Military Review

TOZ-123. Tsar Cannon for the Hunter

17
In the 90 of the last century in the Russian civilian market weapons an amazing weapon appeared that combined the concepts of two types of weapons: a "duck" gun and police weapons for shooting special weapons.


TOZ-123. Tsar Cannon for the Hunter


In the nineteenth century, weavers were used for mass production of waterfowl — huge rifles of great mass and monstrous caliber. Some copies of this duck genocide tool had a caliber of 50 mm and could shoot up to a half a kilogram of lead shot. The weight of the device was appropriate - there were instances weighing in centners.



Shooting from such a device with the hands was impossible. It was placed on special anchorages in the bow of the boats from which they hunted, which made these guns with falconets — small-caliber cannons, which were mounted on the bow or sides of small vessels. However, if the falconta were mounted on a swivel, then the biggest shepherds were aimed at the target (flocks of ducks or geese on the water) turning the boat.



They say that a good shot from such a "gun" could kill up to a hundred ducks.

With the spread of breech-like hunting rifles, as well as a change in attitudes to hunting, which became more sport than the way of food, the female players significantly decreased in size and caliber. They looked like ordinary hunting rifles, and their caliber ranged from 10 to 4.



By the middle of the last century, however, they became exotic, and the hunter’s main caliber was 12.

A large caliber proved to be in demand for police weapons intended for shooting special ammunition - gas grenades and rubber / plastic bullets.

With regard to the latter, it was necessary to ensure the effectiveness of traumatic ammunition at considerable distances (up to 70 meters) and, at the same time, to exclude or minimize the possibility of death when used at close range. To combine these poorly matched requirements, they increased the mass and diameter of the projectile.

Back in 70-ies, on the order of the USSR Ministry of Internal Affairs, the development of weapons began to combat riots, as well as to support assault groups in apprehending highly dangerous criminals and in conducting counter-terrorist operations.



This gun came into service only in 1985 year, and so far the KS-23 (special carbine) is in service with the power special units of the Russian Federation.

The weapon is made according to the “pump-type” type: reloading is carried out by movement, cartridges are fed from a triple under-barrel tubular magazine. Ammunition for this rifle is fitted into sleeves of caliber 4 (mm 26). The caliber of the COP (23 mm) due to rifling, which is necessary to improve the accuracy of shooting rubber bullets or grenades with irritants, “eats” 3 mm. This weapon has occupied its own, we note, rather narrow niche, where it is successfully used to this day.

In 90-s, when the conversion programs were deployed in almost all enterprises of the domestic military-industrial complex, it was decided to “fence” and “special carbine”, and put it on the civilian market.

This decision was implemented by Klimovskiy TsNIITochmash, and the Tula Arms Plant began production of caliber 4 hunting rifles under the name TOZ-123.



Some sources indicate that a number of similar rifles were produced in Klimovsk.

The only difference between TOZ-123 (or “Drake-4”) and KS-23 is the absence of rifling in its trunk. So the gun is smooth-bore, and there were no problems with its certification.



Shutter at the gun sliding; the barrel is locked by turning the bolt. The trigger mechanism is installed on a separate basis. The gun has a button fuse mounted in front of the trigger guard. The second lever-type fuse is located on the left behind the trigger guard and is designed to prevent premature unlocking of the barrel and to prevent accidental firing when the shutter is not fully closed. The aim device is simple and consists of a front sight and a rifle sight.



There is also a bracket for attaching an optical or collimator sight on the “Drake”, if there are willing to do it. In the ordinary version, TOZ-123, as well as the “grandparent” (KS-23), has a wooden butt with a rubber butt pad-damper and a plastic forearm. In the "piece" version of TOZ-123-01, the forend and butt are made of walnut.

The chamber and the barrel bore are chrome-plated, which is standard for Russian weapons. Weight gun - 4,5 kg, length - 122 cm.

Cartridges used: 4 caliber with sleeve length 81mm. And of course, the most interesting thing is the links for this “giant”.

For some time, TsNIITochmash produced fourth-caliber cartridges in papk sleeves, which had a weight of Falcon powder 3,9 g and 47 g. That, of course, is quite modest for such a gun. After all, similar and even large batches can be fired from magnum and X-magnum supermagnet.

However, the factory shotgun cartridges are no longer for sale, and the owners of this gun are forced to equip the cartridges themselves. According to the owners of "Drake", the weight of the projectile used in their 60 g ammunition and more.



The main problem for the "scooters" is the lack of sales of sleeves, wads, gaskets 4 caliber. As well as matrices, twists and decapsulators - capsulators. And if the sleeves can be used from signal cartridges to the “rocket launchers” of the joint venture 81, then the equipment for the equipment has to be made independently.

On the network you can find a description of the use of aluminum sleeves in TOZ-123 from aviation anti-missile systems of the ASO type with a slight alteration.

In the ASO systems, fourth-caliber cartridges with an electric capsule are used, shooting “heat traps” for enemy missiles. In the spent cartridges, the electric capsule is removed from the ASO cartridges, and a sleeve is installed in an artisanal manner, into which a standard capsule of the type “Zhevelo” or KV is pressed.



As the name suggests, the creators of the rifle sought to return the tradition of the “weavers” to hunting practice and assumed that with the “Drake-4” they would hunt duck or goose flocks during a massive flight from an orphanage or a boat. However, if you do not set yourself the task of lime waterfowl under the root, on such hunts you can successfully manage 12-m or even 16-m. This "Tsar Cannon" was not successful among Russian hunters. I think that is quite predictable. After all, even at the end of the 19th and the beginning of the 20th century, when the shotguns were much more popular, they were not manufactured in large quantities, but individually, to order.

There was a definite hope for export to the USA, where, perhaps, TOZ-123 would find buyers among the lovers of exotic weapons. But the administration of Bill Clinton, the then American president, blocked the supply to the arms market of the country of many brands of Russian civilian weapons, among which was Drake-4.



Be that as it may, the gun was produced only two years, from 1996 to 1998 a year, and according to some sources, it was released about two hundred copies.

Contrary to the legends walking around the weapon forums, the return of TOZ-123, even with large weights, although more than that of a magnum 12 caliber, is quite portable by the average addition shooter. There is no question of any broken clavicles and inverted shoulders.

But shooting from him, of course, is not too comfortable. And for a plinking this mighty gun is hardly suitable, and not only because ammunition is a big problem for him.

However, today this may be the last one to stories Weapons is of considerable interest to collectors. The price for it may be close to 150.000 rubles. If we consider that about two hundred of these guns were fired in all, this is not so much ... Guns of ordinary calibers and characteristics from such small batches can cost more.
Author:
17 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. san4es
    san4es 15 October 2018 08: 31
    +4
    In the nineteenth century dummies were used for mass production of waterfowl
    They say that a successful shot from such a "weapon" could kill up to a hundred ducks .... hi
  2. alex-cn
    alex-cn 15 October 2018 08: 39
    +3
    I saw a shot from the eighth caliber ... I did not ask to try.
  3. garri-lin
    garri-lin 15 October 2018 12: 24
    +1
    A short barrel for self-protection would take. I think any gopota having seen the diameter of the trunk directed at them will prefer to retire. And if without jokes, then outwardly it looks very beautiful. It is a pity that little is produced and the price is high.
    1. Horse, people and soul
      Horse, people and soul 15 October 2018 12: 47
      0
      I’m afraid that after a shot by, you, who fell from recoil, would simply be kicked, if not worse.

      hi
      1. garri-lin
        garri-lin 15 October 2018 12: 58
        +2
        Well, he made it clear that it was a joke. Although it is quite difficult to knock over my 100> kg with a shot.
        1. Horse, people and soul
          Horse, people and soul 15 October 2018 13: 30
          +2
          Do not be offended.

          drinks

          By the way, yours and mine 100 kg, like many other men today, is precisely the reason why PMs are removed from service and replaced with 9x19.

          PM was done on the post-war generation of dystrophics, eating on cards. Then the men were the growth of 160-170 centimeters and weighing 60-70 kilograms. Indeed, the PM bullet had a stopping effect on them. On African pygmies or Vietnamese - even more.

          And today the waist volume of our sworn partners is 150 centimeters and a weight of 150 kilograms. Even the usual .45 ACP jacketed bullet does not take them, and the police use "hunting", expansive ammunition.

          So, the adoption of a more powerful cartridge in Russia is quite understandable. There is no stopping action of a bullet without describing the parameters of the target that it stops. The parameters of potential targets have changed - the stopping effect of the PM bullet has also changed. For the worse.

          hi
          1. garri-lin
            garri-lin 15 October 2018 14: 07
            0
            Yes, I'm not offended. It’s just that the weather in the morning is good and a little bit sickly. Moreover, in dashing years I really dreamed of KS23. Nostalgia inspired.
  4. Horse, people and soul
    Horse, people and soul 15 October 2018 12: 43
    0
    The genocide of ducks ...

    wassat
    1. Theodore
      Theodore 15 October 2018 18: 02
      0
      Weapons of mass destruction ! recourse
  5. Curious
    Curious 15 October 2018 18: 22
    +2
    The author for some reason decided that the 4th caliber was only accurate. In the XIX century, this caliber was widely used in hunting weapons.

    This is Henry Morton Stanley's "single barrel", which he used on his African travels.
    1. Curious
      Curious 15 October 2018 18: 27
      +1

      And this is a modern gun made to order. For comparison on the left A 500/465 Nitro Express Holland & Holland.
    2. Warrior2015
      Warrior2015 18 October 2018 11: 10
      +2
      Quote: Curious
      This is Henry Morton Stanley's "single barrel", which he used on his African travels.

      A good weapon is always beautiful! and effective!
  6. Horse, people and soul
    Horse, people and soul 15 October 2018 18: 38
    +1
    Well, your mother’s soul ...

  7. Compasure
    Compasure 15 October 2018 22: 27
    0
    I climbed into the arms forum, a man sold this miracle 4 years ago, along with cartridges for 200 thousand rubles, he was laughed at ... But if this gun was actually released 200 pieces, then the price should definitely fly up
    1. Horse, people and soul
      Horse, people and soul 15 October 2018 22: 42
      0
      The Americans had to sell.
      1. Compasure
        Compasure 15 October 2018 22: 43
        0
        So they wanted it - they didn’t let it go!
  8. Larum
    Larum 17 October 2018 10: 23
    0
    Called "Tsar Cannon" - and jinxed

Военное обозрение

ТОЗ-123. Царь-пушка для охотника

17
В 90-е годы минувшего столетия на российском рынке гражданского оружия появилось удивительное оружие, соединившее в себе концепции двух типов оружия: «утиного» ружья и полицейского оружия для отстрела спецбоеприпасов.


ТОЗ-123. Царь-пушка для охотника


В ХIХ веке для массовой добычи водоплавающих птиц использовались уточницы — огромные ружья большой массы и чудовищного калибра. Некоторые экземпляры этого инструмента утиного геноцида имели калибр 50 мм и могли выстрелить до полкилограмма свинцовой дроби. Вес девайса был соответствующим – встречались экземпляры весом в центнер.



Стрельба из такого устройства с рук была невозможна. Его размещали на специальных креплениях в носу лодок, с которых охотились, что роднило эти ружья с фальконетами – малокалиберными пушками, которые устанавливались на носу или бортах небольших судов. Впрочем, если фальконеты монтировались на вертлюге, то самые большие уточницы наводились на цель (стаю уток или гусей на воде) разворотом лодки.



Говорят, что удачным выстрелом из такого «орудия» можно было убить до сотни уток.

По мере распространения казнозарядных охотничьих ружей, а также изменения взглядов на охоту, которая в большей степени становилась спортом, нежели способом пропитания, уточницы значительно уменьшились в габаритах и калибрах. Они стали похожими на обыкновенные охотничьи ружья, а калибр их колебался от 10-го до 4-го.



Впрочем, и они к середине прошлого столетия стали экзотикой, а «главным калибром» охотника стал 12-й.

Большой калибр оказался востребован и для полицейского оружия, предназначенного для отстрела специальных боеприпасов – газовых гранат и резиновых/пластиковых пуль.

Что касается последних, то необходимо было обеспечить эффективность травматических боеприпасов на значительных дистанциях (до 70 метров) и при этом исключить или свести к минимуму возможность летального исхода при их применении на близком расстоянии. Чтобы совместить эти плохо сочетаемые требования, увеличивали массу и диаметр снаряда.

Еще в 70-е годы по заказу МВД СССР началась разработка оружия для борьбы с массовыми беспорядками, а также для поддержки штурмовых групп при задержании особо опасных преступников и для проведения контртеррористических операций.



На вооружение данное ружье поступило лишь в 1985-м году, и до сих пор КС-23 (карабин специальный) состоит на вооружении силовых специальных подразделений Российской Федерации.

Оружие выполнено по «помповому» типу: перезарядка осуществляется движением, патроны подаются из трехместного подствольного трубчатого магазина. Боеприпасы для этого ружья снаряжаются в гильзы 4-го калибра (26 мм). Калибр же КС (23 мм) за счет нарезов, которые необходимы для повышения точности стрельбы резиновыми пулями или гранатами с ирритантами, «съедает» 3 мм. Это оружие заняло свою, отметим, довольно узкую, нишу, где с успехом применяется по сей день.

В 90-е годы, когда конверсионные программы были развернуты практически на всех предприятиях отечественного ВПК, было принято решение «огражданить» и «карабин специальный», и пустить его на гражданский рынок.

Это решение и было реализовано Климовским ЦНИИТочмашем, и Тульский оружейным завод начал производство охотничьих ружей 4 калибра под наименованием ТОЗ-123.



Некоторые источники указывают, что некоторое количество аналогичных ружей было выпущено и в Климовске.

Единственным отличием ТОЗ-123 (или «Селезня-4») от КС-23 является отсутствие нарезов в его стволе. Так что ружье гладкоствольное, и никаких проблем с его сертификацией не возникло.



Затвор у ружья скользящий; запирание канала ствола осуществляется поворотом затвора. Ударно-спусковой механизм установлен на отдельном основании. Ружьё имеет кнопочный предохранитель, установленный в передней части спусковой скобы. Второй предохранитель рычажного типа расположен слева за спусковой скобой и предназначен для предотвращения преждевременного отпирания канала ствола и исключения случайного выстрела при не полностью закрытом затворе. Прицельное приспособление — простое и состоит из мушки и целика винтовочного типа.



Есть на «Селезне» и кронштейн для крепления оптического или коллиматорного прицела, если найдутся желающие это сделать. В рядовом исполнении ТОЗ-123, как и «прародитель» (КС-23), имеет деревянный приклад с резиновым затыльником-амортизатором и пластиковое цевье. В «штучном» исполнении ТОЗ-123-01 цевьё и приклад выполнены из ореховой древесины.

Патронник и канал ствола хромированы, что является стандартным для российского оружия. Вес ружья – 4,5 кг, длина – 122 см.

Используемые патроны: 4 калибра с длиной гильзы 81мм. И конечно, самое интересное — это навески для этого «гиганта».

ЦНИИТочмаш некоторое время выпускал патроны четвертого калибра в папковых гильзах, имевших навеску пороха «Сокол» 3,9 г и дроби 47 г. Что, конечно, довольно скромно для такого ружья. Ведь подобными и даже большими навесками можно стрелять из магнума и супермагнума 12 калибра.

Впрочем, фабричных дробовых патронов в продаже больше нет, и владельцы этого ружья вынуждены снаряжать патроны самостоятельно. Согласно сообщениям обладателей «Селезня», вес снаряда в используемых ими боеприпасах 60 г и больше.



Главной проблемой для «самокрутчиков» является отсутствие в продаже гильз, пыжей, прокладок 4 калибра. А также матриц, закруток и декапсуляторов – капсуляторов. И если гильзы можно использовать от сигнальных патронов к «ракетницам» СП-81, то приборы для снаряжения приходится изготавливать самостоятельно.

В сети можно найти описание использования в ТОЗ-123 алюминиевых гильз от авиационных противоракетных систем типа АСО с небольшой переделкой.

В системах АСО используются патроны четвертого калибра с электрическим капсюлем, отстреливающие «тепловые ловушки» для ракет противника. В отстрелянных гильзах от патронов АСО электрический капсюль удаляется, и кустарным путем устанавливается втулка, в которую запрессовывается стандартный капсюль типа «Жевело» или КВ.



Как следует из названия, создатели ружья стремились вернуть в охотничью практику традицию «уточниц» и предполагали, что с «Селезнем-4» будут охотиться на утиные или гусиные стаи при массовом пролёте из засидки или из лодки. Впрочем, если не ставить перед собой задачу извести водоплавающих птиц под корень, на подобных охотах можно с успехом обходиться 12-м или даже 16-м. У российских охотников эта «царь-пушка» успеха не имела. Думаю, что вполне предсказуемо. Ведь даже в конце ХIХ – начале ХХ века, когда ружья-уточницы были куда более популярны, они изготовлялись не массово, а штучно, на заказ.

Была определенная надежда на экспорт в США, где, возможно ТОЗ-123 и нашло бы покупателей среди любителей оружейной экзотики. Но администрация Билла Клинтона, тогдашнего американского президента, заблокировала поставку на оружейный рынок страны многих марок российского гражданского оружия, среди которых был и «Селезень-4».



Как бы то ни было, но ружье выпускалось всего два года, с 1996 по 1998 год, и по некоторым данным, его было выпущено около двух сотен экземпляров.

Вопреки легендам, гуляющим по оружейным форумам, отдача ТОЗ-123, даже при больших навесках, хоть и больше, чем у магнума 12 калибра, но вполне переносима стрелком среднего сложения. Ни о каких сломанных ключицах и вывернутых плечах речи нет.

Но стрельба из него, конечно, не слишком комфортна. И для плинкинга это могучее ружье едва ли подходит, и не только потому, что боеприпасы для него — большая проблема.

Впрочем, сегодня эта, возможно, последняя уточница в истории оружия представляет немалый интерес для коллекционеров. Цена на него может приближаться к 150.000 рублей. Если учесть, что всего было выпущено около двух сотен этих ружей, это не так уж и много… Ружья обычных калибров и характеристик из таких небольших партий могут стоить и дороже.
Автор:
17 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. san4es
    san4es 15 октября 2018 08:31
    +4
    В ХIХ веке для массовой добычи водоплавающих птиц использовались уточницы
    Говорят, что удачным выстрелом из такого «орудия» можно было убить до сотни уток.... hi
  2. алекс-сп
    алекс-сп 15 октября 2018 08:39
    +3
    Видел я выстрел из восьмого калибра... просить попробовать не стал.
  3. garri-lin
    garri-lin 15 октября 2018 12:24
    +1
    Короткий ствол для самозашиты взял бы. Думаю любая гопота увидев диаметр направленного на них ствола предпочтёт ретироватся. А если без шуток то внешне выглядит очень красиво. Жалко что мало выпушено и цена высокая.
    1. Конь, людовѣдъ и душѣлюбъ
      Конь, людовѣдъ и душѣлюбъ 15 октября 2018 12:47
      0
      Боюсь, что после выстрела мимо, Вас, упавшего от отдачи, просто запинали бы ногами, если не сказать хуже.

      hi
      1. garri-lin
        garri-lin 15 октября 2018 12:58
        +2
        Ну дал же понять что шутка. Хотя опрокинуть мои 100> кг выстрелом достаточно сложно.
        1. Конь, людовѣдъ и душѣлюбъ
          Конь, людовѣдъ и душѣлюбъ 15 октября 2018 13:30
          +2
          Не обижайтесь.

          drinks

          Кстати, Ваши и мои 100 кг, как и у многих других сегодняшних мужиков и есть как раз та самая причина, по которой ПМ снимают с вооружения и заменяют на 9х19.

          ПМ делали на послевоенное поколение дистрофиков, питающихся по карточкам. Тогда мужики были ростом 160-170 сантиметров и весом 60-70 килограммов. На них, дествительно, у пули ПМ было останавливающее действие. На африканских пигмеев или вьетнамцев - ещё большее.

          А сегодня объём талии у наших заклятых партнёров по 150 сантиметров и вес по 150 килограммов. Их даже обычная оболочечная пуля .45 АСР не берёт и полицейские используют "охотничий", экспансивный боеприпас.

          Так что, принятие на вооружение более мощного патрона в России вполне понятно. Не существует останавливающего действия пули без описания параметров цели, которую она останавливает. Изменились параметры потенциальных целей - изменилось и останавливающее действие пули ПМ. В худшую сторону.

          hi
          1. garri-lin
            garri-lin 15 октября 2018 14:07
            0
            Да я не обижаюсь. Просто погода с утра хорошоя вот малость и хуткую. Тем более что в лихие годы реально мечтал о КС23. Ностальгия навеяла.
  4. Конь, людовѣдъ и душѣлюбъ
    Конь, людовѣдъ и душѣлюбъ 15 октября 2018 12:43
    0
    Геноцид уток...

    wassat
    1. ФЕОДОР
      ФЕОДОР 15 октября 2018 18:02
      0
      Оружие массового поражения ! recourse
  5. Curious
    Curious 15 октября 2018 18:22
    +2
    Автор почему то решил, что 4-й калибр имели только уточницы. В XIX веке этот калибр широко использовался в охотничьем оружии.

    Это "одностволка" Генри Мортона Стэнли, которой он пользовался в своих африканских путешествиях.
    1. Curious
      Curious 15 октября 2018 18:27
      +1

      А это уже современное ружье, выполненоое на заказ. Для сравнения слева A 500/465 Nitro Express Holland & Holland.
    2. Ратник2015
      Ратник2015 18 октября 2018 11:10
      +2
      Цитата: Curious
      Это "одностволка" Генри Мортона Стэнли, которой он пользовался в своих африканских путешествиях.

      Хорошее оружие всегда красиво ! и эффективно !
  6. Конь, людовѣдъ и душѣлюбъ
    Конь, людовѣдъ и душѣлюбъ 15 октября 2018 18:38
    +1
    Пульки ж, твою Бога душу мать...

  7. Compasure
    Compasure 15 октября 2018 22:27
    0
    Слазил на оружейный форум, мужик это чудо продавал года 4-е назад вместе с патронами за 200 тыс.руб., его обсмеяли... Но если этого ружья реально было выпущено 200 штук, то цена точно должна взлететь
    1. Конь, людовѣдъ и душѣлюбъ
      Конь, людовѣдъ и душѣлюбъ 15 октября 2018 22:42
      0
      Американцам надо было продавать.
      1. Compasure
        Compasure 15 октября 2018 22:43
        0
        Так хотели же - не пустили !
  8. Larum
    Larum 17 октября 2018 10:23
    0
    Назвал "Царь-пушка" - и сглазил