Military Review

Konstantin Danzas. The tragedy of the Caucasian officer and second Pushkin. Part of 4

3
By the beginning of July 1839, the construction of the Golovinsky fort was completed. And on July 6 the troops began landing on the ships of the squadron to continue the expedition. Danzas and his Tengins battalion were also part of the troops.


Interesting fact. Representatives of the Circassians came to General Rajewski right before the landing of the troops and asked him easily where the landing would be next time. Nikolai Nikolayevich, either knighthood, or accepting, despite the situation, Circassians as citizens of the Russian Empire and, to demonstrate this, not only called a new landing place, but even suggested Circassians to look at the scheme of future fortification.


Plan Golovinsky fort

On July 7, the squadron anchored near the mouth of the Psezuapse River (Sochi microdistrict, Lazarevskoye) on July 8. This time Konstantin Karlovich Danzas first landed with his Tengins, he also crossed the mouth of the river first, taking the place of the future fortification. In fact, the landing scenario at Subashi was repeated. Artillery preparation, heavy bayonet fighting, pushing the enemy into the mountains and seizing the necessary springboard. However, after the fierce days of the construction of the fort, when foraging became a battle, timber harvesting was dangerous for ambush and captivity.

At the same time, the Circassians often used the method of firing both the camp itself and small detachments from the mountains, using falcontes or small implements, which, not without difficulty, but could be delivered to the dominant heights. Moreover, the Circassians, who knew every mountain trail, were capable of that. To prevent such attacks often organized attacks, usually ending in a short but fierce battle.

The camp life itself was partly with bravado, partly with irony described by military engineer Mikhail Fedorovich Fedorov, made for the recent amphibious assault in the ensigns, later he will become the author of an entire book of memoirs-memories.

Camp life went on as usual: they ate well, drank, smoked, played cards. Instead of newspapers and magazines, they read orders and orders.


Konstantin Danzas. The tragedy of the Caucasian officer and second Pushkin. Part of 4


Actually, after the fights, Danzas liked to distract and cheer up the young officers with witticisms, adored a good table and friendly gatherings. This is how many people remembered him: "... lying on the carpet, playing cards and releasing puns."

Contemporaries characterized him as “a remarkable man, albeit a great original.” An amusing bike walked among the officers, as Danzas once brought the authorities to Homeric laughter. Once Konstantin Karlovich, still a lieutenant, was seconded from Moscow to Bendery, where his battalion was stationed, before leaving he came to Governor-General Dmitry Vladimirovich Golitsyn and declared that he was going to Bender through Petersburg, apparently wanting to see friends, and asks his Excellency to approve this decision. When surprised Golitsyn replied that it was directly more convenient, Danzas began to seriously prove the opposite, which he notably mocked Golitsyn.

However, the quirks of many officers of that time would have seemed a bit strange now. For example, Lev Sergeyevich Pushkin, Alexander's younger brother, was one of such officers. According to the memoirs of contemporaries, Pushkin drank only wine, despising water to the extreme, and never got drunk, and did not tolerate soups in food, consuming cheese, fish, meat, and any spicy and salty snacks. He was extremely hardy and, despite his taste tastes, not picky. He spent the whole "his" Caucasian war in the company of one leather cushion, an old overcoat and drafts, which he had never shot.


Cannon found on the site of Lazarev Fort

At the same time, Lev Sergeevich had close friendly relations with Danzas, despite the extraordinary grief about the tragic death of his brother and all the gossip about Bohemia about this. Often it was possible to meet Constantine and Lev together in the same tent for the noisy and gambling "battle" for the cards. And Pushkin loved to play, squandering all the money in the game and the hacks. The Caucasus in general somehow brought together in a special way and also strangely divided people.

Despite the seemingly somewhat idle pastime of Danzas, even then the most amazing legends about the combat life of the lieutenant colonel were already in the regiment and among the officers. Soldiers rumor and the officers said that during the Russian-Turkish war, under one of the fortresses, General Paskevich wanted to know the width of the serf ditch. As soon as the commander said this, Konstantin Karlovich began to literally execute the order. He descended into the ditch under a hail of enemy bullets and measured the ditch busily and step by step. As a result, admiration for bravery was spiced with selective accusations of insanity.

And the fort continued to be built, under constant shelling, alternating with another assault on the heights dominating the terrain. Contemporaries argued that the construction of the fortifications took place in a hurry. Summer is rapidly rolling towards the end.

So, on August 31, leaving one company of the Tenginsky regiment in the Lazarev fort, a hundred Cossacks under the command of Captain Marchenko (later, to great regret, this illiterate, but highly arrogant officer would play a fatal role during the siege of Lazarev fortification), General Rayevsky, loading the remaining troops on the ships, went to Anapa. However, this was not the end of the expedition.


Part of the fortress wall of the already rebuilt Lazarevsky fort, still preserved

In September, already from Anapa, a detachment headed by Rajewski moved to the Maskaga River (Meskaga), where they planned to build another fort - intermediate between Anapa and the Novorossiysk fortification. I described this in more detail in the material “In Search of Fort Rayevsky”. Therefore, I will describe only some of the conditions of that time, in which Danzas was among many.

The detachment arrived at the shore of the Meskagi, now this area is located east of the stanitsa of Rayevskaya, already in September, when torrential rains started. Raw wood, damp clothes and a constant vigil, peering into the autumn grayness and darkness, where the enemy hid. This campaign was not at all like amphibious operations on the Black Sea coast. Despite the fierce battles and the growing number of wounded, in the camp in peaceful moments it was always fun and plenty of provisions and wine, thanks to the ships standing at anchor near the shore and, accordingly, ship cellars with provisions.

On land, behind mountain passes, on the outskirts of the Anapa Valley, all this was not. But even in the autumn dampness and darkness, Danzas was not discouraged (later it will contrast with his age-old inescapable melancholy). Here is how Nikolai Lorer, whom I mentioned earlier, wrote about those days:
And the month of October was not long in coming. We were chilly and shivering from the cold, and the fort Rayevsky (this name was given to him in honor of the builder) grew and grew little by little. Some kind of despondency, apathy of all of us shook us, and we were thirsting for at least a shootout, and even it was not there. There is no music in the camp, no peselnikov; no card game and booze can be seen. And only Danzas, always cheerful, sometimes makes you laugh.



Fortress moat (marked by a black line) - all that remains of the fort Rayevsky

The construction of the fort in harsh conditions was completed almost by the very end of October 1839, and the ceremony of consecration took place on October 18. The garrison was only one company. So ended the expedition 39 for Danzas.

The friendship of Danzas and Pushkin is not a secret for many, but the fact that fate brought Konstantin Karlovich to another great Russian poet remains, if not a mystery, then a little-known fact for sure. In February, 1840, the young Mikhail Yuryevich Lermontov, at a ball at Countess Laval, fell out with the son of the French ambassador, Ernest Barant. As a result, a duel took place. After Mikhail's blade broke, they decided to end the duel with pistols. Barant shot first, but missed. Lermontov was indulgent and deliberately shot in the air. The duel quickly became known to the authorities. According to the old “wise” commanding habit, the Frenchman was not even brought to justice, and our great compatriot Mikhail Yuryevich, despite the peaceful completion of the fight, was put on trial and sent to the Caucasus.

Danzas by that time was already a close assistant to Rajewski and enjoyed, so to speak, his confidence. When Mikhail Lermontov appeared in the Caucasus, Konstantin Karlovich personally drafted a petition to enroll the poet without fail in his battalion. The petition was granted, especially since the fame of the “Tengins” went throughout the Caucasus.

However, Danzas and Lermontov were not destined to become close friends. And it's not about antipathy - they just did not have enough time. The vigorous nature of Lermontov could not allow him to wait for the next expedition. Hardly having arrived in the regiment, Mikhail Yuryevich proclaimed that a campaign to Chechnya was being prepared. Therefore, after a short stay in the battalion, Lermontov achieved his transfer to the "Chechen" detachment. And Danzas was waiting for a hard campaign against the Ubykhs, to the valley of Mzymta and Matsesta, and so on.

To be continued ...
Author:
3 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Adjutant
    Adjutant 17 December 2018 08: 07
    +3
    Danzas is a happy man, familiar with great poets. It turns out that BOTH? Super...
    We look forward to continuing
  2. Wildcat
    Wildcat 17 December 2018 12: 38
    +1
    It’s a very good series of articles, only a small clarification, the author will probably mention it himself if he writes about Lermontov’s duel: legally, the participants in the duel may have faced the death penalty, but they practically made final decisions similar to the Danzas case - that is, not too hard the punishment was for participating in duels for seconds.
    hi
  3. vladcub
    vladcub 17 December 2018 20: 19
    0
    Recently I heard the following story on the radio: Lieutenant General Bibikov wanted to capture Anapa in 1790, but the completely unprepared assault failed.
    Perhaps the author will tell you more about this case?

Константин Данзас. Трагедия кавказского офицера и секунданта Пушкина. Часть 4

К началу июля 1839-го года постройка Головинского форта была закончена. И 6-го июля войска начали посадку на корабли эскадры, чтобы продолжить экспедицию. В составе войск был и Данзас со своим батальоном «тенгинцев».

Интересный факт. К генералу Раевскому прямо перед самой посадкой войск пришли представители черкесов и без затей спросили его, где в следующий раз высадится десант. Николай Николаевич, то ли рыцарствуя, то ли принимая, несмотря на ситуацию, черкесов как граждан Российской империи и, чтобы продемонстрировать это, не только назвал новое место десанта, но даже предложил черкесам взглянуть на схему будущего укрепления.



План Головинского форта

7-го июля в 8 часов утра эскадра бросила якорь рядом с устьем реки Псезуапсе (микрорайон Сочи, Лазаревское). На этот раз Константин Карлович Данзас первым высадился на берег со своими «тенгинцами», также он первым пересёк устье реки, заняв место будущего укрепления. По сути, сценарий высадки у Субаши повторился. Артиллерийская подготовка, тяжёлый штыковой бой, оттеснение противника в горы и захват необходимого плацдарма. Однако после потянулись ожесточённые дни возведения форта, когда фуражировка становилась боем, а заготовка древесины была опасна засадой и пленом.

При этом часто черкесы использовали приём обстрела как самого лагеря, так и небольших отрядов с гор, применяя фальконеты или небольшие орудия, которые не без труда, но можно было доставить на господствующие высоты. Тем более на это были способны черкесы, знающие каждую горную тропу. Чтобы предотвращать подобные обстрелы часто организовывались вылазки, обычно оканчивающиеся коротким, но ожесточённым боем.

Саму лагерную жизнь отчасти с бравадой, отчасти с иронией описал военный инженер Михаил Фёдорович Фёдоров, произведённый за недавние десантные бои в прапорщики, позже он станет автором целой книги записок-воспоминаний.

Лагерная жизнь шла обычным порядком: хорошо ели, пили, кутили, играли в карты. Вместо газет и журналов читали приказы и приказания.


Константин Данзас. Трагедия кавказского офицера и секунданта Пушкина. Часть 4


Собственно, и Данзас после боёв любил отвлечься и приободрить молодых офицеров остротами, обожал хороший стол и дружеские посиделки. Таким его многие и запомнили: «…лежащим на ковре, играющим в карты и отпускающим каламбуры».

Современники характеризовали его как «замечательного человека, хотя и большого оригинала». В офицерской среде ходила забавная байка, как Данзас однажды довёл начальство до гомерического смеха. Как-то раз Константин Карлович, ещё будучи поручиком, был откомандирован из Москвы в Бендеры, где стоял его батальон, перед отъездом он пришёл к генерал-губернатору Дмитрию Владимировичу Голицыну и заявил, что едет в Бендеры через Петербург, видимо, желая повидать друзей, и просит его сиятельство одобрить это решение. Когда удивлённый Голицын ответил, что напрямую удобнее, Данзас принялся серьёзно доказывать обратное, чем знатно насмешил Голицына.

Впрочем, причуды многих офицеров того времени показались бы сейчас несколько странными. К примеру, Лев Сергеевич Пушкин, младший брат Александра, был одним из таких офицеров. По воспоминаниям современников, пил Пушкин только вино, презирая воду до крайности, и никогда не пьянел, а в пище не терпел супов, употребляя сыры, рыбу, мясо и любые острые и солёные закуски. Был необычайно вынослив и, несмотря на вкусовые пристрастия, непривередлив. Всю «свою» Кавказскую войну он провёл в компании одной кожаной подушки, старой шинели и шашки, которую никогда не снимал.


Орудие, найденное на месте форта Лазарева

При этом с Данзасом у Льва Сергеевича установились тесные дружеские отношения, несмотря на необычайную скорбь о трагической гибели брата и все пересуды богемы по этому поводу. Нередко можно было встретить Константина и Льва вместе в одной палатке за шумной и азартной «баталией» за картами. А играть Пушкин любил, просаживая в игре и кутеже все деньги. Кавказ вообще как-то по-особому сближал и также странно разобщал людей.


Несмотря на, казалось бы, несколько праздное времяпрепровождение Данзаса, уже тогда в полку и в среде офицеров ходили самые удивительные легенды о боевой жизни подполковника. Солдатская молва да и офицеры твердили, что во время Русско-турецкой войны под одной из крепостей генерал Паскевич пожелал узнать ширину крепостного рва. Едва командующий молвил это, как Константин Карлович принялся в буквальном смысле исполнять приказание. Он спустился в ров под градом неприятельских пуль и деловито тщательно пошагово измерил ров. В итоге восхищение храбростью были приправлены отборными обвинениями в безумии.

А форт продолжал строиться, под постоянными обстрелами, чередующимися очередным штурмом доминирующих над местностью высот. Современники утверждали, что возведение укрепления проходило в спешке. Лето стремительно катилось к концу.

Итак, 31 августа, оставив в форте Лазарева одну роту Тенгинского полка, сотню казаков под командованием капитана Марченко (позже к великому сожалению этот малограмотный, но в высшей степени самонадеянный офицер сыграет роковую роль во время осады Лазаревского укрепления), генерал Раевский, погрузив остальные войска на корабли, отбыл в Анапу. Однако это было отнюдь не концом экспедиции.


Часть крепостной стены уже отстроенного Лазаревского форта, сохранившаяся по сей день

В сентябре уже из Анапы отряд, возглавляемый Раевским, выдвинулся к реке Маскага (Мескага), где планировали заложить ещё один форт – промежуточный между Анапой и Новороссийским укреплением. Это я подробнее описал в материале «В поисках форта Раевского». Поэтому опишу лишь некоторые условия того времени, в которых в числе многих оказался и Данзас.

Отряд прибыл к берегу Мескаги, ныне эта местность находится восточнее станицы Раевской, уже в сентябре, когда зарядили проливные дожди. Сырые дрова, сырая одежда и постоянное бдение, всматриваясь в осеннюю серость и темноту, где притаился неприятель. Этот поход был совсем не похож на десантные операции на Черноморском побережье. Несмотря на ожесточённые бои и растущее количество раненых, в лагере в мирные минуты всегда было весело и вдоволь провизии и вина, благодаря стоявшим рядом с берегом на якоре кораблям и, соответственно, корабельным погребам с провизией.

На суше, за горными перевалами, на окраине Анапской долины всего этого не было. Но даже в осенней сырости и мраке, Данзас не унывал (позже это будет ярко контрастировать с его старческой неизбывной тоской). Вот как уже упомянутый мною ранее Николай Лорер писал о тех днях:
И октябрь месяц не заставил себя долго ждать. Мы зябли и дрожали от холода, а форт Раевский (это имя дано ему в честь строителя) рос и рос себе понемногу. Какая-то унылость, апатия всех нас обуяла, и мы жаждали хоть бы перестрелки, а то и ее не было. Не слышно в лагере ни музыки, ни песельников; не видно картежной игры и попоек. И только Данзас, вечно веселый, иногда вас рассмешит.



Крепостной ров (обозначен чёрной линией) — всё, что осталось от форта Раевского

Строительство форта в тяжёлых условиях завершили практически к самому концу октября 1839 года, а церемония освящения состоялась 18-го октября. Гарнизон составил всего одну роту. Так закончилась экспедиция 39-го для Данзаса.

Дружба Данзаса и Пушкина для многих не секрет, а вот то, что судьба свела Константина Карловича ещё с одним великим русским поэтом, остаётся если не загадкой, то малоизвестным фактом точно. В феврале 1840-го года молодой Михаил Юрьевич Лермонтов на балу у графини Лаваль поссорился с сыном французского посла Эрнестом Барантом. В итоге состоялась дуэль. После того как у Михаила сломался клинок, поединок решили закончить на пистолетах. Барант стрелял первым, но промахнулся. Лермонтов оказался снисходителен и намеренно выстрелил в воздух. Дуэль быстро стала известна властям. По старой «мудрой» начальственной привычке француза даже не стали привлекать к ответственности, а нашего великого соотечественника Михаила Юрьевича, несмотря на мирное завершение поединка, предали суду и сослали на Кавказ.

Данзас к тому времени уже был близким помощником Раевского и пользовался, если так можно выразиться, его доверием. Когда Михаил Лермонтов появился на Кавказе, Константин Карлович лично составил ходатайство, чтобы зачислить поэта непременно в его батальон. Ходатайство было удовлетворено, тем более что слава «тенгинцев» шла по всему Кавказу.

Однако близко сдружиться Данзасу и Лермонтову было не суждено. И дело не в антипатии — им просто не хватило времени. Кипучая натура Лермонтова не могла позволить ему ждать очередной экспедиции. Едва прибыв в полк, Михаил Юрьевич прознал, что готовится поход в Чечню. Поэтому после недолгого пребывания в батальоне Лермонтов добился его перевода в «чеченский» отряд. А Данзаса ждал тяжёлый поход против убыхов, в долину Мзымты и Мацесты и так далее.

Продолжение следует…
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

3 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти