Heavy machine gun "Vikkers"

8
Vickers developed a Vickers .50 machineglass of 12,7 millimeters on the basis of its own easel machine gun. The 12,7 mm cartridge was loaded with 35,64 and 37,03 gram bullets. The first one pierced 15-mm nickel armor at a distance of 200 meters, at a distance of 400 meters - 11-mm. A large-caliber machine gun differed from a prototype of a standard caliber not only in its large size, but also in its hinges, as well as in the presence of a special moderator, which allowed it to adjust the firing speed in the range from 300 to 700 per minute.

Heavy machine gun "Vikkers"


The machine gun in the land forces was mounted on a field tripod machine equipped with vertical and horizontal guidance mechanisms, similar to the Vickers tripod of a conventional caliber, designed for firing in a sitting position and an anti-aircraft gun. The anti-aircraft gun was a heavy tripod providing circular fire, the angles of vertical pickup - from -5 to + 80 degrees, had mechanisms of fine and coarse vertical pickup. The height of the barrel bore axis was 1 thousand mm, so shooting was carried out from the knee or sitting position.



The Vickers .50 machine gun was also mounted on combat vehicles.

In object air defense and naval navy Vickers .50 was used on anti-aircraft integrated installations. So, a paired stationary installation was performed on a massive tricycle base with jack supports. To speed up the pickup, it was divided between the right and left gunners and performed using an automatic anti-aircraft sight. The feed was carried out on the right or left side, cartridge boxes of significant capacity were installed on the swinging part, gunners' seats on the rotary part. To save space, the machine guns were mounted vertically on a quad ship installation, each mounted on a swivel on its own swing axis, and a hinged-parallelogram mechanism was used for communication. True, this installation was difficult, and the angles of vertical aiming were limited. Also produced aviation 12,7 mm version of the Vickers machine gun (type C), with air cooling.

A worker assembles an anti-aircraft installation of two 12,7-mm Vickers machine guns (Vickers .50 Mk. III) at a factory in the Canadian province of Ontario in 1942 — 1943


12,7-mm shipboard installations "Vikkers" were also available on domestic ships. 92 quadruple installations were installed in the Soviet Union. The Soviet ships that participated in the convoys, in the ports of the allies, were equipped with anti-aircraft guns.



Technical characteristics of the Vickers .50 heavy machine gun:
Caliber - 12,7 mm;
Patron - 12,7x80 "Vikkers";
The mass of the "body" machine gun - 30 kg (with water) / 25,5 kg (without water);
The length of the "body" of the machine gun - 1143 mm;
Barrel length - 762 mm;
The number of grooves - 7;
Initial bullet speed - 778 m / s;
Maximum firing range - 6400 m
Maximum reach height - 4500-5000 m
The rate of fire - 450-600 shots per minute;
Combat rate - up to 400 shots per minute;
Food - tape capacity of 100 cartridges;
Machine type - zenith, field tripod;
The mass of the field machine - 49 kg;
Weight of anti-aircraft machine - 59 kg.
    Our news channels

    Subscribe and stay up to date with the latest news and the most important events of the day.

    8 comments
    Information
    Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
    1. Dust
      +1
      6 2012 June
      In my opinion, it was very difficult to cool the quad system, and the dual system is not particularly simple!
    2. Yoshkin Kot
      0
      6 2012 June
      why? and if you stupidly connect the pump?
      1. Kibb
        +1
        6 2012 June
        Quote: Yoshkin Cat
        if you stupidly connect the pump

        So it is so, only that there were no pumps, unlike the "Colts-Browning"
    3. borisst64
      +1
      6 2012 June
      Somehow embarrassed by the penetration assessment of nickel armor. By the middle of the 20th century, Harvey or Krupp armor was widely used, which is 15-20% of penetration.
      The machine gun is a competitor to our DShK, but there are few reviews about Vickers, so it didn’t fail.
      1. Kibb
        +1
        6 2012 June
        Quote: borisst64
        Harvey or Krupp

        This was not used in armored vehicles due to the small thickness of the armor. In addition, this is a hardening method and not the composition of the armor
        A little later they will use the cemented principle, it is similar, but a little not so
      2. +1
        6 2012 June
        The machine gun is a competitor to our DShK, but there are few reviews about Vickers, so it didn’t fail.borisst64, and how is it understood belay wink what ????
    4. +5
      6 2012 June

      Soviet naval crew of the 12,7-mm four-ship Vickers anti-aircraft machine-gun mount.
      1. +3
        7 2012 June
        Photo taken by military commander Eugene Chaldea on one of the ships of the Northern Fleet in the summer of 1943 ...
        1. +1
          7 2012 June
          Yes, you're right, I had to indicate the name of this wonderful person!
          By the way, the photo shows - Guard foreman of the 2nd article V.Polchaninov and Red Navy B.Vyunikov at the English “Vickers” on the guards cruiser “Red Caucasus”.

          1943 the Black Sea Fleet.

    "Right Sector" (banned in Russia), "Ukrainian Insurgent Army" (UPA) (banned in Russia), ISIS (banned in Russia), "Jabhat Fatah al-Sham" formerly "Jabhat al-Nusra" (banned in Russia) , Taliban (banned in Russia), Al-Qaeda (banned in Russia), Anti-Corruption Foundation (banned in Russia), Navalny Headquarters (banned in Russia), Facebook (banned in Russia), Instagram (banned in Russia), Meta (banned in Russia), Misanthropic Division (banned in Russia), Azov (banned in Russia), Muslim Brotherhood (banned in Russia), Aum Shinrikyo (banned in Russia), AUE (banned in Russia), UNA-UNSO (banned in Russia), Mejlis of the Crimean Tatar People (banned in Russia), Legion “Freedom of Russia” (armed formation, recognized as terrorist in the Russian Federation and banned)

    “Non-profit organizations, unregistered public associations or individuals performing the functions of a foreign agent,” as well as media outlets performing the functions of a foreign agent: “Medusa”; "Voice of America"; "Realities"; "Present time"; "Radio Freedom"; Ponomarev; Savitskaya; Markelov; Kamalyagin; Apakhonchich; Makarevich; Dud; Gordon; Zhdanov; Medvedev; Fedorov; "Owl"; "Alliance of Doctors"; "RKK" "Levada Center"; "Memorial"; "Voice"; "Person and law"; "Rain"; "Mediazone"; "Deutsche Welle"; QMS "Caucasian Knot"; "Insider"; "New Newspaper"

Крупнокалиберный пулемет «Виккерс»

8
Фирмой «Виккерс» на основе собственного станкового пулемета был разработан пулемет «Виккерс .50» калибра 12,7 миллиметров. 12,7-миллиметровый патрон снаряжался пулями массой 35,64 и 37,03 грамм. Первая пробивала 15-миллиметровую никелевую броню на дальности 200 метров, на дальности 400 метров - 11-миллиметровую. От прототипа обычного калибра крупнокалиберный пулемет отличался не только большими размерами, но и устройством шарниров, а также наличием специального замедлителя, позволявшего регулировать скорость стрельбы в диапазоне от 300 до 700 выстрелов в минуту.

Крупнокалиберный пулемет «Виккерс»


Пулемет в сухопутных войсках устанавливался на полевой треножный станок оснащенный механизмами вертикальной и горизонтальной наводки, подобном треноге «Виккерса» обычного калибра, рассчитаном на ведение огня в положении сидя и зенитной установке. Зенитная установка представляла собой тяжелую треногу, обеспечивающую круговой обстрел, углы вертикальной наводки – от -5 до +80 градусов, имела механизмы тонкой и грубой вертикальной наводки. Высота оси канала ствола равнялась 1 тыс. мм, поэтому стрельба велась из положений с колена или сидя.



Пулемет «Виккерс .50» также ставился на боевые машины.

В объектовой ПВО и военно-морском флоте «Виккерс .50» использовали на зенитных комплексированных установках. Так, спаренную стационарную установку выполняли на массивном трехопорном основании имеющем домкратные опоры. Для ускорения наводки ее разделили между правым и левым наводчиками и выполняли при помощи автоматического зенитного прицела. Подача ленты осуществлялась правой или левой стороны, на качающейся части устанавливались патронные коробки значительной емкости, на поворотной части – сидения наводчиков. На счетверенной корабельной установке для экономии места пулеметы располагали по вертикали, крепились на вертлюге каждый на своей оси качания, для связи служил шарнирно-параллелограмный механизм. Правда, данная установка была сложной, а углы вертикальной наводки - ограниченными. Также выпускался авиационный 12,7-мм вариант пулемета «Виккерс» (тип С), имеющий воздушное охлаждение.

Рабочий собирает зенитную установку двух 12,7-мм пулеметов Виккерс (Vickers .50 Mk. III) на заводе в канадской провинции Онтарио в 1942—1943 годах


12,7-мм корабельные установки «Виккерс» имелись и на отечественных судах. В Советский Союз поставили 92 счетверенные установки. Советские корабли, которые участвовали в конвоях, в портах союзников довооружали зенитными пулеметами.



Технические характеристики крупнокалиберного пулемета «Виккерс .50»:
Калибр – 12,7 мм;
Патрон – 12,7x80 «виккерс»;
Масса «тела» пулемета – 30 кг (с водой)/25,5 кг (без воды);
Длина «тела» пулемета – 1143 мм;
Длина ствола – 762 мм;
Число нарезов – 7;
Начальная скорость пули – 778 м/с;
Максимальная дальность стрельбы – 6400 м
Максимальная досягаемость по высоте – 4500-5000 м
Темп стрельбы – 450-600 выстрелов в минуту;
Боевая скорострельность – до 400 выстрелов в минуту;
Питание – лента емкостью 100 патронов;
Тип станка – зенитный, полевой треножный;
Масса полевого станка – 49 кг;
Масса зенитного станка – 59 кг.
    Наши новостные каналы

    Подписывайтесь и будьте в курсе свежих новостей и важнейших событиях дня.

    8 комментариев
    Информация
    Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
    1. Dust
      +1
      6 июня 2012
      По-моему, весьма сложно было охлаждать счетверенную систему, да и сдвоенную не особо просто!
    2. Йошкин Кот
      0
      6 июня 2012
      почему? а если тупо подключить насос?
      1. Kibb
        +1
        6 июня 2012
        Цитата: Йошкин Кот
        если тупо подключить насос

        Так то оно так, только вот насосов небыло в отличии от "кольтов-браунингов"
    3. borisst64
      +1
      6 июня 2012
      Как то смутила оценка пробиваемости по никелевой броне. К середине 20-го века повсеместно использовалась гарвеевская или крупповская броня, а это 15-20 % пробиваемости.
      Пулемет конкурент нашему ДШК, но отзывов про Виккерс мало, значит не подводил.
      1. Kibb
        +1
        6 июня 2012
        Цитата: borisst64
        гарвеевская или крупповская

        В бронетехнике такая не использовалась, изза малой тощины брони.Кроме того это метод закалки а не состав брони
        Чуть позже будут использовать цементированую-принцип похож, но немножко не то
      2. +1
        6 июня 2012
        Пулемет конкурент нашему ДШК, но отзывов про Виккерс мало, значит не подводил.borisst64, и как это поня belay wink ть ????

    4. Советский корабельный расчет 12,7-мм счетверенной корабельной зенитно-пулеметной установки «Виккерс».
      1. +3
        7 июня 2012
        Фото сделано военкором Евгением Халдеем на одном из кораблей Северного флота летом 1943 года...
        1. Да вы правы, мне надо было указать имя этого замечательного человека!
          Кстати на фото запечатлены - Гвардии старшина 2-й статьи В.Полчанинов и краснофлотец Б.Вьюников у английского „виккерса“ на гвардейском крейсере „Красный Кавказ“.

          1943 г. Черноморский флот.

    «Правый сектор» (запрещена в России), «Украинская повстанческая армия» (УПА) (запрещена в России), ИГИЛ (запрещена в России), «Джабхат Фатх аш-Шам» бывшая «Джабхат ан-Нусра» (запрещена в России), «Талибан» (запрещена в России), «Аль-Каида» (запрещена в России), «Фонд борьбы с коррупцией» (запрещена в России), «Штабы Навального» (запрещена в России), Facebook (запрещена в России), Instagram (запрещена в России), Meta (запрещена в России), «Misanthropic Division» (запрещена в России), «Азов» (запрещена в России), «Братья-мусульмане» (запрещена в России), «Аум Синрике» (запрещена в России), АУЕ (запрещена в России), УНА-УНСО (запрещена в России), Меджлис крымскотатарского народа (запрещена в России), легион «Свобода России» (вооруженное формирование, признано в РФ террористическим и запрещено)

    «Некоммерческие организации, незарегистрированные общественные объединения или физические лица, выполняющие функции иностранного агента», а так же СМИ, выполняющие функции иностранного агента: «Медуза»; «Голос Америки»; «Реалии»; «Настоящее время»; «Радио свободы»; Пономарев; Савицкая; Маркелов; Камалягин; Апахончич; Макаревич; Дудь; Гордон; Жданов; Медведев; Федоров; «Сова»; «Альянс врачей»; «РКК» «Центр Левады»; «Мемориал»; «Голос»; «Человек и Закон»; «Дождь»; «Медиазона»; «Deutsche Welle»; СМК «Кавказский узел»; «Insider»; «Новая газета»