Military Review

M2A2 Terrastar self-propelled gun (USA)

4
The concept of self-propelled gun (DLS) offers the optimal ratio of the mobility of the artillery system and the complexity of its production. At the same time, not all samples of this kind were able to show the desired characteristics. Thus, in the early sixties, two self-propelled howitzers were tested in the United States, which could not demonstrate high mobility. A few years later, Lockheed proposed a new version of LMS, characterized by the use of the most daring ideas. As it was believed, the M2A2 Terrastar can have a uniquely high mobility and throughput.


Recall that from 1962 on the American test sites, the LMS of the XM123 and XM124 models were tested. Two products had different artillery units, but they were built according to similar principles and received similar additional equipment. Initially, they had a pair of 20-strong engines and hydraulic transmission, but this equipment could not provide high mobility. Removing one of the engines and installing an electric transmission also did not lead to the desired results. In addition, both LMS had serious problems when shooting.


Self-propelled gun M2A2 in the museum. Photo of Wikimedia Commons


By the mid-sixties, the XM123 and XM124 projects were closed due to a number of unsolvable problems. For several years, the development of the American DLS stopped. However, the situation soon changed. Lockheed's specialists have found an acceptable way to drastically increase the terrain of ground vehicles, including self-propelled guns. At first it was tested on an experienced all-terrain vehicle, and then introduced into the project the DLS.

In 1967, Lockheed employees Robert and John Forsyths proposed a tri-star (“Triple Star”) wheeled undercarriage design. Such a propulsion unit was based on an assembly in the form of a three-beam cage, on which three wheels and several gears were present. It was assumed that such units will allow the wheeled vehicle to overcome various obstacles, including quite large and too complex for other equipment.

Soon, experienced Terrastar ATVs were built and tested, equipped with four Tri-star units. The transmission provided the drive of all four products. During the tests, high mobility and maneuverability on rough terrain were confirmed. An unusual mover got the chances to get into new projects of ultra-high maneuverability.

At the very end of the sixties, several proposals appeared on the use of the Triple Star on a particular technique. Among other things, it was proposed to build a new self-propelled gun. It was assumed that the new model with an improved chassis will have increased permeability required on the battlefield. Such an LMS could show the most significant advantages over previous models of its class, and thus find a place in the army.


The M2A1 howitzer is the future M101A1. Photo US War Department


In creating a new LMS, Lockheed gained the support of the Rock Island Arsenal, which was already involved in the development of similar projects. Arsenal was supposed to provide the base gun and the carriage, and Lockheed experts were responsible for the development of new equipment and the subsequent assembly of a prototype. In the future, by joint efforts, they had to carry out tests and, upon successful completion of the work, establish mass production.

The new project received the working designation M2A2 and the additional name Terrastar (also found other writing - Terra-Star). It is curious that the index of promising LMS pointed to the basic model of weapons, but under its old name. The basic howitzer M101A1 in the past was designated as M2A1. The additional name of the project, in turn, emphasized the continuity with the previous experienced all-terrain vehicle.

As the basis for the M2A2, we chose the existing M101A1 field howitzer of the 105 mm caliber with a regular gun. From this product it was planned to remove some units, and in addition, it was planned to install a number of new devices, including the most interesting ones. First of all, it was planned to replace the wheel travel and install the new power plant, which in its scheme resembled the aggregates of older DLS.

The swinging artillery part of the gun remained the same. Used threaded 105-mm barrel length 22 caliber, not equipped with any muzzle devices. The brigade of the howitzer was completed with a semi-automatic horizontal wedge gate. The barrel was equipped with hydropneumatic recoil devices and mounted on a cradle of great length with a characteristic rear guide. Near the breech on the cradle there were pins for mounting on the gun carriage. Under the rear rail provided spring balancing device.


Tri-star block with cover removed. Photo Lockheed


The M101A1 carriage was quite simple; the main part of its details without changes was transferred to the new project. The upper machine was a support of small height with devices for mounting the cradle and the side sectors of the vertical pickup. The lower machine had the form of a transverse beam with fastenings for all devices, including wheel travel, beds and the upper machine. In the M2A2 project, some units were removed from the lower machine, and power plant elements appeared on its front end. Unlike other samples based on M101A1, there was no shield cover on the carriage of the new howitzer.

Manual guidance drives were saved. With their help, the gunner could move the barrel within the horizontal sector 23 ° to the right and left of the longitudinal axis. Elevation angles varied from -5 ° to + 66 °. On the left side of the cradle there were attachments for sights. The standard sights of the base howitzer provided shooting both with direct fire and with mounted trajectories.

Layout left existing sliding bed welded construction. They were pivotally connected to the lower machine and could be fixed in the reduced position for carrying. On the back of the bedding there were coulters for laying in the ground when shooting. In the M2A2 project, the left frame remained unchanged, while on the right it was planned to mount several new devices and units.

First of all, in the back of the right frame placed the power plant. According to known data, a small power internal combustion engine was used, which transmitted power to hydraulic pumps. The pressure was transferred through the hoses to a pair of hydromotors installed in front of the bottom mast machine. Directly on the carriage were placed two mechanical gearboxes that ensured the transfer of engine power to propulsion. The engines themselves were mounted on the crankcase of the gearboxes.

To the right of the power plant was the driver's seat. Control levers were placed next to it to monitor the operation of hydraulic motors. With the help of a pair of levers, the driver could control the pressure at the inlet to the motors of the two thrusters. The synchronous change of this parameter allowed changing the speed and moving straight ahead. The difference in the speeds of the two motors introduced the LMS into a turn.

M2A2 Terrastar self-propelled gun (USA)
Terrastar howitzer on tests. Photo by Militaryimages.net


Instead of the standard wheel track, the LDS M2A2 received the original Tri-star undercarriage. On the transverse axis of the gearbox, a special design with three wheels and its own means of power transmission was fixed. Howitzer received two such devices - one instead of standard wheels.

From the inside, next to the carriage, the Tri-star product had a flat casing of three-beam shape, in which there were gearing elements. The shaft entering the casing was connected to the central gear. In each of the "rays" of the casing there were two gear wheels of small diameter: one was intermediate, and the second was connected to the wheel axis. Thus, a single shaft from the engine or gearbox could ensure the simultaneous rotation of the three wheels in one direction. In addition, under certain circumstances, the drive shaft provided the rotation of the whole structure around its axis.

Tri-star propulsion for self-propelled howitzer was equipped with large-width wheels with low-pressure tires. It was assumed that this would reduce the specific pressure on the ground and further improve the permeability. From the outside, the axles of the three wheels were connected by a three-beam plate. For greater rigidity in the center of the structure, between the gearbox and the slab, a large diameter pipe passed.

Behind on the right frame placed an additional element of the chassis. On the self-orienting support there was a single wheel with a low-pressure tire. The use of another “triple star” on the bed was considered inexpedient. Rear wheel support could rise up when translating guns in the firing position.

The original chassis was large and had an impact on the overall dimensions of the howitzer. In addition, significantly increased the weight of the product. The total length of the M2A2 Terrastar LMS reached 6 m in the stowed position, the width increased to 3,5 m. The height remained at the same level - less than 1,8 m. The mass from the original 2,26 t increased to 2,5-2,6 t. should have shown the same characteristics as before. The initial velocity of the projectile, depending on its type, was at the level of 470 m / s, the firing range reached 11,3 km.


LMS in the combat position, rear view. Photo of Wikimedia Commons


In the stowed position on a flat surface, the M2A2 Terrastar howitzer was supposed to stand on five wheels at once. Each "triple star" of the main wheel travel was based on the two lower wheels, and the beds were supported by its own rear wheel. When driving in the same conditions, the torque was distributed simultaneously among all six driving wheels of the mast. Four "lower", standing on the ground, provided the movement. The new LMS, like its predecessors, had to drive the barrel forward.

The original propeller was supposed to show its advantages when hitting an obstacle or when driving over rough terrain. If there was a major obstacle in the way of the Tri-star, its forward movement stopped. At the same time, the motor continued to work, as a result of which the entire structure had to be turned around the standing wheel. During such a turn, the wheel at the top moved forward and down, getting the opportunity to stand on an obstacle. Receiving torque from the engine, the wheels could jointly drag the LMS onto an obstacle.

Overcoming the pits and ditches looked different. The front lower wheel should fall down, ensuring the rotation of the entire propulsion unit. Further, the whole structure had to climb another slope, like any other obstacle.

In other words, depending on the characteristics of the landscape, either the wheels or the entire Tri-star device are spinning. The front thrusters of the M2A2 cannon, which had a drive, were supposed to provide movement and overcome obstacles. The rear wheel rotated freely and was only responsible for maintaining the bedding at the required height above the ground.


The right carriage frame with power plant. Engines and pumps removed under the new casing. Photo of Wikimedia Commons


It was proposed to use existing towing vehicles when transporting M2A2 SDO over long distances. At the same time, the own power unit of the howitzer was not used. However, this did not prevent the use of the chassis for a certain increase in maneuverability in comparison with the wheel travel of the base howitzer.

The transfer of Terrastar into a combat situation was not very difficult. After arriving at the firing position, the calculation was to stop the engine, raise the bed and fold the back support with the wheel. Then it was necessary to separate the beds and perform other operations in preparation for the shooting. The principles of shooting have not changed.

The prototype M2A2 Terrastar advanced self-propelled gun was built in 1969 year. When assembling it, available components were used, probably from different howitzers. Thus, the involved artillery part of the M101A1 howitzer was made by the Rock Island arsenal as far back as 1945 year (at that time this weapon was designated as M2A1). The carriage, in turn, collected in 1954-m. After another decade and a half, the carriage was rebuilt according to a new project, turning the standard howitzer into a prototype.

Field tests conducted by the Rock Island arsenal and Lockheed showed that the new version of the DLS has the most significant advantages over the previous ones. Thus, a power plant of sufficient power and hydraulic transmission in combination with the used chassis allowed the howitzer to reach speeds up to 30-32 km / h on the highway. On rough terrain, the speed dropped several times, but at the same time there was a very high mobility.

It was found that the self-propelled howitzer, despite the limited engine power, has good maneuverability. Without difficulty or with minor difficulties, bumps or pits with a vertical dimension of the order of half a meter were overcome. In fact, the M2A2 gun was not afraid of obstacles whose dimensions were less than the distance from the surface to the Tri-star propulsion axis. Thus, in comparison with the previous LMS, mobility on the battlefield has improved significantly. There were obvious advantages over towed systems, since Terrastar did not need a towing vehicle.


Museum sample, rear view. Photo of Wikimedia Commons


However, it was not without problems. First of all, the carriage for the DLS was too complicated to manufacture and operate. In addition, the complexity of the "triple star" adversely affected the reliability of the whole structure. These or other breakdowns occurred regularly, as a result of which the LMS lost its course and needed to be repaired. In addition, the power units and chassis non-optimally consumed the engine power, which could make it difficult to overcome some obstacles.

Quickly enough, the military studied the proposed weapon and made conclusions. Despite the presence of a number of advantages over existing artillery systems, the M2A2 Terrastar was considered unsuitable for use. Not later than the beginning of the seventies, the Pentagon ordered to stop the further development of the project. The product has lost the chance to enter the series.

However, the developers did not abandon their project. The existing self-propelled gun was left in trial operation as an experimental sample. Over the next few years, Lockheed and Rock Island Arsenal conducted various tests, refined the structure and studied its capabilities. The last experiments were carried out only in 1977 year - a few years after the refusal of the military to adopt.

After completing the tests, the only available prototype of the Terrastara was transferred to the Rock Island Museum of Arsenal. The experienced M2A2 is still on display in the open air. Next to these products are prototypes of the LMS XM123 and XM124, created in the early sixties. Thus, the museum was able to collect all the samples of self-propelled artillery developed by the United States.

The military decided not to use the new howitzer, as a result of which the third SDO project could not ensure the re-equipment of the army. In this case, it was not only about the closure of the project, but also about the cessation of work in the whole area. The concept of a self-propelled gun again failed to realize with obtaining all the desired results, and the US Army decided to completely abandon it. After M2A2 Terrastar new LMS were not developed.

On the materials of the sites:
http://alternathistory.com/
http://pages.cs.wisc.edu/
https://forum.valka.cz/
https://secretprojects.co.uk/
https://ru-artillery.livejournal.com/
Forsyth RW, Forsyth JP Marginal-Terrain Amphibian. San Francisco, Calif. Society of Automotive Engineers, 1968.
Author:
4 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. igordok
    igordok 4 November 2018 10: 07
    +5
    An interesting fate for summer bags (staircases).
    1. san4es
      san4es 4 November 2018 12: 01
      +2
      Quote: igordok
      An interesting fate for summer bags (staircases).

      ... Lockheed Terrastar "evolved" crying

      ... the 1977 film "Damnation Alley", full car description and history.
      Some details at the same time:
      Case: 10mm steel plate
      Weight: 22,000 kg (10 tons)
      Length: 36 feet (10,9 million)
      Height: 3,3 m)
      Pendant: Tri-Star
      Steering: articulated-center-hydraulic cylinders
      Body configuration inspired by German Luchs APC
      Lockheed Terrastar Pendant hi
    2. Alf
      Alf 4 November 2018 16: 51
      +1
      Quote: igordok
      An interesting fate for summer bags (staircases).

      And ahead of the two-legged all-pass drive. laughing
      1. san4es
        san4es 4 November 2018 17: 20
        0
        Quote: Alf
        ... And ahead of the two-legged all-pass drive. laughing

        .. yeah. the barrel rushes already. laughing

Самодвижущееся орудие M2A2 Terrastar (США)

Концепция самодвижущегося орудия (СДО) предлагает оптимальное соотношение мобильности артиллерийской системы и сложности ее производства. В то же время, не все образцы такого рода смогли показать желаемые характеристики. Так, в начале шестидесятых годов в США испытывались сразу две самодвижущиеся гаубицы, которые так и не смогли продемонстрировать высокую подвижность. Через несколько лет компания Lockheed предложила новый вариант СДО, отличавшийся применением самых смелых идей. Как считалось, орудие M2A2 Terrastar могло иметь уникально высокую подвижность и проходимость.

Напомним, с 1962 года на американских полигонах испытывались СДО моделей XM123 и XM124. Два изделия имели разные артиллерийские части, но строились по схожим принципам и получали похожее дополнительное оборудование. Изначально они имели по паре 20-сильных двигателей и гидравлическую трансмиссию, но такое оснащение не смогло обеспечить высокую подвижность. Удаление одного из двигателей и установка электротрансмиссии тоже не привела к желаемым результатам. Кроме того, у обоих СДО имелись серьезные проблемы при стрельбе.



Самодвижущееся орудие M2A2 в музее. Фото Wikimedia Commons


К середине шестидесятых годов проекты XM123 и XM124 были закрыты в связи с наличием ряда нерешаемых проблем. На несколько лет развитие американских СДО остановилось. Тем не менее, вскоре ситуация изменилась. Специалисты компании Lockheed нашли приемлемый способ кардинального повышения проходимости сухопутных машин, в том числе самодвижущихся орудий. Сначала его опробовали на опытном вездеходе, а затем внедрили в проект СДО.

В 1967 году сотрудники компании «Локхид» Роберт и Джон Форсайты предложили конструкцию колесной ходовой части под названием Tri-star («Тройная звезда»). Такой движитель основывался на агрегате в виде трехлучевой обоймы, на котором присутствовали три колеса и несколько зубчатых передач. Предполагалось, что подобные агрегаты позволят колесной машине преодолевать различные препятствия, в том числе достаточно крупные и слишком сложные для другой техники.

Вскоре были построены и испытаны опытные вездеходы Terrastar, оснащавшиеся четырьмя агрегатами Tri-star. Трансмиссия обеспечивала привод всех четырех изделий. В ходе испытаний были подтверждены высокие характеристики подвижности и проходимости на пересеченной местности. Необычный движитель получил шансы попасть в новые проекты техники сверхвысокой проходимости.

В самом конце шестидесятых годов появилось сразу несколько предложений об использовании «Тройной звезды» на той или иной техники. Среди прочего, было предложено построить новое самодвижущееся орудие. Предполагалось, что новый образец с улучшенной ходовой частью будет иметь повышенную проходимость, необходимую на поле боя. Такое СДО могло показывать самые серьезные преимущества перед предыдущими образцами своего класса, и благодаря этому найти место в армии.


Гаубица M2A1 - будущая M101A1. Фото US War Department


В деле создания нового СДО компания Lockheed заручилась поддержкой Рок-Айлендского арсенала, уже участвовавшего в разработке подобных проектов. Арсенал должен был предоставить базовое орудие и лафет, а специалисты «Локхид» отвечали за разработку нового оборудования и последующую сборку опытного образца. В дальнейшем совместными усилиями они должны были провести испытания и, при успешном завершении работ, наладить серийное производство.

Новый проект получил рабочее обозначение M2A2 и дополнительное название Terrastar (также встречается иное написание – Terra-Star). Любопытно, что индекс перспективного СДО указывал на базовый образец вооружения, однако под старым его названием. Базовая гаубица M101A1 в прошлом обозначалась как M2A1. Дополнительное имя проекта, в свою очередь, подчеркивало преемственность с предыдущим опытным вездеходом.

В качестве основы для M2A2 выбрали существующую полевую гаубицу M101A1 калибра 105 мм со штатным лафетом. С этого изделия планировалось убрать некоторые агрегаты, а кроме того, предусматривалась установка целого ряда новых устройств, в том числе самых интересных. Прежде всего, предусматривалась замена колесного хода и монтаж новой силовой установки, по своей схеме напоминавшей агрегаты более старых СДО.

Качающаяся артиллерийская часть орудия осталась прежней. Использовался нарезной 105-мм ствол длиной 22 калибра, не оснащавшийся никакими дульными устройствами. Казенник гаубицы комплектовался полуавтоматическим горизонтальным клиновым затвором. Ствол оснащался гидропневматическими противооткатными устройствами и монтировался на люльке большой длины с характерной задней направляющей. Около казенника на люльке имелись цапфы для монтажа на лафете. Под задней направляющей предусматривалось пружинное уравновешивающее устройство.


Блок типа Tri-star со снятой крышкой. Фото Lockheed



Лафет M101A1 отличался достаточной простотой; основная часть его деталей без изменений перешла в новый проект. Верхний станок представлял собой опору небольшой высоты с устройствами для монтажа люльки и боковыми секторами вертикальной наводки. Нижний станок имел форму поперечной балки с креплениями для всех устройств, включая колесный ход, станины и верхний станок. В проекте M2A2 с нижнего станка убрали некоторые агрегаты, а на его передней части появились элементы силовой установки. В отличие от других образцов на основе M101A1, на лафете новой гаубицы отсутствовало щитовое прикрытие.

Были сохранены ручные приводы наведения. С их помощью наводчик мог перемещать ствол в пределах горизонтального сектора на 23° вправо и влево от продольной оси. Углы возвышения менялись от -5° до +66°. На левом борту люльки имелись крепления для прицельных приспособлений. Штатные прицелы базовой гаубицы обеспечивали стрельбу как прямой наводкой, так и по навесным траекториям.

Лафету оставили имеющиеся раздвижные станины сварной конструкции. Они шарнирно соединялись с нижним станком и могли фиксироваться в сведенном положении для возки. На задней части станин имелись сошники для упора в грунт при стрельбе. В проекте M2A2 левая станина оставалась без изменений, тогда как на правой планировалось монтировать несколько новых устройств и агрегатов.

Прежде всего, в задней части правой станины поместили силовую установку. По известным данным, был использован двигатель внутреннего сгорания небольшой мощности, передававший мощность на гидравлические насосы. По шлангам давление передавалось на пару гидромоторов, установленных перед нижним станком лафета. Непосредственно на лафете помещались два механических редуктора, обеспечивавших передачу мощности двигателей на движители. Сами двигатели устанавливались на картерах редукторов.

Справа от силовой установки находилось сиденье для водителя. Рядом с ним поместили рычаги управления для контроля за работой гидромоторов. При помощи пары рычагов водитель мог контролировать давление на входе в моторы двух движителей. Синхронное изменение этого параметра позволяло менять скорость и двигаться прямо. Разница в оборотах двух моторов вводила СДО в поворот.

Самодвижущееся орудие M2A2 Terrastar (США)
Гаубица Terrastar на испытаниях. Фото Militaryimages.net


Вместо стандартного колесного хода СДО M2A2 получило оригинальную ходовую часть типа Tri-star. На поперечной оси редуктора закреплялась особая конструкция с тремя колесами и собственными средствами передачи мощности. Гаубица получила два таких устройства – по одному вместо стандартных колес.

С внутренней стороны, рядом с лафетом, у изделия Tri-star имелся плоский кожух трехлучевой формы, в котором находились элементы зубчатой передачи. Входящий внутрь кожуха вал соединялся с центральной шестерней. В каждом из «лучей» кожуха имелось по два зубчатых колеса малого диаметра: одно было промежуточным, а второе соединялось с осью колеса. Таким образом, один вал от двигателя или редуктора мог обеспечивать синхронное вращение трех колес в одном направлении. Кроме того, при определенных обстоятельствах приводной вал обеспечивал поворот всей конструкции вокруг своей оси.

Движитель Tri-star для самодвижущейся гаубицы комплектовался колесами большой ширины с шинами низкого давления. Предполагалось, что это позволит снизить удельное давление на грунт и дополнительно улучшит проходимость. С внешней стороны оси трех колес соединялись трехлучевой плитой. Для большей жесткости в центре конструкции, между редуктором и плитой, проходила труба большого диаметра.

Сзади на правой станине поместили дополнительный элемент ходовой части. На самоориентирующейся опоре находилось единственное колесо с шиной низкого давления. Применение еще одной «тройной звезды» на станине посчитали нецелесообразным. Опора заднего колеса могла подниматься вверх при переводе орудия в боевое положение.

Оригинальная ходовая часть отличалась большими размерами и сказалась на общих габаритах гаубицы. Кроме того, заметно увеличилась масса изделия. Общая длина СДО M2A2 Terrastar в походном положении достигала 6 м, ширина увеличилась до 3,5 м. Высота осталась на том же уровне – менее 1,8 м. Масса с исходных 2,26 т выросла до 2,5-2,6 т. Артиллерийская часть осталась прежней, и потому обновленная гаубица должна была показывать те же характеристики, что и раньше. Начальная скорость снаряда, в зависимости от его типа, находилась на уровне 470 м/с, дальность стрельбы достигала 11,3 км.


СДО в боевом положении, вид сзади. Фото Wikimedia Commons


В походном положении на ровной поверхности гаубица M2A2 Terrastar должна была стоять сразу на пяти колесах. Каждая «тройная звезда» основного колесного хода опиралась на два нижних колеса, а станины поддерживались собственным задним колесом. При движении в тех же условиях крутящий момент распределялся одновременно между всеми шестью ведущими колесами лафета. Четыре «нижних», стоящих на земле, обеспечивали движение. Новое СДО, подобно своим предшественникам, должно было ездить стволом вперед.

Оригинальный движитель должен был показывать свои преимущества при наезде на препятствие или при движении по пересеченной местности. Если на пути Tri-star оказывалась крупная преграда, его поступательное движение останавливалось. При этом гидромотор продолжал работу, вследствие чего вокруг стоящего колеса должна была поворачиваться вся конструкция. Во время такого поворота колесо, находящееся вверху, перемещалось вперед и вниз, получая возможность встать на препятствие. Получая крутящий момент от двигателя, колеса могли совместными усилиями затащить СДО на препятствие.

Преодоление ям и рвов выглядело иначе. Переднее нижнее колесо должно было проваливаться вниз, обеспечивая поворот всего движителя. Далее вся конструкция должна была подниматься на другой склон, как на любое другое препятствие.

Иными словами, в зависимости от особенностей ландшафта, крутились либо колеса, либо все устройство Tri-star в сборе. Передние движители орудия M2A2, имевшие привод, должны были обеспечивать движение и преодоление препятствий. Заднее колесо вращалось свободно и отвечало лишь за поддержание станин на требуемой высоте над землей.


Правая станина лафета с силовой установкой. Двигатели и насосы убраны под новый кожух. Фото Wikimedia Commons


При переброске СДО M2A2 на большие расстояния предлагалось использовать существующие тягачи. При этом собственная силовая установка гаубицы не применялась. Впрочем, это не мешало использовать возможности ходовой части для некоторого повышения проходимости в сравнении с колесным ходом базовой гаубицы.

Перевод Terrastar в боевое положение не представлял большой сложности. После прибытия на огневую позицию расчет должен был заглушить двигатель, поднять станины и сложить заднюю опору с колесом. Затем следовало развести станины и произвести прочие операции по подготовке к стрельбе. Принципы стрельбы не изменились.

Опытный образец перспективного самодвижущегося орудия M2A2 Terrastar был построен в 1969 году. При его сборке использовались доступные компоненты, вероятно, от разных гаубиц. Так, задействованная артиллерийская часть гаубицы M101A1 была изготовлена Рок-Айлендским арсеналом еще в 1945 году (в то время это орудие обозначалось как M2A1). Лафет, в свою очередь, собрали в 1954-м. Еще через полтора десятилетия лафет перестроили по новому проекту, превратив стандартную гаубицу в опытный образец.

Полигонные испытания, проведенные Рок-Айлендским арсеналом и компанией «Локхид», показали, что новый вариант СДО имеет самые серьезные преимущества перед предыдущими. Так, силовая установка достаточной мощности и гидравлическая трансмиссия в сочетании с использованной ходовой частью позволяли гаубице развивать на шоссе скорость до 30-32 км/ч. На пересеченной местности скорость падала в разы, но при этом сохранялась весьма высокая подвижность.

Было установлено, что самодвижущаяся гаубица, несмотря на ограниченную мощность двигателя, отличается хорошей проходимостью. Без труда или с незначительными затруднениями преодолевались кочки или ямы с вертикальным габаритом порядка полуметра. Фактически орудие M2A2 не боялось препятствий, размеры которых были меньше расстояния от поверхности до оси движителя Tri-star. Таким образом, в сравнении с предыдущими СДО мобильность на поле боя значительно улучшилась. Имелись очевидные преимущества и перед буксируемыми системами, поскольку Terrastar не нуждалось в тягаче.


Музейный образец, вид сзади. Фото Wikimedia Commons


Однако не обошлось без проблем. В первую очередь, лафет для СДО был слишком сложным в производстве и эксплуатации. Кроме того, сложность «тройной звезды» негативно сказывалась на надежности всей конструкции. Регулярно имели место те или иные поломки, в результате чего СДО теряло ход и нуждалось в ремонте. Кроме того, силовые агрегаты и ходовая часть неоптимально расходовали мощность двигателя, что могло затруднять преодоление некоторых препятствий.

Достаточно быстро военные изучили предложенное орудие и сделали выводы. Несмотря на наличие ряда преимуществ перед существующими артиллерийскими системами, орудие M2A2 Terrastar посчитали непригодным для принятия на вооружение. Не позднее начала семидесятых годов Пентагон распорядился прекратить дальнейшее развитие проекта. Изделие потеряло шансы поступить в серию.

Тем не менее, разработчики не стали отказываться от своего проекта. Имеющееся самодвижущееся орудие оставили в опытной эксплуатации в качестве экспериментального образца. В течение нескольких следующих лет специалисты фирмы Lockheed и Рок-Айлендского арсенала проводили различные испытания, дорабатывали конструкцию и изучали ее возможности. Последние опыты были проведены только в 1977 году – через несколько лет после отказа военных в принятии на вооружение.

После завершения испытаний единственный имевшийся прототип «Террастара» передали в музей при Рок-Айлендском арсенале. Опытная M2A2 до сих пор экспонируется на открытой площадке. Рядом с этим изделиям находятся прототипы СДО XM123 и XM124, созданных в начале шестидесятых годов. Таким образом, музей сумел собрать у себя все образцы самодвижущейся артиллерии разработки США.

Военные решили не принимать новую гаубицу на вооружение, в результате чего уже третий проект СДО не смог обеспечить перевооружение армии. При этом речь шла не только о закрытии проекта, но и о прекращении работ по целому направлению. Концепцию самодвижущегося орудия вновь не удалось реализовать с получением всех желаемых результатов, и армия США решила окончательно отказаться от нее. После M2A2 Terrastar новые СДО не разрабатывались.

По материалам сайтов:
http://alternathistory.com/
http://pages.cs.wisc.edu/
https://forum.valka.cz/
https://secretprojects.co.uk/
https://ru-artillery.livejournal.com/
Forsyth R.W., Forsyth J.P. Design and Development if the TerraStar Marginal-Terrain Amphibian. San Francisco, Calif. Society of Automotive Engineers, 1968.
Автор:
Рябов Кирилл
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

4 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти