумной стрельбы ГНИАП

Все артиллерийские орудия традиционных схем, в том числе минометы, при стрельбе производят определенный шум, а также «демонстрируют» крупную дульную вспышку. Громкий звук выстрела и пламя могут демаскировать позицию орудия и упростить нанесение ответного удара. По этой причине войскам могут быть интересны особые образцы орудий, отличающиеся уменьшенной громкостью выстрела и отсутствием вспышки. В начале восьмидесятых годов одно из советских научно-исследовательских учреждений предложило оригинальный проект легкого миномета с подобными возможностями.

По известным данным, на рубеже семидесятых и восьмидесятых годов советские ученые и конструкторы из нескольких организаций оборонной промышленности занимались проработкой вопросов сокращения шумности артиллерии, в том числе легких переносных систем. Вместе с прочими учреждениями эту тематику изучал Государственный научно-исследовательский артиллерийский полигон (ГНИАП). В начале восьмидесятых его сотрудники предложили оригинальное решение поставленной задачи, и вскоре появился готовый образец бесшумного миномета.


Экспериментальный миномет с необычными возможностями был создан и подан на испытания в 1981 году. Он создавался группой конструкторов ГНИАП под руководством В.И. Королева, Н.И. Иванова и С.В. Зуева. В связи со своей специфической ролью проект не получил никакого собственного обозначения или индекса. Он известен под простейшим названием – «60-мм миномет бесшумной стрельбы». Нельзя не отметить, что и такое название в полной мере раскрывало суть проекта.

Экспериментальный 60-мм миномёт бесшумной стрельбы ГНИАП


Проблема сокращения шума и исключения вспышки оказалась достаточно сложной, что сказалось на способах ее решения. В новом проекте пришлось создать новые конструкции миномета и мины для него, серьезно отличающиеся от существующих. Так, от вспышки и ударной волны предлагалось избавиться за счет т.н. запирания пороховых газов внутри боеприпаса. Для правильной работы с такой миной оружие должно было сочетать в себе основные особенности ствольного и шточного минометов. Одновременно с этим в конструкции миномета планировалось использовать нехарактерные для отечественного оружия решения.

Специалисты ГНИАП предложили оригинальную конструкцию оружия, даже внешне отличавшегося от других отечественных образцов своего класса. Прежде всего, была применена схема «унитарный ствол», крайне редко использовавшаяся в советской практике. Ствол предлагалось монтировать только на соответствующих приспособлениях опорной плиты, тогда как двунога для дополнительной опоры на грунт отсутствовала. Также имелись и внутренние отличия, обусловленные необходимостью использования особой мины.

Главной деталью нового миномета был ствол особой конструкции. Использовался 60-мм гладкий ствол длиной 365 мм. Новая мина не создавала высокого давления внутри ствола, что позволило в разумных пределах сократить его длину, прочность и, следовательно, массу. Казенник выполнили в виде отдельной детали, включающей стакан для установки ствола и шаровую опору для закрепления на «лафете». На передней части казенника находился сравнительно прочный шток диаметром 20 мм. Казенник также вмещал детали несложного стреляющего механизма.

Отсутствие двуноги сказалось на конструкции опорной плиты и связанных с ней деталей. Ствол и плита соединялись при помощи т.н. узла крепления и наведения – фактически компактного верхнего станка, подобного используемым на артиллерийских лафетах. Эта конструкция обеспечивала горизонтальную и вертикальную наводку ствола. Угол возвышения изменялся от +45° до +80°. В горизонтальной плоскости «лафет» со стволом перемещались в пределах сектора шириной 10°. При необходимости переноса огня на больший угол пришлось бы перемещать весь миномет.

Опорная плита бесшумного миномета была выполнена в виде диска диаметром 340 мм с набором выступов и различных устройств на верхней и нижней поверхностях. Сверху на плите имелся боковой выступ, а в центре предусматривался шарнир для установки узла крепления. Снизу на плите расположили несколько скругленных выступов, под которыми находились небольшие сошники в виде вертикальных металлических дисков малого диаметра. Подобная конструкция плиты могла обеспечить достаточное заглубление в грунт и эффективную передачу импульса отдачи.

На центральной части плиты размещался поворотный узел крепления и наведения. Непосредственно с плитой контактировала ось, над которой находилась обойма для шаровой опоры ствола. Сзади над обоймой предусмотрели стойку для монтажа некоторых механизмов наводки. Также узел крепления имел пару боковых деталей сложной формы, защищавших прочие устройства от внешнего воздействия.

Наведение по горизонтали следовало выполнять поворотом ствола и узла крепления вокруг вертикальной оси. Отдельные приводы или механизмы для этого не использовались. Для вертикальной наводки конструкторы использовали несложный винтовой механизм. Он состоял из неподвижной трубки с внутренней резьбой, закрепленной сзади на опоре узла крепления, и внутреннего винта. Последний шарнирно соединялся с хомутом на казенной части ствола. Поворот винта вокруг продольной оси приводил к его поступательному перемещению, а вместе с тем и к наклону ствола.

60-мм миномет бесшумной стрельбы являлся исключительно экспериментальным образцом и предназначался для проведения опытов, что сказалось на составе его оборудования. Так, миномет не имел никаких прицельных приспособлений. Более того, проект не предусматривал даже использование креплений под прицел. Конструкторов ГНИАП интересовали вопросы шума, и поэтому особые требования к точности стрельбы не предъявлялись.

По известным данным, миномет был выполнен разборным. Для транспортировки его можно было разделить на три части: ствол, узел крепления и наводки, а также опорную плиту. Впрочем, и без этого опытное оружие имело приемлемую эргономику, обеспечивавшую определенное удобство переноски и эксплуатации. Возможность разборки могла бы пригодиться при дальнейшем развитии проекта с последующим поступлением миномета на вооружение.

Экспериментальный миномет отличался малыми габаритами и массой. Максимальная высота изделия, при угле возвышения 85°, не превышала 400 мм. Длина и ширина в таком случае определялись диаметром опорной плиты – 340 мм. Масса в боевом положении – всего 15,4 кг. При этом значительная часть массы приходилась на крупную и тяжелую опорную плиту. Обслуживать оружие мог расчет из двух человек.


Для нового миномета был разработан особый боеприпас. В конструкции этой мины использовались принципы шточного боеприпаса и запирания пороховых газов. Эти решения привели к тому, что новая мина внешне значительно отличалась от «традиционных» боеприпасов. Одновременно с этим, несмотря на все нововведения, изделие имело достаточно простую конструкцию при приемлемых характеристиках.

Мина получила головную часть с цилиндрическим корпусом диаметром 60 мм, дополненным коническим обтекателем. Этот корпус должен был вмещать заряд взрывчатого вещества массой в сотни граммов. Сзади к корпусу присоединялся трубчатый хвостовик с оперением. Хвостовик выполнили полым: в его передней части помещался метательный заряд, сразу за которым находился специальный подвижный поршень. Канал хвостовика выполнили таким образом, чтобы в него мог входить шток миномета, а поршень имел возможность свободного перемещения, но затормаживался в заднем положении.

Мина для 60-мм миномета бесшумной стрельбы имела общую длину около 660 мм и была заметно длиннее ствола. Вследствие этого при заряжании значительная часть корпуса выступала перед дульным срезом. Такая особенность конструкции придавала заряженному миномету характерный внешний вид. В то же время, оружие не нуждалось в отдельном индикаторе наличия мины в стволе – эти функции выполнял сам боеприпас.

Объединение агрегатов ствольного и шточного минометов, а также использование запирания пороховых газов привело к получению специфического принципа работы оружия. Подготовка миномета к выстрелу не отличалась сложностью. Мину следовало поместить в миномет с дула. При этом стабилизатор на хвостовике обеспечивал центрирование и позволял надеть хвостовик на шток внутри ствола. После смещения мины в крайнее заднее положение с упором стабилизатора в казенник оружие было готово к выстрелу.

Использование спускового рычага приводило к смещению ударника и воспламенению метательного заряда внутри мины. Расширяющиеся пороховые газы должны были давить на подвижный поршень внутри хвостовика, а через него взаимодействовать со штоком миномета. Поршень оставался неподвижным относительно оружия, тогда как мина разгонялась и покидала ствол. Подвижная деталь внутри хвостовика затормаживалась в крайнем заднем положении, в результате чего газы оказывались запертыми внутри мины. Благодаря этому исключалось образование дульной вспышки и ударной волны, ответственной за шум выстрела.

По известным данным, в 1981 году специалисты ГНИАП собрали опытный бесшумный миномет и отправили его на стрельбище для проверки. К сожалению, информация об огневых характеристиках этого изделия отсутствует. По всей видимости, 60-мм мина особой конструкции могла улетать на дистанции не менее нескольких сотен метров, а ограниченные объемы ее головной части не позволяли получить высокое фугасное или осколочное действие. Тем не менее, цели проекта были иными – конструкторы планировали определить реальные перспективы необычной архитектуры оружия и боеприпаса.

В некоторых источниках упоминается, что 60-мм миномет от ГНИАП действительно показал резкое сокращение громкости шума выстрела. Наличие движущихся металлических деталей не исключало некоторый лязг, но отсутствие дульной ударной волны значительно уменьшило общий шум при стрельбе. В условиях полигона удалось на практике подтвердить правильность примененных идей.

Экспериментальный 60-мм миномет бесшумной стрельбы подтвердил свои возможности и продемонстрировал потенциал новой архитектуры оружия. При наличии соответствующего заказа армии предложенная концепция могла получить развитие и привести к появлению полноценного миномета. Однако потенциальный заказчик не заинтересовался предложенными идеями, и работы по всей тематике на долгое время остановились.

К счастью, оригинальные принципы бесшумного миномета не были забыты. В середине прошлого десятилетия этой тематикой занялся нижегородский ЦНИИ «Буревестник». В рамках опытно-конструкторской работы с шифром «Супермодель» эта организация разработала новый легкий миномет калибра 50 мм, предназначенный для использования специальных мин с запиранием газов. Готовый миномет 2Б25 «Галл» был представлен в конце двухтысячных годов, а затем, после некоторой доработки, его предложили будущим заказчикам.

Миномет 2Б25 имеет облегченный ствол с внутренним штоком для взаимодействия с хвостовиком мины. Выстрел для «Галла» так же использует основные идеи и решения проекта 1981 года. В то же время, современный бесшумный миномет получил иные средства наведения и опорную плиту, больше похожие на «традиционные» агрегаты из других отечественных проектов.

Для решения специальных задач войскам может быть нужно особое оружие – к примеру, бесшумные минометы. В то же время, подобное вооружение является узкоспециализированным и имеет серьезные ограничения разного рода. Вероятно, именно по этой причине 60-мм миномет бесшумной стрельбы от Главного научно-исследовательского артиллерийского полигона так и остался экспериментальным образцом и не получил дальнейшего развития. Впрочем, оригинальные идеи не забыли и все же применили в новом проекте, пусть даже и через четверть века.

По материалам:
http://bratishka.ru/
http://russianarms.ru/
http://war-russia.info/
Широкорад А.Б. Отечественные минометы и реактивная артиллерия. – Мн., Харвест, 2000.
Автор:
Рябов Кирилл
Использованы фотографии:
Bratishka.ru
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

6 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти