Military Review

Creating an army of Kosovo - a step towards a new war in the Balkans

5
Last Friday, the Kosovo parliament passed three bills on the transformation of the Kosovo Security Forces into armed forces of 5 000 military personnel and 3 000 reservists. At the same time, the deputies of the political party “Serbian List” did not participate in the voting.



Pristina. Bill Clinton Boulevard


This decision was an obvious step backwards in uneasy relations between Serbia and Kosovo, which will adversely affect both Kosovo Serbs (their number is about 120 000 people) and Belgrade policies, especially against the background of bilateral negotiations that took place about three months ago. Then it seemed that a proposal on the exchange of territory was being prepared, which would more reflect the ethnic composition in the region: Presev Valley in southern Serbia, predominantly Albanian, would join Kosovo; and to Serbia, the territory of Kosovo to the north of the Ibar River would have ceded.

Subsequently, the situation was complicated. In Kosovo, they decided to establish an absolute tariff for imports from Serbia, and Prime Minister Ramos Haradinaj justified these actions by accusing Belgrade of trying to thwart Kosovo’s admission to Interpol.

The creation of the armed forces of the army will make the final break of Belgrade and Pristina even closer. The danger here is how ethnic Serbs will react to this. The trick on Haradinaya’s side is to claim that the Kosovo army will be “multinational in order to serve its own citizens in the interests of peace along with other regional armies, including the Serbian army, in partnership for peace”. His officials also insist that the role of the Kosovo military will be very modest: search and rescue operations, the disposal of explosive ordnance, extinguishing fires and the disposal of hazardous materials. That is supposedly nothing serious.

The region is already suffering from legal schizophrenia, the result of legal and security measures more appropriate for asylum than for a normally functioning state. No wonder the European countries facing their own separatist challenges, were firm in not recognizing Kosovo. It is not surprising that Spain is among such states. In January, the Spanish Foreign Ministry expressed the view that Kosovo should be excluded from the EU enlargement plan for the countries of the Western Balkans.

In fact, the Kosovo Albanians understand that they can count on the support of European officials: after the Balkan wars of the 1990, serving as a defender of Serbia and the Serbs became a bad form. Kosovo has taken the form of a beloved project of Western Europe and the United States, guided by the principles of humanism. Therefore, Serbia is expectedly appealed for support to Russia and China, which resolutely did not recognize the declaration of independence from Serbia in the 2008 year.

The reaction of official Belgrade is understandable. Serbian President A. Vucic said that Pristina’s decision to create armed forces was not based on national legislation or on UN Security Council Resolution No. XXUMX. Serbian Foreign Minister Ivica Dacic rightly considers him "the most immediate threat to peace and stability in the region."

Similar cases in stories more than once were the reason for open aggression. There is also the fear that this move was approved in Washington. “Everything Pristina does,” Vucic said, “she does, obviously, with the support of the United States. They do not have the right, in accordance with an international legal document, to create armed formations; for us it is illegal, and we will inform the public about the next steps. ”

The statement is not without reason. United Nations Security Council resolution 1244 states that KFOR is the guarantor of security in the region. Who will be responsible for the likely conflict in the region, given the emergence of the Kosovo armed forces? The question is open.
Author:
Photos used:
Sanmint, commons.wikimedia.org
5 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. parusnik
    parusnik 21 December 2018 06: 45
    0
    A somewhat expanded article ... to the article in the News section on VO dated 18.12.2018/XNUMX/XNUMX "Uncle Sam stands behind the" Army of Kosovo "
  2. PSih2097
    PSih2097 21 December 2018 07: 46
    +1
    That there is Kosovo - a criminal pseudo-state based on the sale of drugs, people and their organs, weapons - and all this under the "roof" of the United States and NATO ...
  3. shans2
    shans2 21 December 2018 07: 51
    0
    There will be no war, Putin will come and spank everyone. And Albright is old .... will gnash with anger, it was she who became a latifundist on the lands torn away from the Serbs ... along with old Clinton ....
  4. Tusv
    Tusv 22 December 2018 18: 59
    0
    Serbia had many chances to join the Russian Federation. And so Daugavy Orer. Even Albania has
    1. parkello
      parkello 22 December 2018 19: 05
      0
      looking at their flag and coat of arms, I just want to say about the Daugava Orer ... because this chicken is not called an eagle by the tongue. smelly sheptars ... forgot how they stomped to Greece on foot for 8 hours to work on tobacco for 2 thousand drams

Создание армии Косова – шаг к новой войне на Балканах

В минувшую пятницу косовский парламент принял три законопроекта о преобразовании Сил безопасности Косова в вооруженные силы численностью в 5 000 военнослужащих и 3 000 резервистов. При этом депутаты политической партии «Сербский список» в голосовании не участвовали.


Приштина. Бульвар Билла Клинтона



Это решение стало очевидным шагом назад в непростых отношениях Сербии и Косова, который негативно скажется как на косовских сербах (их число составляет около 120 000 человек), так и на белградских политиках, особенно на фоне двусторонних переговоров, прошедших около трех месяцев назад. Тогда казалось, что готовится предложение об обмене территорией, которое бы больше отражало этнический состав в регионе: Прешевская долина на юге Сербии, преимущественно албанская, присоединится к Косово; а к Сербии отошла бы территория Косово к северу от реки Ибар.

Впоследствии положение вещей осложнилось. В Косове решили установить стопроцентный тариф на импорт из Сербии, а премьер-министр Рамуш Харадинай оправдал эти действия, обвинив Белград в попытке сорвать принятие Косова в Интерпол.

Создание вооруженных сил армии сделает окончательный разрыв Белграда и Приштины еще ближе. Опасность здесь заключается в том, как на это отреагируют этнические сербы. Уловка со стороны Харадиная заключается в утверждении, что косовская армия будет «многонациональной, чтобы служить своим собственным гражданам в интересах мира наряду с другими региональными армиями, включая сербскую армию, в партнерстве во имя мира». Его чиновники также настаивают на том, что роль косовских военных будет весьма скромная: поисково-спасательные операции, обезвреживание взрывоопасных боеприпасов, тушение пожаров и утилизации опасных материалов. То есть якобы ничего серьезного.

Регион уже страдает от юридической шизофрении, ставшей результатом правовых мер и мер безопасности, больше соответствующих для убежища, чем для нормально функционирующего государства. Не зря страны Европы, стоящие перед собственными сепаратистскими вызовами, были тверды в непризнании Косова. Неудивительно, что Испания стоит в ряду таких государств. В январе испанское Министерство иностранных дел выразило мнение, что Косово следует исключить из плана расширения ЕС на страны Западных Балкан.

На самом деле косовские албанцы понимают, что могут рассчитывать на поддержку европейских официальных лиц: после балканских войн 1990-х годов выступать защитником Сербии и сербов стало дурным тоном. Косово приняло форму любимого проекта Западной Европы и США, руководствующихся принципами гуманизма. Поэтому Сербия ожидаемо обращалась за поддержкой к России и Китаю, которые решительно не признали провозглашение независимости от Сербии в 2008 году.

Реакция же официального Белграда понятна. Президент Сербии А. Вучич заявил, что решение Приштины создать вооруженные силы не основано ни на национальном законодательстве, ни на резолюции Совета Безопасности ООН №1244. Сербский министр иностранных дел Ивица Дачич справедливо считает его «самой непосредственной угрозой миру и стабильности в регионе».

Подобные случаи в истории не раз являлись поводом для открытой агрессии. Существует также опасение, что этот шаг получил одобрение в Вашингтоне. «Все, что делает Приштина, – заявил Вучич, – она делает, очевидно, при поддержке Соединенных Штатов. Они не имеют права в соответствии с международно-правовым документом создавать вооруженные формирования; для нас это незаконно, и мы будем информировать общественность о дальнейших шагах».

Утверждение не лишено оснований. В резолюции 1244 Совета Безопасности Организации Объединенных Наций указано, что гарантом безопасности в регионе является СДК. Кто будет нести ответственность за вероятный конфликт в регионе с учетом появления вооруженных сил Косова? Вопрос открытый.
Автор:
Аркадий Нойман
Использованы фотографии:
Sanmint, commons.wikimedia.org
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

5 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти