Military Review

Matua Island. White spot on the map of the Second World is no longer?

2
У stories World War II, a lot of white spots. These white spots, both historically and often geographically understood, exist on the territory of our country. In fact, the entire post-war period also included the small island of the Kuril Ridge, Matua, which, after the end of World War II, became part of the Soviet Union.


Despite the tiny size of this island (about 52 square kilometers of territory), the question of its significance has been raised repeatedly. It is enough to recall the historical episode when the American president Harry Truman in 1945 suggested that Joseph Stalin “not be greedy” and transfer Matua to place the US Navy base on it. The Soviet leadership then agreed in principle, putting forward a counter condition: “If President Truman transfers one of the Aleutian Islands to the USSR for the creation of the base of the Soviet Naval fleet". According to historians, the United States has not received more such proposals on Matua.

However, the American military "inheritance" and today in some respect is associated with this island. One example is a submerged American submarine. Herring (SS-233) Gato class. The Russian researchers in the framework of the expedition to Matua under the auspices of the Ministry of Defense and the Russian Geographical Society conducted a study PL Herring using deep-sea apparatus. Research on the site of the submarine’s inundation, which during World War II was a thunderstorm of Japanese ships, as well as other research work on Matua, is described in the film “Matua Island”. What were 70 silent for years? ”, Presented on YouTube by the TV channel“Star».

Photos used:
livejournal.com
2 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. seti
    seti 19 October 2018 20: 28
    0
    Excellent gear recommend.
  2. монастырь
    монастырь 19 October 2018 22: 17
    0
    so the movie was already there.
    MDA gives in slowly on video info

Остров Матуа. Белого пятна на карте Второй мировой больше нет?

У истории Второй мировой войны немало белых пятен. Эти белые пятна как в историческом, так зачастую и в географическом понимании есть и на территории нашей страны. К ним фактически весь послевоенный период относился и небольшой остров Курильской гряды – Матуа, по итогам Второй мировой войны отошедший к Советскому Союзу.

Несмотря на всю крошечность этого острова (около 52 квадратных километров территории), вопрос о его значимости поднимался неоднократно. Достаточно вспомнить исторический эпизод, когда американский президент Гарри Трумэн в 1945-м году предлагал Иосифу Сталину «не жадничать» и передать Матуа для размещения на нём базы ВМС США. Советское руководство тогда выразило принципиальное согласие, выдвинув встречное условие: «Если президент Трумэн передаст один из Алеутских островов в пользование СССР для создания там базы советского Военно-морского флота». Как говорят историки, больше подобных предложений по Матуа от США не поступало.


Однако американское военное «наследство» и сегодня в некотором плане связано с этим островом. Один из примеров – затопленная американская субмарина Herring (SS-233) класс «Гато». Российские исследователи в рамках экспедиции на Матуа под эгидой Минобороны и Русского географического общества провели изучение ПЛ Herring с помощью глубоководного аппарата. Об исследованиях места затопления подводной лодки, которая во время Второй мировой была грозой японских кораблей, а также о другой исследовательской работе на Матуа рассказано в фильме «Остров Матуа». О чем молчали 70 лет?», представленный в YouTube телеканалом «Звезда».

Использованы фотографии:
livejournal.com
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

2 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти