Military Review

Whose belt on the neck of Africa looks better?

10
Advisor to the President of the United States for National Security John Bolton gave a presentation at the Heritage Foundation research center. In this think tank of American politics, Bolton spoke about the main directions of the US strategy in Africa, recently approved by President Donald Trump.


Whose belt on the neck of Africa looks better?


The United States announced a confrontation with China and Russia

The meaning of the new strategy is to improve economic ties with African countries, preserve their economic independence and protect the national interests of the United States in Africa. In this laconic design, Washington’s ear for the economic independence of the states of the black continent cuts ear.

Bolton explained it: “The rival great powers, China and Russia, are rapidly expanding their financial and political influence throughout Africa. They deliberately and aggressively direct their investments to the region in order to strengthen their advantages in Africa over the United States. ”

About Russia, the presidential adviser said more to be nice. The participation of Russians in African projects is very point. It can literally be counted on the fingers of one hand. At the beginning of the century, Russia wrote off African debts to 20 billion US dollars. Since then, cooperation with them in Moscow has been treated with a great deal of pragmatism.

You could say Bolton was not original when he made accusations against Russia. In the West, it has now become a common practice. So the presidential adviser, without burdening himself with any evidence, frightened a respectable public: “Throughout the continent, Russia promotes economic relations with disregard for laws, responsibility and transparency. She continues to sell weapon and energy resources in exchange for votes at the UN. ”

China got more. He is active in Africa, in the opinion of the stately speaker, "represents a significant threat to the national interests of the United States." In fact, Beijing has begun systematic work on the African continent since 2000. Since then, a summit with the participation of African leaders (FOCAC forum) has been held every three years in the Chinese capital.

The last time this forum was this September. It was attended by the head of 53 African states. They discussed the economic and social problems of the continent, infrastructure development, and investment plans of China. Summing up the meeting, PRC Chairman Xi Jinping promised the guests of Beijing a new aid package for the next three years in the amount of $ 60 billion.

C deciphered this figure in detail. At $ 5 billion, China will purchase African exports. $ 10 billion will give for development, another $ 15 billion - in the form of grants and interest-free loans. In addition to these amounts, a credit line of $ 20 billion will be opened. In addition, the PRC will provide emergency food assistance to the countries of the continent, conduct courses to improve the training of local agricultural specialists, pay scholarships, etc.

Since 2000, Africa has already borrowed $ 130 billion from China. America was not so generous. She noted the construction of a base for UAVs in Niger and facilities in Djibouti for her own purposes. And in terms of trade with the countries of the black continent, the United States is hopelessly behind China in 2009 year. But Americans do not get tired of criticizing China for its loans, which caused a debt crisis in Africa.

Under the weight of debt

This problem really exists. For example, the International Monetary Fund this year announced that because of Chinese borrowing, "40% of African countries are in a dangerous debt situation." International economist Jeremy Stevens of Standard Bank Group adheres to a similar assessment. He believes that the continent is already overloaded with debts.

The Chinese fend off criticism and show in response with a finger on American pension and investment funds that speculate on the debt obligations of African countries. Even analysts at Johns Hopkins University agree. Their conclusion is that “Chinese loans are not a major factor in the debt crisis in most African countries.”

Anyway, China’s special envoy to Africa, Xu Jinhu, made an important reservation in an interview with Xinhua news agency: “China will conduct serious research to avoid additional debt problems on the African continent ... to help African countries achieve sustainable development.”

Comrade Xu owns the theme. Cooperation between China and African countries is not as cloudless as it seems at first glance. There has accumulated a whole bunch of problems. The main one is the development of credit resources. As a rule, it occurs according to one stable scheme. China, for example, invests in the construction of roads or railways. The execution of the project is given to Chinese companies that earn on it and thus return the borrowed funds to the metropolis. The African country remains a new infrastructure facility and serious debts to the PRC.

Another factor annoying the local elite has become China’s obvious course towards developing Africa’s raw materials, which is becoming only a raw materials appendage to the growing Chinese economy. Coupled with cheap Chinese imports, this is preventing African countries from developing their own industries.

Moreover, along with credit resources, a flood of Chinese migrants, including illegal immigrants, rushed to the black continent. They quickly mastered street trading and small businesses, squeezing aborigines out of this area. In Africa, the Chinese live apart, trying not to contact the locals. This only adds stress to the difficult relations of locals and visitors.

Finally, Chinese businessmen behave self-confidently on a black continent, not particularly considering local laws and regulations. By the way, such examples can be found in Russia. Recently, the Arbitration Court of the Amur Region, at the suit of the Federal Antimonopoly Service, invalidated the transaction of the Chinese company Jinying for the purchase of the Russian Amurmedi.

Amurmed is a subsoil user strategist at the Ikansk gold and copper deposit. In violation of the current legislation, the Chinese bought it out without the consent of the Government Commission for the Control of Foreign Investment in Russia and began to manage as at home.

Now justice is restored. The field has returned to the ownership of the Russian Federation. In Africa, this turn of events is unlikely. Both a higher level of corruption and the weakness of the states themselves involved in the Chinese project “One Belt - One Way” is having an effect. Often such a belt began to resemble an economic noose.

Now American hands are reaching for her. The rhetoric of John Bolton should not deceive anyone. The United States did not turn its eyes on Africa again to eliminate the poverty and hunger there. The black continent is becoming a battleground for global domination.

There is something to fight for. According to the US Energy Information Administration (EIA), over the past 30 years, proven oil reserves in Africa have increased from 57 billion barrels to 124 billion. Natural gas reserves with 210 trillion cubic feet to 509 trillions.

These figures continue to grow as there is intensive geological exploration on the continent. It is multidimensional. Proved the richest deposits of diamonds, gold, bauxite, manganese, iron, lead-zinc ores and other minerals good.

All this wealth can serve the well-being of African countries, but it can turn into a new debt burden. How it arises can be seen in the example of China’s investment policy. Now the United States has joined it. They have even more experience in exploiting third world countries ...
Author:
Photos used:
Gage Skidmore, Wikimedia
10 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. credo
    credo 17 December 2018 15: 17
    +2
    "... All this wealth can serve the well-being of African countries, but it can turn into a new debt burden. As it arises, it can be seen in the example of China's investment policy. Now the United States will join it. They have even more experience in exploiting third world countries. ... "
    --------------------------------
    "This is my horse" - said the Chinese, which undeservedly offended the "meek" American.
    1. antivirus
      antivirus 21 December 2018 11: 49
      0
      Can the Americans see the death of their world domination?

      and they live long and can afford such a sight
  2. Loess
    Loess 17 December 2018 15: 37
    +3
    Together with cheap Chinese imports, this prevents African countries from developing their own industries.
    And before Chinese imports, what prevented the development of industry?
  3. parusnik
    parusnik 17 December 2018 16: 51
    0
    The Chinese are catching up on what they could not do in the 15-16th century ..
    1. Spine
      Spine 17 December 2018 20: 54
      +1
      Quote: parusnik
      The Chinese are catching up on what they could not do in the 15-16th century ..

      Something like this .. China has given a lot of things to world civilization (gunpowder for example), but the Anglo-Saxons thud pulled, as in India, (rob and destroy) ..
      Hope revenge? Russia will support ..
      1. Jerk
        Jerk 17 December 2018 22: 38
        +1
        Britain, France ... Even official independence does not mean at all that the Afrikaans became the owner of production in Tanzania, Namibia, South Africa and now, the diamonds of the same De Beers. London, gentlemen, as was and remains, the owner is Anglo-American PLC, headquarters is London, and let Tanzania develop what? Reed Hut Construction
  4. novobranets
    novobranets 17 December 2018 18: 33
    +1
    All this wealth can serve the well-being of African countries, but it can turn into a new debt burden. How it arises can be seen in the example of China’s investment policy. Now the United States has joined it. They have even more experience in exploiting third world countries ...
    I believe that in the heading, the word belt means a noose.
  5. irazum
    irazum 18 December 2018 09: 20
    +2
    It’s all the same to the cannibals who beg for money and arms, but if China and the United States do not take their expenses off by skating, then we, as usual, will scatter money with the generosity of a drunken sailor.
  6. Hypersound
    Hypersound 19 December 2018 13: 22
    -1
    Peskov is Bolton MK.2
  7. 1536
    1536 20 December 2018 06: 56
    +1
    Americans want to plunge Africa not only into neocolonialism, but into slavery.

Чей пояс на шее Африки смотрится лучше?

Советник президента США по национальной безопасности Джон Болтон выступил с докладом в исследовательском центре Heritage Foundation. В этом мозговом центре американской политики Болтон рассказал об основных направлениях стратегии США в Африке, утверждённой на днях президентом Дональдом Трампом.

Чей пояс на шее Африки смотрится лучше?



США заявили о противостоянии с Китаем и Россией

Смысл новой стратегии сводится к улучшению экономических связей с африканскими странами, сохранению их экономической независимости и защите национальных интересов Соединённых Штатов в Африке. В этой лаконичной конструкции режет слух забота Вашингтона об экономической независимости государств чёрного континента.

Болтон пояснил её: «Конкурирующие великие державы — Китай и Россия — быстро расширяют своё финансовое и политическое влияние по всей Африке. Они умышленно и агрессивно направляют свои инвестиции в регион, чтобы усилить свои преимущества в Африке перед США».

Про Россию советник президента сказал больше для красного словца. Участие россиян в африканских проектах очень точечно. Его в буквальном смысле можно пересчитать по пальцам одной руки. Россия в начале века списала африканским государствам долги на 20 млрд. долларов США. С тех пор к сотрудничеству с ними в Москве относятся с большой долей прагматизма.

Можно сказать, Болтон был не оригинален, когда выступил с обвинениями в адрес России. На Западе сейчас это вошло в обычную практику. Вот и советник президента, не обременяя себя хоть какими-то доказательствами, пугал почтенную публику: «По всему континенту Россия продвигает экономические отношения с пренебрежением к законам, ответственности и прозрачности. Она продолжает продавать оружие и энергетические ресурсы в обмен на голоса в ООН».

Китаю досталось больше. Он своей активностью в Африке, по мнению сановного докладчика, «представляет значительную угрозу национальным интересам Соединённых Штатов». В самом деле, Пекин с 2000 года начал системную работу на африканском континенте. С тех пор в китайской столице раз в три года проходит саммит с участием лидеров государств Африки (форум FOCAC).

Последний раз по времени такой форум был в нынешнем сентябре. В нём приняли участие главы 53 африканских государств. Обсуждали экономические и социальные проблемы континента, развитие инфраструктуры, инвестиционные планы Китая. Подводя итоги встречи, председатель КНР Си Цзиньпин пообещал гостям Пекина новый пакет помощи на ближайшие три года в размере $ 60 миллиардов.

Си подробно расшифровал эту цифру. На $ 5 миллиардов Китай закупит африканского экспорта. $ 10 миллиардов даст на развитие, ещё $ 15 миллиардов – в виде грантов и беспроцентных кредитов. Вдобавок к этим суммам будет открыта кредитная линия на $ 20 миллиардов. Кроме того КНР окажет странам континента чрезвычайную продовольственную помощь, проведёт курсы по повышению профессиональной подготовки местных специалистов сельского хозяйства, выплатит стипендии и т.д.

С 2000 года Африка уже позаимствовала у Китая $ 130 миллиардов. Америка была не столь щедра. Она отметилась строительством для своих собственных целей базы беспилотников в Нигере и объектов в Джибути. Да и по товарообороту со странами чёрного континента Соединённые Штаты безнадёжно отстали от Китая ещё в 2009 году. Зато американцы не устают критиковать КНР за её кредиты, вызвавшие в Африке долговой кризис.

Под грузом долгов

Такая проблема реально существует. Например, Международный валютный фонд в этом году объявил, что из-за китайских заимствований «40% африканских стран находятся в опасной долговой ситуации». Похожей оценки придерживается международный экономист Джереми Стивенс из Standard Bank Group. Он считает, что континент уже перегружен долгами.

Китайцы парируют критику и показывают в ответ пальцем на американские пенсионные и инвестиционные фонды, спекулирующие на долговых обязательствах африканских стран. С этим соглашаются даже аналитики университета Джона Хопкинса. Их вывод – «китайские кредиты не являются основным фактором долгового кризиса в большинстве африканских стран».


Как бы то ни было, специальный посланник Китая по Африке Сюй Цзиньху в интервью агентству Синьхуа сделал существенную оговорку: «Китай проведет серьезные исследования, чтобы избежать возникновения дополнительных долговых проблем на африканском континенте..., чтобы помочь африканским странам достичь устойчивого развития».

Товарищ Сюй владеет темой. Сотрудничество Китая и стран Африки не так безоблачно, как кажется на первый взгляд. Тут накопился целый ворох проблем. Главная из них – освоение кредитных ресурсов. Как правило, оно происходит по одной устойчивой схеме. Китай, например, инвестирует средства в строительство автомобильных или железных дорог. Исполнение проекта отдаётся китайским компаниям, которые зарабатывают на нём и таким образом возвращают заёмные средства в метрополию. Африканской стране остаётся новый объект инфраструктуры и серьёзные долги перед КНР.

Другим раздражающим местную элиту фактором стал очевидный курс Китая на освоение сырьевых ресурсов Африки, которая становится лишь сырьевым придатком растущей китайской экономики. Вкупе с дешёвым китайским импортом это мешает африканским странам развивать собственную промышленность.

Мало того, вместе с кредитными ресурсами на чёрный континент хлынул поток китайских мигрантов, в том числе нелегалов. Они быстро освоили уличную торговлю и мелкий бизнес, выдавив из этой сферы аборигенов. В Африке китайцы живут обособленно, стараются не контактировать с местными жителями. Это только добавляет напряжения в непростые отношения местных с приезжими.

Наконец, китайские бизнесмены ведут себя на чёрном континенте по-хозяйски самоуверенно, не особенно считаясь с местными законами и правилами. Кстати, такие примеры можно найти и в России. Недавно Арбитражный суд Амурской области по иску Федеральной антимонопольной службы признал недействительной сделку китайской компании «Цзиньин» по покупке российской «Амурмеди».

«Амурмедь» является стратегом-недропользователем Иканского месторождения золота и меди. В нарушение действующего законодательства китайцы выкупили её без согласования с Правительственной комиссией по контролю за осуществлением иностранных инвестиций на территории России и стали хозяйничать, как у себя дома.

Сейчас справедливость восстановлена. Месторождение вернулось в собственность Российской Федерации. В Африке такой поворот событий маловероятен. Сказывается и более высокий уровень коррупции, и слабость самих государств, вовлечённых в китайский проект «Один пояс – один путь». Нередко такой пояс стал уже напоминать экономическую удавку.

Теперь к ней протянулись и американские руки. Риторика Джона Болтона не должна никого обмануть. Соединённые Штаты вновь обратили свой взор на Африку не для того, чтобы ликвидировать царящие там нищету и голод. Чёрный континент становится ареной борьбы за глобальное доминирование.

Здесь есть за что бороться. По данным Управления энергетической информации США (EIA), за последние 30 лет доказанные запасы нефти в Африке увеличились с 57 млрд. баррелей до 124 миллиардов. Запасы природного газа с 210 трлн. кубических футов до 509 триллионов.

Эти показатели продолжают расти, поскольку на континенте идёт интенсивная геологоразведка. Она носит многоплановый характер. Доказаны богатейшие месторождения алмазов, золота, бокситов, марганцевых, железных, свинцово-цинковых руд и прочего ископаемого добра.

Всё это богатство может послужить благополучию африканских стран, но может обернуться и новым долговым бременем. Как оно возникает, видно на примере инвестиционной политики Китая. Теперь к нему присоседятся и Соединённые Штаты. Опыта в эксплуатации стран третьего мира у них даже побольше…
Автор:
Геннадий Грановский
Использованы фотографии:
Gage Skidmore, Wikimedia
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

10 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти